View Full Version : Police released CCTV of Hibs players attacker

22-11-2012, 10:49 AM
Just saw on twitter that the pic of deegans suspected attacker has been released , that's gotta be the start of him getting found , I've attached the image from radio forth news

http://www.forthone.com/news/cctv-released-in-hunt-for-gary-deegan-attacker/

22-11-2012, 10:52 AM
**** me, it's Morrissey!:cb

22-11-2012, 10:58 AM
clickable link http://www.forthone.com/news/cctv-released-in-hunt-for-gary-deegan-attacker/

hope they get the ****

Skanko79
22-11-2012, 10:59 AM
looks like your run of the mill tax dodging student. dont know why deegan didnt give the wee rat a slap back.

22-11-2012, 11:02 AM
looks like your run of the mill tax dodging student. dont know why deegan didnt give the wee rat a slap back.

possibly because his jaw was bouncing up and down off the pavement at the time :(

22-11-2012, 11:02 AM
looks like your run of the mill tax dodging student. dont know why deegan didnt give the wee rat a slap back.I would imagine if somebody hits you hard enough to break your jaw and you don't even see it coming, by the time you realise what happened your attacker is long gone.

22-11-2012, 11:08 AM
Someone must recognize him from that photo

22-11-2012, 11:09 AM
**** me, it's Morrissey!:cb

That's what I was thinking...Bottle Blonde Maudlin Mozza in Deegs (man)Dible Dunt Dig.

Skanko79
22-11-2012, 11:09 AM
was deegan on his todd at the time?

22-11-2012, 11:13 AM
was deegan on his todd at the time?I think I heard he was alone in a queue for a taxi.

Skanko79
22-11-2012, 11:14 AM
I think I heard he was alone in a queue for a taxi.

****bags eh? probably some halfwitted jambo looking for a claim to fame. idiot.

Just_Jimmy
22-11-2012, 11:15 AM
Somebody in the city knows the little *******. I hope they do the right thing and turn him in.

22-11-2012, 11:25 AM
****bags eh? probably some halfwitted jambo looking for a claim to fame. idiot.I wouldn't be sure he even knew who he was punching. I'm not sure i'd recognise too many players on a night out. I recently spent 15 minutes talking to Alan McGregor and didn't know who he was.

Skanko79
22-11-2012, 11:27 AM
I wouldn't be sure he even knew who he was punching. I'm not sure i'd recognise too many players on a night out. I recently spent 15 minutes talking to Alan McGregor and didn't know who he was.

haha!! i bumped into him too one night and he was actually allright.

But i see what you mean, they are just normal guys after a night out and dont deserve that rubbish. hope the wee twat gets nabbed.

22-11-2012, 11:28 AM
That's Darren Fletcher is it no?

EDIT: In a wig of course

22-11-2012, 11:49 AM
Someone will know him, pretty sure he will be found soon.

22-11-2012, 11:54 AM
I think I heard he was alone in a queue for a taxi.

Im told he let 2 city cabs go by as he had heard an unsubstantiated rumour on here that they were donating money to hearts whoever started that rumour is at fault for this whole sorry mess :greengrin

22-11-2012, 12:31 PM
pretty certain someone will recognise him :greengrin

22-11-2012, 12:35 PM
Looks like a bit of a fiddler.

Jambo. :agree:

22-11-2012, 12:37 PM
Brilliant, Deegan's meant to be the token hardman in our team and he's been beaten up by one half of f*****g Jedward.

I'm furious.

22-11-2012, 12:39 PM
Folk seem to be speculating that the attack was random

Hibs players had a table that night. By 1am their pictures were all over Facebook when McPake posted them on Twitter. At 2am it is alleged that the 2 lads turned up at the club attempting entry. Wonder why? Doormen refused them access. Then they waited till 3. Wonder why?

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-19878773

Gary Deegan came to Hibs with a bit of 'previous'. Neil Lennon has been targeted twice for less, including once at Tynecastle

http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/hibs-star-gary-deegan-sorry-1253900

Edit: Looks like there's also now the possibility the assailant was a hibby stalker

So aye it might be pure chance or again it might no. The culprit may have been deliberately trying to track down Hibs players

22-11-2012, 12:48 PM
That's Darren Fletcher is it no?

EDIT: In a wig of course

Nah its his team mate David De Gea the goalie. :greengrin

22-11-2012, 12:51 PM

I think your run of the mill footballer is more of a tax dodger than any student.

Skanko79
22-11-2012, 12:54 PM
I think your run of the mill footballer is more of a tax dodger than any student.

hahaha!! i'll crack the jokes mate.

did you not see the photae of tevez's payslip doing the rounds. 50% tax!!!

22-11-2012, 01:02 PM

Tevez isn't run of the mill tho

and he'd probably have more than one payslip, a la rangers before sevco

22-11-2012, 01:04 PM

Feel free to start whenever you are ready. :greengrin:

Skanko79
22-11-2012, 01:11 PM
Feel free to start whenever you are ready. :greengrin:

i'll keep my material for the festival mate, thanks anyway.

HibeeMG
22-11-2012, 01:12 PM
We can definitely not count on his hairdresser grassing him up. A shocking do.

22-11-2012, 01:18 PM

£750K gross
less £340K tax and insurance
Take home pay for the month only £410K (March 2010)

What must have hacked Tevez off the most was the £24 FA fine deducted from his wages. Fined for being ugly maybe.

Skanko79
22-11-2012, 01:43 PM

£750K gross
less £340K tax and insurance
Take home pay for the month only £410K (March 2010)

What must have hacked Tevez off the most was the £24 FA fine deducted from his wages. Fined for being ugly maybe.

hahahaha!! aye that would be a killer the 24 quid fine!! still a rake of tax though!!

22-11-2012, 02:05 PM
first stop for lothian and borders "finest" should be Pets At Home, the boy looks like a cockatiel with that hairdoo and they might be able to help with his location :wink:

Hibs07p
22-11-2012, 02:11 PM
My first impression was that it looked awfy like Craig Gordon, but that's no possible surely, after all Deano put him on his erse very easily.

22-11-2012, 02:17 PM
The 'Doo' is so bad I initially thought it was a cap..

22-11-2012, 02:25 PM

That's a good shout :greengrin:

22-11-2012, 02:29 PM

No chance. Whenever he goes for a punch he hits nowt but fresh air!

22-11-2012, 02:34 PM

Me too. I was wondering why people were talking bout his hairdo when he was wearing a hat :greengrin

I'm over for the Hahahawrts game next week. You never know, I may just have the good fortune of 'bumping into' this guy. Gotta be a Yam.

euansdad
22-11-2012, 02:38 PM
Probably a yam who thinks he is the hardest man in Scotland now.

22-11-2012, 02:40 PM

or cowering behind his curtains waiting on the bang on the door

the hair police might catch him first though

Devilstorment
22-11-2012, 02:48 PM
looks awfully like Craig Gordon doesn't it!!!

22-11-2012, 03:00 PM
a fairly clear image there.
I'd imagine tap tap on his door within 24 hours.

22-11-2012, 03:07 PM
I think it's now only a matter off time before he is caught. Anyone know what sort of punishment he will be looking at?

MoscowHibs
22-11-2012, 03:22 PM
I think it's now only a matter off time before he is caught. Anyone know what sort of punishment he will be looking at?
About 14 months inside Saughton wi a 24 stone Hibs supporting "Daddy" as a cell mate.

22-11-2012, 03:55 PM
a fairly clear image there.
I'd imagine tap tap on his door within 24 hours.

