View Full Version : Yogi at Hartlepool United (merged)

Pages : 1 [2]

09-05-2013, 06:01 PM
Fergie was far from popular - or successful - at Old Trafford the first 2-3 years of his time there, but the board persevered with him and wow! did he not pay them back. I think it's 38 trophies in 25 years for United - and overall he's won 48 in 33 when you count his years at Aberdeen.

Love him or hate him, he's a great manager of football teams.

All joking apart, Hughes had made enough of a difference at Hartlepool to have been given another year, I'd have thought.

Ferguson had Bobby "Streamer Heid" Charlton fighting his corner at Man Utd throughout the lean period telling the MU board that AF would come good. Perhaps no one at the Monkey Hangers saw it that way.

09-05-2013, 06:09 PM
Could be a cost cutting measure. But let's be honest he's not the best at his job. Sacked from 2/4 managerial posts he's had.

Tells its own story !!

09-05-2013, 06:15 PM
Shame but the first thing I thought of was 'aw yer joking, gona have to listen to him on Sportsound until he gets another job'

Spooky.

Soon as i seen it i thought, Yogi will be on Sportsound on Sunday. Aww Naw :greengrin

BigKev
09-05-2013, 06:30 PM
Feel sorry for the big guy. Nowhere near enough time to transform an outfit which was nowhere near good enough for the league they were in.

Hopefully gets a gig elsewhere. Like him or loathe him I'd rather listen to big Yogi than Chick Young, James Traynor or Gordon Smith with their hun praising practices.

09-05-2013, 07:34 PM
Shame for the man really. It would be good if he could come back to Hibs and perhaps help out as fitness couch or something. Although I doubt that would happen as I hear Rodders has issues with previous incumbents. :wink:

09-05-2013, 07:39 PM
Shame for the man really. It would be good if he could come back to Hibs and perhaps help out as fitness couch or something. Although I doubt that would happen as I hear Rodders has issues with previous incumbents. :wink:

Personally wouldn't want him anywhere near any part of the Hibs squad.

09-05-2013, 07:44 PM
This is a crazy decision. Yogi turned performances and results around when he came in. They were already adrift and doomed. Who'd be a football Manager these days:confused:

10-05-2013, 01:16 PM
Fergie was far from popular - or successful - at Old Trafford the first 2-3 years of his time there, but the board persevered with him and wow! did he not pay them back. I think it's 38 trophies in 25 years for United - and overall he's won 48 in 33 when you count his years at Aberdeen.

Love him or hate him, he's a great manager of football teams.

All joking apart, Hughes had made enough of a difference at Hartlepool to have been given another year, I'd have thought.

Slightly o/t but this bugs me. His record is phenomenal enough, why do they need to start counting charity shields? :rolleyes: Ditto Aberdeen and their ridiculous 2nd star on jersey for European Super Cup. Can't they just be happy with the amazing achievement of a CWC without the cringeworthy addition?

Proper trophies: 13 titles + 5 FA cups + 4 league cups + 2 ECs + 1 CWC = 25 at Man U ; 3 titles + 4 Scottish cups + 1 league cup + 1 CWC = 9 in Sheepland

36 in total, some going.

10-05-2013, 01:24 PM
Interesting hearing Moyes talking of building Everton as a club. Something like the first five years was settling it and trying to improve results. It was then the plan for the next five to improve the style and entertainment. Puts some expectations in context.

10-05-2013, 01:30 PM
Interesting hearing Moyes talking of building Everton as a club. Something like the first five years was settling it and trying to improve results. It was then the plan for the next five to improve the style and entertainment. Puts some expectations in context.

He may have been building the club but he also improved the results almost immediately and had a very good first full season. Stuff like that buys you some time.

10-05-2013, 01:36 PM
He may have been building the club but he also improved the results almost immediately and had a very good first full season. Stuff like that buys you some time.

Just as well it did as in his second full season Everton finished 17th in the EPL with 39 points, the lowest in their history - the board must have seen signs of progress despite all the bad results though and stuck with him. They finished in the Champions League places the following season.

10-05-2013, 02:22 PM
Just as well it did as in his second full season Everton finished 17th in the EPL with 39 points, the lowest in their history - the board must have seen signs of progress despite all the bad results though and stuck with him. They finished in the Champions League places the following season.

Also survived going from 4th to 11th at one stage.

Hanny
10-05-2013, 06:04 PM
Interesting tweet from Jeff:

@StellingJeff: My understanding is Yogi's idea of who would be staying at club scary.Chairman and Ceo could not let it happen. Can't say more but I back them.

10-05-2013, 06:08 PM
Interesting tweet from Jeff:

@StellingJeff: My understanding is Yogi's idea of who would be staying at club scary.Chairman and Ceo could not let it happen. Can't say more but I back them.

Me who asked. Not sure that was meant to go out to the masses.

Hanny
10-05-2013, 06:12 PM
Me who asked. Not sure that was meant to go out to the masses.

What was your question?

10-05-2013, 06:16 PM
What was your question?

I can't paste in.

Go to Jeff's tweet that starts 'love to be next Pools boss'. I am the only reply.

Feel free to paste it in.

13-05-2013, 10:14 PM
Yogi interviewed for Sheffield United

:faint:

Former #Falkirk #Hibs #Livingston and #Hartlepool boss John Hughes has been interviewed for the #sheffieldunited job. #sufc #blades

https://twitter.com/ScottBurns75/status/334068151161593856

13-05-2013, 10:17 PM
Yogi interviewed for Sheffield United

:faint:

https://twitter.com/ScottBurns75/status/334068151161593856

I wonder if they hired an interpreter?

13-05-2013, 11:25 PM
Was never a fan but never nice to see anyone lose their job.

For his faults, the guy gave 100%. More than can be said of some of the charlatans who have represented us since he left.

Tell you what. I'll fly you to your holiday destination for free. I've never flown before, but I'll give it a right good go.

A hundred percent of incompetent, is incompetent.

14-05-2013, 08:32 AM
What amazes me is managers all over Britain who get regularly touted for jobs when their CV is just so bad, taking teams down, poor football etc and still they get interviews, not just Yogi may I add.

14-05-2013, 09:21 AM
Tell you what. I'll fly you to your holiday destination for free. I've never flown before, but I'll give it a right good go.

A hundred percent of incompetent, is incompetent.

What amazes me is managers all over Britain who get regularly touted for jobs when their CV is just so bad, taking teams down, poor football etc and still they get interviews, not just Yogi may I add.

Yup - staggering example of the 'old boys' network' at play - the lower English leagues can especially be a merry-go-round.

14-05-2013, 10:01 AM

Yup - staggering example of the 'old boys' network' at play - the lower English leagues can especially be a merry-go-round.

I can see, not in the too distant future, clubs employing Villas Boas type managers - those with no playing career to speak of but people that study football, football 'science' and tactical awareness.

It always surprises me that clubs in the UK haven't taken this approach before. Fans clearly clamour for 'a name' but I'll hazard a guess and say there are plenty coaches with all the necessary traits to be fine managers of top team squads.

14-05-2013, 10:03 AM

SPL clubs seem to have broken away a bit from the old boys network in recent years. Hence Jimmy Calderwood, Jim Jeffries, Gus McPherson and Yogi himself having to go down a league to get a job.

Doubt Mark McGhee would get a look in now at a decent level either.

14-05-2013, 10:07 AM
To be fair to Yogi, he was a success at Falkirk and although he ultimately failed with us, there was still 4th place - he has now been harshly sacked by Hartlepool despite having a relatively good record.

On the surface, his managerial career has been decent thus far, and other clubs will notice that. Be very surprised if he got the Sheffield United job, mind you.

1875er
14-05-2013, 10:08 AM
I think Stuart McCall is a shoe in for the Sheffield United job.

14-05-2013, 10:13 AM
I can see, not in the too distant future, clubs employing Villas Boas type managers - those with no playing career to speak of but people that study football, football 'science' and tactical awareness.

It always surprises me that clubs in the UK haven't taken this approach before. Fans clearly clamour for 'a name' but I'll hazard a guess and say there are plenty coaches with all the necessary traits to be fine managers of top team squads.

SPL clubs seem to have broken away a bit from the old boys network in recent years. Hence Jimmy Calderwood, Jim Jeffries, Gus McPherson and Yogi himself having to go down a league to get a job.

Doubt Mark McGhee would get a look in now at a decent level either.

Anytime Alex MacDonald was asked a difficult question at a press conference the answer was "Have you played the game ?". Bawbag. Showed in the fitba he played. Absolute neanderthal the game passed by even before he couldn't get another job. Dinosaurs such as these have plenty of the blame to the current state of the Scottish game. Change was resisted like avoiding the black death. They thought they all knew better and would be horrified to see Mourinho and AVB types in the game.