View Full Version : Hibs Derby Classics

adrianhibs
20-12-2012, 11:29 PM
Hey all.

Am a returning member to this Forum as it has been ages since I was on here.

Hope all you lot are having a gr8 Christmas so far.

Anyway, I am messaging you lot because for the past year or so, I have been trying to track down some great Edinburgh derbies over the past few years and the following two are standouts for me:

16th March 1996 - 1-1 at Tynecastle (not sure if any of you lot have that one)
August 2007 - We won 1-0 through Brian Kerr
October 2005 - We won 2-0

The above games were covered by Scotsport (ITV). Basically am trying to track down the STV coverage of these two games.

If any has these games, I'll be interested in either a DVD or VHS copy of these games and am more than happy to pay for the cost.

If any of you have anything, can you kindly let me know at my email address: adrian2005@hotmail.co.uk

I will very much appreciate it.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Have a gr8 Christmas and a Happy New Year and all the best for 2013.

Adrian

20-12-2012, 11:35 PM
Odd choices!

21-12-2012, 12:14 AM
Was it really 2007 when Kerr scored very early on at the sewer that night? The time flies! I was there to lap it up :greengrin

Merry Christmas to you, Adrian

21-12-2012, 12:33 AM
The de la Cruz derby is one I've never seen highlights for since the weekend of the game, if someone can upload them onto YouTube it would be fantastic. I remember the goal after 36 seconds well :thumbsup:

21-12-2012, 11:04 AM
not what your looking for :greengrin but here's the sky news goals from the 1999 game at the pink wonga dome (0-3) Dirk Lehmann, Franck sauzee, and a young kenny miller

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QeX5kMOgCmk

always worth a watch:flag::fenlon

21-12-2012, 11:11 AM
not what your looking for :greengrin but here's the sky news goals from the 1999 game at the pink wonga dome (0-3) Dirk Lehmann, Franck sauzee, and a young kenny miller

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QeX5kMOgCmk

always worth a watch:flag::fenlon

21-12-2012, 12:19 PM
October 2005 - We won 2-0 Highlights only

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M6ZgrQV_w-8

21-12-2012, 12:44 PM
Hey all.

Am a returning member to this Forum as it has been ages since I was on here.

Hope all you lot are having a gr8 Christmas so far.

Anyway, I am messaging you lot because for the past year or so, I have been trying to track down some great Edinburgh derbies over the past few years and the following two are standouts for me:

16th March 1996 - 1-1 at Tynecastle (not sure if any of you lot have that one)
August 2007 - We won 1-0 through Brian Kerr
October 2005 - We won 2-0

The above games were covered by Scotsport (ITV). Basically am trying to track down the STV coverage of these two games.

If any has these games, I'll be interested in either a DVD or VHS copy of these games and am more than happy to pay for the cost.

If any of you have anything, can you kindly let me know at my email address: adrian2005@hotmail.co.uk

I will very much appreciate it.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Have a gr8 Christmas and a Happy New Year and all the best for 2013.

AdrianHighlights from the Kerr game

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V4Rta-cfQAk

21-12-2012, 01:07 PM
It's a sad state of affairs when these games are classed as classics. The 2-0 game maybe but tha other games just show how starved the younger generation has been when it comes to derby success.

21-12-2012, 01:08 PM

Fantastic...what an atmosphere..:not worth

21-12-2012, 01:11 PM
It's a sad state of affairs when these games are classed as classics. The 2-0 game maybe but tha other games just show how starved the younger generation has been when it comes to derby success.Well tae be fair it was only the OP that gave them that label, certainly no classics in my book.

21-12-2012, 01:21 PM
It's a sad state of affairs when these games are classed as classics. The 2-0 game maybe but tha other games just show how starved the younger generation has been when it comes to derby success.

Agree. The 2-0 was the best in recent times. Maybe the one when O'Conner scored in the final minutes after Brebner was (wrongly) sent off. But yeah, stretching the definition of classics.

McIntosh
21-12-2012, 02:10 PM
The de la Cruz derby is one I've never seen highlights for since the weekend of the game, if someone can upload them onto YouTube it would be fantastic. I remember the goal after 36 seconds well :thumbsup:

I saw it live lying in bed in Cuba of all places but never seen it since!!!

BarneyK
21-12-2012, 02:17 PM

3-0 Millennium derby at Tynie is up there with them all. Absolutely owned them that day. :agree:

biffo1875
21-12-2012, 04:20 PM
it was a good few years a go but the steve archibald winner at their place was amazing.down to 10 men he cracked a beauty in front of the hibs end was one of the best celebrations i have been in .great day:flag::flag::flag:sure it is on you tube

21-12-2012, 05:03 PM
Which one was the 81% possession game?

21-12-2012, 05:08 PM
Which one was the 81% possession game?

Rob Jones 1-0 CIS Cup ;)

21-12-2012, 05:20 PM
Rob Jones 1-0 CIS Cup ;)

So it was :aok:

21-12-2012, 08:24 PM
3-0 Millennium derby at Tynie is up there with them all. Absolutely owned them that day. :agree:

6-2 is one I love, we really could have scored double figures that night, but for their keeper (Niemi IIRC)..........

21-12-2012, 09:28 PM

Brilliant to watch that again - thanks J :thumbsup:

PS Any idea who Erchie was talkin abbot when he said Adrian Sproule and Edgar Jan Cockus? :greengrin

21-12-2012, 09:36 PM
Brilliant to watch that again - thanks J :thumbsup:

PS Any idea who Erchie was talkin abbot when he said Adrian Sproule and Edgar Jan Cockus? :greengrin

Were you no commentating on that one yourself John?

Seem to remember watching (and enjoying :greengrin) the old HI highlights :thumbsup:

21-12-2012, 09:43 PM
Were you no commentating on that one yourself John?

Seem to remember watching (and enjoying :greengrin) the old HI highlights :thumbsup:

Yep, I did indeed. Good old fashioned bias as well as correct pronunciation :greengrin

21-12-2012, 10:28 PM

The poor cant was still having nightmares nearly 20 years after Adrian Sprott's goal for Hamilton knocked his beloved HunDogs oot the cup!

adrianhibs
21-12-2012, 11:30 PM

Dan. Thanks for putting these links up for me. I don't suppose you have copies yourself mate? :)

22-12-2012, 12:54 AM
the 2-0 "We are unbeatable" game was one of my favourites. Fantastic atmoz, in a packed Easter Road. How it should be for the Derby. :greengrin

hibs4thecup1988
22-12-2012, 01:46 AM
I loved the 3-1 game at Easter Road

Darren Jackson scored a peach for them towards the South stand after about 15 minutes.

Latapy scored a cracker for us from the edge of the box around 35 minutes

Sauzee then scored with a looping header losing his two front teeth in the process.

Paatelainen then settled it with 5 minutes to go

Any videos?

22-12-2012, 09:50 PM
That was a proper Mixu finish in the 3-1 game too. Doing his best to miss before rattling it home with his pecker.

adrianhibs
23-12-2012, 11:26 PM
That was a proper Mixu finish in the 3-1 game too. Doing his best to miss before rattling it home with his pecker.

That game from March 2000 was a great game. Amazed it wasn't covered by either Sportscene but am sure Scotsport had brief highlights of the game during the League Cup game on the Sunday (19th March 2000).

I thought Sauzee was amazing that day and that goal he scored while he had his tooth knocked out and carried on through to the end says summat about the lad and how he would always give 100% to the Green & White.

adrianhibs
23-12-2012, 11:27 PM
Jackson's goal was an absolute killer of a finish.

Shame he had to score against us though.

Still we won on the day on a decent hot day. :)

24-12-2012, 06:49 AM
Archibald's goal at the Gorgie Road end was superb. Remember it pissing it doon. Kano scored that say as well.

0-3 millennium Derby at the PBS. My good lady's one and only visit there ( no it wasn't she was there watching me play for Hibs supp team beating them 3-4) I remember in the concourse after the game doing the Hibees bounce.... Outstanding.

adrianhibs
24-12-2012, 01:42 PM
Was this the one @ Tynie in November 1988 that we won 2-1? :)

Simkin911
24-12-2012, 02:52 PM
See my Avatar.... an unforgettable day - picked up this official photograph a few days later and had the goalscorer himself sign the photo....

25-12-2012, 12:33 AM
I loved the 3-1 game at Easter Road

Darren Jackson scored a peach for them towards the South stand after about 15 minutes.

Latapy scored a cracker for us from the edge of the box around 35 minutes

Sauzee then scored with a looping header losing his two front teeth in the process.

Paatelainen then settled it with 5 minutes to go

Any videos?

That the one where he twisted Petric inside out, and then outside in again just for good measure?? That lanky prat was humiliated by Latapy on more than 1 occasion around that era IIRC, but that was the most blatant example. Surprise the ref didn't give a Jumbo free kick for unsporting conduct from Latapy.