View Full Version : A royal baby

03-12-2012, 05:50 PM
Billy's newborn will be third in line to the throne. I hope mother and baby come through healthy, but why do we have this pantomime in the twenty-first century? The head of state chosen by accident of birth! It's a medievel system and a complete nonsense. The French national anthem celebrates the removal of monarchy, yet we still have large sections of the population who celebrate its continuation, not to mention the an unelected upper house of parliament. It's insulting to democracy and meritocracy. It's the ancient class system in full swing and can't be sustainable by modern standards. I just don't understand why there isn't a serious debate about the future of the monarchy. A referendum is long overdue.

03-12-2012, 06:13 PM
I just don't understand how some people can get so excited that someone they don't know and have never met is pregnant.

I don't wish any harm on mother or baby but, quite frankly, I just don't care.

03-12-2012, 06:28 PM
An english women is pregnant....wooooo. Couldnt be less interested, but it'll sure be rammed down our throats by the media for the next 9 months.

03-12-2012, 07:14 PM
There's no proper debate as it would be Political suicide for any politician or party to speak out about its abolition.

Like it or not its here to stay - although the Lords robes may be on a shoogly peg.

03-12-2012, 07:44 PM
There's no proper debate as it would be Political suicide for any politician or party to speak out about its abolition.

Like it or not its here to stay - although the Lords robes may be on a shoogly peg.

I swear when I first read that I thought it said abortion not abolition!

03-12-2012, 07:55 PM
It's showbiz. They seem a nice enough couple.

03-12-2012, 08:40 PM
Wonder if Willie is the father ?

03-12-2012, 08:45 PM
Wonder if Willie is the father ?

well.........I'm sure a willie was involved in the conception :rolleyes:

03-12-2012, 09:03 PM
When's it due? We're on our holibobs at the end of June so with any luck we'll miss it all.

yeezus.
03-12-2012, 09:20 PM
I read in the Sunday Herald yesterday how sick and disabed people are being forced into unpaid work with the threat of benefit cuts hanging over their heads.

There are people in Britain struggling to make ends meet but we are all expected to care so much because a lady we have never met is pregnant?

I wish no harm on the baby, but it's time for a referendum on the out of date system that is the monarchy.

03-12-2012, 09:35 PM
When's it due? We're on our holibobs at the end of June so with any luck we'll miss it all.

They reported earlier on the BBC news that she's two months pregnant, so it should be due end of June/start of July.

03-12-2012, 09:50 PM

I think the birth is going to be live on Sky News. Don't worry, I'll record it for you. :greengrin

Just_Jimmy
04-12-2012, 04:52 AM
One day she'll be a QILF then?

04-12-2012, 04:58 AM
Not the world's greatest monarchist but anyone who thinks a referendum in the UK would see the Royal family ousted is living in cuckoo land. Nae chance. As far as I can see we are not exactly getting wall to wall coverage of the pregnancy. An announcement was made by the palace, as you would expect. It is the media you should be having the problem with if it gets blasted all over the papers and TV for the next 7 months, not them. Unfortunately it is the world we live in now where "celebrities" lives, loves and babies are thrown at us from everywhere.

04-12-2012, 09:37 AM
Not the world's greatest monarchist but anyone who thinks a referendum in the UK would see the Royal family ousted is living in cuckoo land. Nae chance.

Was just about to make that very point. Middle England would never allow it to happen.

04-12-2012, 10:09 AM
Was just about to make that very point. Middle England would never allow it to happen.

There are a significant number of monarchists in Scotland as well. As there are throughout the UK.

04-12-2012, 10:50 AM
There are a significant number of monarchists in Scotland as well. As there are throughout the UK.

There are plenty of them in Scotland. I share an office with 8 other people and only 2 of us would vote to get rid of the monarchy.

04-12-2012, 11:02 AM
One day she'll be a QILF then?

Wouldn't bet on it.

Get this one out, get a spare conceived and then she becomes dispensable.

04-12-2012, 11:34 AM

We may get a National Holiday - then you'll be seeck :greengrin

Like others, I cannae contain ma indifference.

It is gonna feel a lot longer than 7/8 months for us getting all the media hype! PETRIE :grr:

04-12-2012, 11:52 AM
And in case you can't wait (I know you can't)....here's how the child will look, courtesy of the Daily Mail.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2242694/A-Royal-Beauty-US-forensic-artist-imagines-Kate-Williams-child-look.html

04-12-2012, 12:45 PM
This has made my week - an over-privileged woman, with a chequered past, is doing what hundreds of thousands of woman do every year. It's amazing. What a gal.

04-12-2012, 01:54 PM
And in case you can't wait (I know you can't)....here's how the child will look, courtesy of the Daily Mail.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2242694/A-Royal-Beauty-US-forensic-artist-imagines-Kate-Williams-child-look.html

They look wandered ... :rolleyes:

yeezus.
04-12-2012, 02:23 PM
Not the world's greatest monarchist but anyone who thinks a referendum in the UK would see the Royal family ousted is living in cuckoo land. Nae chance. As far as I can see we are not exactly getting wall to wall coverage of the pregnancy. An announcement was made by the palace, as you would expect. It is the media you should be having the problem with if it gets blasted all over the papers and TV for the next 7 months, not them. Unfortunately it is the world we live in now where "celebrities" lives, loves and babies are thrown at us from everywhere.

Opinion polls mean nothing until a proper debate has taken place on the monarchy.

04-12-2012, 02:24 PM

I doubt Scotland would vote to oust the royals either. It'd be close.

04-12-2012, 02:58 PM
They reported earlier on the BBC news that she's two months pregnant, so it should be due end of June/start of July.

Result. We're away 25th June to 16th July :greengrin

And M59's coming with me :wink:

I think the birth is going to be live on Sky News. Don't worry, I'll record it for you. :greengrin

See above :whistle:

04-12-2012, 03:28 PM
Wouldn't bet on it.

Get this one out, get a spare conceived and then she becomes dispensable.

As in line of succession dispensable? I thought that had all changed now?

Or did you mean Diana dispensable?

04-12-2012, 04:53 PM
As in line of succession dispensable? I thought that had all changed now?

Or did you mean Diana dispensable?

The second one.

Not that I believe the conspiracy theories about her death but the marriage itself wad doomed as soon as Harry was born.

In fairness the Royals do seem to be slowly dragging themselves towards the real world so maybe this one will be allowed to last.

suavegav
04-12-2012, 07:49 PM
Billy's newborn will be third in line to the throne. I hope mother and baby come through healthy, but why do we have this pantomime in the twenty-first century? The head of state chosen by accident of birth! It's a medievel system and a complete nonsense. The French national anthem celebrates the removal of monarchy, yet we still have large sections of the population who celebrate its continuation, not to mention the an unelected upper house of parliament. It's insulting to democracy and meritocracy. It's the ancient class system in full swing and can't be sustainable by modern standards. I just don't understand why there isn't a serious debate about the future of the monarchy. A referendum is long overdue.

The referendum in 2014 will be the first and once independence is achieved, a referendum on whether Scotland becomes a republic will be next. Nothing will change if we are still in the Union.

yeezus.
04-12-2012, 09:34 PM
The referendum in 2014 will be the first and once independence is achieved, a referendum on whether Scotland becomes a republic will be next. Nothing will change if we are still in the Union.

I don't think Scotland would ever get a referendum on the Monarchy while the SNP were in charge. He takes plenty of opportunities to praise the Queen :rolleyes: for her "service to Scotland".

05-12-2012, 12:04 AM
Great, how much is this wee rat going to cost the tax payer, another half mil a year?

05-12-2012, 07:16 AM
Opinion polls mean nothing until a proper debate has taken place on the monarchy.

Never mentioned opinion polls as far as I can see :confused:

05-12-2012, 10:01 AM
Apparently, the royal family is reported to be delighted with the fact that Kate Middleton is pregnant, which proves the old adage that a statement is utterly ridiculous and pointless when you imagine the orator saying the exact opposite.

05-12-2012, 10:48 AM
Not that I believe the conspiracy theories about her death but the marriage itself wad doomed as soon as Harry was born.

But was that due to his being the required spare heir or being the child of love rat James Hewitt? :dunno:

yeezus.
05-12-2012, 11:14 AM
Never mentioned opinion polls as far as I can see :confused:

Well then there was no backing to the assumption that we are living in cukooland then.

05-12-2012, 11:33 AM
I feel a bit sorry for this Kate. My partner had hyperemesis with our two and it lasted for most of the pregnancies. She was in and out of hospital for days at a time, not eating for days, bringing up blood and constantly being on drips. She said that all that was worse than the actual giving birth.

I'm also a wee bit worried for the prince though. I had to take that much time off my work ferrying my partner to hospital and looking after her that it almost ruined me financially. I hope he has an understanding boss and mortgage company.

05-12-2012, 11:43 AM
Great, how much is this wee rat going to cost the tax payer, another half mil a year?

I am an avid Republican but I wouldn't refer to an innocent kid as a wee rat. Surely we can dislike the insitutuion without dehumanising the personalities?

05-12-2012, 12:08 PM
I am an avid Republican but I wouldn't refer to an innocent kid as a wee rat. Surely we can dislike the insitutuion without dehumanising the personalities?

Well said.

05-12-2012, 12:46 PM
Well then there was no backing to the assumption that we are living in cukooland then.

Mate, if you think after as much debate as you like that the British people will do away with the monarchy, there is only one person in cuckoo land.

05-12-2012, 03:14 PM

Tongue was very firmly in cheek, lack of smilies perhaps didn't help me there :greengrin

yeezus.
05-12-2012, 03:18 PM
Mate, if you think after as much debate as you like that the British people will do away with the monarchy, there is only one person in cuckoo land.

On the basis of what?

05-12-2012, 09:35 PM
On the basis of what?

On the basis that the entire establishment and ruling elite revolves around various systems of patronage and approval from the royal house. Many of these are symbolic these days but they are ingrained into the power structures in the country.

I am a republican. However, to move from what we have now to an acceptable replacement would require an enormous shift in public opinion. The other issue is that despite malcontents like myself, there isn't really any significant appetite for change. It's a marginal issue for most people which I can't ever see becoming a significant electoral priority in our lifetimes.

05-12-2012, 11:21 PM
This has made my week - an over-privileged woman, with a chequered past, is doing what hundreds of thousands of woman do every year. It's amazing. What a gal.

She did have some help, Beefster. :cool2:

06-12-2012, 04:33 AM
On the basis of what?

We will just have to disagree on this. I see the naivety of youth and can only applaud it. Reality however is just round the corner for you. :wink:

06-12-2012, 07:28 AM
At least if the papers sneak another long distance picture, she might have a pair worth looking at next time. Mo'an the milk!

yeezus.
06-12-2012, 03:04 PM
We will just have to disagree on this. I see the naivety of youth and can only applaud it. Reality however is just round the corner for you. :wink:

:greengrin I honestly think the British public would embrace it IF a debate was ever to be had.:aok:

06-12-2012, 10:05 PM
:greengrin I honestly think the British public would embrace it IF a debate was ever to be had.:aok:

Aye the British public north of Berwick upon Tweed

07-12-2012, 05:10 AM

And only about 50% of them, if we were lucky.

07-12-2012, 08:17 AM

Thats a small percentage of the entire population.

07-12-2012, 05:20 PM
Thats a small percentage of the entire population.

Yes and that small percentage would take a great interest in any vote/poll.

07-12-2012, 05:33 PM
Yes and that small percentage would take a great interest in any vote/poll.

I doubt it.

07-12-2012, 06:21 PM
I doubt it.

Ok , im confident that most Scots dont care for/ want a monarchy.

07-12-2012, 06:59 PM
Ok , im confident that most Scots dont care for/ want a monarchy.

I'd vote for getting rid of it. I just think you'd struggle to get a majority to vote for it.

07-12-2012, 07:36 PM
I'd vote for getting rid of it. I just think you'd struggle to get a majority to vote for it.

Maybe did not make it clear, but that was my point.

09-12-2012, 09:20 PM
On the basis that the entire establishment and ruling elite revolves around various systems of patronage and approval from the royal house. Many of these are symbolic these days but they are ingrained into the power structures in the country.

I am a republican. However, to move from what we have now to an acceptable replacement would require an enormous shift in public opinion. The other issue is that despite malcontents like myself, there isn't really any significant appetite for change. It's a marginal issue for most people which I can't ever see becoming a significant electoral priority in our lifetimes.

I'm not so sure. Just think of reverence in which the monarchy was held just a generation ago compared to today. I think the monarchy will be gone within the next three or so generations, which, when you consider it has been around for over a thosand years, represents its death throws. Once you move away from elitism and towards the idea of universal suffrage in a democracy, then outdated ideas like monarchy and a House Of lords are by defintion in their final days.

I wouldn't be shocked if I were to see a democratic republic in my lifetime, either within the U.K or within an independent Scotland. The tide of history is on the side of progress and won't be stopped. Education and voting rights for all will at some point create the conditions for the end of undemocratic power.

10-12-2012, 07:07 PM

Perfection in a post :top marks