View Full Version : NHC Online bookies - which is best?

23-10-2012, 12:37 PM
I've recently relocated to Zurich, and as per everywhere else on the continent, there's no betting in the "on the high street" way we get it in the UK, and thus I am missing my weekly fix of donating £5-£10 to the bookies. So I'm thinking about taking the deep and potentially ruinous plunge into the world of online betting.

Which online bookies is the best in your experience - any "free money" style bets for signing up would be great, but I'm really more interested in odds and how easy the sites are to navigate. I'll just be using it for football, and don't want to have to fanny about for hours on end just to put a simple accumulator on.

Cheers in advance

GGTTH :flag:

Godsahibby
23-10-2012, 12:50 PM
I use Paddy Power a lot, maybe not the best odds I just find it easiest to use on the go so has become habit.

There is a free 10 offer on just now with betfred for new members, no need to match the bet...free money!!

wearethehibs
23-10-2012, 12:51 PM
I use bet 365. The online and mobile app are very easy to use.

23-10-2012, 12:55 PM
I've recently relocated to Zurich, and as per everywhere else on the continent, there's no betting in the "on the high street" way we get it in the UK, and thus I am missing my weekly fix of donating £5-£10 to the bookies. So I'm thinking about taking the deep and potentially ruinous plunge into the world of online betting.

Which online bookies is the best in your experience - any "free money" style bets for signing up would be great, but I'm really more interested in odds and how easy the sites are to navigate. I'll just be using it for football, and don't want to have to fanny about for hours on end just to put a simple accumulator on.

Cheers in advance

GGTTH :flag:

Bet 365 is great for watching live games. In this country, you can get only get foreign games, but based in Switzerland, you might get UK games live - not sure how it works.

Odds-wise, I think Betfair tends to be best, but as it's an exchange rather than a bookmaker, it isn't always as simple as that.

Have a look at this site to compare prices on specific bets: http://www.oddschecker.com/

No harm in signing up for multiple sites to get free bonuses. If you've just moved country though, you might have some initial registration problems but these should be sorted out easily enough.

23-10-2012, 01:00 PM
I usually bet using my phone and use William Hill because their mobile site is excellent, especially for the nags.

Betfair is usually pretty good for odds but its a wee bit different from a standard bookie, I only really use it to lay bets.

Edinburgh Green
23-10-2012, 01:07 PM
It can sometimes depend on the types of bets you're putting on, for instance if you put first goalscorer bets on then look at betfred as they do a promo called double delight & hat trick heaven. If you pick a correct fgs and they go on to score a 2nd or 3rd they will double and treble your odds. I think they also have increased odds for goals galore coupons.

23-10-2012, 01:08 PM
Paddy power is quick and easy but u may b struggling in Switzerland as I think it only works in u.k.

Having said that skybet should work abroad

23-10-2012, 01:33 PM
Sign up to as many as you can as most of them give you some kind of inducement. The best bookie for football betting is Pinnacle.

hibsfan7
23-10-2012, 03:22 PM
TRY my website
www.capitolgaming.com/jamesbruce (http://www.capitolgaming.com/jamesbruce)

23-10-2012, 04:22 PM
Bet 365 is great for watching live games. In this country, you can get only get foreign games, but based in Switzerland, you might get UK games live - not sure how it works.

Odds-wise, I think Betfair tends to be best, but as it's an exchange rather than a bookmaker, it isn't always as simple as that.

Have a look at this site to compare prices on specific bets: http://www.oddschecker.com/

No harm in signing up for multiple sites to get free bonuses. If you've just moved country though, you might have some initial registration problems but these should be sorted out easily enough.

Betfair has a separate page now for multiple bets. By far the best for odds on outsiders on the fgs markets.

23-10-2012, 05:52 PM
I use bet 365. The online and mobile app are very easy to use.

agreed.

use it all the time, like the in play and even just for checking scores as you see real time played.. Also can bet in local currency which is good as some sites might not be like that.

23-10-2012, 07:48 PM
I have used most of the sites available at one time or another and Bet365 has remained my favourite throughout - betting markets/options are second to none, prices generally amongst the best around, site very easy to use and regular free loyalty bets as you continue to use them.

However if its just for putting footy accas on - a lot of the above won't necessarily matter.

Give me a shout if you want a hand with a good 'open account offer' for almost any of the sites when you take the plunge :aok:

23-10-2012, 08:12 PM
As above, being in der Schweiz you'll be able to watch televised SPL games free on bet365 (albeit in a fairly small window).

I'd steer clear of the free bet offers though - all the ones I've seen result in your cash being tied up as 'unwithdrawable' until you've bet three times the amount of the original free bet. Some of the more serious gamblers will no doubt have advice on how to beat these offers, but a lot of them look too good to be true for a very good reason.

HarpyHibby
24-10-2012, 09:44 AM
Free £10 bet for new customers signing up to betfred. No deposit required.

Hibs07p
24-10-2012, 06:30 PM
Bet 365. Site down just now, is just me or anyone else having problems.

24-10-2012, 06:31 PM
Bet 365. Site down just now, is just me or anyone else having problems.

yep its down... after bumming them up haha!

though 1st time i have seen this.

wearethehibs
24-10-2012, 06:32 PM
Haha yeah bet365 is down, trust this thread to be started just days before lol.

Hibs07p
24-10-2012, 06:42 PM
I'm already with bet365, and think they are very good, but unfortunately I can;t get a bet on.

24-10-2012, 06:52 PM
I use William Hill, but I've only recently opened an account and I haven't generally been the betting sort before.
Site is very easy to read and use though, and you get your first bet amount matched for a freebie.
I haven't collected yet though, 3 bets and £15 doon, hopefully tonights we accumulator will change that. :rolleyes:

24-10-2012, 09:00 PM
Sign up to as many as you can as most of them give you some kind of inducement. The best bookie for football betting is Pinnacle.

Definitely sign up for as many as you can.

I use whoever has the best odds and opened new accounts (and took the free bets) if/when the best odds are somewhere I didn't have an account.

Bet Victor tends to be the best odds. Paddy Power probably next best.

Do you use pinnacle? I've avoided it so far, it looked a bit iffy with their deposit and withdrawal system.

25-10-2012, 07:17 AM
Definitely sign up for as many as you can.

I use whoever has the best odds and opened new accounts (and took the free bets) if/when the best odds are somewhere I didn't have an account.

Bet Victor tends to be the best odds. Paddy Power probably next best.

Do you use pinnacle? I've avoided it so far, it looked a bit iffy with their deposit and withdrawal system.
Pinnacle have the lowest margins on football, which means better prices for us. Once you take commission into account they usually beat Betfair. I use Moneybookers for shifting money and never had a problem.

26-10-2012, 03:40 PM
Bet365 for me, Never ever had any hassle fae them, Refunded me a stake that i wrongly put on backing the wrong team, Stuck with them ever since.

Infact it was our very own Mikey that recomended 365 to me during World cup 2006:greengrin

26-10-2012, 07:27 PM
Bet365 for me, Never ever had any hassle fae them, Refunded me a stake that i wrongly put on backing the wrong team, Stuck with them ever since.

Infact it was our very own Mikey that recomended 365 to me during World cup 2006:greengrin

They are good for matched bet promos every so often.

26-10-2012, 07:34 PM
They are good for matched bet promos every so often.

Talking about promos,

http://casino.ladbrokes.com/en/25-free-no-deposit/promotions

Ladbrokes are giving £25 casino to new and existing bookmaker customers.