View Full Version : Gary O'Neill (ex-Hibs player?)

16-12-2012, 11:19 PM
My mate said that somebody called Gary o'neill used to play for hibs. Can anybody confirm this?

I personally think he's confused with Michael o'neill!

16-12-2012, 11:24 PM
only been a john O'Neil, john O'Neill, and Michael O'Neil

Fact, end of, close thread etc etc :)

16-12-2012, 11:25 PM
only been a john O'Neil, john O'Neill, and Michael O'Neil

Cheers mate

Sherlock Jones
16-12-2012, 11:26 PM
2 O'Neils that I know of. Michael (1993-96) and John (2000-03).

16-12-2012, 11:30 PM
He might have got the surname wrong.

How many Garys have played for us?

Gary Smith is one.

Sherlock Jones
16-12-2012, 11:41 PM

Gary Smith is one.

Caldwell, Murray (80-84), O'Connor (Garry), Evans (Gareth :greengrin )

17-12-2012, 08:23 AM
Gary Murray. A striker we signed from Montrose in the late eighties I think.

Iceman1875
17-12-2012, 08:26 AM
I thought this thread was to let us know we were linked to Gary o' Neil the ex west ham player, he was a great midfielder! Proberly retired now though right enough.

17-12-2012, 08:39 AM
I thought this thread was to let us know we were linked to Gary o' Neil the ex west ham player, he was a great midfielder! Proberly retired now though right enough.

Think he is still at West Ham, used to play fro Pompey ad Middlesborough I think..

17-12-2012, 11:29 AM

Early eighties :agree:

17-12-2012, 11:35 AM
Early eighties :agree:

And I've got his Hibs shirt in my house!

17-12-2012, 11:43 AM

Gary Smith is one.

And if he's got both christian and surname wrong, well that opens it up a wee bit more:greengrin

archiebald
17-12-2012, 01:47 PM
There was a Kevin O'Neil-----Williamson era

17-12-2012, 01:49 PM
There was a Kevin O'Neil-----Williamson era

Was that not Kevin Nicol. Maybe it was Gary Nicol the OP was thinking of. :greengrin

archiebald
17-12-2012, 01:57 PM
No def Kevin O'Neil,he is one of Scott Browns best mates-did stay at houses near Fort Kinnaird.And did play a game for first team as a sub :wink:

17-12-2012, 02:05 PM
No def Kevin O'Neil,he is one of Scott Browns best mates-did stay at houses near Fort Kinnaird.And did play a game for first team as a sub :wink:

He's not here http://www.fitbastats.com/hibs/player_list_az.php?page=O

Are you thinking of Kevin McDonald maybe?

Iceman1875
17-12-2012, 03:10 PM
I can't think of Kevil o' Neill, I remember Kevin Mcdonald (geordie) who's now at Berwick...I thought Kevin Nicol would make it at Hibs, he was great at Raith as a youth player.

Purple & Green
17-12-2012, 03:14 PM

And for my next project, I'm working through fitbastats/hibs to add in all the unused subs over the years. Kevin O'Neil was indeed a sub - unused I think, unless anyone knows to the contrary - when Hibs lost at home to Partick Thistle in the last game of the season in 2003. Chico came on for Partick near the end of the game as I recall.

17-12-2012, 03:14 PM

There was definitely a Kevin O'Neil.

I played youth football with him and remember when he told us all he was signing for Hibs.

He was only young and not sure he made a first team appearance but he definitely signed.

17-12-2012, 03:20 PM
There was definitely a Kevin O'Neil.

I played youth football with him and remember when he told us all he was signing for Hibs.

He was only young and not sure he made a first team appearance but he definitely signed.

Was that wi Edina or Hutchie Colts ?

17-12-2012, 03:28 PM
I can't think of Kevil o' Neill, I remember Kevin Mcdonald (geordie) who's now at Berwick...I thought Kevin Nicol would make it at Hibs, he was great at Raith as a youth player.

Def Kevin O'Neill he was a youth centre half nicknamed chopper cracking guy, been on many nights out with him.

17-12-2012, 03:29 PM

Correct was scotties best man at his wedding.

Greendub
17-12-2012, 04:29 PM
Kevin o'neil is right!

Friend of the family

Iceman1875
17-12-2012, 05:27 PM

17-12-2012, 05:54 PM

My mate was playing snooker with him, just last week. Handy player by all accounts.

17-12-2012, 06:00 PM
And for my next project, I'm working through fitbastats/hibs to add in all the unused subs over the years. Kevin O'Neil was indeed a sub - unused I think, unless anyone knows to the contrary - when Hibs lost at home to Partick Thistle in the last game of the season in 2003. Chico came on for Partick near the end of the game as I recall.

OK cheers, brilliant website :thumbsup:

He's listed as an unused sub here http://www.hibernian-mad.co.uk/matchcentres/hibernian_vs_partick_thistle/24_may_2003/280937/index.shtml

archiebald
17-12-2012, 08:26 PM
Yip thats him,had a hard time after his mother died-dont know if he chucked it ie asked to leave or was freed--then went to Albion Rvrs with another Hibs player,then I think Armadale Th---dont think he plays now.

17-12-2012, 08:32 PM
OK cheers, brilliant website :thumbsup:

He's listed as an unused sub here http://www.hibernian-mad.co.uk/matchcentres/hibernian_vs_partick_thistle/24_may_2003/280937/index.shtml

Who was Darren Thompson?

That name doesn't ring any bells at all.

17-12-2012, 08:55 PM
Who was Darren Thompson?

That name doesn't ring any bells at all.

Young thin lad with dark hair, left back. I think his name is actually Darran Thomson.

Iceman1875
17-12-2012, 09:09 PM
I could be wrong but I think darran thomson went to play at Vale of Leithen/Leithen Vale at right back...

17-12-2012, 09:14 PM
I could be wrong but I think darran thomson went to play at Vale of Leithen/Leithen Vale at right back...

Aye right back, I stand corrected.

Sauzee92
17-12-2012, 10:08 PM
Aye right back, I stand corrected.

He plays for Spartans :)