View Full Version : Agathe goal vs Dundee 1999/2000

01-12-2012, 04:59 PM
Does anyone have a vid of this miraculous goal? I've never seen it on YouTube or similar? In fact I've never seen it again since the day itself, when I was a wee bit worse for wear:cb

01-12-2012, 05:01 PM
Does anyone have a vid of this miraculous goal? I've never seen it on YouTube or similar? In fact I've never seen it again since the day itself, when I was a wee bit worse for wear:cbLikewise ..:agree:

01-12-2012, 05:06 PM
Ill have it on video somewhere, not seen it for years as i dont have a video recorder now. Btw, it was season 2000/01.

01-12-2012, 05:09 PM
Ill have it on video somewhere, not seen it for years as i dont have a video recorder now. Btw, it was season 2000/01.

Was this the 5-2 game. There was a great crowd that day and a terrific atmosphere

TheFamous1875
01-12-2012, 05:09 PM
n I'm pretty sure it's on that! If my mind isnae playin tricks, I'm sure he scored a hatrick anaw - Wish aw the Hibs videos were on Youtube!

01-12-2012, 05:10 PM
I have the highlights of that game on my pc. But i'm not uploading it :greengrin

01-12-2012, 05:21 PM
I have the highlights of that game on my pc. But i'm not uploading it :greengrin

Bet you don't. :)

01-12-2012, 05:24 PM
Was this the 5-2 game. There was a great crowd that day and a terrific atmosphere

Think it was 5-1 and he scored twice. He also scored 2 v D Utd about same time. Would have been great to keep him, but he was always engineering a move to Celtc.

01-12-2012, 05:26 PM

5-1

http://www.fitbastats.com/hibs/game.php?gameid=4548

01-12-2012, 05:37 PM
I have it but youtube is taking a ****in' age tae process the upload :grr: I'll put up the link if it ever ****in' finishes

LeighLoyal
01-12-2012, 05:38 PM
Too bad O'Neill was at the game and snatched the guy away, the turd.

01-12-2012, 05:38 PM
I have it but youtube is taking a ****in' age tae process the upload :grr: I'll put up the link if it ever ****in' finishes:aok:

01-12-2012, 05:46 PM
Two goals :wink:

http://youtu.be/lCQo926Ewss

01-12-2012, 05:49 PM

http://youtu.be/lCQo926EwssWhat a machine !!! Celtic turned him into a wing back tae ...:confused:

Cheers J ..superb stuff ..:hibees

01-12-2012, 05:50 PM

http://youtu.be/lCQo926Ewss

That was the season Dundee had the Bonetti brothers and they also had Juan Sara and the Paraguayan up front whose name escapes me

hibeemikey21
01-12-2012, 05:54 PM
That was the season Dundee had the Bonetti brothers and they also had Juan Sara and the Paraguayan up front whose name escapes me

Caballero. Handsome chap.

01-12-2012, 05:55 PM
Caballero. Handsome chap.

Well done
That's the one

01-12-2012, 05:55 PM

Caballero? Also had Nemsadze, who was the business.

01-12-2012, 05:56 PM

Caballero. Also had Khiszinas-whatshisname and Nemsadze, 2 class Georgians around that time. A great team for the neutral, always guaranteed goals and/or sendings off when that Dundee team was in town.

01-12-2012, 05:59 PM

Always reminds me of this.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8lT8iKko4YQ

01-12-2012, 05:59 PM
Caballero. Also had Khiszinas-whatshisname and Nemsadze, 2 class Georgians around that time. A great team for the neutral, always guaranteed goals and/or sendings off when that Dundee team was in town.

A whole load of players they couldn't afford. I wonder where I've heard that before.
I'm sure one of them got sent off on this game

01-12-2012, 06:00 PM
Dundee also signed Claudio Caniggia that season.

01-12-2012, 06:02 PM
Dan:not worth:not worth:not worth

01-12-2012, 06:03 PM
Dan:not worth:not worth:not worth:aok:

01-12-2012, 06:09 PM

Zurab Khizanishvili

01-12-2012, 06:19 PM
What a team we had. And Dundee too, they had a lot of quality. Both of those teams would be title challengers this year.

01-12-2012, 06:26 PM
Did Speroni (keeper) play in that team tae ..?

01-12-2012, 06:30 PM
I think he did, tho he maybe arrived the following season.

01-12-2012, 06:30 PM
Did Speroni (keeper) play in that team tae ..?

I think he did as Douglas signed for smeltic.

01-12-2012, 06:39 PM
I missed the game as I was on holiday :grr: Couldn't believe the score when it came through. Our first game of the season the week before was a 0-0 at Tiny which I did go to. Agathe did brilliantly to round the keeper then fell over in front of an open goal. Thought we'd got a dud which he proved he definitely wasn't!

He kept his place in arguably the best Celtc team since the one that won the European Cup. I think it was a waste playing him as a wing back although it worked for them. One that got away.

01-12-2012, 06:54 PM
We only got about £50k for him IIRC.

01-12-2012, 07:02 PM
We only got about £50k for him IIRC.:agree: ..we only signed him from Raith on a 3 month contract iirc ..

01-12-2012, 07:12 PM
I seem to remember that wing back or full back was the player's own preferred position and I always thought what a waste of attacking talent. Certainly amongst the best goals I have ever seen at ER.

01-12-2012, 07:18 PM
I seem to remember that wing back or full back was the player's own preferred position and I always thought what a waste of attacking talent. Certainly amongst the best goals I have ever seen at ER.He came to us as a left midfield/winger & Celtic changed him into a right back iirc ...I remember Willie Miller with Edina hibs, free scoring right midfielder, signed for hibs & we moved him to full back ..Im sure he put the odd tackle or 2 in for Edina but I would honestly say I never ever saw him being a full back ..:agree:

01-12-2012, 07:21 PM
I remember that game well there was a decent crowd down from dundee that day as they were top of the league and they were singing about being top of the league in the pub before the game but our win put us top and we were singing the same songs back to them after the game we had a right good laugh with them which obviously ended with a chorus of Albert kidd

01-12-2012, 08:15 PM
One of McLeish's biggest mistakes not signing him and taking the gamble when we had the chance. There was a lot of cash getting splashed then too. The conversion of Agathe from a wonderful attacking talent has shades of Scott brown about it too.

01-12-2012, 08:49 PM
One of McLeish's biggest mistakes not signing him and taking the gamble when we had the chance. There was a lot of cash getting splashed then too. The conversion of Agathe from a wonderful attacking talent has shades of Scott brown about it too.

Aye we sell them quality attack minded players and they turn them into defensive hard men