View Full Version : Footballers that drink

29-10-2012, 01:09 AM
Me and my cousin were having the debatable topic on whether more footballers drink than those footballers who don't drink. Could people give me the answer as I'm pretty sure there are more footballers who do drink. Cheers.

29-10-2012, 01:13 AM
I don't think anyone will have that answer. I'd imagine however that most do drink. Although fewer to excessive limits frequently than non sporting professionals would.

29-10-2012, 09:21 AM
[QUOTE=Hibeesmad;3392630]Me and my cousin were having the debatable topic on whether more footballers drink than those footballers who don't drink. Could people give me the answer as I'm pretty sure there are more footballers who do drink. Cheers.[/QUOTE

Everybody drinks, it's an essential function of living. :greengrin

29-10-2012, 09:58 AM
Me and my cousin were having the debatable topic on whether more footballers drink than those footballers who don't drink. Could people give me the answer as I'm pretty sure there are more footballers who do drink. Cheers.

I have known many pro footballers over the years and would say I have met very few who you could class as 'drinkers'
Ok we all know one or two, without naming names, who were as famous for their drinking habits as for their football skills but the great majority were 'social drinkers'.
In todays terms the ones I know mostly have a glass of wine with a meal and an odd pint.
One in particular ( not a Hibby)usually only has a pint on a Saturday night and will not touch even wine after Tuesday night .
As they say ' It is in the nature of the beast' as to how they live their lives :greengrin

The old rugby maxim probably applies ' beer you can sweat out with a hard training session , spirits slow you down '
Don't know if that is correct in practice but sounds a fair comment .

29-10-2012, 03:15 PM
In the UK, there's definitely more players that drink than do not.

And they all wonder why they can never get close to the levels of the likes of Pele or Messi. :rolleyes:

Fae the capital
29-10-2012, 07:12 PM

In Scotland definitely, which is why we are so sh*te!

29-10-2012, 07:21 PM
In Scotland definitely, which is why we are so sh*te!

Oh for the good old days of fine upstanding abstainers like Willie Hamilton and Jim Baxter. :wink:

We were good back then.

29-10-2012, 07:29 PM
Wonder if there are more posters on Hibs.net that drink than dont ? What a daft topic. Don't care if they are raving alcoholics - as long as they do the buisness whenever they pull on the green jersey. They are human beilng fcs, they wipe their backsides same as us.

29-10-2012, 07:41 PM
Oh for the good old days of fine upstanding abstainers like Willie Hamilton and Jim Baxter. :wink:

We were good back then.

Could it not just be that the standard of football was so low, that they looked better than they actually were and would have struggled with the standard of football in this day and age? :wink:

Fae the capital
29-10-2012, 07:42 PM

We were good back then.

Yeah, but the games changed, our European friends stopped and we continued.
Hence why we have a four eyed Jambo in charge of a bunch of overrated overpaid players who play for a farcical organisation (sfa)

29-10-2012, 07:43 PM
Wonder if there are more posters on Hibs.net that drink than dont ? What a daft topic. Don't care if they are raving alcoholics - as long as they do the buisness whenever they pull on the green jersey. They are human beilng fcs, they wipe their backsides same as us.

If I was doing the business and making thousands every week, i'd get somebody else to wipe it for me. :cb

Fae the capital
29-10-2012, 07:43 PM

Do you not care that we lost one of our best players this season due to a night out?

29-10-2012, 07:53 PM
So now the question is what proportion of Scottish footballers don't spend all their time training or sitting on their sofa with their hands clasped in their lap? He didn't get punched because he was drinking, only because he was in the wrong place at the wrong time.

29-10-2012, 07:54 PM
So now the question is what proportion of Scottish footballers don't spend all their time training or sitting on their sofa with their hands clasped in their lap? He didn't get punched because he was drinking, only because he was in the wrong place at the wrong time.

Due to going out drinking

29-10-2012, 07:55 PM
Do you not care that we lost one of our best players this season due to a night out?

So are you saying football players should have no social life. ?

29-10-2012, 07:56 PM

Fae the capital
29-10-2012, 07:56 PM

Does anyone actually really know what happened?
Either way, George st has caused nowt but trouble for us over the years.

See, with George st it's not like in London where u get places only people who are rich are welcome. People like me and you would struggle to get in.
George st on the other hand, long as your dressed well you get in.
It's not out of reach for absolute bams to be in opal lounge etc.

29-10-2012, 07:58 PM
Due to going out drinking

And your source is ?
As far as I understand and have heard from people who were there he had had ONE drink - SO ?

Fae the capital
29-10-2012, 07:58 PM

Absolutely not.
But they are so privileged, they should just go easy on the amount they are out.

Deegan, grof

29-10-2012, 08:00 PM
And your source is ?
As far as I understand and have heard from people who were there he had had ONE drink - SO ?

ONE drink is still classed as 'drinking' if I'm correct

Fae the capital
29-10-2012, 08:00 PM

Absolutely not.
But they are so privileged, they should just go easy on the amount they are out.

Deegan, grof, oconnor, fletcher, riordan, whole team night out, daz McCormack, palsson,scott brown, anyone care to add to to the amount of problems we've had with players up town.

Fae the capital
29-10-2012, 08:02 PM
And your source is ?

Bs.
Nobody has 1 drink, that's just ridiculous.

29-10-2012, 08:02 PM
Absolutely not.

Deegan, grof, oconnor, fletcher, riordan, whole team night out, daz McCormack, palsson,scott brown, anyone care to add to to the amount of problems we've had with players up town.

You can add stack to that!

29-10-2012, 08:03 PM
Absolutely not.

Deegan, grof, oconnor, fletcher, riordan, whole team night out, daz McCormack, palsson,scott brown, anyone care to add to to the amount of problems we've had with players up town.What do you suggest the players do to let their hair down ....go trampolining....bingo nights...join a knitting club ...?

Fae the capital
29-10-2012, 08:03 PM
You can add stack to that!

Oh aye!
See, I'm right!

Fae the capital
29-10-2012, 08:04 PM
What do you suggest the players do to let their hair down ....go trampolining....bingo nightd...join a knitting club ...?

Your not getting the point.
They need to just have less nights out and stop acting the goat when they are out.
Train more, drink less!

29-10-2012, 08:06 PM
What do you suggest the players do to let their hair down ....go trampolining....bingo nights...join a knitting club ...?

I think we are just reasoning things what drink causes.

29-10-2012, 08:07 PM
Bs.

Even the ones that don't drink? Are we not allowed to socialise with friends and workmates?

29-10-2012, 08:07 PM
Can't players go out, have a few beers, enjoy themselves, without getting totally rat-arsed...... or high?

Fae the capital
29-10-2012, 08:08 PM
Even the ones that don't drink? Are we not allowed to socialise with friends and workmates?

Well if u don't drink then you wouldn't have one either would you

Fae the capital
29-10-2012, 08:08 PM
Can't players go out, have a few beers, enjoy themselves, without getting totally rat-arsed...... or high?

Clearly not

29-10-2012, 08:09 PM
They need to just have less nights out and stop acting the goat when they are out.
Train more, drink less!Oh Im getting the point, it seems to have bypassed you though ....footballers are an easy target whether drunk or sober ..up town or wherever they are in the public eye ..press are onto incidents & all of a sudden things are blown out of proportion ...a bit like football forums ..:wink:

29-10-2012, 08:11 PM
Bs.

You must mix with the wrong people :greengrin
I know plenty men/ sportsmen who enjoy going to the pub and have a pint and enjoy the company :confused:

I had a good friend a number of years ago who was a Commonwealth Games ,Scottish and ABA boxing champion and he would go out of an evening with his wife and friends and sit with a half pint of beer and at the first hint of trouble would be out the door .
As a boxer he couldn't afford to be involved in a 'punch up' or he could have lost his License

29-10-2012, 08:12 PM
Drink's not the only problem - my subbuteo Hibs team only got out the box now and again and were a great team for it, but that didn't stop Ralphie Callachan getting stood on one Saturday night.

29-10-2012, 08:13 PM
So is it okay for the likes of Garry o'connor to go out getting caught with drugs, spelling a made up name wrong, running away from cops, giving the club a bad name? Is it okay for victor palsson to go out and piss in nightclubs, yet again giving the club a bad name, is it okay for Derek riordan to go out and get banned from every nightclub, giving the club a bad name? Yeah it's alright for them to go out have a social life, interact with friends and family and have a drink but when they drink too much and get into these situations it's the club at the end of the day which is getting affected and in all honestly I couldn't care who riordan or o'connor play for but when they are doing the things they do and play for Hibernian fc, that's when I start to get concerned!

Fae the capital
29-10-2012, 08:13 PM
Oh Im getting the point, it seems to have bypassed you though ....footballers are an easy target whether drunk or sober ..up town or wherever they are in the public eye ..press are onto incidents & all of a sudden things are blown out of proportion ...a bit like football forums ..:wink:
Look at the list of players on page 1 of this.
U never hear of so many incidents with any other club do you.

Mind you, rather all that than still employing a sex offender I suppose!

Fae the capital
29-10-2012, 08:14 PM
I know plenty men/ sportsmen who enjoy going to the pub and have a pint and enjoy the company :confused:

I had a good friend a number of years ago who was a Commonwealth Games ,Scottish and ABA boxing champion and he would go out of an evening with his wife and friends and sit with a half pint of beer and at the first hint of trouble would be out the door .
As a boxer he couldn't afford to be involved in a 'punch up' or he could have lost his License

Why can't the footballers do that then?

29-10-2012, 08:15 PM
Train more, drink less!

How many nights out in a week do you think they are out. ?

Fae the capital
29-10-2012, 08:15 PM
So is it okay for the likes of Garry o'connor to go out getting caught with drugs, spelling a made up name wrong, running away from cops, giving the club a bad name? Is it okay for victor palsson to go out and piss in nightclubs, yet again giving the club a bad name, is it okay for Derek riordan to go out and get banned from every nightclub, giving the club a bad name? Yeah it's alright for them to go out have a social life, interact with friends and family and have a drink but when they drink too much and get into these situations it's the club at the end of the day which is getting affected and in all honestly I couldn't care who riordan or o'connor play for but when they are doing the things they do and play for Hibernian fc, that's when I start to get concerned!

Thank you, someone who gets my point!

29-10-2012, 08:17 PM

Agree 100% !!
The thing is that being human beings as well as footballers they , like us mere mortals , have frailties !!
That begs the question .
Why does anybody want to go out ' without getting totally rat-arsed.?'
I have always enjoyed a couple of pints but could never get my head round that :rolleyes:

Fae the capital
29-10-2012, 08:17 PM
How many nights out in a week do you think they are out. ?

Once is too much every week.
Not saying they can't go out for a quiet drink with friends, family, gf etc, but a mad night out should b once a month max

29-10-2012, 08:19 PM
Drink's not the only problem - my subbuteo Hibs team only got out the box now and again and were a great team for it, but that didn't stop Ralphie Callachan getting stood on one Saturday night.

:faf::faf: :thumbsup:

29-10-2012, 08:20 PM
A lot of players drink, I remember hearing that Per Mertesacker had a beer on the go less than an hour after Germany destroyed England in the World Cup.

A social drink, the odd beer, is probably not much of a problem, it is binge drinking or heavy alcohol ingestion that can have serious effects for several days IIRC.

At the end of the day, the club cant stop them having a bevvy if they want to, however the club should make it clear from a young age through to the first team that the evidence is there to see, it is their career and something as simple as looking after yourself properly can make a difference.

HibeeN
29-10-2012, 08:21 PM
Seems like a bit of an overreaction. While we've had a bit of a bad culture in the past when it comes to players getting into trouble on nights out, there is nothing to suggest this group of players are incapable of having a responsible night out. The night Deegan was assaulted, the majority of the first team had gone out together after beating Dundee and having international break the following weekend - it was most likely intended to be a night of team spirit/bonding and to celebrate the good start they had made to the season. What happened to Deegan was not a result of Hibs players being drunk - by all accounts it was an unprovoked attack that could have happened to anyone - a far cry from the player being in the wrong.

Nothing wrong with the players getting together - either among themselves or with their own friends - and having a drink at the weekend. As long as they can be sensible about it, which they all seem to be, then I can't see why it is a problem. It's not like they're out during the week or getting absolutely hammered. They've been doing us proud on the pitch and deserve to unwind every now and then.

29-10-2012, 08:21 PM

Well the club were quite happy to sign GOC knowing he had a court case to go up for on drug charges, so it looks like the club weren't to bothered about being given a bad name.

29-10-2012, 08:22 PM

Agree with what you write but please don't forget the vast majority of players at ER do not go out on the ran dan as a regular occurrence .
By all means criticise those you name above but at the same time please give the rest some credit as they are after all in the majority !!

Fae the capital
29-10-2012, 08:23 PM
Seems like a bit of an overreaction. While we've had a bit of a bad culture in the past when it comes to players getting into trouble on nights out, there is nothing to suggest this group of players are incapable of having a responsible night out. The night Deegan was assaulted, the majority of the first team had gone out together after beating Dundee and having international break the following weekend - it was most likely intended to be a night of team spirit/bonding and to celebrate the good start they had made to the season. What happened to Deegan was not a result of Hibs players being drunk - by all accounts it was an unprovoked attack that could have happened to anyone - a far cry from the player being in the wrong.

Nothing wrong with the players getting together - either among themselves or with their own friends - and having a drink at the weekend. As long as they can be sensible about it, which they all seem to be, then I can't see why it is a problem. It's not like they're out during the week or getting absolutely hammered. They've been doing us proud on the pitch and deserve to unwind every now and then.

Do you think, iniesta, xavi and messi have ever been in this situation?

Exactly.

29-10-2012, 08:24 PM
Well the club were quite happy to sign GOC knowing he had a court case to go up for on drug charges, so it looks like the club weren't to bothered about being given a bad name.

And now you wonder why he doesn't play for us anymore

29-10-2012, 08:24 PM
Look at the list of players on page 1 of this.
U never hear of so many incidents with any other club do you.

Mind you, rather all that than still employing a sex offender I suppose!

Dundee Utd, St Johnstone, Rangers, celtc, maroonsevco just to name a few.

29-10-2012, 08:25 PM

Exactly.

Probably not but I do know Ronaldinho and Kluivert were always out when playing for Barcelona. Ronaldinho especially had problems staying out of nightclubs where ever he played.

29-10-2012, 08:26 PM
Agree with what you write but please don't forget the vast majority of players at ER do not go out on the ran dan as a regular occurrence .
By all means criticise those you name above but at the same time please give the rest some credit as they are after all in the majority !!

Fair enough.

Fae the capital
29-10-2012, 08:27 PM
Dundee Utd, St Johnstone, Rangers, celtc, maroonsevco just to name a few.

Na, not that amount of incidents on nights out in the modern game.
We hold that record unfortunately.

Fae the capital
29-10-2012, 08:27 PM
Probably not but I do know Ronaldinho and Kluivert were always out when playing for Barcelona. Ronaldinho especially had problems staying out of nightclubs where ever he played.

Yeah, and where'd the 2 of them end up?

29-10-2012, 08:28 PM

I doubt that.

Fae the capital
29-10-2012, 08:29 PM

That's a fair statement, and I respect the players your on about.
Fenlons got rid of the daftys anyway.

Fae the capital
29-10-2012, 08:30 PM
I doubt that.

Explain

29-10-2012, 08:31 PM

Rapidly downhill. Which is a shame.

29-10-2012, 08:32 PM

Exactly.

We don't know for certain either way do we ?
As I said earlier I know a few French Pro' players and couple of them admit they now and again get a bit p....d AT HOME IN THEIR SITTING ROOM .
Nobody knows/hears about it and that is that !!!!
The thread is ufortunately turning into what seems like a bit of an overreaction on the part of some posters . :rolleyes:

As always most are expressing personal opinions which they are entitled to do but none of us can present hard facts on the drinking habits of the majority of HFC players :confused:

29-10-2012, 08:34 PM
At the end of the day we are second in the league and if the players keep playing well on the pitch and try and stay out the media then we the fans can enjoy the pleasure of watching our club doing great and watching the ****bos rot haha GGTTH PFGAWA

29-10-2012, 08:34 PM
Explain

Don't know where this is leading but we all know that Hibs players have been guilty of having nonsense up the toon in the past as have players of other clubs. No-one's interested in counting - its history and time to move on....

29-10-2012, 08:35 PM
And of course, when I mean stay out of the media.. Only for the bad things! ;) GGTTH

29-10-2012, 08:49 PM
Explain

Certainly.
I doubt that our players hold the record for incidents whilst out on the town. I hope that helps.

29-10-2012, 08:56 PM
Certainly.
I doubt that our players hold the record for incidents whilst out on the town. I hope that helps.

Perhaps not over all.

But it certainly feels that way over the last decade or so.

Anyway, the overall attitude at the club seems to be changing dramatically now (for the better) and I just hope we keep it that way.

No problem with players going out for a bevy and a chat with the birds, but keeping fit and protecting the image of the club that they play for is all part and partial of a footballers job.

29-10-2012, 08:56 PM
Don't know where this is leading but we all know that Hibs players have been guilty of having nonsense up the toon in the past as have players of other clubs. No-one's interested in counting - its history and time to move on....

:agree::thumbsup:

Fae the capital
29-10-2012, 08:57 PM
Certainly.

So who does? Cos I can't think of other teams with as many incidents in the spl.

29-10-2012, 08:59 PM

AA :greengrin

Fae the capital
29-10-2012, 08:59 PM
Rapidly downhill. Which is a shame.

Exactly

29-10-2012, 09:01 PM
So who does? Cos I can't think of other teams with as many incidents in the spl.

I can't say I have ever been obsessed enough to keep score.

Fae the capital
29-10-2012, 09:03 PM
I can't say I have ever been obsessed enough to keep score.

Well I'm obsessed with Hibs, so I know.

29-10-2012, 09:05 PM
Well I'm obsessed with Hibs, .

Yes, you probably are.

Fae the capital
29-10-2012, 09:06 PM
Yes, you probably are.

There's no probably about it.

29-10-2012, 09:06 PM

Your at the wind up surely.

29-10-2012, 09:07 PM

Now i know your on the wind up. :aok:

Fae the capital
29-10-2012, 09:07 PM
Your at the wind up surely.

Please do prove me wrong. I really wish you would as these incidents over the years have been an embarrassment.

Fae the capital
29-10-2012, 09:09 PM
Now i know your on the wind up. :aok:

Kluivert Newcastle, where he was Colin nish then never to be heard of again.
Ronnys back in brazil, hardly the level he should have been at.

Anything else sir?

29-10-2012, 09:17 PM
Kluivert Newcastle, where he was Colin nish then never to be heard of again.
Ronnys back in brazil, hardly the level he should have been at.

Anything else sir?

Aye - gie it a rest :wink:

29-10-2012, 09:21 PM
Please do prove me wrong. I really wish you would as these incidents over the years have been an embarrassment.

What the hell are you on about?

29-10-2012, 09:26 PM

Okay, Dundee Utd. Goodwillie hitting a person with a bottle, convicted, Goodwillie assault in Glasgow, convicted, few other players up there been in bother too, maybe TQM could add too this.

St, Johnstone, Sandaza, drunk driving the night before a game, convicted, there is another one but can't think of it.

maroonsevco, where do you start, sex offender, convicted. Nade, car theft/fraud.

Players that have all been convicted of things while with these clubs.

Hibs, let me think, McCormack for thumping Elliot. convicted. Now i haven't added GOC name to this as he was not a Hibs player at the time when he got charged, now stumped to think of anymore Hibs players who have been convicted of anything in say the last five years.

I have read a lot of S**t about our players allegedly doing things up town that are normally not true but certain press with yam connections get it plastered all over the front page of there paper.

Hope that helps. :aok:

29-10-2012, 09:32 PM
Aye - gie it a rest :wink:

Exactly. :wink:

29-10-2012, 10:00 PM
Okay, Dundee Utd. Goodwillie hitting a person with a bottle, convicted, Goodwillie assault in Glasgow, convicted, few other players up there been in bother too, maybe TQM could add too this.

St, Johnstone, Sandaza, drunk driving the night before a game, convicted, there is another one but can't think of it.

maroonsevco, where do you start, sex offender, convicted. Nade, car theft/fraud.

Hibs, let me think, McCormack for thumping Elliot. convicted. Now i haven't added GOC name to this as he was not a Hibs player at the time when he got charged, now stumped to think of anymore Hibs players who have been convicted of anything in say the last five years.

I have read a lot of S**t about our players allegedly doing things up town that are normally not true but certain press with yam connections get it plastered all over the front page of there paper.

:I'm waiti FTC.

29-10-2012, 10:07 PM
All I can add to this is after 3 pages of reading, I'm quite confused.

29-10-2012, 10:11 PM
There was a picture of Messi and Iniesta the other week looking very much worse for wear.

Fernando Ricksen was teetotal.

Make of that what you will.

29-10-2012, 10:12 PM
All I can add to this is after 3 pages of reading, I'm quite confused.

Glad i am going for some therapy tomorrow. :greengrin

29-10-2012, 10:13 PM
Train more, drink less!

29-10-2012, 10:15 PM
once is too much every week.
not saying they can't go out for a quiet drink with friends, family, gf etc, but a mad night out should b once a month max

hahahahahahahahahahaha

29-10-2012, 10:22 PM
Glad i am going for some therapy tomorrow. :greengrin

I trust this therapy won't interfere with you doing a full 9-5 at work first!

29-10-2012, 10:24 PM
Bs.

Arthur Duncan, who may have been at ER before your time, had one bottle of sweet stout. No more, no less and I was in his company often enough to witness it

29-10-2012, 10:27 PM
I trust this therapy won't interfere with you doing a full 9-5 at work first!

It won't of course not, appointment at 7 o'clock, only problem is my therapist is in George Street. Fact. :greengrin

30-10-2012, 12:00 AM

Still waiting FTC.

30-10-2012, 08:49 AM
Arthur Duncan, who may have been at ER before your time, had one bottle of sweet stout. No more, no less and I was in his company often enough to witness it

I was in the company of George Best once during his time at Hibs, he only had the one bottle of vodka too. :wink: