View Full Version : Question vBetting - am I being a spangle? :)

Hibs On Tour
02-12-2012, 01:43 PM
Quick question - am I being a spangle? Are the odds in the vBookie thingy worked out on the basis that you *don't* get your stake back for a winning bet? Just wondering likes as without that why would anyone ever put anything on an odds-on bet? I had 100000 on a 4/9 shot the other day and it came in - would have expected to get the 100000 back plus 4/9 of that. Or am I missing something? :greengrin

HNA4
02-12-2012, 01:53 PM
I would say you're missing something :greengrin

You'll be talking about Reading v Manchester United. If you click on one of the teams you'll see that your wager of 100,000 is in one column and in the other column your winnings read 44,444 so your return would be 144,444.

02-12-2012, 02:20 PM
I wish I didn't even know what a bloomin' vbutton was :-(

I would defo be higher up any league table if I hadnt bothered!

:D

Hibs On Tour
02-12-2012, 06:17 PM
I would say you're missing something :greengrin

You'll be talking about Reading v Manchester United. If you click on one of the teams you'll see that your wager of 100,000 is in one column and in the other column your winnings read 44,444 so your return would be 144,444. That's what I thought... BUT... I also had 41664 on Sunderland v QPR being a draw at 11/5 so I should have got 41664 + 91660 back from that too. So I would have expected my total to now be 144444 + 133324 = 277768. I'm down as only having 149444 however so it appears that something has gone breasts skyward? It looks like I've only had 5000 credited for the Sunderland v QPR game instead of the 133324 I should have... Petrie! :confused:

Hibs On Tour
03-12-2012, 12:15 PM
Bump. So that the vBookie [whoever that may be] can perhaps have a wee look at this for me? :wink: :greengrin

03-12-2012, 12:33 PM
I bet all 65000 on Hibs in the derby is there a lag between paying out ? Still got 0 vbuttons....

03-12-2012, 12:47 PM
Spangle is such an under-used word IMO. For those of us that can remember them, were they not always the first thing that you tried to swap away from your selection box? The Old English ones were like door handles or toggles from a duffle coat.

HNA4
03-12-2012, 06:57 PM
Bump. So that the vBookie [whoever that may be] can perhaps have a wee look at this for me? :wink: :greengrin

I'll investigate but in the meantime you can check your own bets and any returns via this link...

http://www.hibs.net/vbookie.php?do=bets

I bet all 65000 on Hibs in the derby is there a lag between paying out ? Still got 0 vbuttons....

There was a lag this time. Due to me celebrating :greengrin
Now settled.

03-12-2012, 07:04 PM
I'm not a betting man so can I just trade my vButtons in for a half season ticket. :greengrin

03-12-2012, 07:17 PM
V Buttons have been a godsend to me..............

....they prove I have to be the world's worst football punter! :rolleyes:

03-12-2012, 07:21 PM
I've won a few and lost a few.
I'm happy to stick with the amount of vbuttons i have now though.

03-12-2012, 07:34 PM
I'll investigate but in the meantime you can check your own bets and any returns via this link...

There was a lag this time. Due to me celebrating :greengrin
Now settled.

Nice one!

03-12-2012, 07:38 PM
Spangle is such an under-used word IMO. For those of us that can remember them, were they not always the first thing that you tried to swap away from your selection box? The Old English ones were like door handles or toggles from a duffle coat.

:agree: Boiled sweet which you could only eat through prolonged sucking until eventually you created a hole in the middle of it with an edge like the blade on a stanley knife.

03-12-2012, 07:58 PM
:agree: Boiled sweet which you could only eat through prolonged sucking until eventually you created a hole in the middle of it with an edge like the blade on a stanley knife.

jings memories flooding back!..the strawberry/blood flavours! :greengrin

03-12-2012, 07:58 PM
The vBookie competition is actually only open to Private Members. They help finance the site, so they're eligible for the Hibs Shop vouchers that we buy as prizes.

Simples :greengrin

Hibs On Tour
04-12-2012, 08:55 AM

I did - that's how I found out in the first place :greengrin thanks for looking into it for me chief! :wink:

Hibs On Tour
06-12-2012, 08:00 AM
:I'm waiti :greengrin

HNA4
06-12-2012, 11:05 AM

As Mikey points out...

The vBookie competition is actually only open to Private Members. They help finance the site, so they're eligible for the Hibs Shop vouchers that we buy as prizes.

Simples :greengrin

Due to an oversight on our part, which we have recently realised, any registered member was able to make bets. We have now rectified our error and can only apologise.

Hibs On Tour
06-12-2012, 04:35 PM
As Mikey points out...

Due to an oversight on our part, which we have recently realised, any registered member was able to make bets. We have now rectified our error and can only apologise.

Didnae used to be that way :wink: ach yer only pulling that one 'cos I would be the richest punter [at the time of the bets at any rate...] - any of you Private Members wanna buy my vButtons seeing as how I cannae use the flickers now? :greengrin GGTTH