View Full Version : Referee today

26-12-2012, 08:27 PM
Who was the ref today? Whoever he was, he was as bad as the game.

26-12-2012, 08:28 PM
Mr A Bellend

26-12-2012, 08:31 PM
John Beaton apparently.

26-12-2012, 08:34 PM
Awful ref. Made sure there was no flow to the game. Some awful decisions, happy to allow them to raise hands to hibs players constantly, and at one pout in the 2nd half, there was a 10 minute spell where you're lucky if the ball was in play for 2 minutes!!

26-12-2012, 08:51 PM
Was up there with the Allan Freeland performance against falkirk a few years ago.

What was going on for that spell when Clancy got booked and cairney warned? We were wanting to get on with the game, nobody was down injured and he wasn't speaking to anyone, he just seemed to be standing still for ages???

26-12-2012, 08:53 PM
It was all about the referee being centre of attention IMO.

26-12-2012, 08:58 PM
He was terrible but that doesn't get away from the fact that we were horrendous.

26-12-2012, 09:14 PM
He was terrible but that doesn't get away from the fact that we were horrendous.

Yep, said that at the game. It's a cop up to even mention the ref. Aye, he had a 15 min spell when he was an erse, but Hibs were pure dead pish today and the ref had nowt to do with that.

Lang Toun Hibs
26-12-2012, 09:19 PM
It was all about the referee being centre of attention IMO.

Spot on...and unfortunately he's not the only referee to do this is he? He was appalling today and totally lost the plot early in the second half. We were bad enough today but he totally spoilt the game.

26-12-2012, 09:19 PM

Yep, said that at the game. It's a cop up to even mention the ref. Aye, he had a 15 min spell when he was an erse, but Hibs were pure dead pish today and the ref had nowt to do with that.

Guys, the two things need not be mutually exclusive. Both Hibs AND the referee had a nightmare today

26-12-2012, 09:27 PM
Guys, the two things need not be mutually exclusive. Both Hibs AND the referee had a nightmare today

I agree John, but felt the ref's bad patch came at a point when we were already a goal down, in some eyes this could detract from a woeful Hibs performance. The ref today had no influence on the game, it'd rather look towards why Hibs were so bad, the ref was irrelevant. that's worrying to me, especially with Celtc coming up on Saturday.

IndieHibby
26-12-2012, 09:28 PM
The ref really wound me up. Apart from the fact his 'refereeing' was curtailing the flow of the game, he constantly ignored the manhandling by the RC players.

But the spell where he 'lost it' was immediately after our substitutions, which knackered any chance we had of turning the game in our favour.

We were poor, but the ref let RC's 'tactics' ruin the game.

Credit to RC for knowing they could get away with it.

IndieHibby
26-12-2012, 09:31 PM
The ref today had no influence on the game

If only this were true!

This is something we should be able to say about the best referee's - our's today was anything but.

Self-flagellation has it's place, but it shouldn't let the ref off with a piss-poor performance.

26-12-2012, 09:36 PM
If only this were true!

This is something we should be able to say about the best referee's - our's today was anything but.

Self-flagellation has it's place, but it shouldn't let the ref off with a piss-poor performance.

The ref had no influence in their goal. We had a goal rightly disallowed for off side. In which way could you say the ref had any control over the result of the game? Hibs were poor, we deserved to lose that game due to our players incompetence, nothing to do with the ref.

26-12-2012, 09:48 PM
The referee was really unprofessional in that phase of the game when he refused to let the play flow and was almost egging the players into dissent. Looked like most of the cards that he flashed were for players telling him to hurry the f*** up.

26-12-2012, 10:40 PM
How the ref got 4 minutes "injury" time beats me. We had a goal 5/6 subs and 4 minutes to get their player off the park and RC wasting time at every goalkick and throw-in. I expected to be there until 5:15 at least.

26-12-2012, 11:37 PM
He was aweful. Reminded me of Freeland v Falkirk a few seasons ago. However in saying that we have to be better and rise above his gashness. Cant make excuses for how bad we were today but he was total kak.

