How do we spell it, guys?

Hibby?

Hibbie?

Hibee?

01-11-2012, 10:16 PM
all depends what the words are about

i'm a hibby, they are hibby's we are hibby's

except if we are singing we are the hibees...we'll do what we want :)

01-11-2012, 10:18 PM
without a doubt Hibby:aok:

with Hibbies for more than one Hibby :greengrin

01-11-2012, 10:20 PM
without a doubt Hibby

But...........I am a Hibee, they are Hibees and we are the Hibees! :greengrin

:worms:

01-11-2012, 10:22 PM

that's the only one i would say was correct in the right context :hmmm:

01-11-2012, 10:23 PM

01-11-2012, 10:24 PM
....for a stone that Santa might be getting someone for Christmas.:wink:

Hibby?

Hibbie?

Hibee?I'm sure it'll be so much clearer in your mind by the end of this thread :greengrin

01-11-2012, 10:29 PM
I am on the side of, i'm a Hibee, we are all Hibees. :agree:

01-11-2012, 10:31 PM
I'm a Hibby, we are the Hibees. In my opinion of course.

01-11-2012, 10:33 PM
I started off thinking it was only other fans that used the term "Hibby" or "Hibbies", so I always said "I am a Hibee." and likewise, a group of "Hibees".

But that was back when I had my first (or second...) ST.

Now I tend to say Hibby unless I'm shouting "Hibees! Hibees! Hibees!" - which we used to do a lot more at corners and freekicks IIRC.

Probably wouldn't say "Hibbies" though to be honest.

In other words, I'm pretty confused about it myself :faf:

01-11-2012, 10:37 PM

Hibby?

Hibbie?

Hibee?

IMHO, it depends on the context so perhaps it would help narrow it down if we knew the wording you are thinking about? :dunno: Maybe :greengrin

Just say "Hibs fan"..... Or "supporter" if you want to really splash out on a bigger size stone.....

i am a hibby....i support the hi-bees

01-11-2012, 10:38 PM
IMHO, it depends on the context so perhaps it would help narrow it down if we knew the wording you are thinking about? :dunno: Maybe :greengrin

Ah hae ma doots...this could be a 12 pager :greengrin

I am hoping to say that someone has been a H...... since.....

Like that helps. :greengrin

01-11-2012, 10:42 PM
female hibby's/hibbies are hibbyettes :) or even hibbettes, i'm so confused

01-11-2012, 10:45 PM
Ooo to
Ooo to be
Ooo to be a
Hi-bee!

01-11-2012, 10:47 PM
I'm a Hibbie, some might spell it Hibby and the team out on the park are The Hibees.

01-11-2012, 10:49 PM
Ah hae ma doots...this could be a 12 pager :greengrin

I am hoping to say that someone has been a H...... since.....

Like that helps. :greengrin

Hibby :agree: 100%. Also, less letters than Hibbie, i.e. less expensive :wink:

Argylehibby
01-11-2012, 10:52 PM
I would refer to the team as the Hibees but a supporter as Hibby.

Argylehibby
01-11-2012, 10:53 PM
Ooo to
Ooo to be
Ooo to be a
Hi-bee!

Indeed, As Hibby's we would all like to play for the Hibees!

01-11-2012, 10:54 PM
all depends what the words are about

except if we are singing we are the hibees...we'll do what we want :)

Nae need for the apostrophes ;-)

Argylehibby
01-11-2012, 10:55 PM
This one is gonna run and run. Look at the user names on the first page and there is a fair old mix of ****Hibby or ****Hibee

01-11-2012, 11:02 PM
Nae need for the apostrophes ;-)

indeed, DD was right it's hibbies

This one is gonna run and run. Look at the user names on the first page and there is a fair old mix of ****Hibby or ****Hibee

ltyf's :greengrin

shetlandhibee
01-11-2012, 11:03 PM
I'm a hibee and I support the hibbies (high-bees):greengrin

01-11-2012, 11:08 PM
Hibby sounds too much like hippie. :greengrin

And i'm a wee hibee :agree: and we are the hibees. :thumbsup:

01-11-2012, 11:12 PM
I am a hibee, you are a hibee, we are all hibees.

Purple & Green
01-11-2012, 11:28 PM
I'm a hibby. Maybe it's an age thing.

Others might be hibbies or hibees.

01-11-2012, 11:34 PM

Hibby?

Hibbie?

Hibee?

Hibby or Hibee are both fine. It's a matter of personal choice.

Never Hibbie though.

01-11-2012, 11:40 PM
One supporter is a Hibby.
A group of supporters are Hibbies.

The team are the Hibees.

01-11-2012, 11:40 PM
Uber Fan on the brick :dunno:

Conjugate the verb To Hibs

I am a(n) Hibby
You are a Hibby
He/she is a Hibby
We are Hibbies
They are Hibbies
You (collective) are Hibbies

We are The Hibees

The are the people called Roman go to the house. Simples.

joe_hfc
02-11-2012, 12:05 AM
Hibee :agree: Hibby, IMO,is more 'kiddy', I used to use it when I was about 12, after then as a teenager it was cooler to say Hibee.. maybe just my own philosophy! 'Mon the Hibees :flag:

02-11-2012, 12:15 AM
I am a hibbie, and so so is my wife!

02-11-2012, 12:40 AM
I say Hibee rather than Hibby, each to their own I guess

BarneyBreslin
02-11-2012, 12:44 AM
I'm a Hibby, we are the Hibees. In my opinion of course.

+1

02-11-2012, 05:49 AM

:worms:

...says hibbybri!

02-11-2012, 05:55 AM
Uber Fan on the brick :dunno:

Conjugate the verb To Hibs

I am a(n) Hibby
You are a Hibby
He/she is a Hibby
We are Hibbies
They are Hibbies
You (collective) are Hibbies

We are The Hibees

The are the people called Roman go to the house. Simples.
This saved me posting an answer.

02-11-2012, 08:14 AM
Hibby or Hibee are both fine. It's a matter of personal choice.

Never Hibbie though.:giruy:

02-11-2012, 08:21 AM
:giruy:

Its always Hibbie.

02-11-2012, 08:24 AM

Its always Hibbie.:agree: ....

Caversham Green
02-11-2012, 09:15 AM
Shoulda started a poll C.

For what it's worth my tick would go in the Hibby box, but the plural is Hibees.

02-11-2012, 09:35 AM
i know a posh guy that pronounces it 'Highbeigh' in the singular and the term 'Highburnyan' when discussing the club.

02-11-2012, 09:46 AM
Hibee

green glory
02-11-2012, 09:47 AM
I like to refer to myself as a follower of the Edinburgh Hibernians. But only when wearing my monacle and spats.

rosco-hibee
02-11-2012, 09:47 AM
Thanks guys, this thread has made me chuckle.

fwiw - I'm a hibby. Collectively we are the hi-bees.

I don't think it really matters though eh? It all essentially means the same...

Baker9
02-11-2012, 09:54 AM
I am a hibbie, and so so is my wife!

No you are not! You are a Hibby and so is your wife (Lady Hibby is acceptable). You and your wife are therefore Hibbies. If you are Hibbies, you both support Hibernian FC, for many decades affectionately known as The Hibees. Neither you nor your wife should ever be referred to as Hibees.

A player at the club is not a Hibby unless he supports the Hibees (Mr Griffiths is a Hibby). It has become acceptable to refer to a non - Hibby player as a Hibee.
Oh to oh to be a Hibee should only be sung only if there is a genuine, and realistic, desire to be a player. Changing it to its correct wording (Hibby not Hibee) is redundant as Oh to be a Hibby would not be sung by people who are already Hibbies. Section 43 should technically drop this song from their list. Hibby, Hibee, Hibbies, Hibees should always have a Capital letter denoting our status as the Capital team.

I am glad to have cleared this up and to have contributed as an expert to a CWG thread. We could be top of the league again tomorrow. We could win the league. :greengrin

02-11-2012, 10:00 AM
No you are not! You are a Hibby and so is your wife (Lady Hibby is acceptable). You and your wife are therefore Hibbies. If you are Hibbies, you both support Hibernian FC, for many decades affectionately known as The Hibees. Neither you nor your wife should ever be referred to as Hibees.

A player at the club is not a Hibby unless he supports the Hibees (Mr Griffiths is a Hibby). It has become acceptable to refer to a non - Hibby player as a Hibee.
Oh to oh to be a Hibee should only be sung only if there is a genuine, and realistic, desire to be a player. Changing it to its correct wording (Hibby not Hibee) is redundant as Oh to be a Hibby would not be sung by people who are already Hibbies. Section 43 should technically drop this song from their list. Hibby, Hibee, Hibbies, Hibees should always have a Capital letter denoting our status as the Capital team.

I am glad to have cleared this up and to have contributed as an expert to a CWG thread. We could be top of the league again tomorrow. We could win the league. :greengrin

Radge

Renfrew_Hibby
02-11-2012, 10:12 AM
Being a west coaster i had never heard of 'Hibbies' until i started going to games. To me it was some sort of east coast accent thing as in the west it was only ever Hibs or Hibees.

For me it goes like this:
I am a Hibby. We, the fans, are Hibbies. The side on the park and the club are the Hibees.

Alan62
02-11-2012, 10:17 AM
Shoulda started a poll C.

For what it's worth my tick would go in the Hibby box, but the plural is Hibees.

Not often that I would disagree with you Caversham Green but I'd definitely hold with the notion that the fans are 'Hibbies' as it's much more common to pluralise a noun ending in 'y' by adding 'ies'. For example, would you describe our maroon brethren as a bunch of 'fannys' or a bunch of 'fannies'?

I actually think that the term 'Hibby' is derived from the nickname 'Hibs' rather than 'Hibees'. Both of these, are, of course, nicknames for Hibernian. Anyway, if you spell it Hibee then you have to sound it 'Hi (like 'high') Bee'. Hibby is pronounced differently with simpler vowel sounds - the 'i' like the 'i' in Hibs and the 'y' like the 'y' in 'fanny'.

So, to answer the question if you like to think of your friend as a Hibee, then spell it 'Hibee'. If you call them a 'Hibby' then it's a 'y' and two bs.

Baker9
02-11-2012, 10:43 AM
Not often that I would disagree with you Caversham Green but I'd definitely hold with the notion that the fans are 'Hibbies' as it's much more common to pluralise a noun ending in 'y' by adding 'ies'. For example, would you describe our maroon brethren as a bunch of 'fannys' or a bunch of 'fannies'?
I actually think that the term 'Hibby' is derived from the nickname 'Hibs' rather than 'Hibees'. Both of these, are, of course, nicknames for Hibernian. Anyway, if you spell it Hibee then you have to sound it 'Hi (like 'high') Bee'. Hibby is pronounced differently with simpler vowel sounds - the 'i' like the 'i' in Hibs and the 'y' like the 'y' in 'fanny'.

So, to answer the question if you like to think of your friend as a Hibee, then spell it 'Hibee'. If you call them a 'Hibby' then it's a 'y' and two bs.

I suggest it should definitely be 'bunch of Fannies' with a capital F.

02-11-2012, 12:39 PM
I am a Hibee :-)

02-11-2012, 06:58 PM
I am a Hibby.

We are the Hibees.

That's about it.

Simples.

02-11-2012, 07:03 PM
I am a Hibby.

We are the Hibees.

That's about it.

Simples.

Amen.

02-11-2012, 07:14 PM
Hibby ,Hi bee, = Hibs Fan , 6 in half a doz :greengrin

02-11-2012, 07:34 PM

Hibby?

Hibbie?

Hibee?

HIBEE.

End of. :cb

02-11-2012, 08:41 PM

:agree: OED is miles behind recognising the term formally, singular = Hibby, plural or collective noun = Hibbies. Sorted, but sent from my Bberry in the middle of a long pub session so right to review tomorrow morning is reserved:greengrin

02-11-2012, 08:44 PM
I suggest it should definitely be 'bunch of Fannies' with a capital F.

Turds, just turds, or if the swear filter blocks this out, Richard the Thirds.