View Full Version : "From the Capital" Song

03-12-2012, 09:43 AM
I've always struggled with the words for this [we need a "dunce" smiley!]. I don't think I'm the only one, judging by the efforts of some of the folk around me in the east yesterday - can I be permitted just to sing "away away a-wow"?

_hucks_
03-12-2012, 09:44 AM
Alee alee allay ooh, alee alee allay ooh, Hibernian FC, from the capital. I think!

03-12-2012, 09:45 AM
Alee alee allay ooh, alee alee allay ooh, Hibernian FC, from the capital. I think!

Thanks - although I'm having trouble even reading that!

yeezus.
03-12-2012, 09:47 AM
I've always struggled with the words for this [we need a "dunce" smiley!]. I don't think I'm the only one, judging by the efforts of some of the folk around me in the east yesterday - can I be permitted just to sing "away away a-wow"?

The guys standing behind me yesterday didn't have a clue either - they were sort of mumbling their way until the "Hibernian FC" bit.

JIm
03-12-2012, 09:48 AM

Allez Allez Allez Ooooooh
Hibernian FC
From the Capital

Repeat

No rocket science :wink: :greengrin

Russell The Dug
03-12-2012, 09:50 AM
Hibernian FC
From the Capital

Repeat

No rocket science :wink: :greengrin

Jumpin up and doon on tables in the Grey Horse to this at 1am this morning. Quality :thumbsup::thumbsup:

speedy_gonzales
03-12-2012, 12:10 PM
Sorry, is it "Allez allez allez oooooooh" or "Allez allez allez ohhhhhhh"? There's a world of difference and I always thought it was the latter. Nae wonder I get strange looks!

03-12-2012, 12:21 PM
Sorry, is it "Allez allez allez oooooooh" or "Allez allez allez ohhhhhhh"? There's a world of difference and o always thought it was the latter. Nae wonder I get strange looks!

Technically i think it's "allez allez allez au". The french word "au" which sounds like "oh" so I'd say the latter.

Newry Hibs
03-12-2012, 12:39 PM
Is the tune from somewhere else (i.e. a song) or is it a bespoke chant?

03-12-2012, 12:43 PM
Is the tune from somewhere else (i.e. a song) or is it a bespoke chant?

Eintracht Frankfurt fans sing it, there's a few videos of them singing it on YouTube.

Looks great.

03-12-2012, 12:59 PM
Sounded brilliant yesterday.

03-12-2012, 01:08 PM
Sorry, is it "Allez allez allez oooooooh" or "Allez allez allez ohhhhhhh"? There's a world of difference and I always thought it was the latter. Nae wonder I get strange looks!

;3435161']Technically i think it's "allez allez allez au". The french word "au" which sounds like "oh" so I'd say the latter.

Definitely the latter. Otherwise we'd sound like Kenneth Williams.

HiBremian
03-12-2012, 01:10 PM
;3435161']Technically i think it's "allez allez allez au". The french word "au" which sounds like "oh" so I'd say the latter.

Just think "homage to Le God" :sauzee: and you'll get the idea :greengrin

Newry Hibs
03-12-2012, 01:29 PM
Eintracht Frankfurt fans sing it, there's a few videos of them singing it on YouTube.

Looks great.

Had a look at some - agree they look good.

Devilstorment
03-12-2012, 07:55 PM

Definitely the latter. Otherwise we'd sound like Kenneth Williams.

Allez Allez oooooooh matron!

03-12-2012, 08:11 PM

You'll get the rhythm of it after a few goes...the stress on 'allez' changes for the third one:

ah-LAY ah-LAY AH-lay ohhhh...

Sounded fantastic yesterday.

03-12-2012, 08:13 PM
Brilliant yesterday, but imagine this at Hampden?? :not worth
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yMC1JAW_iq4

Green Man
03-12-2012, 08:23 PM
I've read about the song on here but yesterday was the first time I'd heard it, it was in full swing when I got to my seat. Only took me a couple of times through to pick up the words :greengrin
I love it, it's a great rhythm for bouncing :thumbsup:

03-12-2012, 09:03 PM
Love how much the song has caught on, great when everyone bounces to it. :flag:

03-12-2012, 09:38 PM
First heard this against Dundee a couple of weeks ago and it was brilliant.

The "Hibs for the Cup" effort on the other hand is bloody awful!

03-12-2012, 10:15 PM

The "Hibs for the Cup" effort on the other hand is bloody awful!

Do you mean Turnbull's Tornadoes? If so, wash your mouth out!

03-12-2012, 10:36 PM
Do you mean Turnbull's Tornadoes? If so, wash your mouth out!

I've nothing against the song itself - it doesn't translate well to a crowd chorus!

Glorious
03-12-2012, 10:38 PM

That's fantastic - new favourite chant :thumbsup: :flag: :flag:

Northern Hibby
03-12-2012, 10:52 PM
Allez Allez oooooooh matron!

HibeeMG
04-12-2012, 12:00 AM

Do you honestly believe the *****eheap that is Hampden would stand up to that amount of bouncing?! :LOL:

04-12-2012, 12:07 AM
I've nothing against the song itself - it doesn't translate well to a crowd chorus!

It's one of the songs that gets sung the loudest so is very good imo. :agree:

04-12-2012, 05:10 AM

That's 'cos ye were stood next to me and ma braw singing :thumbsup: ya jinx :wink:

ZS DOOM
04-12-2012, 06:56 AM

What are you on about? It sounds amazing when belted out

04-12-2012, 07:08 AM
Wasn't he refering to TT?

ZS DOOM
04-12-2012, 07:47 AM
Wasn't he refering to TT?

So was I

Shaggy
04-12-2012, 07:50 AM
I first heard it at Motherwell away, 0-4

love it ,Tuesday morning and it is still playing in ma heid !!