View Full Version : Changes you've seen in your lifetime.

14-12-2012, 02:10 PM
My Dad who is 78 often goes on about how many changes he has seen in his lifetime from wartime rationing with no gas lighting and no electricity in the house through to modern day technology. My favourite is when he mentions watching an early StarTrek episode and being amazed at the automatic door that slid open as you approached them, thinking to himself as if that could ever happen!

I mean who would have thought we would hang TV's on wall like pictures!

14-12-2012, 03:13 PM
I remember my parents getting their first video recorder in the early 80s. The 'remote control' was connected via a long cable that snaked along the floor from one side of the room to the other.

14-12-2012, 03:35 PM
I remember my parents getting their first video recorder in the early 80s. The 'remote control' was connected via a long cable that snaked along the floor from one side of the room to the other.

Ahh the list is massive however mobile phones must be right up there in terms of mass acceptance and the way they have connected people.

As for the 'remote control' my Ps2 used to have controllers connected with wires..:greengrin

14-12-2012, 04:32 PM
The weather. I can remember when we had something resembling summer weather in May, June, July and August.

Purple & Green
14-12-2012, 05:02 PM
I mind getting belted at school, how cruel was that?

VickMackie
14-12-2012, 05:14 PM
The thing that makes my mind boggle is what the planet will be like compared to now.

14-12-2012, 07:06 PM
Ahh the list is massive however mobile phones must be right up there in terms of mass acceptance and the way they have connected people.

As for the 'remote control' my Ps2 used to have controllers connected with wires..:greengrin

Who'd have thought telephones would become such must-have sexy items?

14-12-2012, 07:09 PM
I mind getting belted at school, how cruel was that?And some Teachers actually enjoyed giving the belt ..:agree:

14-12-2012, 07:16 PM
And some Teachers actually enjoyed giving the belt ..:agree:

Indeed. My English teacher used to send a few pupils from each new class out into the corridor while he explained to those of us still seated that he would be calling each pupil in individually and asking them to describe a spiral staircase. If they described it by using hand gestures then they got the belt. He was a right ba5tard that teacher :greengrin

14-12-2012, 07:19 PM
Indeed. My English teacher used to send a few pupils from each new class out into the corridor while he explained to those of us still seated that he would be calling each pupil in individually and asking them to describe a spiral staircase. If they described it by using hand gestures then they got the belt. He was a right ba5tard that teacher :greengrinWhat a **** !!! :greengrin ...we had a Teacher at Porty who done a practice "lash" on an old wooden desk tae warm up !!!!! :paranoid:

15-12-2012, 05:18 AM
Never did me any harm :greengrin

Portable technology of all sorts has to be in my opinion the greatest change.

15-12-2012, 05:36 AM
Everybody having their own phone line in the house was hard to imagine at one time. There would be one or two in the street and they were quite likely to be party lines, shared with the people next door.

Caversham Green
15-12-2012, 07:20 AM
Not everybody realises it, but we're really going through a full-blown revolution like the Agricultural and Industrial ones.

Not that long ago the idea that I could sit in my living room and participate in a battle or race on my telly with people in Australia or the USA would have seemed ridiculous. It was almost impossible to talk with them on the phone when I were a lad.

15-12-2012, 08:11 AM
Not that long ago the idea that I could sit in my living room and participate in a battle or race on my telly with people in Australia or the USA would have seemed ridiculous.

... this IS NOT ridiculous???? :greengrin

15-12-2012, 08:22 AM
Not that long ago the idea that I could sit in my living room and participate in a battle or race on my telly with people in Australia or the USA would have seemed ridiculous. It was almost impossible to talk with them on the phone when I were a lad.

In my childhood people talked to other people.

Caversham Green
15-12-2012, 08:45 AM
In my childhood people talked to other people.

That's 'cos they never got to talk with Americans to pick up their linguistic foibles.

15-12-2012, 10:11 AM
Lovely, hand crafted persimmon drivers have now turned into hideous frying pans that you cant miss with.

15-12-2012, 11:36 AM
People not knowing how to use a dial telephone, or write cheques.

15-12-2012, 12:28 PM
That's 'cos they never got to talk with Americans to pick up their linguistic foibles.

Thank ****** it's only relatively recently that we've been exposed with so much Australian speech - otherwise we'd have had to suffer that ridiculous questioning intonation much earlier?

15-12-2012, 02:38 PM
I remember when I first used MSN messenger, voice chat. Blew my ****ing mind talking into a computer.

Tapes. Who remembers them? How many times did I spend hours with a pencil trying to rewind one of them when the tape itself had fallen out.

The Internet is the biggest one though, by a distance.

15-12-2012, 08:19 PM
The mobile has changed appreciation of film and literature. It's hard to read a thriller set in say the 70s when the hero could've got himself out of a tricky situation just by making a quick mobile call.

And The Sweeney could have saved themselves a lot of shoe leather by communicating by Nokia and trapping the villains more quickly.

16-12-2012, 09:14 AM
My grandparents were all born around the turn of the 20th century. I always thought the change they saw could never be equalled: they saw the first motor car, the first plane, cinema, television and even computers!

But thinking about it, the number of small changes in my lifetime add up to a lot. I've seen the interweb, mobile phones, atms, footballers with their names on their back, squad numbering and the fans becoming the thing that drives the club, instead of supporters.

I've seen the clippies and pay as you enter buses (exact change only), I've seen more cars and less petrol stations, I've seen punk rock and daisy rap, ad trains with artwork on the sides of them, Banksy and Grayson Perry, female newsreaders, and male nurses.

I remember the old money, and I have seen industrialisation go, pan loafs go out of fashion, and people paying more for a coffee than a pint of beer. Little shops are gone, The Dandy has gone, The Pink News has gone. I have seen the situation arise where I can drive to Dunfermline quicker than I can to Morningside, roundabouts with traffic lights.

Whatever happened to the men you used to hear whistling in the morning; old guys play bowls in white uniforms, instead of flat caps and tweed trousers that had change in them that went ching a chinga as they ran after their bool. People spend more time watching programmes about cooking than they do cooking food, people are obsessed with their property value.

The annual trek to Scarborough or Blackpool (Lytham for the golf for the aspirational); kids are fatter than they were; you can't tell the girls from the boys (I admit that's an age thing); I saw the Beatles come and go, and the Rolling Stones making it hip to be a pensioner. I've seen open discussion about the existence of child abuse become the central theme of any discourse on bringing up kids.

Geeks are cool, skinny guys with glasses are cool, everybody goes to Uni, grandparents trawl the shopping malls looking after the children of working parents, No one grows old, there is no generation gap, everyone is a winner - even the ugly girls see themselves as beautiful in their way. Vampires can come out during the day now (WTF???), pop stars can come out and no one bats an eyelid.

The Kirk has lost its control. You don't see signs sayin "No Football on a Sunday", probably because all the play parks have been built over for leisure centres, where people stand on a machine looking at pictures of a nice walk, than just walking. Kids don't play out anymore. Conkers have been replaced by PSP (?) and kids all wear matching tops at school football practice.

The role of the man has been emaciated, it is almost a crime for a man to have any views at all - from being the heros who won wars and put bread on the table, we have been relegated to Homer Simpson, Peter Griffin, Al Bundy and Nicholas Witchell. Yet if I hold the door open for a girl it would make her day.

I have seen racist comedy disappear, only to resurface under the term "irony". I have seen it become acceptable for Jimmy Carr to make jokes about *******s. I saw Thalidomide, I saw Heroin, I saw LSD and Ecstasy, and still can't see why some drugs are legal and others are not.

I miss Kent Walton saying "have a good week till next week" and the pipe bands at the cup final (well not really); going to Spain is like going to Burntisland - they've even got Cadbury's Fingers!!! Coming to Edinburgh is like coming to Valencia for a Spanish tourist.

Most of all I have seen the cult of the individual, where people buy their individuality with labels like Hunter, Barbour, and SuperDry. But of all the things that have changed in my life I am most happy to have seen: Jack White, Bob Dylan, Simon and Garfunkel, Shaun Ryder, Muhammed Ali, George Best, Ile Nastase, Billy Connolly, Monty Python, Father Ted - and anyone else that objects to doing things a certain way because "everyone else does it"

Perhaps Ray Davies could write a song about it?

16-12-2012, 09:32 AM
My grandparents were all born around the turn of the 20th century. I always thought the change they saw could never be equalled: they saw the first motor car, the first plane, cinema, television and even computers!

But thinking about it, the number of small changes in my lifetime add up to a lot. I've seen the interweb, mobile phones, atms, footballers with their names on their back, squad numbering and the fans becoming the thing that drives the club, instead of supporters.

I've seen the clippies and pay as you enter buses (exact change only), I've seen more cars and less petrol stations, I've seen punk rock and daisy rap, ad trains with artwork on the sides of them, Banksy and Grayson Perry, female newsreaders, and male nurses.

I remember the old money, and I have seen industrialisation go, pan loafs go out of fashion, and people paying more for a coffee than a pint of beer. Little shops are gone, The Dandy has gone, The Pink News has gone. I have seen the situation arise where I can drive to Dunfermline quicker than I can to Morningside, roundabouts with traffic lights.

Whatever happened to the men you used to hear whistling in the morning; old guys play bowls in white uniforms, instead of flat caps and tweed trousers that had change in them that went ching a chinga as they ran after their bool. People spend more time watching programmes about cooking than they do cooking food, people are obsessed with their property value.

The annual trek to Scarborough or Blackpool (Lytham for the golf for the aspirational); kids are fatter than they were; you can't tell the girls from the boys (I admit that's an age thing); I saw the Beatles come and go, and the Rolling Stones making it hip to be a pensioner. I've seen open discussion about the existence of child abuse become the central theme of any discourse on bringing up kids.

Geeks are cool, skinny guys with glasses are cool, everybody goes to Uni, grandparents trawl the shopping malls looking after the children of working parents, No one grows old, there is no generation gap, everyone is a winner - even the ugly girls see themselves as beautiful in their way. Vampires can come out during the day now (WTF???), pop stars can come out and no one bats an eyelid.

The Kirk has lost its control. You don't see signs sayin "No Football on a Sunday", probably because all the play parks have been built over for leisure centres, where people stand on a machine looking at pictures of a nice walk, than just walking. Kids don't play out anymore. Conkers have been replaced by PSP (?) and kids all wear matching tops at school football practice.

The role of the man has been emaciated, it is almost a crime for a man to have any views at all - from being the heros who won wars and put bread on the table, we have been relegated to Homer Simpson, Peter Griffin, Al Bundy and Nicholas Witchell. Yet if I hold the door open for a girl it would make her day.

I have seen racist comedy disappear, only to resurface under the term "irony". I have seen it become acceptable for Jimmy Carr to make jokes about *******s. I saw Thalidomide, I saw Heroin, I saw LSD and Ecstasy, and still can't see why some drugs are legal and others are not.

I miss Kent Walton saying "have a good week till next week" and the pipe bands at the cup final (well not really); going to Spain is like going to Burntisland - they've even got Cadbury's Fingers!!! Coming to Edinburgh is like coming to Valencia for a Spanish tourist.

Most of all I have seen the cult of the individual, where people buy their individuality with labels like Hunter, Barbour, and SuperDry. But of all the things that have changed in my life I am most happy to have seen: Jack White, Bob Dylan, Simon and Garfunkel, Shaun Ryder, Muhammed Ali, George Best, Ile Nastase, Billy Connolly, Monty Python, Father Ted - and anyone else that objects to doing things a certain way because "everyone else does it"

I just love this post FR ! :top marks

16-12-2012, 09:43 AM

Very good FR :agree:

One thought struck me yesterday; fifteen years ago if you saw someone walking along the road talking to themselves and laughing you'd assume they were mentally ill. Now princes st is awash with people talking loudly to themselves on a hands free mobile with a tiny earpiece.

We're all mad now.

16-12-2012, 10:29 AM

Dude...you're old!

16-12-2012, 10:30 AM
Very good FR :agree:

One thought struck me yesterday; fifteen years ago if you saw someone walking along the road talking to themselves and laughing you'd assume they were mentally ill. Now princes st is awash with people talking loudly to themselves on a hands free mobile with a tiny earpiece.

We're all mad now.

Just got stuck on reminiscing, there. I suppose an off shoot of the mobys is the lack of privacy people seem to expect in their lives. If you'd heard a girl talking about her colonic irrigation on the bus (as I did once) you'd have thought "that girl's not quite right" - actually I still think that. What about kids showing their underwear off looking like they have Learning Difficulties? The growth of respect and dignity through like the paralympics. I remember when we were at school a girl in a wheelchair had to spend a week at a "normal" school cos hers was shut. You wouldn't dream of sending someone to a special school just because they couldn't walk now.

16-12-2012, 10:31 AM
Dude...you're old!

I remember when butter was 6d a pound!

16-12-2012, 10:36 AM
I remember when butter was 6d a pound!

It might still be if it wasn't for all the immigration.

Surprised nobody had mentioned black footballers. I can't believe the first was only 25 years ago and he got pelted with bananas. Mental!

16-12-2012, 11:25 AM
I am about to retire.

When I started work to take a copy of something it had to be done with a sheet of dirty carbon paper which made a mess of everything. If you were luck the third copy was good enough to put on file.

You posted the letter and if you were lucky you could expect a reply in about a week.

Then came the Roneo copier. A special bit of paper that when typed on broke the skin of said paper. Put that very carefully on a machine and you could get about 30 copies, but it still took a week or so to get a reply.

Urgency then came about with the telex machine but they were hugely expensive so only a few companies had them so by the time they found the right department and the same coming back it was about a week or so to get a reply :-)

The photocopier was next, but again very expensive and tempremental. Big companies had people trained to work them and everyone sent their coping to the team. It would maybe take a day for your copies to come back. then you put the stuff in envelopes and aye, it took about a week or so to get a reply.

Early faxes were a joke, again very expensive and tempremental so they were put in with the photocopier team. They were ineligible so they never got a reply at all.

Then came computers and email. I was one of the first people in the world to tackle this technological breakthrough. I was given a small book of 29 pages - it had the address of every website in the world in it, I tried to keep it up to date :-D (it didn't include military sites)

I can now email millions, even billions, of people a the click of a mouse and be ignored for a week before I get a reply. I can go on social and business networks and instantly speak to the world in a split second.

Still takes me as long to drink a cup of tea :-)

16-12-2012, 07:09 PM
Yet if I hold the door open for a girl it would make her day.

Woman, shirley? If you hold a door open for a girl won't you risk accusation of being a paedo? :dunno:

VickMackie
16-12-2012, 07:29 PM
My grandad, in his seventies, before the game on Saturday was telling me how cars were so rare that they used to sit on walls and write down number plates of passing cars! :faf:

Twa Cairpets
16-12-2012, 07:31 PM
Maybe a little outside my lifetime, but I had a similar conversation with my Dad who's turning 80 in a few days.

He was making the point that the regular use of plastics in every day life only came along in the 40's and 50's, before that you had bakelite and that was about it. Can you imagine life without plastics? His view was that communication was by miles the biggest change in his life, and I suspect the same in mine. I was abroad with my work the other week, and was able to speak to my family, face to face, for free using skype. That's simply astonishing when you think about it.

When I was a kid if you wanted to arrange a kickabout it was ten phone calls from a fixed line or some serious pre-planning. Not now. Again, staggering.

Mixu62
17-12-2012, 12:41 AM
When I started work we had green-screen VDU's. Didn't get proper computers till about 5 years later. When I was a kid there were 2 Germany's and the Soviet Union was what we were all scared of, the US was on Saddam's side, and both they and Britain were supporting bin laden and his mates. They started showing American football on TV and overnight loads of kids stopped pretending to be Kenny Dalglish or Charlie Nicholas and became Dan Marino instead. Seatbelts became compulsory, then they started putting them in the BACK seats too!! It was 1.50 to get into ER (sorry, in NZ so no pound sign on keyboard) and the roof had just been built on the East Terracing. Mickey Weir, John Collins etc were all still promising youngsters. Might think of more later.

17-12-2012, 06:43 AM
We owned Hearts. They'd gone nearly a decade without a win at ER and were utterly in our shadow. Funny how history seems to repeat its self.

Sergio sledge
17-12-2012, 10:44 AM
Maybe a little outside my lifetime, but I had a similar conversation with my Dad who's turning 80 in a few days.

He was making the point that the regular use of plastics in every day life only came along in the 40's and 50's, before that you had bakelite and that was about it. Can you imagine life without plastics? His view was that communication was by miles the biggest change in his life, and I suspect the same in mine. I was abroad with my work the other week, and was able to speak to my family, face to face, for free using skype. That's simply astonishing when you think about it.

When I was a kid if you wanted to arrange a kickabout it was ten phone calls from a fixed line or some serious pre-planning. Not now. Again, staggering.

:agree: When I was young I can remember my Grandma getting her first "mobile" phone from the AA for her car, it came with a massive battery and had to be kept in the boot of the car. It would have been impossible to get into your backpack, never mind pocket. I also remember the novelty of getting our first cordless phone in the house and having to extend the aerial when a call came in before answering it. We had so much fun as kids using the intercom feature. :greengrin Now my mobile phone (which fits in my pocket and I am using to post this) has 83886 times the internal storage, a processor which is 512 times as fast and 8192 times as much memory as the first computer we ever had in our house. (BBC Micro)

Last week I did a round trip of 19,000 miles for work and yet each day I was able to chat with (via text and email) and video call my family back home through my mobile phone.

Tech is another massive jump even in my generation. To go from a BBC Micro with a single colour CRT screen to what we have now is huge, although not as huge as my dad has seen where he was still using a slide rule and blackboard to teach his maths classes 35 years ago and when he retired last year was using interactive whiteboards for teaching.

Bighoose
17-12-2012, 12:33 PM
Remember being all excited to see my pals new Video Recorder (top loading :wink:) that had a "remote control". The remote consisted of a wee plastic box with stop/play/ff/rewind buttons that connected to the video via a 5ft cable.

You still had to be that close it was easier to lean over and press the buttons on the video itself.

Also remember another pal, who's new TV used to change channel whenever the bloke next door opened his electric garage doors.

HibsMax
17-12-2012, 03:15 PM
Lots of great stories here and rather than repeat, let me mention something that hasn't changed in my lifetime and I wonder if it ever will. Trouble in the Middle East. It doesn't seem to matter who is right or wrong or whose side we're on, there's always something wrong.

One other thing that I've seen, the population of the planet. Just 30 years ago when I was at high school we were taught that the earth's population was 4 billion, now it's about 7 billion.

And where are the flying cars?

Purple & Green
17-12-2012, 03:20 PM
We owned Hearts. They'd gone nearly a decade without a win at ER and were utterly in our shadow. Funny how history seems to repeat its self.

In the 60 years up to 1983, we'd won more derbies than Hearts

http://www.fitbastats.com/hibs/team_head2head.php?opposition=1&from=48&to=108&update=Update

18-12-2012, 07:09 PM
In the 60 years up to 1983, we'd won more derbies than Hearts

http://www.fitbastats.com/hibs/team_head2head.php?opposition=1&from=48&to=108&update=Update

And 19 wins - N I N E T E E N - out of 107 since. Christ alive that is awful.

I hope in 10-20 years to say that the balance of power in Edinburgh derbies has shifted in my lifetime.

19-12-2012, 11:04 AM
No one has the capability to do maths in their heads any more, every shop has tills that do it all for you and kids can even use calculators in exams. Next time you're in the pub and ask for 2 pints, watch the bar person waiting till they've pressed a few buttons before asking you for £5, how hard is it to add 2 x £2.50.

Dan Sarf
19-12-2012, 12:24 PM
Best thing: Being able to buy a Hibs replica shirt to play football in - instead of wearing something green and pretending it was the real thing.

Worst thing: Lager virtually replacing beer. It's horrible. Why do we drink it?

19-12-2012, 12:54 PM
No one has the capability to do maths in their heads any more, every shop has tills that do it all for you and kids can even use calculators in exams. Next time you're in the pub and ask for 2 pints, watch the bar person waiting till they've pressed a few buttons before asking you for £5, how hard is it to add 2 x £2.50.

Probably easier to multiply than to add. But I fear the word multiply is not taught any more, having too many syllables. Things nowadays are timesed.

Bring back ringworm! :flag:

19-12-2012, 03:02 PM
My Dad who is 78 often goes on about how many changes he has seen in his lifetime from wartime rationing with no gas lighting and no electricity in the house through to modern day technology. My favourite is when he mentions watching an early StarTrek episode and being amazed at the automatic door that slid open as you approached them, thinking to himself as if that could ever happen!

I mean who would have thought we would hang TV's on wall like pictures!

I was watching "Back to the Future 2" the other day, where they go forward to the year 2015.

I was sitting there thinking to myself.... will things really be like that in 2 years time? :greengrin

HibsMax
20-12-2012, 07:14 PM
Best thing: Being able to buy a Hibs replica shirt to play football in - instead of wearing something green and pretending it was the real thing.

Worst thing: Lager virtually replacing beer. It's horrible. Why do we drink it?

ALL lager might be a little harsh.

20-12-2012, 09:09 PM
One of the biggest differences in my lifetime is central heating. When I was wee we all sat in the livingroom in the winter as the rest of the house was freezing!

There were only 3 channels on telly(can't quite remember pre BBC2) and if there was nothing on you played cards, a board game/subbuteo or might have even have talked. STV finished with Late Call at 10.30pm. The national anthem was played every night at shutdown. At Christmas you had to get both the Radio Times and TV Times to find out what was on over the holidays as you didn't get all channels in either magazine.

In the summer you played in the street without fear, parks were full of boys playing football (about 20 a side). At my mum and dad's new year party folk actually had a bit of coal and there were always a few good singers.

As houses only had one phone you had to run the risk of speaking to a girls mum and dad when you called. (Really nerve racking)

Finally most families only had one car (if any) and they broke down an awful lot more often and didn't have seat belts or air conditioning.

HibsMax
20-12-2012, 10:43 PM
One of the biggest differences in my lifetime is central heating. When I was wee we all sat in the livingroom in the winter as the rest of the house was freezing!

There were only 3 channels on telly(can't quite remember pre BBC2) and if there was nothing on you played cards, a board game/subbuteo or might have even have talked. STV finished with Late Call at 10.30pm. The national anthem was played every night at shutdown. At Christmas you had to get both the Radio Times and TV Times to find out what was on over the holidays as you didn't get all channels in either magazine.

In the summer you played in the street without fear, parks were full of boys playing football (about 20 a side). At my mum and dad's new year party folk actually had a bit of coal and there were always a few good singers.

As houses only had one phone you had to run the risk of speaking to a girls mum and dad when you called. (Really nerve racking)

Finally most families only had one car (if any) and they broke down an awful lot more often and didn't have seat belts or air conditioning.

Good post. Could have been written by me. :-)

I go back and forth on "is technology good for us, particularly children" and I realise I'm just being old. Times change. People change. Sure, the youth of today appears to be less energetic than when we were kids but that's just how it was. Go back further and you get to families who actually had to provide "something" for the community (farming, produce, services, etc) but those days are long gone and we rely on other people for these things. Progress.

HibsMax
20-12-2012, 11:47 PM
Tapatalk double post.

21-12-2012, 12:29 AM

Those pint prices are from a bygone era too!

HibsMax
21-12-2012, 01:35 AM
Those pint prices are from a bygone era too!

I remember going out after work and one of our crowd buying a round. 5 pints. No change from a tenner and we were floored. Lol.

southfieldhibby
21-12-2012, 01:10 PM
My Gran is 94, she can recall as a wee girl looking after the horses that pulled the water from Grange Loan well to the brewery at Holyrood for the beer.She cleaned out their stalls and fed them an apple she got for lunch everyday.The stables on grange loan were turned into houses about 25 years ago and my uncle bought her the house that included the stable she played in as a lass.She still lives there now, and she's an incredible woman.

21-12-2012, 05:27 PM
Anybody remember the first colour tv broadcast on the BBC on the Tomorrow's World program when we still all had B& white television sets? We had a black & white picture and Raymond Baxter asked us to press our thumb and index finger together to make a small circle, you had to squint/look through your fingers and watch the flashing screen - and suddenly it was in colour, and it worked - for a few seconds - this was in the late sixties/early seventies ... remember thinking at the time how advanced it all was :greengrin