View Full Version : Best Derby Goal

01-12-2012, 09:33 AM
One that any jambos can join in to. What was the best Edinburgh derby goal (for either side)

One that immediately springs to mind is Latapy in the 6-2 game.
Riordan at ER from about 30 yards out into Gordon - think it finished 2 all?

Can't remember any jambo goals but I'm no sure if that's cos all they're goals have been pish or cos I've blocked them all out :greengrin

01-12-2012, 09:42 AM
Wee Russell's without a doubt! Not only was it the best strike ever but it was to put us SIX-ONE up against them! Not sure any goal since has ever made me smile so much. My only regret from that night is that we weren't able to make it 7. Could/should have been 10 easy!!

01-12-2012, 09:45 AM
The thread from a couple of weeks ago will have the Hibs entries you are looking for.

01-12-2012, 09:50 AM
Don't think I've ever seen Hearts score a good goal against us, its always our 'keeper throwing it in or something horrible and scrappy from a set piece that takes 4 deflections and is bundled over the line by some huddie.

Purple & Green
01-12-2012, 10:04 AM
Joe McBride junior scored a great free kick at tynecastle

01-12-2012, 10:06 AM
John O'Neill's goal at Tynie
or...
Deano's winner at Tynie after Konte missed from 1 yard :greengrin

01-12-2012, 10:16 AM
I will be first to go against the grain.......John Colquhoun scored a couple of screamers against us at ER.

son of haggart
01-12-2012, 10:20 AM
Hartley in the 2006 semi - a great move and delicate finish

Drew Busby in 1973 derby (4th goal) sticks in my mind

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e9pHxmPPrsA

There are several others from the wee striker and in the last 20 years of derbies but those two stand out for me

For you guys one of the goals in the 0-3 game ?Sauzee was pretty good though I wasn't too happy at teh time

sbell1875
01-12-2012, 10:23 AM
I recall a Derek Riordan screamer in a 2-2 draw at Easter Road. Pretty sure it was on his left foot and he fired it across Gordon and into the top corner. I also seem to recall Vaz Te's goal last year was quite a goal.

But let's be honest. Any goal against that shower is a good goal!

01-12-2012, 10:24 AM
Don't think I've ever seen Hearts score a good goal against us, its always our 'keeper throwing it in or something horrible and scrappy from a set piece that takes 4 deflections and is bundled over the line by some huddie.

This is true for the most part, usually a goalkeeping error, penalty, header, or nothing special at all really. I seem to remember (trying to forget) that the first goal in that semi was a decent move, but that's about it.

Anyway, my favourite goals against that manky lot are; Latapy in the 6-2 game, truly breath-taking and my first ever derby and I witness the **** being battered.

The Riordan 30 yard screamer, that was a New Year derby as well I think because I remember Hartley coming to take corners and everyone was giving him pelters where I was sitting and that was the only game I've sat in the FF Lower by a corner flag for.

Brian Kerr against them at garbage dump was a good team move I seem to recall and O'Connor in the 'Unbeatables' derby was good too, so they get an honourable mention.

bandylegs_jLeighton
01-12-2012, 10:47 AM
Sauzee in the Millennium derby game.

It was my first derby game and I remember being able to tell the ball was net bound the instant it left his boot -it was a proper rocket.

Just_Jimmy
01-12-2012, 10:51 AM
Any goal against that lot is a raker!

I include any goal scored by any team against them.

01-12-2012, 10:58 AM
Hartley in the 2006 semi - a great move and delicate finish

Drew Busby in 1973 derby (4th goal) sticks in my mind

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e9pHxmPPrsA

There are several others from the wee striker and in the last 20 years of derbies but those two stand out for me

For you guys one of the goals in the 0-3 game ?Sauzee was pretty good though I wasn't too happy at teh time

Can't speak for the second one but the first one was nothing special! Is that the best you can come up with?

My first game at Tynie we lost 3-2 i remember the last goal being a screamer might of just been young though. One of the most enjoyable derbies I have ever watched though and i was only 10 or 11 so I didn't care to much.

Mango Man
01-12-2012, 11:30 AM

Spot on. I'm amazed how often they score horrible scrappy goals against us, scramble in the box, breaks to a Hearts player, he hits it, goes through the legs of 3 hibs players and it goes in. Can't remember a technically great goal they have scored against us, seriously.

01-12-2012, 11:36 AM
Latapy in the 6-2 demolition. Sauzee in the millennium at the PBS.

Hopefully a few memorable Hibs ones tomorrow.

01-12-2012, 11:38 AM
Kevin Harper in '98 was a peach. And on New Year's Day in '96 (and O'Neill's was a belter that day, too).

