View Full Version : Best Scottish film ever?

euansdad
15-11-2012, 07:52 AM
Anything beat trainspotting? Can't think of one though shallow grave was also class. Just one of my pointless thoughts but trying to think of other class films made or set in Scotland

deek
15-11-2012, 08:04 AM
Restless Natives was a good movie in it's time, or the recent Angels Share is ok as well. Possibly Braveheart as it's loosely based on Scotland!!

Trainspotting is still one of my all time favourites though. Really old folk might say Whisky Galore?

15-11-2012, 08:05 AM
The Maggie.
Local Hero deserves a mention as well.

15-11-2012, 08:09 AM
The Last King of Scotland...does that count? :greengrin Scottish star and director...

Local Hero is good.

Trainspotting is of course rather good. Shallow Grave isn't bad. The Angels Share was good, and Sweet Sixteen was pretty good too I thought. Red Road not bad either, but like Sweet Sixteen, fairly bleak!

15-11-2012, 08:37 AM
Whisky Galore.

15-11-2012, 08:38 AM
The obvious answer is also the correct one IMO: Trainspotting. Changed the way films are made forever.

Lynne Ramsay's 'Ratcatcher' and Ken Loach's 'My Name is Joe' also deserve a mention.

These three films are probably the bleakest films you'll ever likely to watch though, so maybe a bit of Gregorys Girl, Local Hero or Restless Natives for some light relief afterwards.

15-11-2012, 08:55 AM
Restless Natives was a good movie in it's time, or the recent Angels Share is ok as well. Possibly Braveheart as it's loosely based on Scotland!!

Trainspotting is still one of my all time favourites though. Really old folk might say Whisky Galore?

Just saw this after my post.

I'm only 32! Cheeky git.

Well before 'my time' but it is just a good story and a film with a lot of charm. Quite light viewing - not bleak as posters have said of many of the films mentioned.

15-11-2012, 10:14 AM
The Last King of Scotland...does that count? :greengrin Scottish star and director...

Local Hero is good.

Trainspotting is of course rather good. Shallow Grave isn't bad. The Angels Share was good, and Sweet Sixteen was pretty good too I thought. Red Road not bad either, but like Sweet Sixteen, fairly bleak!

Definitely my fave. Prime of Miss Jean Brodie must be up there I suppose and The Wicker Man.

15-11-2012, 10:42 AM
Some of the acting in it is terrible, but, I like the version of Kidnapped with that eminent Scotsman Michael Caine! lol

15-11-2012, 10:45 AM
I have to mention 'One Day Removals' a mention as possibly the funniest Scottish film ever made. :thumbsup:

VickMackie
15-11-2012, 11:01 AM
Alone.

I think that's what it was called. About a young girl found in an underground box. Quite a recent film.

15-11-2012, 11:43 AM
That one about the neds from Greenock (it just came to me, it was sweet sixteen) was alright, but not a patch on trainspotting.

15-11-2012, 11:57 AM
I thought NEDS was a very good film, very hard hitting about how a life can be altered because of your background. if you havnt see nthis film I would recommend

Trainspotting I think would top most polls

Sweet sixteen was very good also.

never seen whiskey galore but have heard its beign regarded as the best scotish film.

No one has mentoned Gregorys Girl, that was a big deal back in the days before i was born :cb

euansdad
15-11-2012, 01:33 PM
Neds was good. Would recommend it to anyone

blaikie
15-11-2012, 05:20 PM
Neds was good. Would recommend it to anyone

Got to be Neds, just because I went to the same school! Sweet Sixteen was brilliant, I Married an axe murderer was slightly Scottish with the old father as well.

hibbybob
15-11-2012, 05:21 PM
I really enjoyed That Sinking Feeling and watched it a few times - many years ago. Recently got the DVD and was a bit disappointed. Gregory's Girl and Trainspotting still tops for me!

15-11-2012, 07:15 PM
Can't believe no one has mentioned Small Faces. Doe's cartoons count? You can't beat Brave :aok:.

15-11-2012, 07:39 PM
Sweet Sixteen, Neds, Braveheart and Trainspotting are all good.

Though Trainspotting is easily the best.

15-11-2012, 11:55 PM
The version of The 39 Steps starring Robert Powell deserves a shout, the version starring Rupert Penry Jones doesn't!

Skanko79
16-11-2012, 09:17 AM
Trainspotting.
Acid House (if that counts)
Restless Natives

16-11-2012, 09:20 AM
Surely you're all forgetting the original Greyfriars Bobby movie or some of the classic Lassie's ! 😃

16-11-2012, 09:41 AM
The version of The 39 Steps starring Robert Powell deserves a shout, the version starring Rupert Penry Jones doesn't!

:agree: it's a great film.

(although it's spoiled a wee bit by the female lead, who does the worst Scottish accent youve ever heard and is not a great actor either:greengrin...she was also the little girl in Mary Poppins)

16-11-2012, 05:09 PM
Definitely my fave. Prime of Miss Jean Brodie must be up there I suppose and The Wicker Man.

Brilliant film. Maggie Smith is both excellent and unintentionally hilarious in it with her "Morrrningside" accent.

16-11-2012, 08:37 PM
Surprised that Geordie has not had a mention yet. Maybe not a Trainspotting, but a fine film no less.

16-11-2012, 08:42 PM
Breaking the Waves is a very good film that not enough people have seen.

It quite upset the wee frees when it was released and Martin Scorcese picked it as one of the best films of the 90s.

17-11-2012, 01:36 AM
Breaking the Waves is a very good film that not enough people have seen.

It quite upset the wee frees when it was released and Martin Scorcese picked it as one of the best films of the 90s.

Have to say I hated Breaking The Waves!

17-11-2012, 06:23 AM
Tunes of Glory is very good though dated. Some shocking Scottish accents from genuine Scots. Love Small Faces.

17-11-2012, 07:20 AM
Shout out for Gregory's Girl....great movie and also Shallow Grave.....

17-11-2012, 10:43 AM
Would you count Highlander as a Scottish film?

Based in New York & the highlands.

Great cult movie. :thumbsup:

euansdad
17-11-2012, 02:53 PM
Would you count Highlander as a Scottish film?

Based in New York & the highlands.

Great cult movie. :thumbsup:

Aye meant anything Scottish produced or based in Scotland

17-11-2012, 04:34 PM
'Just Another Saturday'

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=usccACkIxxs

18-11-2012, 12:23 PM
I really enjoyed That Sinking Feeling and watched it a few times - many years ago. Recently got the DVD and was a bit disappointed. Gregory's Girl and Trainspotting still tops for me!

That sinking feeling is superb. Not seen it years though.

18-11-2012, 12:28 PM
Aye meant anything Scottish produced or based in Scotland

In that case....The Illusionist :agree:

18-11-2012, 02:03 PM

The artwork in The Illusionist is absolutely beautiful.:agree:

18-11-2012, 03:55 PM
The artwork in The Illusionist is absolutely beautiful.:agree:

For me, it's the way that he nailed the look of 50's and 60's Edinburgh perfectly. I found that really emotional. How he managed to do that, given that he's not from here, beats me.

18-11-2012, 04:47 PM

Ooh thats a good call :aok:

18-11-2012, 05:55 PM
The Wickerman?

And chuck in the Harry Potter films, personally I don't like but apparently quite a few folk rate them!

18-11-2012, 10:16 PM
Hallam Foe is definately not. :greengrin

19-11-2012, 10:50 AM
Skyfall. :agree:

19-11-2012, 11:22 AM
How could I forget Burke and Hare ..... I found this an amusing film, if somewhat terribly acted and Alsa Fishers scottish accent was brilliantly terrible. Would still watch it again just for the comedy if nothing else :faf:

19-11-2012, 01:43 PM
How could I forget Burke and Hare ..... I found this an amusing film, if somewhat terribly acted and Alsa Fishers scottish accent was brilliantly terrible. Would still watch it again just for the comedy if nothing else :faf:

I couldnt believe how bad it was on every level :hilarious Andy Serkis must have been embarrassed how it turned out.

euansdad
19-11-2012, 01:54 PM
Never seen it but seeing as Isla fisher had Scottish parents, you would have thought she could have done a more than passable accent

20-11-2012, 07:13 AM
Probably deserves a thread all its on but if its as good as wild bill dexter fletcher could be about to deliver an essential film for all Hibs fans and one which could rival trainspotting if made correctly.

Sunshine on Leith the movie

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt2481198/

not to mention Filth is out next year

16 years of alcohol wasnae bad either was the big man. new town killers no so good. Local hero and Restlest natives all time classics.

euansdad
20-11-2012, 07:59 PM
That looks class!

22-11-2012, 07:46 PM
Am I the only person that isn't a fan of Trainspotting!?

22-11-2012, 07:47 PM

Nope.

I felt that it missed the point of the book which, IMHO, is a modern classic.

euansdad
22-11-2012, 08:00 PM
Never read the book but read a summary of it on Wikipedia and it does seem a lot of the book and some characters were missing from the film, though you probably get that with every film based on a novel

22-11-2012, 08:10 PM
Never read the book but read a summary of it on Wikipedia and it does seem a lot of the book and some characters were missing from the film, though you probably get that with every film based on a novel

The fact that the film missed out the scene where the title was explained says so much to me.

22-11-2012, 10:28 PM

It's a strange one, it was very different from the book but the book in itself was nigh on impossible to make into a film in It's entirety. What people have to remember is Trainspotting was really a few short stories structured into a loose narrative. A fair few of the chapters had been previously published in magazines etc as stand alone pieces.

Whilst It's not true to the book I enjoyed the film in It's own right.

If you want to see a terrible example of Irvine Welshs work being transferred to film the watch Ecstasy, absolutely awful. Hopefully they make a better job of Filth.

23-11-2012, 05:51 AM

Nope - hugely overrated film IMO - started, but failed to finish the book.

As to best Scottish film - for me it is "Local Hero", but I don't know/recognise many of the others mentioned on here, so must check them out. sometime...

23-11-2012, 05:58 AM
It's a strange one, it was very different from the book but the book in itself was nigh on impossible to make into a film in It's entirety. What people have to remember is Trainspotting was really a few short stories structured into a loose narrative. A fair few of the chapters had been previously published in magazines etc as stand alone pieces.

If you want to see a terrible example of Irvine Welshs work being transferred to film the watch Ecstasy, absolutely awful. Hopefully they make a better job of Filth.

:agree: I saw the film as being inspired by the book rather than a straightforward retelling of the stories. I suppose you could argue that is true of any film adaptation of a novel though.

09-12-2012, 05:32 PM
Nope - hugely overrated film IMO - started, but failed to finish the book.

As to best Scottish film - for me it is "Local Hero", but I don't know/recognise many of the others mentioned on here, so must check them out. sometime...

just happens to be on CH film4 right now(freeview/freesat), although i doubt you will see it :)

09-12-2012, 05:40 PM
This is my favorite, although it went straight to video then DVD its a best seller. :wink:

http://www.hibsshop.co.uk/cat-105-subcat-368-product-4062

gringojoe
09-12-2012, 05:59 PM
Dream Baby.

the scene from Omans.

http://youtu.be/s7r4vlHOJHc

09-12-2012, 07:52 PM
I watched Neds the other night. A lot better than I thought it would be but still not a patch on Small Faces.

10-12-2012, 10:34 AM
Brigadoon.

:applause:

10-12-2012, 12:44 PM
I have to mention 'One Day Removals' a mention as possibly the funniest Scottish film ever made. :thumbsup:

Still haven't watched this yet, despite the fact that one of the two main stars (Scott Ironside) worked for me for a few years! As an aside, Scott is forging himself a carreer in stand up as well as acting and he is bloody funny! He's going to be hosting the pub quiz in my boozer from February. :wink:

10-12-2012, 12:48 PM
Without a doubt the winner is Restless Natives! Brilliant film, great script, stunning scenery and THE finest soundtrack ever done. every time I watch it a get all proud of Scotland!

10-12-2012, 06:36 PM

Yep, the bookies was worse than what they showed.

Mixu62
12-12-2012, 02:37 AM
Anyone mentioned The Debt Collector yet? If not, The Debt Collector.

12-12-2012, 11:20 AM
just happens to be on CH film4 right now(freeview/freesat), although i doubt you will see it :)

Cheers - it runs on German tv once in a blue moon, but dubbed in German naturally, which sort of spoils it - (so I bought the DVD :greengrin!)

RamblingJack
26-12-2012, 04:33 PM
Just a boys game.
Down among the big boys.

Bighoose
10-01-2013, 12:26 PM
Has to be Gregory's Girl for me. If just for the wee penguin....