View Full Version : NHC Wonga - sponsor for Newcastle Utd

09-10-2012, 02:44 PM
Wonga have been announced as stadium sponsors and have handed the naming rights back to the fans.

Cunning marketing ploy? or is the head chap at wonga a member of the toon army?

green glory
09-10-2012, 03:09 PM
The Yams could do the same.

The Pink Wonga-dome.

09-10-2012, 04:00 PM
Geordies I work with are spitting teeth over this! :greengrin

09-10-2012, 04:08 PM
The Pink Wonga-dome.[/QUOTE]loving it!:greengrin

Off the bar
09-10-2012, 04:12 PM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-tyne-19883080

''Payday loans company Wonga has signed a multimillion-pound shirt sponsorship deal with Newcastle United.

But the move has sparked anger from some politicians and fans, who believe the deal could project the wrong image for the club.''

no such worries down gorgie way, but the jamboids will do anything for some wonga right now

speedy_gonzales
09-10-2012, 04:29 PM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-tyne-19883080

''Payday loans company Wonga has signed a multimillion-pound shirt sponsorship deal with Newcastle United.

But the move has sparked anger from some politicians and fans, who believe the deal could project the wrong image for the club.''

no such worries down gorgie way, but the jamboids will do anything for some wonga right now
Was going to post the same BBC link but you beat me to it,,,,what I want to know is why the stooshie over Newcastle Utd and not Hertz? The disgust seems to be aimed at the company for having 4000% payday loans, but surely as far as the club is concerned it's money in the bank:agree:, whether people are stupid or desperate enough to use such credit facilities is another story!

Off the bar
09-10-2012, 04:33 PM
Was going to post the same BBC link but you beat me to it,,,,what I want to know is why the stooshie over Newcastle Utd and not Hertz? The disgust seems to be aimed at the company for having 4000% payday loans, but surely as far as the club is concerned it's money in the bank:agree:, whether people are stupid or desperate enough to use such credit facilities is another story!

maybe time to change your name from speedy then eh? :wink:

I think the difference is that newcastle have a good name to protect where as everyone knows hertz are a bunch of no-good jakeys

:lolyam:

as an aside did blackpool not have wonga as their shirt sponsor for a while?

09-10-2012, 05:26 PM
Apparently wonga are giving them 8m up front but they have to pay back 28m a month later.

09-10-2012, 06:06 PM
maybe time to change your name from speedy then eh? :wink:

I think the difference is that newcastle have a good name to protect where as everyone knows hertz are a bunch of no-good jakeys

:lolyam:

as an aside did blackpool not have wonga as their shirt sponsor for a while?

I guess people only notice if something happens in the Premiership. Does highlight what a tawdry club Hertz are though.

linlithgowhibbie
09-10-2012, 06:12 PM
Apparently wonga are giving them 8m up front but they have to pay back 28m a month later.

What rate of interest is that then Mr Accountant?:wink:

09-10-2012, 06:26 PM
I guess people only notice if something happens in the Premiership. Does highlight what a tawdry club Hertz are though.

Nonsense.

Hearts are a massive club who's name is known and respected worldwide. The Scottish Cup Final result sent shock waves rippling through the footballing world apparently. So much so the game wasn't even shown in England.

tamsonsbairn
09-10-2012, 06:47 PM
Reportedly worth 8 million pounds a year. How much did hmfc get for their shirt sponsorship. :pfgwa

CalgaryHibs
09-10-2012, 07:21 PM
The Pink Wonga-dome.loving it!:greengrin[/QUOTE]

Agree very cheeky! Lol

portohibee
09-10-2012, 07:51 PM
Hope it doesnae have any effect on the standard of hospitality,I'm doon their next month, all expenses :)

09-10-2012, 08:44 PM
It seems that some Newcastle fans are having pangs of conscience about the suitability of Wonga to be sponsoring the club shirt. I don't remember this debate being held in Gorgie, probably becasuse conscience doesn't come into it and they'd sell their grannies for a fiver, just so their players can be paid on time for once.

magpie1892
09-10-2012, 09:15 PM
It seems that some Newcastle fans are having pangs of conscience about the suitability of Wonga to be sponsoring the club shirt. I don't remember this debate being held in Gorgie, probably becasuse conscience doesn't come into it and they'd sell their grannies for a fiver, just so their players can be paid on time for once.

No-one I know is happy, including myself. I have every home shirt going back to 1986 but I won't be buying anything with Wonga on it. Cheapens the club and it's a slimy operation. Maybe buy the shirts and then get them patched over the logo. I think a few people will be doing that.

Have asked Puma if they would manufacture a sponsorless shirt if demand was there. They'll say 'no' and it'll make a good story.

Ultrabee1-0
09-10-2012, 10:52 PM
Hadent it recently just been called the sports direct arena not more than a season ago?

09-10-2012, 11:16 PM
Hadent it recently just been called the sports direct arena not more than a season ago?

No, No and No.

It was St James' Park, is St James' Park and always will be St James' Park.

End of!

Ultrabee1-0
09-10-2012, 11:25 PM
No, No and No.

End of!
Well how about this then.
Didn't sports direct sponser it recently now wonga?

09-10-2012, 11:51 PM
No, No and No.

End of!err, that'll be a why man, wat ye gan oan aboot, is nae wonga wer upset boony lad.am gan doon the toon fur some broon.

09-10-2012, 11:53 PM
Well how about this then.
Didn't sports direct sponser it recently now wonga?the current phrase is "how's about that then".saville speak :wink:

10-10-2012, 07:52 AM
err, that'll be a why man, wat ye gan oan aboot, is nae wonga wer upset boony lad.am gan doon the toon fur some broon.

It's actualy ".. why aye man, wat ye gannin an aboot .." and ".. bonny lad, am gannin doo tha toon .." but close enough. :aok:

And just to confirm ..

10-10-2012, 07:55 AM
they'd sell their grannies for a fiver,

That's a gross exaggeration. No way would they hold out for a fiver.

VickMackie
10-10-2012, 08:22 AM
No, No and No.

End of!

This reminded me of rangers fans saying they're the same club!

10-10-2012, 08:47 AM
Newcastle United will be unaffected by sponsorship deal with Wonga, as manager insists "the lads will still go out and give it 4200%"

10-10-2012, 08:54 AM
Newcastle United will be unaffected by sponsorship deal with Wonga, as manager insists "the lads will still go out and give it 4200%"

:faf::faf:

10-10-2012, 08:57 AM
Reportedly worth 8 million pounds a year. How much did hmfc get for their shirt sponsorship. :pfgwa

£8.50p - they are the bigger of the 2 clubs, world famous and they won a war which I don't think Newcastle have ever done.

10-10-2012, 08:58 AM

:thumbsup: Just spilled my cofee laughing!

Matty_Jack04
10-10-2012, 09:05 AM
I read somewhere this morning maybe the most reliable bbc football gossip page that the clubs Muslim players will be acting against sharia law by wearing the strips with wonga on the front!! This whole story is going a bit on the mad side eh!
blackpool had them as shirt sponsors when they where in the prem and all the journo's did was praise Blackpool as refreshing etc etc no mention of wonga , I think it's more of a snipe towards mike Ashley who IMO has really got his act together the past few years and has managed to add more investment into the club which can only help him back pardew even more (if that's possible) as has been said above you're only going to use wonga if your desperate/silly not because its on the front of your clubs strip e.g I have never had a bottle of crabbies (sorry rod)

hibbiedon
10-10-2012, 04:41 PM
Loved the Talk sport quote this morning..... That wonga have a distinct marketing ploy of targeting deprived areas such as the north east, blackpool and certain parts of edinburgh

11-10-2012, 06:43 AM
Wonga give a very accurate image of Hearts and I'd struggle to think of a more apt sponsor.

I can understand why Newcastle fans are annoyed though, I wouldn't want Wonga sponsoring Hibs. Wonga aren't Hibs class though.

11-10-2012, 06:58 AM
Just been discussing Wonga sponsorship of Newcastle United on BBC breakfast business news, the question was asked "why is this sponsorship so controversial as Wonga already sponsor Blackpool & Heart of Midlothian?" Answer- Because this is the 1st time they have sponsored a big club:na na::faf:

11-10-2012, 12:33 PM
No-one I know is happy, including myself. I have every home shirt going back to 1986 but I won't be buying anything with Wonga on it. Cheapens the club and it's a slimy operation. Maybe buy the shirts and then get them patched over the logo. I think a few people will be doing that.

Have asked Puma if they would manufacture a sponsorless shirt if demand was there. They'll say 'no' and it'll make a good story.

I've read this story and tried to wrap my head around it, but can't.

Can you explain in what way it "cheapens the club" or is "a slimy operation"?

11-10-2012, 12:38 PM
I've read this story and tried to wrap my head around it, but can't.

Can you explain in what way it "cheapens the club" or is "a slimy operation"?

Maybe having extremely rich young men helping to sell very expensive credit to people struggling during a recession sticks in some people's throats.

11-10-2012, 02:08 PM

I think that Wonga had the shirt sponsorship deal with Blackpool when they were in the Premiership.

11-10-2012, 03:41 PM
Maybe having extremely rich young men helping to sell very expensive credit to people struggling during a recession sticks in some people's throats.

As far as reprehensible business practices go, I think there are far worse offenders in the world of sponsorship than Wonga.

At least they are completely up front about the services they offer - if it's people struggling for credit in a recession you're worried about, there are other, more nefarious companies to be concerned by.

11-10-2012, 03:47 PM
As far as reprehensible business practices go, I think there are far worse offenders in the world of sponsorship than Wonga.

At least they are completely up front about the services they offer - if it's people struggling for credit in a recession you're worried about, there are other, more nefarious companies to be concerned by.

I'm sure that's true, but two Wong(a)s don't make a Wite!

11-10-2012, 06:08 PM

:agree: What they stand for is out there for all to see, I'm not personally comfortable with it, but as with all these things they find their level/audience and as a Hibby with a wee bias towards Sunderland I am very happy with the decisions that the Wonga marketing boys have made - not Hibs class :greengrin