View Full Version : For those who argued against the need to wash your hands after going to the toilet

15-10-2012, 08:15 PM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-19834975

Cue the "I didn't go for a poo arguments...".

Away and lick your mobile phone!

15-10-2012, 09:14 PM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-19834975

Cue the "I didn't go for a poo arguments...".

Away and lick your mobile phone!

If anything that article tells me that's the no more reason to wash my hands after having a pee compared to a number of other things I may do many times in a day (type on a keyboard at work, press the button in a lift, open a door, hold a handle thing on a bus).

15-10-2012, 09:19 PM
If anything that article tells me that's the no more reason to wash my hands after having a pee compared to a number of other things I may do many times in a day (type on a keyboard at work, press the button in a lift, open a door, hold a handle thing on a bus).

How many sinks with soap and hot water are there in your lift or on the bus?

Most toilets I visit have one.

15-10-2012, 09:27 PM

None, so should we go out of our way to wash our hands?

Edit: For the record, I'm not arguing against washing your hands after you've been to the toilet. I'm just saying there isn't really any need to do it compared to after doing other things.

15-10-2012, 09:49 PM

Edit: For the record, I'm not arguing against washing your hands after you've been to the toilet. I'm just saying there isn't really any need to do it compared to after doing other things.

I think we should wash our hands regularly.

Going to the toilet would seem the most obvious, necessary and easy time to do so.

15-10-2012, 09:55 PM

Of course there is.

16-10-2012, 05:57 AM
Hence the reason I have a bottle of hand sanitizer in my office.

16-10-2012, 06:18 AM
I've seen some sinks in pubs and places that would make hand washing the wrong thing to do. :-(

16-10-2012, 06:19 AM

Yes, you should go out of your way to wash your hands.

What you should be arguing is that washing your hands after going to the toilet is a must and so is washing you hands after doing various other things.

I never handle food without washing my hands first. The frequency with which your fingers come into contact with your face generally and your eyes and mouth in particular is such that you should always try to wash your hands after touching animals, money or generally anything handled by a lot of people.

16-10-2012, 06:26 AM
There are some manky *******s about.

16-10-2012, 07:20 AM
I just don't get people who don't wash their hands after using the toilet to be honest.

Regular hand washing can prevent the spread of disease, including very common things like the cold, flu or noravirus. It takes about 20 seconds of your time so why wouldn't you do it? People who don't wash their hands are either really lazy or really minging.

16-10-2012, 08:48 AM

"Kitchen chopping boards have about 200% more faecal bacteria on them than toilet seats." Not for me, any more, preparing meat on a chopping board while there's a safer alternative just along the hallway. :agree:

16-10-2012, 08:59 AM
"Kitchen chopping boards have about 200% more faecal bacteria on them than toilet seats." Not for me, any more, preparing meat on a chopping board while there's a safer alternative just along the hallway. :agree:

16-10-2012, 10:49 AM
I just don't get people who don't wash their hands after using the toilet to be honest.

Regular hand washing can prevent the spread of disease, including very common things like the cold, flu or noravirus. It takes about 20 seconds of your time so why wouldn't you do it? People who don't wash their hands are either really lazy or really minging.

Two minutes of hand washing Pretty Boy, so said a former Minister for Health, Andy Kerr. "Sing Happy Birthday to me" he said in the press release.

So after hanging out together I sang Happy Birthday to Andy, slowly, daring him him stop before I had finished.

He didn't but I got a hell of a dirty look :-D

16-10-2012, 11:19 AM

Where is that quoted?

There was an advert banned recently that purported this stat....it does of course depend greatly on the cleanliness of the chopping board. I very much doubt the stat would hold true of a chopping board taken straight out of the dishwasher for example.

The moral of the story is don't go preparing your dinner on the toilet seat just yet

16-10-2012, 12:11 PM
Where is that quoted?

There was an advert banned recently that purported this stat....it does of course depend greatly on the cleanliness of the chopping board. I very much doubt the stat would hold true of a chopping board taken straight out of the dishwasher for example.

The moral of the story is don't go preparing your dinner on the toilet seat just yet

It's quoted in Hibbyradge's link. "Source: NHS and Hygiene Council"

Dishwasher? Dishwasher? An average washing machine load can contain up to 100 million E.coli bacteria at any one time - think how much more manky a dishwasher will be, with all that decaying food swirling about in it!

16-10-2012, 01:48 PM

All my non metalic kitchen utensils, scrubbing brushes and clothes get a regular blast in the microwave before washing. As close as you'll get to sterilisation as you can.

16-10-2012, 04:00 PM
All my non metalic kitchen utensils, scrubbing brushes and clothes get a regular blast in the microwave before washing. As close as you'll get to sterilisation as you can.

You can't be microwaving clothes surely?

16-10-2012, 06:53 PM
If there is faecal matter everywhere, what I want to know is, what the hell are people doing when wiping their erses, that they get **** on their hands to spread it. :confused:

16-10-2012, 06:55 PM
You can't be microwaving clothes surely?

Whoops! Blush! Splutter! Meant cloths.

16-10-2012, 07:10 PM
Whoops! Blush! Splutter! Meant cloths.

Aahhhhh, I get it now.

Wait, you microwave cloths? I'm interested. Tell me more.

16-10-2012, 07:21 PM
If there is faecal matter everywhere, what I want to know is, what the hell are people doing when wiping their erses, that they get **** on their hands to spread it. :confused:

I refuse to touch loo rolls or dispensers in public toilets on the grounds that another person with dirty hands might have touched them, so my options are limited.

16-10-2012, 09:02 PM

See after you've washed your hands, how'd you get out the toilets? Something to think about as all those manky bar stewards who haven't washed their hands have touched the door handle to get out :ill::dead:.

16-10-2012, 09:18 PM
See after you've washed your hands, how'd you get out the toilets? Something to think about as all those manky bar stewards who haven't washed their hands have touched the door handle to get out :ill::dead:.

I always wait just inside the door until someone else comes along and opens it. Then I squeeze through just before the door swings shut. That way I can get through without risking touching it.

17-10-2012, 05:45 AM
Aahhhhh, I get it now.

Wait, you microwave cloths? I'm interested. Tell me more.

Dampen the cloths and place in the microwave. Blast them with about 600w for a couple of minutes and the moisture has turned to steam, virtually killing all known bacteria. Then pop them in the washing machine and hang up to dry. Same procedure for tea towels etc.

17-10-2012, 05:55 AM
Dampen the cloths and place in the microwave. Blast them with about 600w for a couple of minutes and the moisture has turned to steam, virtually killing all known bacteria. Then pop them in the washing machine and hang up to dry. Same procedure for tea towels etc.

Nice one. Is that how they do the steamy towels at good Chinese restaurants?

17-10-2012, 06:17 AM
Nice one. Is that how they do the steamy towels at good Chinese restaurants?

Could be! Hope they let them cool down first though otherwise you'll end up looking like Nicki Lauder,

17-10-2012, 06:24 AM

I'm liking this. What else you got?

Kind of related but different, for those of you with dish washers: break your dishwasher tab in half and only use half per wash. Cleans the dishes just as well and doubles your spend on them.

17-10-2012, 06:27 AM

1. Time your exit to match an entrant.

2. Use a piece of toilet paper or hand towel to cover handle when opening

3. Use your sleeve to cover handle when opening

4. Take tissues with you when leaving home for exactly this situation (not done that myself but know someone who is fanatical about it)

As an aside I know somone else who will not allow any part of the body to touch a toilet seat outside of their own home....

17-10-2012, 06:41 AM
I'm liking this. What else you got?

Kind of related but different, for those of you with dish washers: break your dishwasher tab in half and only use half per wash. Cleans the dishes just as well and doubles your spend on them.
Ooh! I'll give that a test run.

I use cheap nivea body moisturiser for my leather products. My sofa loves it and it slows down the aging process.

17-10-2012, 08:52 AM
Any tips on removing sock fluff (usually black) that had become ingrained in carpets or am I doomed to a life of aggressive hoovering?

And baths/bathroom sinks/toilets: what's that pink residue found near plugs? It looks like the red weed made famous by War of the Worlds (the Jeff Wayne musical version).

17-10-2012, 11:46 AM
break your dishwasher tab in half and only use half per wash. Cleans the dishes just as well and doubles your spend on them.

Only in yamathematics.

19-10-2012, 02:31 PM
I always wait just inside the door until someone else comes along and opens it. Then I squeeze through just before the door swings shut. That way I can get through without risking touching it.

That move is known as the Willie Hamilton after the way he used to ghost untouched through defences.

19-10-2012, 03:41 PM
That move is known as the Willie Hamilton after the way he used to ghost untouched through defences.

Ha! Excellent image. I'll think of him next time I do it. (And for added verisimilitude, I'll try and be half pished at the time.) ( :tin hat: )

19-10-2012, 06:57 PM
According to my other half - gonetomorrow - women are worse than men in the public toilet hygeine stakes.

It's a saga of unwashed hands, make-up and powder all over everything and loud conversation pertaining to matters below the belt that would make a longshoreman blush.

19-10-2012, 07:11 PM
According to my other half - gonetomorrow - women are worse than men in the public toilet hygeine stakes.

It's a saga of unwashed hands, make-up and powder all over everything and loud conversation pertaining to matters below the belt that would make a longshoreman blush.

They cover airplane toilet floors in pish too because they don't want their bottoms to touch the seat and lets face it due to their nether regions spraying like a watering can, it leaves one almighty puddle on the floor. But they do put the lid back down afterwards.

HibsMax
19-10-2012, 09:38 PM
I heard this at a pool competition a couple of years ago.

"Don't shake hands with a player who comes back from the toilet and still has chalk on their hands."

:)

21-10-2012, 09:32 AM

I use a bit bog paper after using loo to open door(s) and discard it immediately upon opening said door. there's some smelly f*****s out there who don't wash hands after a number two. just WHY?

21-10-2012, 09:35 AM
I heard this at a pool competition a couple of years ago.

"Don't shake hands with a player who comes back from the toilet and still has chalk on their hands."

:)

fortunately, I don't partake in Pool competitions ;)

21-10-2012, 05:23 PM
I use a bit bog paper after using loo to open door(s) and discard it immediately upon opening said door. there's some smelly f*****s out there who don't wash hands after a number two. just WHY?

That is chatty however there is worse.

I've always wondered what kind of 'sick in the head' it takes to crap all over a cubical and up the walls in a pub toilet, since it seems to happen more frequently than you'd like to think. It's hardly going to happen just by accident, after a wee slip on the floor whilst lowering yourself onto the toilet seat.

22-10-2012, 05:04 PM

I've always wondered what kind of 'sick in the head' it takes to crap all over a cubical and up the walls in a pub toilet, since it seems to happen more frequently than you'd like to think. It's hardly going to happen just by accident, after a wee slip on the floor whilst lowering yourself onto the toilet seat.

Jambos trying to paint the place maroon?

22-10-2012, 07:59 PM

Delighted to say i've never witnessed that in pub toilet i've been in. Time to stop drinking in republican pubs for you methinks! ;-)

22-10-2012, 08:21 PM
All this talk of germs. I mean according to the adverts there are cleaning products out there that kill 99% of all known germs. That leads me to ask two vital questions.

1. If you're that effing clever you can kill 99% how effing difficult can it be to get the other 1%?

2. If all known germs are killed and they equate to 99%, how do folk know that the unknown germs only equate to 1% when they're unknown?

We've a right to know I say :agree:

22-10-2012, 09:28 PM
Delighted to say i've never witnessed that in pub toilet i've been in. Time to stop drinking in republican pubs for you methinks! ;-)

Must just be a southern Scotland/Northern England thing since I've seen it in Carlisle during a night out too!

Either that or the drainage systems are bad and tend to backfire.....

Actually, it probably is all the wannabe Huns, jambos and the unwashed lesser greens down here. Yea, it's definitely that :greengrin

22-10-2012, 11:03 PM
I go down to Carlisle quite often, but, honestly, not guilty your honour!
There are plenty minging pub bogs down there though right enough.

23-10-2012, 05:29 AM
Worst toilet I have ever seen in a "pub" was at Blue Eye on Bonny Island. Through a gate into the jungle, a 2 foot wide plank spanning a 6 foot wide and 4 foot deep ditch. Totally communal :greengrin. Personally never fell in but many did. The one good thing about it was the vegetation in the ditch was absolutely lush! Definitely a bottle of hand sanitiser in the pooch when we went there. :agree:

23-10-2012, 06:02 AM
All this talk of germs. I mean according to the adverts there are cleaning products out there that kill 99% of all known germs. That leads me to ask two vital questions.

1. If you're that effing clever you can kill 99% how effing difficult can it be to get the other 1%?

2. If all known germs are killed and they equate to 99%, how do folk know that the unknown germs only equate to 1% when they're unknown?

3. Also not clear whether the 99% refers to types, or quantity of germs killed / killed dead. If for example there are 100 types of germ known, but type 69 (a particularly dirty germ) is 1000 times more common than the other 99 put together, then you need to be sure before splashing out that the 1% which your favourite product misses isn't germ type 69 - if it is, then your 99% strike rate in terms of type becomes more like 0.1% in terms of quantity.

Why are investigative journalists wasting time on uncovering paedo rings and the like when there are such important matters to be resolved? :agree:

VickMackie
23-10-2012, 11:59 AM

You're getting mixed up on point 2.

If there are 100 known germs the product will kill 99 of them. It's still a known germ.

Unknown ones aren't taken into account with that statement.

Pretty interesting point about germ number 69 being particularly dirty. I'm sure there's lots of danger of breathing in faceal matter with that germ. Haha

23-10-2012, 05:01 PM
Jambos trying to paint the place maroon?

The last time I witnessed an 'accident' like that was rather near the time that Sevco played Annan away.

Oh Ian Black, you manky git :wink:

23-10-2012, 05:09 PM

I met the sod. :greengrin Walked into a bar on my way home from a pub quiz just for a last pint but went to use the toilet for a pee before ordering a pint. While I was standing doing the business a guy came out of one of the cubicles and left without washing his hands. After zipping up and washing my hands I walked up to the bar where I was greeted by the guy who I saw in the toilets a few minutes earler. He asked me what I wanted and I just had to say "No thanks" and left.

Clart. :agree:

23-10-2012, 05:15 PM
I met the sod. :greengrin Walked into a bar on my way home from a pub quiz just for a last pint but went to use the toilet for a pee before ordering a pint. While I was standing doing the business a guy came out of one of the cubicles and left without washing his hands. After zipping up and washing my hands I walked up to the bar where I was greeted by the guy who I saw in the toilets a few minutes earler. He asked me what I wanted and I just had to say "No thanks" and left.

Clart. :agree:

I've witnessed that by a "chef" in a boozer, for the life of me I cannae remember where it was though!

23-10-2012, 05:27 PM
I've witnessed that by a "chef" in a boozer, for the life of me I cannae remember where it was though!

The other thing that annoys me is when bar staff eat behind the bar and then think it's okay to serve you without washing their hands. One instance while I was sitting having a pint in the local boozer the barmaid was busy golloping down a pizza and chips from the takeaway next door. If she could have got her fingers deeper into her mouth they would have been coming out the other end. When I went up to the bar to order another pint I told her that she better wash her hands first and I'm fussy. :greengrin After a growl or two she did as requested however she pointed me out to a couple of cronies who she had been busy chatting to before serving me so I had to watch my back when leaving the pub.

Filthy mare. :agree: