View Full Version : New Years Derby moved to the Thursday 3rd!

24-10-2012, 09:26 AM
Wtf?!?

24-10-2012, 09:32 AM
Hearts v Hibernian on Wed 2nd Jan 2013 has been moved to Thurs 3rd Jan 2013 with a 1945 Kick Off for Sky Sports :fuming:

24-10-2012, 09:32 AM
TV rules.

wearethehibs
24-10-2012, 09:33 AM
At least its at night. Would be raging if it had been during the day on a thursday

24-10-2012, 09:34 AM
All the ****ing time.

The TV deal is, quite literally, more bother than its worth to Hibs.

24-10-2012, 09:35 AM
So much for the New year Derby which used to be a traditional "holiday" fixture.

24-10-2012, 09:40 AM
Begining to get really ****ed off with TV killing football for the fans who actually care enough to go to the games!

24-10-2012, 09:42 AM
What a crock that is. No doubt Rangers are playing East Stirling or so on the 2nd.

24-10-2012, 09:43 AM
Last time Hibs won the derby it was on a Thursday night.

24-10-2012, 09:52 AM
:grr: PETRIE!!!! :greengrin

Quite pish, il be back to work that day like quite a few I would imagine. For those who are still off on the 3rd, thats a long time to get tanked up before the game which will only lead to trouble.

HibbySpurs
24-10-2012, 09:52 AM
Joke, although I'm off that whole week so no biggie to me but to other back at work from the 3rd or on the 4th can see this is a pain in the jacksey....:grr:

24-10-2012, 09:58 AM
Just out of interest why can this happen but Friday night fixtures in Edinburgh are a no go ?

24-10-2012, 10:01 AM
I arrive home on the 3rd. :greengrin

hibbymac
24-10-2012, 10:01 AM
Begining to get really ****ed off with TV killing football for the fans who actually care enough to go to the games!

:agree: Absolute joke and this is the main reason I have not renewed my season ticket this year, after having had one for over 20 years.

24-10-2012, 10:02 AM
Kilmarnock game on the 22nd, has now been moved to a 12:45 KO on Sunday the 23rd December.

Do they want people to go to games? Sunday before Christmas, hack over to Kilmarnock!

24-10-2012, 10:23 AM
Oh **** this.

24-10-2012, 10:45 AM
Kilmarnock game on the 22nd, has now been moved to a 12:45 KO on Sunday the 23rd December.

Do they want people to go to games? Sunday before Christmas, hack over to Kilmarnock!

We always end up with a long away day over the festive period. It's a complete farce. How hard would it be to keep most games fairly local (within an hour) during such a difficult time of the years for punters!

Anyway, Killie v Hibs is hardly a glamour tie, why the hell is it on TV?

24-10-2012, 10:59 AM
Feel for those who have made plans for the game being on the 2nd, but quite looking forward to a 7:45pm Derby!

24-10-2012, 11:02 AM
Just out of interest why can this happen but Friday night fixtures in Edinburgh are a no go ?

That's a very good point!

Poor kick off time, although in this instance people will still go.

24-10-2012, 11:17 AM
3rd of Jan - :fenlon

Nightime Derby - :jmcp:

nickwhibs
24-10-2012, 11:18 AM
Feel for those who have made plans for the game being on the 2nd, but quite looking forward to a 7:45pm Derby!

Same. Big fan of evening games. Plus we generally seem to do well in them. Millenium derby, 6-2, Deano winner, Deeko/Casper game...:greengrin

24-10-2012, 11:30 AM
Same. Big fan of evening games. Plus we generally seem to do well in them. Millenium derby, 6-2, Deano winner, Deeko/Casper game...:greengrin

Plus the legend that is brian kerr scoring the only goal in the game when we played them at tynie in the first game of the 07/08 season. Struggling to think of any night time derbies hearts have won in recent memory. Just a shame about all the day time ones :rolleyes:

24-10-2012, 11:30 AM
no been to tynie in a few years and was going to go but now I cant, i'll probably catch it in the pub though.

**** TV

24-10-2012, 11:33 AM

I think the Police have previously raised resourcing and logistical issues due to having to police the town centre on a Friday night and the possibility of trouble if 15,000 folk head home through (or into) into a town centre full of pissheads.

24-10-2012, 11:33 AM

Was the millennium a night game ? I wasn't at it but watched with my grandfather and my memory is an afternoon. I'm not saying you are wrong by the way just the way I remember it

24-10-2012, 11:34 AM
Was the millennium a night game ? I wasn't at it but watched with my grandfather and my memory is an afternoon. I'm not saying you are wrong by the way just the way I remember it

6.20 kick off if memory serves...

24-10-2012, 11:36 AM
Ah what a balls....I arrive on 23rd and leave on the 3rd :-(

24-10-2012, 11:37 AM
I think the Police have previously raised resourcing and logistical issues due to having to police the town centre on a Friday night and the possibility of trouble if 15,000 folk head home through (or into) into a town centre full of pissheads.

Would Hibs v well for example get anywhere near that size of crowd ? I realise the 400,000 over the road would be an issue though

24-10-2012, 11:38 AM
6.20 kick off if memory serves...

I'm getting old nick lol

24-10-2012, 11:41 AM
Beat Hearts at Easter Road midweek in 2006 too. Jones scored early on.

24-10-2012, 12:04 PM
I can recall LondonHearts (whatever happened to him) posting that for derbies on telly starting before 4:00pm, Hertz were most likely to win, whilst for those games starting after 4:00pm Hibs were most likely to win.

Stacks up when you think of our recent wins at Tiny - Deeks penalty winner, Brian Kerr's early winner, Deano/GOC 2-1 game and Millenium derby all being evening kick-offs.

A good omen, I hope.

:pray:

24-10-2012, 12:09 PM
Am I the only one that isn't too fussed about this one being moved dates? It is still an night time kick off so theoretically most of our fans can still travel to the game as they are based in Edinburgh and the surrounding areas. I know our supporters come from places like Inverness or Bristol as well and I feel sorry for them if they were planning on coming to the match. These days though you need to wait for the TV schedule to come out to plan anything, it's rubbish, but it's something that's needs to be done to avoid disappointment.

24-10-2012, 12:12 PM
Now I know when I'm heading back after Xmas/New Year then!!!

A bit of a radge date, but I do love a night derby.

24-10-2012, 12:15 PM
Am I the only one that isn't too fussed about this one being moved dates? It is still an night time kick off so theoretically most of our fans can still travel to the game as they are based in Edinburgh and the surrounding areas. I know our supporters come from places like Inverness or Bristol as well and I feel sorry for them if they were planning on coming to the match. These days though you need to wait for the TV schedule to come out to plan anything, it's rubbish, but it's something that's needs to be done to avoid disappointment.
It's the guys who book travel/hotels in advance that it hurts most earlier booking means cheaper nine times out of ten so now they have been bumped again, also travel and hotels at this time of year are at a premium already

24-10-2012, 12:24 PM
Very good news for me.

24-10-2012, 12:41 PM
It's the guys who book travel/hotels in advance that it hurts most earlier booking means cheaper nine times out of ten so now they have been bumped again, also travel and hotels at this time of year are at a premium already

There is 11 weeks to make plans and bookings now, whenever I've been going anywhere that is just one week short of the 12 weeks that most travel services allow you to buy in advance with. Obviously staying in Edinburgh at that time is a different kettle of fish and will be difficult to get somewhere to stay, but that would remain the same even if it was January 2nd.

EH6 Hibby
24-10-2012, 12:45 PM
No doubt the tickets will be on sale soon, how else will they be able to pay next months wages!

24-10-2012, 12:45 PM

For us out of town fans, why can't these fixtures be agreed at the start if the season. We all know Celtic away games will be popular, Edinburgh/Dundee derbys, etc.

It doesn't take a genius to full a telly schedule say 6 months in advance.

Coming up for the Boxing Day game this year. Was up for the derby over the holidays last season. Had to leave my flight booking untill the game was confirmed as being on the 2nd.

24-10-2012, 12:47 PM
There is 11 weeks to make plans and bookings now, whenever I've been going anywhere that is just one week short of the 12 weeks that most travel services allow you to buy in advance with. Obviously staying in Edinburgh at that time is a different kettle of fish and will be difficult to get somewhere to stay, but that would remain the same even if it was January 2nd.

Can see what you are saying but its not a normal time of year, this should have been sorted weeks ago.

The days of everyone getting Xmas and New Year off work are long gone. My rotas are already set for that time of year and I'd requested the 2nd off to go to the game and agreed to work the 3rd. The chances of getting a swap even now is slim.

I know there will be people who can say the same about the 2nd but it seems yet again the fans are the last people taken into account when decisions are made.

24-10-2012, 01:19 PM
Would Hibs v well for example get anywhere near that size of crowd ? I realise the 400,000 over the road would be an issue though

I totally agree, but to be fair to the cops, it's them that get it in the neck if the city turns into a alcohol-fuelled, hooligan-haven bloodbath! :wink:

I'm getting old nick lol

I'll keep you right... :greengrin

24-10-2012, 01:57 PM
That's ****in pathetic like

24-10-2012, 02:06 PM
That's a very good point!

Poor kick off time, although in this instance people will still go.

Not when they start back on the 3rd for a 2-10 shift.

24-10-2012, 02:10 PM
I wonder if the geniuses at ****castle will double book my whole row and then do **** all about it again this time, leaving us like sardines for the whole game... Fire and safety hazard, Got my ticket refunded eventually ! Yeh, money from Them. Who'd a thunk it !

24-10-2012, 02:17 PM
Does anyone know if our loan signings, particularly Griffiths and McGivern be available for this game or do their loan periods finish on 1 January?

nickwhibs
24-10-2012, 02:56 PM
Beat Hearts at Easter Road midweek in 2006 too. Jones scored early on.

Oh aye, how could I forget the 81% possession game. 'Battered' them 1-0.

24-10-2012, 03:24 PM
****ing yaaaasss!!!! I wasn't getting the 2nd off!!!!

sbell1875
24-10-2012, 05:12 PM
Yet another changed date and kick off time is frustrating but it is how we should expect to be treated after the beeks bent over and took one from Sky and ESPN.

On a personal note I can now attend so for that reason I am grateful but I do sympathise with those affected by the change of date and time.

24-10-2012, 08:11 PM
Compared to previous fixture changes, this one has been announced pretty early so no grumbles about that. Thursday & Friday booked off work, about to sort train tickets and will book my hotel once the Travelodge website is back online.

24-10-2012, 08:51 PM

24-10-2012, 09:14 PM
Night derby. Good news:thumbsup:

24-10-2012, 09:24 PM
Gutted it wasn't on the first so will miss the game live but good news is its on tv. Hopefully we get the win hail hail

25-10-2012, 07:26 AM
Plus the legend that is brian kerr scoring the only goal in the game when we played them at tynie in the first game of the 07/08 season. Struggling to think of any night time derbies hearts have won in recent memory. Just a shame about all the day time ones :rolleyes:

Are you sure that was an evening game? I was sure that was a Sunday?

alnewhaven
25-10-2012, 07:38 AM
Definitely evening, don't remember if it was Sunday or not though

25-10-2012, 07:40 AM
Are you sure that was an evening game? I was sure that was a Sunday?

Im sure it was a Monday night

Green Man
25-10-2012, 07:45 AM
The Brian Kerr game was definitely an evening game, I was on my honeymoon in Mallorca and got a text with the score when I got back from dinner.

25-10-2012, 07:46 AM
Was a monday night game, can remember it perfectly. Was watching it with a few hibs mates in a bowling club infested with pink scarf twirlers

25-10-2012, 07:50 AM
Im sure it was a Monday night

Yeah, night game on the first Monday of the that season.

25-10-2012, 10:10 AM
West End Travelodge currently only £19 for double/twin/triple rooms for any out of towners looking for a hotel :thumbsup:

hongkonghibee
25-10-2012, 10:26 AM
Do you think this means the Ross county and Celtic matches on 26 Dec and 29 Dec are now confirmed? Or could they still make changes? Reason im asking is im travelling from Hongkong to see my mum in Edinburgh at Xmas and wanted to go to those 2 games. Flights are full at that time of year so i cant rebook them .

25-10-2012, 10:38 AM
Do you think this means the Ross county and Celtic matches on 26 Dec and 29 Dec are now confirmed? Or could they still make changes? Reason im asking is im travelling from Hongkong to see my mum in Edinburgh at Xmas and wanted to go to those 2 games. Flights are full at that time of year so i cant rebook them .

Without checking actual days or kick off times, the 26th wouldn't be moved.

29th would run more risk, but could only really move it to the 30th if TV picked it up. Would be 12pm or 12.45pm either day.

25-10-2012, 10:41 AM
Only one TV game has been picked for the 26th so far (Dundee vs Celtc on ESPN) and none on the 29th. Would be surprised if the date changes but as an example the Dundee-Celtc game is now a half 7 kick off. Dundee Utd at home at 12 that day though that's been moved to avoid a clash with the Dundee game and isn't listed as being on TV.

25-10-2012, 11:16 AM
More annoyed at the Kilmarnock game being changed. I had booked to travel to Galway for Christmas on the Sunday so as to be able to attend one of the festive fixtures, won't even get to see the game on telly anywhere either due to KO time.
Sky & ESPN can ram their camera's up their backsides.

25-10-2012, 11:35 AM
I like night games and as a poster said, we seem to do well in them v them. When did they last beat us in one?

Also it means its 8:45 on te Friday morning for me to watch it.

If we play Celtic on the 29th it'll probably be useful to have that extra days rest as I could see that one taking its toll.

25-10-2012, 11:40 AM
It's to give Skacel another day to get fit. :-)

Posh Swanny
25-10-2012, 12:00 PM
The Roseburn will be a cracking place to be come 6pm!

:flag::cheers::take that

25-10-2012, 10:13 PM
you knew about this before the season started? I thought it had just been announced.

why all the fuss now?

Especially as it is an away match.

hibbymac
25-10-2012, 10:19 PM
Especially as it is an away match.

Either he was trying to be sarcastic, without the smilies or just a troll, but try reading the post I replied to. :rolleyes:

25-10-2012, 10:51 PM
Hearts 0-1 Hibs, Derek Riordan

night game.

Hearts 0-1 Hibs, Brian Kerr

night game.

Hibs 1-0 Hearts, Rob Jones

night game.

Hearts 1-2 Hibs, Lee Miller, Garry O'Connor, Dean Shiels

night game.

What time of day were the 6-2 and 0-3 millennium games played? :dunno:

Have Hearts ever beaten us when the game's kicked off after sunset? :confused:

'Mon the Hibees! :aok:

CalgaryHibs
25-10-2012, 10:54 PM
Hearts v Hibernian on Wed 2nd Jan 2013 has been moved to Thurs 3rd Jan 2013 with a 1945 Kick Off for Sky Sports :fuming:

****! I"ll working then !!!

25-10-2012, 11:00 PM
Hearts 0-1 Hibs, Derek Riordan

night game.

Hearts 0-1 Hibs, Brian Kerr

night game.

Hibs 1-0 Hearts, Rob Jones

night game.

Hearts 1-2 Hibs, Lee Miller, Garry O'Connor, Dean Shiels

night game.

What time of day were the 6-2 and 0-3 millennium games played? :dunno: