12-10-2012, 08:34 PM
Think that just about sums it up

JDHibs
12-10-2012, 08:35 PM
Agreed

12-10-2012, 08:36 PM
The finals will be more enjoyable without scotland there (& I say that with the painful experience of WC finals since 1974)

12-10-2012, 08:37 PM
Agreed. Bale is a complete ***** though.

12-10-2012, 08:37 PM
Can't agree any more with OP.

Lendo
12-10-2012, 08:38 PM
Agreed

Sweep
12-10-2012, 08:39 PM
Taxi for potter :taxi

woody47
Lets see if the SFA have the cajones to get rid of the pr!ck now! Personally I would hand him his P45 as he tried to get on the coach to come home and tell him to ******g walk - anywhere but back to Scotland.
Lvein just GTF

Lose this and the tw*t is finished. A disgrace of a team.

12-10-2012, 08:40 PM
Look at the positives. Fletcher is back in the team having won the war with Potter, had a good game and a ridiculously disallowed goal. Potter will be sacked in the morning.

12-10-2012, 08:40 PM
aye and take Charlie Adam with him. Lazy get

DAVE1875
12-10-2012, 08:41 PM
Agree 100% with Stacky

Graham Stack ‏@GrahamStack1 (https://twitter.com/GrahamStack1)
Levein the cabs outside,Fletcher will escort you to the car and stick your tactics bag in the boot, na actually stick it in the bin #doomed (https://twitter.com/search?q=%23doomed&src=hash)

12-10-2012, 08:44 PM
Agree 100% with Stacky

Graham Stack ‏@GrahamStack1 (https://twitter.com/GrahamStack1)
Levein the cabs outside,Fletcher will escort you to the car and stick your tactics bag in the boot, na actually stick it in the bin #doomed (https://twitter.com/search?q=%23doomed&src=hash)

Well said stacky.

yeezus.
12-10-2012, 08:45 PM
I agree. He has to go. I'm sick of him chucking on strikers at 84 minutes to try and save the game. BRAIG G T F! :grr:

12-10-2012, 08:45 PM
There's still 21 points available. We're still in with a shout. What's the bet potter will use this?

12-10-2012, 08:47 PM
No doubt he'll make much of Bale but he is now surely out of time.

His job was to qualify, or at least be in the fight. Three games in, against the three weakest teams we will face in the group and we have 2 points. Three games in and our hopes of going to Brazil are already stone cold dead.

There is no defence for that, no excuse. He should have gone after the debacle in Prague, he should have gone when we failed to qualify from the easiest group we've have in years he should have gone after the draw with Macedonia and he damn sure should go tonight.

12-10-2012, 08:53 PM
No doubt he'll make much of Bale but he is now surely out of time.

His job was to qualify, or at least be in the fight. Three games in, against the three weakest teams we will face in the group and we have 2 points. Three games in and our hopes of going to Brazil are already stone cold dead.

There is no defence for that, no excuse. He should have gone after the debacle in Prague, he should have gone when we failed to qualify from the easiest group we've have in years he should have gone after the draw with Macedonia and he damn sure should go tonight.

Can't say fairer than that.

12-10-2012, 08:56 PM
He was a poor (cheap) appointment from the start, there was no justification for giving him the job. His form as a club manager was on the pish side of average. He was a cheap yes man, but the Scottish press take some of the blame, they were all for him at the time and up until recently still backed him.
No tactics other than hope to sneak a goal with his negative play and if we go behind then no plan B other than a punt up the park.
Tonight other than the first 5 minutes we were outplayed by a piss poor team with two decent players. He will make a big point about the disallowed goal, and it was a shocking decision, but that would be papering over the cracks.
Time to go. See if Strachan or McLiesh want the job or even make it a part time role and see if Moyes would be interested. It is only a handful of games per year and you can see every game all of the players play on TV nowadays don't even need to travel to watch them play.

justlikebrazil
12-10-2012, 08:56 PM
The mans a total bell end :yamlaugh:

Amit
12-10-2012, 08:57 PM
Said this on another thread. Owen Coyle for Scotland job.

12-10-2012, 08:57 PM
Just said in his interview bale didnt cause us too many problems and we can win in Belgium??? Do one u yam loving clown and take Charlie Adam with u...

legends of 73
12-10-2012, 09:00 PM
Gtf ya bell end

12-10-2012, 09:01 PM
dunno why we even bother with this, i despise the guy but the SFA won't sack him

johncrobertson@
12-10-2012, 09:04 PM
Playing Berra is an absolute joke!

Minder
12-10-2012, 09:04 PM
[QUOTE=SteveHFC;3380738]The world cup is finished.

Get that ****ing jambo loving specky ******* out now[/QUOTE

Harry Potter - The Deathly Hallows Part 3!

12-10-2012, 09:05 PM
Just said in his interview bale didnt cause us too many problems and we can win in Belgium??? Do one u yam loving clown and take Charlie Adam with u...

I agree. After all he only tore our defence to bits and put the ball in the net twice.

12-10-2012, 09:05 PM
Can't say fairer than that.

Agree 100%

Can't believe he is still in the job.

Completely out of his depth.

12-10-2012, 09:06 PM
The world cup is finished.

Get that ****ing jambo loving specky ******* out nowThere's still 21 points tae play for. :rolleyes:

**** off potter

12-10-2012, 09:07 PM
Guys got no track record as a manager.

Won hee haw at Hearts and got a couple of European qualifications playing eye bleeding football. Sacked at Leicester and won **** all at Dundee Utd.

Yet he has more power than the likes of Jock Stein had within the SFA. The guy charged with changing our whole mindset on how the game.should be played is a hoofball exponent who thinks playing 1 up front is being a bit daring.

Get the useless yam tramp to ****.

Capt Mainwaring
12-10-2012, 09:09 PM
Levein will be sacked - no doubt but after the Belgium game.

But as with most managerial sackings there is a need to look at the underperformance of the players. Tonight the contributions of Maloney, Commons, Fox and Adams when he came on were woeful. It's not all on Levein's shoulders.

12-10-2012, 09:12 PM
Didn't think we were too bad tonight - a bit unlucky with Fletch's goal chopped off for no good reason. That said, Levein had already blown it before tonight by being too negative/arrogant/stubborn/stupid to field a side with half a chance of winning at home against Macedonia & Serbia.

We're as good as out now and I think it would be a good time for the SFA to act.

