View Full Version : Poems, bit of inspiration for all..

01-12-2012, 09:03 PM
...A little help required for me.

Having a look through my Great Grandfather's Belongings that my Grampy (Grandfather) still has it appears that an old page of a poem/hibs book has somehow made its way in there.

If someone could point me towards the origin of these poems and the book they are from I'd be greatful.

Also it's amazing how true the 1st one rings true at this moment in time;

On Top of Old Smokey

There's a team in Auld Reekie,
The colour is Green,
They've got Scotland's centre, the finest you've seen,
So come all ye faithful's and listen to me,
I'll tell you a story that'll fill you with glee,
The Hearts they may wither,
The Rangers may die,
But down at the Hibs' ground
The League Flag will fly.

and the others;

The Red Flag

Oh Jimmy Broon he never saw where Gordon Smith
he put the ba' ;
He beats McKenzie at his ease, and slips the ball
through fatty's kness,
The name of Smith will never die ;
The voice of Combe will always cry :
" Be of good cheer, no team we fear,
We'll keep the league Flag flying here."

A Gordon For Me (A name taken from the old Scottish Folk Song?)

I've supported the Hi-bs for many a year
And when they are playing I never have fear,
For when it's a goal, and the finest you've seen,
You'll know it's a victory for the boys who wear green.

Chorus A Gordon for me, a Gordon for me,
If you're no' for Gordon you're nae use to me:
Willie Bauld is braw, Bobby Collins an' a',
But gie me Gay Gordon-the pride o' them a'.

When Reilly is playing, his football's a treat ;
He's the finest wee centre you ever will meet.
But the star of the game is somewhere about, just listen and hear the supporters all shout ;

Chorus A Gordon, etc.

You'll have too forgive me for telling you all
who is the best player of Scottish football ;
He's a friend of Scotland, I'm sure you'll agree,
So now will you join in the chorus with me ?

Chorus A Gordon, etc.

Killarney

How can you buy all the stars wee posses,
Not for a million, a billion, or less ?
How can you purchase Buchanan or Combe-
How can you buy wee johnston ?
Reilly's as swift as the river that flows
There's a Turnbull and Ormond and Govan ;
If money can buy the whole Hibs' lot,
There's nothing can buy our Gordon

01-12-2012, 09:22 PM
Thanks for posting these gems CM. Sorry I can't shed any light on their origin but I remember hearing the last two sung on the St Giles branch bus in the early 60's by some of the older guys. There were some great characters among the regular 'travellers' on the bus. One other song that always went down well was It's a Great Day for the Hi-Bees sung to the tune of It's a Great Day for the Irish.
Hope someone else can tell you more about them - I'll be interested too.

01-12-2012, 09:40 PM
Thanks for posting these gems CM. Sorry I can't shed any light on their origin but I remember hearing the last two sung on the St Giles branch bus in the early 60's by some of the older guys. There were some great characters among the regular 'travellers' on the bus. One other song that always went down well was It's a Great Day for the Hi-Bees sung to the tune of It's a Great Day for the Irish.
Hope someone else can tell you more about them - I'll be interested too.

Thanks for that.

Yeah the page that they're printed on is a bit withered and discoloured and with it being amongst my Great Grandfather's belongings it has got to be over about 40 years old.

I hadn't heard any of the peoms before and have been meaning to post them up for some time but kept putting it to back of my mind.

neilmartinrocks
01-12-2012, 10:03 PM
Thanks for that.

Yeah the page that they're printed on is a bit withered and discoloured and with it being amongst my Great Grandfather's belongings it has got to be over about 40 years old.

I hadn't heard any of the peoms before and have been meaning to post them up for some time but kept putting it to back of my mind.

I remember the "old smokey" one from the early 70's mostly from hearing it from the old boy that took me to games. Also remember "We played in south morrocco....." being sung to the tune of "Sean South".