View Full Version : Messi Sets Goalscoring Record

09-12-2012, 10:21 PM
86 goals in 66 games. Insane!

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/20661031

09-12-2012, 10:27 PM
Imagine if he wisnae that one footed....

09-12-2012, 10:48 PM
Aye but could he do it on a cold, winters night in Inverness?

09-12-2012, 10:48 PM
The guy is truly incredible. I know people have said he's not won a World Cup, and that at another club he'd not have flourished as much, but to have achieved what he has at his age, with at least (we hope) another 10 years to push some of his records to truly untouchable levels is genius, we are witnessing history in the making.

He's operating at a level that very few have glimpsed, never mind made it to.

09-12-2012, 11:29 PM
The guy is truly incredible. I know people have said he's not won a World Cup, and that at another club he'd not have flourished as much, but to have achieved what he has at his age, with at least (we hope) another 10 years to push some of his records to truly untouchable levels is genius, we are witnessing history in the making.

He's operating at a level that very few have glimpsed, never mind made it to.

My money is firmly on him fixing that in 18 months time over here. :wink:

09-12-2012, 11:37 PM
But is he as good as Ronaldo?

:devil:

10-12-2012, 12:00 AM
very overated:rolleyes:

10-12-2012, 12:09 AM
Still doesn't have as many Scotland caps as Sparky.

10-12-2012, 12:37 AM
La liga is a bit like our league. Top heavy with two clubs enhanced by glory hunters and political stances.

An all time great but if he was born 20 years ago he would be playing in serie A and he would have a scoring record nothing like the one he has.

10-12-2012, 08:45 AM
Just watched his 86 goals on YouTube. Got to say I think one was an own goal :-).

Surprising that he didn't score v an English team.

10-12-2012, 08:52 AM
A well spent 10 minutes:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=vY6m8sOjenU

Too wee for the SPL though..................

VickMackie
10-12-2012, 01:53 PM
La liga is a bit like our league. Top heavy with two clubs enhanced by glory hunters and political stances.

An all time great but if he was born 20 years ago he would be playing in serie A and he would have a scoring record nothing like the one he has.

I'm sure any 2/3 year old wouldn't have much of a record in seria A! :greengrin

10-12-2012, 02:12 PM

I'm sure any 2/3 year old wouldn't have much of a record in seria A!

Shirley he wouldn't be 2 or 3 if he was born 20 years ago - he'd be 20. :confused:
Though games that happened 40 years ago can seem like yesterday, so you might be right enough.

10-12-2012, 02:22 PM
https://fbcdn-sphotos-h-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-prn1/s480x480/68887_204790999657459_1204411214_n.jpg

1. 86 goals in a single calendar year breaking the record of Gerd Muller's 85 in 1972.
2. 192 goals in La Liga for Barcelona breaking the record of Cesar's 190.

Goals Messi for club and country, per year since 2004: 0 - 3 - 12 - 31 - 22 - 41 - 60 - 59 - 86(ongoing)

Goals Messi per Liga game this season: 2 - 2 - 0 - 2 - 0 - 0 - 2 - 3 - 2 - 0 - 2 - 2 - 2 - 2 - 2(ongoing) 23 goals in 15 games

Just phenomenal and maybe the best is still to come. :not worth

10-12-2012, 03:08 PM
La liga is a bit like our league[/B]. Top heavy with two clubs enhanced by glory hunters and political stances.

Really? :greengrin

In all seriousness I can see where you are coming from but Spain , outside of Real and Barca , still have 3 or 4 clubs with massive supports and commercial revenues.

Athletico Madrid have a huge support (the 3rd biggest in Spain) and probably have a wage budget in line with a top 6 English club. Valencia also have a massive support and a super new stadium on the way. Then you have the "smaller" provincial clubs like Athletic Bilbao and Seville who have very substantial supports in their respective cities and passionate supporters on par with most places in Europe.

Yes Real and Barca are the biggest two , not only in Spain but the world , but Spain does have some other massive clubs unlike we have here.

BarneyK
10-12-2012, 03:48 PM
Really? :greengrin

In all seriousness I can see where you are coming from but Spain , outside of Real and Barca , still have 3 or 4 clubs with massive supports and commercial revenues.

Athletico Madrid have a huge support (the 3rd biggest in Spain) and probably have a wage budget in line with a top 6 English club. Valencia also have a massive support and a super new stadium on the way. Then you have the "smaller" provincial clubs like Athletic Bilbao and Seville who have very substantial supports in their respective cities and passionate supporters on par with most places in Europe.

Yes Real and Barca are the biggest two , not only in Spain but the world , but Spain does have some other massive clubs unlike we have here.

:agree: Real Betis had 46,157 at their ground this past weekend.

10-12-2012, 03:55 PM
:agree: Real Betis had 46,157 at their ground this past weekend.

Should also be remembered that Spain has a very high youth (16-24 years old) unemployment rate currently around 53% which must have a huge effect on attendance numbers.

chorley_fm
10-12-2012, 04:39 PM
https://fbcdn-sphotos-h-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-prn1/s480x480/68887_204790999657459_1204411214_n.jpg

1. 86 goals in a single calendar year breaking the record of Gerd Muller's 85 in 1972.
2. 192 goals in La Liga for Barcelona breaking the record of Cesar's 190.

Goals Messi for club and country, per year since 2004: 0 - 3 - 12 - 31 - 22 - 41 - 60 - 59 - 86(ongoing)

Goals Messi per Liga game this season: 2 - 2 - 0 - 2 - 0 - 0 - 2 - 3 - 2 - 0 - 2 - 2 - 2 - 2 - 2(ongoing) 23 goals in 15 games

Just phenomenal and maybe the best is still to come. :not worth

poor man's Stephen Dobbie...

VickMackie
10-12-2012, 09:17 PM
Shirley he wouldn't be 2 or 3 if he was born 20 years ago - he'd be 20. :confused:
Though games that happened 40 years ago can seem like yesterday, so you might be right enough.

More like less than 1! :doh:

13-12-2012, 09:37 AM
Not fit to lace Godfrey Chitalu's boots...

http://soccerladuma.mobi/news/article/south-africa/should-messi-s-record-be-held-by-an-african

hibs4thecup1988
13-12-2012, 11:30 AM
Not Hibs class. Too small...