12-10-2012, 09:14 PM
Charlie Adam should never play for Scotland again, the way he let Bale just waltz round him whilst he was moaning was despicable. I am angry about the Bale penalty but in fairness the way that Berra bear hugged Davies to the ground they deserved a penalty. How the linesman rules that ball to go out of play is beyond me. The only positive for tonight is that Steven Fletcher showed that he really has come of age and looked far and away our best player on the pitch.

In short....GTF Levein you pish stinking jakey yam twat and take that tool Houston with you.

Amit
12-10-2012, 09:14 PM
Levein will be sacked - no doubt but after the Belgium game.

But as with most managerial sackings there is a need to look at the underperformance of the players. Tonight the contributions of Maloney, Commons, Fox and Adams when he came on were woeful. It's not all on Levein's shoulders.

Agreed but Potter is responsible for selection, if he continues to pick players who are clearly not good enough then its another reason he needs to go.

Potter is out of his depth... send him back to Hogwarts so Dumbledore can give him a doing!

12-10-2012, 09:15 PM
We need to beat Belgium. And its so very unlikely. A draw is a good result but it means nothing.

12-10-2012, 09:15 PM
Didn't think we were too bad tonight - a bit unlucky with Fletch's goal chopped off for no good reason. That said, Levein had already blown it before tonight by being too negative/arrogant/stubborn/stupid to field a side with half a chance of winning at home against Macedonia & Serbia.

We're as good as out now and I think it would be a good time for the SFA to act.

We are out, anyone that says was have a chance of getting to Rio needs their bloody head read.

12-10-2012, 09:16 PM

Good shout.

Prawn Sandwich
12-10-2012, 09:16 PM
Harry Snotter is Jambotastic!

12-10-2012, 09:18 PM
Thank god we as a nation will now be seeing the back of the most negative Scottish manager in my 31 years of this great earth..

When Asked by David Tanner before the Serbia match what his goals were for the campaign , his reply was '' I don't myself any goals ''.. SURELY THE ****ING GOAL WOULD BE TO QUALIFY OR AT WORST MAKE THE PLAYOFF PLACE ???

CRAIG LEVEIN OUT NOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Hank Schrader
12-10-2012, 09:20 PM
I can't possibly add to this thread other than what's been said.

Utterly unanimous. The lanky streak of scruffy piss should go. NOW.

12-10-2012, 09:23 PM
He should have been sacked after the 4-6-0 debacle in Prague.

Two years on, we're arguably worse than we were back then.

His time is well and truly up.

GoldenEagle
12-10-2012, 09:25 PM
After game " I didn't think Bale caused us any problems in the first half"

Tosser.

LeighLoyal
12-10-2012, 09:42 PM
I'm not sure you can blame Levein for the result. A corrupt linesman and a bottling ref gave them the win.

12-10-2012, 09:44 PM
I'm not sure you can blame Levein for the result. A corrupt linesman and a bottling ref gave them the result.

It's not really a knee jerk reaction to one game though is it?

What's his competitive record? 5 wins I think, 2 of which were against Lichenstein and the first of those was an embarrassment.

LeighLoyal
12-10-2012, 09:49 PM

What's his competitive record? 5 wins I think, 2 of which were against Lichenstein and the first of those was an embarrassment.

Yeah, I'm not saying he should stay, just that in this game he was shafted by officials. The disallowed Fletcher goal is a total disgrace.

12-10-2012, 09:55 PM
Yeah, I'm not saying he should stay, just that in this game he was shafted by officials. The disallowed Fletcher goal is a total disgrace.

I am! :greengrin

12-10-2012, 10:04 PM
Tonight we were a bit unlucky with that ridiculous disallowed goal and Bale diving BUT...we were still very poor, created very few great chances overall. Goal came from route one, but then we seemed to decide that was the route we wanted to take for 95% of the rest of the game as well. Wales dominated large parts of the game and that's not acceptable in itself for me. We should've had someone up front with Fletcher who was winning everything. Only when it was too late do we stick 3 strikers on, and guess what? We actually looked dangerous for a while until Fatty Adam decided to make an absolute James Hunt of himself and then it was all gone.

The evidence is there for ALL to see, Levein's record has been utterly woeful and this 'progress' he keeps banging on about is a figment of his imagination. Time is up. Let's get someone in who can at least restore some credibility and get a few results that will keep our seeding at a decent level.

12-10-2012, 10:08 PM
Harry potter is a legrnf. Leave him.alone

No ****img chace

At The Edge
12-10-2012, 10:23 PM
Harry potter is a legrnf. Leave him.alone

No ****img chace

been on the sauce :greengrin

12-10-2012, 10:38 PM
Levein shouldn't still have been in charge tonight in any case. A defeat tonight wouldn't have hurt us too much if we'd had someone competent in charge for the first two games.

12-10-2012, 10:48 PM

Only won 3 competitive games. 2 against Lichenstein (1 of them was McManus's 97th minute winner) and one against Lithuania.

12-10-2012, 10:53 PM
Charlie Adam should never play for Scotland again, the way he let Bale just waltz round him whilst he was moaning was despicable. I am angry about the Bale penalty but in fairness the way that Berra bear hugged Davies to the ground they deserved a penalty. How the linesman rules that ball to go out of play is beyond me. The only positive for tonight is that Steven Fletcher showed that he really has come of age and looked far and away our best player on the pitch.

In short....GTF Levein you pish stinking jakey yam twat and take that tool Houston with you.

Totally agree with all that except Davies fouled Berra first.

12-10-2012, 10:59 PM
Get that classless, clueless c*** tae

If he's in charge on Tuesday, the smart money has to be on the Belgians -3 or even -4!!

thekaratekid
12-10-2012, 11:01 PM
#speckymongo

Jim Herriot
12-10-2012, 11:04 PM
If Craig resigns or is sacked, who could do the job?

12-10-2012, 11:07 PM

Stevie Wonder could probably improve us for starters.

12-10-2012, 11:14 PM

Me and Dan :greengrin

shetlandhibee
12-10-2012, 11:14 PM
Who would you like to see as Scotland manager if levin gets the sack & wat would be your best team.

Manager: Owen Doyle or Gordon strachan

Mcgregor

Bardsley
Caldwell
Mcpake
Considine

Forrest
D.flectcher
Brown
Morrison

S.fletcher
Griffiths

12-10-2012, 11:15 PM
Yogi

12-10-2012, 11:16 PM

That would do. Doubt he'd want it though. Next competition Scotland can qualify for is nearly four years away. Coyle will fancy himself at another club before then!

12-10-2012, 11:17 PM
The Krankies. And, they should be made to wear those weirdy, blue specs Potter has.

shetlandhibee
12-10-2012, 11:18 PM
Yogi

Actually I didn't think about yogi but he's brilliant and would fit the job perfectly :top marks

12-10-2012, 11:18 PM
Who would you like to see as Scotland manager if levin gets the sack & wat would be your best team.

Manager: Owen Doyle or Gordon strachan

Mcgregor

Bardsley
Caldwell
Mcpake
Considine

Forrest
D.flectcher
Brown
Morrison

S.fletcher
Griffiths

Just a few points:

Considine is pish. Wouldn't have him in the Hibs team, let alone a Scotland team.

McPake has already chosen to play for Northern Ireland.

And Owen Doyle is doing a fine job playing up front for Hibs.

12-10-2012, 11:19 PM
Yogi

Good call. For now we're stuck with Boo-Boo.

12-10-2012, 11:19 PM
Actually I didn't think about yogi but he's brilliant and would fit the job perfectly :top marks

Yogi would be better manager than Potter :aok:

shetlandhibee
12-10-2012, 11:21 PM
Just a few points:

Considine is pish. Wouldn't have him in the Hibs team, let alone a Scotland team.

McPake has already chosen to play for Northern Ireland.

And Owen Doyle is doing a fine job playing up front for Hibs.
Lol:tee hee: sorry I mean Owen coyle its the predictive text on my iPad

12-10-2012, 11:45 PM
I probably wouldn't go for Coyle, it'd be McLeish all over again; he'll be off to the first English club that comes knocking.

Ironically because of his screwing up Birmingham and Villa, I can't imagine any clubs coming in for McLeish if he got the job again. Smith also would be unlikely to go anywhere else. Of course I'd be loathe to give either of them the gig, but both would be better than Potter.

Promoting Stark wouldn't be a bad idea, the under 21s have done well under him and I'd use the rest of this campaign to blood the ones that now have to graduate or are ready to do so.

Other than that I guess Strachan is free if he fancied it. But I can't think of anybody else that would be an option, other than a foreigner... But I suspect a Scot will be the likely choice.

12-10-2012, 11:57 PM
http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/craig-levein-ruling-out-fletcher-1376475

Just go Potter.

ChooseLife
13-10-2012, 12:01 AM
Moyes, Coyle or Strachan in that order, would be over the moon with either of the first two.

13-10-2012, 12:02 AM
A palin' stab.

13-10-2012, 12:23 AM
Stuart McCall, John Collins, Gordon Strachan, Owen Coyle, Kenny Dalglish or Billy Stark

Hibstrooper
13-10-2012, 12:25 AM
Moyes, Coyle or Strachan in that order, would be over the moon with either of the first two.

Moyes without a doubt is the best option however I'd rather see him go to somewhere like Man U first.

I wouldn't rule out going down the foreign manager route again, just because it didn't work under Bertie doesn't mean it we should write it off completely

monteddie
13-10-2012, 01:00 AM
Moyes without a doubt is the best option however I'd rather see him go to somewhere like Man U first.

I wouldn't rule out going down the foreign manager route again, just because it didn't work under Bertie doesn't mean it we should write it off completely
There is no way Moyes would consider this job,it is on par with the Barnsley job

Mikeystewart
13-10-2012, 01:41 AM
Yogi?!?!?! all of you must be pished

13-10-2012, 02:08 AM
walter smith

DAVE1875
13-10-2012, 02:24 AM
Jimmy Calderwood? He did do a fantastic job at Aberdeen after all

13-10-2012, 03:51 AM
Pep guardiola

13-10-2012, 04:45 AM
With fat ally about to get his jotters, theres more chance of any of the mentioned going for that job over the Scotland job. As thats how it seems to work in Scotland. :rolleyes:

We'll get second best no doubt.

But I suppose anything is an improvement over the wizard.

Ultrabee1-0
13-10-2012, 05:09 AM
Dalgliesh or moyes! **** off with your ****ty spl managers and bottom of the english prem ****! Clearly has you have seen its gettin no-where and the past 10 years this country has been a joke, we have great talent and potentail but no daft **** that gets the job stays long enough or there **** end of. Get a proper man in that's got a good CV in a highly competive league and a few medals and silver ware time to change!

13-10-2012, 05:33 AM
Dalgliesh or moyes! **** off with your ****ty spl managers and bottom of the english prem ****! Clearly has you have seen its gettin no-where and the past 10 years this country has been a joke, we have great talent and potentail but no daft **** that gets the job stays long enough or there **** end of. Get a proper man in that's got a good CV in a highly competive league and a few medals and silver ware time to change!

Why would Moyes leave Everton for Scotland? Also, you say bring in a guy who has a few medals and silverware... he hasnt as a manager.

Dalglish? Please.

13-10-2012, 06:15 AM
I probably wouldn't go for Coyle, it'd be McLeish all over again; he'll be off to the first English club that comes knocking.

Ironically because of his screwing up Birmingham and Villa, I can't imagine any clubs coming in for McLeish if he got the job again. Smith also would be unlikely to go anywhere else. Of course I'd be loathe to give either of them the gig, but both would be better than Potter.

Promoting Stark wouldn't be a bad idea, the under 21s have done well under him and I'd use the rest of this campaign to blood the ones that now have to graduate or are ready to do so.

Other than that I guess Strachan is free if he fancied it. But I can't think of anybody else that would be an option, other than a foreigner... But I suspect a Scot will be the likely choice.

Coyle being the foreigner when it comes to International football? :wink:

I'm with whoever suggested the Krankies. Lets play it totally for laughs.

13-10-2012, 06:53 AM
Coyle being the foreigner when it comes to International football? :wink:

I'm with whoever suggested the Krankies. Lets play it totally for laughs.

Krankies with Susan Boyle as assistant, she could sing a rousing Flower of Scotland before games:greengrin

Nah,Walter Smith, he has the respect of most fans and players,Strachan and Coyle.

David Moyes would be good as well but why would he leave Everton,he has done an amazing job there and i would like to see him succeed.

13-10-2012, 07:00 AM
McLeish would be my choice.

Saying that I wouldn't rule out going down the foreign route again

13-10-2012, 07:02 AM
aye and take Charlie Adam with him. Lazy get

totally agree,Charlie Adam was poor last night,didnt seem interested.Fletcher was excellent anmd didnt deserve to be on the losing side.

Levien, tata its just not working:bye:

13-10-2012, 07:03 AM
Owen Coyle took Bolton down and then onto the lower reaches of the Championship before getting the boot and folk want him as Scotland manager?

hibIBZ
13-10-2012, 07:21 AM
the man's competitive record is worse than berti vogts. the players he had to pick from were woeful (lee wilkie) but atleast we competed and made the playoff spot...... get specky out!

hibIBZ
13-10-2012, 07:26 AM
souness...... just for the post match interview fight with jamie redknapp

13-10-2012, 07:39 AM
Owen Coyle took Bolton down and then onto the lower reaches of the Championship before getting the boot and folk want him as Scotland manager?

imo It's because English football is so over hyped as soon as there's a Scotsman playing or managing there people assume he must be the dugs baws.

What was the name of the German guy that won the euro's with Greece? Would he be a realistic target just now?

13-10-2012, 07:40 AM
Have to admit I was wrong about Levien. I thought he would do a good job for us and he did push through a lot of good reforms to the youth development programme. However, that is done now and the performance of the senior side has been woeful.
It's time for him to go.

13-10-2012, 07:43 AM
the man's competitive record is worse than berti vogts. the players he had to pick from were woeful (lee wilkie) but atleast we competed and made the playoff spot...... get specky out!

Last night was no surprise. Levein showed NOTHING at any stage of his tenure that he was a Scotland manager, and it is the usual SFA crass decisions and jobs-for-the-boys mantra that has got us here.

First Ogilvey, then Regan and now you can formally add Levein to the growing list of embarrassments employed by the SFA who should have been booted out months ago.

13-10-2012, 07:43 AM
I don't understand how he got the gig in the first place......

Never finished top 6 with Dundee utd

Total disaster at Leicester

Average job at hearts while spending more than rivals.

Imo his reputation has always been far better than it should be based on his successes as manager.

Plus he's a jambo cock

13-10-2012, 07:48 AM
Harry Redknapp but like all the other suggestions, it just won't happen.

Potter is here to stay and we can only hope that the hawrts job will become vacant before long and he might be swayed to go back into Club management.

13-10-2012, 07:48 AM
I think it's time we went down the route of bringing in a foreign manager. Just because it didn't work with Bertie does not mean we should not try it again.
We need to change our whole style of play. Our ball retention last night was shocking as well as the the way we let Wales dictate the shape and pace of the game.
There are good Scottish managers out there, unfortunately they price themselves out of the job.

stu in nottingham
13-10-2012, 08:09 AM
Billy Davies

Yuillsy
13-10-2012, 08:12 AM
I don't understand how he got the gig in the first place......

Never finished top 6 with Dundee utd

Total disaster at Leicester

Average job at hearts while spending more than rivals.

Imo his reputation has always been far better than it should be based on his successes as manager.

Plus he's a jambo cock

100% agree. GTF Levein, nothing more to say!!!

Off the bar
13-10-2012, 08:13 AM
After years of being pish I don't expect a lot from Scotland but I do at least expect to be going into the last couple of qualifiers with a chance, three games in and we're not going to qualify. Fact. It will be at least 2018 before we reach another world cup 20 years after the last one a whole generation of scots will have never seen Scotland at a world cup. Disgrace. Levein. Out. Now.

13-10-2012, 08:17 AM
Captain Mainwaring would be my first choice, I was going to say Basil Fawlty but I don't think we will ever be able to command a big name leader any more - which is a shame as it would have kept some consistency going on the press conference and team selection front.

Another guy who could step into Potters shoes in the media and man management area would be Spike Milligan and I don't think being dead would necessarily put Spike at a disadvantage.

13-10-2012, 08:24 AM
Yogi would be better manager than Potter :aok:

:agree: And think of all the current and ex Falkirk players who would get Scotland caps - nae worries about dubious heritage there.

Could deliberately not choose any Yams and trot out excuses about lack of experience etc with impunity...loving it already.

If Yogi has a chance then Calderwood could be in with a shout as well, we could move the national stadium to the Midlands to accomodate him.

LeighLoyal
13-10-2012, 08:55 AM
We're not going to Brazil so who effin cares. Potter may as well carry on for now.

Gala Foxes
13-10-2012, 08:59 AM
Alex McLeish

pontius pilate
Would love to see arry do the job if not then a team of Strachan and Coyle

Whilst the SFA still consider how you dress in the morning, football and chances of Scotland progressing, will not change. I have all but given up on Scotland for a variety of reason: P!sh, *****, Portugal 5-0 game with mainly Rankers players, no vision, unable to see potential or pick players who are performing, institutional bias, potter, brown ... etc.

Whilst we are free of the hunstitution, all should be changed in Scottish football to enable a proper Scottish team to be built.

Famous5forever
13-10-2012, 09:08 AM
Look at the positives. Fletcher is back in the team having won the war with Potter, had a good game and a ridiculously disallowed goal. Potter will be sacked in the morning.
Potter will probably be given till after Tuesdays defeat then he will either resign ( but dont think he has the balls to do that ) or sacked on Wednesday, Potter has been a dissaster right from the start and was a very very bad choice.

13-10-2012, 09:39 AM
Very few good Scottish managers out there who could be seriously tempted. David Moyes just wouldn't be interested. Perhaps we'll need to look beyond a Scot for the job, dare I say, even an Englishman.

Harry Redknapp would be great, though I doubt he'd want it.

13-10-2012, 09:45 AM
I would love it to be a big name that will show a signal of intent by the sfa. But really can't see it. They will obviously pick a guy on par with the current idiot in charge of our national side. So the folk that are saying coyle, arry, moyesy etc. don't expect it even tough they will be wonderful appointments. It will be another useless appointment by those nobs in the sfa.

13-10-2012, 09:45 AM
If Leveen does get the bullet , I think Mark Wotte will be put in temporary charge until they find a permanent replacement.

13-10-2012, 09:46 AM
Very few good Scottish managers out there who could be seriously tempted. David Moyes just wouldn't be interested. Perhaps we'll need to look beyond a Scot for the job, dare I say, even an Englishman.

Harry Redknapp would be great, though I doubt he'd want it.

My concern would be that Redknapp would just see the job as a stop gap until the England job became available.

The national team job shouldn't be seen as a stepping stone to another role somewhere else, it's a long term job that also needs short term results (if that makes sense).

I wouldn't mind someone like Houllier to get the top job with a passionate Scotsman like Joe Jordan or John Collins as his assistant.

13-10-2012, 09:48 AM
We're not going to Brazil so who effin cares. Potter may as well carry on for now.

We've no chance of qualifying now but we need to improve our results towards the end of the campaign so we don't drop down another seeding for the next qualifiers

13-10-2012, 09:51 AM
imo It's because English football is so over hyped as soon as there's a Scotsman playing or managing there people assume he must be the dugs baws.

What was the name of the German guy that won the euro's with Greece? Would he be a realistic target just now?

Otto Rehagal.

Now 74 years old and last seen with Hertha.

Piqué
13-10-2012, 09:53 AM
Grab your coat Craig, you're ****ing levein

13-10-2012, 09:54 AM
Otto Rehagal.

Now 74 years old and last seen with Hertha.

How old was Hertha? Just cos he pulled a bird at that age we shouldn't hold that against him.

13-10-2012, 09:55 AM
We've no chance of qualifying now but we need to improve our results towards the end of the campaign so we don't drop down another seeding for the next qualifiers

True. It can't be too long before we are mixing it with Malta, Cyprus and Latvia.

13-10-2012, 09:55 AM
How old was Hertha? Just cos he pulled a bird at that age we shouldn't hold that against him.

13-10-2012, 09:56 AM
True. It can't be too long before we are mixing it with Malta, Cyprus and Latvia.

I admire your optimism but with Levein in charge i think we've no chance

Skanko79
13-10-2012, 09:56 AM
helen keller would do a better job than potter.

would love to see walter smith back in, either him souness or strachan.

Skanko79
13-10-2012, 09:59 AM
our campiagn was over before it started with that goon in charge.

13-10-2012, 09:59 AM
helen keller would do a better job than potter.

would love to see walter smith back in, either him souness or strachan.

Smith would do a good job, there's no doubting that but the way he bumped us at the first opportunity after we rescued his career leaves a sour taste in the mouth so struggle to find enthusiasm for appointing him again.

saying that a couple of wins and i'm sure i'd soon forget about him bumping us in the past.

13-10-2012, 10:01 AM
Tin hat on

Steven Pressley.

13-10-2012, 10:03 AM
Tin hat on

Steven Pressley.

Another Craig Levein that appears to be growing a reputation as a good manager without actually achieving anything.

Talks a good game but so far only been able to relegate a team and then unable to even get them to finish in the top two in the first division.

Skanko79
13-10-2012, 10:06 AM
Smith would do a good job, there's no doubting that but the way he bumped us at the first opportunity after we rescued his career leaves a sour taste in the mouth so struggle to find enthusiasm for appointing him again.

saying that a couple of wins and i'm sure i'd soon forget about him bumping us in the past.

he's been the best we have had in a long time even though he wasnt in charge for that long, mcleish bumped us too but i would much rather see smith back in charge as he isnt getting younger and may be more likely to bump any approach from another club.

i know what you mean though mate it left a bitter taste in my mouth too, we need someone who will fire the players up to holding onto 1-0 leads against teams like wales, and fire us up at half time when drawing 0-0 at home to serbia, potter just doesnt do that, he stood there like a pleb when we went 1-0 up last night.

thats why i would be in favour of someone like souness or strachan.

13-10-2012, 10:10 AM
He wouldn't get it anyway as his views on Scottish football probably wouldn't find favour with the SFA. Listened to him a few times now and he appears passionate about the way the game is headed in this country.

13-10-2012, 10:15 AM
he's been the best we have had in a long time even though he wasnt in charge for that long, mcleish bumped us too but i would much rather see smith back in charge as he isnt getting younger and may be more likely to bump any approach from another club.

i know what you mean though mate it left a bitter taste in my mouth too, we need someone who will fire the players up to holding onto 1-0 leads against teams like wales, and fire us up at half time when drawing 0-0 at home to serbia, potter just doesnt do that, he stood there like a pleb when we went 1-0 up last night.

Disagree with that point mate, why are we so scared to try and win games by more than one now? when we were one nil up and they were coming into the game more we should have put another forward on to pick them off and score again rather than just trying to hold on.

I could be wrong with this so if i am ignore me but did Smith not leave in the middle of the campaign but Mcleish at least waited until the end of the qualifiers?

Whoever gets it it's a tough gig as we've not got good enough players to match our expectations so they would need to come in and get us punching above our weight, Levein has proven he isn't capable of doing that, i'm not entirely sure who would be but i've got my doubts about Strachan, not really sure why, possibly because i think he's a cock which is maybe unfair but i'm just not convinced and IMO Souness has been out of management too long.

13-10-2012, 10:16 AM
Billy Davies

13-10-2012, 10:16 AM

Before I start agreeing with this post ... I cant agree with the Lee Wilkie bit. If it hadnt been for a couple of catastrophic injuries Lee Wilkie would have left the SPL far behind in his rise up the football ladder. He was tough in the air, could play on the ground and wasnt too shabby when pushed up front either. I for one would have loved to see him at Hibs.

Apart from that Harry Potter has to go ... we have some decent players and he just doesnt have the ability to get results out of them. If we cant win a game againts Wales ( especially one we had to win ) then its just not good enough.

The World Cup is now dead for us, so we have to use the games we have left in this group to get a team together which can qualify for the next Euros with a decent manager who knows what he is doing.

There will be 32 countries in the next Euro finals .... surely we can bloody qualify ..... cant we?

13-10-2012, 10:20 AM
Before I start agreeing with this post ... I cant agree with the Lee Wilkie bit. If it hadnt been for a couple of catastrophic injuries Lee Wilkie would have left the SPL far behind in his rise up the football ladder. He was tough in the air, could play on the ground and wasnt too shabby when pushed up front either. I for one would have loved to see him at Hibs.

Apart from that Harry Potter has to go ... we have some decent players and he just doesnt have the ability to get results out of them. If we cant win a game againts Wales ( especially one we had to win ) then its just not good enough.

The World Cup is now dead for us, so we have to use the games we have left in this group to get a team together which can qualify for the next Euros with a decent manager who knows what he is doing.

There will be 32 countries in the next Euro finals .... surely we can bloody qualify ..... cant we?

If it was 32, we could maybe sneak into that 32nd place :agree:

Sadly it's only 24 :greengrin

13-10-2012, 10:22 AM
Jimmy Calderwood? He did do a fantastic job at Aberdeen after all

Hear Hear! Roust him out of the tanning salon and into the manager's office!

darwenhibby
13-10-2012, 10:37 AM
Always thought souness for the job. Whoever mentioned joe Jordan good dhout

Skanko79
13-10-2012, 10:39 AM
Disagree with that point mate, why are we so scared to try and win games by more than one now? when we were one nil up and they were coming into the game more we should have put another forward on to pick them off and score again rather than just trying to hold on.

I could be wrong with this so if i am ignore me but did Smith not leave in the middle of the campaign but Mcleish at least waited until the end of the qualifiers?

Whoever gets it it's a tough gig as we've not got good enough players to match our expectations so they would need to come in and get us punching above our weight, Levein has proven he isn't capable of doing that, i'm not entirely sure who would be but i've got my doubts about Strachan, not really sure why, possibly because i think he's a cock which is maybe unfair but i'm just not convinced and IMO Souness has been out of management too long.

i Guess in a roundabout way i was trying to say that we should be able to go on and look for a second goal against teams like wales, levein is in no way shape or form the man to fire up the team to do so.

I reckon this is by far the best crop of players we have had in a long time. with the right man in charge we really could be a decent side. and i really cant see past walter smith as the man to do the damage.

Famous5forever
13-10-2012, 10:48 AM

Not sure these guys would want the Gig they got good jobs in the media now, McLeish did a good job last time and he is available but Potter must be removed ASAP If it was my choice potter would be sacked today before our next Calamity occours on Tuesday.

Get the new man started on Monday morning to try to lift us out of this gloom that Potter has created.

13-10-2012, 11:43 AM
In the cold light of the morning after : does the buck not stop with the SFA for choosing Levein in the first place ?.
He was a manager who had no track record of success at any level when appointed - simply someone who did a half decent job (?) at club level.
Potential recipe for disaster in any trade or profession - was his appointment a ' cheap option ' or what ?
I'm not defending Levein but being honest how many of us who if they were offered 'promotion' would turn it down , regardless of our ability.?

Scotland shortly will drop out of the top 100 if we do not get a 'real ' manager in place ASAP .
Qualification for 2014 is now beyond this team .

Shearer
13-10-2012, 12:10 PM
Kenny Dalglish. Perfect timing for all parties

13-10-2012, 12:12 PM
Kenny Dalglish. Perfect timing for all parties

:bitchy:

He was a great player but has a very dubious record as a Manager.

13-10-2012, 12:28 PM
Strachan

13-10-2012, 12:31 PM
I hear Owen Coyle's looking for work.

13-10-2012, 12:35 PM
Was going to say David Moyes but I forgot he's going to Sevco :faf:

13-10-2012, 12:41 PM
https://www.skybet.com/football/manager-specials/event/14360309?action=GoRBSBetslip&btag=a_7753b_191c_

latest odds on next scotland manager.

Think it'd be between Smith, Mcleish and Dalglish.

13-10-2012, 12:41 PM
For all those that seriously want Waldo back as Scotland manager:

If he did say yes, how long would it be before he answers the call from his beloved Ibrokes to replace Fat Sally to "return his one true love to glory"?

To use "Chuckie Green"/Trisha type speak: "Imagine you were dumped by a decent burd that told you she was away back to a previous boyfriend because he was the real love of her life, leaving you heartbroken. She then gets in touch 3 years later asking if you'll take here back. All the while, you know the previous boyfriend's current relationship is a bit rocky. Whaddaya do?"

13-10-2012, 12:45 PM
For all those that seriously want Waldo back as Scotland manager:

If he did say yes, how long would it be before he answers the call from his beloved Ibrokes to replace Fat Sally to "return his one true love to glory"?

To use "Chuckie Green"/Trisha type speak: "Imagine you were dumped by a decent burd that told you she was away back to a previous boyfriend because he was the real love of her life, leaving you heartbroken. She then gets in touch 3 years later asking if you'll take here back. All the while, you know the previous boyfriend's current relationship is a bit rocky. Whaddaya do?"

Pump it :agree:

Edit:- Seriously though, it's a concern i've got but are we really in a position to turn down someone we know is a good manager for us just in case further down the line he leaves? I've been thinking about it and unfortunately i think it's a chance we may need to take if he's interested in coming back

13-10-2012, 12:56 PM
http://kritterbox.com/images/smilies/time.gif

13-10-2012, 12:56 PM
The Motherwell manager, Stuart McCall, done an incredible job. If Paul Lambert continues to fail at Aston Villa he might be tempted too.

13-10-2012, 01:10 PM

There's a game on Tuesday, no way he'll leave before then.

The Motherwell manager, Stuart McCall, done an incredible job. If Paul Lambert continues to fail at Aston Villa he might be tempted too.

Failing at one job shouldn't be a reason for getting the Scotland job. He did a terrific job at Norwich but sometimes certain managers are just a good fit for a club at a particular time, i would want someone that's a proven success at more than one club, think that could apply to Mccall as well.

13-10-2012, 02:10 PM
Levein has to remain in charge until it is mathematically impossible to qualify IMHO, two strikes at qualification and he is gone, should be the same for any manager

13-10-2012, 02:20 PM
Levein has to remain in charge until it is mathematically impossible to qualify IMHO, two strikes at qualification and he is gone, should be the same for any manager

I just want to see signs of progress. If we didn't qualify for two tournaments but we were beating the teams we should be beating and in with a shout of qualifying up until the end of the campaign but narrowly missing out to much better teams then i could handle that but right now under Levein we're a million miles away from that.

13-10-2012, 02:39 PM

Tuesday it is then.

jimmythefish
13-10-2012, 03:00 PM

the same owen coyle who's recent achievments amount to 2 relegations from the epl, we,ve had enough clowns get someone who,s actually won something, someone wi a winning mentalty

13-10-2012, 03:05 PM

Heard Stuart McCall on Radio Scotland earlier today. He was asked if he would be interested in the Scotland job and he said no. A shame because I agree with you, I think he'd do a good job.

Famous5forever
13-10-2012, 03:21 PM

could be because its a weekend he has to go the Jakey Specky useless git.

13-10-2012, 03:35 PM

13-10-2012, 03:43 PM
the same owen coyle who's recent achievments amount to 2 relegations from the epl, we,ve had enough clowns get someone who,s actually won something, someone wi a winning mentalty

Wrong. Burnley were in 14th place when he jumped ship for Bolton.

13-10-2012, 03:53 PM
Craig will come good

13-10-2012, 04:05 PM
Wy on earth do people want Souness?! A dinosaur that's been out the game for years and achieved squat without a vast chequebook behind him.

Never mind the stench of his kick backs from Rangers linked to buying their players. His bullying tactics with players simply wouldn't work at international level and frankly Levein is probably a better shout.

13-10-2012, 04:12 PM
Wy on earth do people want Souness?! A dinosaur that's been out the game for years and achieved squat without a vast chequebook behind him.

Never mind the stench of his kick backs from Rangers linked to buying their players. His bullying tactics with players simply wouldn't work at international level and frankly Levein is probably a better shout.

:agree: Always struck me as an odious individual.
On reflection, I think Levein is a pratt aswell.

13-10-2012, 04:23 PM

Not sure anyone was actually being serious regarding Souness. Hope not anyway

13-10-2012, 04:24 PM
:agree: Always struck me as an odious individual.
On reflection, I think Levein is a pratt aswell.

But in my case there was no need for reflection.

13-10-2012, 04:27 PM

I think people crave a Scotland team that will play with passion and pride and hope that's two attributes he'd bring to the table.

You need more than that though so I agree with you, no way he's the right man for the job now.

13-10-2012, 04:50 PM
I think people crave a Scotland team that will play with passion and pride and hope that's two attributes he'd bring to the table.

You need more than that though so I agree with you, no way he's the right man for the job now.

Give the squad decent tactics, selections and a manager they have faith in and the pride will come with that for free.

Having an idiot in the dressing room shouting and screaming at the players is unlikely to instil the feeling of 'sack this' in them...

13-10-2012, 05:00 PM
Give the squad decent tactics, selections and a manager they have faith in and the pride will come with that for free.

Having an idiot in the dressing room shouting and screaming at the players is unlikely to instil the feeling of 'sack this' in them...

Yeah, I think the days of managers intimidating players are probably in the past, think sir Alex said recently that he's had to tone down the hairdryer treatment now.

I'd like to see Collins involved in some way, not the top job but there's a man with experience in European football and also someone who got players to improve as players, working alongside someone more experienced (not tommy Craig) I think that could work

13-10-2012, 06:52 PM
I'd like to see Johnny Collins getting the job if only to watch on in amusement as the players fly in from various places to meet secretly with Stewart Regan :greengrin

13-10-2012, 06:53 PM
I'd like to see Johnny Collins getting the job if only to watch on in amusement as the players fly in from various places to meet secretly with Stewart Regan :greengrin

Surely they would meet the current SFA Vice President.

13-10-2012, 06:55 PM
Surely they would meet the current SFA Vice President.

Once bitten and all that :wink:

13-10-2012, 07:13 PM
Am with heretoday on this one, the SFA probably know that there are very few cheap plodding mumbling unphotogenic ex hearts managers left so Jim Jeffries is the obvious choice, his time has come.

If he fails everyone will say he succesfully replicated his playing and managerial club form on the international stage, and if by any chance he achieved slightly more than Harry Potter in the Scotland job we could name a Pizza after him - Win Win situtation.

13-10-2012, 07:43 PM
My opinion is that Craig Levein's position as Scotland manager is now untenable for a variety of reasons.

Last night was a typical Levein managed performance. In a game where it was very much a 'must win' (although I hate that term as for me all games are), he went with one up top again, and with a player like Fletch who thrives on not only playing his attacking game but is quite superb at linking up with a partner and bringing his strike partner into play too (I thought he was excellent all night and the one shining light). He also utlised Maloney and Commons in a bizarre fashion - playing both on the opposite flanks to their natural side - and requiring Maloney do do what he is terrible at - defend ! Commons didn't kick a ball second half and the change there should have been made after 60 minutes, with young Forrest the natural choice as he gives pace and trickery - there was not one Welsh defender I would have been scared of and certainly, after it had conceded 6 in its previous outing, it should have been having to defend more than just Fletch - he should have gone 4-4-2 or 4-3-3 - simple as that. Maloney was toiling badly and wasn't being allowed to do what he is good at - he seemed nervous to go forward and attack. Perhaps Mulgrew in the left midfield area would have been a better option. Charlie Adam should not only be stripped of his plane ticket to Brussels, but also of his place in future squads. Take at look at his 'closing down' for the Bale second - I was near putting the TV screen in at his lacklustre (and that is being kind) attempt. If he is an £8 million pound player then I am a priest.

It brings me to my next Levein flaw - his hypocrisy when it comes to playing players 'who are playing for their clubs' - Hutton hasn't kicked a ball in anger for Villa and it shows - last 3 games he has been very poor. Darren Fletcher has been out of competitive football for months and should not have breezed into a very demanding international qualifier no matter how he felt healthwise. Berra I'm told has been dreadful for Wolves - but he seems to be a first pick - I have seen milk turn quicker. Fox offers nothing, and unless young Paul Dixon was injured than I'm scratching my head as to why he never played. He was MOTM for me previously in the other games. And playing Caldwell in a midfield holding role in the previous game - every single manager and pundit I've heard and read quite simply laughed when this was announced against Macedonia.

Then we have Levein himself as a man and coach - I'm often quite sad in that I often think if you look the part, then the staff (or players) will follow and look the part. It may seem insignificant, but his demeanour, stance, dress code, and manner towards the press is unprofessional and dour - much like Calderwood. The unshaven look and the baseball cap wearing manager is what I expect to see on the sidelines of a Junior game. His backroom choice was an old pals act too - the minute I saw Kenny Black as his right hand man (next to Houston) than I knew the game was up. Very very poor management team - it's no surprise that Dundee United aren't happy with Houston either - I think the closeness to the national team is much to do with that.

I've dealt with Craig Levein once in the past and found him to be a disciplinarian but not the most inspiring of men. Very dour, very predictable and very drab - exactly how he has Scotland playing.

For those that gave John Collins a shout for manager - that could indeed be John's perfect role - far enough away from day to day club politics and his intense style of training and methodolgy would perhaps work well with players he only had for a few days at a time.

Gordon Strachan is the main candidate - he is still living in England, where many of the squad play. I sense he may also have young Paul Telfer in his backroom team as Paul is not only doing his coaching badges but lives near to Gordon. I still think he wants to get back into day to day club football, but he may see it as a good time to revitalise not only himself but the nation's game - not only that he knows the press up here and how to handle them.

Either way I want Levein as far away from Scotland as possible. If anything I am also shallow as **** and I hate seeing scruffy bar stewards represent Scotland - I'm with Dashing Bob and Bollah - you have to look the part to play the part in any walk of life :agree:

13-10-2012, 08:22 PM
McLeish - No
Souness - Noooooooooo
Smith - No
Moyes - Never gonna happen
McCall - Nope
Coyle - No
Clarke - Yes and quickly
Strachan - No to the power of 10
Foreign Choice - Nah
Calderwood - Actually yeah, Jimmy would probably make that work.

Also worth remembering that there is a Scottish manager who has considerable international experience with an African nation that we could call upon.

13-10-2012, 08:27 PM
Also worth remembering that there is a Scottish manager who has considerable international experience with an African nation that we could call upon.

:faint:

13-10-2012, 08:40 PM
My opinion is that Craig Levein's position as Scotland manager is now untenable for a variety of reasons.

Last night was a typical Levein managed performance. In a game where it was very much a 'must win' (although I hate that term as for me all games are), he went with one up top again, and with a player like Fletch who thrives on not only playing his attacking game but is quite superb at linking up with a partner and bringing his strike partner into play too (I thought he was excellent all night and the one shining light). He also utlised Maloney and Commons in a bizarre fashion - playing both on the opposite flanks to their natural side - and requiring Maloney do do what he is terrible at - defend ! Commons didn't kick a ball second half and the change there should have been made after 60 minutes, with young Forrest the natural choice as he gives pace and trickery - there was not one Welsh defender I would have been scared of and certainly, after it had conceded 6 in its previous outing, it should have been having to defend more than just Fletch - he should have gone 4-4-2 or 4-3-3 - simple as that. Maloney was toiling badly and wasn't being allowed to do what he is good at - he seemed nervous to go forward and attack. Perhaps Mulgrew in the left midfield area would have been a better option. Charlie Adam should not only be stripped of his plane ticket to Brussels, but also of his place in future squads. Take at look at his 'closing down' for the Bale second - I was near putting the TV screen in at his lacklustre (and that is being kind) attempt. If he is an £8 million pound player then I am a priest.

It brings me to my next Levein flaw - his hypocrisy when it comes to playing players 'who are playing for their clubs' - Hutton hasn't kicked a ball in anger for Villa and it shows - last 3 games he has been very poor. Darren Fletcher has been out of competitive football for months and should not have breezed into a very demanding international qualifier no matter how he felt healthwise. Berra I'm told has been dreadful for Wolves - but he seems to be a first pick - I have seen milk turn quicker. Fox offers nothing, and unless young Paul Dixon was injured than I'm scratching my head as to why he never played. He was MOTM for me previously in the other games. And playing Caldwell in a midfield holding role in the previous game - every single manager and pundit I've heard and read quite simply laughed when this was announced against Macedonia.

Then we have Levein himself as a man and coach - I'm often quite sad in that I often think if you look the part, then the staff (or players) will follow and look the part. It may seem insignificant, but his demeanour, stance, dress code, and manner towards the press is unprofessional and dour - much like Calderwood. The unshaven look and the baseball cap wearing manager is what I expect to see on the sidelines of a Junior game. His backroom choice was an old pals act too - the minute I saw Kenny Black as his right hand man (next to Houston) than I knew the game was up. Very very poor management team - it's no surprise that Dundee United aren't happy with Houston either - I think the closeness to the national team is much to do with that.

I've dealt with Craig Levein once in the past and found him to be a disciplinarian but not the most inspiring of men. Very dour, very predictable and very drab - exactly how he has Scotland playing.

For those that gave John Collins a shout for manager - that could indeed be John's perfect role - far enough away from day to day club politics and his intense style of training and methodolgy would perhaps work well with players he only had for a few days at a time.

Gordon Strachan is the main candidate - he is still living in England, where many of the squad play. I sense he may also have young Paul Telfer in his backroom team as Paul is not only doing his coaching badges but lives near to Gordon. I still think he wants to get back into day to day club football, but he may see it as a good time to revitalise not only himself but the nation's game - not only that he knows the press up here and how to handle them.

Either way I want Levein as far away from Scotland as possible. If anything I am also shallow as **** and I hate seeing scruffy bar stewards represent Scotland - I'm with Dashing Bob and Bollah - you have to look the part to play the part in any walk of life :agree:

why is that? just a rumour?

13-10-2012, 08:50 PM
why is that? just a rumour?

Despite the cup win and getting into Europe last 3 seasons, they've not been quick to offer him a deal and I think I recall PH going to press a few eeks ago (probably via his agent, a well known ex Yam), stating he'd not been offered new terms as yet. I know some United fans feel that when he is away with Scotland, their results after suffer, and some seem to believe certain players 'relax' at training when he's not about - that may however be devilment from the fans I know. Saying that Stephen Thompson is quite shrewd and it may just be the case that United cannot afford to improve terms and may wish to seek a manager who they can pay the same/less.

If Pat got us into Europe every season and won a cup would we all expect Rod to get him round the table and tied up ? I know I would (and hope the former events happen too :greengrin)

13-10-2012, 08:54 PM
Despite the cup win and getting into Europe last 3 seasons, they've not been quick to offer him a deal and I think I recall PH going to press a few eeks ago (probably via his agent, a well known ex Yam), stating he'd not been offered new terms as yet. I know some United fans feel that when he is away with Scotland, their results after suffer, and some seem to believe certain players 'relax' at training when he's not about - that may however be devilment from the fans I know. Saying that Stephen Thompson is quite shrewd and it may just be the case that United cannot afford to improve terms and may wish to seek a manager who they can pay the same/less.

If Pat got us into Europe every season and won a cup would we all expect Rod to get him round the table and tied up ? I know I would (and hope the former events happen too :greengrin)

thanks for that mate, for me its amazing that he is waiting on a deal, wonder why he has not been touted for championship jobs. i reckon he has done a great job there and if i was him i would be hacked off tae

jimmythefish
13-10-2012, 09:05 PM
Wrong. Burnley were in 14th place when he jumped ship for Bolton.

1.5 then & sacked less than a week ago, yes sacked , no longer wanted , not good enough, get real

13-10-2012, 11:16 PM

I'm no Levein fan but for once there was nothing wrong with his team selection last night. It wasn't negative - you mention the lack of a second striker but Fletcher linked well with Morrison. Both missed excellent chances.

Playing wide players on their "opposite" side is common practice across world football, see Bale. Both Maloney and Commons are regularly used in those roles for their clubs. I agree that one or both should've been subbed on the hour mark though.

Having said all that......he's got to go. But the players cost him to a large degree last night, not doing basics in every department.

13-10-2012, 11:46 PM
McLeish - No
Souness - Noooooooooo
Smith - No
Moyes - Never gonna happen
McCall - Nope
Coyle - No
Clarke - Yes and quickly
Strachan - No to the power of 10
Foreign Choice - Nah
Calderwood - Actually yeah, Jimmy would probably make that work.

Blobby in.

Blobby, blobby, blobby, in, in, in.

jimmythefish
14-10-2012, 01:04 AM
an older head is needed for international football , dalglish souness or strachan for me , all 3 legends for scotland who know what it means to put on the shirt, all 3 gave their all when playin for scotland , all have had a level of success at club football & have a wealth of knowledge & expeirance

HiBremian
14-10-2012, 08:58 AM
http://www.heraldscotland.com/sport/football/levein-the-author-of-his-own-demise.19138699?utm_source=headlines&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=email%2Balert

A sober look back at Potter's record confirms it......:taxi