23-12-2012, 01:29 PM
Make yourself a hero cookie monster.

23-12-2012, 01:30 PM
Don't worry here comes kuqi, 3 points in the bag

We are in the period when someone does something really stupid and loses the game. Just boot it up the park and don't muck about.

The monster is coming on, cant for the life of me understand why for 5 or 6 minutes?

hibs4thecup1988
doyle off kuqi on

Nailrod
has Sproule kept any ball he has been given :rolleyes:

I think he might have kept the one from the hat-trick at Ibrox. But that was a while ago.

one day maybe...
Kuqui aye right..... why bother

23-12-2012, 01:31 PM
Killie look the hungrier right now.

hibs4thecup1988
23-12-2012, 01:33 PM
Comedy gold defending from Killie but get lucky

23-12-2012, 01:33 PM
Kenny shiels nodding off there

23-12-2012, 01:34 PM
1431:

Hibs goalscorer Eoin Doyle is replaced by bulky striker Shefki Kuqi - who is yet to score for the club. :greengrin

23-12-2012, 01:34 PM
Kenny shiels nodding off there

That's what I thought too :greengrin then the commentator said he was checking his watch :wink:

23-12-2012, 01:35 PM
Kuqi will score here

HiBremian
23-12-2012, 01:36 PM
Ft 1-1

Well that was pish

One of Kuqi's best performances I feel.

hibeefan95
23-12-2012, 01:37 PM
Hibs played much better second half

Full time, draw probably a fair result from what I seen.

That was dire. Hopefully bring in something different in jan.

Up to 4th now.

hibs4thecup1988
Id have taken that if someone had offered me it after 10 minutes.

Bit annoyed seeing as we were probably the better team second half

Nailrod
Kuqi will score here

This guy is preventing a big fat rubbishy Scottish youngster from getting his chance!!! :grr:

SneakersO'Toole
23-12-2012, 01:38 PM
Draw isn't a disaster but we certainly need to reverse this slump pronto.

23-12-2012, 01:38 PM
Good point, although someone will be along in a minute to tell me how crap we are, and 4th place is not good enough for a club our size.

23-12-2012, 01:39 PM
If I am honest with the way things have been going lately would have accepted a draw at 12.45 :greengrin

Kenny Shiels complaining yet ?

23-12-2012, 01:40 PM
Much better with Deegan in there, that's the most possession we've had for ages. Stevenson was excellent too.

hail1875hail
23-12-2012, 01:41 PM
crap game although a few positives to take from the game. cairney was unlucky with the chip but i thought he maybe could have just smashed it? and i feel that he could of also had a penalty for the one that he got booked for? so overall an alright performance but still lacking that bit of creativity.

23-12-2012, 01:41 PM
Good point, although someone will be along in a minute to tell me how crap we are, and 4th place is not good enough for a club our size.

And that we only sign Irish players

23-12-2012, 01:42 PM
Totally dominated the second half, not a bad performance overall. No complaints from me. Need to build on this with 3 points next week and get things going again.

23-12-2012, 01:42 PM
Perfectly acceptable point.

Not saying we weren't looking to win it, but we're crying out for someone with pace and drive playing central midfield - like Brown used to do for us. Very slow to commit players forward, and not many are willing to take the ball and turn even if there's yards of space to work into.

Wonder if we could play away from home post-January with something like..

Deegan - Taiwo/Claros

Wotherspoon/Doyle - Cairney - Erskine/New left winger

Griffiths

23-12-2012, 01:43 PM
Would've taken a point before kick off but what a rubbish game of football. We looked better in the 2nd half though.

23-12-2012, 01:44 PM
Rugby Park is a tough place to go, decent result IMO. Makes boxing day more important for a win.

23-12-2012, 01:46 PM
If I am honest with the way things have been going lately would have accepted a draw at 12.45 :greengrin

Kenny Shiels complaining yet ?

He's complaining that he couldn't get comfy enough to get a proper kip.

23-12-2012, 01:48 PM

It wasn't good enough for you a couple of seasons ago. Have you lowered your standards?

23-12-2012, 01:49 PM
Hibs should have won the game.

23-12-2012, 01:49 PM
It wasn't good enough for you a couple of seasons ago. Have you lowered your standards?

23-12-2012, 01:50 PM
Nah.

What did Mixu just say?? That Lewis should have been tucking in and covering heffernan. As I said

23-12-2012, 01:52 PM
Stops the rot but a better side would have taken advantage of our defensive uncertainty in first 30 mins.
Three points on Wednesday is essential.
We are slow to commit players forward hence the struggle when it's not clicking for Griffiths.
Taiwo & Deegan solid but no drive in attack from the centre. Cairney & Wotherspoon comfortable on the ball but not really wide men.
Still, fourth aint bad considering our recent form.

23-12-2012, 01:52 PM
Good point after a bad start. Think that's only our 8th draw under Fenlon .

TheReg!
23-12-2012, 01:54 PM
Decent point. I like seeing Cairney moving into centre midfield as he does his best work there, but we need to either get a good target man or stop with the long balls from defence.

23-12-2012, 01:56 PM
Decent point. I like seeing Cairney moving into centre midfield as he does his best work there, but we need to either get a good target man or stop with the long balls from defence.

Kuqi is a target man..... Whoops just noticed you said GOOD target man

23-12-2012, 01:57 PM

Cairney's a vital player, when he plays we play. His booking was a travesty but where does that leave him regarding suspension?

23-12-2012, 01:58 PM
If people want to see some real top-class sport, Cool Runnings is just starting on BBC1.

23-12-2012, 01:58 PM
Cairney's a vital player, when he plays we play. His booking was a travesty but where does that leave him regarding suspension?

Suspended for Dundee at home. Could have been much worse.

TheReg!
23-12-2012, 01:59 PM

Misses D Utd game in January.

23-12-2012, 02:00 PM
Kuqi is a target man..... Whoops just noticed you said GOOD target man

I thought with the limited time he had on the park today, he showed by winning the one header he had that given a little more time on the park he might have contributed a bit today.

If we are going to punt it up the park, then playing Kuqi is a no brainer imo, Doyle or Griffiths would probably prosper playing off him with that style of football?

23-12-2012, 02:09 PM
I thought with the limited time he had on the park today, he showed by winning the one header he had that given a little more time on the park he might have contributed a bit today.

If we are going to punt it up the park, then playing Kuqi is a no brainer imo, Doyle or Griffiths would probably prosper playing off him with that style of football?

To be fair he hasn't had much of a chance but he's obviously past his sell by date. He was a player a few years ago but it seems apparent that he just doesn't have it anymore. We do need a target man but just a better one than kuqi

23-12-2012, 02:13 PM
Including today, Kuqi has played about 93 minutes for us. Fenlon's reluctance to use him more does suggest that he isn't the player he thought he was, but he may still play a part.

23-12-2012, 02:14 PM

Fair play to you - it takes a big man to admit he was wrong so publicly.

23-12-2012, 02:16 PM
To be fair he hasn't had much of a chance but he's obviously past his sell by date. He was a player a few years ago but it seems apparent that he just doesn't have it anymore. We do need a target man but just a better one than kuqi

I cant tell if he does not have it anymore, because as you say he's not been given any sort of chance? He's come on for 3 or 4 minutes and thats not long enough, he is a big lad, who scored and played all last season but imo a player like him needs to play every week to get properly fit.

Thats not happened because our front 2 have been on form, and scored regularly. I dont think he will get a proper run at easter road, but i'd like to have seen a fit Kuqi to see if he did still have it at this level?

23-12-2012, 02:18 PM
Fair play to you - it takes a big man to admit he was wrong so publicly.

You mean you have got it wrong big time, and must be thinking of someone else? :faf:

23-12-2012, 02:19 PM
I cant tell if he does not have it anymore, because as you say he's not been given any sort of chance? He's come on for 3 or 4 minutes and thats not long enough, he is a big lad, who scored and played all last season but imo a player like him needs to play every week to get properly fit.