Sure is, so not a known face to L&Bs polis or he would have been lifted by now.

22-11-2012, 04:00 PM
Sure is, so not a known face to L&Bs polis or he would have been lifted by now.

Exactly. He will be known by someone looking at these photos though, especially if circulation is widened via Hibs net, the bounce, FB,twitter etc

22-11-2012, 04:37 PM
Someone must recognize him from that photo

Looks like he is in conversation with the three other guys in photo - wonder if the police have traced any of them ? Not saying any of them, if they are his mates, would rush down the local nick but , trace one and the bad guy will be named and shamed. Seems with the release of this image the police have drawn a blank in their enquiries so far.

22-11-2012, 04:38 PM
About 14 months inside Saughton wi a 24 stone Hibs supporting "Daddy" as a cell mate.
:greengrin :top marks

22-11-2012, 04:38 PM
Looks like he is in conversation with the three other guys in photo - wonder if the police have traced any of them ? Not saying any of them, if they are his mates, would rush down the local nick but , trace one and the bad guy will be named and shamed. Seems with the release of this image the police have drawn a blank in their enquiries so far.

Could have been guys from outside Scotland being in Edinburgh for the weekend

steviehibsleith
22-11-2012, 04:57 PM
Was Twilight R- Patz in the city that weekend in a Vampire huff that his doll was getting biffed of the Director ?
Thats a good pic surely he should be found then see how hard the coward is .

22-11-2012, 05:12 PM

Oh yeh, had to look again to notice it wasn't a cap. Has he got it bleached blonde blob in the middle? Hard to tell on phone.

Is that Deegan to the right in a suit?

Delboy4
22-11-2012, 06:03 PM

Heard he's a Hibby

22-11-2012, 06:05 PM
Oh yeh, had to look again to notice it wasn't a cap. Has he got it bleached blonde blob in the middle? Hard to tell on phone.

Don't think so, to me it says the mound in the top right hand corner so probably where he legged it to after the attack.

HibeeN
22-11-2012, 06:06 PM
A few of the players have retweeted the picture as well - hopefully if it's widely circulated through social media then there is a good chance that somebody will recognise him.

22-11-2012, 06:10 PM
Heard he's a Hibby

So an acquaintance of yours knows him?

Get him grassed.

Delboy4
22-11-2012, 06:11 PM

No

22-11-2012, 07:28 PM
Pretty sure that's James McPake in the brown jacket seeking retribution :jmcp:

22-11-2012, 07:31 PM

Rumour is that they have traced them all. Tomorrow they will be colouring them in and adding the finishing touches.

22-11-2012, 08:14 PM
He'll be *****ing himself when his name is out in public, i'm sure there will be a fair few Hibbies who will relish giving him a smack in the pus.

22-11-2012, 08:21 PM
Rumour is that they have traced them all. Tomorrow they will be colouring them in and adding the finishing touches.

I heard that the details are too sketchy. They should have a better picture by next week

22-11-2012, 08:23 PM
I heard that the details are too sketchy. They should have a better picture by next week

That's not my impression.

hibbill2002
22-11-2012, 08:51 PM

That's not my impression.

Arrests have been pencilled in for early tomorrow.

22-11-2012, 08:54 PM

But it wont be the 1st time records are erased. Just an inkling it could happen again.

22-11-2012, 08:55 PM

Hope they get the right man, would hate to see anyone being framed

22-11-2012, 08:56 PM

That would be surreal.

Back on topic. Wonder if he's done a runner and the police know who he is?

I wouldn't be sure he even knew who he was punching. I'm not sure i'd recognise too many players on a night out. I recently spent 15 minutes talking to Alan McGregor and didn't know who he was

Did the elderly blond lady on his arm not give you a clue? :greengrin

22-11-2012, 08:57 PM

could be in for a hanging

22-11-2012, 09:00 PM

Pity that is. We could have posted a Hibs.net reward offer and some of his fellow yams were bound to have grassed him up so they could donate it to their club, or worse, buy shares :greengrin Gottae be a yam please, I really never knew people looked like that anymore.....

22-11-2012, 09:03 PM
But it wont be the 1st time records are erased. Just an inkling it could happen again.

could be in for a hanging

Nicked from the Bounce but appropriate

http://static2.fjcdn.com/thumbnails/comments/I+just+made+that+but+heres+an+abandon+thread+albei t+_d29b5954e324fbb9d0e02c76ac980403.gif

wilbertorama
22-11-2012, 10:37 PM
He is in custody and he turned himself in, oh and hes a hibs fan.....:confused:

VickMackie
22-11-2012, 11:00 PM

Where did you hear that?

22-11-2012, 11:08 PM

Source please

23-11-2012, 12:51 AM

Incredible if true and would make his crime even worse in my eyes as his violence would presumably have been completely random and purely for his own very nasty and warped self-gratification. Footballers are presumably aware that they are more at risk of aggravation from knob ends when out on the pish - but it seems that NOONE would be safe from this idiot.

If true, this unstable piece of turd should be locked up as well as banned from ER FOREVER.

23-11-2012, 12:58 AM
Guys need to get this picture circulated on Facebook get this bawbag caught.

23-11-2012, 01:13 AM
Incredible if true and would make his crime even worse in my eyes as his violence would presumably have been completely random and purely for his own very nasty and warped self-gratification. Footballers are presumably aware that they are more at risk of aggravation from knob ends when out on the pish - but it seems that NOONE would be safe from this idiot.

If true, this unstable piece of turd should be locked up as well as banned from ER FOREVER.

Pre meditated violence would be worse in the eyes of the court surely?

23-11-2012, 07:00 AM
Pre meditated violence would be worse in the eyes of the court surely?

If Deegan was standing at a taxi rank, minding his own business, I'd imagine that the case could be made for any assault being pre-meditated.

hungryhibs
23-11-2012, 08:28 AM
Was it the boy with the striped T-shirt on?

23-11-2012, 08:30 AM
LBPolice ‏@LBP_Police A 27-year-old man has been charged with an alleged assault in George Street Sunday 7th October and will appear in court at a later date

23-11-2012, 08:50 AM
LBPolice ‏@LBP_Police A 27-year-old man has been charged with an alleged assault in George Street Sunday 7th October and will appear in court at a later date

Great news

legends of 73
23-11-2012, 08:53 AM
Bring back hanging:thumbsup::thumbsup:

23-11-2012, 08:53 AM
Name and shame time

23-11-2012, 09:17 AM
Name and shame time

... if and when he is convicted.

hungryhibs
23-11-2012, 09:28 AM
I am told he is a hibs fan

pontius pilate
23-11-2012, 09:51 AM
I'm hoping the ****bag gets done with assault to severe injury and permanent disfigurement which would carry a heavier sentence. However it may well be assault to severe injury in any case it should be jail time

23-11-2012, 10:19 AM
Let's not be naming and shaming anyone who's innocent until proved otherwise.

23-11-2012, 10:20 AM
Did the elderly blond lady on his arm not give you a clue? :greengrin

Or the young blonde trying to punch him :greengrin

copycat
23-11-2012, 10:24 AM
Dont you just love the folk with the lowest post counts coming out saying he is a Hibs fan!!! got to love them.

I am guessing that the rational of handing himslef into the Police was far safer than wandering the streets knowing there are a fairly large number of people who would be desperate to some serious damage to him.

Saying that, I am sure that isnt going to change!!

Delboy4
23-11-2012, 10:47 AM
Dont you just love the folk with the lowest post counts coming out saying he is a Hibs fan!!! got to love them.

I am guessing that the rational of handing himslef into the Police was far safer than wandering the streets knowing there are a fairly large number of people who would be desperate to some serious damage to him.

I take it you are at the wind up...or you're just a numpty or Yam?!

Does it matter how many posts members have here on .net - How many posts have you done?

I heard last night that he was a Hibby which I passed on, so what..!

The main point is that the guy has handed himself in and has been charged - If this wasn't a Hibs player that was hit we wouldn't even be talking about it and it wouldn't be in the news - end of.

23-11-2012, 10:49 AM

Just you worry about how your team are going to make it till the end of the season pal. :yw:

23-11-2012, 11:00 AM
Let's not be naming and shaming anyone who's innocent until proved otherwise.

Aren't people who are charged named in media quite regularly? Prior to conviction that is...

23-11-2012, 11:13 AM
Aren't people who are charged named in media quite regularly? Prior to conviction that is...

It's the shaming bit that is particularly dangerous.

(Signed, Lord McAlpine)

23-11-2012, 11:20 AM

It's the shaming bit that is particularly dangerous.

(Signed, Lord McAlpine)

Yes to both.

23-11-2012, 12:11 PM

He is.

Sweet Left Peg
23-11-2012, 12:13 PM
He is.

Unbelievable, Jeff!

Argylehibby
23-11-2012, 12:14 PM

It suggests they only post when they have information that is reliable rather than just post for the sake of it.

23-11-2012, 12:16 PM

Does it matter how many posts members have here on .net - How many posts have you done?

The main point is that the guy has handed himself in and has been charged - If this wasn't a Hibs player that was hit we wouldn't even be talking about it and it wouldn't be in the news - end of.

To be fair this was aimed at the poster with a large post count of ...er....... 1 :greengrin

VickMackie
23-11-2012, 12:34 PM

Handing himself in will look better in the eyes of the court than police turning up at his door. I'm pretty sure getting threats wouldn't have entered his mind for the reason to hand himself in.

23-11-2012, 12:39 PM
Handing himself in will look better in the eyes of the court than police turning up at his door. I'm pretty sure getting threats wouldn't have entered his mind for the reason to hand himself in.

The fact that he only thought about handing himself in once his photo was released should be taken into account too IMHO.

copycat
23-11-2012, 01:59 PM

And maybe you should pay attention before typing, insulting numpty!!

As you just said, Ill decide what I type and when I type it without asking your permission, that ok with you?

As has now been pointed out it was in reference to the first one I read claiming him as a Hibs fan as his first post!!

Now before you start going down the high and mighty route, he is a Hibs player and therefor we will talk about it!!!

If you need further explanantion happy to draw a diagram in crayon, ill even do it from my ST seat at ER due to being a numpty yam, muppet!!

copycat
23-11-2012, 02:03 PM
[QUOTE=copycat;3422426]Dont you just love the folk with the lowest post counts coming out saying he is a Hibs fan!!! got to love them.

QUOTE]

It suggests they only post when they have information that is reliable rather than just post for the sake of it.

Ill post what I like, i made a tongue in cheek comment in a democratic society on an open forum, dinna like it dinnae read it

copycat
23-11-2012, 02:04 PM
To be fair this was aimed at the poster with a large post count of ...er....... 1 :greengrin

Exactly, cheers at least someone got the irony!!

VickMackie
23-11-2012, 02:10 PM
The fact that he only thought about handing himself in once his photo was released should be taken into account too IMHO.

Definitely.

23-11-2012, 02:17 PM
IF the guy is in fact a Hibby, [personally I find that hard to believe], then surely when his photo was made public quite a few posters on here would have recognised him ? Not saying they are personal friends, but they would have been able to say that he sits/sat near them at the games, / drinks in the same watering hole[s] as them. Especially with that crazy hair.

P.S. Hope they throw the book at him on his court appearance and not just give him the usual "slap on the wrists" The sentence should convey a message to all the dafties that this type of behaviour will not be tolerated.

23-11-2012, 02:19 PM
What a fud.

23-11-2012, 02:32 PM
He shoulda shaved his hair off, too easy to remember that barnet ;o

andudare2
23-11-2012, 02:52 PM

The main point is that the guy has handed himself in and has been charged - If this wasn't a Hibs player that was hit we wouldn't even be talking about it and it wouldn't be in the news - end of.your spot on about the guy being a hibby ,know the family well,they are all hibs fans,not regular attenders as involved in the game at various levels.however for all the name &shamer brigade lets just do as others on here have asked&wait till it comes out in court eh? have been told its not as clear cut as we have been led to believe.

!

andudare2
23-11-2012, 02:55 PM
sorry delboy4,did not mean to have my say incorporated in your post.was trying to confirm you were right as to guy being a hibby.

23-11-2012, 03:28 PM

:jamboclow

23-11-2012, 03:31 PM

:jamboclow

23-11-2012, 04:14 PM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-edinburgh-east-fife-20461817

VickMackie
23-11-2012, 06:32 PM
Says he's returned to light training. Nice one.

Delboy4
23-11-2012, 10:04 PM
sorry delboy4,did not mean to have my say incorporated in your post.was trying to confirm you were right as to guy being a hibby.

Thank you

Delboy4
24-11-2012, 12:28 AM
And maybe you should pay attention before typing, insulting numpty!!

As you just said, Ill decide what I type and when I type it without asking your permission, that ok with you?

As has now been pointed out it was in reference to the first one I read claiming him as a Hibs fan as his first post!!

Now before you start going down the high and mighty route, he is a Hibs player and therefor we will talk about it!!!

If you need further explanantion happy to draw a diagram in crayon, ill even do it from my ST seat at ER due to being a numpty yam, muppet!!

Your quote:
If you are talking about one person why do you use the term folk and them?
You should have replied to his quote!

Anyway, I said that we wouldn't have been talking about this if it wasn't a football player, Hibs or any team! True, yes?

My son was walking with his girlfriend along George St 3 months ago when he was set upon by 8 guys, to say he was in a state is an understatement BUT the police were not interested!!!
My argument is that because Gary Deegan is a footballer who the journalists can make a story out of it makes the headlines and the police have to react. Fact, yes or no?

Don't know what age you are mate but I've probably been at more Hibs games than you've had hot dinners AND if you want to draw a diagram IN CRAYON at ER ill happily oblige to come along to see what you can draw!

I'm not a stupid wee laddie.

I've been a member of Hibs.net for years and I've never had any arguments with a fellow Hibby before and don't want to again. Remember, the least posts that members have contributed doesn't mean they are yams.

Because you have posted less than half of my posts, does that mean you are less a Hibby than me? No..! So argue with the yams in your pub.

Delboy4
24-11-2012, 12:33 AM
Quite right...heard what went on too.

I've got to say I don't condone it but there is always two sides of the story!

24-11-2012, 12:50 AM
Two sides to every story aye, but bursting someone when they're looking the other way is the mark of a *****bag. Which is what happened. So enough of the shan defences. The boy is a blouse and he'll get time over a daft argument trying to act hard in front of a couple of fat wee dafties.

hungryhibs
24-11-2012, 01:03 AM
Two sides to every story aye, but bursting someone when they're looking the other way is the mark of a *****bag. Which is what happened. So enough of the shan defences. The boy is a blouse and he'll get time over a daft argument trying to act hard in front of a couple of fat wee dafties.

a take it you where either there or have been told what has happend then? and do u know who done it then aye?

hungryhibs
24-11-2012, 01:07 AM
Quite right...heard what went on too.

I've got to say I don't condone it but there is always two sides of the story!

a dont condone it either but a would have done the same if a was in his shoes

24-11-2012, 01:08 AM
a take it you where either there or have been told what has happend then? and do u know who done it then aye?

I've heard tonight from a doorman what happened aye.

hungryhibs
24-11-2012, 01:15 AM
I've heard tonight from a doorman what happened aye.

from a doorman :aok::aok: ok pal a think you need to go to sleep. a know what happened and how and why it started not that am going explain my self to you but believe me he new it was comeing a don't condone what he done but am not going let people say stuff about ma friend when they don't know what there even talking about and as iv said there's always 2 side to every story

24-11-2012, 01:22 AM
from a doorman :aok::aok: ok pal a think you need to go to sleep. a know what happened and how and why it started not that am going explain my self to you but believe me he new it was comeing a don't condone what he done but am not going let people say stuff about ma friend when they don't know what there even talking about and as iv said there's always 2 side to every story

Aye nice one, and yet you still won't tell the side of the story that you've came on here and told everyone you know?

What's the point of it unless you're going to tell folk what you claim actually happened?

Leishy1995
24-11-2012, 01:26 AM
If you're going to post about these 'two sides' of a bloody story explain. It will help us out instead of you two kissing each others ass.

24-11-2012, 01:29 AM
If you're going to post about these 'two sides' of a bloody story explain. It will help us out instead of you two kissing each others ass.

Settle down son. I already did. He's the one defending his pal yet won't tell his mates side of the story. Wonder why that is...

Leishy1995
24-11-2012, 01:32 AM
Settle down son. I already did. He's the one defending his pal yet won't tell his mates side of the story. Wonder why that is...

Beat me to it, was getting rather annoyed with them two going on about this 'two sides of the story' and then decided to insult people who believe the man arrested is not a hibs fan or is to be named and shamed.

hungryhibs
24-11-2012, 01:39 AM
use will find out soon enough and a kiss no ones ass just u go listen to bouncers mate ha ha there are police officers on this fourm am not going put something up that could harm his defense now am a? ill just leave it at that and if anyone eals wants to come on and tell u why he done it and what his name is am sure they will infact he might just tell u his self because he is a member on the site also :wink:

Leishy1995
24-11-2012, 01:49 AM
use will find out soon enough and a kiss no ones ass just u go listen to bouncers mate ha ha there are police officers on this fourm am not going put something up that could harm his defense now am a? ill just leave it at that and if anyone eals wants to come on and tell u why he done it and what his name is am sure they will infact he might just tell u his self because he is a member on the site also :wink:

how would you telling us a different version of the story other than the current "he attacked from behind" version harm the defence? Stupidity.

hungryhibs
24-11-2012, 01:54 AM
how would you telling us a different version of the story other than the current "he attacked from behind" version harm the defence? Stupidity.

did a say he attacked him from behind? NO and trust me it was not from behind.

Leishy1995
24-11-2012, 01:56 AM

You obviously aren't reading, currently the story presumed by most on here is he was attacked from behind, so clear his name of that obvious s*itbag act. What's this other side?

24-11-2012, 02:47 AM
Why not just wait till the facts come out in court, instead of winding each other up ;)

cam75
24-11-2012, 03:08 AM

So you have known for a while who done this and the doorman knew?yet it took untill he was shamed with a photo for you to bring it out in the forum !i smell mmmm site

24-11-2012, 03:27 AM
Sick to death seeing pishy American spelling being used by young people....

It's DEFENCE not DEFENSE!

BarneyK
24-11-2012, 08:09 AM

Serious question - why did you ask "Was it the boy in the striped t-shirt?" earlier in this thread if you saw the whole thing?

Skanko79
24-11-2012, 08:15 AM
this thread stinks of jeremy kyle. lets get him on the blower to sort it all out.

24-11-2012, 08:26 AM
I'm sure the rozzers will have the perp down the nick in no time, bobs your uncle they'll throw the book at 'im.

24-11-2012, 08:31 AM
this thread stinks of jeremy kyle. lets get him on the blower to sort it all out.

Was thinking that...... The sort of episode that goes out with someone from Scotland/Edinburgh and you can just hear by the way they talk that it's going to be cringeworthy for "normal" people to hear! ........ A bit like some of the posts on here in fact .... :D

andudare2
24-11-2012, 08:36 AM
a dont condone it either but a would have done the same if a was in his shoesfrom what ive been told, i would have done the exact same as well . strange how folk bang on about not believing everything they read in papers,but when it comes to a hibs player getting done its got to be true,funny that (not).dont think they would be quite so judgemental if it had been a vermin player eh?would love to see some of them saying there comments to the guy,s face,know who my money would be on.

24-11-2012, 08:43 AM

He is.

Can't be a Hibs fan. Surely you mean Hibs thug?

24-11-2012, 08:45 AM
So, the number of people who knew what happened is growing? Wouldn't it be lovely if the supposed reason for this idiot's reaction (and yes I still think he is an idiot and yes I would say it to his face) was told to us by those apparently in the know? If he did it for a good reason then surely it would help and not hinder his forthcoming court case (hopefully) and future propbable sore bottom in Saughton? If he is a poster on here, lets hear from him as well. Justify it.

Skanko79
24-11-2012, 08:46 AM
Was thinking that...... The sort of episode that goes out with someone from Scotland/Edinburgh and you can just hear by the way they talk that it's going to be cringeworthy for "normal" people to hear! ........ A bit like some of the posts on here in fact .... :D

:agree::agree: :thumbsup:

Skanko79
24-11-2012, 08:50 AM
being honest regardless of it was for good reason or not if you decide to take a swing at someone and do a bit damage like that esspecially to someone who may be in the media spotlight then your going to get caught. its just not worth it. fair enough if deegan has done something to upset the lad then let him know he's a plumb by telling him. not by breaking his jaw, all it takes is to catch someone the wrong way, if they fall the wrong way and hit thier head of the ground then it could be alot worse. its not big, and its not clever. just walk away.

24-11-2012, 08:53 AM
from what ive been told, i would have done the exact same as well . strange how folk bang on about not believing everything they read in papers,but when it comes to a hibs player getting done its got to be true,funny that (not).dont think they would be quite so judgemental if it had been a vermin player eh?would love to see some of them saying there comments to the guy,s face,know who my money would be on.

It’s that type of behaviour and attitude that’s got him where he is, the police are well used to dealing with such Neanderthal's almost every day of the week.

the_ginger_hibee
24-11-2012, 09:01 AM
My Dad's bigger than your da

BarneyK
24-11-2012, 09:02 AM
being honest regardless of it was for good reason or not if you decide to take a swing at someone and do a bit damage like that esspecially to someone who may be in the media spotlight then your going to get caught. its just not worth it. fair enough if deegan has done something to upset the lad then let him know he's a plumb by telling him. not by breaking his jaw, all it takes is to catch someone the wrong way, if they fall the wrong way and hit thier head of the ground then it could be alot worse. its not big, and its not clever. just walk away.

24-11-2012, 09:32 AM

Ma brother'l batter your brother.

24-11-2012, 09:37 AM
Can this be solved over a milkshake, please lads?

Cheers.

24-11-2012, 09:40 AM
Can this be solved over a milkshake, please lads?

Cheers.

What flavour?

24-11-2012, 09:47 AM
Ma brother'l batter your brother.

My ma hings her washing oot better than your ma

24-11-2012, 09:54 AM

My dad will **** your da!

24-11-2012, 09:57 AM
can someone enlighten me as to what Deegs was supposed to have done to gain a sare jaw?

