View Full Version : Skacel (merged)

Pages : 1 [2]

12-11-2012, 11:29 AM
I can't help but feel some people spectacularly miss the point about the refugee thing.

I don't give 2 ****s about Skacels feelings and folk can say whatever they like about him. However the song quite clearly implies there is something wrong or shameful about being a refugee and that becomes an issue. That's not PC gone mad or any other nonsense that will be trotted out, It's just common sense.

It reflects poorly on the club, It's the kind of thing I'd expect to hear from Rangers fans, so that should be reason enough to stop it.

Nail hit on the head!

12-11-2012, 11:31 AM
I remember back in the early eighties being in a large work place with only one black employee. He didnt mind the 'banter' at all. I know this because he said that to anybody that asked before cracking another 'joke.' Despite that he only lasted a few weeks. Weird eh?

I agree wiith the sentiments of this and of your last post. Maybe too subtle for some though, or am I induldging in a bit of stupidism with that?

I got it ok. Quite clearly suggesting that all black people are liars. :tsk tsk:

12-11-2012, 11:45 AM
Song just doesn't make sense. He is Czech and the idea of being a refugee is neither insult or clever wit.

It's a good wee tune though so surely the might of .net can come up with better wording, so...........

Rudi Skacel is a.........WHAT?

A ******ing jambo rat, that has a good ring to it :agree:

12-11-2012, 12:10 PM
Yes he is, read his backstory. His family fled Yugoslavia as a boy for Finland.

The song is classless and I would hope, beneath us. Wind the guy up, sing at him, give him abuse by all means, but we can do better than the Refugee song, that seems to accomplish nothing more than to fire Skackel up and make our club look bad.

Sorry - i'd been edited (this site has so much more class than brokeback).

I had said "kuqi's not a (sweary word rhymes with sucking) refugee though"

12-11-2012, 12:12 PM
I got it ok. Quite clearly suggesting that all black people are liars. :tsk tsk:

Joy Zipper
12-11-2012, 12:14 PM
Song just doesn't make sense. He is Czech and the idea of being a refugee is neither insult or clever wit.

It's a good wee tune though so surely the might of .net can come up with better wording, so...........

Yellow submarine ?

green glory
12-11-2012, 12:18 PM
Yellow submarine ?

That would actually be quite funny considering the reference to cowardice and Vlad.

'Rudi Skacel is a yellow submarine'

12-11-2012, 12:25 PM

Dutch elm tree?

EH6 Hibby
12-11-2012, 12:26 PM

Rudi Skacel is Ivan Sproule's Bitch. :greengrin

12-11-2012, 12:29 PM

A f****** w**k with a big nose, who can get tae **** for being a thick as pig-sh** yam b*****.

Not sure that rhymes, though.

12-11-2012, 01:06 PM
Good to see we are having the same arguments about racism 6 or so years on. What really hacks me off is having to defend a complete knob end like Skacel. If only some of the racist/facist dinosaurs who sing this song had watched Burnistoun they would know that all you really have to do to wind people up is put the words "and yer barstewards" on the end.

I really love all the "my best mate is black" guff that comes out. Also this idea that people don't mind being slagged for their ethnicity - like they would feel up to confronting you if they did. I can just hear the response they'd get now - "if you don't like it ^&*% off home then.

12-11-2012, 01:07 PM
The Rudi song is purely a wind up...nothing more nothing less

That's what they said about \Nuremberg - "boys will be boys". :greengrin

12-11-2012, 01:08 PM
Good to see we are having the same arguments about racism 6 or so years on. What really hacks me off is having to defend a complete knob end like Skacel. If only some of the racist/facist dinosaurs who sing this song had watched Burnistoun they would know that all you really have to do to wind people up is put the words "and yer barstewards" on the end.

I really love all the "my best mate is black" guff that comes out. Also this idea that people don't mind being slagged for their ethnicity - like they would feel up to confronting you if they did. I can just hear the response they'd get now - "if you don't like it ^&*% off home then.

12-11-2012, 01:09 PM

refugee from the financial meltdown at Tynecastle?

:duck:

scott7_0(Prague)
12-11-2012, 01:14 PM

Is a refugee a race?

12-11-2012, 01:17 PM
Is a refugee a race?

Well they often have to move very fast.

I refer you to previous answers on this topic, because I have forgotten what I said. If the singers are not racists, they are fascists, and that's it.

HibeeN
12-11-2012, 01:20 PM
Is a refugee a race?

I understand your point, but I think it's a lot more to do with intent rather than the semantics of the words used. And the song is clearly meant to be derogatory - it's sung with hatred so I think it's fair to say that a lot of people singing it are meaning it to come across that way. As has been pointed out before, Skacel is clearly not a refugee so I think it can be said that the song is ignorant at best, but in my opinion it has racist intent behind it.

scott7_0(Prague)
12-11-2012, 01:44 PM
but in my opinion it has racist intent behind it. :confused:

If it aint a race then how can it hold racist intent.

I know where your going, but i think you need to choose better term.

_hucks_
12-11-2012, 03:09 PM

Well xenephobic, then, but the point remains the same. It's all an implication that people from 'somewhere else' are somehow worse people.

12-11-2012, 03:25 PM
Can anyone put a copy of the photo up, please?

Can't get it to copy & paste but think you'll find it on this link.

http://www.snspix.com/11_11_12_hibernian_v_dundee_utd/photo/89841.html?pn=1&so=1&sci=1352736436&gid=89841

12-11-2012, 03:26 PM

http://www.snspix.com/11_11_12_hibernian_v_dundee_utd/photo/89841.html?pn=1&so=1&sci=1352736436&gid=89841

:aok: Cheers.

12-11-2012, 03:49 PM
Sorry if someone has already done it but I'd like to point out that our club was formed by people who may well have regarded themselves as refugees. They had come to Scotland to escape from famine and political/religious persecution in Ireland. :tin hat:

totalfootball
12-11-2012, 03:56 PM
Gonna be controversial and say Ive got no problem with Hibs fans singing the Rudi Skacel 'refugee' song. I'll admit I've sung it in the past and wouldnt discount singing it in the future.... he's a complete foetus of a human being!!! Can honestly say Ive never hated a footballer as much as him and although im not a violent person (usually) I think I'd definitely stick one on Skacel if given half a chance!!!

12-11-2012, 04:04 PM
Is a refugee a race?

It is racist in this context. The word "refugee" is used in the context of him being an Eastern European "immigrant", which is directly linked to his race.

"******" isn't a race either, but I'm assuming you wouldn't deny it being racist?

leithsansiro
12-11-2012, 04:04 PM
Skacel comes across as a classless idiot. That said, and this may be controversial, if he had signed for us instead of the Yams originally, I'm sure we'd love his stupid antics in the same way that our inbred neighbours do.

12-11-2012, 04:06 PM
Gonna be controversial and say Ive got no problem with Hibs fans singing the Rudi Skacel 'refugee' song. I'll admit I've sung it in the past and wouldnt discount singing it in the future.... he's a complete foetus of a human being!!! Can honestly say Ive never hated a footballer as much as him and although im not a violent person (usually) I think I'd definitely stick one on Skacel if given half a chance!!!

I don't think it's even slightly controversial that someone who things "foetus" is a derogatory term also thinks that that it's acceptable to use the word refugee in the same manner.

12-11-2012, 04:17 PM

Not this again:rolleyes:

The fact that refugee isn't a race is irrelevant.

12-11-2012, 04:21 PM

... is that a term of abuse? :confused:

12-11-2012, 04:27 PM

Perhaps implying underdevelopment?

The best ones are the ones you have to explain.

12-11-2012, 04:29 PM
Perhaps implying underdevelopment?

The best ones are the ones you have to explain.

Every day's a schoolday.....

12-11-2012, 04:32 PM
Well xenephobic, then, but the point remains the same. It's all an implication that people from 'somewhere else' are somehow worse people.

Is Skacel's case it is true. He is a worse person.

The_Sauz
12-11-2012, 04:32 PM

Look at pic 8034961 and see if you see a resemblance to this start of TV/Films http://muppet.wikia.com/wiki/Gonzo

12-11-2012, 04:35 PM
Look at pic 8034961 and see if you see a resemblance to this start of TV/Films http://muppet.wikia.com/wiki/Gonzo

Excellent work! They are like 2 very ugly peas in a pod

12-11-2012, 04:36 PM
Every day's a schoolday.....

Indeed. now can someone tell me why he gets called a refugee?

_hucks_
12-11-2012, 04:37 PM
Is Skacel's case it is true. He is a worse person.

True. Immigration has nothing to do with it though!

12-11-2012, 04:40 PM
Is the Czech Republic even in Eastern Europe? I always think of it as being quite central.

12-11-2012, 04:41 PM
Is the Czech Republic even in Eastern Europe? I always think of it as being quite central.

A Polish guy I know gets quite aerated about things like that. Apparently, Poland is actually Central Europe.

12-11-2012, 04:45 PM
A Polish guy I know gets quite aerated about things like that. Apparently, Poland is actually Central Europe.

Just call him a balloon if he's a balloon. It's not racist, yet.

The_Sauz
12-11-2012, 04:53 PM
Sorry if someone has already done it but I'd like to point out that our club was formed by people who may well have regarded themselves as refugees. They had come to Scotland to escape from famine and political/religious persecution in Ireland. :tin hat:
Hibs were formed by migrants and not refugees....big difference :wink:

12-11-2012, 04:54 PM
True. Immigration has nothing to do with it though!

No that is true but he is a bellend and we sing a song about him. That's normally the way in football. It seems to me that it's mainly the guardian readers that are offended on behalf of immigrants rather than immigrants in this case

12-11-2012, 04:57 PM

FifeHibernian
12-11-2012, 04:58 PM
Hibs fans desperate to get offended about the refugee song etc... Notice it's the ones who couldn't be arsed to drag themselves along to the game. You have to wonder about the mentality of some folk. Great win over United, top of the league. I know, I'll post on Hibs.net about how a song about a mutant jambo offended me.

Utterly bizarre.

I was at the game and the song was embarrassing. Rudi Skacel is not a refugee, the song isn't even accurate or witty. It implies there's something wrong with being a refugee which is xenophobic. I know the real intent of the song is just to have a go at Skacel and the xenaphobia is just a side affect but it's a pretty serious one. It's also a bit stupid considering our history as a club founded by Irish immigrants escaping famine and political persecution in Ireland.

12-11-2012, 05:06 PM

Given the reasons why they were here and the way they were treated by many indigenous Scots, I think their experience would have been not unlike that of refugees in Scotland today.

The_Sauz
12-11-2012, 05:14 PM
Given the reasons why they were here and the way they were treated by many indigenous Scots, I think their experience would have been not unlike that of refugees in Scotland today.
Which ones are you talking about :confused:

12-11-2012, 05:16 PM
We also sing a sing about hating Dundee,I'm from Dundee and I quite like Dundee fc. Can we stop singing that aswell please cause I'm offended. Thanks.

As for skacel, he came to hearts smuggled in a submarine with no visa and a head like a horse.

People shout and sing things at games they wouldn't repeat outside the ground. Same as any comidian telling rude jokes that wouldn't be repeated outside that room. That's life, people are getting there knickers in a twist over a puddle drinker. Move on

12-11-2012, 05:16 PM

A refugee is defined as someone forced from their country by war, persecution or disaster.

Given they were fleeing a famine and political persecution I'd suggest refugee may not be an inaccurate term.

12-11-2012, 05:28 PM
Which ones are you talking about :confused:

You'll get the answer by looking at thos website http://www.scottishrefugeecouncil.org.uk/news_and_events/latest_news/1852_refugee_attacked_in_glasgow

You'll also see why so many of us are unhappy about Hibs Fans using the word refugee as a derogatory term.

12-11-2012, 07:01 PM
Calling anyone a vegetable is surely akin to suggesting they have severe learning difficulties; therefore unacceptable. No more "Yams".

Likening anyone to an individual with severe facial deformities is offensive to anyone who actually does have such deformities, and so is unacceptable. No more "merricks".

Where does it all stop.

We all know skacel isn't a refugee.

And to whoever suggested "******" isn't a race; it is a completely derogatory term for black people, so it is a word for a race. As it was used by people who believed that they were superior to these black people, it is utterly racist in a way that, as when Hibs fans sing the skacel song, "refugee" will never be.

12-11-2012, 07:08 PM
Calling anyone a vegetable is surely akin to suggesting they have severe learning difficulties; therefore unacceptable. No more "Yams".

Likening anyone to an individual with severe facial deformities is offensive to anyone who actually does have such deformities, and so is unacceptable. No more "merricks".

Where does it all stop.

And to whoever suggested "******" isn't a race; it is a completely derogatory term for black people, so it is a word for a race. As it was used by people who believed that they were superior to these black people, it is utterly racist in a way that, as when Hibs fans sing the skacel song, "refugee" will never be.

So what point is the song trying to make exactly?

totalfootball
12-11-2012, 07:11 PM

Well it's obviously not a pleasant word to use... Ok ill change it to 'arse' or 'prick' if you prefer! Everything else in my previous comment stands! Skacel is a ****er and I'd happily give him a left hook, straight right combo! BOSH

I have no idea why you're pretending to be this stupid, falkirk. Next you'll be telling us 'refugee' isnt a race therefore it can't possibly be a racist song :aok:

So now I'm getting words put into my mouth! :confused:

I cannot believe that you don't see the difference between mocking someone who has a disability, something that they are possibly going to be really sensitive about, and singing a song about someone being a refugee when they're not actually a refugee.

If I went to another country to live and work and had people, who I didn't like and who didn't like me, calling me a refugee, it honestly would not bother me in the slightest.

The thing that really annoys me in things like this is other people getting involved and deciding what is and isn't acceptable. The target of the song is Skacel and no-one else. It's a song that he's been fully aware of for several years, we even had a public rendition of it from Derek Riordan a few years ago so there's been plenty of opportunities for him to make a complaint about it and there's been nothing from him. In fact I feel he's actually the kind of person who enjoys that kind of interaction.

If the target of the song doesn't feel the need to complain about it or make any issue out of it then I think that should be end of story.

I don't think Skacel's losing too much sleep over this whole issue, he's too preoccupied with pulling pints and selling cupcakes in aid of his former club, so I don't see why we should be too bothered about it.

So what point is the song trying to make exactly?

The same point as calling anyone a "yam" or a "merrick".

12-11-2012, 07:18 PM
On a separate note, where's the compliance officer here? Last season LG was suspended nearly every week for gestures which were nowhere near as inflammatory as Skacel's on Sunday. Oh & this was just after he'd hit one player in the back & pushed his head in another's face! LG would have been out until next year!

12-11-2012, 07:21 PM
We also sing a sing about hating Dundee,I'm from Dundee and I quite like Dundee fc. Can we stop singing that aswell please cause I'm offended. Thanks.

As for skacel, he came to hearts smuggled in a submarine with no visa and a head like a horse.

People shout and sing things at games they wouldn't repeat outside the ground. Same as any comidian telling rude jokes that wouldn't be repeated outside that room. That's life, people are getting there knickers in a twist over a puddle drinker. Move on

I think the thing is a football ground is a public place, so actually it is "outside the room". A lot of Hibs supporters are offended by the Orange songs sung by Rangers - the Huns could make a similar argument to yours.

There's a need for balance in these things, and I suppose it's up to the individual whether they want to sing a song. It's also for those who think it is wrong to say so. I think we'd be in a right mess if the PC brigade had us in such a dark place that we aren't allowed to say what we think is right or wrong.

I haven't heard anyone on here saying the police need involved or anything like that. If people want to sing something that they consider risque, or a bit tasteless, we'd be failing them if we didn't respond and give them that sense of devilment.

The irony of Hibs supporters singing about refugees, or slagging someone's origins off, seems to be lost in the middle of this. It might be worth thinking that some Hibs supporters think this is an affront to the club itself, and what it was set up for.

SENT FROM MY HIGH HORSE USING MORAL AND ARTISTIC INDIGNATION

12-11-2012, 07:28 PM
I think the thing is a football ground is a public place, so actually it is "outside the room". A lot of Hibs supporters are offended by the Orange songs sung by Rangers - the Huns could make a similar argument to yours.

There's a need for balance in these things, and I suppose it's up to the individual whether they want to sing a song. It's also for those who think it is wrong to say so. I think we'd be in a right mess if the PC brigade had us in such a dark place that we aren't allowed to say what we think is right or wrong.

I haven't heard anyone on here saying the police need involved or anything like that. If people want to sing something that they consider risque, or a bit tasteless, we'd be failing them if we didn't respond and give them that sense of devilment.

The irony of Hibs supporters singing about refugees, or slagging someone's origins off, seems to be lost in the middle of this. It might be worth thinking that some Hibs supporters think this is an affront to the club itself, and what it was set up for.
SENT FROM MY HIGH HORSE USING MORAL AND ARTISTIC INDIGNATION

:agree::agree:

12-11-2012, 07:29 PM
The same point as calling anyone a "yam" or a "merrick".

Yeah but it isn't really. Not saying you are one of them, but there are people that accuse the PC Brigade of "linguistic fascism". Meaning that words are manipulated to give a sinister meaning. Children are no longer "smacked" they are "beaten" etc.

I think there is a need for common sense in this. If "refugee" wasn't a derogatory word, then it wouldn't be in the song. I think we all know that Yams don't grow in the ground, but we do know that a lot of people in the Soviet Bloc lived in oppressive regimes they wanted to escape.

I think to trivialise what happened there is a bit off. The problem I have is that the twat that the song is about gets off on our fans singing it. To me he is as bad as some of the Uncle Toms that allowed white folks to make jokes at the expense of their skin.

I haven't ever heard Polish, or Czech people joking about being refugees. It's maybe a hint that self deprecation doesn't fit in with their sense of humour.

12-11-2012, 07:29 PM

I'm not sure if you're referring to my post, but I totally agree with you. So much so in fact that I think you've actually made the argument against singing the Skacel song.

You've stated that the word "******" was used by people who believed they were superior to black people as a derogatory term. You've also acknowledged (in a separate post) that the use of the word "refugee" in the Skacel song is designed to be derogatory.

By extension of those facts, surely you can admit that the word "refugee" can only be used in a derogatory way by people who believe they are better than refugees?

On a side note, I see Islam Feruz has been called into the Scotland Under-21 squad. Given that he arrived in this country seeking asylum from violence in Somalia at aged 6, if he were to play against Hibs would it be acceptable to sign a derogatory song about him being a refugee?

12-11-2012, 07:38 PM
Skacel is a good player. He certainly made a difference to the match yesterday and arguably should have been credited with a goal.

However, the 51 shirt thing shows that he has his mind on matters other than Dundee Utd and that will eventually find him out.

He's unprofessional.

Chibs
12-11-2012, 08:41 PM

Where does it all stop.

First of all ,and this no way tries to have a dig at you,but my belief is that it is no longer acceptable to call anyone black we are all coloured.

That bankrupt club can call me gay ,a peggseller. tramp,hobo, and many other insults but it won't
stop the inevitable you are

12-11-2012, 08:43 PM
Rudi Skacel revealed he almost signed for Celtic because he did not believe Hearts were a big enough club. But they are the BIG team :fenlon

12-11-2012, 08:58 PM
Couldn't give a ***** about the Satchel song - it's just a stupid song!

Is it any more offensive than "Oh the Hibees are Gay" or the yams calling us gypos?

Both are more derogatory than the refugee song which is so untrue and inaccurate it's laughable.

Bignose - get over it! - 2-1 ya bignose wee scrote!

12-11-2012, 09:10 PM
First of all ,and this no way tries to have a dig at you,but my belief is that it is no longer acceptable to call anyone black we are all coloured.

That bankrupt club can call me gay ,a peggseller. tramp,hobo, and many other insults but it won't

It might be your belief, but black is the acceptable term. Coloured most certainly isn't.

12-11-2012, 09:25 PM

Is it any more offensive than "Oh the Hibees are Gay" or the yams calling us gypos?

Both are more derogatory than the refugee song which is so untrue and inaccurate it's laughable.

We shouldn't judge ourselves by their standards.

12-11-2012, 09:39 PM
Heard a boy in the east shout to him about getting back to the concentration camp. On armistice day, this is not a joke.

Seriously though it was a big scare fest with some people in the east. This boy in particular

12-11-2012, 09:45 PM
We shouldn't judge ourselves by their standards.

Exactly.

That enters OF territory. 'Oh we only sing that, the other lot are worse.'

12-11-2012, 09:46 PM
I don't know whose fascination with him is more creepy: theirs or ours.

We shouldn't give him the oxygen to annoy us. If he feeds off being a yam fud, then starve him of that attention. This thread is already 11 pages too long.

12-11-2012, 09:54 PM

No we are not all coloured, black is the correct and PC term to use.

12-11-2012, 10:50 PM
I don't know whose fascination with him is more creepy: theirs or ours.

We shouldn't give him the oxygen to annoy us. If he feeds off being a yam fud, then starve him of that attention. This thread is already 11 pages too long.

This is exactly my opinion. Why let them believe he gets to us? Or let him believe it. He is a loser. Complete and utter loser.

Cauld Bovril
12-11-2012, 11:24 PM

Is it not time to change that to "we love Dundee" after all their yambusting exploits?:dunno:

The_Sauz
12-11-2012, 11:40 PM
You'll get the answer by looking at thos website http://www.scottishrefugeecouncil.org.uk/news_and_events/latest_news/1852_refugee_attacked_in_glasgow

You'll also see why so many of us are unhappy about Hibs Fans using the word refugee as a derogatory term.
Mate I'm not disagreeing with you, just curious that's all :wink:
Some off the things that are sang at football matches baffle me, but I feel I don't have the right to come on a fans forum and criticize fellow supporters to what's right & what's wrong, I just don't reply.

Johnny Clash
13-11-2012, 08:19 AM
Trouble is, if you don't challenge stuff like this then nothing will change.

I used to sit in front of a complete moron in the Famous Five stand who would regularly shout out racist abuse at opposition players. The fact that Kevin Harper was playing in a Hibs jersey completely by-passed this guy's brain.

A few of us tried explaining why his comments were offensive and moronic but he thought he had a 'right' to shout abuse at players because their skin colour was a different colour to his!

My mate almost took one off his chin at a game against Celtic and only then did he shut up. After that he would sit in the huff, occasionally making some sarcastic remark under his breath about Hibs turning 'PC' then the following season he disappeared.

Perhaps he switched his allegiance to a less 'PC' club where making nazi salutes and shouting racist or sectarian abuse is acceptable? He'd probably be just as happy singing the 'famine song' but then again, maybe he's still here at Easter Road ... choir master for a completely stupid song that is definitely not Hibs class'?

Having a debate on a forum like this is good. It's a shame we have to right enough but it might just make some of our supporters think again.

If you are not part of the solution
...you are part of the problem!!

13-11-2012, 08:34 AM

This shows exactly what the problem is. It's all about the attitudes of those who sign those songs. By using words like Gay, Gypo or Refugee and thinking these are a put down, they show themselves up to be bigots.

13-11-2012, 08:46 AM
This shows exactly what the problem is. It's all about the attitudes of those who sign those songs. By using words like Gay, Gypo or Refugee and thinking these are a put down, they show themselves up to be bigots.

Take your point but by extending the logic you shouldn't ever use words like "stupid" as a put down, since this would show you to be bigoted against a different category of person (people of low intelligence).

13-11-2012, 10:07 AM
Take your point but by extending the logic you shouldn't ever use words like "stupid" as a put down, since this would show you to be bigoted against a different category of person (people of low intelligence).

Racism is 'hatred of one person by another-or the belief that another person is less than human-because of skin colour, language, place of birth, culture or any factor that reveals the basic nature of that person'. -from the Anti Defamation League website. 'Race', a wooly concept at the best of times, doesnt come into it. And criticising someone for being stupid is outside those parameters i would have thought.

Leaving the boring linguistic definition/is it or isnt it racist out of it for a minute, (IMO if you dont think the Skacel song is racist youre just an idiot, but there you go), the singing of the Skacel song is considered by Kick it Out to be racist. The sports governing bodies are very likely to find it racist. It could get the club fined and sanctioned.

I just hope as Skacels career comes to an end so does the song. Because folk outside the club will be listening.

13-11-2012, 10:15 AM
Racism is 'hatred of one person by another-or the belief that another person is less than human-because of skin colour, language, place of birth, culture or any factor that reveals the basic nature of that person'. -from the Anti Defamation League website. 'Race', a wooly concept at the best of times, doesnt come into it. And criticising someone for being stupid is outside those parameters i would have thought.

Leaving the boring linguistic definition/is it or isnt it racist out of it for a minute, (IMO if you dont think the Skacel song is racist youre just an idiot, but there you go), the singing of the Skacel song is considered by Kick it Out to be racist. The sports governing bodies are very likely to find it racist. It could get the club fined and sanctioned.

I just hope as Skacels career comes to an end so does the song. Because folk outside the club will be listening.

By your definition of racism - including any factor that reveals the basic nature of that person - slagging people off for their low intelligence would be racist. And yet you appear to have no qualms about calling people idiots! I might suggest that this is a tad hypocritical, if only I were confident that "hypocrite" wouldn't be defined next week as a racist term.

Johnny Clash
13-11-2012, 10:51 AM
Hibs were set up in 1875 and started off training in the Meadows.

Anti-Irish/Catholic mobs, enraged at the 'Green Jerseys', invaded the pitch and viscously attacked the Hibs players.

The mob were attacking Irish immigrants seeking refuge from starvation,poverty and persecution.

The Hibs team responded by organising protection in the form of navvies working on the railways - they were suitably tooled up.

The mob were of course cowards and didn't fancy their chances so disappeared.

Pat Stanton and others had relatives who stood up and fought for the right of our team to exist in the face of racism and bigotry.
Our victory led to the creation of many teams... including Glasgow Hibernian (last minute name change to Celtic for business reasons) and Dundee Hibernian (aka Dundee Utd.)

Since then we have had many Hibs heroes from across the world.... Sauzee, Jack, Benji, Latapy and now Claros to name a few!

A few apologists for that offensive song admit the word 'refugee' isn't really the point.

I'm afraid they are right. It's just a nonsensical way of showing bigotry against someone who is different. In this case, someone from a different country,

Skacel is a tosser of course and he gets a perverse pleasure from winding us up but singing a racist song in response to his antics is a disgrace.

13-11-2012, 11:07 AM
By your definition of racism - including any factor that reveals the basic nature of that person - slagging people off for their low intelligence would be racist. And yet you appear to have no qualms about calling people idiots! I might suggest that this is a tad hypocritical, if only I were confident that "hypocrite" wouldn't be defined next week as a racist term.

It would only be hypocritical to someone who was deliberately trying to misinterpret something. In my opinion, yes, these people are idiots. and no, in my opinion that does not make me a hypocrite. And most importantly, i have no interest in going to ER and singing 'FalkirkHibby is a ****ing Idiot' to the tune of yellow submarine, because then i would be behaving like an ignorant fanny.

13-11-2012, 11:41 AM
It would only be hypocritical to someone who was deliberately trying to misinterpret something. In my opinion, yes, these people are idiots. and no, in my opinion that does not make me a hypocrite. And most importantly, i have no interest in going to ER and singing 'FalkirkHibby is a ****ing Idiot' to the tune of yellow submarine, because then i would be behaving like an ignorant fanny.

Think you may be missing my argument here, which is at heart a simple syllogism.

(1) Racism is coming to be defined so broadly (as in your quoted example) that it includes any factor that reveals the basic nature of a person .

(2) Low intelligence is in the basic nature of a person.

(3) Therefore, pejorative remarks based on low intelligence are racist.

If you are going (as you have done) to dissociate the concept of racism from race and define it to include far more insults than just black bassa, white bassa, yellow bassa, etc, then to be consistent you shirley ought to be prepared to give up some of your own favourite insults? Morons, imbeciles and idiots as originally defined were every bit as much trapped inside themselves as yellow people are trapped in their skins. It's irrational imo to rail about discrimination against one group (such as yellow-skinned people) and fling insults towards another (such as stupid people).

:singing: FalkirkHibby is a farquing imbecile :singing: might be better as it ends with a full three syllables rather than the more-like-two-and-half of :singing: idiot :singing: .

13-11-2012, 11:47 AM
I'm surprised all these people who are up in arms about people singing that Rudi Skacel is a refugee have managed to stick it out as football fans all these years, given that this is a fairly innocuous song compared to many that I've heard sung over the years.

13-11-2012, 12:05 PM

I used to sit in front of a complete moron in the Famous Five stand who would regularly shout out racist abuse at opposition players. The fact that Kevin Harper was playing in a Hibs jersey completely by-passed this guy's brain.

A few of us tried explaining why his comments were offensive and moronic but he thought he had a 'right' to shout abuse at players because their skin colour was a different colour to his!

My mate almost took one off his chin at a game against Celtic and only then did he shut up. After that he would sit in the huff, occasionally making some sarcastic remark under his breath about Hibs turning 'PC' then the following season he disappeared.

Perhaps he switched his allegiance to a less 'PC' club where making nazi salutes and shouting racist or sectarian abuse is acceptable? He'd probably be just as happy singing the 'famine song' but then again, maybe he's still here at Easter Road ... choir master for a completely stupid song that is definitely not Hibs class'?

Having a debate on a forum like this is good. It's a shame we have to right enough but it might just make some of our supporters think again.

So threatened violence was part of the solution? Sounds like a whole different problem to me.

Although i don't doubt the guy was an erse.

13-11-2012, 12:08 PM
Think you may be missing my argument here, which is at heart a simple syllogism.

(1) Racism is coming to be defined so broadly (as in your quoted example) that it includes any factor that reveals the basic nature of a person .

If you are going (as you have done) to dissociate the concept of racism from race and define it to include far more insults than just black bassa, white bassa, yellow bassa, etc, then to be consistent you shirley ought to be prepared to give up some of your own favourite insults? Morons, imbeciles and idiots as originally defined were every bit as much trapped inside themselves as yellow people are trapped in their skins. It's irrational imo to rail about discrimination against one group (such as yellow-skinned people) and fling insults towards another (such as stupid people).

:singing: FalkirkHibby is a farquing imbecile :singing: might be better as it ends with a full three syllables rather than the more-like-two-and-half of :singing: idiot :singing: .

I understood your argument first time round. I just believe its based on a false premise. The ADL quote, which i think is helpful but not definitive, isnt really the point. (for what its worth 'the basic nature' of a person seems to me to exclude someones relative intelligence, even taking into account the question of whether IQ is measurable and whether its learned or innate). Most people inherently know when something is unacceptable and when it isnt, and semantics about definitions and weak accusations of hypocrisy don't disguise that.

Ultimately it doesnt matter what you or I think, its what the governing bodies and the agenda-setters think. And if this song continues to be audible it will catch up with us sooner or later. See what the Show Racism The Red Card
Guy thinks of the Skacel song. Theres a bigger spotlight on Ibrox than at Easter Road, i admit, but some kind if censure could definitely happen. If we were to get fined, affecting Pats transfer budget would folk continue to defend singing it?

http://www.pieandbovril.com/forum/index.php/topic/138920-rangers-urged-to-carry-out-probe-into-racist-song-aimed-skacel/

13-11-2012, 12:16 PM
Why would we get pulled up for singing the refugee song? It's less prevalent and shorter-lived than their 'gay' song, and homophobia is explicitly proscribed. Nothing has been done about that though.

13-11-2012, 12:23 PM
Why would we get pulled up for singing the refugee song? It's less prevalent and shorter-lived than their 'gay' song, and homophobia is explicitly proscribed. Nothing has been done about that though.

See the link. Early last year there was a Show Racism the Red Card meeting at ER and Ged Grebby Of that organisation spoke in the press about 'abuse against Eastern European players being an increasing problem'.

13-11-2012, 12:40 PM

This sounds like the kind of argument lawyers put up when defending folk who are guilty. You focus on the word racism when what we are really talking about is discrimination. I think most of us know discrimination when we see or hear it - and equally recognise things that are not - but not always. It was interesting that an earlier poster said that "Oh the Hibees are Gay" is far more derogatory than the refugee song. On the face of it, that suggests that poster thinks being gay is something really bad does it not?

13-11-2012, 12:42 PM
See the link. Early last year there was a Show Racism the Red Card meeting at ER and Ged Grebby Of that organisation spoke in the press about 'abuse against Eastern European players being an increasing problem'.

Snatchel is central european.

13-11-2012, 12:44 PM
This sounds like the kind of argument lawyers put up when defending folk who are guilty. You focus on the word racism when what we are really talking about is discrimination. I think most of us know discrimination when we see or hear it - and equally recognise things that are not - but not always. It was interesting that an earlier poster said that "Oh the Hibees are Gay" is far more derogatory than the refugee song. On the face of it, that suggests that poster thinks being gay is something really bad does it not?

No, it doesn't. It highlights the fact that the poster recognises that 'gay' is being used pejoratively.

13-11-2012, 12:51 PM
Snatchel is central european.

Mr.Grebby called him that. Take it up with him:greengrin

Putting it another way, there were Hearts fans in the crowd on Sunday there to cheer on Skacel. According to the press one of them made a complaint about the stadium announcer playing 'Taxman'. If they can make a formal complaint about that...​

13-11-2012, 01:04 PM
Most people inherently know when something is unacceptable and when it isnt, and semantics about definitions and weak accusations of hypocrisy don't disguise that.

That can't possibly be true - if it were, the original thread about The Refugee Song, which was about 50-50 split on whether it was acceptable, would have been over in a page. (And there's a similar split evident in this thread.)

Ultimately it doesnt matter what you or I think, its what the governing bodies and the agenda-setters think. And if this song continues to be audible it will catch up with us sooner or later.

It matters to me what I think. The way you've phrased things there, you're more bothered about people getting caught singing The Refugee Song than about the singing of it.

http://www.pieandbovril.com/forum/index.php/topic/138920-rangers-urged-to-carry-out-probe-into-racist-song-aimed-skacel/

That thread's almost entirely OFGTF fans pointing out that the other lot is worse. Where are Jack Regan and BITC by the way by the way? (Probably gone away, weary of being called bigots by Hibs fans.)

13-11-2012, 01:14 PM
:tsk tsk:

No, it doesn't. It highlights the fact that the poster recognises that 'gay' is being used pejoratively.

Paisley, discrimination is a good thing. Indiscriminate is a pejorative word - as in "indiscriminate shooting". If you want to have laws that prohibit certain forms of discrimination, you better be clear why. If not precisely on grounds of "race", because that's too hard to define, then you better be prepared to say what.

As I've already said, I think it's quite wrong to discriminate against people on grounds of their intelligence, and castigate them for it. It's completely unfair, as unfair as it is to discriminate on grounds of religion. Why is one form of discrimination lawful and the other not? :dunno:

13-11-2012, 01:18 PM
That can't possibly be true - if it were, the original thread about The Refugee Song, which was about 50-50 split on whether it was acceptable, would have been over in a page. (And there's a similar split evident in this thread.)

It matters to me what I think. The way you've phrased things there, you're more bothered about people getting caught singing The Refugee Song than about the singing of it.

That thread's almost entirely OFGTF fans pointing out that the other lot is worse. Where are Jack Regan and BITC by the way by the way? (Probably gone away, weary of being called bigots by Hibs fans.)

1. There's also the possibility that people are arguing over whether it's acceptable not because they've given it a lot of thought, but because they don't like being told what to do by 'do-gooders'. Which is a perfectly rational response.

2. I hadn't intended it to be phrased like that. For the avoidance of doubt, I am equally unhappy about the Skacel song being song and the prospect of our club being punished and castigated for it.

3.regardless of your opinion of the pieandbovril thread, the quote from the Show The Racism The Red Card campaign is valid. He's heard the song, disapproves and others in positions of power in football will be aware of it too.

Id wondered about Jack and BITG as well. They'd presumably both pop over to gloat if, after all the abuse they've taken over bigotry and bile, it's Hibs that gets into trouble for unacceptable singing.

scott7_0(Prague)
13-11-2012, 01:19 PM

Lucky for us, Skácel is not from Eastern Europe then.

13-11-2012, 01:20 PM

The poster was suggesting that it is far worse to call someone gay than to call them a refugee. So I think the meaning of that is quite clear?

Hibees07
13-11-2012, 01:24 PM
Is there much point continuing this thread, I'm sure everyone know's it was wrong to sing that song but it is really a one off at Easter Road and I'm sure it will not surface again. I would prefer not to give any publicity to a Hibby hating Yam.

13-11-2012, 01:31 PM
1. There's also the possibility that people are arguing over whether it's acceptable not because they've given it a lot of thought, but because they don't like being told what to do by 'do-gooders'. Which is a perfectly rational response.

2. I hadn't intended it to be phrased like that. For the avoidance of doubt, I am equally unhappy about the Skacel song being song and the prospect of our club being punished and castigated for it.

3.regardless of your opinion of the pieandbovril thread, the quote from the Show The Racism The Red Card campaign is valid. He's heard the song, disapproves and others in positions of power in football will be aware of it too.

Id wondered about Jack and BITG as well. They'd presumably both pop over to gloat if, after all the abuse they've taken over bigotry and bile, it's Hibs that gets into trouble for unacceptable singing.

Agree with all that and The Refugee Song is undoubtedly past its sell by date (though not as far past as The Gay Song), but I am genuinely fearful of a future where it will be impossible to have a vitriolic and insulting song about Satchel without tipping some outraged brigadier or other into a frenzy. What's next after Show Racism The Red Card? Stop The Fulton Song as it's too offensive to people with BDD? :dunno:

13-11-2012, 04:18 PM
The poster was suggesting that it is far worse to call someone gay than to call them a refugee. So I think the meaning of that is quite clear?

Given homophobia is explicitly proscribed in scottish law whereas calling someone a refugee isn't, it seems the poster has a point.

HibeeMassive
13-11-2012, 05:44 PM
Anyway.... Is the little fud going to be pulled up by the SFA committee, who repeatedly charged Leigh Griffiths last season for gesturing at supporters?

13-11-2012, 06:53 PM
rudolf is a dirty rat dosnt deserve all the attention:flag:

13-11-2012, 07:06 PM
Anyway.... Is the little fud going to be pulled up by the SFA committee, who repeatedly charged Leigh Griffiths last season for gesturing at supporters?

:agree:We should all email the SFA . Hes got away with it all the time

13-11-2012, 07:19 PM
If he'd been playing for Hearts against us on Sunday he'd probably have got a hat trick-maybe God IS a Hibee.

13-11-2012, 07:53 PM
maybe God IS a Hibee.

Maybe. And Jesus was definitely a refugee:stirrer:

13-11-2012, 08:19 PM
Is there much point continuing this thread, I'm sure everyone know's it was wrong to sing that song but it is really a one off at Easter Road and I'm sure it will not surface again. I would prefer not to give any publicity to a Hibby hating Yam.

This has been going on since Skacel's first game at Easter Road. I think it's important for people who disagree with it, so that people looking in can see that we don't all agree with it being sung. We all have limits to what we find acceptable, and unless we speak up we are all tarred with the same brush.

It's hardly the same thing as demanding a front seat in the bus, but we have to stand up for what we think is right. If other people are uncomfortable with that, they maybe need to ask themselves why.

13-11-2012, 08:26 PM
This has been going on since Skacel's first game at Easter Road. I think it's important for people who disagree with it, so that people looking in can see that we don't all agree with it being sung. We all have limits to what we find acceptable, and unless we speak up we are all tarred with the same brush.

It's hardly the same thing as demanding a front seat in the bus, but we have to stand up for what we think is right. If other people are uncomfortable with that, they maybe need to ask themselves why.

i agree and i will add that the whole skacel/hibs thing was started by hibs fans singing this song...up until the refugee song appeared skacel was just a player earning a crust scoring goals...then the song and the riordan video came into the public domain and skatcel quite rightly bites back...the guy probably thinks all hibs fans are racist and who can blame him?

im away for my crash helmet.

13-11-2012, 08:30 PM
i agree and i will add that the whole skacel/hibs thing was started by hibs fans singing this song...up until the refugee song appeared skacel was just a player earning a crust scoring goals...then the song and the riordan video came into the public domain and skatcel quite rightly bites back...the guy probably thinks all hibs fans are racist and who can blame him?

im away for my crash helmet.

meanwhile, you think ALL mini-orcs are homophobic???

13-11-2012, 08:33 PM
Got to say I think the Skachel Refugee song is classless and I've NEVER sung it.

Got to be better ways of slagging him than being a psuedo racist twat

heidtheba
13-11-2012, 08:53 PM

Agree with this post completely.

13-11-2012, 09:48 PM
I'm surprised all these people who are up in arms about people singing that Rudi Skacel is a refugee have managed to stick it out as football fans all these years, given that this is a fairly innocuous song compared to many that I've heard sung over the years.

Not IMO - it's the most ignorant, stupid and offensive song I've ever heard sung by Hibs fans in over 30 years of following the club, with the exception of the Edinburgh song which has only ever been sung by a thankfully tiny minority.

One of the most damning things about it is that it's an insult to the memory of the people that founded Hibs who were themselves imigrants and the victims of bigotry. So the people singing it are not only showing themselves up as shallow minded (if not agressively racist) but also ignorant of their own club's history and the ethos upon which it was founded.

I've heard some pretty vile songs at the football over the years but have found it a point of pride that they generally have not emanated from the Hibs end of the matches I've attended - so it certainly gives me no pleasure whatsoever to hear Hibs fans singing such a classless and offensive song and yes, it somewhat pisses on that particular little parade of mine. Not that it'll ever stop me going to watch the team I love - although I could certainly understand if it put some potential supporters off coming back (like uh maybe imigrants or refugees for example, or maybe folk with children or just a social conscience for that matter).

13-11-2012, 09:57 PM
:tsk tsk:

Paisley, discrimination is a good thing. Indiscriminate is a pejorative word - as in "indiscriminate shooting". If you want to have laws that prohibit certain forms of discrimination, you better be clear why. If not precisely on grounds of "race", because that's too hard to define, then you better be prepared to say what.

As I've already said, I think it's quite wrong to discriminate against people on grounds of their intelligence, and castigate them for it. It's completely unfair, as unfair as it is to discriminate on grounds of religion. Why is one form of discrimination lawful and the other not? :dunno:

Slagging people for having blatantly stupid ideas is perfectly reasonable in my book - folk have the choice of what to think afterall.

Using the word "refugee" as an insult is inately nasty IMO - refugees generally don't have a choice about their homes being torn apart by war or about being persecuted in their homelands afterall.

mikethehibee69
13-11-2012, 10:05 PM
:flag::top marksYeah I know you :wink:
He really should be punished for that, it was actions tantamount to breach of the peace, he could have tipped someone in the crowd over the edge into either invading the pitch/throwing something at him in a fit of rage. Players get booked for running towards THEIR OWN SUPPORTERS after scoring a goal so what he was up to is surely inciting the crowd. Would love to meet him up a dark alley with no witnesses. Wouldn't ever play another game of football, trust me.:giruy:

14-11-2012, 04:19 PM

They also consider the term "hun" to be sectarian, despite it being nothing of the sort so I would take what they say with a pinch of salt.

14-11-2012, 05:44 PM
They also consider the term "hun" to be sectarian, despite it being nothing of the sort so I would take what they say with a pinch of salt.

You do know how high profile SRTRC are these days, dont you? Theyve got representation right at the top of football. YOU might take what he says with a pinch of salt, i doubt the decision makers in our game would.

...and (although i dont really want to open this can of worms in this thread), in Catholic communities in Northern Ireland people who have protestant friends get called 'hunlovers' by the knuckledragging fraternity ovrr there. That suggests its a term that goes beyond football.

14-11-2012, 06:01 PM
Anyone know Vincent Lunny's email? I want to email him to ask why he has not taken action against Skacel for his behaviour on Sunday. I also wish to ask him to explain his inaction versus his constant persecution of LG.

15-11-2012, 07:55 AM
Anyone know Vincent Lunny's email? I want to email him to ask why he has not taken action against Skacel for his behaviour on Sunday. I also wish to ask him to explain his inaction versus his constant persecution of LG.

Good man!

I's ridiculas and they do need to answer, why the rule was enforced against Leigh, on more than one occasion - yet Skacel gets away with his actions?

15-11-2012, 08:26 AM

Let's ignore some racism because it's not as offensive as some other racism?

15-11-2012, 09:06 AM
Do we know yet whether Jimmy Savile was a racist? I haven't seen any black faces on the news alleging he abused them. Would the BBC be in even more bother if it turns out that they not only facilitated Savile's crimes, but facilitated them in a discriminatory way?

15-11-2012, 09:12 AM
Do we know yet whether Jimmy Savile was a racist? I haven't seen any black faces on the news alleging he abused them. Would the BBC be in even more bother if it turns out that they not only facilitated Savile's crimes, but facilitated them in a discriminatory way?

No, but we do know he was a Catholic. Surely that's a start? :dunno:

15-11-2012, 10:33 AM
13 pages of going around in circles, you've got to love .net!

15-11-2012, 10:50 AM
13 pages of going around in circles, you've got to love .net!

No you don't.

15-11-2012, 11:39 AM
13 pages. Ah well, everyone else seems to have had a say so I may as well have my tuppence worth.

The Skakel song is silly as he is not, has not been and will never be a refugee. It is not racist as refugees are not a race. It is just a silly song that is not even that funny. It is disrespectful to someone who has come into our country to work legally and I can see why he would get annoyed by it.

In terms of getting offended by it? To use examples of songs I have heard the Yam support singing, songs about Dean Shiel's loss of an eye and Tony Mowbray's loss of a wife are far more offensive than the Skakel song. Why? Dean Shiels actually did lose an eye and Tony Mowbray actually did lose a wife. Skakel is not actually a refugee.

15-11-2012, 04:37 PM
13 pages. Ah well, everyone else seems to have had a say so I may as well have my tuppence worth.

The Skakel song is silly as he is not, has not been and will never be a refugee. It is not racist as refugees are not a race. It is just a silly song that is not even that funny. It is disrespectful to someone who has come into our country to work legally and I can see why he would get annoyed by it.

In terms of getting offended by it? To use examples of songs I have heard the Yam support singing, songs about Dean Shiel's loss of an eye and Tony Mowbray's loss of a wife are far more offensive than the Skakel song. Why? Dean Shiels actually did lose an eye and Tony Mowbray actually did lose a wife. Skakel is not actually a refugee.

Would that not mean that a song that offends many people is worse than a song that offends one?

15-11-2012, 04:58 PM
Club official stated last night that the song was heard by Director's and they were not happy about it.....Will it stop fans signing these songs, if the Club send out a message not to?

15-11-2012, 05:27 PM
Club official stated last night that the song was heard by Director's and they were not happy about it.....Will it stop fans signing these songs, if the Club send out a message not to?

Hopefully it gives encouragement to people to tell them to stop singing it.

15-11-2012, 05:30 PM
Hopefully it gives encouragement to people to tell them to stop singing it.

...and would partially justify the length of the threads on the subject, although some folk obviously think its something not worth discussing :dunno:

maturehibby
15-11-2012, 09:05 PM
Was seen today at the Jet 2 desk Edinburgh airport going to Prague - hope his reception from us sent him home crying to his mummy

euansdad
15-11-2012, 09:07 PM
Just think it cheapens us. We are better than hearts and rangers whose bigotry extends to vile abuse like that. We shouldn't plummet to their depths

16-11-2012, 12:21 AM
There's so much more we could be slagging him about. His nose and his ears for a start.

I mean, what the **** are his ears all about? It's like he's wearing the ones left at the bottom of the mr. Potatohead box because they are too ridiculous.

16-11-2012, 07:41 AM
There's so much more we could be slagging him about. His nose and his ears for a start.

I mean, what the **** are his ears all about? It's like he's wearing the ones left at the bottom of the mr. Potatohead box because they are too ridiculous.

:tsk tsk: Risky, risky, with the President of the Society of Big Eared Lawyers monitoring.

16-11-2012, 08:47 AM
:tsk tsk: Risky, risky, with the President of the Society of Big Eared Lawyers monitoring.

scott7_0(Prague)
16-11-2012, 08:58 AM
Was seen today at the Jet 2 desk Edinburgh airport going to Prague - hope his reception from us sent him home crying to his mummy

Next time gees a wee heids up, I could have arranged something for his homecoming.

16-11-2012, 10:20 AM

Bit strange he would be going to Prague on the Thursday when Utd play Kilmarnock tonight.

16-11-2012, 10:26 AM
Bit strange he would be going to Prague on the Thursday when Utd play Kilmarnock tonight.

Myabe it was some other horse faced, squinty eyed, cheating scrot?

16-11-2012, 11:13 AM
The way I hear it is that he had ordered a range of leisure clothing with the number 51 on it at the Yam store. However, when they refused to accept his debit card things became a bit heated. The final straw for Skarkle was when the assistant got a bit wide and said "you've got neighhhhh chance with that card Dobbin, it's cash or you're out on your ear".

Well, as they say, one thing led to another and L&B arrived to calm the situation. This might have worked had it not been for the fact it was their mounted division that they sent.

maturehibby
16-11-2012, 11:45 AM
Would recognise that nose anywhere ( to the older ones it would give Jimmy Durante (snozzleface) a run for his money - it was that part of his anatomy that the Linesman seen last sunday that played him off side

16-11-2012, 11:52 AM
He needs to pop home now and again with an empty suitcase and pick up the rest of his wages that was going into his CZ account.

You could certainly ski down his nose right enough. Goofy eyed ****bag.

copycat
16-11-2012, 12:12 PM
Are we still talking about this bellend!!!

Jeezo, he will love this thinking he is that important!!