View Full Version : BBC assuming Celtic win v St. Johnstone (merged)

11-11-2012, 01:52 PM
"Hibernian moved temporarily back to the top of the Scottish Premier League after their first victory over Dundee United in seven attempts ..."

Who's writing the BBC football reports these days? :confused:

Some guy Stevie Millar - writes like a Jambo groupie. :jamboak:

NRW_Hibbie
11-11-2012, 01:53 PM
Opening paragraph from BBC report:

Hibernian moved temporarily back to the top of the Scottish Premier League after their first victory over Dundee United in seven attempts.

It's only temporary if Celtic win FFS.

Hal Jordan
11-11-2012, 01:54 PM
From BBC website:

"Hibernian moved temporarily back to the top of the Scottish Premier League after their first victory over Dundee United in seven attempts."

What an effing cheek!
Insulting not only to us but the Saints as well :fuming:

TowerHibs
11-11-2012, 01:55 PM
"Hibernian moved temporarily back to the top of the Scottish Premier League after their first victory over Dundee United in seven attempts ..."

Who's writing the BBC football reports these days? Russell Grant? :confused:
your spot on to be honest, you'd think the mainstream media would have learned to stop all that nonsense after they made a complete arse of Rangers over the last few years.

their spin of Rangers attempt to save Hearts yesterday has just proved that the OF have the media round their little finger

11-11-2012, 01:56 PM
From BBC website:

"Hibernian moved temporarily back to the top of the Scottish Premier League after their first victory over Dundee United in seven attempts."

What an effing cheek!
Insulting not only to us but the Saints as well :fuming:

Likesay, Jamboid Stevie Millar - whom we can follow on Twitter if we don't have lives of our own.

11-11-2012, 02:00 PM

Who's writing the BBC football reports these days? :confused:

Some guy Stevie Millar - writes like a Jambo groupie. :jamboak:

Strange thing about it is that (I believe) Stevie Miller is a St Johnstone fan.

I think he's missing the words "at least".

11-11-2012, 02:03 PM
Strange thing about it is that (I believe) Stevie Miller is a St Johnstone fan.

I think he's missing the words "at least".

Well, he goes all gooey about Skacel at the end.

IMO he's missing a lot more than a couple of words. :cb

gillythehibby
11-11-2012, 02:04 PM
What about this banger Miller on the BBC site? "Hibernian moved temporarily back to the top of the Scottish Premier League after their first victory over Dundee United in seven attempts. " Does he know something the rest of us don't and Celtic have won already? Trumpet. Somebody please tweet that banger and tell him will ya

Thomson
11-11-2012, 02:05 PM
I don't know if this is negative wording, or because our season has had almost no negativity, am i just reading too much into the opening sentence in this report?
By Stevie MillerBBC Sport Scotland
Hibernian moved temporarily back to the top of the Scottish Premier League after their first victory over Dundee United in seven attempts.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/20196357

11-11-2012, 02:07 PM
I don't know if this is negative wording, or because our season has had almost no negativity, am i just reading too much into the opening sentence in this report?

The only thing to read into it is that the journalist in question considers a Celtc win to be a foregone conclusion. Would be the same if it were any other non-OF team in our position.

Marabou Stork
11-11-2012, 02:14 PM
Would be the same if it were any other non-OF team in our position.

Yes. However, I don't give one single ****. We are where we are through merit, and despite this country's best attempts, the establishment is struggling.

HiBremian
11-11-2012, 02:14 PM
Maybe he means "temporarily", as in "only until August 2013":cb

11-11-2012, 02:16 PM
Maybe he means "temporarily", as in "only until August 2013":cb

'Hibs begin title defence with home defeat'

FFS, Fenlon must go.

11-11-2012, 02:20 PM
hopefully sellick v saints ends in a draw, will make him look a tad foolish

11-11-2012, 02:25 PM
hopefully sellick v saints ends in a draw, will make him look a tad foolish

Hope saints win!

70 mins for Saints to hold out for a draw!

hibbymac
11-11-2012, 02:32 PM

Looks like he's changed it now. More disrespectful to St. J. ... IMHO.

11-11-2012, 02:33 PM
BBC have changed the wording....absolute amateurs

11-11-2012, 02:36 PM
Hope saints win!

70 mins for Saints to hold out for a draw!

nah, we don't want saints getting just TOO near to us :wink: draw is absolutely ideal for us, keeps us on top...and saints only gain one point on us

11-11-2012, 02:37 PM
BBC have changed the wording....absolute amateurs

it was quite obviously pointed out to the fool :)

11-11-2012, 02:48 PM
What is the score with the tims

11-11-2012, 02:50 PM

0-0 at HT

11-11-2012, 02:50 PM
what is the score with the tims

0-0 ht

11-11-2012, 02:51 PM

Goalless at h/t with no shots on target

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/20196378

11-11-2012, 02:54 PM
I'm assuming Celtic will win as well.

HiBremian
11-11-2012, 02:55 PM
it was quite obviously pointed out to the fool :)

Stevie Miller is temporarily a BBC Sports correspondent. :rolleyes:

hongkonghibee
11-11-2012, 03:01 PM
According to BBC site, St Johnstone had 57% possesion first half

11-11-2012, 03:08 PM
According to BBC site, St Johnstone had 57% possesion first half

That BBC possession stat needs looked at, always wrong.

11-11-2012, 03:09 PM
1-0, Watt

11-11-2012, 03:10 PM
Ah well.

11-11-2012, 03:11 PM
Depends on the context of 'temporarily.' It could be for an hour, 2 hours, a day, a week or whatever.

11-11-2012, 03:13 PM
Depends on the context of 'temporarily.' It could be for an hour, 2 hours, a day, a week or whatever.

Aye, but that reasoning applies if Celtc go top as well, and you can guarantee that won't be described as temporary.

hibbymac
11-11-2012, 03:19 PM
Stevie Miller is temporarily a BBC Sports correspondent. :rolleyes:

Probably get a job on Newsnight. :clown:

11-11-2012, 03:33 PM
1-0 celtc

11-11-2012, 03:38 PM
1-1 :thumbsup:

Northern Hibby
11-11-2012, 03:39 PM
1-1 Mon the saints!!!

HiBremian
temporarily 1-0 celtc

fixed that for you.:greengrin

1 - 1.

Linesman Leslie is a lifelong Jambo.

He'll give the Celts an off side goal.

11-11-2012, 03:40 PM
c'mon the Saints. :thumbsup:

fixed that for you.:greengrin

C'Mon the saintees.

11-11-2012, 03:42 PM
Come on!!!:thumbsup::thumbsup:

HibeeEmma
11-11-2012, 03:44 PM
14 minutes remaining

11-11-2012, 03:48 PM
89 mins still 1-1

11-11-2012, 03:48 PM
Can only be a few minutes left.

C'mon the Saintees.

seanshow
11-11-2012, 03:49 PM
If you look at the bbc scotland football page, only after tic scored the table was updated to 24 points each for tic and Hibees.......now it's 1-1 both teams are back on 21 again hmmmmm :cb

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/scottish/

11-11-2012, 03:49 PM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/scotland/17628612 if you want to listen

11-11-2012, 03:52 PM
1-1. FT. Incredible scoreline!

11-11-2012, 03:52 PM

Full Time

11-11-2012, 03:53 PM
Hibs are top of the league !!!!

11-11-2012, 03:53 PM
Hibs top of the league and Hearts go bust.
Nae bad eh?

11-11-2012, 03:54 PM
So for the next week we will be sitting pretty at the top of the league!

And we have a good chance of winning next week to stay there.

Full Time

:woohoo:

Pity that the Director General has already gone.

His coat would have been on a shoogly peg allowing one of his reporters to spout such 'temporary' rubbish.

Is there no editorial control at the Beeb?

11-11-2012, 03:55 PM
whoop whoop

Top of the league the week the Yams could go bust, ha, ha. :hibees:pfgwa

Celtic not away to Aberdeen next week aswell? Tough game!

11-11-2012, 03:56 PM
Another Carlseberg weekend 2 points clear at the top and 10 points above Brokeback United across the city. :pfgwa

Position

Team

Played

Goal
Difference

View full
table (http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/scottish-premier/table)

No Movement 1

Hibernian (http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/teams/hibernian)

No Movement 2

Celtic (http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/teams/celtic)

No Movement 3

Aberdeen (http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/teams/aberdeen)

No Movement 4

Inverness
CT (http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/teams/inverness-caledonian-thistle)

No Movement 5

St Johnstone (http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/teams/st-johnstone)

No Movement 6

Kilmarnock (http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/teams/kilmarnock)

No Movement 7

Motherwell (http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/teams/motherwell)

No Movement 8

Dundee Utd (http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/teams/dundee-united)

No Movement 9

Ross County (http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/teams/ross-county)

No Movement 10

Hearts (http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/teams/heart-of-midlothian)

No Movement 11

St Mirren (http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/teams/st-mirren)

No Movement 12

Dundee (http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/teams/dundee)

HiBremian
11-11-2012, 03:56 PM
Brilliant! :greengrin

11-11-2012, 03:58 PM
Did you hear that tic fud Gerry McCulloch saying on Sky news Celtic will have to wait until next week to go back to the top of the league................EH?

away'n lie in yir weegie pish son.....

11-11-2012, 04:07 PM
great result for the saintees, keeps them in a good position aswell :flag:

11-11-2012, 04:11 PM
Did you hear that tic fud Gerry McCulloch saying on Sky news Celtic will have to wait until next week to go back to the top of the league................EH?

away'n lie in yir weegie pish son.....

To be fair he did add the word perhaps. :wink:

11-11-2012, 04:29 PM
Aye, but that reasoning applies if Celtc go top as well, and you can guarantee that won't be described as temporary.

I suppose any team that goes top and does not win the league is only there temporarily.

11-11-2012, 04:35 PM
Stevie Miller...get it right up you. Permanently.

11-11-2012, 05:10 PM
Folk do get a wee bit wound up about nothing really..Is it that important?

11-11-2012, 05:17 PM

It's time to move.

I wonder which Dundee United player/member of staff will be the studio guest on Sportscene tonight?

:devil:

11-11-2012, 05:26 PM
nah, we don't want saints getting just TOO near to us :wink: draw is absolutely ideal for us, keeps us on top...and saints only gain one point on us

thank you lord above, amen :not worth

11-11-2012, 05:37 PM

Maybe not that important but fact is the standard of BBC journalism is declining rapidly.

This publically funded institution is there to report the facts NOT make comment on what they hope will happen :greengrin

11-11-2012, 05:59 PM

It's time to move.

I wonder which Dundee United player/member of staff will be the studio guest on Sportscene tonight?

:devil:

Probably Skacel and Houston

11-11-2012, 06:33 PM
I'm assuming Celtic will win as well.

Not so

12-11-2012, 09:09 AM
Went on to check the attendance after the game and couldn't believe my eyes - took a picture of it on my phone, as I knew it would soon be changed. Utterly ridiculous journalism.

12-11-2012, 09:30 AM
Who's their game in hand against?

green glory
12-11-2012, 09:33 AM
Who's their game in hand against?

Dundee Utd.