View Full Version : Hibs Announcement?

Leishy1995
15-10-2012, 08:44 AM
Just seen this tweeted by Hibs.

"There is a buzz about Easter Road today - an announcement with full details will follow later"
Anyone got any idea?

15-10-2012, 08:45 AM
Graeme Smith making a glorious return?

Leishy1995
15-10-2012, 08:48 AM

They finally caved and brought Riordan home for 500k?

ShanksSaidNo
15-10-2012, 08:48 AM

"There is a buzz about Easter Road today - an announcement with full details will follow later"
Anyone got any idea?

Rudi Skacel signing for us?

Leishy1995
15-10-2012, 08:49 AM
I love how as soon as I posted 2 other threads were. Hibs fans on twitter.

15-10-2012, 08:53 AM
I think I know.......

15-10-2012, 08:54 AM
I think I know.......

I know I don't.

Leishy1995
15-10-2012, 08:56 AM
I think I know.......

Share then...

15-10-2012, 08:57 AM
New signing?
New sponsor?
New investor?

15-10-2012, 08:58 AM
Liked this -

@jamiekborthwick Rod has shaved the tache off.

15-10-2012, 08:58 AM
I hear James McFadden is still a free agent :greengrin

A boy can dream eh?

15-10-2012, 08:59 AM
Share then...

Nope, sworn to secrecy

15-10-2012, 09:00 AM
I hear James McFadden is still a free agent :greengrin

A boy can dream eh?

He's signed for Sunderland.

Maybe news of murrays visit to ER with his trophies

15-10-2012, 09:01 AM
As long as it's not like the "massive event" that JKB got into an absolute tizzy about a few years ago and then it was some scaffy advertising campaign with a couple of their Czech players standing next to a plane (or something similar. Though perhaps my memory is playing up.)

Will be fun to find out what it's all about mind :agree:

15-10-2012, 09:01 AM

Maybe news of murrays visit to ER with his trophiesthat exciting is it?

marti1875
15-10-2012, 09:02 AM
Nope, sworn to secrecy

Hmmm... fair enough if you're "sworn to secrecy" but why the heck bother coming on, making a post just to now say you're not telling anyone??.....never have saw the point in when people do this. :confused:

15-10-2012, 09:03 AM
Perhaps LG has signed!

15-10-2012, 09:03 AM
Hmmm... fair enough if you're "sworn to secrecy" but why the heck bother coming on, making a post just to now say you're not telling anyone??.....never have saw the point in when people do this. :confused::agree:

15-10-2012, 09:04 AM
Perhaps LG has signed!

Or Claros??? :dunno:

15-10-2012, 09:05 AM
Annual accounts must be out soon. That gets Rod excited. It's also his cue to look for a new manager most years.

15-10-2012, 09:05 AM
News of either of Claros or Sparky signing permanently would be superb.

Posh Swanny
15-10-2012, 09:07 AM
Knowing how the Hibs PR machine works, it will be something about bees or honey.

15-10-2012, 09:07 AM
Hmmm... fair enough if you're "sworn to secrecy" but why the heck bother coming on, making a post just to now say you're not telling anyone??.....never have saw the point in when people do this. :confused:

Its just people attention seeking. "ohhh, i know something you dont know..." Pathetic and pointless.

Posh Swanny
15-10-2012, 09:08 AM
Dave Lightyear appointed to the board?

Leishy1995
15-10-2012, 09:09 AM
If it's LG or Claros signing I'll be happy.

blaikie
15-10-2012, 09:10 AM
I doubt it will be a signing, new catalogue for the club store?

15-10-2012, 09:11 AM
I predict an anti climax and 2 pages of is that it, what a waste of time. :greengrin

Knowing how the Hibs PR machine works, it will be something about bees or honey.

I thought "Hi-bees" might feature in it........:agree:

El Gubbz
Dave Lightyear appointed to the board?
That was shocking. Apologise now! :greengrin

15-10-2012, 09:12 AM
Rod Petrie will today announce an exciting new step in Hibernian and footballing history, announcing Hibs as the first club to secure a sponsorship deal for their corner flags.

15-10-2012, 09:13 AM

Maybe news of murrays visit to ER with his trophies

Ahh I thought he was only training with them.

Jaz
15-10-2012, 09:15 AM

Anyone got any idea?

Stephen Dobbie loan deal.

duffers
15-10-2012, 09:15 AM
I'm thinking Sparky or Claros to sign new deals

15-10-2012, 09:16 AM
I’m inclined to think it will be a new method of attempting to extract more cash from the fans.
Was there not some sort of ‘lottery type’ idea put forward by a well known regular on here?

That would be my guess anyway.

15-10-2012, 09:17 AM
The AGM has been moved forward :greengrin

15-10-2012, 09:18 AM
The news is Deegan has been passed fit for the weekend :-)

15-10-2012, 09:19 AM
I think I saw at the weekend that the SPL has now paid out the £300K due to all member clubs so perhaps a permanent transfer deal isn't out of the question. Surely a teaser like that will be justified with something truly exciting.

15-10-2012, 09:22 AM
We're re-signing Graeme Stack from The Bees.:agree:

Greendub
15-10-2012, 09:22 AM
Stephen dobbie loan till jan, they tweeted that yesterday

SurferRosa
15-10-2012, 09:24 AM
I’m inclined to think it will be a new method of attempting to extract more cash from the fans.
Was there not some sort of ‘lottery type’ idea put forward by a well known regular on here?

That would be my guess anyway.

:agree:...most likely this.

Posh Swanny
15-10-2012, 09:28 AM
That was shocking. Apologise now! :greengrin

I couldn't help myself. My head is hanging in a suitably ashamed manner. :o

15-10-2012, 09:32 AM
Stephen Dobbie loan deal.

Stephen dobbie loan till jan, they tweeted that yesterday

Didn't he just sign for Brighton a couple of months ago?

http://www.eatsleepsport.com/brighton-and-hove-albion/gus-backs-dobbie-1483783.html#.UHvYJ5joQfQ

Am I missing a joke here?

Leishy1995
15-10-2012, 09:37 AM
Imagine the kickback uproar if it was Skacel..

15-10-2012, 09:37 AM
The xl shirts are in.

15-10-2012, 09:39 AM
The club to bring back GO'C and Deek as lifestyle coaches/gurus while Leigh G moves upstairs to take take up the post of PR director. :agree:

15-10-2012, 09:39 AM
Imagine the kickback uproar if it was Skacel..
Imagine the .net uproar if it was Skacel!!!!!!

15-10-2012, 09:41 AM
Gareth Bale to work with Sparky and Doyle to pass on the finer points of his game!

Leishy1995
15-10-2012, 09:43 AM
Imagine the .net uproar if it was Skacel!!!!!!

I'd be happy

15-10-2012, 09:43 AM
Going to build a 5th stand, plus an upper tier on the East and fill in all the corners, 51,000 capacity to rival the Yam Megasuperstadium and we only have to sell the Tache to Celtic to fund it.

15-10-2012, 09:44 AM
Craig Gordon? Aye? Mibbi? Nut?

Probably no, nut.

green glory
15-10-2012, 09:46 AM
New range of pom-pommed woolly hats for toddlers.

Leishy1995
15-10-2012, 09:47 AM
They're toying with us

15-10-2012, 09:47 AM
At last, we're getting proper leather dug out chairs.

http://www.fads.co.uk/uploads/images/product/large/jazz-green-faux-leather-stacking-chair_1331560324.jpg

15-10-2012, 09:48 AM
New range of pom-pommed woolly hats for toddlers.

If thats true, I can't wait and if there's matching gloves with the string that joins them together to stop you losing them I will be on the first train up.

Leishy1995
Fenlon on a 8 year deal?

Has the Hibs shop got a new supply of away tops in XXL?

1875HFC
15-10-2012, 09:50 AM
planning permission has been granted to fill in the corners at ER

Macaroon
15-10-2012, 09:52 AM
planning permission has been granted to fill in the corners at ER

That would be awesome.....

If we could fill it :cb

15-10-2012, 09:52 AM
We're moving to Straiton. :agree:

15-10-2012, 09:53 AM
Scotland's remaining WC qualifiers to be played at East Mains?

15-10-2012, 09:53 AM
Murray is coming on. :agree:

green glory
15-10-2012, 09:57 AM
Corner between East and FF to be filled in and used as a safe standing area.

15-10-2012, 09:58 AM
Hibs launch the "Hi-bee" honey product range, including a honey moustache wax...

15-10-2012, 10:00 AM
Bob Malcolm?

15-10-2012, 10:01 AM
Having spent the last 2 years studying archive footage of Alan O'Brien, Ivan Sproule has finally bought a motor bike.

15-10-2012, 10:03 AM
There's a fly in the Hibs twitter mans office.

Willis1875
15-10-2012, 10:03 AM
A director of football???

15-10-2012, 10:05 AM
Maybe Rod has joined the Hibs.net poker club and has gone all-in in a 1p/2p blind game.

Leishy1995
15-10-2012, 10:09 AM
Showumni brothers?

15-10-2012, 10:13 AM
Showumni brothers?

He's got a brother? :confused:

Leishy1995
15-10-2012, 10:14 AM
He's got a brother? :confused:

Yeah we're signing them

HibeeN
15-10-2012, 10:15 AM
The return of the Mali magician!

15-10-2012, 10:15 AM
Nope, sworn to secrecy

In your opinion Bill is this something that Hibs fans will be...

a) no really that bothered about
b) fairly pleased
c) Very pleased
d) Absolutely wetting ourselves wi excitement

Leishy1995
15-10-2012, 10:18 AM
We're signing Dolph Ziggler as our flair player

15-10-2012, 10:21 AM
Not read through this, but heard it's a Hibs Lotto.

15-10-2012, 10:25 AM
They were going to announce that I absolutely skooshed my driving test and I would be unveiling my new car, but seeing as I ****ing failed they've called it off.

Sorry guys :greengrin

Leishy1995
15-10-2012, 10:25 AM
I'd like to bring everyone's attention to GOC's tweet yesterday "January is going to be an interesting time for me" then he retweets the hibs tweet today.

15-10-2012, 10:28 AM
Thierry Gathuessi has re-signed

I'd like to bring everyone's attention to GOC's tweet yesterday "January is going to be an interesting time for me" then he retweets the hibs tweet today.

He'll surely not be signing for Celtic or Rangers yet again? Or maybe it's Barcelona this time?

They were going to announce that I absolutely skooshed my driving test and I would be unveiling my new car, but seeing as I ****ing failed they've called it off.

Sorry guys :greengrin

Sare yin - get another test booked straight away. Heard so many stories about people giving it up after their first test and going back to it after 2/3 years. You've done the hard work and the bulk of the lessons so keep at it:thumbsup:

d) Absolutely wetting ourselves wi excitement

That would have to be something along the lines of Hearts fielded a non-registered player at the SC final and we have been awarded a 3-0 win!!!!

If that were to happen Fenlon would get a bronze statue of him making that inappropriate gesture put up outside Easter road!

Leishy1995
15-10-2012, 10:29 AM
He'll surely not be signing for Celtic or Rangers yet again? Or maybe it's Barcelona this time?

I'd be disappointed to resign him.

15-10-2012, 10:30 AM

I thought we already covered that with Season tickets?:greengrin

15-10-2012, 10:33 AM
Sare yin - get another test booked straight away. Heard so many stories about people giving it up after their first test and going back to it after 2/3 years. You've done the hard work and the bulk of the lessons so keep at it:thumbsup:
Already booked mate. :aok: Another £92, but I can't help that!

Me neither. Went right off him after the Final. GOC can **** right off. Thankfully, not even Hibs are daft enough to take him back for a 3rd stint. I'd have riordan back in an instant though.

Teo10
15-10-2012, 10:35 AM
They have ordered XL XXL AND!!! XXXL tops into the shop in time for Christmas?:greengrin

15-10-2012, 10:40 AM

I'd be thoroughly embarrassed.

Leishy1995
15-10-2012, 10:41 AM
Already booked mate. :aok: Another £92, but I can't help that!

Me neither. Went right off him after the Final. GOC can **** right off. Thankfully, not even Hibs are daft enough to take him back for a 3rd stint. I'd have riordan back in an instant though.

I agree, but Riordan has a club till Decemeber time so I doubt we'll properly look unless he turns into a really good signing

15-10-2012, 10:44 AM
The return of the Mali magician!

Just had a text stating he's back at the club...

15-10-2012, 10:45 AM
It's a typo on the tweet - it's supposed to say there's a bus round Easter Road. It's the 26, brace yersel's folks - Jordi Cruyff's signing!

green glory
15-10-2012, 10:47 AM
The club shop is stocking a new range of sex toys. Would explain the 'buzz'.

Hibs bunny?

15-10-2012, 10:47 AM
It's a typo on the tweet - it's supposed to say there's a bus round Easter Road. It's the 26, brace yersel's folks - Jordi Cruyff's signing!

Reyes to sign :wink:

15-10-2012, 10:48 AM
Hibs have finally realised that if we are to have a mascot then a Bee with a joint called the HighBee is a great idea and are announcing it hence the buzz

15-10-2012, 10:48 AM

Nope

15-10-2012, 10:52 AM
Hibs have finally realised that if we are to have a mascot then a Bee with a joint called the HighBee is a great idea and are announcing it hence the buzz

:tumble:

:cb

Cbeebies' Justin Fletcher smoking a big reefer= Tumbleweed:na na:

Nope

Graeme Smith it is then!

1875HFC
Announcement to be made very shortly according to sources on Twitter.

the Excitement is too much:flag:

El Gubbz
15-10-2012, 10:53 AM
The club shop is stocking a new range of sex toys. Would explain the 'buzz'.

Hibs bunny?
The Easter (Road) Bunny

15-10-2012, 10:54 AM
I have a feeling it's going to be a huge let down.

Liam_Hibs
15-10-2012, 10:55 AM

Certainty!

15-10-2012, 10:56 AM
I have a feeling it's going to be a huge let down.another one? ffs :greengrin

15-10-2012, 10:56 AM
Announcement to be made very shortly according to sources on Twitter.

the Excitement is too much:flag:

I'll believe it when I hear it and until then it's still in the wind up stakes as far as I'm concerned.

But I have been known to be cynical.

Leishy1995
15-10-2012, 10:59 AM
I can't be the only poster worried we've missed out on Konte.

15-10-2012, 10:59 AM
It better be good!!!

15-10-2012, 11:00 AM

So it's either a Hibs bouncy castle or we've re-signed Alan O'Brien.

15-10-2012, 11:02 AM
It's 12:02. What happened to the announcement happening this morning??

:rules:

15-10-2012, 11:02 AM
I can't be the only poster worried we've missed out on Konte.

Doubtful. It may interfere with his United Nations work.

15-10-2012, 11:03 AM
It's 12:02. What happened to the announcement happening this morning??

:rules:if it's going tae be on the official site it'll probably be tomorrow. :greengrin

15-10-2012, 11:05 AM
So it's either a Hibs bouncy castle or we've re-signed Alan O'Brien.

Alan is a free agent after being released by Gateshead.

It would be some scoop if we managed to re-sign our favourite son. And he is Irish after all so you just never know.

Be afraid, be very afraid.

:worried:

Leishy1995
15-10-2012, 11:08 AM
We've signed Ryback. I'm ITK.

15-10-2012, 11:13 AM
News of either of Claros or Sparky signing permanently would be superb.

Sparky Tweeted last night he would be away in January.

15-10-2012, 11:15 AM
I was quite excited to read it on twitter this morning, but as its been dragged out, I have a funny feeling it will be a bit if an anti climax. Hope I'm wrong and it's something amazing though

15-10-2012, 11:16 AM
Helicopter pad.

15-10-2012, 11:18 AM
Train station at easter road.

15-10-2012, 11:19 AM
Announcement that staff wages have been paid on time yet again

That would be funny

Sparky Tweeted last night he would be away in January.

To where?

Whoever's behind PR and marketing at Hibs these days needs a good boot in the stones.

Return of Le God?

15-10-2012, 11:21 AM
To where?

Back to Wolverhampton.

15-10-2012, 11:21 AM
To where?

Hearts.

15-10-2012, 11:22 AM
Whoever's behind PR and marketing at Hibs these days needs a good boot in the stones.

Why they have done a great job getting us all interested!!!!

15-10-2012, 11:22 AM
Announcement that staff wages have been paid on time yet again

That would be funny

:top marks:aok:

I have a feeling it will be quite mundane, but you never know..

15-10-2012, 11:23 AM
Why they have done a great job getting us all interested!!!!they better hope it disnae turn out tae be a damp squib for most people then

15-10-2012, 11:23 AM

I hope not, I like Sunshine :agree:

15-10-2012, 11:25 AM
they better hope it disnae turn out tae be a damp squib for most people then

Its all about the sizzle, not the sausage!

15-10-2012, 11:26 AM
It makes you wonder who has been twittering on Twitter.

James.
15-10-2012, 11:30 AM
It's piqued the interest of some of our unfortunate neighbours over on Keekback anyway.

I'm hearing it's Brian Kerr back to cover for Deegan's absence :aok:

Leishy1995
15-10-2012, 11:34 AM
Kuqi's been released, it's confirmed on the official site

15-10-2012, 11:35 AM
It's 14:30 here in Icmeler so looks like the "Big Announcement" will have to wait until tomorrow for me at this rate! I thought my Hibs App was broken until I checked the official site and found it was the same info on the front page as when I left on Friday!

15-10-2012, 11:36 AM
To where?

Back to Wolves i would presume.

Macaroon
15-10-2012, 11:36 AM
It's piqued the interest of some of our unfortunate neighbours over on Keekback anyway.

We're signing Pique?!? :shocked:

15-10-2012, 11:37 AM

Don't talk Pish

15-10-2012, 11:38 AM
Back to Wolves i would presume.

Wolves won't keep him.

Can't see it on my phone. You got a link

James McFadden?

15-10-2012, 11:39 AM

I never saw that coming.

Leishy1995
15-10-2012, 11:40 AM
Can't see it on my phone. You got a link

I was kidding, just making time pass

James.
15-10-2012, 11:41 AM
Is it this East Terracing thing then?

15-10-2012, 11:42 AM
there's a story about east terrace; is that it ? the big news ?

Leishy1995
This is the biggest delay possible. Good morning americaaaa.

http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20121015/the-east-terrace_2262950_2949002

Total mince.

IF that was the case, how exactly would that create a "buzz around Easter Road" ??

Craigyno1

Looks like it. Just saw it on the official site too. Not exactly what we were expecting!

15-10-2012, 11:43 AM
Is this it???

The East Terrace 15 Oct 2012

http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/javaImages/9e/7d/0,,10290%7E11304350,00.jpg

Hibernian Football Club is delighted to unveil a new landmark within Easter Road Stadium - The East Terrace.
The concept of a permanent iconic area where lasting tributes and messages of support are displayed at our stadium has been put forward and discussed repeatedly at supporter forums in recent years.
The East Terrace will be created by applying specially selected dark green granite stones to the central section of the exterior of the East Stand. Supporters will be taking their place in fine company as all Hibernian Hall of Fame inductees as well as Pat Fenlon and James McPake have already signed up to add their messages.
Following the completion of the stadium in 2010, the introduction of The East Terrace is the first opportunity for supporters to become part of the fabric of Easter Road Stadium and Hibernian's history forever.
You can buy your stone from today at www.eastterrace.co.uk (http://www.eastterrace.co.uk/)

Mathias Jack
http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20121015/the-east-terrace_2262950_2949002

How exciting :rolleyes:

duffers
http://t.co/VWvjZvbF

KanyeWestLower
Bit of a let down if you ask me

TonyStokeprano

Looks like it, don't know why that would create a buzz!

Leishy1995
Anti Climax.

Macaroon
Ahhh... basking in the warm glow of a astronomic letdown.

15-10-2012, 11:44 AM

Stone the crows, is that all??

I was kidding, just making time pass

ARGH , you got me!

Don't talk Pish

this :agree:

James.
Nice idea. Don't think I'll be buying one (my East Stand Certificate from a couple of years back is enough :wink:) but it'll be nice to have something a wee bit distinctive and different in the East.

Buzzing.

JennaFletcher
15-10-2012, 11:45 AM
Expensiveeeeeee... :rolleyes:

...a few years back did Hibs not sell pieces of grass?! :greengrin

15-10-2012, 11:46 AM
Good Idea and somthing thats been suggested on here loads of times, I will be getting one :agree:

15-10-2012, 11:47 AM
What was the point in building our hopes up like that? They should of just put it on the website without coming out with this 'big announcement' pish.

15-10-2012, 11:47 AM
http://images1.wikia.nocookie.net/__cb20090720220818/familyguy/images/3/33/Buzz_Killington.jpg

DarrenSQH
15-10-2012, 11:48 AM
£300 for a bit of stone. The tash is a genius.

15-10-2012, 11:49 AM
Buzz off.

15-10-2012, 11:49 AM
5 pages for brickwork would be disappointing.. lets hope its not

if they just came out and told us this, this morning id be interested.. now i hate the idea

15-10-2012, 11:50 AM
Now that I'm back in my seat after having fallen off with excitement :rolleyes: is that it?

15-10-2012, 11:50 AM
Our PR team are a joke if they think that this news is going to get us going.

Macaroon
15-10-2012, 11:52 AM
http://images1.wikia.nocookie.net/__cb20090720220818/familyguy/images/3/33/Buzz_Killington.jpg

I salute you.

My morning just became a lot brighter. :hilarious

Looks like it, don't know why that would create a buzz!

Probably referring to the buzz of the Stihl saws as the under-16s cut granite slabs into bits for Petrie's latest money spinner.

dmc1875
That was a bad piece of marketing by Hibs, what was the point?

Nice scheme.. another way to make some cash ofcourse...

There was absolutely no need for the 'buzz out of easter road' nonsense getting the fans all excited only to deliver a massive anti climax.

Should have just been announced on the official site. Sometimes I wonder why they do certain things at Hibs... it now almost feels like a bit of a let down! :confused:

Macaroon
What was the point in building our hopes up like that? They should of just put it on the website without coming out with this 'big announcement' pish.

The word big was never mentioned at all

When it said 'introducing new east terrace' i thought they were going to build a small standing section, i was buzzing for a second...........then i clicked the link........

15-10-2012, 11:54 AM
What on earth were folk expecting? I think that will look class if enough people get involved. Prices for the smaller sizes of stones are quite reasonable. Will be thinking about this for a Xmas present for sure.

http://www.eastterrace.co.uk/index.php?page=store

15-10-2012, 11:54 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NpYEJx7PkWE

15-10-2012, 11:55 AM
What on earth were folk expecting? I think that will look class if enough people get involved. Prices for the smaller sizes of stones are quite reasonable. Will be thinking about this for a Xmas present for sure.

http://www.eastterrace.co.uk/index.php?page=storeA Buzz? :dunno:

i have to say, well done to the captain for purchasing one, deffo hibs class now :jmcp:

Macaroon
I'm still waiting for the Pique announcement... :I'm waiti

15-10-2012, 11:56 AM
Have seen the slates and they do look impressive. Good quality green slate with the crest. Seemingly they have this at Emirates Stadium and looks impressive and has sold really well.

15-10-2012, 11:56 AM

The double stone is £99 and £50 for a Single is no bad, will be getting the £99 one :thumbsup:

Macaroon
15-10-2012, 11:57 AM
When it said 'introducing new east terrace' i thought they were going to build a small standing section, i was buzzing for a second...........then i clicked the link........

My reaction exactly..

http://i0.kym-cdn.com/entries/icons/original/000/003/617/okayguy.jpg

McSwanky
15-10-2012, 11:57 AM
5 pages for brickwork would be disappointing.. lets hope its not

if they just came out and told us this, this morning id be interested.. now i hate the idea

This. Do the people who run our club have no idea about football fans and how they react to a tweet like that?

This whole thing has turned what should be a positive story into a negative one.

Well done, Hibs. Next time, save the 'teaser tweets' for genuinely exciting news.

15-10-2012, 11:58 AM
The word big was never mentioned at all

You get the point though, they built everyones hopes up for something that could of just been put on the website without pre warning.

15-10-2012, 11:58 AM
Well at least they are doing an XL size:rolleyes:

15-10-2012, 11:59 AM
poor hibs board, they just cannae win :boo hoo:

Macaroon
15-10-2012, 12:00 PM
You get the point though, they built everyones hopes up for something that could of just been put on the website without pre warning.

Yup I agree.

15-10-2012, 12:00 PM
James McFadden?

Keep up Fraz, he signed for Sunderland. :greengrin

15-10-2012, 12:01 PM
Hey shush about this "Stone" Malarky, they are announcing something amazing soon !!

Oh...

HibeeN
15-10-2012, 12:03 PM
Could have been worse - last season Bayern used facebook to hint they were going to reveal an amazing new signing, which turned out to be the fans (the 12th man). :greengrin

http://www.kckrs.com/bayern-munich-teases-spectacular-signing-release-facebook-app-instead/

15-10-2012, 12:03 PM
I like the idea and will be getting one but I don't think the tweet this morning was particularly clever.

I can feel the disappointment from plenty on here.

Nothing worse than building fans up only to let them dowm.

15-10-2012, 12:04 PM
Hey shush about this "Stone" Malarky, they are announcing something amazing soon !!

Oh...

Now my expectations are back down to earth...perhaps we have extended the Claros loan by six months!

15-10-2012, 12:05 PM
Could have been worse - last season Bayern used facebook to hint they were going to reveal an amazing new signing, which turned out to be the fans (the 12th man). :greengrin

http://www.kckrs.com/bayern-munich-teases-spectacular-signing-release-facebook-app-instead/

That is just bloody cruel, obviously not a fan whoever dreamed that up!

Macaroon
15-10-2012, 12:06 PM
I like the idea and will be getting one but I don't think the tweet this morning was particularly clever.

I agree, i think it's a great idea. If Hibs hadn't built it up like they did I think everyone would be very positive about the idea.

15-10-2012, 12:07 PM
This whole thing has turned what should be a positive story into a negative one.

It's a negative in your opinion.

Maybe it's a negative story for you but not for everyone. Then again not everyone pulls their knickers up too tight over some twitter nonsense.

Great idea by the club and if your not buzzing at the prospect of having your name or a message permanently in place at the ground then your incapable of feeling the buzz.

15-10-2012, 12:07 PM

Nothing worse than building fans up only to let them dowm.I agree, nothing at all wrong with the idea but that marketing building fans up like that was idiotic IMO. Fans get excited about the team on the park not lumps of stone on a wall. An announcement on the official site and fliers through peoples doors would have been more suitable.

15-10-2012, 12:09 PM

That is a bit like being invited to dinner to meet 'a very special guest' and getting all dressed up and excited and when you arrive for dinner for they tell you you are the special guest.

15-10-2012, 12:10 PM
Understand there are around a 1000 spaces initially. At £99 each this could be good money towards players and maybe help secure decent winter signings.

15-10-2012, 12:11 PM
That is a bit like being invited to dinner to meet 'a very special guest' and getting all dressed up and excited and when you arrive for dinner for they tell you you are the special guest.

Then you find out one of the other people at the table is Arjen Robben :panic:

Twa Cairpets

I don't see anything other than a kind of mild "hmm, wonder it could be type of interest" on this thread. Its not as if the tweet said "boys and girls, we are going to announce something that will literally blow your socks off, so get your shoes removed and get ready for foot surgery cos this will be BIG!". (too many letters for one thing).

What were people expecting? Messi to sign? There would have been equally disparaging comment had they gone straight tot the website without any type of build up - "Bloody Hibs PR missing an opportunity, I don't look at the website, Twitter s the way forward now etc etc).

Still, at least it gave those of a moaning faced bugger pesuasion something to get righteously indignant about when there's not that much going on

I might be stupid but why would the 200 x 200mm slab be £99 but the slab that's 600 x 200mm (i.e. 3 times bigger) be £399 (i.e. 4 times more expensive)?

15-10-2012, 12:13 PM
I might be stupid but why would the 200 x 200mm slab be £99 but the slab that's 600 x 200mm (i.e. 3 times bigger) be £399 (i.e. 4 times more expensive)?

Get a lot more letters on the big one which your mates can see from miles away.

15-10-2012, 12:14 PM
I feel like a child who has been granted a private audience with Jimmy Savile

Twa Cairpets
15-10-2012, 12:14 PM
I agree, nothing at all wrong with the idea but that marketing building fans up like that was idiotic IMO. Fans get excited about the team on the park not lumps of stone on a wall. An announcement on the official site and fliers through peoples doors would have been more suitable.

Yes, a £5000+ mailshot and printing costs would clearly have made most sense... I thought you were against a single penny being spent on anything other than the first teams prospects?

Taz_hibee
15-10-2012, 12:17 PM

It will be because the bigger one has a crest and more lettering so will be more expensive to produce

15-10-2012, 12:20 PM
Yes, a £5000+ mailshot and printing costs would clearly have made most sense... I thought you were against a single penny being spent on anything other than the first teams prospects?

That will still be done IMO

15-10-2012, 12:23 PM
Was a wee bit underwhelmed at first but then that's because a few of us were guilty of letting our imaginations run riot. The more I think about it, the more I like it, and the stones look really classy.

Here's what Arsenal have done: -

http://www.arsenal.com/the-club/armoury-square/gallery

Famous5forever
15-10-2012, 12:23 PM

One man to blame for the pricing structure :na na:

15-10-2012, 12:24 PM
hibs.net will be sifting through previous discussions about this and checking that everyone who said they would buy a brick does :wink:

Great idea but it didn't need the build up.

15-10-2012, 12:25 PM
I think it's much better news than the signing of some useless non trying free agent.

15-10-2012, 12:25 PM

Be thankful you're getting a slab and not just tarmac.

Need any pegs??

Twa Cairpets
15-10-2012, 12:28 PM
hibs.net will be sifting through previous discussions about this and checking that everyone who said they would buy a brick does :wink:

Great idea but it didn't need the build up.

What build up? One tweet is hardly saturation marketing.

15-10-2012, 12:30 PM
What build up? One tweet is hardly saturation marketing.

Very effective though. I think the club did well.
It's a great idea which has been suggested on here several times in the past.

15-10-2012, 12:36 PM
Keep up Fraz, he signed for Sunderland. :greengrin

I'm only about 2 weeks late finding that out. :greengrin

15-10-2012, 12:40 PM
I think it did well ,in truth it fair brightened up what would have been a dull Monday Hibs wise though not what I was hoping for. Also it covers it Christening gift for my godson I have been looking for

15-10-2012, 12:40 PM

Maybe it's a negative story for you but not for everyone. Then again not everyone pulls their knickers up too tight over some twitter nonsense.

Great idea by the club and if your not buzzing at the prospect of having your name or a message permanently in place at the ground then your incapable of feeling the buzz.

Happy to do it and think it's a decent idea but "Buzzing" about it nah, you must lead one sad life. :greengrin

15-10-2012, 12:41 PM
If there was ever one thing for certain, in relation to Hibs, they do not do PR, permanently! Time for training hibee board, definitely needing a good dose of reality.

Didn't expect much, personally speaking, so not too disappointed.

15-10-2012, 12:42 PM
I doubt it will be a signing, new catalogue for the club store?

That will be a leaflet then.

SaudiHibby
15-10-2012, 12:45 PM
Having seen these first hand at the Emirates I think its a great idea and will be buying one. Well done Hibs. :flag:

Mathias Jack
15-10-2012, 12:46 PM
It even had a thread on Kickback...and my Jambo fud mates say they're not obsessed with us?! :confused: Bell ends!

http://www.hmfckickback.co.uk/index.php?/topic/119251-big-announcement-from-the-hobos/page__st__40

15-10-2012, 12:48 PM
I think posters on here made more of it than anybody else. One wee twitter and the world goes mad. Good idea in my opinion.

McSwanky
15-10-2012, 12:54 PM

Er... not just my opinion. Have a read of the thread again.

Yours,

'Incapable'

15-10-2012, 12:59 PM
I predict an anti climax and 2 pages of is that it, what a waste of time. :greengrin

It's not often i'm right :aok:

Think it's a good idea though and in time will make money for the club.

15-10-2012, 01:03 PM
I'm just glad that the announcement was not Garry O'Connor coming back :greengrin

15-10-2012, 01:03 PM
Had a look at the website and I do think they look smart, and could look quite spectacular. I'm just pondering what size and what to write on it!

15-10-2012, 01:11 PM
Had a look at the website and I do think they look smart, and could look quite spectacular. I'm just pondering what size and what to write on it!

"I sat on twitter for 4 hours and all I got was this lousy slab"

15-10-2012, 01:13 PM
Will they be on the exterior of the stand?

It will look cracking. Think me and my mate are gonna go halfs on one and stick our names on it.

15-10-2012, 01:26 PM
Merry Xmas dad, I got you a brick at easter road for 300 notes......AW CHEERS SON, AH'M F****** BUZZIN LIKES! :fenlon

15-10-2012, 01:29 PM
Scotland's remaining WC qualifiers to be played at East Mains?

Will they be on the exterior of the stand?

It will look cracking. Think me and my mate are gonna go halfs on one and stick our names on it.

Exterior of the stand. They look the business and I'll be making a purchase for sure - hibees for life, infinity and beyond. Does granite survive nuclear Armageddon?

15-10-2012, 01:31 PM
Merry Xmas dad, I got you a brick at easter road for 300 notes......AW CHEERS SON, AH'M F****** BUZZIN LIKES! :fenlon

Get him the £50 one and you can spend the other £250 on booze and that.

15-10-2012, 01:48 PM
"I sat on twitter for 4 hours and all I got was this lousy slab"

Haha that's almost perfect

15-10-2012, 01:53 PM
I'm just glad that the announcement was not Garry O'Connor coming back :greengrin

He would have gave us a buzz though. :greengrin :wink:

15-10-2012, 02:10 PM

When they put up a tweet saying there's going to be a big announcement and there's a 'buzz' around ER, I don't think its unreasonable for the fans to think that its going to be something like a new signing, a player such as Griffiths signing permanently, etc.

Instead we get told we have the opportunity to buy some overpriced bricks. Great...

Don't get me wrong, it may well look good if enough people are keen on the idea, but its one of the least exciting things Ive ever heard, and there's no reason for the club to get everyone's hopes up.

Twa Cairpets
15-10-2012, 02:16 PM
When they put up a tweet saying there's going to be a big announcement and there's a 'buzz' around ER, I don't think its unreasonable for the fans to think that its going to be something like a new signing, a player such as Griffiths signing permanently, etc.

Instead we get told we have the opportunity to buy some overpriced bricks. Great...

Don't get me wrong, it may well look good if enough people are keen on the idea, but its one of the least exciting things Ive ever heard, and there's no reason for the club to get everyone's hopes up.

This was the tweet in its entirety

"There is a buzz at Easter Road today - an announcement with full details will follow later on this morning #wearehibernianfc #hibees"

That's it.

People getting there proverbials twisted and then being let down because, say, Franck isn't coming back need to have serious word.
There has been a buzz (albeit a small one, in fairness) about the scheme, and there was an announcement. What did you want them to tweet - "nostalgia based marketing activity designed to tug at your heart and purse strings being launched later - watch this space for how we'd like to get some cash off you for granite"?

15-10-2012, 02:29 PM
This was the tweet in its entirety

"There is a buzz at Easter Road today - an announcement with full details will follow later on this morning #wearehibernianfc #hibees"

That's it.

People getting there proverbials twisted and then being let down because, say, Franck isn't coming back need to have serious word.
There has been a buzz (albeit a small one, in fairness) about the scheme, and there was an announcement. What did you want them to tweet - "nostalgia based marketing activity designed to tug at your heart and purse strings being launched later - watch this space for how we'd like to get some cash off you for granite"?

They shouldn't have tweeted anything, other than a link to the site when they were ready to announce it. Why the delayed announcement?

And I think anyone who feels there is a buzz over an expensive brick is the one that needs to have a word...

15-10-2012, 02:59 PM

So you start off criticising the promotion. Then you lay into the product.
Perhaps you can enlighten us with what would float you boat?

The products (the idea, the promo, the
Product and quality, the price) impressed those present when we were shown a sample. We were could have been described as buzzing.

To conclude they are "overpriced bricks" misses the point completely. Other clubs do and have done buy a brick - this is different and adds a touch of class IMO. But each to their own I suppose maybe seeing (and touching) is believing?

I for one am looking forward to marking my love for Hibs in a tangIble
Way. One which can be seen by future generations of passionate Hibees not least my sons and hopefully their families.

You can reduce everything down and maybe you'll say this is just cashIng in on dewy eyed sentiment/nostalgia. Isn't that part of what being a hibee is about? (pun intended!)

15-10-2012, 03:11 PM
8 pages so far would say to me that the PR and marketing folk did a great job on this one wether you like what came out or not

certainly helped liven up a boring Monday

15-10-2012, 03:13 PM
They shouldn't have tweeted anything, other than a link to the site when they were ready to announce it. Why the delayed announcement?

And I think anyone who feels there is a buzz over an expensive brick is the one that needs to have a word...

Have you seen how Channel4, Sky and FX promote their new shows by any chance?
I suppose I better have a word.
Can you let us know when you next get buzzing so I can tip an ice bucket
Over you ;)

wearethehibs
15-10-2012, 03:15 PM
Sat on twitter like a pr.ick, but now Im buzzing about this brick.

15-10-2012, 03:27 PM
Sat on twitter like a pr.ick, but now Im buzzing about this brick.

There 's surely got to be mortar it than just a brick, is that it then, it's run it's course, I won't hod my breath for any more exciting developments. :brickwall

15-10-2012, 03:38 PM
So you start off criticising the promotion. Then you lay into the product.
Perhaps you can enlighten us with what would float you boat?

The products (the idea, the promo, the Product and quality, the price) impressed those present when we were shown a sample. We were could have been described as buzzing.

To conclude they are "overpriced bricks" misses the point completely. Other clubs do and have done buy a brick - this is different and adds a touch of class IMO. But each to their own I suppose maybe seeing (and touching) is believing?

I for one am looking forward to marking my love for Hibs in a tangIble Way. One which can be seen by future generations of passionate Hibees not least my sons and hopefully their families.

You can reduce everything down and maybe you'll say this is just cashIng in on dewy eyed sentiment/nostalgia. Isn't that part of what being a hibee is about? (pun intended!)

Its quite clear from my post what I would consider an exciting bit of news. This wasn't.

I also don't see how it misses the point. I accept people like this sort things, and I'm well aware that other clubs have similar schemes. I think all these 'buy a brick' things are daft, and if people feel they need to waste money to somehow prove their love for Hibs, then thats their choice.

Have you seen how Channel4, Sky and FX promote their new shows by any chance?
I suppose I better have a word.
Can you let us know when you next get buzzing so I can tip an ice bucket
Over you ;)

Thats a daft argument. The purpose of these channels, first and foremost, is to provide TV shows, and hence it makes complete sense for them to have advertising campaigns etc that create suspense amongst potential viewers. Hibs are a football club, Im not quite sure where the 'buzz' of a brick comes into things...

15-10-2012, 03:48 PM
I just purchased the £99 one for my old mans birthday great idea in my eyes saves me hunting for his present and everyone's happy.

Well apart from half of this board.

15-10-2012, 03:50 PM
Whataloadipish!!!!!!!!!! Lol.

15-10-2012, 03:53 PM
I also don't see how it misses the point. I accept people like this sort things, and I'm well aware that other clubs have similar schemes. I think all these 'buy a brick' things are daft, and if people feel they need to waste money to somehow prove their love for Hibs, then thats their choice.

If you accept that people like these things, why then state that they're wasting their money? I'm pretty sure there's loads of people who consider the opportunity to have their name, that of a loved one, or a special message on a slate that will make up part of the East Stand for a minimum of ten years (possibly for its entire life span) to be well worth the costs involved.

We're talking genuine sentiments here (surely as a football supporter you understand that) - it's not a pissing contest. Fair enough you don't think it's a good idea - but it's pretty mean spirited to belittle those who do.

McSwanky
15-10-2012, 04:02 PM
I just purchased the £99 one for my old mans birthday great idea in my eyes saves me hunting for his present and everyone's happy.

Well apart from half of this board.

Look again. I think you'll find most are saying it's a good idea, it was the unnecessary early morning tweet that's agot their goat.

Bottom line: If they'd just announced it at lunchtime this thread would be totally different. But thanks to the 'buzzing' tweet, the effect of what is actually a really good initiative has been totally diluted and even turned into a negative.

Nutshell for me: Good idea. ***** marketing.

(IMO of course :wink:)

Niffy
15-10-2012, 04:04 PM

No , I'm no' going back.

15-10-2012, 04:08 PM
So it's £50 for the cheapest one so not that bad after all.

the £400 ones may be boughty by businesses as well as individuals. The buzz around Easter Road tweet could have been better worded sure.

15-10-2012, 04:14 PM
So it's £50 for the cheapest one so not that bad after all.

the £400 ones may be boughty by businesses as well as individuals. The buzz around Easter Road tweet could have been better worded sure.

"There's a general air of apathy around Easter Road as we prepare to make an announcement which will go down in the history books of meh-ness."

Not sure that would have got folks' interest, to be honest.

15-10-2012, 04:20 PM
Happy to do it and think it's a decent idea but "Buzzing" about it nah,

Fair do's

you must lead one sad life. :greengrin

Nah. I lead a reasonably exciting one, but not overly so. Need to ration things at my age.

You must be thinking about the guys who sweat, salivate and "grow" their own personal excitement because someone tweeted something about Hibs - then get disappointed as the reality didn't match their mind's version of what it should have been . :greengrin Now that is sad.

oregonhibby
15-10-2012, 08:12 PM
History books could mean 10 years and not forever as the sales blurb indicates. Always read the terms and conditions!

S.sct
15-10-2012, 08:25 PM
History books could mean 10 years and not forever as the sales blurb indicates. Always read the terms and conditions!

Saw that, so permanent feature for ten years???? Not a bad idea until you read the T's & C's.

15-10-2012, 08:33 PM
I was going to write earlier but didn't want to sound like an eejit however..

How 'Permanent' is 'Permanent' and obviously some have seen the small print about the 10 year thing, but What happens in 2040 when we redesign the stadium again (I don't have inside knowledge, honest..) Are the plaques transferred and re-instated if we redevelop ?!

Famous5forever
15-10-2012, 08:45 PM
[QUOTE=too_many_djs;3382384]When they put up a tweet saying there's going to be a big announcement and there's a 'buzz' around ER, I don't think its unreasonable for the fans to think that its going to be something like a new signing, a player such as Griffiths signing permanently, etc.

Don't get me wrong, it may well look good if enough people are keen on the idea, but its one of the least exciting things Ive ever heard, and there's no reason for the club to get everyone's hopes up.[/QUOTE

I Think we did that before the biggest game in our history:confused: and we know where that went. the idea is good and it deserves praise but the build up to the climax went down like a brick in a pond. Petrie makes money yet again from our loyalty i will buy a brick dont get me wrong i wonder if RP Will put hand in pocket or will it be another freebie Petrie.:flag:

hibbymac
15-10-2012, 08:51 PM

Saw that, so permanent feature for ten years???? Not a bad idea until you read the T's & C's.

:agree: I thought it was a great idea and have been singing its praises with my mate, who is now looking to get one in memory of his late Son.

Just a wee bit miffed at "The sales Pitch" ..... "Lasting tributes, passionate supporters and unforgettable moments now have the perfect setting. Add your name or personal message to the new Hibernian landmark – The East Terrace and become part of the fabric of Easter Road Stadium forever." ..... then you read the T&Cs and they could rip it down after 10 years.