View Full Version : Levein out at last (merged)

05-11-2012, 01:18 PM
Just wondered if Potter's been sacked yet, or maybe they're letting him stay on a bit until the Hearts job becomes available?

05-11-2012, 01:26 PM
I reckon he'll get kept on until the end of the campaign unfortunately.

05-11-2012, 03:07 PM
I can't see how they can dither for so long and come out with a decision that results in him staying.

05-11-2012, 03:25 PM
I can't see how they can dither for so long and come out with a decision that results in him staying.

Mikey its the SFA we are talking about here, wouldn't be surprised if they offered to extend his contract.....ejits.

05-11-2012, 03:46 PM
Mikey its the SFA we are talking about here, wouldn't be surprised if they offered to extend his contract.....ejits.

Few reports on twitter that he is sacked. Not official though.

green glory
05-11-2012, 04:03 PM
BBC reporting it now. Wonder who the replacement will be.

05-11-2012, 04:09 PM
Damage has already been done.

Glad we are getting rid of the phony.

Hopefully the SFA will bring in someone who will inspire a nation and get some pride back.

Can we see McLeish taking it again ?

1875HFC
05-11-2012, 04:12 PM
discuss....

05-11-2012, 04:13 PM
No discussion from me, just delighted he's gone.

:thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup: :thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

05-11-2012, 04:13 PM
Cheerio yam...and take those other pinkoids wi ye!

05-11-2012, 04:14 PM
Good ****in' riddance, should've been gone long since

****in' jakey yam fud

05-11-2012, 04:14 PM
Good ****in' riddance, should been gone long since

****in' jakey yam fud

I knew you'd be pleased. :greengrin

05-11-2012, 04:15 PM
Yassssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssss

05-11-2012, 04:16 PM
discuss....

nothing to discuss.

:bye::bye: Potter.

05-11-2012, 04:17 PM
Not a fan of Levein and he's done himself no favours BUT...would have let him carry on with the rest of the qualifying campaign. It's over anyway - might as well have given him the chance to properly learn from his many mistakes.

The only reason I can see for emptying him now is because the SFA have an immediate replacement lined up.

onlyonesauzee4
05-11-2012, 04:18 PM
Don't let the door hit you on way out Potter

I knew you'd be pleased. :greengrin
:saltireflag :saltireflag :saltireflag :saltireflag :saltireflag :saltireflag

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b168/jamie1971/scotland2.gif

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b168/jamie1971/flagthistles3.gif

legends of 73
He'll get the hearts job now

Remember Remember, the 5th of November...

What a day !!

05-11-2012, 04:19 PM
Shut the door on yer way oot, you speccy Jambo **** :bye:

Take your embarrassing backroom staff with you n'aw :fenlon

Thank Christ

Lets get somebody with some tactical know how in

Good day .... Potter gone and the jambos lined up for revenge .... If they're still in existence !!!

legends of 73
Time to rejoin the travel club couldn't watch Scotland while he was in charge

MoscowHibs
05-11-2012, 04:20 PM
:bye: :bye: :bye: :bye:
Good riddance. I guess Potter will be back at the yams noo.Bring on yer 4-6-0 in the cup game ya pr!!k.

He'll get the hearts job now

Surely can't afford him.

Rushing in for the Hearts job, before the game at ER.

They need somebody with a good understanding of the 4-6-0 formation, it will suite their squad.

blaikie
05-11-2012, 04:21 PM
Who will it be ......

Owen Coyle
Strachan
Uncle Walter

Or what about Malky McKay?

Discuss :)

Perfect. Had to do an embarrassing U-turn with Fletch and still gets the shepherd's crook :thumbsup:

Not a fan of potter but surely the best news is kenny black has nothing to do with the Scottish team

Good. Bout time that specy jambo prat was given the boot :bye::fenlon

05-11-2012, 04:22 PM
Ha Ha Ha Ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha.

yam fud pwick.

Dole queue on Monday for you Potter.. GIRUY

whereswallace?
Not a fan of Levein and he's done himself no favours BUT...would have let him carry on with the rest of the qualifying campaign. It's over anyway - might as well have given him the chance to properly learn from his many mistakes.

The only reason I can see for emptying him now is because the SFA have an immediate replacement lined up.

Thats exactly the reason id get rid of him, gives the new man coming in time to get a team together and build for the future under no pressure of having to qualify.

Bye.And did the person/s who appointed him get sacked too?

legends of 73
Its my anniversary today 19 years married and its been the best one ever. We get them in the cup and potter gets punted i might get my h@@e. Or is that asking too much

Glad, but too late.

05-11-2012, 04:23 PM
Rushing in for the Hearts job, before the game at ER.

They need somebody with a good understanding of the 4-6-0 formation, it will suite their squad.

He could be the couch for them. :agree:

05-11-2012, 04:23 PM
Inevitable really, don't know what took them so long.

Big question is who's next, no matter who it is I cannot see much changing short time.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/20205303

05-11-2012, 04:24 PM
Thats exactly the reason id get rid of him, gives the new man coming in time to get a team together and build for the future under no pressure of having to qualify.

I can see there's an argument for that - don't think there's much wrong with the team/squad other than performance level.

muzzhfc
05-11-2012, 04:24 PM
Pat Fenlon.

on a serious note, i would say owen coyle but i doubt that would happen as he would be off the first chance a premier league team comes sniffing.

05-11-2012, 04:26 PM
Inevitable really, don't know what took them so long.

Big question is who's next, no matter who it is I cannot see much changing short time.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/20205303

I hope they don't appoint Wotte. His role should be entirely separate from that of Manager.

MoscowHibs
05-11-2012, 04:28 PM
Bye.And did the person/s who appointed him get sacked too?

Aye, ages ago. He f""""""k off tae the big hoose.Another tw@t, Gordon Smith.

whereswallace?
05-11-2012, 04:28 PM
I can see there's an argument for that - don't think there's much wrong with the team/squad other than performance level.

I think the way hes set up in some games has been his downfall, the 4-6-0 v the Czech was a disgrace IMO. Even at home to Macedonia only playing 1 up top when we needed the win has cost him. Its not an easy job though and the net man in has a major task on his hands.

05-11-2012, 04:30 PM
Great news, he's a terrible manager. Won hee-haw at club level and should never have been near the international job.

05-11-2012, 04:32 PM
Remember Remember, the 5th of November...

What a day !!

Am just waiting for Hibs to announce the signing of Sparky :wink::greengrin at tea time. :thumbsup:

Fireworks indeed. :pfgwa

05-11-2012, 04:33 PM
Even the manner of his sacking is boring.

Bye Potter, you are to football what sheep dung is to chocolate cake.

05-11-2012, 04:33 PM
Perfect. Had to do an embarrassing U-turn with Fletch and still gets the shepherd's crook :thumbsup:

:agree: What a day.

05-11-2012, 04:34 PM
Fantastic day.

Pity the Lottery hadn't been moved to a Monday.

MoscowHibs
05-11-2012, 04:35 PM
Its my anniversary today 19 years married and its been the best one ever. We get them in the cup and potter gets punted i might get my h@@e. Or is that asking too much

It probably is, but good things come in threes mind.Get her something nice. Big bunch o flowers = said h@@e.

05-11-2012, 04:36 PM
Too little too late. This should have been done after failing to qualify from an easy Euro group.

Thank Christ he's gone.

05-11-2012, 04:36 PM
Who will it be ......

Owen Coyle
Strachan
Uncle Walter

Or what about Malky McKay?

Discuss :)

Can't see Mackay being interested.

Does Coyle consider himself to be Scottish? :confused:

05-11-2012, 04:37 PM
Joe Jordan.

darwenhibby
05-11-2012, 04:38 PM
Joe Jordan.

Totally agree Silver:agree:

05-11-2012, 04:40 PM
Colin Calderwood

05-11-2012, 04:41 PM
Strachan for me, working alongside Jordan???

MoscowHibs
05-11-2012, 04:41 PM
Joe Jordan.

Agreed, with Rednapp maybe???

05-11-2012, 04:43 PM
Harry Redknapp
Alex McLeish
Gordon Strachan
Walter Smith
Owen Coyle

My preference in that order. As long as It's not Souness.

05-11-2012, 04:45 PM
John Collins or Gordon Strachan for me.

twiceinathens
05-11-2012, 04:46 PM
Regretfully, which half decent manager would actually WANT ​the job?

shetlandhibee
05-11-2012, 04:47 PM
Strachan and Joey Jordan as assistant

Big Joe for me.:aok:

Harry Redknapp.

At least he'll give us some good quotes:-

“He took a knock on his ankle but we played him some Bob Marley reggae music and he was fine.”

HibeeSince82
05-11-2012, 04:49 PM
Strachan for me

blaikie
05-11-2012, 04:49 PM
Can't see Mackay being interested.

Does Coyle consider himself to be Scottish? :confused:

That could be an issue, Bit before my time but was he good enough for Scotland like McGeady and McCarthy and opted for the ROI or was he more like Kevin Kilbane or McPake just looking for International football.

05-11-2012, 04:52 PM
Joe Jordan.

Is Jordan not known as a coach now rather than a Manager. I would be happy for him to be someone's No 2

05-11-2012, 04:53 PM
Potter's got his Jotters eh?

Stevie Clarke for me please. Not a hope I know but still the best choice currently.

WeAreHibs
05-11-2012, 04:55 PM

That would just be an anti-climax, wouldnt it??? :wink:

05-11-2012, 04:55 PM
that boring lump o jambo s*ite will probably get a handsome pay-off as well(700K as far as i know), the ***T, and i hope loudmouth houston got told not to come back as well, and as for kenny ****** black GTF u hertz tramp, shouldn't have been anywhere near the scotland set up in the first place, i also hope ian blacks cap is rescinded :agree: jakey potter will now be on BBC sport every ****** week now, along wae squeeky voice preston and robbo the knO*bo

oh aye, and as for charlie Adam...STFU t*t

05-11-2012, 04:57 PM
Do you think he can get another top job in Scottish football now? Think he would be hounded at every ground going

05-11-2012, 05:01 PM
Do you think he can get another top job in Scottish football now? Think he would be hounded at every ground going

Nope. But he might be the next Hawrts Manager and I can see them waiting until the last week in November before they announce it.

:deal:

05-11-2012, 05:02 PM
Only in Scotland would the blazers that run the show wait until the wheels are off the trolley before canning him - ensures another round of "planning for the next big tournament" :blah: type statements from the next guy............ hopefully we won't appoint another oine with the inward looking attitued of the plank that was levein, and preferably someone who doesn't see the whole thing as a personal choice / club rather than doing whats in the country's interests - wonder if Berra will ever get a game again?

Mind the door doesnae hit you on the back of the heid on the way oot Craig.

05-11-2012, 05:05 PM
Only in Scotland would the blazers that run the show wait until the wheels are off the trolley before canning him - ensures another round of "planning for the next big tournament" :blah: type statements from the next guy............ hopefully we won't appoint another oine with the inward looking attitued of the plank that was levein, and preferably someone who doesn't see the whole thing as a personal choice / club rather than doing whats in the country's interests - wonder if Berra will ever get a game again?

Mid the door doesnae hit you on the back of the heid on the way oot Craig.nah make sure it does, the turn roond so it can hit you in yer jakey yam mush as well

05-11-2012, 05:07 PM
We need a manager who is halfway between being a good manager and a great manager, he'll need to grow in the Scotland job along with a young and progressive team. We won't be able to get managers like Moyes as they are out of the price range. John Collins should have a backroom role to further his development as a manager/coach.

05-11-2012, 05:29 PM
Pleasing

05-11-2012, 05:40 PM
Shocking that it took them so long but they eventually came to the right decision. Nae luck potter ya jam ****!!!!

05-11-2012, 05:53 PM
Strachan is sure to be offered the job. I like the suggestion that John Collins should be on coaching team / assistant.

cam75
05-11-2012, 06:03 PM
Got talksport on,2 hearts fans phoned in 1st says they have spent millions on there academy Lol,2nd says jumbo Jeffries should get Scotland job SOUNESS 1st tho they are as mad as there owner!

woody47
05-11-2012, 06:20 PM
Thank ferk for that. Might start the feel good factor again as it was like a morgue at times with this excuse of a man in charge.
:saltireflag:saltireflag
Hope the suits have someone lined up though as I really dont wont potter's bu m boy picking the team either.

Sweet Left Peg
05-11-2012, 06:22 PM
Good news. How about two new CBs as well??? Let's have some positive football, write off this shambolic campaign and finish it on a high. Start the next one with confidence and have a go at teams. The squad is not as bad as results would suggest. Confidence and positivity are the key. Look at Spoony this season.......

05-11-2012, 06:41 PM
Should've been emptied after the final whistle in Prague.

05-11-2012, 06:54 PM
How pleasing.....A great weekend has been extended :flag:

05-11-2012, 07:10 PM
Scotland are never going to be world beaters. I think whoever we get next will probably get slaughtered off the fans after a while as well when the fact of the matter is simply that we are a ***** footballing nation.

However I'm glad that he's gone, far too negative and boring and had the personality of a corpse. On top of this he is a hearts **** who is very biased against all things hibs. Shot himself in the foot with the whole fletcher saga but made himself look an even bigger tit when he backed down with 2 games left in the job.

05-11-2012, 07:16 PM
He should have been sacked the day he appointed Kenny Black in his management team and since then he's done very little....in fact, nothing, to redeem himself.

For people to say it's going to be the same players so will be the same results how come Walter Smith took over the same squad as Berti Vogts yet Smith was able to take us to 12th while Vogts had us to the heady heights of about 96th?

There's far bigger issues in Scottish football than the first team coach of the national team but that doesn't mean they don't have any short term accountability or responsibility to get results.

I'd like to see Mcleish or Smith come back, failing that i'd like John Collins to be involved in some way, although the top job in his own right would probably be a bit too much of a gamble.

05-11-2012, 07:23 PM
Anyone who brings Alan O'Brien into a club team can't possibly be trusted with an international job.

05-11-2012, 07:38 PM
Anyone who brings Alan O'Brien into a club team can't possibly be trusted with an international job.

That's why i think he could do a job in some role for the National team, he cannae sign anyone and would have to work with what he's got and despite his reputation for poor man management there's plenty examples from the CIS cup winning team of JC getting the most out of limited players for the big games.

He obviously had the odd bonkers moment in him like Mccann at centre half and as you say signing Alan O'Brien but that's why i think he could work with someone else more experienced although he'd probably be well advised to avoid Tommy Craig.

05-11-2012, 08:01 PM
BBC say he has "been relieved of his duties as Scotland national coach". He will continue to be paid until the end of his contract in 2014.

Jammy bugger

What job would you have him do to carry on justifying his wage?

I'll start with putting his head in stocks with supporters allowed to throw fruit at him.(Half time entertainment)

05-11-2012, 08:13 PM
BBC say he has "been relieved of his duties as Scotland national coach". He will continue to be paid until the end of his contract in 2014.

Jammy bugger

I'll start with putting his head in stocks with supporters allowed to throw fruit at him.

I would rather through darts at him

05-11-2012, 09:20 PM

Totally. :agree:

05-11-2012, 09:24 PM

Jammy bugger

I'll start with putting his head in stocks with supporters allowed to throw fruit at him.(Half time entertainment)

What an utter disgrace and embarrassment the man must be. Fails to qualify from 2 campaigns, has the worst competitive record in Scotland manager history but will collect his enormous salary for the next what...18+ months? No dignity. No class. No shame. Anyone with self-respect would resign and try to claw back an ounce of respectability. Terrible. :bitchy:

Tonez
05-11-2012, 09:26 PM

THIS

05-11-2012, 09:27 PM
What an utter disgrace and embarrassment the man must be. Fails to qualify from 2 campaigns, has the worst competitive record in Scotland manager history but will collect his enormous salary for the next what...18+ months? No dignity. No class. No shame. Anyone with self-respect would resign and try to claw back an ounce of respectability. Terrible. :bitchy:

Surely it'll be a gardening leave type event, so if he takes another job they'll stop paying him...

Though I think the chances of anybody offering him a gig are slim. I did note for all his chat about wanting to stick it out in the job he told them he wanted to leave at the end of the campaign. As you say, no class to stay on earning his wedge in the meantime.

Minder
05-11-2012, 09:31 PM

Also means he is nailed on as a telly pundit for the duration of his "gardening leave" as I dont see him taking another job till his contract expires.

05-11-2012, 09:34 PM
Should have been binned months ago - the problem is doesn't matter who you put in now - bottom line - Scottish players aren't good enough and won't be good enough any time soon to qualify.

I hope the coaches today are doing their jobs and then in 10 + years you hope you may get better players, who can actually do the basics and look comfortable on the ball - by that time the rest of the world will have improved also so not looking good.

Don't get your hopes up too much - it will be interesting to see who they employ next as surely they must have someone in mind..

We will end up with a bitter Levein as a pundit on TV or getting the yams job if they have any money?!!

05-11-2012, 09:35 PM

The ultimate surrender that was. The tartan army should have waved their hankies instead of saltires.
Totally embarassing.

05-11-2012, 09:40 PM

Jammy bugger

We did the same with Yogi and CC

05-11-2012, 09:43 PM

Jammy bugger

I'll start with putting his head in stocks with supporters allowed to throw fruit at him.(Half time entertainment)Swap the fruit for curling stones and I'd be in favour.

05-11-2012, 09:45 PM
Two words.

Alan Hutton.

I think 'Arry Redknapp might bring something different to the table but will the "Tartan Army" take to him. No qualms with him being English myself.

05-11-2012, 09:47 PM
Candidates include:

G Strachan
A McLeish
O Coyle
J Jordan
W Smith
M Wotte (U19s manager)
A McCoist
A Knox
B Davies
B Stark
G McAllister
G Souness
J Collins
K Dalglish
P Houston
S McCall
D McInnes
J Calderwood
M Mackay
P Sergio

Anyone else? Who would you like as the next Scotland manager and why?

05-11-2012, 09:54 PM
Two words.

Alan Hutton.

I think 'Arry Redknapp might bring something different to the table but will the "Tartan Army" take to him. No qualms with him being English myself.

Cmon guys. Its the scotland job. No one will want it. Especially decent managers. Only option is either a retired manager with young right hand man, or go straight for a young ex player.

Lets forget all the chat about Strachan, Souness.........Jordan may be a decent shout. But again i doubt he'll want it.

05-11-2012, 10:00 PM
I'd be tempted to give it to Stark till the end of the current campaign, either that or another temp steady pair of hands, Smith or McLeish. We can worry about picking the new guy ahead of the Euro 2016 qualifying campaign.

05-11-2012, 10:00 PM
big eck McLeish will be a strong contender for the job :agree: wee strachan said a few weeks back on TV that he was enjoying himself doing a wee bit of punditry here and there and not interested in management

05-11-2012, 10:03 PM
Stevie clarke

05-11-2012, 10:04 PM
None of these names fill me with any great optimism to be honest.

05-11-2012, 10:09 PM
None of these names fill me with any great optimism to be honest.

So who else? I am not disagreeing with you. The top EPL managers will not leave to take the Scotland job.

05-11-2012, 10:09 PM
It's two years overdue. He should have been sacked after the 4-6-0 shambles in Prague.

:bye: Craig.

Don't let the door hit you on the way out.

Having said that, I don't believe that sacking Levein will bring an end to the troubles of the national team. Time for the SFA to be given major surgery and it needs to begin with the sacking/resignation of Stewart Reagan.

05-11-2012, 10:10 PM
Stevie clarke

Good call. Will not happen though.

deeks01
05-11-2012, 10:14 PM

Should have been emptied after announcing the starting line-up/formation in Prague never mind the final whistle. Unforgivable.

Was never the right man for the job in the first place. Arrogant , foolish , close minded and with an inability to learn from his mistakes or accept constructive criticism. These are not the traits you want in a top level manager.

Personally for the next appointment i'd love to see Harry Redknapp as I reckon he'd knock us into a winning team however I reckon that's pretty unrealistic. It's between Gordon Strachan and Owen Coyle I'd reckon , hopefully Strachan I reckon he'd be decent but I wouldn't be disappointed with the appointment of Coyle which may not be a popular opinion.

As for 'big eck' I'd be very very wary of him being appointed. Can he do a good job with Scotland? Yes he's already proved he can. However say we got in with a real chance of actually qualifying for something with a couple of high profile good results and some team offering him more cash comes in? We all know he'd be off like a shot and you can bet our campaign would bite the dust at that point. He may well have burned all his bridges in England but its still not that unlikely (it's probably a lot more unlikely we'll get into such a position).

05-11-2012, 10:15 PM
So who else? I am not disagreeing with you. The top EPL managers will not leave to take the Scotland job.

I've really no idea, I just can't get excited with any of the names that have been linked to the job.

Shearer
05-11-2012, 10:16 PM
King Kenny

05-11-2012, 10:18 PM
King Kenny

I think I would rather have Levein back.

05-11-2012, 10:20 PM
My first choice would be McLeish but I'd be happy if Strachan took the job. Uncle Walter can get tae after his rantings regarding sevco.

05-11-2012, 10:22 PM
I'd love the SFA to think big for a change and not just appoint some out of work punter who'll do nothing to advance our cause.

05-11-2012, 10:43 PM
McLeish did a great job with Scotland, but his whole career is one long example of him making a brief impact at a new club then failing to stop the same team crashing and burning before jumping ship at the first opportunity when a better offer comes along.

He can not be trusted. Simple as that.

Ultrabee1-0
06-11-2012, 01:21 AM
Kenny dalgliesh!! But I have a funny feeling they'll get another yam in 'jeffries'? SFA *****!

06-11-2012, 03:18 AM
Frank Rijkaard or Harry Redknapp...........

06-11-2012, 10:20 AM
Potter will now be free to join up with BBC Scotland's resident team of hawrts pundits and sympathisers.

Now that really is a depressing thought as things are bad enough at the moment.

:brokenyam:

06-11-2012, 10:24 AM
Potter will now be free to join up with BBC Scotland's resident team of hawrts pundits and sympathisers.

Now that really is a depressing thought as things are bad enough at the moment.

:brokenyam:absolute stick on, he'll have nae shame showing his face or giving us his 'expert' opinion despite the way he has humiliated this country as national team 'manager'

06-11-2012, 10:55 AM
Should have been binned months ago - the problem is doesn't matter who you put in now - bottom line - Scottish players aren't good enough and won't be good enough any time soon to qualify.I hope the coaches today are doing their jobs and then in 10 + years you hope you may get better players, who can actually do the basics and look comfortable on the ball - by that time the rest of the world will have improved also so not looking good.

Don't get your hopes up too much - it will be interesting to see who they employ next as surely they must have someone in mind..

We will end up with a bitter Levein as a pundit on TV or getting the yams job if they have any money?!!

Totally do not agree with you, our players ARE good enough, I´m getting pretty fed up with folk saying managers wont be able to do any better with the players at their disposal, you´re joking right? Sitting 11 men behind a ball against Czech republic when we could have got a win, you´re saying were not good enough, our players are better than most of the teams we have played in the last 3 years under Jakey hertz,knut. Its the manager that cant get them organised or give them the tactics or motivation they expect to go out and do a job,what do you expect with one old striker up front against the weakest teams in Europe, please dont say the players are not good enough, one or two may not be up to standard but not them all. ABSOLUTE BULL---T. I guarantee you will see a massive difference in the play, passion,commitment and results under the next manager (Strachan or Jordan), Levein was so far out of his depth in the job it was frightening, lets stop copping out and saying our players are not good enough, I don´t buy that at all.
But what I will say is our game needs major surgery on it and we can start by getting rid of the SFA who have made a mess on so many fronts recentlyLevein/sacking/SPL/huns etc,ect,etc.... have shown not only that they are incapable of making our game better they are incapable of making proper quick decisions. To the detriment of the game in Scotland, oh and on that note, Kenny Dalgleish please no.(My favourite player of all time). Fail as manager written all over him.

GreenPJ
06-11-2012, 11:05 AM
The SFA brought in Mark Wotte to try and change the underlying aspects of the game. If the SFA believe he can still do that job you need to bring in a like minded manager as the national manager so for me it would be JC alternatively you look abroad.

I also don't believe that this Scotland squad is worse than the squads that McLeish, Brown or Roxburgh had when we either qualified or took it down to the final game or play-off places. Levein was a failure, the state of Scottish football was not his fault but the tactics, the inspiration and the selection (and lack of) of certain players was his problem and he deserved to go. He also does not deserve to be paid for the remainder of his contract but that's football for you.

06-11-2012, 11:42 AM
Shut the door on yer way oot, you speccy Jambo ****

Good. Bout time that specy jambo prat was given the boot :bye:

So I assume that you wouldn't want the SFA to appoint another manager who wears glasses? Would it be OK if he wore contact lenses? Maybe a monocle?

Or would you insist he had laser eye surgery?

Speaking as one who had "Specky" called after him at school (and didn't like it) I think we should be told.

I'd love the SFA to think big for a change and not just appoint some out of work punter who'll do nothing to advance our cause.

I think when you consider some of the suggestions on this thread, John, you'll realise that 'thinking big' doesn't exactly sit well with the midset of the Scottish game.

The fact that people like Walter Smith, Ally McCoist, Kenny Dalglish, and Flash 'Arry Redknapp are mentioned just totally depresses me.

In fact, the full list reminds me of a certain recurrent sketch in "Chewin' The Fat", except that I'm not sure who the "Good Guys" are.

The only good thing I can see about the Scotland situation right now is that we now have something approaching a half-decent squad of players, who could be organised and coached by the right manager to at least perform reasonably creditably in European and World Cup qualifiers - creditably enough to have a realistic chance of making the play-off places if not qualifying outright.

What we don't have is the sort of top-class performer Wales has in Gareth Bale, or the level of genuine quality throughout the squad that, say, Belgium now has.

The best Scottish managers aren't going to be interested. Moyes, Clarke, Mackay are all well-settled at clubs where good things are happening. They aren't going to think of leaving Everton, WBA, or Cardiff. If they do, they need certified. McCall has done well at Motherwell, but I have a sneaking suspicion that he might be managing in the lower divisions of the SFL before too long - unless Fat Sally gets his act together PDQ. Billy Davies? Maybe. Jordan - can't see it. McInnes? Again, maybe.

But they're only ones I'd consider "Good Guys". The rest? Well, now ... :wink:

So while I'm delighted Potter's now history, I don't see where we're going to go for his successor.

06-11-2012, 11:50 AM
So I assume that you wouldn't want the SFA to appoint another manager who wears glasses? Would it be OK if he wore contact lenses? Maybe a monocle?

Speaking as one who had "Specky" called after him at school (and didn't like it) I think we should be told.

Levein's baseball cap and shell suit combo with a monocle would have been my choice.

Seriously, I am genuinely sorry if my previous comment caused offence, Doddie.

06-11-2012, 11:55 AM
I call him a Specky hertz knut aw the time, I wear glasses.. not a problem for me.

06-11-2012, 11:57 AM
The SFA brought in Mark Wotte to try and change the underlying aspects of the game. If the SFA believe he can still do that job you need to bring in a like minded manager as the national manager so for me it would be JC alternatively you look abroad.

I also don't believe that this Scotland squad is worse than the squads that McLeish, Brown or Roxburgh had when we either qualified or took it down to the final game or play-off places. Levein was a failure, the state of Scottish football was not his fault but the tactics, the inspiration and the selection (and lack of) of certain players was his problem and he deserved to go. He also does not deserve to be paid for the remainder of his contract but that's football for you.

Agree that someone who thinks the same as Wotte would be good. There must be some reasonably qualified Dutch guy who could come in and do well in tandem with Wotte's development programme.

06-11-2012, 12:24 PM
Agree that someone who thinks the same as Wotte would be good. There must be some reasonably qualified Dutch guy who could come in and do well in tandem with Wotte's development programme.

The manager who took them to the 2010 WC final is still out of a job after being sacked post Euro 2012.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bert_van_Marwijk

LeighLoyal
06-11-2012, 12:28 PM
I'm thinking Strachan and then McLeish if he's not up for it. I know McLeish walked away for the dough but he did get results.

No foreigners though. We don't need Berti2

06-11-2012, 12:31 PM
The manager who took them to the 2010 WC final is still out of a job after being sacked post Euro 2012.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bert_van_Marwijk
And I have already mentioned Frank Rijkaard...there is probably a few more too....

06-11-2012, 12:37 PM
I'm thinking Strachan and then McLeish if he's not up for it. I know McLeish walked away for the dough but he did get results.

Was the opposite way around on BBC Sport today: -

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/20215124

I would have taken McLeish back though, 70% win ratio from 10 games.

06-11-2012, 12:45 PM

No foreigners though. We don't need Berti2

We've had more **** Scottish managers than **** foreign managers.

I'm undecided about a foreign manager, i just tend to think our manager should be scottish but then again if someone foreign would be better then why not?

The theory though that because we've had one bad foreign manager they all would be is ridiculous IMO.

06-11-2012, 12:47 PM
Totally do not agree with you, our players ARE good enough, I´m getting pretty fed up with folk saying managers wont be able to do any better with the players at their disposal, you´re joking right? Sitting 11 men behind a ball against Czech republic when we could have got a win, you´re saying were not good enough, our players are better than most of the teams we have played in the last 3 years under Jakey hertz,knut. Its the manager that cant get them organised or give them the tactics or motivation they expect to go out and do a job,what do you expect with one old striker up front against the weakest teams in Europe, please dont say the players are not good enough, one or two may not be up to standard but not them all. ABSOLUTE BULL---T. I guarantee you will see a massive difference in the play, passion,commitment and results under the next manager (Strachan or Jordan), Levein was so far out of his depth in the job it was frightening, lets stop copping out and saying our players are not good enough, I don´t buy that at all.
But what I will say is our game needs major surgery on it and we can start by getting rid of the SFA who have made a mess on so many fronts recentlyLevein/sacking/SPL/huns etc,ect,etc.... have shown not only that they are incapable of making our game better they are incapable of making proper quick decisions. To the detriment of the game in Scotland

No I am not joking.

While I agree Levein got many things wrong - I also think although we may have several better players than the last few years we are still miles away from qualifying or matching up technically to many teams around Europe - let alone the rest of the world.

The fundamentals within Scotland have been missing for several years. When was the last time you watched a Scotland game and thought - yes we outplayed that country - we are technically better and controlled it - rather than the "get right into them" attitude and huffing and puffing to win a set piece then score from that.

There are several reasons why we haven't qualified for a major tournament since 1998 - and the lack of genuine quality is a major issue - you only have to look at the Belgium team recently to show how far ahead they were!

I do think/hope we will see a difference in the next appointment but some of the names being mentioned are short term fixes and basically anyone out of job - and they are out a job for a reason!

You can't just get rid of the SFA - what I do think should happen is certain people be held accountable for the areas you mentioned - especially the huns problems - especially Doncaster!

06-11-2012, 12:51 PM

having ginger/red hair could also be a problem for a few on here

06-11-2012, 12:53 PM
I think when you consider some of the suggestions on this thread, John, you'll realise that 'thinking big' doesn't exactly sit well with the midset of the Scottish game.

The fact that people like Walter Smith, Ally McCoist, Kenny Dalglish, and Flash 'Arry Redknapp are mentioned just totally depresses me.

In fact, the full list reminds me of a certain recurrent sketch in "Chewin' The Fat", except that I'm not sure who the "Good Guys" are.

The only good thing I can see about the Scotland situation right now is that we now have something approaching a half-decent squad of players, who could be organised and coached by the right manager to at least perform reasonably creditably in European and World Cup qualifiers - creditably enough to have a realistic chance of making the play-off places if not qualifying outright.

What we don't have is the sort of top-class performer Wales has in Gareth Bale, or the level of genuine quality throughout the squad that, say, Belgium now has.

The best Scottish managers aren't going to be interested. Moyes, Clarke, Mackay are all well-settled at clubs where good things are happening. They aren't going to think of leaving Everton, WBA, or Cardiff. If they do, they need certified. McCall has done well at Motherwell, but I have a sneaking suspicion that he might be managing in the lower divisions of the SFL before too long - unless Fat Sally gets his act together PDQ. Billy Davies? Maybe. Jordan - can't see it. McInnes? Again, maybe.

But they're only ones I'd consider "Good Guys". The rest? Well, now ... :wink:

So while I'm delighted Potter's now history, I don't see where we're going to go for his successor.

Agree with the most of what you wrote and fully agree with the part in bold :agree:

06-11-2012, 02:56 PM
Honestly, everything surrounding the Scottish international team is so tedious I can think of no one more ideally suited to coach them than Craig Levein.

I wish they'd left him in place so we can all go back to sleep.

Instead we'll probably have to suffer watching countless stroppy interviews from "chip on both shoulders" Gordon Strachan until he too gets sacked in four years or whatever.

Oh Godddddd!.

06-11-2012, 03:17 PM
Honestly, everything surrounding the Scottish international team is so tedious I can think of no one more ideally suited to coach them than Craig Levein.

I wish they'd left him in place so we can all go back to sleep.

Instead we'll probably have to suffer watching countless stroppy interviews from "chip on both shoulders" Gordon Strachan until he too gets sacked in four years or whatever.

Oh Godddddd!.

If Strachan gets the job he won't last as long as 4 years and I think that would be the only positive thing about his appointment. He did well at Celtic because he had loads more money to spend on players than anyone else. His record at Middlesborough tells us more about his real management abilities. If he gets the Scotland job then Oh Goddddd!! right enough.

06-11-2012, 03:19 PM
If Strachan gets the job he won't last as long as 4 years and I think that would be the only positive thing about his appointment. He did well at Celtic because he had loads more money to spend on players than anyone else. His record at Middlesborough tells us more about his real management abilities. If he gets the Scotland job then Oh Goddddd!! right enough.

How come he had a fairly decent record in Europe then?

Also think he had a better domestic success rate than Martin O'neill who also got to spend more than everyone else.

06-11-2012, 04:18 PM
Levein's baseball cap and shell suit combo with a monocle would have been my choice.

Seriously, I am genuinely sorry if my previous comment caused offence, Doddie.

It's OK - just a slightly sore point. Just put me in mind of some people I'd rather not be reminded of.

Over-reaction on my part. No offence taken really.

I'm just glad the scruffy object's gone. Maybe I can get back to supporting my national team again.

06-11-2012, 04:23 PM
It's OK - just a slightly sore point. Just put me in miond of some people I'd rather not be reminded of.

Over-reaction on my part. No offence taken really.

06-11-2012, 04:52 PM
How come he had a fairly decent record in Europe then?

Also think he had a better domestic success rate than Martin O'neill who also got to spend more than everyone else.

Didn't win a single match away from home in the Champions League with Celtic.

And what about his most recent managerial performance with Middlesborough? It's that disaster (managing at a higher level than the SPL) that more than anything else makes me think he's not the man for the Scotland job.

06-11-2012, 05:00 PM
Didn't win a single match away from home in the Champions League with Celtic.

And what about his most recent managerial performance with Middlesborough? It's that disaster (managing at a higher level than the SPL) that more than anything else makes me think he's not the man for the Scotland job.

Fair points, I just used to like using that argument to wind Celtic fans up when they slated him but were sucking off Martin O'Neill :wink:

I'm not convinced he's the right man for the job either, he's far better equipped for the job than Potter was but that shouldn't be the benchmark for whoever we appoint.

I like the idea of that Dutch boy Bert Van Marwick (i'm sure thats not how you spell his name but i can't be arsed checking) but i'd like to have a scottish influence in there as well so him along side JC or Joe Jordan maybe would get my vote if Mcleish or Smith don't come back.

06-11-2012, 05:23 PM
Fair points, I just used to like using that argument to wind Celtic fans up when they slated him but were sucking off Martin O'Neill :wink:

I'm not convinced he's the right man for the job either, he's far better equipped for the job than Potter was but that shouldn't be the benchmark for whoever we appoint.

I like the idea of that Dutch boy Bert Van Marwick (i'm sure thats not how you spell his name but i can't be arsed checking) but i'd like to have a scottish influence in there as well so him along side JC or Joe Jordan maybe would get my vote if Mcleish or Smith don't come back.

Agree with you on all that. I think having Joe Jordan there would be an inspiring reminder of the kind of team Scotland used to be and hopefully can be again. But probably as assistant rather than the main man.

06-11-2012, 05:36 PM

Apparently Bert's brother is married to a Scot also so some tenuous Scottish connection there however maybe Marc Wotte could provide a link to a decent Dutch coach who could do us good rather than the usual faces.

06-11-2012, 09:03 PM
Paddy power know there stuff berti vogts and andy gray 500/1. Strachan 1/3. Surely some1 better than starch an but I like the guy just think he might be a dud as national boss.

14-11-2012, 11:59 PM
http://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/scotsol/homepage/sport/4643237/You-lot-owe-me.html

CRAIG LEVEIN has officially started his legal war with the SFA after demanding a lump sum pay-off.Levein was axed as national boss last week but promised his £35,000-a-month wages for the rest of his contract.

this incompetent clown was on £35K a month as well, ****** shameful amount of money for the SFA to p@sh away on a trumpet that's won nowt as a manager :bitchy: SFA GTF

15-11-2012, 12:05 AM
http://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/scotsol/homepage/sport/4643237/You-lot-owe-me.html

CRAIG LEVEIN has officially started his legal war with the SFA after demanding a lump sum pay-off.

Levein was axed as national boss last week but promised his £35,000-a-month wages for the rest of his contract.

this incompetent clown was on £35K a month as well, ****** shameful amount of money for the SFA to p@sh away on a trumpet that's won nowt as a manager :bitchy: SFA GTF:agree: Ridiculous that such a no mark was ever given the job in the first place. Says everything about the people who run the game in this country.