Thats not happened because our front 2 have been on form, and scored regularly. I dont think he will get a proper run at easter road, but i'd like to have seen a fit Kuqi to see if he did still have it at this level?

I think if he still had it he either wouldn't be at hibs or would be getting a lot more game time than he is especially with the way sparky has been playing recently.

23-12-2012, 02:23 PM
You mean you have got it wrong big time, and must be thinking of someone else? :faf:

Have i? Who am I mixed up with?

Not having a good day, if true like.

23-12-2012, 02:24 PM

How far past his sell by date is he? He was scoring plenty last season.

We don't need a target man. We play best when our forward players use their movement to create space for each other. Caldwell and Handling are those types of players as well, and that has been a bonus I don't think Pat expected. Kuqi just gives us the option to go back to front for the last ten minutes if we're chasing a quick goal, but he tends to only come on when the team is playing poorly as a whole. Today we played ok, he won his headers, and we got a couple of half chances from it. However, any forward will struggle to get a game when Doyle and Griffiths are scoring as many as they have this season. Even if Griffiths returns south, we may use the likes of Caldwell or Handling to maintain the style of play that gave us so much success earlier in the season, as we don't have the traditional style of winger at the club to make the most of a target man.

He's not really had any fair crack of the whip, and he doesn't fit into the way we're keen to play. He's an option, he's well thought of by the young players, and he's a professional. If he goes elsewhere to find first team football in January then it's entirely understandable, but I wouldn't be booting his considerably sized erky out the door without good reason.

23-12-2012, 02:24 PM
Here are some pants, the usual suspects will need them.

http://www.incontinencechoice.co.uk/washable-incontinence-pants.html?gclid=CKLtoK7JsLQCFQ7LtAodyxUAKA

Some of the bed wetting early on this thread :bitchy::panic:

23-12-2012, 02:25 PM
Suspended for Dundee at home. Could have been much worse.

Could have been much better tho'. Mixu and McCann were adamant that the booking was ridiculous and it was a stonewall penalty for us. Ok, it cancelled out their penalty call but a booking was really unfair.

23-12-2012, 02:27 PM
Could have been much better tho'. Mixu and McCann were adamant that the booking was ridiculous and it was a stonewall penalty for us. Ok, it cancelled out their penalty call but a booking was really unfair.

Of course. But if he'd been booked last week he would've missed the game at Tynie.

23-12-2012, 02:27 PM
What did Mixu just say?? That Lewis should have been tucking in and covering heffernan. As I said

I was more referring to the bit about Maybury covering. Mixu also said that Hanlon should have been closer too incidentally.

23-12-2012, 02:30 PM

:agree: While we are nowhere near the finished article, we are better. We do have players who can dig in and battle, and that sometimes is enough to get back into a game.

With players like Griffiths and Doyle up front, we will score goals too. I thought we played ok today, a draw about right, but we might even had won it.

Special mentions to Deegan and Stevenson, both were very good today and it is nice to get Deegan back.

Once Clancy is back at right back, we will be fine. This team is on the right track, we will get better and better under Pat, of that i am 100% sure.

23-12-2012, 02:31 PM
I was more referring to the bit about Maybury covering. Mixu also said that Hanlon should have been closer too incidentally.

To be fair to Lewis, I reckon he was caught in two minds. Either, step up to play him offside, or tuck in behind McGivern. For me, McGivern should have judged the ball better. Stevenson hesitated, and Heffernan is never slow to punish. Otherwise, I thought Lewis was very good today.

What's disappointing is, a silly, early goal like that has cost us 2 points and a wee confidence boost today.

fife hfc
23-12-2012, 02:32 PM
Happy to take a point today and after a poor start we more than held our own. We are fourth at christmas which is way better than I expected after last season and if we could add two or three players we will improve even more.

As for the game Deegan played well and showed us what we have been missing. He always wanted the ball and showed the leadership we lack when him and mcpake are out the team. stevenson was partly responsible for the goal but also had a good game. Overall I'm happy so far this season as after last season we are far better than my expectations and I know the mess created over the last few seasons can't be fixed in a few months, but the signs are promising.

23-12-2012, 02:34 PM
How far past his sell by date is he? He was scoring plenty last season.

We don't need a target man. We play best when our forward players use their movement to create space for each other. Caldwell and Handling are those types of players as well, and that has been a bonus I don't think Pat expected. Kuqi just gives us the option to go back to front for the last ten minutes if we're chasing a quick goal, but he tends to only come on when the team is playing poorly as a whole. Today we played ok, he won his headers, and we got a couple of half chances from it. However, any forward will struggle to get a game when Doyle and Griffiths are scoring as many as they have this season. Even if Griffiths returns south, we may use the likes of Caldwell or Handling to maintain the style of play that gave us so much success earlier in the season, as we don't have the traditional style of winger at the club to make the most of a target man.

He's not really had any fair crack of the whip, and he doesn't fit into the way we're keen to play. He's an option, he's well thought of by the young players, and he's a professional. If he goes elsewhere to find first team football in January then it's entirely understandable, but I wouldn't be booting his considerably sized erky out the door without good reason.

Well he is 37 years old and is obviously not setting the heather on fire so to me that suggests that he is well past his best. I trust fenlons judgement on this because he will see him training every day.

We do need a target man if all we're going to do is punt the ball up the park every game.

23-12-2012, 02:38 PM
Happy with a point today ..would have been delighted wi 3 but wasnae to be ..onwards & upwards Paddy's boys ...:flag:

23-12-2012, 02:49 PM
Halfway through the season now. In 19 SPL games we have lost 8 times, and of those only 3 have been comprehensive defeats, the other 5 have been lost by a single goal, and games where we could, and often should, have taken something from the game. I know how many times we were beaten comprehensively in our first 19 games last season.

We have only 5 points less than we won in all of last season, and scored only ten fewer goals. Obviously we have a long, long way to go, but the improvement has been excellent, and I'm optimistic about the future, even if we lose the 3 loan players.

SJNB Hibby
23-12-2012, 02:59 PM
Halfway through the season now. In 19 SPL games we have lost 8 times, and of those only 3 have been comprehensive defeats, the other 5 have been lost by a single goal, and games where we could, and often should, have taken something from the game. I know how many times we were beaten comprehensively in our first 19 games last season.

We have only 5 points less than we won in all of last season, and scored only ten fewer goals. Obviously we have a long, long way to go, but the improvement has been excellent, and I'm optimistic about the future, even if we lose the 3 loan players.

Double the points we had at this stage last year-no matter how bad we think we are-THAT'S an improvement:agree:

23-12-2012, 03:01 PM
Much better with Deegan in there, that's the most possession we've had for ages. Stevenson was excellent too.

This. A good point, and a fair point. Thought we played some neat wee triangles at times also.

23-12-2012, 03:01 PM
:agree: While we are nowhere near the finished article, we are better. We do have players who can dig in and battle, and that sometimes is enough to get back into a game.

With players like Griffiths and Doyle up front, we will score goals too. I thought we played ok today, a draw about right, but we might even had won it.

Special mentions to Deegan and Stevenson, both were very good today and it is nice to get Deegan back.

Once Clancy is back at right back, we will be fine. This team is on the right track, we will get better and better under Pat, of that i am 100% sure.

Good to see LS getting due credit. Done well today, fully merited.
Imo this should have been Deegans 1st app back. Also done ok after lay off.
I hope Kuki & sproules appearances from bench are limited come new year as we defo need other options from our 1st 16. Both are predictable & offer little.
Decent point on the road & a home win v county now vital for confidence.

Newhaven
23-12-2012, 03:09 PM

The so called bed wetters have been right the last couple of seasons though haven't we?

Whilst the improvement from last season is welcome a club with our resources should be challenging higher than fourth and STILL not have a powder puff defence

23-12-2012, 03:10 PM
I've not bothered reading the thread, I thought Hibs were the better side after we went a goal down. I'll read it in the morning.

23-12-2012, 03:19 PM
The so called bed wetters have been right the last couple of seasons though haven't we?

Whilst the improvement from last season is welcome a club with our resources should be challenging higher than fourth and STILL not have a powder puff defenceWe have injuries in defence though ...we have a small pool so dont have the experience to cover ..a fit Clancy & McPake would make a difference ..

23-12-2012, 03:26 PM

Whilst the improvement from last season is welcome a club with our resources should be challenging higher than fourth and STILL not have a powder puff defence

Aye, i agree. Damn those happy clappers :grr:

23-12-2012, 03:35 PM

Nine of the current SPL clubs finished comfortably above us last season, and Fenlon has used our resources very well to be sitting above six of them at the moment. The progress has been considerable thus far.

Our defence isn't powder puff, it's just inconsistent, like many other SPL defences, Celtic included. We have been bullied in some games but physically commanding in others. We have played with 6 different defences in 19 league games to be fair.

23-12-2012, 03:41 PM

What he said. Last 2 seasons we would have given up after the first goal and gone under by about another 2 or 3.

A point away at Rugby Park is ok by me.........given the way they can play - and the waY we HAVE been playing the past few seasons.

We're on the way back. No doubt. More spine, more determination. And in the top 4 for now. :agree::aok:

23-12-2012, 03:52 PM

And what exactly ARE those resources?

Do we have more disposable cash (or huge transfer budget) than the rest (apart from Celtc?) - no.

Do we sell out every week? - no (indeed until recently our home crowd was apalling. Why are RP and co. trying to get the stayaways back through the turnstiles? and while showing modest signs of improvement is hardly massive.

Do we pay huge wages to our playing staff? No. Probably a little more than most others, but not by much.

Do we have a massive first team squad? No. Probably much the same as the rest with our own fair share of youth.

So........what other "resources" do we have that (should) makes us better than the rest? Sure we have playing and training facilities that are probably in the top 3 in Scotland. We have fanbase potential (look at the clamour for tickets to Finals when we get there). What else? IMHO its just our huge history and pedigree that separates us from the rest just now.

And that doesnt win you football matches.

We're recovering after some damaging managerial appointments which have done real damage to internal morale and culture. PF and his team are slowly bringing that back.........

.......were top 4 and a nose ahead of the majority. But still a long way to go before we can say (as we have before) that Hibs should be easily disposing with all but the main opposition (Celtc, sheep and (probably) Yams. (and sevco if they ever get back)

:agree: Tin hat on. :rolleyes:

23-12-2012, 03:57 PM

Pretty much word for word my opinion. Deegan played as well as he ever has for Hibs IMO. Confident on the ball and a bit of physical presence. Thought he and Taiwo looked more athletic than with Claros who can look ponderous at times.

Pity Cairney hadnt taken his great chance just after half time. As for Cairney's booking what a crock that was, ref obviously wanted an easy time from Shiels. It is a joke in this country that you cant appeal bookings especially ones that put someone on a suspension.

OsloHibs
23-12-2012, 04:12 PM
Had to work, just back. Read through this thread and still don't know how we were :confused:
In a nutshell please (anyone non-negative) how did we do?

23-12-2012, 04:15 PM
Had to work, just back. Read through this thread and still don't know how we were :confused:

We were alright.

23-12-2012, 04:15 PM

Really bad first 15 minutes but got a foothold in the game after that. Defence looked shaky for the whole first half though and we could have conceded more. However, second half we were the better side and Cairney almost won it for us. A decent point, especially after going behind so early, and a fair result.

OsloHibs
23-12-2012, 04:24 PM

23-12-2012, 04:27 PM
Well he is 37 years old and is obviously not setting the heather on fire so to me that suggests that he is well past his best. I trust fenlons judgement on this because he will see him training every day.

We do need a target man if all we're going to do is punt the ball up the park every game.

He's just turned 36, and just off the back of a highly repectable goalscoring season, and a level not dissimilar to the SPL, and he's not getting a game ahead of two of the top scorers in the league. A long punt up the park comes from panicking players, or ones out of ideas, not a tactic.

vanNISHtelroy
23-12-2012, 04:27 PM
Really bad first 15 minutes but got a foothold in the game after that. Defence looked shaky for the whole first half though and we could have conceded more. However, second half we were the better side and Cairney almost won it for us. A decent point, especially after going behind so early, and a fair result.

Missed the first 15 mins cos I was still working in the turnstiles :(

Thought that the whole of the game that I did see looked pretty even apart from a couple of brief spells which probably evened themselves out. Both defences seemed pretty poor when put under any kind of pressure.

Newhaven
23-12-2012, 04:31 PM
We have injuries in defence though ...we have a small pool so dont have the experience to cover ..a fit Clancy & McPake would make a difference ..

I agree however it doesnt look like McPake is 100% fit yet or will be for a few more weeks yet.

Newhaven
23-12-2012, 04:33 PM
Aye, i agree. Damn those happy clappers :grr:

I see myself as more as a happy bed wetter :agree:

Newhaven
23-12-2012, 04:36 PM
Nine of the current SPL clubs finished comfortably above us last season, and Fenlon has used our resources very well to be sitting above six of them at the moment. The progress has been considerable thus far.

Our defence isn't powder puff, it's just inconsistent, like many other SPL defences, Celtic included. We have been bullied in some games but physically commanding in others. We have played with 6 different defences in 19 league games to be fair.

I agree that Fenlon has done well with what he has but other teams seem to be doing even more with less as Ill expand on later.

23-12-2012, 04:37 PM
He's just turned 36, and just off the back of a highly repectable goalscoring season, and a level not dissimilar to the SPL, and he's not getting a game ahead of two of the top scorers in the league. A long punt up the park comes from panicking players, or ones out of ideas, not a tactic.

Ok he's 36 then, he'l be 37 in 11 months though ;-)

Wherever the long ball method comes from doesn't matter, the point is that we're using it often so a good target man is essential

23-12-2012, 04:37 PM
Just hope the defence gets better for the 3 games. Esp against celtic

23-12-2012, 04:45 PM
Happy with a point today ..would have been delighted wi 3 but wasnae to be ..onwards & upwards Paddy's boys ...:flag:

:agree::agree:

After a shaky opening 10 minutes, but we dug in well, and played some nice stuff at times.....Can't believe the hyperbole at times.....

Newhaven
23-12-2012, 05:09 PM
And what exactly ARE those resources?

Do we have more disposable cash (or huge transfer budget) than the rest (apart from Celtc?) - no.

Do we sell out every week? - no (indeed until recently our home crowd was apalling. Why are RP and co. trying to get the stayaways back through the turnstiles? and while showing modest signs of improvement is hardly massive.

Do we pay huge wages to our playing staff? No. Probably a little more than most others, but not by much.

Do we have a massive first team squad? No. Probably much the same as the rest with our own fair share of youth.

So........what other "resources" do we have that (should) makes us better than the rest? Sure we have playing and training facilities that are probably in the top 3 in Scotland. We have fanbase potential (look at the clamour for tickets to Finals when we get there). What else? IMHO its just our huge history and pedigree that separates us from the rest just now.

And that doesnt win you football matches.

We're recovering after some damaging managerial appointments which have done real damage to internal morale and culture. PF and his team are slowly bringing that back.........

.......were top 4 and a nose ahead of the majority. But still a long way to go before we can say (as we have before) that Hibs should be easily disposing with all but the main opposition (Celtc, sheep and (probably) Yams. (and sevco if they ever get back)

:agree: Tin hat on. :rolleyes:

Two resources we have better than 90% of SPL clubs are crowds and East Mains.

Aside from Celtic we have better crowds than the majority of other SPL clubs. Clubs with less crowds though (which the board say will fund PF's kitty) have done as well as us, if not better over the last couple of years. Dundee United, Motherwell and St Johnstone would all love 9/10k average crowds yet they have won cups and all have qualified for Europe recently with less coming through the gates.

Mowbray wanted East Mains built and the club and supporters dug deep to fund this project which Im led to believe is world class and is a major influence on attacting players. Are the players really that more fitter though since this has been built? Jury out IMO and I bet other clubs don't have such great training facilities? Clubs which have all done better than hibs recently.

No SPL clubs are selling out week after week. Even Celtic when they were winning titles year after year rarely sold out apart from OF and Champions League games. More through the gates will give a bigger budget but we really should be speculating on getting to the Europa league by getting Griffiths signed up and not letting him go anywhere else. Would any hibs supporter feel comfortable with Kuqi starting up front?

Yes the improvements are there from last season but I and many supporters cant help but see other SPL teams doing as well as us (over recent periods) if not better with less money and facilities. Were still too soft and should not be losing games like last week when were 2 up with 30 to go and get beat 2-3. I just want better :aok:

23-12-2012, 05:14 PM
Ok he's 36 then, he'l be 37 in 11 months though ;-)

Wherever the long ball method comes from doesn't matter, the point is that we're using it often so a good target man is essential

It does matter. A ***** long ball is as much use to a giant as it is to a dwarf.

23-12-2012, 05:17 PM
Two resources we have better than 90% of SPL clubs are crowds and East Mains.

Aside from Celtic we have better crowds than the majority of other SPL clubs. Clubs with less crowds though (which the board say will fund PF's kitty) have done as well as us, if not better over the last couple of years. Dundee United, Motherwell and St Johnstone would all love 9/10k average crowds yet they have won cups and all have qualified for Europe recently with less coming through the gates.

Mowbray wanted East Mains built and the club and supporters dug deep to fund this project which Im led to believe is world class and is a major influence on attacting players. Are the players really that more fitter though since this has been built? Jury out IMO and I bet other clubs don't have such great training facilities? Clubs which have all done better than hibs recently.

No SPL clubs are selling out week after week. Even Celtic when they were winning titles year after year rarely sold out apart from OF and Champions League games. More through the gates will give a bigger budget but we really should be speculating on getting to the Europa league by getting Griffiths signed up and not letting him go anywhere else. Would any hibs supporter feel comfortable with Kuqi starting up front?

Yes the improvements are there from last season but I and many supporters cant help but see other SPL teams doing as well as us (over recent periods) if not better with less money and facilities. Were still too soft and should not be losing games like last week when were 2 up with 30 to go and get beat 2-3. I just want better :aok:

At least we agree on the last sentence. Difference between us seems to be only in thinking that time is needed to eradicate that after several years of bad management at ALL levels.........and that slightly bigger crowds and a state of the art training facility should make it all ok. :wink:

Newhaven
23-12-2012, 05:26 PM
At least we agree on the last sentence. Difference between us seems to be only in thinking that time is needed to eradicate that after several years of bad management at ALL levels.........and that slightly bigger crowds and a state of the art training facility should make it all ok. :wink:

We agree on more than just the last sentence :greengrin I've just had enough of transition and patience and want to see some reward for my club in the shape of trophies and regular european qualification

23-12-2012, 05:34 PM
We agree on more than just the last sentence :greengrin I've just had enough of transition and patience and want to see some reward for my club in the shape of trophies and regular european qualification

so do we all.........thats why we support THIS club.

Funny thing is......I don't see the last few years as "transition". Just effing awful decision making from the top on appointments.....then effing awful player/team management from those effing awful appointments!. Stagnation would be my description.

Now I think we have a man who can deliver what we all want......but he's learning too! So now we're in "transition". And its going the right way! :wink:

23-12-2012, 05:39 PM
so do we all.........thats why we support THIS club.

Funny thing is......I don't see the last few years as "transition". Just effing awful decision making from the top on appointments.....then effing awful player/team management from those effing awful appointments!. Stagnation would be my description.

Now I think we have a man who can deliver what we all want......but he's learning too! So now we're in "transition". And its going the right way! :wink:

:top marks We really were at an all time low, i know we'd been relegated before but that team last season was pish, worse than some i have seen relegated.

We are on the right track, with someone in charge i think knows what he's doing.

Things are on the up, it wont always be great and we will lose a few, but we are going in the right direction.

