View Full Version : Why Do You Support Hibs?

21-10-2012, 09:14 PM
For us 'oldsters' it's a no-brainer....but what about you?

21-10-2012, 09:17 PM

Unlucky ?
My Dad had a good sense of humour ?:greengrin

Leishy1995
21-10-2012, 09:18 PM
It's in the blood

21-10-2012, 09:24 PM
Because I have an infuriating, life-spoiling tendency to go for the underdog! I did not have a club in 1979, but knew Hibs were struggling. My Dad's a Hibbie and that might have caused me to have some sympathy for them. However, when I heard that Hibs had beaten Rangers (they were a club from Glasgow, and a big thing at the time) around Christmas time, I signed up on the spot. I have no idea what I thought becoming a Hibbie would do for me, but there have definitely been about two seasons where I didn't regret it!:greengrin

21-10-2012, 09:32 PM
Joe Harper - My dad loved Joe Harper at Aberdeen whom he supported as a child, but when he eventually moved to Hibs my dad started supporting Hibs and has been ever since. :agree:

21-10-2012, 09:33 PM
My Dad.

It's often not easy, its not cheap and it can be time consuming but I wouldn't have it any other way.

21-10-2012, 09:34 PM
It was us or them!

21-10-2012, 09:40 PM
Because it is the right thing to do :agree:

HTD1875
21-10-2012, 09:40 PM
It's in the blood passed down by my dad

21-10-2012, 09:41 PM
My dad and because they are the best team in Edinburgh.

21-10-2012, 09:42 PM
First top I got was a Hearts one but first ground I was taken to was Easter Road. Think it was 89-90 and it seemed to rain every time and think we won one game and never scored. I should have got out then

21-10-2012, 09:46 PM
Because I was hitler in a previous life.

In all seriousness though I was brought up a hibee so can't imagine supporting any other team

21-10-2012, 09:54 PM
Family more than anything else. Dad, cousins, uncle and auntie took me to games when i was wee.

I need to mind and thank them.

Fisherrow Harp
21-10-2012, 10:00 PM
My Grandfather, all his brothers went to the dark side. The reason he supported Hibs was it was one tram fare to Easter road and two to mordor. :flag:

21-10-2012, 10:04 PM
I just enjoy Moaning :greengrin

21-10-2012, 10:04 PM
My Dad's a Hun. I got the brains in the family, and love(d) Pat Stanton. I have led my younger brother and sons to the emerald green pastures! :thumbsup:

Macaroon
21-10-2012, 10:12 PM
I went to Universal as a child and fell in love with Rollercoasters.

21-10-2012, 10:19 PM
Joe Harper - My dad loved Joe Harper at Aberdeen whom he supported as a child, but when he eventually moved to Hibs my dad started supporting Hibs and has been ever since. :agree:

So you should be supporting Aberdeen then? :greengrin

21-10-2012, 10:27 PM
Cos we're all fannies?

21-10-2012, 10:29 PM
Grandad played for Hibs, my whole family on both sides support Hibs, there was never a choice.

I couldn't change now even if I wanted to, and look at the alternative.

21-10-2012, 10:33 PM
School mates all supported Hibs so I joined in. My dad and uncles were/are jambos but I never took to hearts. My first Hibs game was against Ayr at ER sometime in the 1970s. Hibs one week Yams the following was the pattern. then I settled on Hibs

21-10-2012, 10:39 PM
Hibernian Soccer Trendies

That's why I support Hibs, never thought it would happen but once you start going to games you can't help supporting the team

21-10-2012, 10:45 PM
I supported Rangers, home and away, man and boy, but when they got relegated to the third division this season, I decided enough was enough.

21-10-2012, 10:50 PM
Cos its a great place to go for a f***** boooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo :agree:

21-10-2012, 11:01 PM
So you should be supporting Aberdeen then? :greengrin

Nope, my dad became a Hibee 20 years before i was born, thankfully!!! :thumbsup:

21-10-2012, 11:26 PM
Because self-mutilation is actually more painful.

21-10-2012, 11:38 PM
They are not Hearts.

They are not Rangers.

They are not Celtc.

There are Hibs.

Why ask?

22-10-2012, 12:28 AM
Third generation Hibby.

My Dad and all my Uncles and cousins (bar the Aberdeen branch), are Hibbies.

Despite living in the South West of England as a kid, I had always seen my team play more than my mates. Used to go up to Edinburgh on the School holidays, so that meant games at Christmas/New Years, Easter and Summer, with a few half term games thrown in.

Now I am lucky if I am up twice a year. My first game of the season will be Ross County on Boxing Day.

22-10-2012, 12:42 AM
Third generation Hibby.

My Dad and all my Uncles and cousins (bar the Aberdeen branch), are Hibbies.

Despite living in the South West of England as a kid, I had always seen my team play more than my mates. Used to go up to Edinburgh on the School holidays, so that meant games at Christmas/New Years, Easter and Summer, with a few half term games thrown in.

Now I am lucky if I am up twice a year. My first game of the season will be Ross County on Boxing Day.

I'm just back from a weekend in Bath. Traffic in Bristol hasn't improved, has it!

StokePogesHibs
22-10-2012, 02:25 AM
Only addiction I'll admit to. Every home strip. Shouting about the results in a land where nobody cares. It's what happens when you go to Easter Road as a 4 year old to watch Hibs v Dumbarton. It was 1972!

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

22-10-2012, 03:29 AM
Grandad played for Hibs, my whole family on both sides support Hibs, there was never a choice.

I couldn't change now even if I wanted to, and look at the alternative.

What is his name?

22-10-2012, 05:22 AM
Grandad. Moved to England but took me to games. First game was Skol cup final.

22-10-2012, 05:55 AM
After my parents divorced I was brought up by my mum and her family were/are all Jams/sevco. My old boy still made sure I was a Hibby though, got a lot to answer to he has.

AndyM_1875
22-10-2012, 07:43 AM
Never liked Hearts, fans were arrogant idiots and I enjoyed their 1986 collapse.
Hibs fans I met at school were a good bunch.

I never could understand the Old Firm. They spent more time banging on about sectarian rubbish and perceived injustices than actually supporting their team. I still can't be bothered with them.

It had to be Hibs for me.

Bill Milne
22-10-2012, 07:48 AM
I was born a hibby. My Gran lived in Lochend Drive and all my uncles and my auntie were Hibbies.

22-10-2012, 11:13 AM
My Grandad and Dad both supported Hibs, as do my own boys. It's a family thing. Moving to Leith (Elbe Street) when I was eight just put the icing on the cake.

Greendub
22-10-2012, 11:20 AM
Because my dads a Jambo, I preferred the green :-)

Ross4356
22-10-2012, 11:36 AM
Because my dad's a hibee and so is his dad, maybe even his dad was one too, my kids will be hibs fans thats for sure

S.sct
22-10-2012, 11:38 AM
Just because:-)

22-10-2012, 11:43 AM
Because I enjoy the day out with my dad

22-10-2012, 11:58 AM
Grew up in Albert Street and my old boy is one of us. Its what you do.

London Hibs FC
22-10-2012, 12:26 PM
Great Grandfather, Grandfather and Dad (with all his Brothers and Sisters also being ST Holders) were/ are all Hibees through and through so that gave me little choice........ thankfully!!

juniorhibbee
22-10-2012, 12:31 PM
Dad took me to my first game then bought me a hibs strip then I got a season ticket with my uncle and grandad when I was 5. Never had a choice really :D

22-10-2012, 12:48 PM
It's a question I ask myself most weeks, and I still still can't answer it :-)

22-10-2012, 01:43 PM
Cognito ergo Hibee.

22-10-2012, 02:04 PM
I was born a Hibee. I'm glad cause I wouldn't want it any other way.

22-10-2012, 02:49 PM
I didn't even realise there was any other football team that I could have conceivably supported until about the age of 7 or 8. Just got taken to a Hibs game by a Hibs-daft family friend when I was about 4/5, and being as I lived less than a mile from the stadium for all my youth, it was just what you did.

22-10-2012, 05:40 PM
I was born in Govan 50+ years ago under the shadows of hunbrox. Support my local team ? Not a chance!
Our family history goes back to the year the Hibees were formed. Hibbys then Hibbys now.

Thanks dad :-) x

22-10-2012, 05:46 PM
D.N.A.....its passed down through the generations...i really had no choice.

Stevo1875
22-10-2012, 07:38 PM
i was too young to know about childline.

weehibee19
22-10-2012, 07:47 PM
For us 'oldsters' it's a no-brainer....but what about you?

Family. My Great,great,great,great grandfather played for the first ever Hibs team and they have been lifelong Hibs supporters ever since!

22-10-2012, 08:09 PM
The current thread on "why do you support Hibs" caused me to recall an article I wrote some years ago on that very subject! Here it is again and obviously not bang up to date!

http://www.hibs.net/content.php?303-Jimmy-s-Dad-s-Fault

22-10-2012, 08:19 PM
Family. My Great,great,great,great grandfather played for the first ever Hibs team and they have been lifelong Hibs supporters ever since!

Hi Mate ,

Are you willing to divulge any more info ? What was his name ?
Do you have any old photos or news clippings ?

I would love to hear more but would understand if you don't want to tell all on a messageboard :greengrin

Best claim to fame i've read on here :flag:

23-10-2012, 12:04 PM

Are you Michael McGrath? If so then I seem to remember that there was even a family resemblance to photo's of the famous Mick McGrath (the one wae the hoops) from 1875.

Derek

23-10-2012, 01:48 PM
Born and bread colonies at Leith Links, pretty obvious really.:greengrin

23-10-2012, 01:53 PM
A family member played for Hibs in the 1920's and he took me to ER and since then two close and two distant rellies have worn the green and white .

23-10-2012, 01:57 PM
Old man got me hooked taking me to countless games in the 90's including skol cup final 91. 7-0 at ibrox to name 2 of top of my heid. Season tickets most years just loved the old east stand couldn't beat the atmosphere. Especially when Mowbray had the golden generation coming through

23-10-2012, 01:57 PM
Because the white sleeves caught my eye circa 1963. No other reason.

It certainly wasn't their play as they were bottom of the league at the time!

jaba1875
23-10-2012, 02:06 PM
I grew up in Montrose,

Can't remember the year, maybe 94. It was Montrose against Hibs in the scottish cup. Being a young montrose fan i went along with my dad, i think it finished 3-0 hibs but was a close game. Anyway, i fell in love with Hibs that day and the rest is history!

MCC Hibs
23-10-2012, 07:39 PM
Used to work for Hearts but never got paid one week so became a Hibby!

ChrissyG1875
24-10-2012, 12:02 AM
I grew up in Montrose,

Can't remember the year, maybe 94. It was Montrose against Hibs in the scottish cup. Being a young montrose fan i went along with my dad, i think it finished 3-0 hibs but was a close game. Anyway, i fell in love with Hibs that day and the rest is history!

Glory hunter! :greengrin

50/50 really, my dad is french so didn't support a team but didn't want us supporting the old firm so we chose hibs. Really dodged a bullet there.

24-10-2012, 12:37 AM
my Da and his brothers were Hibbies as laddies, never took me to games. an uncle took me to games at tynie a couple o' times, yet I thought i'd go for the huns. when I then realised what they were all about , and noticed aged 14 that all my school mates(and Imean all) were hibbies, I went to a game with them at ER. Hibs beat der hun, and the next week I was on the train to Dundee to watch Paddy Stanton.the rest............well, you know what happened.

jaba1875
24-10-2012, 08:37 AM
Glory hunter! :greengrin

50/50 really, my dad is french so didn't support a team but didn't want us supporting the old firm so we chose hibs. Really dodged a bullet there.

Glory?! haha

Yeah, i suppose you could say that. being a Montrose fan i needed an spl team to follow - i made the right choice :flag:

Still support the mighty mo of course!

Renfrew_Hibby
24-10-2012, 10:02 AM
Grew up in Ayr with no Hibs connections, not even any big football fans in my family. So why Hibs? It's a good question that has been put to me so many times over the years.
I first remember looking out for Hibs around 85/86. I would've been 7 or 8 at the time. Pannini stickers were all the rage at school and with my dad having a corner shop i get extra supplies of stickers :greengrin He even operated a swap shop in the shop kinda thing! Anyways one reason might be the kit, for me it stood out in the stickers and i always wanted to get the Hibs page filled up first.
Also in the late '80s Hibs had a John (Collins) my name, a Hunter my surname, an Archibald which was my dads name and a McIntyre which was also a family name so i found that strange at the time.
I also had a routine then of going round to my uncles on a Sunday afternoon to watch Scotsport and i always remember Hibs getting a 1-1 draw at Parkhead with the brilliant young Collins scoring for Hibs. That game stuck in my mind and by the time i was 9 or 10 Hibs was pretty much my team and i got my first strip when i was 11 i think. It was on a day trip to Edinburgh with my mum and gran. Frank Graham Group home kit and it was the biz.

First Hibs game Skol Cup quater final at Sommerset Park - 2-0 Hibs (Keith & Pat) en route to Hampden Glory.
First game at ER - 0-0 with Celtic twards the end of 93/94 season.
Had a season ticket every year since 94/95 except for 1 year.

Totally rejected the old firm and was glad when i was old enough to see how sad the whold circus with them is.
Funny fact - Lord Foulkes stayed just along the road from us as he was an Ayrsire MP and his wife became a family friend. His son was a total roaster though and shaped my attitude of Jambos!

GGTTH - Now and Forever.

Owain_1987
24-10-2012, 10:37 AM
I really don't remember a time I did not follow this great club. As a very young boy I went with my parents and sister to watch Hibs play Hearts at Easter Road. It was a cold October day in 1991 and there was around 20,000 and before the game I got a photo with my brother, parents and the Skol Cup we had won the week before a photo that my Grandparents still have up in their house. Also to top it all off my brother was mascot that day so well you can't turn you back after that. I remember many teary nights after Hibs defeats as a young boy but for me and my brother there was only one team to follow and we still chat despite being many 100s of miles away from Easter Road about the Hibs on a weekly basis. We also go to lots of games :flag::flag::flag:

24-10-2012, 10:43 AM
To meet foxy chicks.

Rossco1875
24-10-2012, 04:48 PM
its in the blood :flag:

24-10-2012, 05:18 PM
We have 2 choices in life, right and wrong. I made the right choice.