26-12-2012, 11:51 PM
The referee was really unprofessional in that phase of the game when he refused to let the play flow and was almost egging the players into dissent. Looked like most of the cards that he flashed were for players telling him to hurry the f*** up.:agree:the ref was a complete tit, from the minute the game kicked off. he continually allowed the opposition the benefit of doubt .he continually allowed them to push,jump over ,and back into our players, he also allowed them to steal yards on countless occasions and also continually allowed them to hold up the play in the second hanlf and allowed their number 22 to get away with bloody murder and anyone at the game can not disagree with that. the carry on at the corner flag during a crucial period of the second half, ended up with Cairney, then Clancy being booked. he had eventually booked number 22 and then,surprise purprise, he was immedietly subbed as his manager knew he should have walked. I was totally raging with that so called tit of a ref,along with the muppet linesman on the main stand side. disgraceful performance and they allowed Ross County to waste almost 15mins of the game.we were poor, no doubt but those pair played their bit.

LeighLoyal
27-12-2012, 12:01 AM
Thought the guy was a complete fudd.

27-12-2012, 12:48 AM
The referee was really unprofessional in that phase of the game when he refused to let the play flow and was almost egging the players into dissent. Looked like most of the cards that he flashed were for players telling him to hurry the f*** up.

good points and in fact as soon as he eventually got the game going again it was clear as **** that he had wound everyone up to the extent that a hibs player was going to steam into a challenge.......took about twenty seconds for mcpake to oblige and get another booking in the process!

27-12-2012, 03:45 PM
Clueless, incompetent idiot who was completely out of his depth.

jane_says
27-12-2012, 04:10 PM
Was up there with the Allan Freeland performance against falkirk a few years ago.

What was going on for that spell when Clancy got booked and cairney warned? We were wanting to get on with the game, nobody was down injured and he wasn't speaking to anyone, he just seemed to be standing still for ages???

Cairney did get booked, presumably for keeping on at 22, then the Ross County players, Doyle and Griffiths surrounded the referee, after about a minute of this Clancy comes running over, grabs Doyle, pulls him away and is obviously saying something along the lines of 'get away we're getting beat and need to hurry up' (helping out the ref and trying to get on with the game). Said referee then waits a few seconds before deciding Clancy needs booked as well. Then we all have to wait a minute more while he sorts his wee pen and book out before getting on with the game.
Utter clown, totally clueless.

27-12-2012, 04:19 PM
Cairney did get booked, presumably for keeping on at 22, then the Ross County players, Doyle and Griffiths surrounded the referee, after about a minute of this Clancy comes running over, grabs Doyle, pulls him away and is obviously saying something along the lines of 'get away we're getting beat and need to hurry up' (helping out the ref and trying to get on with the game). Said referee then waits a few seconds before deciding Clancy needs booked as well. Then we all have to wait a minute more while he sorts his wee pen and book out before getting on with the game.
Utter clown, totally clueless.

Sorry, I disagree about Clancy.

He was nowhere near the play, but ran 30 yards to have a go at the ref and anybody else in the vicinity. Clear booking, and totally stupid and unprofessional IMO. He lost the plot, to the extent that he was still having a go at the ref 10 minutes later.

27-12-2012, 10:47 PM
Sorry, I disagree about Clancy.

He was nowhere near the play, but ran 30 yards to have a go at the ref and anybody else in the vicinity. Clear booking, and totally stupid and unprofessional IMO. He lost the plot, to the extent that he was still having a go at the ref 10 minutes later.

How can it be a clear booking? you don't know what was said.

27-12-2012, 11:00 PM
How can it be a clear booking? you don't know what was said.

Running 30 yards and taking up an aggressive stance doesn't suggest that he was offering the compliments of the season. :greengrin

27-12-2012, 11:18 PM

Don't know what he was playing at. Never sen anything like it before and the players looked confused as well. Maybe he couldn't work his watch properly :dunno: He had completely lost control of the game at that point and his actions were winding up the players rather than calming things down.

He had a bad game but didn't have any major decisions to make, which is definitely a good

27-12-2012, 11:19 PM
Running 30 yards and taking up an aggressive stance doesn't suggest that he was offering the compliments of the season. :greengrin certainly not the way i SAW IT! Tim Clancy did sprint 30yds, to try and get the game going. he had words with the ref, dear dear, that's not allowed! he was trying to make his point, that the ref had taken a totally wrong view of how things were happening, and looked to me that he was quite entitled to do so. the ref by that time ,was so f/kin trigger happy that he'd lost the plot. dont try and justify anything that clown did, at any stage of the game.