Progress is being made at last. :thumbsup:

23-12-2012, 05:43 PM
It does matter. A ***** long ball is as much use to a giant as it is to a dwarf.

Yes quite

23-12-2012, 05:44 PM
:top marks We really were at an all time low, i know we'd been relegated before but that team last season was pish, worse than some i have seen relegated.

We are on the right track, with someone in charge i think knows what he's doing.

Things are on the up, it wont always be great and we will lose a few, but we are going in the right direction.

Progress is being made at last. :thumbsup:

Amen to that.......:top marks

23-12-2012, 06:02 PM
Thought today was an ok performance. Let down once again by woeful defending.

Famous5forever
23-12-2012, 07:50 PM
4 points from 18 worst form in the SPL on that basis even Dundee have done better, we need to pick things up our defence is murder Paddy is good at bringing in loanees lets see what new players he brings in in January and take it from there.:flag:

23-12-2012, 07:51 PM
4 points from 18 worst form in the SPL on that basis even Dundee have done better, we need to pick things up our defence is murder Paddy is good at bringing in loanees lets see what new players he brings in in January and take it from there.:flag:

Moved up a place to 4th though, so not that bad.

23-12-2012, 08:01 PM
The defence looked like rabbits caught in the headlights at times for the first 20 minutes but I didn't think there was much danger of us conceding again after that.

Echo the good comments about Stevenson, he looked very comfortable on the ball and he was willing to support Cairney as much as possible going forward without necessarily neglecting his defensive duties.

Maybury had a sound game as did McGivern and Hanlon once they got over their early jitters.

Cairney had a very good game and looked dangerous whenever he got in the final third. Not seen a replay of the booking yet but on 'live' viewing I thought it was neither a dive nor a foul and was a very harsh yellow. My main frustration at the time was that Cairney had done the hard work in creating the opening but his final ball was a poor one.

Spoony I thought was a little quiet today and seemed a little too eager to turn back inside and play a simple ball rather than backing himself to beat a man like we all know he is capable of doing, although maybe that's been a deliberate act to perhaps stop us being caught on the break?

Deegan lacked match sharpness which meant some of his passing was a bit off, but that will come with time. Taiwo didn't do much wrong, Griffiths looked lively without being particularly dangerous and Doyle worked his nads off yet again.

Said to my mate before the game that I'd be happy with a point so not too many grumbles from me.

23-12-2012, 08:16 PM
Thought we played well today and was satisfied with the draw after falling behind. My only gripe is the choice to bring sproule on, I just find him completely pointless now he's lost his pace, is the young lads Stanton or Harris not a wingers? Surely they could be more effective?

23-12-2012, 08:45 PM
Thought we played well today and was satisfied with the draw after falling behind. My only gripe is the choice to bring sproule on, I just find him completely pointless now he's lost his pace, is the young lads Stanton or Harris not a wingers? Surely they could be more effective?
Sproule may have lost a yard of pace but that's not to say he's slow by any means. He showed in the Hearts cup game that he still has a role to play. I will say I was surprised that Doyle continued for so long though, he looked knackered with 15 minutes left (justifiably so given how hard he had worked).

23-12-2012, 08:53 PM
Sproule may have lost a yard of pace but that's not to say he's slow by any means. He showed in the Hearts cup game that he still has a role to play. I will say I was surprised that Doyle continued for so long though, he looked knackered with 15 minutes left (justifiably so given how hard he had worked).

Was saying that to my mate today, he's still quick and in a 100m sprint I'm sure he's still the quickest at the club but he's not got that burst of pace any more that he had to compensate for his lack of abilities as a footballer, coming off the bench now he's more use to help out defensively than he is in terms of offering a threat going forward and if we're bringing on a winger with 10-20 mins to go I'd rather it was to help us score.

24-12-2012, 12:15 AM
How on earth did Cairney get booked for that 'dive'?! The defender takes his foot from him and he isnt even appealing for a penalty. I know you cant appeal yellows but thats not the worst thing about this. He will now suffer the same treatment that O'connor got and everytime he goes down the ref will think he has dived. Piss poor decision:grr:.