View Full Version : Hibs in popular culture.

hibby rae
27-12-2012, 08:57 PM
Recorded it last night and just watching it now. Didn't realise we would feature! Anyway can anyone think of other examples where we feature in popular culture?

27-12-2012, 09:07 PM
Recorded it last night and just watching it now. Didn't realise we would feature! Anyway can anyone think of other examples where we feature in popular culture?

?

hibby rae
27-12-2012, 09:20 PM
?

Film, literature etc.

27-12-2012, 09:22 PM

Do you mean Doors Open that was on last night?

hibby rae
27-12-2012, 09:25 PM

Aye. I should really proof read!

27-12-2012, 09:27 PM
Aye. I should really proof read!

:greengrin Some folk from here appeared as extras and a donation was made towards the cup final display cost :aok:

27-12-2012, 10:11 PM

We had a few references in Rebus, my favourite piece was when a Detective pulled out his ID, to which Rebus opened his wallet, and said "Rebus, Hibs Supporter's Club".......:not worth

27-12-2012, 10:53 PM
:greengrin Some folk from here appeared as extras and a donation was made towards the cup final display cost :aok:

Which channel was it on? is it on an iplayer, or such like?

27-12-2012, 11:14 PM
Which channel was it on? is it on an iplayer, or such like?

STV, you can watch it on demand, if you have that function, and it is on STV-player

27-12-2012, 11:24 PM
What was the references? Trainspotting?

28-12-2012, 12:18 AM
My dad does some extra work and he was in the bet 365 advert (from last season?) that was filmed at easter road. He was also in doors open for about 5 seconds, well the side of his head was in it:wink:. Whats for certain is that we are deffinatley reffered to more often than them when it comes to pop culture.

neilmartinrocks
28-12-2012, 12:28 AM
Film, literature etc.

I can mind a programme years ago BBC ( i think )
looking after jojo it was called. Robert Carlisle was in it.

28-12-2012, 12:31 AM
Every Irvine Welsh book, Proclaimers Songs, the BT Advert with ET.

28-12-2012, 12:48 AM
Christopher Brookmyre mentions us too, iirc.

28-12-2012, 07:18 AM
Christopher Brookmyre mentions us too, iirc.

Not in a good way though, he makes reference to one of his characters not being this bored since hibs last visited love st- can't remember which book though.
I like the Irvine Welsh quote from either trainspotting or porno where sick boy thinks that its funny no matter how much he's stopped caring about the hibs, he's always maintained a healthy hatred of all things maroon. I know people that are like that.

28-12-2012, 07:22 AM
We were mentioned in Corrie once too!

28-12-2012, 10:02 AM
I wrote an article for Hibees Here, Hibees There a few years back giving a list of novels with Hibs references. There were quite a few but most of them were crime fiction, not sure what that implies :wink: with Ian Rankin & Quintin Jardine being the most obvious examples. There's a newer crime writer, Tony Black whose main character lives in ER & I think Alan Guthrie also mentioned us. There was a fairly surreal mention in a thriller by Murray Davies when he says he was on a plane to Europe surrounded by Hibs fans travelling to a European Cup game, if only!! Suspect he may have been in Brussels a few years back! I'll see if I can find article & update.

Casey1875
28-12-2012, 10:10 AM

In acid house where Pat Stanton is also the barman.

Just_Jimmy
28-12-2012, 10:15 AM
We had a few references in Rebus, my favourite piece was when a Detective pulled out his ID, to which Rebus opened his wallet, and said "Rebus, Hibs Supporter's Club".......:not worth

Maybe in the garbage tv show. Not in tje books. Clarke is a hibs fan in the books rebus isn't.

28-12-2012, 10:32 AM
Not in a good way though, he makes reference to one of his characters not being this bored since hibs last visited love st- can't remember which book though.
I like the Irvine Welsh quote from either trainspotting or porno where sick boy thinks that its funny no matter how much he's stopped caring about the hibs, he's always maintained a healthy hatred of all things maroon. I know people that are like that.

In Brookmyre's 'One Fine Day in the Middle of the Night', his retired Detective is a good Hibby from Leith who makes one or two pointed references to the Sparryheids

28-12-2012, 10:34 AM
Maybe in the garbage tv show. Not in tje books. Clarke is a hibs fan in the books rebus isn't.

Yes in the programmes, which I thought were decent to be honest. Not read any of the books, I take it Clarke is Siobhan??

28-12-2012, 10:34 AM

I've read a couple of the books and I'm sure he is a Hibs fan in the books.

hibby rae
28-12-2012, 10:36 AM
I also remember a coke advert at er back in the mid 90s. Drink coke, love football or some other kind of commercial pish.

28-12-2012, 11:22 AM
River City drops in the odd Hibs reference now and again.

"Jimmy" is a hibs fan in real life. In one episode "Jimmy's" dad turned up and got arrested at the end of the programme. When the cops were saying his name it was something like "John Ormond Smith Johnstone Reilly Turnbull Mullen, you're under arrest for..."

There's been a couple of other mentions as well!

28-12-2012, 11:27 AM
In Brookmyre's 'One Fine Day in the Middle of the Night', his retired Detective is a good Hibby from Leith who makes one or two pointed references to the Sparryheids

Ok forgot about that, years since I read them and they all kind of blend into one for me now! Is that the character Tim vale?

28-12-2012, 11:28 AM
Film, literature etc.

Primal Scream recorded a track called "Hibee Nation" with Irvine Welsh, back in the 90's.

Duncan McLean short story collection "A Bucket Of Tongues" (not sure of the title) had a story of sheep casuals and Hibs fans due to swedge, but the Hibs "Druids" fail to show.

Just_Jimmy
28-12-2012, 11:28 AM
Yes in the programmes, which I thought were decent to be honest. Not read any of the books, I take it Clarke is Siobhan??

Yeah siobhan. The books are miles better. If you get the chance have a read. Knots and cross is the first one.

Just_Jimmy
28-12-2012, 11:30 AM

No he isn't. Siobhan is, she takes rebus to a couple of games but he isnt a hibs fan. Theres times he recalls his dad going to raith rovers games.

Certainly not in the manner hes shown to be in the awful tv versions.

28-12-2012, 11:34 AM
River City drops in the odd Hibs reference now and again.

"Jimmy" is a hibs fan in real life. In one episode "Jimmy's" dad turned up and got arrested at the end of the programme. When the cops were saying his name it was something like "John Ormond Smith Johnstone Reilly Turnbull Mullen, you're under arrest for..."

There's been a couple of other mentions as well!

:agree: Met him at the Hands Off Hibs anniversary 'do' at the Usher Hall. Good lad :greengrin

28-12-2012, 04:03 PM

Couldn't get over how much the lead character looked like Sir Vlad.

28-12-2012, 04:06 PM
Dev Allahan went to see Hibs v Dundee United once (Coronation Street).

28-12-2012, 06:06 PM
Hibs fan on Holby City. Scouser said to him "That's a good team". Yes it was this century.

alibucharest
28-12-2012, 06:46 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_MnD7q7EFt0 1'53" :faf:

remember meeting Jack at the Pleasance during the festival many years ago and chatting about the exciting new prospect Kevin Harper!

He said he put a Hibs reference in the Docharty & Hunter stage show and it never got a cheer?!

28-12-2012, 07:19 PM
We got a mention every Friday night on Crackerjack when every contestant who got a question wrong in Double or Drop wias given a Cabbage.

28-12-2012, 07:34 PM
:agree: Met him at the Hands Off Hibs anniversary 'do' at the Usher Hall. Good lad :greengrin

Billy McElhaney, played for Edina Hibs as a boy and now sits in the West Lower behind the away dug out! :agree:

28-12-2012, 09:42 PM
STV, you can watch it on demand, if you have that function, and it is on STV-player

Just finished watching it on catch up tv!

Excellent entertainment if slightly 'stretching the imagination' just a bit!

Worth a watch if you haven't seen it already!

STRAIGHT 2 HELL
28-12-2012, 09:58 PM
I remember years ago an episode of the Bill started with pc George Garfield singing
cap in hand by the proclaimers, the bit about signing Hibs goalie

28-12-2012, 10:20 PM
Primal Scream recorded a track called "Hibee Nation" with Irvine Welsh, back in the 90's.

Pretty sure they didn't assuming it was the scream team vs the big man track you are talking about it was a scotland song for euro 96 and slagged of the Huns " where a blue McEwans lager top equals nae imagination"

Criswell
28-12-2012, 10:43 PM
In the mid-nineties (I think) there was a situation comedy called The Creatives. It was set in an Edinburgh advertising agency and one of the main characters was a Hibs fan. It only ran for one series I think, which was a shame because it pretty good. Anyone else remember it?

twiceinathens
28-12-2012, 10:55 PM
The irony in the televised Rebus is that Ken Stott who plays Rebus is a Jambo. In one episode his flat is shown decorated with Hibs posters. His sergeant is the Hibs supporter in the books. There is a scene shot at night in the deserted Hibs ground at night.

neilmartinrocks
28-12-2012, 11:03 PM
Pretty sure they didn't assuming it was the scream team vs the big man track you are talking about it was a scotland song for euro 96 and slagged of the Huns " where a blue McEwans lager top equals nae imagination"

I think the track was called "key to the house of love" Hibee Nation was the collective that did it.
Duffy and Innes from the scream with Irvine Welsh and some lassie Harrison.

28-12-2012, 11:11 PM
I think the track was called "key to the house of love" Hibee Nation was the collective that did it.

I Missed that one :greengrin thats why i went in softly :greengrin

Purple & Green
28-12-2012, 11:23 PM
There was an absolutely sketch which ended with the mickey weir chant - it must be on yourachoob

CraigK
28-12-2012, 11:27 PM

The band was Irvine Welsh and Kris Needs, with Duffy (Villa fan!) and Innes (Celtic) playing on one track.

28-12-2012, 11:28 PM
There was an absolutely sketch which ended with the mickey weir chant - it must be on yourachoob

There was also a sketch when the Newsreader shouts Murdo, Murdo, Murdo, Murdo after announcing Hibs beating Hearts.

Trainspotting is on Film 4 now with the Hibs stuff in the bedroom.

neilmartinrocks
28-12-2012, 11:30 PM
The band was Irvine Welsh and Kris Needs, with Duffy (Villa fan!) and Innes (Celtic) playing on one track.

Kris Needs thats the fellae!! couldnae mind hes name earlier.
But there is 2-3 lineups for Hibee Nation.

sarah-jane harrison?

Teuchter Hibbie
28-12-2012, 11:43 PM

Rebus doesn't show any major affiliation to either team in Rankin's novels IIRC. Siobhan Clarke is a big Hibs fan, the most recent novel mentions her travelling to McDiarmid Park etc for away games. However, the TV Rebus is a Hibee, as is frequently referred to on the show - there's one episode where he dates a suitably Hibs-daft lass and sneaks her onto the ER pitch one night, and displays quite an impressive collection of Hibs caricatures similar to the ones in the Four In Hand. Ken Stott, as most will know, who plays Rebus in the series, is very much a Jambo, though!

CraigK
29-12-2012, 10:29 AM
Kris Needs thats the fellae!! couldnae mind hes name earlier.
But there is 2-3 lineups for Hibee Nation.

sarah-jane harrison?

Rings a bell, i remember one of their other songs was called "Keys to the house of love (Gonnae gies it?)". There was a singer called Wonder as well in the group.

29-12-2012, 10:33 AM

They also had a character called Stanton Cropley.:agree:

CraigK
29-12-2012, 12:22 PM
In Grand Theft Auto San Andreas (?) the good guys wear green and the bad guys wear maroon.

29-12-2012, 12:41 PM
Sunshine on Leith was mentioned in the Simpson's just now on channel 4. Good enough for me.

29-12-2012, 12:48 PM
A bit off topic, I was in Morocco about 5 years ago and got chatting to a local in a Celtic shirt about Scottish football, before even mentioning I was a Hibee or from Edinburgh, he came out with the immortal truism 'I hate Hearts'. It seems the maroon scourge is held in contempt 'around the world'.

29-12-2012, 07:45 PM
A bit off topic, I was in Morocco about 5 years ago and got chatting to a local in a Celtic shirt about Scottish football, before even mentioning I was a Hibee or from Edinburgh, he came out with the immortal truism 'I hate Hearts'. It seems the maroon scourge is held in contempt 'around the world'.
Except in Kenya, obviously.

29-12-2012, 07:49 PM
Sunshine on Leith was mentioned in the Simpson's just now on channel 4. Good enough for me.

So Craig and Charlie have been referenced in The Simpsons as well as appearing in Family Guy?

29-12-2012, 08:05 PM
So Craig and Charlie have been referenced in The Simpsons as well as appearing in Family Guy?
17 minutes in here (http://wtso.net/movie/100-The_Simpsons_1817_Marge_Gamer.html). Although I'm starting to doubt myself after seeing it again! :greengrin

29-12-2012, 08:08 PM

Which episode was that? :confused:

seven nowt
29-12-2012, 08:13 PM

Seen him at Hibs matches several times.

wazoo1875
29-12-2012, 08:13 PM
Dennis watermans secretary in On the Up was a Hibby it was mentioned in an episode my dad showed me recently.

Seanair
29-12-2012, 08:30 PM
Going back to Open Doors, DOUGIE HENSHALL is a well known Hibby so obviously he must have influenced the Hibs connection to his character in the film. He walked past the Albion bar in the film which must have been before it shut down, but glad to see it was open again today.

29-12-2012, 08:37 PM
Which episode was that? :confused:
See post #55. "Marge Gamer".

29-12-2012, 09:29 PM

Really?! In what context?