As for them, when I started reading this thread, I genuinely couldn't think of a good goal, but it's right enough that John Colquhoun scored a really good one at ER. :ill:

son of haggart
01-12-2012, 11:41 AM
Spot on. I'm amazed how often they score horrible scrappy goals against us, scramble in the box, breaks to a Hearts player, he hits it, goes through the legs of 3 hibs players and it goes in. Can't remember a technically great goal they have scored against us, seriously.

There are loads and loads of them

The second Hearts goal in this one for example (4 minutes in)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R7s6vtRuH5E&playnext=1&list=PL248F3FEF5A8586E5&feature=results_main

01-12-2012, 11:44 AM
Zemmamma at ER in a 2-2 draw in October 2006. Good build up and beautiful deft touch to take two defenders out of the game in one movement and slotting past Gordon. Remember going mad watching the game in a bar in Magaluf.

son of haggart
01-12-2012, 11:46 AM
Stanton's 94th minute equaliser in the late 70s at Tynecastle while a heartreaker (and miles offside) was a good goal (not so much spectactular as significant, good positional sense and well taken)

01-12-2012, 11:48 AM
Arthur Duncan's in the SC at the pigswilltrough in early 70's

01-12-2012, 11:49 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Vsce0RII8Z4

manx hibee
01-12-2012, 11:59 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Vsce0RII8Z4

Riordans from the clip WHAT A CRACKER

01-12-2012, 12:07 PM
The majestic Konte (rising like a leaping salmon returning to his spawning grounds) crashing his header off the stanchion only for Shiels to smash home the winner in a 2-1 win at Tynecastle in 2005. Konte had come on for an ineffectual Riordan and changed the course of history:top marks

01-12-2012, 12:09 PM
Maybe not the best ever but one that always sticks in my mind is Pat Quinns 3rd at Tynie in 1967 .

01-12-2012, 01:25 PM
Wee Russell's without a doubt! Not only was it the best strike ever but it was to put us SIX-ONE up against them! Not sure any goal since has ever made me smile so much. My only regret from that night is that we weren't able to make it 7. Could/should have been 10 easy!!

Aye, wee Russell's goal in the 6-2 game on 22nd October 2000, my eldest's 20th birthday, was a cracker and a great pity that we never beat the magic number 7!

Antii Niemi had a stormer that game and definitely saved them from a real hammering!

One nil for us would do tomorrow though to make us effective Scottish Cup holders! :greengrin :wink:

Mango Man
01-12-2012, 01:42 PM
There are loads and loads of them

The second Hearts goal in this one for example (4 minutes in)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R7s6vtRuH5E&playnext=1&list=PL248F3FEF5A8586E5&feature=results_main

Fair play, 2 good goals there. the header from Mckenna in particular, that's it though.....:wink:

01-12-2012, 01:44 PM
De La Cruz 2001. Had just sat down! :thumbsup:

01-12-2012, 01:47 PM
Any goal that is scored against them is good for me.

Honestly could not care less how they go in.

01-12-2012, 01:51 PM
My fav is Gordon Hunter at the PBS to end their 22 game run

01-12-2012, 01:52 PM
Dirk Lehmans goal in the 0-3 game gets overlooked but was also a cracker.

01-12-2012, 02:00 PM
Riordans for me, different class that lad was back then.

01-12-2012, 02:41 PM
Riordan screamer and a goal from Zemmama stand out. Wonder if Riordan will be up for the game tomorrow.

SH? :greengrin

01-12-2012, 02:43 PM
Riordan screamer and a goal from Zemmama stand out. Wonder if Riordan will be up for the game tomorrow.

SH? :greengrin

He will Sean. :aok:

01-12-2012, 02:47 PM
http://www.scotsman.com/webimage/1.2670929.1354365113!image/59454179.jpg_gen/derivatives/landscape_595/59454179.jpg
Different East tomorrow, same passion GGTTH (1979 Scottish v Yams )
Welcome home for the game Gordon :hug:

01-12-2012, 02:52 PM
He will Sean. :aok:

Good stuff. Get him to the Nip and i'll buy him a pint or ten :wink:

01-12-2012, 03:05 PM
http://www.scotsman.com/webimage/1.2670929.1354365113!image/59454179.jpg_gen/derivatives/landscape_595/59454179.jpg
Different East tomorrow, same passion GGTTH (1979 Scottish v Yams )
Welcome home for the game Gordon :hug:

Remember that game well, was a quarter final and we won 2-1 big Gordon getting the 2nd, my old mate was in goals for Hearts (almost felt sorry for him......not).

Was the year we got to the final and had 3 games against Rangers (we should have won the 1st game, had a stonewall pen denied) but it was the SC & Hibs. :rolleyes:

Also noticed that Gordon Rae will be in Hibs’ Club Shop from 11am to noon tomorrow to sign copies of Bobby Sinnet’s book, The Hibernian Miscellany. Rae wrote the 
foreword to the book, which contains a wealth of quirky facts about the Easter Road club. :thumbsup: