View Full Version : Who should win BBC SPOTY?

21-11-2012, 07:01 PM
A great year for sport, with some fantastic candidates for BBC Sports Personality of the Year.

So who do you think deserves to win it?

Can you give a reason for your selection?

I am really looking forward to this years show, but will leave the room when Scottish football is on. Usually, it is on for thirty seconds anyway!

Edit: choices from the link below:

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/article-2201497/Sports-Personality-Year--Andy-Murray-Bradley-Wiggins-Rory-McIlroy--win.html

euansdad
21-11-2012, 07:26 PM
Andy Murray but then I'm biased

davym7062
21-11-2012, 07:29 PM
Andy Murray but then I'm biased

this:aok:

SmashinGlass
21-11-2012, 07:31 PM
I went for Murray too. Special mention should go to Laura Trott though, for no reason other than the fact that she's hot :drool:

Shefki Kuqi

David Weir. His 4 golds at the paralympics following on from his 2 golds, 1 Silver, and 1 Bronze at Beijing is even more remarkable when you consider he won the golds this year in the 800m, 1,600m, 5,000m, and the marathon.

An incredible sportsman.

cwilliamson85
Bradley Wiggins. The first Briton to win the Tour de France and also an Olympic medal.

Chris Hoy to get lifetime achievement?

21-11-2012, 07:35 PM
Really tough choice given the year of sport we have had.

I know there is a team award which I would give to the Ryder Cup team.

If it was possible I would give the award to the whole Olympic 'Team GB' as this summer was truly inspirational..

If I'm forced to pick one then it has to be Sir Chris Hoy with Andy a close second.

Dave-O
21-11-2012, 07:36 PM
Hopefully Andy Murray but they'll probably give it to their poster girl Jessica Ennis :agree:

21-11-2012, 07:36 PM
Mo Farah.

Two brilliant races up against quality opposition and a nice wee celebration at the end.

soda70
21-11-2012, 07:38 PM
Bradley Wiggins for his Tour de France victory and Olympic Gold Medal would be my unbiased choice.

Of course it would be great for Andy Murray to win for his achievements this year but he will have to win Wimbledon for a UK audience to vote for him.

Personal favourite moment was Mo Farah's win in the 10,000m, Steve Cram's commentary as he hits the final straight is brilliant. Well worth a listen on the BBC Sport website. Just a thought they should have a prize for the best commentary :agree:

21-11-2012, 07:38 PM
Shefki Kuqi

Hopefully he's for the high jump soon.

21-11-2012, 07:40 PM
Bradley wiggins for me even though cyclists get right on my nerves

21-11-2012, 07:45 PM
Torn between Andy Murray and Mo Farah - went for Murray in the end because I think he deserves every bit of recognition after years of folk saying he's *****e, saying he's a bottler, saying he'll never win a major, etc.

21-11-2012, 07:48 PM
Hmrc.

Crazyhorse
21-11-2012, 08:09 PM
Hmrc.

Nice one

21-11-2012, 08:23 PM
Andy Murray, Olympic Gold and Silver plus the US Open.

21-11-2012, 08:33 PM
Think it will be between Murray and Wiggins

21-11-2012, 08:43 PM
Would love to see Murray win it but I think he'll finish 3rd behind Wiggins and Farah (2nd).

JollyGreenGiant
21-11-2012, 08:48 PM
Andy Murray, Olympic Gold and Silver plus the US Open.

I agree, its got to be Murray!

21-11-2012, 08:54 PM
Bradley wiggins for me even though cyclists get right on my nerves

Indiscriminate bigotry.

21-11-2012, 08:59 PM
So many good candidates this year!

21-11-2012, 09:04 PM
Great if Murray got it but Wiggins will be a cert to get it.

21-11-2012, 09:05 PM
David Weir. His 4 golds at the paralympics following on from his 2 golds, 1 Silver, and 1 Bronze at Beijing is even more remarkable when you consider he won the golds this year in the 800m, 1,600m, 5,000m, and the marathon.

An incredible sportsman.

No that hun get.

calum.mcd
21-11-2012, 09:07 PM
Andy Murray. Could be any one of about half a dozen, but none of the others are Hibbies, so swings it for me.

broonie27
21-11-2012, 09:10 PM
I say Wiggins and Murray are on a par in terms of achievements. Both won Gold medals at the Olympics and both won huge tournaments not won by a Brit in years. However, I just plain don't trust any cyclist 100%, especially in light of the Lance Armstrong debacle. Therefore I go Murray.

21-11-2012, 09:20 PM
Andy Murray.

hibsmad
21-11-2012, 09:32 PM
Andy Murray.

Not because he is Scottish or a hibbie. I actually find him a real inspiration given the standard of player he has been up against since he broke through. He would have had a bucket load of grand slams at almost any other time, and to not give up and continue to work hard and believe he could get to their level deserves real credit.

First British grand slam winner in ages, first British Wimbledon finalist in ages, Olympic gold and silver medalist.

His achievements are also in a sport that gives a large percentage of the population a lot of enjoyment as far as viewing figures are concerned, which should also be taken into account.

21-11-2012, 09:37 PM
I say Wiggins and Murray are on a par in terms of achievements. Both won Gold medals at the Olympics and both won huge tournaments not won by a Brit in years. However, I just plain don't trust any cyclist 100%, especially in light of the Lance Armstrong debacle. Therefore I go Murray.

Seems unfair to negatively judge wiggins when he takes part in a sport that now tests far in excess of any other sport (and he remains clean), whereas tennis players are in a sport where testing is of rather less importance.

LALthehibeeGAL
21-11-2012, 09:42 PM
Would love to see Murray win it but I think he'll finish 3rd behind Wiggins and Farah (2nd).

Lal:wink:

21-11-2012, 09:52 PM
David Weir or Bradley Wiggins.

seanshow
21-11-2012, 10:05 PM
No brainer Wiggo, A grand tour victory beats all other mainstream sports achievements.
Any other year Andy Murray 4 sure, maybe next year when he wins another slam :)

justlikebrazil
21-11-2012, 10:08 PM
Torn between Andy Murray and Albert Kidd :greengrin

21-11-2012, 10:12 PM
Wiggins and Fara have the benefit of actually having a personality...

Top Pans Hibby
21-11-2012, 10:15 PM
Seriously who cares who wins. The BBC have given up covering sport and disgracefully think they can get away with it by producing a 3rd rate prize giving event. The fact that we have to watch our national sports on the pathetic BBC Alba says it all

21-11-2012, 10:21 PM
Seriously who cares who wins. The BBC have given up covering sport and disgracefully think they can get away with it by producing a 3rd rate prize giving event. The fact that we have to watch our national sports on the pathetic BBC Alba says it all

Over here in Edinburgh, we get to watch football, rugby, tennis and golf on the BBC. We also got three weeks of a wee gathering called the Olympic Games.

Top Pans Hibby
21-11-2012, 10:25 PM
Over here in Edinburgh, we get to watch football, rugby, tennis and golf on the BBC. We also got three weeks of a wee gathering called the Olympic Games.

Football in Gaelic , rugby in Gaelic, all decent tennis and golf on Sky. BBC have given up all racing to Channel 4. Don't worry though we got 3 WEEKS Olympics.

21-11-2012, 10:34 PM
Whilst all the candidates there absolutely deserve to.be nominated, I think Carl Froch should definitely be nominated as well.

Not saying he deserves to win it but he absolutely deserves a nomination, 2 time world champion, only wants to fight the best and hes been in devastating form this year.

Of the nominees Andy Murray or Bradley Wiggins because they won both the Olympics and major titles elsewhere.

21-11-2012, 10:35 PM
Leigh Griffiths

22-11-2012, 01:22 AM
Should be Andy Murray but it won't be.

Reason?

Olympic gold and silver medals and first British male to win a Grand Slam title for more than 70 years in probably the toughest era ever in men's tennis.

Bradley Wiggins is in with a shout of winning as well, considering his achievements at the Olympics and the Tour de France but I would give it to Murray.

I personally don't think it should go to anyone who "only" did well at the Olympics because we had so many gold medalists this year so it would be unfair to single out just one of them.

It should go to someone who also achieved something in another event, such as Murray or Wiggins.

22-11-2012, 02:27 AM
mo fahrah or bradley wiggins, then again gary mckay is auctioning his winners medals, that deserves some votes.

22-11-2012, 04:17 AM
Whilst all the candidates there absolutely deserve to.be nominated, I think Carl Froch should definitely be nominated as well.

Not saying he deserves to win it but he absolutely deserves a nomination, 2 time world champion, only wants to fight the best and hes been in devastating form this year.

Of the nominees Andy Murray or Bradley Wiggins because they won both the Olympics and major titles elsewhere.

If there was going to be a boxer in there i would have went for ricky burns

22-11-2012, 06:17 AM
Murray with Farrah a close second. Wiggins is unfortunately in a tainted sport where it's hard to trust anyone.

22-11-2012, 06:43 AM
Katherine Grainger. Truly inspirational.

22-11-2012, 07:47 AM
Gone for Andy Murray.

So many to choose from but I think credit has to go to him as he reached a final in the biggest tournanment in his sport, won the second biggest tournament and also bagged an olympic gold.

Was between him and Bradley Wiggins but Murray is Scottish and a Hibby to boot!

Despite the fact that Murray is one of the favourites with the bookies, I don't see him winning it. He won't get the middlle class, middle England tory vote as not sure his personality goes down well with them. These types do tend to like tennis though.

He might just sneak it though as much of the country (particularly the type of people mentioned above) will go for an athlete and this may dilute the vote.

22-11-2012, 07:50 AM
I'd like Murray to win but think first Brit to win Tour de France is an even greater achievement. Wiggins for me.

22-11-2012, 07:55 AM
I voted for Andy Murray (a bit biased I know) but it was a difficult choice as you could argue a case for everyone on that list.

22-11-2012, 08:11 AM
Murray, Wiggins, Farah, McIlroy and Weir are probably the favourites and the way I differentiate between them is as follows.

Wiggins, Farah, Weir and Murray all excel in strength, stamina and endurance but Murray has that extra skill factor in his sport on top of these facets. McIlroy has the amazing skill factor but without the test of endurance that the others have.

So without any bias it's Murray for me.

22-11-2012, 08:54 AM
No brainer Wiggo, A grand tour victory beats all other mainstream sports achievements.

Totally disagree, Wiggins achievement was fantastic however he had the enormous assistance of Team Sky who were very much controlling the race for him even to the extent of other riders sacrificing their chances for him e.g Froome.

Murray's achievements in a completely individual sport in winning the Olympics, getting to the Wimbledon final and finally winning the US Open (the first UK man to do so since Adam was a boy :greengrin) is a very rare and amazing effort. For him also to do it in an era that is as strong as it has ever been should also be taken into account.

22-11-2012, 08:55 AM
Wiggins for me, although I'd be prepared for Murray to win it on the condition that he accepts his award while wearing a Hibs strip.

DarrenSQH
22-11-2012, 09:28 AM
Its Murray for me.

When Ferrari make either Schumacher or Alonso win its because they have all the cash, the best car and will do anything to win. In this country they get absolutely ripped by everyone in the media when they do the slightest thing to give themselves an advantage. Yet when team SKY blow away the competition in cycling using massive funding and destroying other cyclist race all so that Wiggins can win they are heroes.

Murray was an individual beating the best there ever was, Wiggins had a huge help from the rest of his team.
Both still amazing achievements but Murrays is more impressive.

22-11-2012, 09:29 AM
If there was going to be a boxer in there i would have went for ricky burns

Disagree. A good year for Ricky but he's not really fought a real top fighter, good fighters but he's still to be tested against the top guys at lightweight. Not blaming him for that, with Frank Warren promoting him he'll no doubt be experiencing the same frustrations Joe Calzaghe and Ricky Hatton did for years.

On the other hand for the last 3 years really Eddie Hearn has secured top, top fights for Froch. Yussuf Mack last weekend was the only 'gimme' he's had in that time.

pontius pilate
22-11-2012, 10:43 AM
Ellie Simmons for me inspirational only 17 and breaking world records and picking up golds whilst having a disability

22-11-2012, 10:44 AM
Its Murray for me.

When Ferrari make either Schumacher or Alonso win its because they have all the cash, the best car and will do anything to win. In this country they get absolutely ripped by everyone in the media when they do the slightest thing to give themselves an advantage. Yet when team SKY blow away the competition in cycling using massive funding and destroying other cyclist race all so that Wiggins can win they are heroes.

Murray was an individual beating the best there ever was, Wiggins had a huge help from the rest of his team.
Both still amazing achievements but Murrays is more impressive.

Road cycling is very different from Track Cycling, Sky put a lot of money into Cycling but with the Tour de France it's not about who has the better bike, it's all about sheer strength and fitness as well as a dose of tactics. Track Cycling is where we've blown away competition by investing in Technology, and of course everyone else can buy our kit now as well, but we still dominate.

Edit: for me thought it comes down to Murray/Wiggo - but whoever wins this year will be very deserving.

Also - Team of the Year - that will probably go to the Ryder Cup team, as the British Olympic team is made up of several smaller teams for each sport (I think)

22-11-2012, 10:46 AM
Disagree. A good year for Ricky but he's not really fought a real top fighter, good fighters but he's still to be tested against the top guys at lightweight. Not blaming him for that, with Frank Warren promoting him he'll no doubt be experiencing the same frustrations Joe Calzaghe and Ricky Hatton did for years.

On the other hand for the last 3 years really Eddie Hearn has secured top, top fights for Froch. Yussuf Mack last weekend was the only 'gimme' he's had in that time.

I hear what your saying with froch he has had a good few years and he deserves credit for not dodging any fights but he did lose to ward in the super 6 final. I think the rise of ricky burns has been sensational i don't think many people thought they were looking at a future world champion when he lost to alex arthur

22-11-2012, 11:44 AM
Road cycling is very different from Track Cycling, Sky put a lot of money into Cycling but with the Tour de France it's not about who has the better bike, it's all about sheer strength and fitness as well as a dose of tactics. Track Cycling is where we've blown away competition by investing in Technology, and of course everyone else can buy our kit now as well, but we still dominate.
)

Agree. The bikes used in road cycling are available for any punter to buy ( though not cheap) so the f1 argument can't be applied.

22-11-2012, 12:05 PM
With The BBC getting it tigjt from Sky and other organisations over Savile/Newsnight fiasco the BBC might feel disinclined to presnt their premier Sports trophy to team SKY's Bradley Wiggins:rolleyes:

25-11-2012, 05:06 PM
I believe the contenders for the BBC SPOTY will be announced on Monday evening. To be honest, I cannot see anyone else but the names mentioned in the poll being included.

A great year for sport, with some fantastic candidates for BBC Sports Personality of the Year.

So who do you think deserves to win it?

Can you give a reason for your selection?

I am really looking forward to this years show, but will leave the room when Scottish football is on. Usually, it is on for thirty seconds anyway!

Edit: choices from the link below:

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/article-2201497/Sports-Personality-Year--Andy-Murray-Bradley-Wiggins-Rory-McIlroy--win.html

Hibster
25-11-2012, 06:37 PM
Murray. For any player outside the big 3 to win a Slam is an incredible achievement. Taking nothing away from Wiggins but he had by far the strongest team dedicated to helping him, and with Cadel Evans ageing and Contador banned it wasn't the strongest field either. Still a fantastic performance but Murray shades it

25-11-2012, 07:31 PM
Special mention should go to Laura Trott though, for no reason other than the fact that she's hot :drool:

I missed quite a bit of the Olympics, so had to google her just now - I'll not get in your way when you make a move for her! :greengrin

Voted Murray through blind biasedness, but - gulp - think it should in all fairness go to Chris Hoy.

Nuitdelune
25-11-2012, 07:38 PM
Would love Murray to win but the English public will not vote for him. Wiggins probably and I wouldn't mind that, but otherwise, second to Andy, Rory McIlroy

25-11-2012, 08:03 PM
Ellie Simmons for me inspirational only 17 and breaking world records and picking up golds whilst having a disability

Umm, I can't disagree she's done extremely well, but I don't think suggesting her achievements are all the greater because she has a disability makes much sense when her achievements are in S6 which is limited to people with similar impediments!

26-11-2012, 07:40 PM
The shortlist has been announced and ten of the twelve nominees have already been correctly predicted on here.

Nicola Adams and Katherine Grainger have also been included, however Jonnie Peacock, Greg Rutherford and Laura Trott are not on the list.

2012 SPOTY nominees;

Andy Murray (tennis)
Bradley Wiggins (cycling)
Mo Farah (distance running)
Jessica Ennis (heptathlon)
Rory McIlroy (golf)
Ellie Simmonds (swimming)
Dave Weir (wheelchair racing)
Nicola Adams (boxing)
Katherine Grainger (rowing)
Sarah Storey (cycling)
Chris Hoy (cycling)
Ben Ainslie (sailing)

26-11-2012, 08:01 PM
Think it should be Wiggins, Engerlund won't vote for Murray unless he actually marries "tiger" Tim Henman but if its really SPOTY we are voting for what's happened to Craig Gordon's nomination?

Sweet Left Peg
26-11-2012, 08:29 PM
I voted for A N Other. I think it should go to someone who has brought joy, laughter and unrivalled entertainment to a diverse sporting demographic for the entire calendar year and who shows no sign of relinquishing his prominence at the forefront of modern day sporting drama. For me, there is no doubt who should get it. Hector the Taxman... take a bow, son!!!

26-11-2012, 08:32 PM
Murray :agree:

Hibs On Tour
27-11-2012, 01:04 AM
Andy Murray by the longest country mile. 1st British man to reach a Wimbledon final since 1938, 1st British man to win a grand slam tournament since 1936 [US Open], 1st British mens singles tennis gold medal since 1908 [silver in mixed doubles too], 1st man in history to have won Olympic gold and US Open in same season... only reason he might not win it is because he's usually such a dour-faced ****... and to all those suggesting that folk from England won't vote for him because he's Scottish - give over! These same English folk were cheering him on at Wimbledon and the Olympics and then the US Open for the same reason they'll vote for him in this - he's British ;)

27-11-2012, 07:14 AM
They'll give it to Wiggo then have to take it back off him in 10 yrs time when it all comes out that he was dosed up to his eyeballs in Performance Enhancing Drugs.

27-11-2012, 09:04 AM
They'll give it to Wiggo then have to take it back off him in 10 yrs time when it all comes out that he was dosed up to his eyeballs in Performance Enhancing Drugs. pish.

27-11-2012, 01:06 PM
I know this might sound a bit daft, even though they have given it to Red Rum years ago, but personally I would give it to the racehorse Frankel, who won every race he ran in. Many people outside the racing fraternity loved to watch him race and he became an icon. He's now regarded as arguably the best racehorse that ever raced. Don't think it'll happen obviously, but in my opinion he would be a very popular winner.

27-11-2012, 01:44 PM
Close between Jessica Ennis and her midriff, Mo Farah and Konte.

Farah by a bawhair.

27-11-2012, 06:41 PM
Andy Murray by the longest country mile. 1st British man to reach a Wimbledon final since 1938, 1st British man to win a grand slam tournament since 1936 [US Open], 1st British mens singles tennis gold medal since 1908 [silver in mixed doubles too], 1st man in history to have won Olympic gold and US Open in same season... only reason he might not win it is because he's usually such a dour-faced ****... and to all those suggesting that folk from England won't vote for him because he's Scottish - give over! These same English folk were cheering him on at Wimbledon and the Olympics and then the US Open for the same reason they'll vote for him in this - he's British ;)

Also seems a bit like gerrymandering by the bbc to me that the only one of his achievements currently being given coverage is his olympic gold medal. Is that to make his achievements this year seem on a par with those that 'only' won gold at the Olympics? I'm no great tennis fan, and I like cycling ... but cycling gets virtually zilch mainstream TV coverage, whereas Wimbledon is all over us like a rash ... not quite sure how wiggins is then favourite to win the popularity contest!

27-11-2012, 07:01 PM
pish.

Sorry, maybe my sarcasm was lost due to the lack of a smilie.

Believe it or not I wasn't really being serious, more making a sarcastic comment in the aftermath of Armstrong and Contedor.

27-11-2012, 07:25 PM
I know this might sound a bit daft, even though they have given it to Red Rum years ago, but personally I would give it to the racehorse Frankel, who won every race he ran in. Many people outside the racing fraternity loved to watch him race and he became an icon. He's now regarded as arguably the best racehorse that ever raced. Don't think it'll happen obviously, but in my opinion he would be a very popular winner.

Eh??? I remember Red Rum being on the programme as a guest and recognising the voice of his jockey from the VT but he surely wasn't awarded the main award.

Hibeescott
27-11-2012, 07:37 PM
It is a shame that in any other year so many of them would win it!

But IMO there is only one winner of it this year and I dont even think it will be that close. What Bradley Wiggins achieved this year has NEVER been done before by a Brit, let alone to then win an Olympic gold a week later.

27-11-2012, 08:03 PM
Wiggins is just such a complete and utter total twat, I hope he doesn't win it.

27-11-2012, 08:06 PM
Wiggins is just such a complete and utter total twat, I hope he doesn't win it.

Is he?

27-11-2012, 08:07 PM
spoty craig gordon obviously:greengrin

27-11-2012, 08:12 PM
Is he?
http://2.bp.blogspot.com/-k5sXf9uecP4/T_5ZWPhF5JI/AAAAAAAABDU/OJ36EpfMF-I/s1600/Bradley-Wiggins-plus-bike_2397772.jpg

Yes

16-12-2012, 02:20 PM
Winner to be announced tonight. Wiggins is the bookies winner, but they have been wrong a lot in recent years.

16-12-2012, 03:13 PM
Been a good year for sports and with the olympics this year there are many worthy contenders. Its a tough choice but I would certainly like to see Murray win it.

I think the Ryder cup team will get team of the year for that remarkable come back.

Sir Chris Hoy for lifetime achievement maybe?

16-12-2012, 03:15 PM
Mo Farrah for me.

No hiding place in either race. Totally dedicated and an inspiration to anyone who has ever come from an under privileged background. Alf Tupper came to life in those races.

Mind you anyone who came out of that school at Dunblane deserves our total admiration so if Andy gets it there will be no complaints from me.

I admire Bradley Wiggins but he was the top of a very well funded and directed effort. Farrah and Murray didn't have any pacemakers or others knocking out the opposition for them.

Mind you Jessica Ennis meets my criteria so my one two three are

Farrah
Murray
Ennis.

16-12-2012, 05:26 PM
I think everyone will get an award.

Wiggins will win the individual and Team GB will win the team award.

16-12-2012, 05:36 PM
I think everyone will get an award.

Wiggins will win the individual and Team GB will win the team award.

hibby rae
16-12-2012, 06:02 PM
Andy Murray. Could be any one of about half a dozen, but none of the others are Hibbies, so swings it for me.

Andy for me. I'm biased also! I think it'll be him or Wiggens.

16-12-2012, 06:22 PM
I went for Mo Farah - mainly because it's called Sports PERSONALITY of the Year and, aside from his sporting achievements Mo certainly has plenty of that!

We really are spoilt for choice though - Andy Murray would be a stick on for his Grand Slam if it wasn't such a spectacular Olympic year IMO.

16-12-2012, 07:33 PM
They've shown the cup final and told us rangers were "demoted"

Where is the remote?

16-12-2012, 07:40 PM
Am I the only person on Britain who thinks Bradley Wiggins is an annoying ****?

16-12-2012, 08:08 PM
Am I the only person on Britain who thinks Bradley Wiggins is an annoying ****?

Nah, he's a cocky, arrogant tw@t but I can understand why he is so popular. Great dedicated sportsman tho'.

16-12-2012, 08:16 PM
Jessica Ennis. Didn't she win it once before? She's a wee smasher anyway and if "personality" is the criterion, she should win it.

Trouble is the BBC's idea of personality may not be the same as mine.

16-12-2012, 08:17 PM
Nah, he's a cocky, arrogant tw@t but I can understand why he is so popular. Great dedicated sportsman tho'.

Absolutely no doubting his sporting acheivements and to do it clean after all that's come out this year is truly remarkable.

He just really annoys me.

hibby rae
16-12-2012, 08:33 PM
Jessica Ennis. Didn't she win it once before? She's a wee smasher anyway and if "personality" is the criterion, she should win it.

Trouble is the BBC's idea of personality may not be the same as mine.

She's looking particularly lovely tonight. Andy, you might get bumped mate!

16-12-2012, 09:03 PM
Team of the Year = Team GB. Predictable cop-out IMO :agree:

16-12-2012, 09:04 PM
Team of the Year = Team GB. Predictable cop-out IMO :agree:

Cop out?

16-12-2012, 09:08 PM
Cop out?

:agree: - No arguments about their success but it's a very odd definition of "team" for me.

Also, it seems the BBC have broken their own rule about eligibility for "Team of the Year":

"For the avoidance of doubt this criteria excludes Team GB/Paralympics GB but includes the likes of British Cycling, Rowing Coxless Four and the European Ryder Cup team."

16-12-2012, 09:11 PM
:agree: - No arguments about their success but it's a very odd definition of "team" for me.

I suppose it is but in theory they were one 'big' team, point taken though.

Bit annoyed that I couldn't vote though!

16-12-2012, 09:12 PM
The BBC website actually details that Team GB are ineligible to win it!

Enjoying the show and stuck for a winner to the extent that I've stuck cash on Wiggins, Murray, Ennis, Farah and Simmonds which no doubt defeats the object!

Beckham and Coe can GTF though.

16-12-2012, 09:20 PM
Boris Becker looks absolutely ****faced:aok:

16-12-2012, 09:25 PM
Murray 3rd

16-12-2012, 09:28 PM
:grr::grr::grr:

If we'd been able to get through on the phone, Murray would've won! Conspiracy!

Cannae, cannae believe Mo Farrah didn't feature in top three.

16-12-2012, 09:29 PM
Bradley Wiggins it is then.

Suppose he did well but think Murray should have won it.

16-12-2012, 09:29 PM
Can't really argue with the result.

You could have picked any 3 in any order and it would have been deserved.

Wiggins really is a cock though.

16-12-2012, 09:31 PM
Would be interested to know why some folk on here aren't keen on Wiggins? Aye he fancies himself as a bit of a comedian but he's a proper grounded bloke who managed some serious achievements this year.

seanshow
16-12-2012, 09:48 PM

Totally disagree, Wiggins achievement was fantastic however he had the enormous assistance of Team Sky who were very much controlling the race for him even to the extent of other riders sacrificing their chances for him e.g Froome.

Murray's achievements in a completely individual sport in winning the Olympics, getting to the Wimbledon final and finally winning the US Open (the first UK man to do so since Adam was a boy :greengrin) is a very rare and amazing effort. For him also to do it in an era that is as strong as it has ever been should also be taken into account.

Mine's a Peroni Jim :wink:

....bought at the dome :greengrin

17-12-2012, 11:02 AM
Best moment for me was Andy awarding himself the third-place trophy!

Lennox Lewis looked as though he'd taken one punch too many in his career - or one rum punch!