View Full Version : You've been Trumped...

22-10-2012, 05:06 PM
Anyone else watch this? I did and I switched off at the end absolutely furious.

What a damning indictment of our political class. A US millionaire swans in and is given an easy ride in the planning process having initially been rejected by the casting vote in the Aberdeenshire Council by the Scottish Green representative.

The civic authorities and the Scottish Government have given Trump carte blanche to ruin a site of special scientific interest. The people living there are being treated like an afterthought and facing their properties being bulldozed, huge earth banks to wall them in and running the gauntlet of Trump's security, aided and abetted by heavy handed (but supposedly neutral) Grampian police.

I was appalled that this is being allowed to happen here and our politicians and other authorities are entirely complicit in it.

All for the sake of some friggin golfers...

22-10-2012, 05:09 PM
The Torygraph's view. (http://www.telegraph.co.uk/culture/tvandradio/9621334/Youve-Been-Trumped-BBC-Two-review.html)

22-10-2012, 05:28 PM
i must admit to not really feeling much either way till i watched this last night, it seems much has been done to help trump push this through and these allowences would not have been afforded to Joe Public, the bit that really got me (feeling a wee bit emo) was the boy who handed back his hard earned Honourary Degree.

23-10-2012, 05:44 PM
I was disgusted after watching it. I think the thing that annoyed me the most was the way the police handled things. The police are meant to be the good guys, but they were power-hungry wee toleys, and the arrest of the boy was nothing more than an assault and an abuse of position. I genuinely hope that the high heid yins of Grampian police are suitable ashamed and do something about it. I doubt that they will though.

The way Trump's people were able to just build on the fisherman's land and run roughshod over everyone was a disgrace as well. The boy having his water supply cut off and being absolutely powerless to do anything about it was just criminal. He was right when he said that the while the police were doing nothing to help him, if it had been the other way round they'd have got involved soon enough.

23-10-2012, 06:07 PM
I was disgusted after watching it. I think the thing that annoyed me the most was the way the police handled things. The police are meant to be the good guys, but they were power-hungry wee toleys, and the arrest of the boy was nothing more than an assault and an abuse of position. I genuinely hope that the high heid yins of Grampian police are suitable ashamed and do something about it. I doubt that they will though.

The way Trump's people were able to just build on the fisherman's land and run roughshod over everyone was a disgrace as well. The boy having his water supply cut off and being absolutely powerless to do anything about it was just criminal. He was right when he said that the while the police were doing nothing to help him, if it had been the other way round they'd have got involved soon enough.

also the Earth wall they built round the boys house was utterly disgusting, And the "They live like pigs" line he kept spouting was based on what ? His own opulent lifestyle ?

HibsMax
23-10-2012, 08:24 PM
I know nothing about this other than what I read in the link posted above. The whole thing seems very distasteful. Who is supposed to be looking out for the common man? Who is protecting their interests? If Trump et al don't like the "slums" around their golf course then f*** off somewhere else! Scotland is not his playground. I'm all for bringing more money into the country / region but not at any cost. I also wonder how many people in the area will be able to afford to visit and take advantage of the resort. Hmmmm.

23-10-2012, 09:06 PM
Anyone know what the green fees are?

23-10-2012, 09:26 PM
Anyone know what the green fees are?

£215 a pop at the weekend.

Whilst I find the whole episode with building it massively distateful, I have a couple of mates who work in the oil industry who have played it as a corporate freebie and apparently the golf course itself is fantastically good.

25-10-2012, 04:57 PM
£215 a pop at the weekend.

Whilst I find the whole episode with building it massively distateful, I have a couple of mates who work in the oil industry who have played it as a corporate freebie and apparently the golf course itself is fantastically good.

Having watched that documentary, no matter how avid a golfer I was there is not a snowball's chance in hell that I'd give that **** any of my money.

25-10-2012, 05:28 PM
Having watched that documentary, no matter how avid a golfer I was there is not a snowball's chance in hell that I'd give that **** any of my money.

Absolutely agree Matty.

Wouldn't play the course for free. I lived in Aberdeen throughout the whole planning fiasco and the local press reports about the way Trump treated the people in the area was shocking reading.