View Full Version : NHC Celtic 40/1 v Barca

23-10-2012, 09:51 AM
Although I don't think they have a chance, is it worth writing off a tenner against a Barca side missing most of its first choice defenders on the off chance?

23-10-2012, 10:03 AM
No chance mate. Stick you're tenner on 5-0 Barca and Messi to score anytime at 16's. :aok:

23-10-2012, 10:42 AM
Personally I home Barca ram them.

But I wouldn't write Celtic off completely. They've had results in the CL away to other big grounds in the past when people thought they had no chance.

23-10-2012, 10:45 AM
No chance mate. Stick you're tenner on 5-0 Barca and Messi to score anytime at 16's. :aok:

I think they've nae chance too, but, it would be a nice wee Brucie bonus.

23-10-2012, 11:07 AM
Personally I home Barca ram them.

But I wouldn't write Celtic off completely. They've had results in the CL away to other big grounds in the past when people thought they had no chance.

They've only just recorded their first ever away win in the CL group stages and I doubt they'll get their second tonight.

23-10-2012, 11:36 AM
They've only just recorded their first ever away win in the CL group stages and I doubt they'll get their second tonight.

And prior to that they had lost 19 out of 20 CL away games - the only exception being a draw in the Nou Camp.

23-10-2012, 11:36 AM
Dundee won at Tynecastle - so you never know in football.

Barca are capable of losing goals. The problem is not losing a handful against them (per half)

23-10-2012, 11:40 AM
It would take miracles of miraculous proportions. It would have to be one of those nights for them to get a result.

Love to see it personally just to shut up my English mates who constantly slate the SPL.

23-10-2012, 11:41 AM
I think 1/12 Barcelona is a better bet.

23-10-2012, 11:52 AM
I fancy Celtic to score tonight. They're not a bad side going forward and Barca have leaked goals all season. A set piece is a real chance for Celtic.

Think Celtic +2 at 9/2 with Willie Hills might have a sniff of value about it. Wouldn't gamble the mortage mind you.

23-10-2012, 12:19 PM
Something that caught my eye on this was having handicapped goalscorers (no jokes)??!! I've never seen this anywhere before, Messi to score with -2 was just over evens...bookies expecting a goalfest then :greengrin

23-10-2012, 12:33 PM
I fancy Celtic to score tonight. They're not a bad side going forward and Barca have leaked goals all season. A set piece is a real chance for Celtic.

Think Celtic +2 at 9/2 with Willie Hills might have a sniff of value about it. Wouldn't gamble the mortage mind you.

They'll need to get the ball first mind :greengrin

23-10-2012, 12:36 PM
Barca are nowhere near the team they were a couple of years ago, and they're ropey at the back with their first choice defence never mind their reserves. Celtic have half a chance tonight.

23-10-2012, 12:50 PM
Barca will win by 2 or 3 at least. Yes, Barca aren't looking good at the back. However, they are incredible going forward and I'd hardly describe Celtic's defence as decent.

23-10-2012, 12:53 PM
If Celtic score I'll be very surprised. Folk saying Barca are ropey at the back, that may be the case but Celtic will no doubt play 4-5-1. If they try and go for it Barca will open them up and destroy them. Best bet is for them to not lose an early goal and see how they get on. But I'm fairly sure the Barca back four aren't going to be troubled much.

23-10-2012, 01:09 PM
http://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/scotsol/homepage/sport/spl/4603891/Barcas-night-of-shame.html

BARCELONA might play the beautiful game now, but Hibs legend John Fraser remembers when the Catalans were more like BEASTS.

The Leith side booted Barca out of the Inter-Cities Fairs Cup back in 1961, then watched in horror as the seething Spaniards tried to kick down the referee’s door.

23-10-2012, 01:11 PM
Although I don't think they have a chance, is it worth writing off a tenner against a Barca side missing most of its first choice defenders on the off chance?

You would be better off going to Ladbrokes and sticking your tenner on Jonathon King and Gary Glitter to jointly host this year's Children in Need.

23-10-2012, 01:20 PM
Football Accumulator ‏@footballacca (https://twitter.com/footballacca)
Wow, Celtic are 40/1 to beat Barcelona tonight. That means if you put £100 on them to win you get £0 back.

HarpyHibby
23-10-2012, 01:34 PM

What bookies is that? Willie hills got them at 25/1.

23-10-2012, 01:38 PM
What bookies is that? Willie hills got them at 25/1.Celtic were 45/1 with Victor Chandler last night but best I can see now is 31/1 with Pinnacle.

23-10-2012, 01:40 PM
Wow, Celtic are 40/1 to beat Barcelona tonight. That means if you put £100 on them to win you get £0 back.

23-10-2012, 01:55 PM

Same if you stick £9000 on them. :agree:

23-10-2012, 02:33 PM
Celtic wanted to play football and hurt them, but Barca wouldn't gee them the baw!

could be the headline afterwards :-)

IndieHibby
23-10-2012, 02:49 PM
It would take miracles of miraculous proportions. It would have to be one of those nights for them to get a result.

Love to see it personally just to shut up my English mates who constantly slate the SPL.

:agree: Amen to that!

23-10-2012, 03:02 PM
Even though Barca are missing their normal back four I still can't see Celtic scoring, I would go for either Barca to win

3-0 @ 6/1
4-0 @ 15/2
5-0 @ 12/1

A tenner on each of those would return a nice profit. :thumbsup:

Teuchter Hibbie
23-10-2012, 03:04 PM
Willie Hills are offering 25/1 on Barca to win and Hooper to score anytime. I thought it was worth a fiver.
The other option was 66/1 on Celtic to win and Hooper anytime.

23-10-2012, 04:05 PM
Willie Hills are offering 25/1 on Barca to win and Hooper to score anytime. I thought it was worth a fiver.

As Barca are a certainty to win your effectively getting 25/1 on Hooper to score at anytime. Probably worth a couple of quid.

23-10-2012, 04:17 PM
What bookies is that? Willie hills got them at 25/1.

Betfair. In to 27/1 now.

Teuchter Hibbie
23-10-2012, 04:23 PM
As Barca are a certainty to win your effectively getting 25/1 on Hooper to score at anytime. Probably worth a couple of quid.

more or less, aye, I quite fancy them to nick a goal.

lugz
23-10-2012, 04:35 PM

I'm pretty sure this is wrong, when your doing the win cast on willy hills it asks for a first goalscorer not an anytime one.

Teuchter Hibbie
23-10-2012, 04:40 PM
I'm pretty sure this is wrong, when your doing the win cast on willy hills it asks for a first goalscorer not an anytime one.

nope, i was in the shop today and it was definitely anytime.

lugz
23-10-2012, 04:43 PM
nope, i was in the shop today and it was definitely anytime.

They must have changed it now to first gs as that's what it's like on the website.

Teuchter Hibbie
23-10-2012, 04:48 PM
They must have changed it now to first gs as that's what it's like on the website.

aye, it was one of the enhanced wins they do, the lass was coming round shouting it out. i think it's a fairly decent punt.

23-10-2012, 05:31 PM
Anyone know what channel this match is on?

Greendub
23-10-2012, 05:40 PM
Anyone know what channel this match is on?

Sky sports 2, 7:45 kick off

23-10-2012, 05:41 PM
I have a bet on 7-0.

23-10-2012, 05:46 PM

must include a scoreline too surely?

anyway i just done Hooper anytime and 4-1 Barca @ 40/1.. just for a bit fun.
Championship on tonight as well.. plenty ways to lose money tonight :-)

lugz
23-10-2012, 05:54 PM
aye, it was one of the enhanced wins they do, the lass was coming round shouting it out. i think it's a fairly decent punt.

It's a cracking price the only reason I noticed the change was cause I went to back it. Celtic may as well attack and lose 4/5-1 than park the bus and lose 4-0 anyway

23-10-2012, 06:05 PM
I've left it off my coupon...couldn't see any real value, will probably still be 3 or 4-1 Barca but you never know

Man U
Juve
Cardiff
Notts County
Sheffield United
Southend

A tenner returns about £180

23-10-2012, 06:26 PM
must include a scoreline too surely?

anyway i just done Hooper anytime and 4-1 Barca @ 40/1.. just for a bit fun.
Championship on tonight as well.. plenty ways to lose money tonight :-)
No scoreline required for these bets, it's a price boost that WH does. Latest one is Iniesta anytime and Barca win 5/2.

Teuchter Hibbie
23-10-2012, 06:28 PM
No scoreline required for these bets, it's a price boost that WH does. Latest one is Iniesta anytime and Barca win 5/2.

23-10-2012, 06:37 PM
Stuck a fiver on Iniesta first goal and Barca. 4-1 at 65s.

Absolutely no chance but got a wee bit stashed in the Willie Hills account just now so why not?

23-10-2012, 06:48 PM
Dundee won at Tynecastle - so you never know in football.

In fairness, it wasn't really that surprising given how poor Hearts had been under McGlynn in the league and the fact they would have had a massive Euro hangover from midweek.

23-10-2012, 07:30 PM
Stuck a fiver on Iniesta first goal and Barca. 4-1 at 65s.

Absolutely no chance but got a wee bit stashed in the Willie Hills account just now so why not?

In with a chance ;)

23-10-2012, 07:34 PM
In with a chance ;)

Fingers crossed.

23-10-2012, 07:45 PM
Anybody have samaras first goal

23-10-2012, 07:46 PM
In with a chance ;)

23-10-2012, 07:54 PM

Goal was originally credited as an own goal which means 2nd goalscorer becomes first. Sadly the press association have now given the goal to Samras so that's that.

23-10-2012, 09:43 PM
Goal was originally credited as an own goal which means 2nd goalscorer becomes first. Sadly the press association have now given the goal to Samras so that's that.

That makes sense.

I didn't see the game, was just checking the score on the bbc website.