View Full Version : Greggs The Leigh Griffiths Is Going To.............. ???????? Thread

Pages : [1] 2 3 4

WeAreHibs
03-11-2012, 09:37 AM
Sparky's ours, if we want him.

http://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/scotsol/homepage/sport/spl/4624548/Wolves-dont-want-striker-Leigh-back.html

03-11-2012, 09:38 AM
Petrie, Petrie sign him up.

03-11-2012, 09:39 AM
Sparky's ours, if we want him.

http://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/scotsol/homepage/sport/spl/4624548/Wolves-dont-want-striker-Leigh-back.html

Get buying yer half season tickets and East Terrace stones folks and lets get Sparky :thumbsup:

03-11-2012, 09:42 AM
If we are to achieve anything then we need sparky. Claros and mcgivern also need to be signed but sparky is most important. He is the difference between winning or losing a game.

CalgaryHibs
03-11-2012, 09:53 AM
Agree sign him

03-11-2012, 10:05 AM
Sparky on twitter "Well woke up to someone tweeting me a pic of the wolves manager saying he don't want me back, his loss will be someone's gain #headupngoals"

Get in there hibs before someone else does!

03-11-2012, 10:17 AM
Get buying yer half season tickets and East Terrace stones folks and lets get Sparky :thumbsup:

Are the stones going towards the team or helping pay the stand?

03-11-2012, 10:36 AM

We really must pull out the stops to get him signed up, however I have the feeling he wants to play in England.

Thoughts?...

03-11-2012, 10:42 AM
Wolves want only £150,000 for Leigh. He is a steal at that price. If every one on yhis chipped in wi a £100 then job done. Rod shall have my cheque on monday morning. Anyone else ? GGTTH

03-11-2012, 10:58 AM
He has the potential to be like Stokes - a player we need an an investment at the same time. It fits Hibs business model so if we as DD says can get in some cash over next 2 months a deal should be possible.

I also hope that Claros being settled with family will be an influence on him wanting to stay - although his club wanted 800k when gers were first in the queue so that may be harder for Rod to work his magic....

03-11-2012, 11:03 AM
Petrie sign him up!

03-11-2012, 11:04 AM
Serious question. How do we know Leigh wants to stay here long term?

HibeeN
03-11-2012, 11:09 AM
Petre sign him up!

Needs to be sung today after he scores :thumbsup:

Has already said he would sign permanently on Twitter etc previously...

Baker9
Wolves want only £150,000 for Leigh. He is a steal at that price. If every one on yhis chipped in wi a £100 then job done. Rod shall have my cheque on monday morning. Anyone else ? GGTTH

I don't think that £150,000 would be a problem but do we know what his wage demands would be?

hibsmad
03-11-2012, 11:13 AM

We don't.

People may say that he does and I'm sure that he would be more than happy to stay if we could match any other offer he receives. The bottom line is though that if we offer him say 4k per week and a championship club comes in and offers him 8-10k then can anyone honestly say he would choose Hibs?

Our best chance of signing him is to get in now before his stock rises any further.

Hibs07p
03-11-2012, 11:13 AM
The £150K would be better spent as a signing on fee to Sparky for signing a pre contract.

03-11-2012, 11:15 AM

Because he loves it here and he knows himself that there is still plenty of room for improvement.

We have the facilities that can help him progress even further, so that when he does get his big chance elsewhere, he'll be completely prepared for it.

Come on Sparky, you know it makes sense! :aok:

03-11-2012, 11:16 AM

We don't.

However imo it would be foolish not to put together the best possible package we can afford and put the ball firmly in his court.

03-11-2012, 11:17 AM
Unfortunately, loads of clubs will be willing to pay him much more than we can afford.

Maybe we should have a share issue...

03-11-2012, 11:23 AM
Unfortunately, loads of clubs will be willing to pay him much more than we can afford.

Maybe we should have a share issue...

We've got a stone issue :duck:

hibsmad
03-11-2012, 11:30 AM
Needs to be sung today after he scores :thumbsup:

I don't make it to games just now due to work but I'm always online checking the scores when we are playing.

The last few weeks, after I see that we have scored, I am really hoping that it is not Griffiths who has got the goal. Every time I see his name on the score sheet it makes me feel like he is getting further and further away as far as him being a potential permanent signing is concerned.

I'm going for 3-0 today with a Doyle hat-trick please! :thumbsup:

03-11-2012, 11:32 AM
The £150K would be better spent as a signing on fee to Sparky for signing a pre contract.

Correct sign him on a pre contract and there is no way Wolves get a fee for him in January. But as with everything we can only spend what we have.

03-11-2012, 11:46 AM
Well at least the Huns can't sign him and no way Celtic would go for him and we would not be outbid by any other Scottish club, except the Yams :greengrin of course.

It's a no brainer get him signed on a 3 year deal allowing him to move on to bigger things if the right move comes along in the future.

Hibs & Sparky are made for each other. :giruy:

hibsmad
03-11-2012, 11:51 AM
Well at least the Huns can't sign him and no way Celtic would go for him and we would not be outbid by any other Scottish club, except the Yams :greengrin of course.

It's a no brainer get him signed on a 3 year deal allowing him to move on to bigger things if the right move comes along in the future.

I'd certainly not rule Celtic out.

Especially if:

A - He bangs in a few more goals over the next couple of months, and

B - Celtic lose Hooper in January.

03-11-2012, 11:51 AM

It's ironic that Sparky features in that popular hibs.net smiley, when the gesture was originally aimed at Hibs fans for abuse during games.

And away fans at that.

cam75
03-11-2012, 11:54 AM

Especially if:

Says on BBC Gossip. That Lennon expects Hooper to sign a new deal in next couple of weeks,fingers crossed!

03-11-2012, 11:57 AM

Especially if:

Just can't see him getting a regular game with Celtic and think they would be looking for a bigger name striker for Champions League etc, just cannot see them being interested.

hibsmad
03-11-2012, 12:04 PM
Just can't see him getting a regular game with Celtic and think they would be looking for a bigger name striker for Champions League etc, just cannot see them being interested.

I completely see where you are coming from, however I don't think that Celtic saw Stokes or Riordan as first choice strikers when they signed them. It's a squad thing and if a striker is available "on the cheap" who is in great form in the SPL then they would certainly be interested.

Would Leigh go? Obviously we don't know but money tends to talk in these situations. Leigh is a Hibs fan but I'm pretty sure Riordan was too.

03-11-2012, 12:07 PM
Surley the club has 150 k kicking about waiting to get spent.

cam75
03-11-2012, 12:20 PM
I completely see where you are coming from, however I don't think that Celtic saw Stokes or Riordan as first choice strikers when they signed them. It's a squad thing and if a striker is available "on the cheap" who is in great form in the SPL then they would certainly be interested.

Would Leigh go? Obviously we don't know but money tends to talk in these situations. Leigh is a Hibs fan but I'm pretty sure Riordan was too.

Look at Aberdeen they got mglynn for free from Celtic he struggled to get a game,The other striker name I forgot Irish who would walk into any spl side struggles for games,upfront Celtic are coverd unless it's the cash he wants we're ok I hope!

03-11-2012, 12:21 PM

Exactly, he is able to sign a pre-contract in January, give him the £150,000 to off-set any drop in monthly income.

03-11-2012, 01:10 PM
Surely a team like Hibs have £15Ok to splash out? SIGN HIM UP PETRIE! :pfgwa

03-11-2012, 02:51 PM
Per contract in Jan with his loan extended to the summer. Put the money towards trying to keep Claros. I really don't see the point in paying that sort of money when we can get him on a pre and for free.

Nominal fee at best and nowhere near ghat amount

03-11-2012, 03:39 PM
Get the lad signed up today!!!

03-11-2012, 04:24 PM
It's ironic that Sparky features in that popular hibs.net smiley, when the gesture was originally aimed at Hibs fans for abuse during games.

And away fans at that.

I think it shows the fans know he didn't mean it and its refreshing instead of it being dug up as a personal attack it's just now a bit of banter between fans.

03-11-2012, 04:55 PM
His ex boss might fancy him for Ipswich

03-11-2012, 05:15 PM
The more he scores the more teams start sniffing around, can we afford him is my only worry :(

03-11-2012, 05:22 PM
He's getting more expensive every week. Get him signed Rod.

03-11-2012, 05:55 PM
We really cannot afford to lose him and must do all we can to make sure we don't, so over to you Rod give the lad a deal he can't turn down.

Scottish Premier League Top Scorers

Top Scorers
Rank
Player Name
Team
Goals

Leigh Griffiths (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/shared/bsp/hi/football/statistics/players/g/griffiths_462429.stm)
Hibernian (http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/teams/hibernian)

Michael Higdon (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/shared/bsp/hi/football/statistics/players/h/higdon_275572.stm)
Motherwell

Richie Foran (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/shared/bsp/hi/football/statistics/players/f/foran_222123.stm)
Inverness CT

Niall McGinn (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/shared/bsp/hi/football/statistics/players/m/mcginn_352754.stm)
Aberdeen

Cillian Sheridan (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/shared/bsp/hi/football/statistics/players/s/sheridan_371102.stm)
Kilmarnock (http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/teams/kilmarnock)

Andrew Shinnie (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/shared/bsp/hi/football/statistics/players/s/shinnie_322026.stm)
Inverness CT

Eoin Doyle (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/shared/bsp/hi/football/statistics/players/d/doyle_399119.stm)

Lewis Guy (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/shared/bsp/hi/football/statistics/players/g/guy_269806.stm)
St Mirren (http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/teams/st-mirren)

Billy McKay (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/shared/bsp/hi/football/statistics/players/m/mckay_470241.stm)
Inverness CT

Johnny Russell (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/shared/bsp/hi/football/statistics/players/r/russell_378401.stm)
Dundee Utd

03-11-2012, 05:59 PM
I don't think finding the £150,000 is the big problem. It's paying him a salary that competes with other clubs that will want him. I would love to see him stay. Even for the remainder of the season would be great.

03-11-2012, 06:11 PM
We really cannot afford to lose him and must do all we can to make sure we don't, so over to you Rod give the lad a deal he can't turn down.

Rank
Player Name
Team
Goals

Leigh Griffiths (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/shared/bsp/hi/football/statistics/players/g/griffiths_462429.stm)

Michael Higdon (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/shared/bsp/hi/football/statistics/players/h/higdon_275572.stm)
Motherwell

Richie Foran (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/shared/bsp/hi/football/statistics/players/f/foran_222123.stm)
Inverness CT

Niall McGinn (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/shared/bsp/hi/football/statistics/players/m/mcginn_352754.stm)
Aberdeen

Cillian Sheridan (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/shared/bsp/hi/football/statistics/players/s/sheridan_371102.stm)

Andrew Shinnie (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/shared/bsp/hi/football/statistics/players/s/shinnie_322026.stm)
Inverness CT

Eoin Doyle (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/shared/bsp/hi/football/statistics/players/d/doyle_399119.stm)

Lewis Guy (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/shared/bsp/hi/football/statistics/players/g/guy_269806.stm)

Billy McKay (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/shared/bsp/hi/football/statistics/players/m/mckay_470241.stm)
Inverness CT

Johnny Russell (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/shared/bsp/hi/football/statistics/players/r/russell_378401.stm)
Dundee Utd

Thatll be 11 now wont it?

03-11-2012, 07:21 PM
Thatll be 11 now wont it?

Updated

Top Scorers
Rank
Player Name
Team
Goals

Hibernian

Motherwell

Aberdeen

Inverness CT

Kilmarnock

Hibernian

St Mirren

Jamie Murphy (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/shared/bsp/hi/football/statistics/players/m/murphy_375708.stm)
Motherwell

Dundee Utd

Victor Wanyama (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/shared/bsp/hi/football/statistics/players/w/wanyama_433519.stm)
Celtic

LeighLoyal
03-11-2012, 07:23 PM
I hope he does stay here but if he keeps on scoring...

PapillonVert
03-11-2012, 07:34 PM

I suspect that every time he scores a goal, that price goes up!

And I don't doubt that there are numerous clubs scouting around for January signings who are noticing our Sparky's form and being suitably impressed. There will be some Championship managers etc. who have a better budget than us who will be sniffing around for some additional firepower.

Get him signed up NOW, Rodders, you know it makes sense. P L E A SE!!!!

03-11-2012, 09:07 PM
BBC tonight.

Please Mr Petrie................

Hibernian and Leigh Griffiths keen on extended deal, says Pat FenlonBy Colin Moffat BBC Scotland at Easter Road
Pat Fenlon insists that Leigh Griffiths is keen on remaining at Hibernian but knows the striker may attract other suitors if he continues his rich form.
Griffiths, on loan from Wolves until January, scored both goals in the 2-1 win over St Mirren (http://www.hibs.net/sport/0/football/20107527) to take his tally for the season to 11.
"He's somebody that we want to keep and he wants to stay, which is great, " said Hibs manager Fenlon.
"So we have to make sure we do our work and get that done."
Play media (http://www.hibs.net/#)

Fenlon conceded that Hibs were far from their best against the Buddies but the victory lifts his side to the top of the Scottish Premier League, although Celtic are just one point behind with two games in hand.
And Griffiths, in his second loan spell at Easter Road, played a huge part in the success.
"He was the difference between the teams," was the opinion of opposition manager Danny Lennon, who went on to say that he thought Griffiths was ready to press for a place in the Scotland squad.
"He's a special talent at the moment, that's for sure," added Fenlon, who revealed that he has left the bargaining with Wolves down to chairman Rod Petrie.
And on hearing that the 22-year-old does not figure in the plans of those in charge at Molineux the manager said he was "surprised, but very pleased".
http://news.bbcimg.co.uk/media/images/63914000/jpg/_63914294_dummett-doyle.jpg Hibs came from behind to beat St Mirren

"Leigh is a very, very good player as I have said before," Fenlon continued.
"His scoring ratio to chances is fantastic. He is like that in training as well. He very rarely misses the target.
"Today he has hit the post twice, had one disallowed and scored two. I don't know how many shots he had but he wouldn't have had many more."
When asked about the possible interest in the SPL's leading scorer from other clubs, Fenlon simply shrugged it off, saying: "That's football."
"It's the same with the rest of the players. People will look where we are at the moment and think we may have one or two decent players.
"That's part of management. We brought these players to the club and if we lose them, we have to try and replace them. That's my job."
On moving top of the league on a Saturday before Celtic play for the second time this season, Fenlon said: "We'll enjoy it but we are not shouting from the rooftops.
"We weren't brilliant today by any stretch of the imagination but I think the fans realise they have a team that cares.
"The players work hard for each other and the club.
"I thought St Mirren were the better side in the first half. Second half was a bit better but we got a bit edgy in the last five minutes and were hanging on a bit instead of just seeing the game out.
"It's a good sign, winning when you're not at your best. The players have got great character and they dug in and worked hard to make sure we stayed on top.
"Defensively, I thought we were a little bit better and I was happy with that."

Mister P
03-11-2012, 10:23 PM

I'd chip in £1,000 if I also got a percentage of the sale of him:greengrin

04-11-2012, 12:46 PM
Heard on open all mics yesterday that Wolves have told Griffiths that he's surplus and can stay till end of season, can't see this mentioned anywhere else, correct me if I'm wrong.

Surely if this was the case, we'd be able to sign him in January on a pre contract if it's up at the end of the season.

SwanseaHibs
04-11-2012, 12:53 PM
Fenlon confirmed yesterday that he was surplus to requirements at Wolves and the situation was now in the hands of the chairman. He mentioned that the loan spell is up in January but nothing more than that.

Wolves are cash-rich after their summer sales so surely won't be difficult to deal with.

pogo
04-11-2012, 12:56 PM
Heard on open all mics yesterday that Wolves have told Griffiths that he's surplus and can stay till end of season, can't see this meontioned anywhere else, correct me if I'm wrong.

Surely if this was the case, we'd be able to sign him in January on a pre contract if it's up at the end of the season.

Already posted from yesterday!

http://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?249179-No-excuses-now!-(Leigh-Griffiths)&p=3397558#post3397558

04-11-2012, 12:59 PM
Fenlon confirmed yesterday that he was surplus to requirements at Wolves and the situation was now in the hands of the chairman. He mentioned that the loan spell is up in January but nothing more than that.

Wolves are cash-rich after their summer sales so surely won't be difficult to deal with.

I heard that interview as well - http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/20195432 . Its a strange decision by Wolves - they invest in someone doing well in the Scottish First Division but now they're not interested in someone doing well in the SPL and possibly heading for their first international cap.

Anyway, that's Wolves problem and I hope we can benefit from it. Fenlon also said that Griffiths wants to stay which is really good news. A great player now and will get even better. We should do everything we can to sign him permanently.

04-11-2012, 01:00 PM

Top Scorers
Rank
Player Name
Team
Goals

Motherwell

Inverness CT

Aberdeen

Inverness CT

Dundee Utd

No Old Firm players. Good stuff

04-11-2012, 01:07 PM
No Old Firm players. Good stuff

There is no such thing as an 'Old Firm' any more.:cb

04-11-2012, 04:47 PM

Exactly, don't for one minute believe we couldn't afford this price especially as it would be an investment in a young player who , if he keeps scoring [ and I have no reason to believe he wont], will attract interest from down south.

However ...........IF we are skint, then cant the club sell vouchers at £30 which would allow entry to 3 x Cat B games OR 2 x cat A games. Would be a win-win situation all roung imo, we as a club get Sparky, fans get discounted entry, more fans + better atmosphere, [ they even may like the experience and come back for more]

04-11-2012, 04:53 PM
Exactly, don't for one minute believe we couldn't afford this price especially as it would be an investment in a young player who , if he keeps scoring [ and I have no reason to believe he wont], will attract interest from down south.

However ...........IF we are skint, then cant the club sell vouchers at £30 which would allow entry to 3 x Cat B games OR 2 x cat A games. Would be a win-win situation all roung imo, we as a club get Sparky, fans get discounted entry, more fans + better atmosphere, [ they even may like the experience and come back for more]

So even when we are demanding that the club sign a player the majority of us want to stay at ER the answer is discounted tickets? Surely that can't always be the solution?

MontrealHibs
04-11-2012, 06:18 PM
I'd chip in £1,000 if I also got a percentage of the sale of him:greengrin

I would also be up for throwing in a few thousand if I got it back with interest!

04-11-2012, 07:04 PM
Get in there and sign him up - NOW!

05-11-2012, 01:42 PM
Been hearing that we have pretty much agreed to bring Leigh to hibs on a 2 year deal. Source is usually very reliable too. Fingers crossed it true.

blaikie
05-11-2012, 01:49 PM
Please please please

05-11-2012, 01:55 PM
:pray:

BigKev
05-11-2012, 01:57 PM
Fantastic news if true! Hope it's 2 years from this summer rather than 18 months from January!

05-11-2012, 02:18 PM
Would be absolutely amazing news if true.

And to think that Calderwood preferred this superstar now plying his trade at Blyth Spartans: -

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Phil_Airey

If he hadn't gotten injured, Leigh would never have arrived.

05-11-2012, 02:32 PM
Honestly thought he was terrific on Saturday especially the second half. He skinned a guy at the West/FF corner of the pitch with a wonderful turn which was top class. Long may his form continue.

scott7_0(Prague)
05-11-2012, 02:34 PM
Would be absolutely amazing news if true.

And to think that Calderwood preferred this superstar now plying his trade at Blyth Spartans: -

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Phil_Airey

If he hadn't gotten injured, Leigh would never have arrived.

To be fair his goal v games is decent, just a pity his games ratio is shocking. 7 games in 2 years. :rolleyes:

05-11-2012, 09:03 PM
So the BBC said Hibs want Griffiths and he wants to stay. Absolutely no surprise there, just praying the news is true. :pray:

Prawn Sandwich
07-11-2012, 02:41 PM
Mick McCarthy needs to do some team rebuilding rapidly. He knows Leigh Griffiths and I am sure he will have taken note who the SPL top scorer is. Could he make a move Griffiths in January? Just a thought?

12AlbionPlace
07-11-2012, 03:02 PM
Nae Chance, he threw a bib at Mick and stormed off the training ground.......................

07-11-2012, 03:02 PM
No chance. He was the 1st person at wolves to try and get rid of Leigh

hungryhibs
07-11-2012, 03:09 PM
Do we not have a buy out clause in his contract as we have had him onloan for so long?

07-11-2012, 03:19 PM
Do we not have a buy out clause in his contract as we have had him onloan for so long?

Genuinlely hope so, bit like the McPake situation where we have first "dibs" on him at an agreed fee.

LeighLoyal
07-11-2012, 03:21 PM
Genuinlely hope so, bit like the McPake situation where we have first "dibs" on him at an agreed fee.

Hope so. It's good that the Tony Watt guy has emerged as I don't doubt Lennon would have a wee sniff.

hungryhibs
07-11-2012, 05:32 PM

That was my thoughts also we had a chance to get him before he went to wolves but petrie would not pay the money as per but I think we have a better player in sparkey now than what we would have got

Prawn Sandwich
19-11-2012, 01:42 AM
...... and want cash in (according to the Sun).

http://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/scotsol/homepage/sport/spl/4651778/No-Leigh-way-for-a-loan-deal.html

19-11-2012, 02:29 AM
This is a big test as to the board's ambition - will we make that £150,000 bid and offer Leigh reasonable wages?

19-11-2012, 03:42 AM
The board have to deliver here even though I wouldn't be surprised if a deal was already done. Surely the fans deserve it after what happened in May.

19-11-2012, 03:52 AM
I dont want to be a D&G man here but I cant see where we will get the money from. AFAIK we lost money last year and will do so this... Unless the mentality of the owner has changed (because the board cant squeeze money where there is none) after May and is willing to fund one major signing I dont see Leigh staying.

Having said that, player power has a lot of sway these days and Leigh could dig his heels in and cause a few problems.

19-11-2012, 05:31 AM
From a Wolves point of view this makes this complete sense (I just thought they were at it until I realised Leighs contract was up in the summer).

Can't see where Hibs are going to get that kind of money!

crash
19-11-2012, 05:59 AM
From a Wolves point of view this makes this complete sense (I just thought they were at it until I realised Leighs contract was up in the summer).

Can't see where Hibs are going to get that kind of money!

What? £150,000. Top scorer in the SPL, guaranteed a higher league position/more prize money/bigger crowds/7 figure transfer value if we want to sell on,also a hibby and a fans favourite. Its a no brainer. If we need to find funds dont bother adding to Kuqi's pension fund,use the money to sign Sparky.

19-11-2012, 06:13 AM
What? £150,000. Top scorer in the SPL, guaranteed a higher league position/more prize money/bigger crowds/7 figure transfer value if we want to sell on,also a hibby and a fans favourite. Its a no brainer. If we need to find funds dont bother adding to Kuqi's pension fund,use the money to sign Sparky.

Yes it is a no brainer but where are Hibs going to get £150,000 to spend on a player?

19-11-2012, 06:26 AM

A no brainer? Will these bigger crowds include those who would definitely come back if we got McPake on a longer deal? Or those who would definitely buy season tickets if Rangers were thrown in to Third Division?
I hope something can be worked out but we will be competing for him with clubs down south who will easily afford him.

19-11-2012, 06:33 AM
Yes it is a no brainer but where are Hibs going to get £150,000 to spend on a player?

The Yam SC Game will generate that on its own .... done :cb

19-11-2012, 06:44 AM
The Yam SC Game will generate that on its own .... done :cb

Spot on Onion.

£82,500 tv fee plus around £200,000 gate money should cover it.

Same again if it goes to a replay, would that suit both clubs financially??????????

Shearer
19-11-2012, 06:52 AM

Why dont go into debt by £150,000 in the we can make ten times that back when we sell him on.

MoscowHibs
19-11-2012, 06:54 AM
I guess we could all start baking cakes.....:cb:rolleyes:

Sweet Left Peg
19-11-2012, 07:10 AM
Kuqi is a mystery to me. Sproule is an impact sub at best now and I can't see much future for Kujabi. Who knows what will happen to Galbraith, but those four wages would surely cover for Griffiths.

However, I am sure it is not as simple as that. Players may not want to leave and if it ends up costing us for them to leave early then it may not work out. Could Hibs afford him? Probably, yes. Will we get him? I sincerely hope so.

19-11-2012, 07:13 AM
A no brainer? Will these bigger crowds include those who would definitely come back if we got McPake on a longer deal? Or those who would definitely buy season tickets if Rangers were thrown in to Third Division?
I hope something can be worked out but we will be competing for him with clubs down south who will easily afford him.

Bigger crowds WILL come back if there's a successful team on the park and Leigh Griffiths can play a big role in that.

19-11-2012, 07:13 AM
Why dont go into debt by £150,000 in the we can make ten times that back when we sell him on.

Wages ?

Shearer
19-11-2012, 07:28 AM
Offer him a large signing-on fee. Its worth gambling a bit of cash on him as he's pretty likely to get us a good transfer fee in the near future

19-11-2012, 07:29 AM
Bigger crowds WILL come back if there's a successful team on the park and Leigh Griffiths can play a big role in that.

in theory i agree however as pointed out above bigger crowds will aslo come if we sign McPake and the Huns get Binned Where are they :confused: we are at the top end of the league in the best position we could have hoped to be and 10000 turn up not exactly back on mass are we ?

19-11-2012, 07:46 AM
Real test for the board here. I think they will get him but will have to be creative in the type of deal they offer Leigh. A percentage of any transfer fee we gained from selling him on may be most likely as we will not want to break the wage structure.
There is no doubt that his goals are the reason why we are so far up the league and it would be a real shame to lose him. Let's hope the board and the player are not to far apart in the negotiations.

19-11-2012, 07:52 AM
We could of course simply give that 150k money to him as part of the pre contract deal for next season, and make it less likely for anyone to sign him for second Half of this season....

19-11-2012, 07:57 AM
Real test for the board here. I think they will get him but will have to be creative in the type of deal they offer Leigh. A percentage of any transfer fee we gained from selling him on may be most likely as we will not want to break the wage structure.
There is no doubt that his goals are the reason why we are so far up the league and it would be a real shame to lose him. Let's hope the board and the player are not to far apart in the negotiations.
This is what I have said for a few weeks, I believe a player gets 10% of a transfer deal we maybe have to double that and put him on our top wage (not more than McPake as I think the captain should be our top wage) and give him full control of a move we won't stand in your way as long as the offer is over 1.5mil or something, I don't feel wolves will have any right to demand a sell on. I believe the Tash will do his best for us on this

19-11-2012, 07:59 AM
We could of course simply give that 150k money to him as part of the pre contract deal for next season, and make it less likely for anyone to sign him for second Half of this season....

I would imagine if we are going down that route and act like dicks we won't see him for the second half of the season

19-11-2012, 08:12 AM
It's a no brainer.

The board gave us McPake and now if they deliver Griffiths then they will have a fine spine of a team to build around, let him go then once again we are just being teased about what could have been...

19-11-2012, 08:35 AM
Solbakken also admitted that he wasn't aware of any other interest in Griffiths.

Hibs would be bidding against themselves.

18Craig75
19-11-2012, 08:45 AM
I have a feeling we'll agree a pre contract, then maybe lose Leigh when he has to go back...then an 11th hour deal will be stuck and he'll be back for February for a lot less than 150k...Quite a big gamble though.

McSwanky
19-11-2012, 08:50 AM
Solbakken also admitted that he wasn't aware of any other interest in Griffiths.

I refuse to believe that someone who has scored 13 goals in 13 games in the SPL isn't generating some interest elsewhere.

19-11-2012, 08:50 AM
Hibs will have the money to get Leigh dont worry about!

19-11-2012, 08:52 AM

19-11-2012, 08:55 AM
I dont get it, Leigh is already worth more than 150k, were getting a striker for a bloody bargain, stop all this nonsense of ´where we going to get the money from´ sign the guy and the rest will take care of itself.The attendances are creeping up, we got the hertz in the cup, TV cash, a higher place in the league will generate more of a payout come the end of the season. WE REALLY NEED to get this done and get it done quickly, before another club comes in and steals him for 150K and that would be a steal and a crying shame if we cant tie him down.

19-11-2012, 08:57 AM

Theres absolutely no need to bid, he is already worth more than 150K,

19-11-2012, 08:58 AM
I guess we could all start baking cakes.....:cb:rolleyes:or buying half season tickets and/or East Terrace stones for those that can afford them but haven't done so yet.

19-11-2012, 09:00 AM
Am sure Rod will work his magic. Am pretty sure Wolves will want him off the wage bill. Anyone know what Leigh is roughly on per week? Am guessing its between 3-5k. Would not surprise me if Rod gets him for about 80k. Am sure we will be talking to Leigh about possible signing on bonus and weekly wage. Not saying anything is done but I can bet talks are happening incase a deal can be done with Wolves. Be gutted if we dont get him. Give him a 3 year deal then you already have a million pound player there.

19-11-2012, 09:06 AM
By whatever means, Hibs have to get Griffiths on a contract. We can't afford not to get him both from the morale and effectiveness of the team and also from the point of view of the board's judgement and ambition.

19-11-2012, 09:06 AM
Hibs should call wolves bluff. Offer Leigh the £150k as a signing on fee and get him signed on a pre contract. Biggest problem is whether LG wants to be at Hibs for the next couple of years. All the noise from Hibs was that it would be till the end of the season. As always if the player is going to get offered big money down south then he will take it regardless if he is a Hibs fan.

19-11-2012, 09:11 AM
I refuse to believe that someone who has scored 13 goals in 13 games in the SPL isn't generating some interest elsewhere.

From where?

Premier League - no chance

Championship - will wonder why Wolves are dumping him after almost no playing time. Maybe a cheap punt for some of those teams, but LG will want first team football after his experience with Wolves.

League One - would be as well staying at Hibs

19-11-2012, 09:14 AM
Hibs should call wolves bluff. Offer Leigh the £150k as a signing on fee and get him signed on a pre contract. Biggest problem is whether LG wants to be at Hibs for the next couple of years. All the noise from Hibs was that it would be till the end of the season. As always if the player is going to get offered big money down south then he will take it regardless if he is a Hibs fan.

we could call their bluff but they could call him back in January and we lose the chance of a striker and a few places in the league.

19-11-2012, 09:20 AM
we could call their bluff but they could call him back in January and we lose the chance of a striker and a few places in the league.

Then they are paying and not playing him. Wolves are not in a strong position on this. This all about money for them. Get him off the wage bill and try and recoup a transfer fee. The game changes if Ipswich come in and offer them a fee, Leigh would get higher wages and might still want a shot proving himself in the Championship

19-11-2012, 09:21 AM
Then they are paying and not playing him. Wolves are not in a strong position on this. This all about money for them. Get him off the wage bill and try and recoup a transfer fee. The game changes if Ipswich come in and offer them a fee, Leigh would get higher wages and might still want a shot proving himself in the Championship

If he goes to Ipswich he could end up in League 1

Matty_Jack04
19-11-2012, 09:22 AM

Leigh himself said he wanted to stay for the season, but saying that surely if we where to say as soon as a club down south offers us a Million we won't stand in your way, hibs have been good for Leigh just as much as he's been good for us surely some sort of loyalty isn't too much to expect.....if we can deal with wolves

McSwanky
19-11-2012, 09:24 AM
From where?

Championship - will wonder why Wolves are dumping him after almost no playing time. Maybe a cheap punt for some of those teams, but LG will want first team football after his experience with Wolves.

Why would anyone in the Championship be looking at what happened at Wolves? He's scoring goals. Now.

He's got a far better scoring record than Fletcher did and he's scored some great goals. (NB I'm not saying he's as good as Fletcher.)

Plenty of players have moved to (dare I say) Celtic, Rangers or the Championship with worse scoring records than Griffiths. Why should he be any different?

I seriously hope you're right though. I'd love there to be no other interest in him.

I'm holding out for a bit of fan loyalty from Griffiths as I think that's our best chance of signing him.

19-11-2012, 09:29 AM
in theory i agree however as pointed out above bigger crowds will aslo come if we sign McPake and the Huns get Binned Where are they :confused: we are at the top end of the league in the best position we could have hoped to be and 10000 turn up not exactly back on mass are we ?

Maybe what was meant was it was current ST holders and after may they would only come back if rangers
Went down and we got McPake.

19-11-2012, 09:31 AM
Was surprised and delighted when Solbakken said a few weeks ago that we could have him on loan again, think the board have obviously had a word. I've a feeling that the board are acutely aware of the importance of keeping him and will do all they can, but I'm not convinced that Griffiths would want to commit to 2-3 years.

Fingers crossed.

19-11-2012, 09:34 AM
From where?

There's been press talk about Wigan (who have previous for picking good SPL players) and Ipswich (who are now managed by the guy who signed him for Wolves).

19-11-2012, 09:36 AM
Leigh is 22 and has scored 77 goals in 136 career starts - there will be interest from clubs able to offer more than us in terms of both fee and wages.

19-11-2012, 09:37 AM

He won't sign a long contract because he wants a lucrative move elsewhere.

The £150k wouldn't be recouped through transfer fee.

happiehibbie
19-11-2012, 09:42 AM
Its really simple if the supporters want a better team lets have a sell out on a Saturday the same as the Hearts did on saturday on an other thread we are saying put in a donation to keep Sparky i am happy to do this i pledge £100

anyway lets get bums on seats we need Hibernian media staff to come out with a statement on how we can sell out a saturday and we will be able to sign a player of quality.

2 free tickets for old firm game I am intitled to 3 I would rather we sold them to give our club money. ( i will be offering the tickets to friends for sale and giving ER the money )

i see on twiter from Agent Scotland why not have a scheme Bye 1 get one half price

The media really need to start thinking out side the box

19-11-2012, 09:45 AM
It depends whether Wolves have rejected a further loan because they want a fee now or because they genuinely want to play him. Even if they are looking for a wedge id be amazed if we didnt have competition from richer clubs than us; you dont score the goals hes scored and go unnoticed.

I think Leighs time at ER might be up :boo hoo:

19-11-2012, 09:46 AM
He won't sign a long contract because he wants a lucrative move elsewhere.

The £150k wouldn't be recouped through transfer fee.

I'd agree with that. For all he's currently playing for the Club he loves, he's a young guy who presumably want to make his way in the world and maximising his potential earnings is one way of doing that.

And who can blame him, he's no different from Fletcher, Brown Thomson, Whittaker etc etc.

HTD1875
19-11-2012, 09:52 AM
Leigh loves playing for the Hibs, surely If we give him a reasonable Wage he would like to stay with his boyhood club near his friends and family?

PETRIE!!!

euansdad
19-11-2012, 10:00 AM
Yip has to be a priority signing. Surely we could get that?

19-11-2012, 10:15 AM
May well end up being a situation where we lose him and neither club nor player could be criticised for it.

19-11-2012, 10:32 AM
if it was anyone other than Sparky id say we had no chance, praying the hibs connection will keep him, we really need him in this team!

19-11-2012, 10:36 AM
We gain about £80k for every position higher in the SPL. So, 2 positions higher with LG in team & fee is paid. If we can sign him on 2 year deal & possibly sell him on so much the better!

19-11-2012, 10:39 AM
We gain about £80k for every position higher in the SPL. So, 2 positions higher with LG in team & fee is paid. If we can sign him on 2 year deal & possibly sell him on so much the better!

Can we afford the wages that he could get elsewhere, though?

19-11-2012, 10:46 AM
If fletcher can fetch 12 million plus transfer fees that went before big one I reckon griffiths will be same if not more one day. Surly we could spend to recoup future transfer fees for the player. LG at this age has bags more potential than fletcher showed at 21, which is scary when u see how well SF has done. He is a must have in my eyes.

19-11-2012, 10:49 AM
Was surprised and delighted when Solbakken said a few weeks ago that we could have him on loan again, think the board have obviously had a word. I've a feeling that the board are acutely aware of the importance of keeping him and will do all they can, but I'm not convinced that Griffiths would want to commit to 2-3 years.

Fingers crossed.

It could only be to our advantage and Leighs if he signs 2-3 yrs we get a wad for him he gets a wad when sold on?

19-11-2012, 10:50 AM
If fletcher can fetch 12 million plus transfer fees that went before big one I reckon griffiths will be same if not more one day. Surly we could spend to recoup future transfer fees for the player. LG at this age has bags more potential than fletcher showed at 21, which is scary when u see how well SF has done. He is a must have in my eyes.

Sparky wants to stay till the end of the season then secure a lucrative move somewhere.

We won't recoup any transfer fee.

19-11-2012, 10:54 AM
Sparky wants to stay till the end of the season then secure a lucrative move somewhere.

We won't recoup any transfer fee.

We would if we had a sell on clause in the contract though so that we couldn't stand in his way if a club made an offer of x amount.

19-11-2012, 10:55 AM

At the last AGM there was an interest free loan of £1.25m from STF laying unused. So put him on a 2 or 3 year deal, sell him on and repay the loan with cash to spare. Only a problem if he gets a bad injury.

19-11-2012, 10:56 AM
Petrie should be bending over backwards, shaving his tache, or begging from help from fans whatever it takes to get this superstar on board.

cam75
19-11-2012, 11:00 AM
Petrie should be bending over backwards, shaving his tache, or begging from help from fans whatever it takes to get this superstar on board.

That's got a£10 from me shave his tache of belter👨

19-11-2012, 11:00 AM
Sparky wants to stay till the end of the season then secure a lucrative move somewhere.We won't recoup any transfer fee.We can do the same deal that JC ( & ultimately RP ) worked out for Fletch. LG signs an 18-24 month contract in Jan with understanding from Hibs that we won't stand in his way if a bigger move materialises. That's a win/win with only possible downside that LG sees his ability to negotiate a signing on fee being reduced. However Hibs can take care of that by offering LG a share of any fee received. Leigh's only 22, there's great potential value here both on playing side & financially. If I had the dosh I'd take a punt myself! ( Is that a possibility - a sponsor buys LG with a share of any future profit? )

19-11-2012, 11:05 AM
Ah the magical/mythical 150k rears its head again on every 3rd post.

Wolves are chancing their arm. They would have been happy to get Griffiths off the books until recently but now he has hit scoring form Jez Moxey is probably the one trying to wangle a bit of money out of it. Griffiths scotland cap won't have helped our cause.

Hibs should sit tight. Wolves could face the prospect of paying c3-5k a week to someone for about 6 months that they have no intention of playing so would actually take a hit by not freeing him.

Someone else may well come in but I would imagine that any interest from others would be known already and the fact is we cannot compete on wages if there is a championship club willing to take a punt on someone who is surplus to requirements and has done nothing at another championship club.

We have little chance of signing him permanently anyway unless there is no other interest or Rod conjures up a contract giving him x% of any future transfer fee.

euansdad
19-11-2012, 12:07 PM
Well lets hope he does

19-11-2012, 12:12 PM
Signing Griffiths up is common sense.

But does the board have common sense?

19-11-2012, 12:22 PM

Unfortunately, I think money is in shorter supply than common sense.

19-11-2012, 12:22 PM
I see the absurdly positive spin that the EN has applied to every Hearts story recently does not extend to us: -

http://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/spl/leigh-griffiths-likely-to-leave-hibernian-in-january-as-wolves-look-to-sell-striker-1-2644567

I appreciate that they are being realistic, however.

19-11-2012, 12:31 PM

Yes it does, and it knows how much it can afford.

19-11-2012, 12:34 PM

And of course Leigh Griffiths future intentions may just have to be brought into consideration!

19-11-2012, 12:34 PM
Unfortunately, I think money is in shorter supply than common sense.

Tha Cabbage Kid
19-11-2012, 12:37 PM
no LG mean lower gates! im sure of it!

get him signed up. do it for the hibee family petrie!

kentao
19-11-2012, 12:43 PM
Sparky is the difference between top 3 and mid table. It will come down to ambition of the board. Secure sparky for a couple of seasons pushing for europa league places and sell on for nice profit or lose him in Jan and struggle to find someone with an ounce of his ability for similar money.

Newry Hibs
19-11-2012, 12:47 PM
I can see Celtc jumpimg in and buying him for a (for them) low fee - just to kill off any possible title challenge.

19-11-2012, 12:51 PM
I can see Celtc jumpimg in and buying him for a (for them) low fee - just to kill off any possible title challenge.

Title challenge from who?

Newry Hibs
19-11-2012, 12:53 PM
Title challenge from who?

Well, us. Unlikely I know but maybe they want to absolutely guarantee first place - and they get a decent striker as well (probably to stick on the bench).

19-11-2012, 12:55 PM
I suspect Wolves just want to force us / somebody to pay. The amount would be chicken feed compared to the fees they raked in in the summer, so it's likely they just want him gone.

Devine
19-11-2012, 12:59 PM
no LG mean lower gates! im sure of it!

get him signed up. do it for the hibee family petrie!

Correct!

No Sparky means less chance of winning games, less excitement at Easter Road which in turn will mean less Half Season tickets getting purchased, less gate revenue, less chance of getting into Europe & earnings that come with that.

There is absolutely no doubt whatsoever that without him we wouldnt be in the position we are in & theres no way that we could replace him with similar quality in January on our budget. Lets say it is £150k (they cant ask for much more than that after publically saying they dont want him and contract up at end of the season) is it a gamble Hibs can afford NOT to take?

Get it done and get it done ASAP I really dont think it would be that difficult to persuade him to sign a 2 1/2 year deal with a decent release clause in it and the opportunity for him to talk to bigger clubs if and when that happens. On top of that Hibs have a very good chance of making money on him a sound investment all round??

19-11-2012, 01:02 PM
One thing that might give us an edge, is that Leigh will want first team football.

He's not going to be guaranteed that at Celtic, although he'd walk into every other SPL team, but I doubt if any of them are in a better financial position.

Also, Fenlon says Sparky wants to stay, at least till the summer.

I'm sure he will be keeping Hibs in the loop as regards any other potential suitors.

Bottom line is though, if he wants film star wages now, he can't stay here.

19-11-2012, 01:05 PM
If I was offered an original Banksy for Ten Grand today ( a bargain I'm sure you will agree with massive sell on) I would have to decline as I don't have Ten Grand

19-11-2012, 01:06 PM
If I was offered an original Banksy for Ten Grand today ( a bargain I'm sure you will agree with massive sell on) I would have to decline as I don't have Ten Grand

You would also have to take into account the added insurance and security costs that came along with it.

19-11-2012, 01:13 PM
I'm sure the board are well aware of LGs importance to the team, I'm sure they will also do all they can to try and work out a deal where Leigh is a Hibs player beyond January.

Sadly though the accounts don't lie and the last published set showed a 900k loss and a relatively substantial debt level. We simply can't make money appear from thin air. The fact is that Leighs form won't have gone unnoticed and team with more financial clout than us will now be aware of him and his availability.

19-11-2012, 01:14 PM

You would also have to take into account the added insurance and security costs that came along with it.

And space for a new garden wall LOL

19-11-2012, 01:19 PM
If you had property worth £20 million, you could of course borrow the money against that to fund the purchase. Pay the loan back when you sell it on at a much higher price and keep the profit for yourself to make future wise investments.

SneakersO'Toole
19-11-2012, 01:23 PM
Sparky is the difference between top 3 and mid table. It will come down to ambition of the board. Secure sparky for a couple of seasons pushing for europa league places and sell on for nice profit or lose him in Jan and struggle to find someone with an ounce of his ability for similar money.

In a nutshell. Well said.

19-11-2012, 01:23 PM
If you had property worth £20 million, you could of course borrow the money against that to fund the purchase. Pay the loan back when you sell it on at a much higher price and keep the profit for yourself to make future wise investments.

We have already borrowed though ? Where does it end ? Our property is worth 14mil our debt will be 7-9mil in this years accounts , if we borrow more and the people don't come we are gonna have a debt equal to our assets in a couple of years

19-11-2012, 01:27 PM
I'm sure the board are well aware of LGs importance to the team, I'm sure they will also do all they can to try and work out a deal where Leigh is a Hibs player beyond January.

Sadly though the accounts don't lie and the last published set showed a 900k loss and a relatively substantial debt level. We simply can't make money appear from thin air. The fact is that Leighs form won't have gone unnoticed and team with more financial clout than us will now be aware of him and his availability.

Although 150k is not much for a player like sparky, we still need to pay his wages which would have to be the highest in the team.

I'd love sparky to sign as would every hibee but theres lessons to be learned from our pink neighbours current situation

19-11-2012, 01:32 PM

Erm, the bank?!

19-11-2012, 01:35 PM
Erm, the bank?!

So, not only are we going to substantially increase our wage bill, we are also going to commit ourselves to loan repayments of £4-4,500 a month for the next 3 years?

No thanks.

19-11-2012, 01:38 PM
We have already borrowed though ? Where does it end ? Our property is worth 14mil our debt will be 7-9mil in this years accounts , if we borrow more and the people don't come we are gonna have a debt equal to our assets in a couple of years

7-9 Million? :eek:

19-11-2012, 01:40 PM
It never fails to shock me that the fans that are laughing at the mess across the city still are shouting for us to take on more debt, does the whole Sevco concept seem attractive ?

From where?

You forget the one club that have a tendency to snap up any of our players when they show a bit of form...Celtic.

No guarantee they will be able to hold onto Hooper. I know they have Watt, Stokes and Samaras but when has them stopped them in the past?

Correct!

No Sparky means less chance of winning games, less excitement at Easter Road which in turn will mean less Half Season tickets getting purchased, less gate revenue, less chance of getting into Europe & earnings that come with that.

There is absolutely no doubt whatsoever that without him we wouldnt be in the position we are in & theres no way that we could replace him with similar quality in January on our budget. Lets say it is £150k (they cant ask for much more than that after publically saying they dont want him and contract up at end of the season) is it a gamble Hibs can afford NOT to take?

Get it done and get it done ASAP I really dont think it would be that difficult to persuade him to sign a 2 1/2 year deal with a decent release clause in it and the opportunity for him to talk to bigger clubs if and when that happens. On top of that Hibs have a very good chance of making money on him a sound investment all round??

Why don't we turn it around? Why don't we buy the half season tickets to help make Sparky affordable?

19-11-2012, 01:41 PM
7-9 Million? :eek:

Based on a rough guesstimate from last years figures which are there for all to see and the fact we will have lost more this year

19-11-2012, 01:43 PM
It never fails to shock me that the fans that are laughing at the mess across the city still are shouting for us to take on more debt, does the whole Sevco concept seem attractive ?

The difference here though is that the player in question is a great investment opportunity.

He could easily be worth 10x that amount over a year or so.

19-11-2012, 01:45 PM
The difference here though is that the player in question is a great investment opportunity.

Could easily have an injury too

19-11-2012, 01:46 PM

And how do you invest if the money is not there ?

19-11-2012, 01:48 PM

So let's say we double his wages to a level that he could get elsewehere.

Every other player that we want to keep and whose contract is running out will point to that and say... you could afford it for him, why not me? We refuse to pay them the same, and they're off. We pay them the same, or even 75%, and we're on the slippery slope to Yammageddon.

And... what happens if he gets injured?

As long as he is worth more to another club than what we can afford, then it's a bad move.

19-11-2012, 01:53 PM
Why don't we turn it around? Why don't we buy the half season tickets to help make Sparky affordable?:agree:

19-11-2012, 01:53 PM
Where does the £150,000 fee come from?

I don't doubt the board will do everything they can to sign him. Doesn't mean we will unfortunately. I'd love him to stay and I reckon he'd like to stay, at the minute he's the difference between us being a good SPL side and an average SPL side. He's really that important.

19-11-2012, 01:57 PM
I wonder if Hearts will do their usual and offer him double what we're offering?

MoscowHibs
19-11-2012, 02:01 PM
The tache isnae stupid, there is no doubt in my mind he will be exploring all avenues to make this happen. On the assumption we get past the Ratbags in the cup, another high profile/easy tie may just make the tache get oot his calculator. I think the potential to go far in the cup may just be the factor in him going that extra mile. He could also invite STF oot for dinner, get him drunk as a skunk, and get him tae sign the "tab".

euansdad
19-11-2012, 02:02 PM
I wonder if Hearts will do their usual and offer him double what we're offering?

Lol I dot think they are in a position to do that

19-11-2012, 02:02 PM
Could easily have an injury too

AYE, and still easily be worth more than 150k.

19-11-2012, 02:05 PM
AYE, and still easily be worth more than 150k.

How ? Not injured he's not ,how much is that lad from Celtic worth these days after a friendly for Scotland ?

19-11-2012, 02:10 PM
150k is equivelant to 1,000 Half Season Tickets (possibly). If we can keep up a reasonable level of form, I don't see any reason why we can't get the deal done.

One other thing to think about. If someone offered you a Jaguar for the price of a Fiat Panda, would you be tempted to splash out on it, even if it meant taking out a loan at the Bank? You could buy it now and sell it for three times the price you paid later.

Of course, it could have a serious accident and you lose all your money...... Have you never heard of insurance? :wink:

19-11-2012, 02:17 PM
150k is equivelant to 1,000 Half Season Tickets (possibly). If we can keep up a reasonable level of form, I don't see any reason why we can't get the deal done.

One other thing to think about. If someone offered you a Jaguar for the price of a Fiat Panda, would you be tempted to splash out on it, even if it meant taking out a loan at the Bank? You could buy it now and sell it for three times the price you paid later.

Of course, it could have a serious accident and you lose all your money...... Have you never heard of insurance? :wink:
Can we afford to take on more debt ? We have plenty to be going on with in my opinion ? Also all the focus is on this £150000 but what about the additional £220000 a year in wages ? What if nobody comes in for him and we have him for 3 years at that rate that's a million gone nearly

19-11-2012, 02:21 PM
Can we afford to take on more debt ? We have plenty to be going on with in my opinion ? Also all the focus is on this £150000 but what about the additional £220000 a year in wages ? What if nobody comes in for him and we have him for 3 years at that rate that's a million gone nearlyI'm sure he'll earn us a fair bit of that back on the park with his goals if nothing else :wink:

19-11-2012, 02:26 PM
I'm sure he'll earn us a fair bit of that back on the park with his goals if nothing else :wink:

The thing is DD I would love us to get him and agree it seems a no brainer but just think if it can be done it will be done, however if the money is not there then it can't be done. The future of our club has to come 1st and taking on more Debt may be too much of a risk or simply impossible to finance

19-11-2012, 02:32 PM

It's an interesting analogy.

I really, really, really want a Ferrari FF.

New, it's worth nearly a quarter of a million on the road.

But, if you offered it to me for a mere £75k, I'd turn it down.

In theory, I could finance the deal, but I wouldn't want the cost of running it, insuring it or the worry about keeping it safe.

I might be able to sell it on at a profit, but what if it started acting up, or developing faults, or got a bad name and I couldn't find a buyer?

19-11-2012, 02:38 PM
His ongoing wages and a signing on fee will be a lot more than any £150k transfer fee.

It will be the wages that scupper any potential deal, not the transfer fee.

If his agent is any good he will already have the feelers out for interested parties and possible wage figures. If we can agree a wage and length of contract, then I'm pretty sure that he will be a Hibs player, whether it be it in January or in the summer.

19-11-2012, 02:39 PM
We can't afford him but then can we afford not to sign him?

We simply have to find the money from somewhere because our season will quickly go down the pan if he's not signed up. :agree:

19-11-2012, 02:40 PM
We can't afford him but then can we afford not to sign him?

We simply have to find the money from somewhere because our season will quickly go down the pan if he's not signed up. :agree:

Yamanomics. :cb

19-11-2012, 02:40 PM
Why don't we turn it around? Why don't we buy the half season tickets to help make Sparky affordable?

That would be nice, but the fans have been buying tickets for a few seasons and not seeing much on offer, it's goin to take a while to get the fans bought into hibs again. Either the fans or the board need to make the first move when it comes to putting hands in pockets. Unfortunately it would need to be hundreds of fans making that decision, but only one man on the board.

19-11-2012, 02:42 PM
The thing is DD I would love us to get him and agree it seems a no brainer but just think if it can be done it will be done, however if the money is not there then it can't be done. The future of our club has to come 1st and taking on more Debt may be too much of a risk or simply impossible to finance

I suppose you're right but it would seem such a waste if we don't take the opportunity of getting someone who is a fantastic player on the cheap. We either have him for a long time, in which case he returns the investment on the park, or we sell him for a profit.

If you think about the money invested in the training centre I feel there's some similarity. We all hope that the training centre pays off by bringing through decent young players that provide us with one of the options above (good playing career / big transfer). Here we have someone akin to a ready made successful training centre graduate. I really think he's worth the investment.

19-11-2012, 03:03 PM
I suppose you're right but it would seem such a waste if we don't take the opportunity of getting someone who is a fantastic player on the cheap. We either have him for a long time, in which case he returns the investment on the park, or we sell him for a profit.

If you think about the money invested in the training centre I feel there's some similarity. We all hope that the training centre pays off by bringing through decent young players that provide us with one of the options above (good playing career / big transfer). Here we have someone akin to a ready made successful training centre graduate. I really think he's worth the investment.

Its very similar to the training center mate and to an extent it will only take a couple of laddies to make it and it will be deemed a success :thumbsup:I totally agree that Leigh is a great investment and im not trying to be a dick to anyone who suggests its a no brainer or the like, Im just trying to keep it real and point out that the £150 grand everyone focuses on is more like £1 million if it goes wrong. We all want whats best for the club and we all can see how important Leigh is to the side thats why i have faith that if it can be done it will be. Its time for all the stay away fans to stand up and be counted because 10k fans is not enough to attract/pay the wages of a player this good :pfgwa

GreenPJ
19-11-2012, 03:03 PM
It's an interesting analogy.

I really, really, really want a Ferrari FF.

New, it's worth nearly a quarter of a million on the road.

But, if you offered it to me for a mere £75k, I'd turn it down.

In theory, I could finance the deal, but I wouldn't want the cost of running it, insuring it or the worry about keeping it safe.

I might be able to sell it on at a profit, but what if it started acting up, or developing faults, or got a bad name and I couldn't find a buyer?

The objective of the football team (business) is to be as competitive on the park as possible whilst investing in players in the intention of making money on them in sell on value to provide a sustainable future for the Club. Whether that investment extends to £150K plus wages only the man with the cheque book knows.

19-11-2012, 03:08 PM
And how do you invest if the money is not there ?

Did you not just say in another thread that Hibs have a positive cash balance of 2 Million?

So technically, the money is there.

19-11-2012, 03:10 PM
Did you not just say in another thread that Hibs have a positive cash balance of 2 Million?

18months ago (approx) we had a positive cash Balance if 2million :wink: our new accounts are not out yet

19-11-2012, 03:10 PM
So let's say we double his wages to a level that he could get elsewehere.

Every other player that we want to keep and whose contract is running out will point to that and say... you could afford it for him, why not me? We refuse to pay them the same, and they're off. We pay them the same, or even 75%, and we're on the slippery slope to Yammageddon.

And... what happens if he gets injured?

As long as he is worth more to another club than what we can afford, then it's a bad move.

Players should be paid their worth.

If Griffiths gets paid more than somebody else, its because he's worth more than somebody else.

You can't expect every player to be on equal wages and neither can they.

19-11-2012, 03:16 PM

18months ago (approx) we had a positive cash Balance if 2million :wink: our new accounts are not out yet

Oh and i didnt say anything i copied and pasted the Accounts :wink:

19-11-2012, 03:17 PM

What a lovely, novel idea!

cam75
19-11-2012, 03:21 PM
Wolves are around £120m in debt they need every penny,I'm sure they paid Dundee £150k for LG may be wrong,but puts comparison of Scottish football and how much debt can be run up by relegated EPL SIDE

19-11-2012, 03:22 PM
Griffiths goals could be the difference between a top 4 finish and a bottom 4 finish. Where would we be right now without his goal scoring record?

Players can't really complain if he's on a higher wage bill, he's been our most vital asset so far.

19-11-2012, 03:22 PM

If Griffiths gets paid more than somebody else, its because he's worth more than somebody else.

You can't expect every player to be on equal wages and neither can they.

Perhaps not, but Hibs live in the real world, and we're all the more secure for it.

19-11-2012, 03:24 PM
Perhaps not, but Hibs live in the real world, and we're all the more secure for it.

In the real world, players are paid based on their value to the squad. :wink:

19-11-2012, 03:25 PM

Possibly, but also according to how much the club can afford.

19-11-2012, 03:28 PM

You havent yet explained where the money is coming from :greengrin

19-11-2012, 03:29 PM
i think people need to realise that without him we'd slip dramtically down the table, and plunge further into debt as we'll have another rubbish/average season. Its an investment i think must be taken

19-11-2012, 03:31 PM

Who decides that value?

In Hibs' real world, they are paid according to the amount of money we have. Not according to "how much money we have, plus 50%, plus the 50% that we should pay to the tax man".

19-11-2012, 03:33 PM
Launching players like Kuqi when the window opens up would be a good start...

19-11-2012, 03:34 PM
i think people need to realise that without him we'd slip dramtically down the table, and plunge further into debt as we'll have another rubbish/average season. Its an investment i think must be taken

I'm not so sure we'll plunge anywhere. There will be a replacement if Griffiths leaves. He may not be as prolific as Leight, but he'll still contribute.

19-11-2012, 03:35 PM
Launching players like Kuqi when the window opens up would be a good start...

Is he out of contract ? again not being a dick just asking. If he still under contract then we have to pay that off :wink: and who else ?

19-11-2012, 03:38 PM
Right guys, time to get the buckets out. Who'll organise the Forth Suite for the "charity auction? I'll bid a fiver for Tam McCourts boots. Whose up for it?

19-11-2012, 03:39 PM
Who decides that value?

In Hibs' real world, they are paid according to the amount of money we have. Not according to "how much money we have, plus 50%, plus the 50% that we should pay to the tax man".

Players decide their own value, based on how they perform.

If we don't have enough cash to pay for a player who is valuable to us, then why not get players that aren't valuable to us off the wage bill?

Griffiths would be a massive loss to us and we could easily tumble back into the spiral we've been in over the past few years. When results stop going our way, because of the lack of goals, people will start calling for Fenlons head..... and so it will go on.

Things are going very well right now, lets cough up the 150k and keep it going.

19-11-2012, 03:42 PM
Not that long ago it was McPake who was the must have signing. We can't keep streching the budget

19-11-2012, 03:42 PM
Is he out of contract ? again not being a dick just asking. If he still under contract then we have to pay that off :wink: and who else ?

It will only cost us if we fail to find him another club.

If we were daft enough to sign him, then surely some other club will be? :wink:

19-11-2012, 03:43 PM
If we don't have enough cash to pay for a player who is valuable to us, then why not get players that aren't valuable to us off the wage bill?

That will only happen at the end of their contracts at the end of the season at the earliest, which is no use with regards to January.

19-11-2012, 03:47 PM
It will only cost us if we fail to find him another club.

If we were daft enough to sign him, then surely some other club will be? :wink:

Not even nearly true Unless A. he is willing to go B. they pay him the same wage on offer here And C. nobody has seen his appearances for us :greengrin

19-11-2012, 03:47 PM

Griffiths would be a massive loss to us and we could easily tumble back into the spiral we've been in over the past few years. When results stop going our way, because of the lack of goals, people will start calling for Fenlons head..... and so it will go on.

I can see you're passionate about this and that's a great thing.

A serious question, if I may.

Why don't you fund the transfer fee personally and then you and Hibs could cash in when he gets sold on?

19-11-2012, 03:57 PM
Not that long ago it was McPake who was the must have signing. We can't keep streching the budget

And at some point the people who keep saying "I'm not coming back until........" are going to have to start coming back.

If being top of the league isn't enough for them then the club is unlikely to spend money it doesn't have.

19-11-2012, 04:17 PM

... with the added element of what they can get elsewhere.

And that, I'm afraid, will be much more important than whether or not we can afford this famous £150k.

19-11-2012, 04:22 PM
We would be absolutely NOWHERE near 2nd place in the league without Griffiths's goals... He's been the difference between matches as he has scored the winner in many of our games... I believe he joined Wolves from Dundee for about £150,000 and I've been told a few rumours that Hibs could snap him up for around the same price... Surely Petrie must realise how much of an important asset Leigh is to the team and give Fenlon the cash to buy him... For me this a must do if we wish to stay near the top of the table because without his goals, I feel we would plummet down the table and it would happen in a flash :rolleyes:

GET HIM SIGNED!!! :agree:

19-11-2012, 04:26 PM
I'm not so sure we'll plunge anywhere. There will be a replacement if Griffiths leaves. He may not be as prolific as Leight, but he'll still contribute.

Who do you have in mind. We are currently second in the league. We in my opinion will slide if he leaves

19-11-2012, 04:28 PM
We would be absolutely NOWHERE near 2nd place in the league without Griffiths's goals... He's been the difference between matches as he has scored the winner in many of our games... I believe he joined Wolves from Dundee for about £150,000 and I've been told a few rumours that Hibs could snap him up for around the same price... Surely Petrie must realise how much of an important asset Leigh is to the team and give Fenlon the cash to buy him... For me this a must do if we wish to stay near the top of the table because without his goals, I feel we would plummet down the table and it would happen in a flash :rolleyes:

How much does he want a week?

£8k?

£10k? :dunno:

19-11-2012, 04:32 PM

Ok you appear to have Tagged in for Hibercelona so maybe you can answer where is the money coming from ?

happiehibbie
19-11-2012, 04:33 PM
Its easy guys all we needd to to do is do what hearts are doing dig deep in to our pockets lets have a SELL OUT SATURDAY buy a ticket give our team money then we can sign players such as Sparky

lets work together :)

19-11-2012, 04:37 PM

Bit of devil's advocate here, but if he's that much of an investment (i.e. spend just £150k for him now, sell him for much more later), how come Wolves are at best breaking even, and at worst taking a hit (assuming that they paid some of his wages while he's been on loan to us)?

Is this the sort of business case to take to the bank to convince them to give us the money to sign him?

19-11-2012, 04:40 PM
Ditch Kuqi, Sproule and give their wages to.Leigh, joking apart if Hibs let Griffiths go it will.have a huge impact on crowds and results and both will be negative. A major decision to be made which could define Hibs future.

19-11-2012, 04:44 PM
Ditch Kuqi, Sproule and give their wages to.Leigh, joking apart if Hibs let Griffiths go it will.have a huge impact on crowds and results and both will be negative. A major decision to be made which could define Hibs future.

After paying them off of course :wink:

19-11-2012, 04:46 PM
Leigh has scored half of our league goals this season, so is obviously hugely important - but we are far from a one man team.

19-11-2012, 04:56 PM
Leigh has scored half of our league goals this season, so is obviously hugely important - but we are far from a one man team.

What was the situation regarding Garry O'Connor at this time last season? I seem to recall we were having the same discussions we are currently having, with the same points being made, regarding Leigh.

I would love to see LG signed permanently but we need to be able to afford it.

19-11-2012, 05:04 PM
And at some point the people who keep saying "I'm not coming back until........" are going to have to start coming back.

If being top of the league isn't enough for them then the club is unlikely to spend money it doesn't have.

I agree, why are we not getting bigger crowds at home??? I love when some guys say we should do everything in our power to sign LG, but crowd revenue goes a long way to help....

Keep reading that because we lost at Dundee we will have 1 or 2 thousand less.....Why should being beaten a week before have a detrimental effect on our gate.......Comparable to last two seasons, we are miles ahead in terms of a team, we need the players to be backed NOW.....

19-11-2012, 05:04 PM
What was the situation regarding Garry O'Connor at this time last season? I seem to recall we were having the same discussions we are currently having, with the same points being made, regarding Leigh.

I would love to see LG signed permanently but we need to be able to afford it.

Yeah, I was thinking the same thing - though Leigh is clearly much more mobile and much more dangerous in general than our lumbering assassin from last year.

19-11-2012, 05:05 PM
Unfortunately I cant see us signing Leigh on a long term deal. Think the only chance we may have is to come to some sort of arrangement with Wolves to keep him until the end of the season for a small fee.

He has a young family and he will be looking to get the best possible wage which I would imagine is in the 8-10k bracket. Championship even League 1 clubs can afford that a week. We cant.

19-11-2012, 05:07 PM
Unfortunately I cant see us signing Leigh on a long term deal. Think the only chance we may have is to come to some sort of arrangement with Wolves to keep him until the end of the season for a small fee.

He has a young family and he will be looking to get the best possible wage which I would imagine is in the 8-10k bracket. Championship even League 1 clubs can afford that a week. We cant.

I think he has a few :greengrin

19-11-2012, 05:22 PM
I think he has a few :greengrin

And might be the reason, hopefully, he would want to stay up here

euansdad
19-11-2012, 05:23 PM
I'm not giving up on anything cos the lure of playing for the club you supported as a lad must be strong. Fingers crossed

19-11-2012, 05:29 PM
This will hardly be a surprise - guessing the first Hibs know of this won't be through The Sun.

If Petrie and Fenlon have been working on it they'll have known what it will take. If it doesn't happen, won't be for the want of trying.

Leishy1995
19-11-2012, 05:31 PM
He loves the club, the fans love him, Petrie will be working on this deal I'd hope and he'll be thinking already of the rise in fee if he scored more next season. Profit is worth the risk surely?

19-11-2012, 05:42 PM
I agree, why are we not getting bigger crowds at home??? I love when some guys say we should do everything in our power to sign LG, but crowd revenue goes a long way to help....

Keep reading that because we lost at Dundee we will have 1 or 2 thousand less.....Why should being beaten a week before have a detrimental effect on our gate.......Comparable to last two seasons, we are miles ahead in terms of a team, we need the players to be backed NOW.....

The crowds are coming back albeit slowly. Our average crowds are up by about 600 on last seasons. Its a bit better than others i.e hearts crowds are down by an average of 700 a game. It can take years to build up a support but that support can be decimated by one bad season. We have had too many bad seasons recently. One other thing that doesnt help is the cost of a match day ticket.

hibsfootballer
19-11-2012, 05:49 PM
Say we gave him a 2 year deal at 5k a week that just over 500k plus 150k that wolves want plus add ons for goal bonuses, singing on fee etc. seems a fair whack when you add it all up but worth it for defo I'd say.

19-11-2012, 05:58 PM
Say we gave him a 2 year deal at 5k a week that just over 500k plus 150k that wolves want plus add ons for goal bonuses, singing on fee etc. seems a fair whack when you add it all up but worth it for defo I'd say.

Posted earlier that some fag packet maths means around £1million all in that was me basing it on 3 years, Its a lot of money but could be a huge investment but also a massive risk

19-11-2012, 06:26 PM
The risk with loan deals such as this is how well do you want them to do - do ok and have a chance of keeping the player, or see them do really well, enjoy the benefits and risk not being able to retain their services?

As I've said previously in this thread, if Leigh moves it will be neither the club's fault nor the player's - we will do all we can and he will seek the best deal available.

After the decidedly mixed results from our use of the loan market last year, we really should be praising ourselves for such a good loan move. Losing him would be a huge blow, but we could well continue the momentum that has been built from the part he has played in our dramatic turnaround from last season if he does go.

19-11-2012, 06:57 PM
If it is a case of finding 150K then we should try to do that. If we can get LG to sign on for the rest of this season and next season with a clause in the contract that he can leave at the end of this season if anybody comes in with 150K or more at least we will have him until the end of this season.

But at the end of the day LG is a professional footballer and of all pro players strikers probably have the shortest shelf life. He will go where the money is best and will owe Hibs nothing if he does. Hardly any players play for the club the love ... LG unfortunately will be no different.

Would love it if he stays to at least the end of the season though.

19-11-2012, 07:17 PM
Think this has happened at a good time.

If we'd gotten an extention to the end of the season the board could have buried Leigh leaving in the off season when nobody's paying that much attention. All eyes are on them now to show what level of ambition they have, no escaping.

19-11-2012, 07:20 PM
Think this has happened at a good time.

If we'd gotten an extention to the end of the season the board could have buried Leigh leaving in the off season when nobody's paying that much attention. All eyes are on them now to show what level of ambition they have, no escaping.and the fans could show theirs by turning up in bigger numbers and tae mair games.

Hibeesforever
19-11-2012, 07:29 PM
The board have to deliver here even though I wouldn't be surprised if a deal was already done. Surely the fans deserve it after what happened in May.

Get the old wooden table and chair out on the pitch before the Scottish Cup match with Hearts.....have Leigh sign there and then. Cabbage would go mental, we would go on to win the tie and Leigh pays for himself.

This is Rod's hour, if he doesn't do this bit of business then it is SFA for him pronto and fans ownership model for Hibs too.

19-11-2012, 07:31 PM
Get the old wooden table and chair out on the pitch before the Scottish Cup match with Hearts.....have Leigh sign there and then. Cabbage would go mental, we would go on to win the tie and Leigh pays for himself.

This is Rod's hour, if he doesn't do this bit of business then it is SFA for him pronto and fans ownership model for Hibs too.

Yamanomics :cb

Hibeesforever
19-11-2012, 07:33 PM
I can see you're passionate about this and that's a great thing.

A serious question, if I may.

Why don't you fund the transfer fee personally and then you and Hibs could cash in when he gets sold on?

Maybe that is the model to follow ? Punters take part ownerships in horses, so why not footballers ? The game is always more exciting with a bet on!

19-11-2012, 08:04 PM
I can't see why we wouldn't be able to afford him? Surely his wages wouldn't be that huge at Wolves at the moment. He seems one of the few players out there that doesn't see money as everything. He loves Hibs and as far as I know wants to play for us.

19-11-2012, 08:05 PM
He wants to play for Hibs.

We need him.

He is not expensive (but do we have the cash?)

Not signing him would be a huge blow.

FWIW, I think he will sign for Hibs.

hibs supporter
19-11-2012, 08:25 PM
surely if we cant afford a big fee give them a 40 percent sell on fee or something like that

kentao
19-11-2012, 08:28 PM
Garry Oconnor
Played 146 Scored 46 Sold for 1.6m

Steven Fletcher
Played 156 Scored 43 Sold for 3m

Leigh Griffiths
Played 43 Scored 21 Sold for ??

Sparkys stats are in line with if not better than 2 great strikers we've already made a small fortune on. This might have to be like the Dela Cruz situation but its a punt we must take. Strikers of his ability aren't cheap but were lucky that the last few decent strikers have came through our setup or are hibs daft if it wasn't for that reason i doubt Sparky would even be here,

Come on Rod juggle the books about and make it happen.

19-11-2012, 08:35 PM
He wants to play for Hibs.

We need him.

He is not expensive (but do we have the cash?)

Not signing him would be a huge blow.

FWIW, I think he will sign for Hibs.

I think LG has had his fingers burnt at Wolves and he couldn't handle the step up. However he's defo found his groove and has the chance to become an absolute legend at the club he supports. Hopefully Sparky sees this and bring only 21/22 he sees his future at ER. (2 or 3 years)

I personally think the only stumbling block is Wolves and they want a bit of a return on monies spent. Think 50 to 80 Grand will get him. Yes I know we can sign him for nowt on pre contract but we need him to stay, build the team around him

19-11-2012, 08:36 PM

That remains to be seen. When stokes left who did we bring in a player who didn't score 1 goal

hibee
19-11-2012, 08:40 PM
I can't see why we wouldn't be able to afford him? Surely his wages wouldn't be that huge at Wolves at the moment. He seems one of the few players out there that doesn't see money as everything. He loves Hibs and as far as I know wants to play for us.

£7000 a week may not be huge at Wolves but it's huge to Hibs so we are relying on him taking a fairly big pay cut to sign for us, hope he does but can't see it happening.

19-11-2012, 08:42 PM
Garry Oconnor
Played 146 Scored 46 Sold for 1.6m

Steven Fletcher
Played 156 Scored 43 Sold for 3m

Leigh Griffiths
Played 43 Scored 21 Sold for ??

Sparkys stats are in line with if not better than 2 great strikers we've already made a small fortune on. This might have to be like the Dela Cruz situation but its a punt we must take. Strikers of his ability aren't cheap but were lucky that the last few decent strikers have came through our setup or are hibs daft if it wasn't for that reason i doubt Sparky would even be here,

Come on Rod juggle the books about and make it happen.

I was laughing apples when I saw the fee that Graham Taylor had offered Hibs for UDC.........maybe I'm in the minority here but I thought he was an awful player, absolute bags of pace but always looked as if he was going to do a roadrunner impression with the ball and end up running out the ground towards Lochend without looking up...........very like Ted McMinn for those that remember him. All I can remember is his goals v Hearts, me being very drunk and later that night probably asking Craig Brewster if he'd have my children :greengrin IIRC a young Alan Maybury played that day too but I may be wrong.

19-11-2012, 08:44 PM
£7000 a week may not be huge at Wolves but it's huge to Hibs so we are relying on him taking a fairly big pay cut to sign for us, hope he does but can't see it happening.

H. I really don't think wages will be a problem, Wolves will be the stumbling block IMHO , what I mean is that he may have to go back (get him on a pre Contract at end of season) and sign him in the summer.

Fingers crossed

19-11-2012, 08:45 PM
He loves the club, the fans love him, Petrie will be working on this deal I'd hope and he'll be thinking already of the rise in fee if he scored more next season. Profit is worth the risk surely?

We would also be asking the player to take a risk with his own career. He may be daft but he certainly isn't stupid.