View Full Version : Serious error in the SPL table? (merged)

11-11-2012, 03:09 PM
I've just noticed a serious error in the SPL Table. According to the BBC, Hibs are top of the league and, allegedly, 10 points ahead of Hearts after only 13 games.

Now, that is obviously wrong, as I know for a fact that Hearts are the Big Team and couldn't possibly be so far behind an insignificant little club like Hibs, especially so early in the season.

Question is, should I make a complaint to the BBC about such innacurate reporting with an obviously anti-Hearts agenda?

gillythehibby
11-11-2012, 03:17 PM
I'll tell ye what's wrong. The report on the bbc site alongside the table. Apparently we are "temporarily" at the top of the league and that's even before celtic have even won !!!!!

11-11-2012, 03:27 PM
[QUOTE=keekaboo;3408455]I've just noticed a serious error in the SPL Table. According to the BBC, Hibs are top of the league and, allegedly, 10 points ahead of Hearts after only 13 games.

Now, that is obviously wrong, as I know for a fact that Hearts are the Big Team and couldn't possibly be so far behind an insignificant little club like Hibs, especially so early in the season.

Question is, should I make a complaint to the BBC about such innacurate reporting with an obviously anti-Hearts agenda?[/QUO
Was thinking the same thing. I just assumed my internet was upside down.

11-11-2012, 03:47 PM
these deluded hobos drive me crazy:confused:

11-11-2012, 04:53 PM
:pfgwa :hibees :pfgwa :flag:

11-11-2012, 04:55 PM
Think I need Oxygen

:flag::flag::flag::flag::flag:
:pfgwa:pfgwa:pfgwa:pfgwa:pfgwa

11-11-2012, 04:56 PM
:aok::aok::aok::aok::aok:

11-11-2012, 04:56 PM
It's astonishing.

Top of the league in the same week that half season tickets go on sale. It's a marketing dream :greengrin

What a turnaround :agree:

11-11-2012, 04:57 PM
That's got a wee ring to it. :wink:

11-11-2012, 04:57 PM
:aok::aok::aok::aok:

11-11-2012, 04:58 PM
It's astonishing.

Top of the league in the same week that half season tickets go on sale. It's a marketing dream :greengrin

What a turnaround :agree:

It'd be even better if we could announce an extended deal or two.

11-11-2012, 04:59 PM
Another Carlseberg weekend 2 points clear at the top and 10 points above Brokeback United across the city. :pfgwa

Position

Team

Played

Goal
Difference

View full
table (http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/scottish-premier/table)

No Movement 1

Hibernian (http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/teams/hibernian)

No Movement 2

Celtic (http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/teams/celtic)

No Movement 3

Aberdeen (http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/teams/aberdeen)

No Movement 4

Inverness
CT (http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/teams/inverness-caledonian-thistle)

No Movement 5

St Johnstone (http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/teams/st-johnstone)

No Movement 6

Kilmarnock (http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/teams/kilmarnock)

No Movement 7

Motherwell (http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/teams/motherwell)

No Movement 8

Dundee Utd (http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/teams/dundee-united)

No Movement 9

Ross County (http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/teams/ross-county)

No Movement 10

Hearts (http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/teams/heart-of-midlothian)

No Movement 11

St Mirren (http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/teams/st-mirren)

No Movement 12

Dundee (http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/teams/dundee)

I can't say hand on heart that I want the pink minks to be liquidated this week..... However.... there would be something quite funny about them vanishing whilst we are free and clear at the top :greengrin

Can't believe it Top of the League the week Hearts go bust. There is a just God

We're top of the league and they're......... totally and utterly ****ed. :cb

11-11-2012, 05:00 PM
CrazyHibby

I would save that table somewhere so that you can show your grandchildren and say

' There used to be a team played in the Premier League called Hearts.'

bathhibby
Well done the Saints
1city1team

Amit
http://img.tapatalk.com/d/12/11/12/evere6e4.jpg

Also had a celebratory drink with Hector the Tax Inspector

http://img.tapatalk.com/d/12/11/12/emu4emyj.jpg

11-11-2012, 05:01 PM
BBC get it wrong again for at least 6 days:fenlon:giruy:

11-11-2012, 05:02 PM
http://img.tapatalk.com/d/12/11/12/evere6e4.jpg

Also had a celebratory drink with Hector the Tax Inspector

http://img.tapatalk.com/d/12/11/12/emu4emyj.jpg

Love it mate, love it !

The Gorf
11-11-2012, 05:10 PM
I'm getting a nosebleed

11-11-2012, 05:27 PM
Brilliant. And with 'tic v Aberdeen and ICT (3rd and 4th) in next two games with Benfica away in between.

What an opportunity for us.

11-11-2012, 06:50 PM
....Hibs were on top about this time of the season?

11-11-2012, 06:56 PM
....Hibs were on top about this time of the season?

Last weekend!!!

11-11-2012, 06:59 PM
prior it was 2007 when JC took us to Ibrox and gave them another lesson how tae play fitbaw.. beat them 1-0 to go top (Murphy header).

11-11-2012, 07:14 PM
That would have been THAT time of the season, not, THIS time of the season.
See?
See?

Sounds like the words from a song

11-11-2012, 07:24 PM
prior it was 2007 when JC took us to Ibrox and gave them another lesson how tae play fitbaw.. beat them 1-0 to go top (Murphy header).

I thought that too but that was October 2007. Trying to think but cant. I think Im too excited. :greengrin

11-11-2012, 07:29 PM
1998? :greengrin

12-11-2012, 11:21 AM
Just for the obsessed unwashed over the road that love to look in on us. :na na:

Last year all i got was "your team is rank rotten" "the league doesn't lie" so for all of you.... THE LEAGUE DOESN'T LIE AND WE'RE TOP! get it right up you!! :hibees

12-11-2012, 11:57 AM
Awrite Cat? How's your wee boy enjoying the Hibs' games...

....his name was Mason Boyne or something wasn't it? :wink:

12-11-2012, 12:14 PM
Awrite Cat? How's your wee boy enjoying the Hibs' games...

....his name was Mason Boyne or something wasn't it? :wink:

Haha I was going to take him back down yesterday but thought it was to cold. Liked that by the way :wink: I used to think Mason was a jinx when he was born as we never won. Then i just realised it was Calderwood. :greengrin

12-11-2012, 03:45 PM
What is the connection between..

Hibs
PSV Eindhoven
Paris SG
Manchester Utd
Bayern Munich
Olympiakos
Juventus
Porto
Barcelona
Grasshoppers
Galatasaray
HJK Helsinki
FC Copenhagen
Anderlecht
Austria Vienna

I'll give you a clue..cream rises to the top :agree:

12-11-2012, 03:48 PM
Above their city rivals in their respective leagues?

scott7_0(Prague)
12-11-2012, 03:52 PM
What is the connection between..

Hibs
PSV Eindhoven
Paris SG
Manchester Utd
Bayern Munich
Olympiakos
Juventus
Porto
Barcelona
Grasshoppers
Galatasaray
HJK Helsinki
FC Copenhagen
Anderlecht
Austria Vienna

I'll give you a clue..cream rises to the top :agree:

all top of the leagues they play in.

12-11-2012, 04:08 PM
League position notwithstanding, Hearts are still determined to be the Biggest story this season.

One way or another, I hear they are determined that people are talking about them and not us. Apparently Uncle Vlad is concerned that Hibs might get more headlines and is taking corrective action as we speak!

12-11-2012, 04:11 PM
all top of the leagues they play in.

Correct Mr Prague...nice company to be in for a change eh !

12-11-2012, 04:21 PM
Correct Mr Prague...nice company to be in for a change eh !
So who are third bottom Hearts in the company of?

euansdad
12-11-2012, 04:25 PM
Pond life?

12-11-2012, 04:27 PM

Third Lanark
Bradford Park Avenue
FC Liege
FC Amsterdam
Videoton
Rott Weiss Essen

etc.

All big teams in their day.

12-11-2012, 04:28 PM
PSG are only TEMPORARILY top (bbcscotland sportŠ) until OM and Lyon play their postponed fixture :nerd:

12-11-2012, 04:40 PM

Hearts
VVV Venlo
Sochaux
Reading
Wolfsburg
Panthrakikos
Genoa
Maritimo
Deportivo
Lausanne Sports
Akhisar Belediye
KuPS Kuopio
Esbjerg
Lierse
SV Mattersburg

12-11-2012, 04:59 PM
Hearts
VVV Venlo
Sochaux
Reading
Wolfsburg
Panthrakikos
Genoa
Maritimo
Deportivo
Lausanne Sports
Akhisar Belediye
KuPS Kuopio
Esbjerg
Lierse
SV Mattersburg

You've made them up Shirley?

Sounds like a drunk guy comparing notes on foreplay...

12-11-2012, 06:03 PM
You've made them up Shirley?

Sounds like a drunk guy comparing notes on foreplay...

http://www.akhisar.bel.tr/default.asp?site=1

12-11-2012, 06:55 PM
The yams must be spewing at this thread. Saying to themselves how are the wee team alongside those giants and the worlds famous big team are alongside those teams instead.

12-11-2012, 06:57 PM
Third Lanark
Bradford Park Avenue
FC Liege
FC Amsterdam
Videoton
Rott Weiss Essen

etc.

All big teams in their day.
You forgot about Kaunas......lol

HuddsHibs
12-11-2012, 09:58 PM
Probably been done already this season when I wasn't looking, but can anybody with a better memory or better google skills than me settle this wee dispute?

12-11-2012, 10:09 PM
apart from brief spells last week and last month, october 2007 after the one nil win at ibrox thanks to murph's header and some impressive passing moves.

MCC Hibs
12-11-2012, 10:28 PM
apart from brief spells last week and last month, october 2007 after the one nil win at ibrox thanks to murph's header and some impressive passing moves.

I remember that game more for being asked by a weedgie copper"can i check your pockets please sir?

12-11-2012, 10:33 PM
What did you have in them?

12-11-2012, 10:37 PM
I what was in them

12-11-2012, 10:39 PM

He'll need to speak to his lawyer before responding ;)

12-11-2012, 10:48 PM
He'll need to speak to his lawyer before responding ;)

Ha, he can't start off a story like that and not give us the conclusion.

12-11-2012, 11:24 PM

Nothing, he was just pleased to see him.

12-11-2012, 11:36 PM
Who cares ducky? :flag::flag::flag:

12-11-2012, 11:41 PM
When were we top for a full fixture week?

We were only top for one day after we won at Ibrox.

12-11-2012, 11:44 PM
apart from brief spells last week and last month, october 2007 after the one nil win at ibrox thanks to murph's header and some impressive passing moves. cannae recall us ever going top, on 3 different occasions, over a season, never mind a matter of weeks

12-11-2012, 11:51 PM

We were definitely top in October 6th a few years back at some point, was on my birthday we beat Rangers at Ibrox to hit 1st place :partyhibb

13-11-2012, 12:03 AM
When were we top for a full fixture week?

We were only top for one day after we won at Ibrox.

now thats a good question. I'd guess maybe under mowbray or mcleish or maybe even under duffy before it all went wrong:dunno:

13-11-2012, 12:16 AM
Can't remember us being top as far into the season since I started watching about 1985.

16-11-2012, 04:04 PM
.......in mid-November. Can anyone recall the last time when we were top of the league at this stage in the season (or at anytime later) in the season? I think it would probably be mid-70s.

Also, can anyone recall any team outwith the old firm that was top of the league at this stage of the season (or at anytime later). Possibly Aberdeen in the early 90s.

yeezus.
16-11-2012, 04:05 PM
.......in mid-November. Can anyone recall the last time when we were top of the league at this stage in the season (or at anytime later) in the season? I think it would probably be mid-70s.

Also, can anyone recall any team outwith the old firm that was top of the league at this stage of the season (or at anytime later). Possibly Aberdeen in the early 90s.

Were the Yams not top one Christmas? :wink:

16-11-2012, 04:12 PM
I seem to remember the yams were top of the league going into the final weekend of the season, but my minds a little blurry on what happened next?

Does anyone know or remember the outcome?

16-11-2012, 04:35 PM
I seem to remember the yams were top of the league going into the final weekend of the season, but my minds a little blurry on what happened next?

If the yam story I constantly hear is true then It's all St Mirrens fault it went wrong.

Hearts must have got the result they needed after all.

16-11-2012, 04:44 PM
If the yam story I constantly hear is true then It's all St Mirrens fault it went wrong.

Hearts must have got the result they needed after all.

That's not what I heard. I heard it was all the fault of 1 man. Some player who played for Dundee or something?

But I'm sure it's just 1 big legendary tale that never actually happened. They surely couldn't have thrown it all away right at the end?

HiBremian
16-11-2012, 04:51 PM
Sure there's been teams outwith the uglies that were top of the league in November, but not so sure that there were any that stayed there for very long. Tomorrow will be a big test of Nutsy's football philosophy. The psychology is different now that we've been top all week, and we're playing the bottom club. Will this be the usual hibs banana skin, or will our new found spirit and determination mean we can grind out this result just like any other? I think if we can win tomorrow we could enjoy a few more weeks up tops :-)

vercol36
16-11-2012, 04:54 PM

Were we not top of the league in November about 7 or 8 years ago? Perhaps 2000-2001?

16-11-2012, 06:06 PM
Were we not top of the league in November about 7 or 8 years ago? Perhaps 2000-2001?

Would it be safe to conclude maths wasn't your strong point at school? :greengrin

We had a belting start to a season under Big Eck. Wheels fell off around Jan/Feb time as usual and we finished 3rd (correct??)

16-11-2012, 07:37 PM
That's not what I heard. I heard it was all the fault of 1 man. Some player who played for Dundee or something?

But I'm sure it's just 1 big legendary tale that never actually happened. They surely couldn't have thrown it all away right at the end?

Anyone who claims that a big team like Hearts would blow the league on the final day has to be Kidding.

17-11-2012, 10:12 AM
Someone with a bit of time on their hands might want to look through all the league tables from this website and find out last time we were top of the league at this point in the year. :greengrin

Closest I could find in my time as a Hibs fan, was 29th October 1994

http://www.statto.com/football/stats/scotland/premier-division/1994-1995/table/1994-10-29

In 1997 and 2000 we were top of the league in mid September, in 2007, early October and in 1993 mid October, but certainly not as late as mid November.

The_Sauz
17-11-2012, 12:24 PM

I found this footage, although I think it could be a fake :wink:

http://youtu.be/UCjEsN4E85s