24-11-2012, 09:57 AM
My dugs better at biting posties than your dug!

hibbiedon
24-11-2012, 10:00 AM
wonder how many points this so called hibs fan will have cost us because he felt the need to break a hibs players jaw, still he will be a ****bo hero now

24-11-2012, 10:01 AM
What flavour?

The hippo's think strawberry......

24-11-2012, 10:01 AM
Aye nice one, and yet you still won't tell the side of the story that you've came on here and told everyone you know?

What's the point of it unless you're going to tell folk what you claim actually happened?

my thoughts exactly

24-11-2012, 10:04 AM
The hippo's think strawberry......

Good choice, Halifax has gone up market these days and installed a milkshake shop. They will make you any flavour you want too.... result.

24-11-2012, 10:04 AM
My dugs better at biting posties than your dug!

Ma dugs are bigger than your dugs tho

24-11-2012, 10:07 AM
can someone enlighten me as to what Deegs was supposed to have done to gain a sare jaw?

it was maybe just a silly arguement over citycabs :taxi

24-11-2012, 10:08 AM
So, the number of people who knew what happened is growing? Wouldn't it be lovely if the supposed reason for this idiot's reaction (and yes I still think he is an idiot and yes I would say it to his face) was told to us by those apparently in the know? If he did it for a good reason then surely it would help and not hinder his forthcoming court case (hopefully) and future propbable sore bottom in Saughton? If he is a poster on here, lets hear from him as well. Justify it.

Just wondering what is a 'good reason' for breaking someone's jaw in three places?:confused:

24-11-2012, 10:11 AM
Just wondering what is a 'good reason' for breaking someone's jaw in three places?:confused:

Catching some scrote robbing your house.

Somone hitting your child.

Etc,

24-11-2012, 10:12 AM

Totally agree, and I've seen the bit in bold happen to a friend .. which resulted in a large chunk of his life spent in prison, and just as long trying to get his life back in order after he was released.

If you resort to violence, for whatever reason, be prepared to face the consequences of your actions. It's easy to say "I'd have done the same for what he said/did", but unless you are physically threatened the law doesn't recognise provocation.

24-11-2012, 10:12 AM
Good choice, Halifax has gone up market these days and installed a milkshake shop. They will make you any flavour you want too.... result.

Inside toilets next:tee hee:

24-11-2012, 10:13 AM

When you think you have a good reason to give someone a smack, you can hardly predict the injuries as a consequence of that punch can you? Or maybe you're a boxer with so much power that you can judge how hard to hit someone in relation to how many places you wish to break their jaw. :greengrin

24-11-2012, 10:15 AM

There is none in my opinion, unless of course he came from Alloa :greengrin. However certain people above are saying it was justified. I am interested in knowing as well.

Skanko79
24-11-2012, 10:20 AM
Totally agree, and I've seen the bit in bold happen to a friend .. which resulted in a large chunk of his life spent in prison, and just as long trying to get his life back in order after he was released.

If you resort to violence, for whatever reason, be prepared to face the consequences of your actions. It's easy to say "I'd have done the same for what he said/did", but unless you are physically threatened the law doesn't recognise provocation.

totally agree mate, its just not worth it these days.

24-11-2012, 10:24 AM
Broke back saying he....

Went to Liberton
Likes to think he's a bit "handy"
Isn't really a Hibbie ...... But also not a yam
Very possibly mistaken identity ... I.e. .... He didn't know who Deegan was and mixed him up with someone else ..... This sort of ties in with something I heard last night as the argument mentioned elsewhere happened when Deegan was actually away from the scene.... That's 2nd/3rd hand tho so I wouldn't have posted it on its own

Take out of that what you will.....

All I'd say... Regardless of previous provocation or otherwise..... Running past someone and punching their face while they are looking the other way isn't "handy". ...... It's lame and cowardly....

24-11-2012, 10:24 AM
Catching some scrote robbing your house.
Somone hitting your child.
Etc,

Yes, lots of good reasons for doing it. Unfortunately non of them recognised by the law, which means (assuming there are witnesses :wink: ) it's a straight forward assault charge.

Unless you can prove it was in "self-defence" you can expect a criminal conviction.

24-11-2012, 10:25 AM
There is none in my opinion, unless of course he came from Alloa :greengrin. However certain people above are saying it was justified. I am interested in knowing as well.

This thread's great. One of our players has been assaulted and misses vital games for us, but the thread is concentrating on unsubstantiated rumours that he somehow 'deserved it' :rolleyes:

Unless someone can provide an allegation of Deegans wrongdoing, far less evidence, the thread should be deleted IMO.

24-11-2012, 10:27 AM
The guy's about as hard as the ********s running about Dundee with knives. He'll get what's coming to him, what goes around comes around :agree:

24-11-2012, 10:31 AM
totally agree mate, its just not worth it these days.

24-11-2012, 10:33 AM
This thread's great. One of our players has been assaulted and misses vital games for us, but the thread is concentrating on unsubstantiated rumours that he somehow 'deserved it' :rolleyes:

Unless someone can provide an allegation of Deegans wrongdoing, far less evidence, the thread should be deleted IMO.

The people who "claim to be in the know" are attention seeking IMO and unless they are willing to susbtantiate their claims they should not have posted in the first place.

24-11-2012, 10:33 AM

And threatens to become sub judice - to be honest, he's been arrested therefore the thread should be closed until we hear of the findings bollah.

The good thing is he's been caught. My only criticism of the thread would be the couple of folk who were rapid in their condemnation of the police and their lack of activity - hopefully we can all be happy the guy is now facing the courts.

24-11-2012, 10:37 AM

English is the preferred language on this forum :agree:

24-11-2012, 10:41 AM
from what ive been told, i would have done the exact same as well . strange how folk bang on about not believing everything they read in papers,but when it comes to a hibs player getting done its got to be true,funny that (not).dont think they would be quite so judgemental if it had been a vermin player eh?would love to see some of them saying there comments to the guy,s face,know who my money would be on.

:worried:

24-11-2012, 10:47 AM
The people who "claim to be in the know" are attention seeking IMO and unless they are willing to susbtantiate their claims they should not have posted in the first place.

Exactly.

24-11-2012, 11:22 AM

Totally agree far to many people think that the only way to settle an argument is by violence it has no place in a civilised society

24-11-2012, 11:33 AM
English is the preferred language on this forum :agree:

copycat
24-11-2012, 11:44 AM
Your quote:
If you are talking about one person why do you use the term folk and them?
You should have replied to his quote!

Anyway, I said that we wouldn't have been talking about this if it wasn't a football player, Hibs or any team! True, yes?

My son was walking with his girlfriend along George St 3 months ago when he was set upon by 8 guys, to say he was in a state is an understatement BUT the police were not interested!!!
My argument is that because Gary Deegan is a footballer who the journalists can make a story out of it makes the headlines and the police have to react. Fact, yes or no?

Don't know what age you are mate but I've probably been at more Hibs games than you've had hot dinners AND if you want to draw a diagram IN CRAYON at ER ill happily oblige to come along to see what you can draw!

I'm not a stupid wee laddie.

I've been a member of Hibs.net for years and I've never had any arguments with a fellow Hibby before and don't want to again. Remember, the least posts that members have contributed doesn't mean they are yams.

Because you have posted less than half of my posts, does that mean you are less a Hibby than me? No..! So argue with the yams in your pub.

I will try and answer your points by point!!

Maybe you should have realised there was 2 back to back repsonses from two people with a couple of posts, didnt realise that someone was going to take my quote personally and wouldnt realise who it was aimed at, as you can imagine to believe a Hibs fan did this will take a bit of evidence as it certainly wouldnt be something easily accepted.

I never disagreed with your point about people talking about this if he werent a footballer, my point is that he is and therefor of course there will be more done as its very much in the public domain.

Journalists jobs are to sell papers and football is both front and back pages and of course they will be all over it, that is their job, same if it was a politician or anyone else in the public eye.

There you again, making sweeping statments as you have no idea who I am, what age I am or how long ive been following Hibs, for your info im in my 40's and followed Hibs home and away for around 35 years and I am far from a stupid wee laddie, dinnae make assumptions.

I have been on hibs.net before it was even hibs.net and know a huge amount of people on here, maybe not in the guise but there are reasons for that which i wont devulge to you, as for your comment about questioning people being a yam is that not what you did to me while throwing in an insult? my argument is that it is odd for someone's first post to simply say the boy is a Hibs fan, at present nobody really knows and everyone is guessing, time will tell.

I will and always have enjoyed an 'argument with a yam' or two, however the pubs i drink in on a match day are very much Hibs although these days I usually have my laddie so im found behind the goals.

I wont need to bring my crayons there as there are usually a few over where the kids toys and stuff are!!

24-11-2012, 11:51 AM
I will try and answer your points by point!!

Maybe you should have realised there was 2 back to back repsonses from two people with a couple of posts, didnt realise that someone was going to take my quote personally and wouldnt realise who it was aimed at, as you can imagine to believe a Hibs fan did this will take a bit of evidence as it certainly wouldnt be something easily accepted.

I never disagreed with your point about people talking about this if he werent a footballer, my point is that he is and therefor of course there will be more done as its very much in the public domain.

Journalists jobs are to sell papers and football is both front and back pages and of course they will be all over it, that is their job, same if it was a politician or anyone else in the public eye.

There you again, making sweeping statments as you have no idea who I am, what age I am or how long ive been following Hibs, for your info im in my 40's and followed Hibs home and away for around 35 years and I am far from a stupid wee laddie, dinnae make assumptions.

I have been on hibs.net before it was even hibs.net and know a huge amount of people on here, maybe not in the guise but there are reasons for that which i wont devulge to you, as for your comment about questioning people being a yam is that not what you did to me while throwing in an insult? my argument is that it is odd for someone's first post to simply say the boy is a Hibs fan, at present nobody really knows and everyone is guessing, time will tell.

I will and always have enjoyed an 'argument with a yam' or two, however the pubs i drink in on a match day are very much Hibs although these days I usually have my laddie so im found behind the goals.

I wont need to bring my crayons there as there are usually a few over where the kids toys and stuff are!!

Aha so you're an undercover........................................ .:wink::greengrin

24-11-2012, 11:55 AM
He is.

So what the **** was he up to?

copycat
24-11-2012, 11:55 AM
Aha so you're an undercover........................................ .:wink::greengrin

:hide::bandit::shhhsh!:

hungryhibs
24-11-2012, 01:24 PM
I am in the know and it is first hand and as someone eals has said it will come out soon anyway and sean is that u going to see him ur self with the sounds of it as u must know how from what u said?

BarneyK
24-11-2012, 01:28 PM
I am in the know and it is first hand and as someone eals has said it will come out soon anyway and sean is that u going to see him ur self with the sounds of it as u must know how from what u said?

I'll wait and see what comes out but It'll take something extraordinary for me to be of the opinion that this act was in any way justified.

24-11-2012, 01:29 PM

So..... His names Sean.....?

24-11-2012, 06:32 PM
So..... His names Sean.....?

Nope.

wilbertorama
24-11-2012, 07:01 PM
All Gary done wrong is something every single person on this forum has done at some stage when out drinking!it certainly didn't warrant an attack from some random person.

steviehibsleith
24-11-2012, 08:35 PM
All Gary done wrong is something every single person on this forum has done at some stage when out drinking!it certainly didn't warrant an attack from some random person.
Would that be drink 3 gallons of tenents have a fight with your brother make up and go on the shooters puke up get banned from your local wake up with a growler from niddrie and swear that it never drinking again :cb

24-11-2012, 08:55 PM
Would that be drink 3 gallons of tenents have a fight with your brother make up and go on the shooters puke up get banned from your local wake up with a growler from niddrie and swear that it never drinking again :cb

That's the one...... No sure it was Niddrie tho!

24-11-2012, 10:04 PM
Ma dugs are bigger than your dugs tho

Its not the size that counts!

24-11-2012, 10:15 PM
Any chance of someone that knows the culprit of the assault stringing a coherent statement together to explain what actually happened?

24-11-2012, 10:17 PM
Any chance of someone that knows the culprit of the assault stringing a coherent statement together to explain what actually happened?

Nah they dinny ken ha tae like.

24-11-2012, 10:23 PM
Nah they dinny ken ha tae like.

***** Jock speak

24-11-2012, 10:25 PM

Haha everyone's gave a dog a bone

24-11-2012, 10:25 PM
***** Jock speak

Eh?

24-11-2012, 10:28 PM
Eh?

Eh? Eh? Eh?

24-11-2012, 10:29 PM
Eh? Eh? Eh?

:shhhsh!:

24-11-2012, 10:31 PM

Ahrite! Ahrite!

24-11-2012, 10:39 PM

Calm down, calm down!

24-11-2012, 10:50 PM

Big boys made him do it, then they ran away. That's what his barrister will say.

24-11-2012, 11:29 PM
Big boys made him do it, then they ran away. That's what his barrister will say.

Whats it got do with the guy that makes his morning coffee? ;-)

24-11-2012, 11:35 PM
Whats it got do with the guy that makes his morning coffee? ;-)

:greengrin Aye, they're all a load of Baristas as far as I am concerned ............

the_ginger_hibee
24-11-2012, 11:49 PM

A tranny?

...well so ma pal says eh!! No me likes cause im hard as **** am no gay or that...and say that to my face no on msn ya rascal...

No seriously though, I seen it. The whole thing. And I'll tell you this, it will come out in the papers shortly - Deeg

24-11-2012, 11:54 PM
I heard today that they'd got someone in connection with it but hadn't released the boys name. Is this the case or are the still no further forward?

25-11-2012, 09:31 AM

Its normal for the jaw to break in three places if it gets smacked in the 'right' place.

Although it does take a fair amount of whack to do it, its maybe not as much as some would think.

I was at a party in Madrid years ago when a fight broke out. Just as I turned to see what was going on the guy behind me ducked a swing that I caught just below the eye resulting in the same injury. It was so unsore I stayed at the party, didn't even get much of a black eye, and didn't go to hospital for a couple of days.

25-11-2012, 10:54 AM

Think there's more chance that a frameshift mutation would be a silent mutation?

25-11-2012, 01:31 PM
Someone has been charged with the attack
http://m.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-edinburgh-east-fife-20461817

25-11-2012, 01:40 PM
Right my two bobs worth, the accused is a Hibee. I'm obviously not going to go too much into it as he'll have his day in court but it wasn't a cheap punch from behind while innocently standing at a taxi rank. Would everybody be so precious if it had been Ian Black? I'm sure this kind of thing happens all the time up town on Saturday night and both of them have been unlucky, Deegan with a broken jaw from one punch and the other for Deegan being in the public eye. If this had happened to you or I do you think the police would have spent all those hour sifting through CCTV? :wink:

Anyway as I've said he'll get his day in court and we'll all know what happened, the truth is out there. :greengrin

25-11-2012, 01:57 PM
Right my two bobs worth, the accused is a Hibee. I'm obviously not going to go too much into it as he'll have his day in court but it wasn't a cheap punch from behind while innocently standing at a taxi rank. Would everybody be so precious if it had been Ian Black? I'm sure this kind of thing happens all the time up town on Saturday night and both of them have been unlucky, Deegan with a broken jaw from one punch and the other for Deegan being in the public eye. If this had happened to you or I do you think the police would have spent all those hour sifting through CCTV? :wink:

Anyway as I've said he'll get his day in court and we'll all know what happened, the truth is out there. :greengrin

Initials JH by any chance?

25-11-2012, 02:00 PM

:cb

25-11-2012, 02:04 PM

Don't agree with your comment about the police not checking through the CCTV if it was you or I mate. Due to Deegan suffering a broken jaw it is treated as a serious assault same as it would you or I. The difference in this case is that the person injured is in the public eye and is a footballer. Therefore the papers and media want to print what's going on and it this resulting in the photo getting more coverage.

25-11-2012, 02:09 PM

Ridiculous post. If you attack someone and get away with it you're lucky, this doesn't make you unlucky if you get caught. He shouldn't have done it, regardless of who it was.

25-11-2012, 02:11 PM
Ah hink tha **** deserved it but am no goin tae tell ye y.

An if yis dinnae agree am goin tae pure smash yi like.

25-11-2012, 02:15 PM

Gonnae no ?

on-the-level
25-11-2012, 02:18 PM

Are we playing Hang Man? J..... H...... :chop:

25-11-2012, 02:20 PM
Are we playing Hang Man? J..... H...... :chop:

No you can't hang an innocent man and that's what he is until found guilty.

on-the-level
25-11-2012, 02:24 PM
No you can't hang an innocent man and that's what he is until found guilty.

And thats WHY this thread should be shut down till after the court case likesay

25-11-2012, 02:28 PM

Nothing that I've seen on this thread could prejudice any court case?? No-one has tried to state any facts just speculation surely.

25-11-2012, 02:29 PM
This classic thread is heading for vault status if it continues in this vein.

Random speculation, assertion and counter-assertion, ****** knows how many different languages being used (including some that most of us don't recognise and can't translate), accusations of Yammery, bad and mad hairstyles, dubious sorties up to and on the limits of matters sub-judice, "he's mah mate and um no huvin' it" defences, "ah ken whit really happened" claims, it's all Deegan's fault/none of it is Deegan's fault, the police aren't interested in assaults on ordinary people/the police pursue everything disagreements, real taxi drivers ken whit's gaun on, name the accused/protect the identity of the accused, praying Brokebank in informational aid, the unfortunate previous sexual transgressions of .netters with randoms from Niddrie and/or transsexuals and of course a standard .net dose of tactical pun deployment erupting mid-thread.

Really, what's left to add? Some spilled orange juice and a calendar signing?

Maybe best to keep schtum and wait for the actual court case....

on-the-level
25-11-2012, 02:36 PM
Nothing that I've seen on this thread could prejudice any court case?? No-one has tried to state any facts just speculation surely.

Not doing the club or the accused any good all this speculation the truth will come out
eventualy, IMPO, but dont let the truth get in the way of a good story!

25-11-2012, 02:36 PM

Random speculation, assertion and counter-assertion, ****** knows how many different languages being used (including some that most of us don't recognise and can't translate), accusations of Yammery, bad and mad hairstyles, dubious sorties up to and on the limits of matters sub-judice, "he's mah mate and um no huvin' it" defences, "ah ken whit really happened" claims, it's all Deegan's fault/none of it is Deegan's fault, the police aren't interested in assaults on ordinary people/the police pursue everything disagreements, real taxi drivers ken whit's gaun on, name the accused/protect the identity of the accused, praying Brokebank in informational aid, the unfortunate previous sexual transgressions of .netters with randoms from Niddrie and/or transsexuals and of course a standard .net dose of tactical pun deployment erupting mid-thread.

Thank **** neither party was sporting a flag of any description.

on-the-level
25-11-2012, 02:39 PM

Nutshell :top marks

25-11-2012, 02:39 PM

:confused: why.

25-11-2012, 02:45 PM
Not doing the club or the accused any good all this speculation the truth will come out
eventualy, IMPO, but dont let the truth get in the way of a good story!

The alleged assault of a Hibs player and the subsequent arrest of the assailant is discussed on a Hibs board by Hibs fans. I don't see how the club or the accused will suffer as a result of our discussions. As you say the whole story will be in the media anyway, unless you think a jury may be made up of .netters who will have preconceived ideas of the assailants guilt.

on-the-level
25-11-2012, 02:52 PM

Embarrasing :embarrass. Why should it be kept going? So everyone can keep on speculating?

25-11-2012, 02:58 PM
I'm really not sure how the, admittedly at times wild, speculation on here could impact on the court case.

I can just imagine the Sheriff summing up now. 'Thank you to the fiscal depute and the defence lawyer and thank you to all the witnesses, the Police for providing CCTV footage but a poster on Hibs.net claims that the attack was warranted so I'm dismissing the case.'

25-11-2012, 03:01 PM
Embarrasing :embarrass. Why should it be kept going? So everyone can keep on speculating?

Yeah, because most football forums, including this one, aren't built on speculation.

EH6 Hibby
25-11-2012, 04:51 PM
Gonnae no ?

How?

25-11-2012, 05:02 PM
Don't agree with your comment about the police not checking through the CCTV if it was you or I mate. Due to Deegan suffering a broken jaw it is treated as a serious assault same as it would you or I. The difference in this case is that the person injured is in the public eye and is a footballer. Therefore the papers and media want to print what's going on and it this resulting in the photo getting more coverage.

Through personal experience I'll stick by what I said.

Ridiculous post. If you attack someone and get away with it you're lucky, this doesn't make you unlucky if you get caught. He shouldn't have done it, regardless of who it was.

Has anyone been convicted of "attacking" someone? Do you know something or are you just speculating? Oh, and I'm not condoning it.
If you're not lucky you're unlucky, no? :confused:

Is this aimed at me and if so, why? If not apologies. :greengrin

Thank **** neither party was sporting a flag of any description.

25-11-2012, 05:06 PM
Its normal for the jaw to break in three places if it gets smacked in the 'right' place.

Although it does take a fair amount of whack to do it, its maybe not as much as some would think.

I was at a party in Madrid years ago when a fight broke out. Just as I turned to see what was going on the guy behind me ducked a swing that I caught just below the eye resulting in the same injury. It was so unsore I stayed at the party, didn't even get much of a black eye, and didn't go to hospital for a couple of days.

Now that's Hibs class. :greengrin

25-11-2012, 05:14 PM

Technically in law it would be sub justice SH - not saying that it doesn't go on time and time again in this country (media being irresponsible, public forums, debates,etc), but it could give rise to legal challenge if facts about the case were discussed in public before it came to court/trial.

I'd rather it go to court and we discuss the whys and what nots after conviction (or not)

Just hope Deegan gets back as soon as possible as we've missed him.

25-11-2012, 05:15 PM
Sub judice that was meant to be.....damn predictive texting !

25-11-2012, 06:30 PM
I've not read much of this thread but have we had it confirmed by the guys in the know that this definately isn't Morrisey?

25-11-2012, 06:38 PM
Has anyone been convicted of "attacking" someone? Do you know something or are you just speculating? Oh, and I'm not condoning it.

Gary Deegan was attacked. My post didn't say that the person who's been charged has done it, it was a general point that if you attack someone famous and it's more likely you get caught as a result, this isn't down to bad luck. If you attack someone then you deserve to be caught, regardless of who the victim is. This is true regardless of whether the person charged is the right person, this is not what I'm concerned with.

If you're not lucky you're unlucky, no? :confused:

What? So everything that happens is down to luck, either good or bad? Nothing happens which is deserved? Strange idea. :confused:

the_ginger_hibee
25-11-2012, 07:32 PM
I've not read much of this thread but have we had it confirmed by the guys in the know that this definately isn't Morrisey?

Just off the phone to the man himself, he has confirmed he did go to the same club that night though he had stood on his own, left on his own, went home cried and wanted to die...as opposed to assaulting a Hibs player.

25-11-2012, 07:38 PM
Just off the phone to the man himself, he has confirmed he did go to the same club that night though he had stood on his own, left on his own, went home cried and wanted to die...as opposed to assaulting a Hibs player.

:greengrin Apparently the Panic was on the Streets of London and not George St

25-11-2012, 07:43 PM
Gary Deegan was attacked. My post didn't say that the person who's been charged has done it, it was a general point that if you attack someone famous and it's more likely you get caught as a result, this isn't down to bad luck. If you attack someone then you deserve to be caught, regardless of who the victim is. This is true regardless of whether the person charged is the right person, this is not what I'm concerned with.

What? So everything that happens is down to luck, either good or bad? Nothing happens which is deserved? Strange idea. :confused:

Unluckily for him then. Does that live up to your pedantic standards?

25-11-2012, 07:47 PM

you shut your mouth, how can you say that Gary went about things the wrong way?

25-11-2012, 07:54 PM
Not read this thread but get the jist someone has been arrested for it and I'm delighted about that. Personally don't care if he gets 12 months or not but would happily hear he's been slapped about and had a right doing.

Is that politically correct or am I guilty in prejudicing his court case?

Phanny deserves what's coming to him.

25-11-2012, 08:00 PM
Unluckily for him then. Does that live up to your pedantic standards?

I have no idea what you're talking about.

25-11-2012, 08:04 PM
I have no idea what you're talking about.

Well it was you that made the initial reply, why are you being so ersie?

Stuarty27
25-11-2012, 08:08 PM
I've been told who it was today, and by reading a few guys posts I think a few people been told the same.

No idea what it was over and why it was done so cannot comment on what happened.

I used to play football against him when we were younger and I didn't recognise him from the photograph.

25-11-2012, 09:03 PM
for the record, admins...my post that you deleted was merely the next line of the lyric that i was responding to...check out 'how soon is now' by the smiths and you will see that i dont need to calm down...i was just mucking about.

25-11-2012, 09:12 PM
for the record, admins...my post that you deleted was merely the next line of the lyric that i was responding to...check out 'how soon is now' by the smiths and you will see that i dont need to calm down...i was just mucking about.

You shut your mouth

25-11-2012, 09:12 PM
for the record, admins...my post that you deleted was merely the next line of the lyric that i was responding to...check out 'how soon is now' by the smiths and you will see that i dont need to calm down...i was just mucking about.Apologies ..Im not into the Smiths ...post undeleted ..:aok:

hungryhibs
25-11-2012, 09:48 PM

i agree hear as my friend was up town and had his ear bit of and the police done jack about it so i agree with u 100%

25-11-2012, 10:26 PM
Technically in law it would be sub justice SH - not saying that it doesn't go on time and time again in this country (media being irresponsible, public forums, debates,etc), but it could give rise to legal challenge if facts about the case were discussed in public before it came to court/trial.

I'd rather it go to court and we discuss the whys and what nots after conviction (or not)

Just hope Deegan gets back as soon as possible as we've missed him.

You will have known DR was fined at court the other day there, even before he had appeared in court this website users were discussing what had taken place that night, all sorts of stories about what took place, one poster was even allowed to post what took place on the night of the incident about supposedly what happened, DR name was mentioned a lot of times and it was discussed quite openly on here even though he was innocent until proven otherwise.
The press had a field day printing things they shouldn't, but they get away with it.
It being discussed on here had no affect when the case went to trial, no one from .net were called as witnesses. :wink::greengrin
It is now well known in the town who the guy is in the picture now.
But agree let the courts deal with it and if it is worth discussing we will do it after the case is finished. No point in guessing what happened. :agree:
The only thing that matters is wee get Deegs back playing football ASAP mate. :agree:

25-11-2012, 10:36 PM
So what sort of punishment is he likely to receive if convicted, anyone know?

25-11-2012, 10:39 PM

I suspect a number of charges, including being in possession of a Limahl haircut :agree:

25-11-2012, 10:40 PM

There are many factors in that decision, I can't imagine he has previous though or the Police would have known him and not had to print the CCTV in the paper to identify him.

25-11-2012, 10:49 PM
You will have known DR was fined at court the other day there, even before he had appeared in court this website users were discussing what had taken place that night, all sorts of stories about what took place, one poster was even allowed to post what took place on the night of the incident about supposedly what happened, DR name was mentioned a lot of times and it was discussed quite openly on here even though he was innocent until proven otherwise.
The press had a field day printing things they shouldn't, but they get away with it.
It being discussed on here had no affect when the case went to trial, no one from .net were called as witnesses. :wink::greengrin
It is now well known in the town who the guy is in the picture now.
But agree let the courts deal with it and if it is worth discussing we will do it after the case is finished. No point in guessing what happened. :agree:
The only thing that matters is wee get Deegs back playing football ASAP mate. :agree:

Totally agree SH, wasn't saying it doesn't happen day in day out bud, especially in the media - depending on what this guy is charged with however it could go to what's called 'solemn procedure' and in front of a jury - Someone on .net could therefore read the actual events, or indeed flawed versions, form an opinion, then be part of a jury on the case......of course I'm only pointing out a hypothetical example, but the accused person himself could challenge a decision, citing that the facts and case were openly discussed on public forums prior to court = unfair trial.

Not saying it will happen mate, just outlining a part of law that often goes overlooked on Internet forums.

As an aside I hope Derek gets back to the footballer he can and should be bud. He really needs to put that talent to good use this next few seasons.

25-11-2012, 11:07 PM
I suspect a number of charges, including being in possession of a Limahl haircut :agree:I think you might have sussed what actually happened that night. I reckon Deegan said to him "look at you wi yer radge Limahl haicut!! and Limahl lost it! :take that

25-11-2012, 11:15 PM
Totally agree SH, wasn't saying it doesn't happen day in day out bud, especially in the media - depending on what this guy is charged with however it could go to what's called 'solemn procedure' and in front of a jury - Someone on .net could therefore read the actual events, or indeed flawed versions, form an opinion, then be part of a jury on the case......of course I'm only pointing out a hypothetical example, but the accused person himself could challenge a decision, citing that the facts and case were openly discussed on public forums prior to court = unfair trial.

Not saying it will happen mate, just outlining a part of law that often goes overlooked on Internet forums.

As an aside I hope Derek gets back to the footballer he can and should be bud. He really needs to put that talent to good use this next few seasons.

And thanks for your last sentence mate, you are right. :aok:

25-11-2012, 11:18 PM
I think you might have sussed what actually happened that night. I reckon Deegan said to him "look at you wi yer radge Limahl haicut!! and Limahl lost it! :take that

25-11-2012, 11:22 PM
I think you might have sussed what actually happened that night. I reckon Deegan said to him "look at you wi yer radge Limahl haicut!! and Limahl lost it! :take that

Apparently that was his biggest hit for nearly thirty years.