View Full Version : April Jones
02-10-2012, 08:18 PM
What a desperately sad situation. I hope the wee soul is found safe and unharmed, and returned to her family.
02-10-2012, 08:19 PM
What a desperately sad situation. I hope the wee soul is found safe and unharmed, and returned to her family.
Agree 100%
Sadly, I always fear the worst in these kind of situations
Johnny0762
02-10-2012, 08:24 PM
Sick ****ing *******. I hope this wean is found safe but with a guy known to the family lifted and no sign of the wean, it's not looking good.
03-10-2012, 12:31 PM
Desperately sad and whilst appreciating the guy is only a suspect and has not been found guilty of anything, not even charged yet to my knowledge, it does make one wonder if legalized torture was introduced whether the bairn would be found a lot quicker.
blaikie
03-10-2012, 12:42 PM
Hopefully she's found safe and well totally unbearable to imagine what the family's going through! Good response by the local community and the police to search the area. Hopefully she turns up safe and well.
03-10-2012, 01:31 PM
Heartbreaking, I fear the worst. I hope the Police haven't once again named an innocent man.
03-10-2012, 02:39 PM
Always fear the worst about these things when time starts to drag on.
Hope the bairns found safe and well.
Johnny0762
03-10-2012, 04:44 PM
My gut instincts tell me they have the right man. His Landrover Disco is the same type and colour as the one the kids reported, and he was picked up walking from a garage where he had left his car. I presume he put his car in for a valleting (doesn't bear thinking about why) and the garage immediately called the cops after putting two and two together.
In fact in cases like this the local cops will have alerted all local garages to be on the look out for a similar vehicle, as they know a cleansing is a way of destroying forensic evidence.
Sorry, but this wee girl isn't coming home. ****er should hang by the balls until he is dead.
03-10-2012, 06:00 PM
Desperately sad and whilst appreciating the guy is only a suspect and has not been found guilty of anything, not even charged yet to my knowledge, it does make one wonder if legalized torture was introduced whether the bairn would be found a lot quicker.
Its a real moral dilemma this one. In any civilised society the thought of torture for any purpose should be dismissed out of hand.
But .... Say you have a Hollywood film type situation where someone has admitted planting a bomb, knowing it will go off, but refusing to say where or when,
In a situation like that has such a person given up their human rights?
Or ... lets say its the Ian Brady situation, where he knows the whereabouts of the body of one of the kids he and Hindley killed, but has effectively tortured the kids family for decades by refusing to reveal where the body is, just for his own sadistic pleasure. Under strict supervision and with the consent of a high court judge and perhaps Parliament ... would it be so wrong to attache electrodes to his nads for a couple of minutes.
Goes against everything I believe in to be honest .... but watching that poor wee girls mother on the news tonight I have to ask the question ...... should that decision be left to her ?
Johnny0762
03-10-2012, 06:31 PM
[/B]Its a real moral dilemma this one. In any civilised society the thought of torture for any purpose should be dismissed out of hand.
But .... Say you have a Hollywood film type situation where someone has admitted planting a bomb, knowing it will go off, but refusing to say where or when,
Or ... lets say its the Ian Brady situation, where he knows the whereabouts of the body of one of the kids he and Hindley killed, but has effectively tortured the kids family for decades by refusing to reveal where the body is, just for his own sadistic pleasure. Under strict supervision and with the consent of a high court judge and perhaps Parliament ... would it be so wrong to attache electrodes to his nads for a couple of minutes.
Goes against everything I believe in to be honest .... but watching that poor wee girls mother on the news tonight I have to ask the question ...... should that decision be left to her ?
Very interesting points of view. I can only add that it would seem barbaric if the cops were torturing the wrong man.
Perhaps the reintroduction of the death penalty for those convicted in a court of law, who all along refused to cooperate and give the authorities the vital information, would be acceptable?
Why should they get solitary confinement protection, rehabilitation and finally, a new identity and enough money so that he never has to work in the public eye risking exposing his true identity, at the vast cost to those he has wronged with this most heinous and vile of crimes?
Johnny0762
03-10-2012, 06:32 PM
Just to add, no doubt when it comes to court we'll hear how the army destroyed his life and made him this way. The public funded QCs are questionable at times like this also.
03-10-2012, 06:50 PM
look at that photo of mark bridger then compare it with ian huntly, they both have the exact same eyes and expression. ...GUILTY!!!!!
Johnny0762
03-10-2012, 06:56 PM
look at that photo of mark bridger then compare it with ian huntly, they both have the exact same eyes and expression. ...GUILTY!!!!!
He's yer man alright. No doubt about it.
04-10-2012, 06:12 AM
[/B]Its a real moral dilemma this one. In any civilised society the thought of torture for any purpose should be dismissed out of hand.
You are absolutely correct Bovril. It goes against everything I believe in as well however I put myself in the position of that poor family and think if that was my granddaughter what would I do. Apart from, and I mean this seriously, doing everything in my power to ensure the guy never breathed another breath, I would be cutting off parts of his body until he told me where she was. Electrodes to the bollox was what I posted on FB yesterday so we are on the same lines there as well.
04-10-2012, 08:37 AM
Hope you never sit on a jury. :greengrin Anyone could have a photo like that and when linked with this sort of case all would think guilty. Lets see how it pans out.
The fact we are basing the colour and type of car and indeed that she got into a car/van at all on the testimony of 5 year old children is problematic to be honest. I thought it a little odd the police had the family make an impassioned plea when they have someone in custody. This is usually done to flush out a family member usually however cant imagine that this would be the case here.
04-10-2012, 09:04 AM
Torturing a suspect to get information a 'moral dilemma'? No it isnt, or at least it shouldnt be. Leaving the obvious moral question aside, it just doesnt work. Youre as likely to get lies or contradictory information, the victim will say anything to stop the pain. Former FBI guy Ali Soufan has spoken well on this before. it can jeopardise a future court case and will encourage the increase of its misuse in countries without a proper judicial system.
http://www.guardian.co.uk/science/the-lay-scientist/2010/nov/04/2
Having seen a bit of this on sky news yesterday, I can't see this ending well.
I think the police think she is in the water, awful for the family. Infact a nightmare.
04-10-2012, 01:18 PM
If he's saying nothing and they find nothing to link her to the car or his house then he goes free on Saturday.
And it's worth bearing in mind how badly some people got it wrong with the landlord from Bristol.
04-10-2012, 02:19 PM
Torturing a suspect to get information a 'moral dilemma'? No it isn't or at least it shouldn't be. Leaving the obvious moral question aside, it just doesn't work. You're as likely to get lies or contradictory information, the victim will say anything to stop the pain. Former FBI guy Ali Soufan has spoken well on this before. it can jeopardise a future court case and will encourage the increase of its misuse in countries without a proper judicial system.
My thoughts exactly.
There is the assumption that the man whom the police have detained must be the man responsible for the wee girl's abduction. He may well be. Equally, he may well not be. WE on this forum don't know. So supposing we end up torturing a man who's entirely innocent, a man with no knowledge of where the wee girl is? That's not a moral dilemma - that's a moral atrocity.
Or suppose he's guilty, but he doesn't talk? As the fat man says in "The Maltese Falcon", beating or torturing a prisoner to extract information is a business "that calls for the most delicate judgement on both sides. 'Cause as you know, sir, in the heat of action men are likely to forget where their best interests lie and let their emotions carry them away...." In other words, the torturers mustn't go too far and kill the guy, while the guy himself has to be sure not to be so stubborn as to exasperate the torturers to the point of not caring whether they kill him or not.
And the torturers have no guarantee whatsoever that the information the guy gives them is true, until they test it. By which time, in a case like this, it's probably too late.
Sadly, in this case, I think it's already too late. Much too late.
The NKVD in the 1930's didn't torture people to extract information from them - they tortured them to get them to say what the Party wanted them to say, and to break them so thoroughly that they'd continue to say it at their trials, even though by that time they knew they were going to be shot. That's what torture's good at - breaking people so that they'll do what you want them to. It's not any sort of a dependable method of extracting information.
04-10-2012, 04:42 PM
It doesn't sound good does it.
Fingers crossed the poor girl is found safe and well. :pray:
04-10-2012, 05:32 PM
You are absolutely correct Bovril. It goes against everything I believe in as well however I put myself in the position of that poor family and think if that was my granddaughter what would I do. Apart from, and I mean this seriously, doing everything in my power to ensure the guy never breathed another breath, I would be cutting off parts of his body until he told me where she was. Electrodes to the bollox was what I posted on FB yesterday so we are on the same lines there as well.
That's why we pay people like the police to think rationally at times like these. Otherwise we might end up getting the wrong man and the crimes would continue.
Can't say I'm in favour of torture or summary justice. It would encourage vigilantes, and make it easy for paedophiles to use scapegoats as a distraction. All that stuff about kids getting stolen by the gypsies, or the circus, or sold to the white slave trade was a way for local rings to mask their activities.
04-10-2012, 06:02 PM
Yeah, I'm not in favour of torturing people to get information. Leave that to the various countries where we've not yet managed to forceably install a democracy.
HibeeEmma
04-10-2012, 07:04 PM
My gut instincts tell me they have the right man. His Landrover Disco is the same type and colour as the one the kids reported, and he was picked up walking from a garage where he had left his car. I presume he put his car in for a valleting (doesn't bear thinking about why) and the garage immediately called the cops after putting two and two together.
In fact in cases like this the local cops will have alerted all local garages to be on the look out for a similar vehicle, as they know a cleansing is a way of destroying forensic evidence.
Sorry, but this wee girl isn't coming home. ****er should hang by the balls until he is dead.
they are also going to the extent to dig up paved stones around his house.
04-10-2012, 07:17 PM
Maybe it's just ridiculous wishful thinking but I have a feeling they'll find her alive in a house somewhere and it's going to be a (relatively) happy ending :dunno:
04-10-2012, 10:50 PM
Torturing a suspect to get information a 'moral dilemma'? No it isnt, or at least it shouldnt be. Leaving the obvious moral question aside, it just doesnt work. Youre as likely to get lies or contradictory information, the victim will say anything to stop the pain. Former FBI guy Ali Soufan has spoken well on this before. it can jeopardise a future court case and will encourage the increase of its misuse in countries without a proper judicial system.
I totally agree with you Hibsbollah. Thats why sometimes you just have to accept, that at least in part, the world is fkd up.
There are so many valid arguments against torture that it really is blown out of the water as a means to a satisfactory end. Just to make myself clear ... That is the only reason I mentioned it. The truth is that it is so open to abuse ( a bizzare statement in itsself ) that it cant even be contemplated.
It really does show how sad things have become that pinko wishey washey liberals like me are even talking about it..... despair I suppose.
What a bloody world ..... eh!
04-10-2012, 11:21 PM
So sad, makes you wonder what kind if people can do these things, although often it is people who have been abused themselves. Would be great if she's found okay but can't think of many where a kid goes missing like this and is found okay... :(
04-10-2012, 11:26 PM
Heartbreaking.
I just feel so sorry for her mother, I cannot begin to imagine what she must have been going through since Monday night.
Every photo I've seen of her, she just seems like such a bubbly wee soul, she's got such a lovely smile. It's beyond comprehension how anyone could possibly even dream of harming a child of that age.
I hope and pray that she will be found alive and well but more than 72 hours after her disappearance, with the search apparently going nowhere fast, you've really got to prepare yourself for the worst, particularly when you consider that she has a couple of medical conditions for which she relies on medication to keep them under control.
If she is still alive, and someone knows where she is, then I just hope that they come forward and get her back where she belongs with her family.
05-10-2012, 05:21 AM
Of course I am totally against torture of any kind in reality. However, what can be done to get the information needed? If the info was gleaned as soon as this guy was arrested (Assuming he is in fact guilty) then assuming yet again she was not already dead then there is a good chance she could be found. Not going to find her alive now sadly IMO. I know it is not the rational thoughts of an intelligent man (at least people tell me I am) but I cannot help but think what I would do if this was my granddaughter.
Just thought of something. Acid. Was that not developed as a truth drug?
05-10-2012, 08:40 AM
Maybe it's just ridiculous wishful thinking but I have a feeling they'll find her alive in a house somewhere and it's going to be a (relatively) happy ending :dunno:
Certainly hope so and wouldnt completely rule it out however the kid apparently has cerebral palsy and also a bowel condition which means she needs to have regular medication so would be in some discomfort if still alive at all.
05-10-2012, 09:13 AM
I totally agree with you Hibsbollah. Thats why sometimes you just have to accept, that at least in part, the world is fkd up.
There are so many valid arguments against torture that it really is blown out of the water as a means to a satisfactory end. Just to make myself clear ... That is the only reason I mentioned it. The truth is that it is so open to abuse ( a bizzare statement in itsself ) that it cant even be contemplated.
It really does show how sad things have become that pinko wishey washey liberals like me are even talking about it..... despair I suppose.
What a bloody world ..... eh!
My first elemental reaction as a father of young girls is i want to extract extreme violent retribution on these kind of criminals. That kind of thinking just eats away at you though...best to let it be. Maybe its time to start discussing the 'chemical castration' argument again? theres a case that it doesnt work because rape is about power not sex per se,but 'something has to be done' as the Daily Mail would say.
05-10-2012, 09:47 AM
the poor wee lassie must be dead :( heartbreaking for all concerned
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-wales-19843337 (http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-wales-19843337)
The man held for the past three days over the disappearance of five-year-old April Jones has been arrested on suspicion of murder.
StevesFamau5
05-10-2012, 11:28 AM
Latest news is it is now a murder investigation... Absolutlely devastating news for the family. Thoughts and prayers are with them.
Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2
05-10-2012, 11:50 AM
My first elemental reaction as a father of young girls is i want to extract extreme violent retribution on these kind of criminals. That kind of thinking just eats away at you though...best to let it be. Maybe its time to start discussing the 'chemical castration' argument again? theres a case that it doesnt work because rape is about power not sex per se,but 'something has to be done' as the Daily Mail would say.
'Something' will be done - he'll be put in prison if he's guilty. And before anyone starts, no he won't be out in 5 years for 'good behaviour'.
You are right that chemical castration is apparently not effective in many cases (although, is it not being used for some offenders?? Maybe not in UK, not sure), and in this case where it appears to have been a murder, then I am not sure how it would have helped? Doing it after the fact won't bring this girl back either.
I'd also suggest that battering such characters probably won't stop them re-offending either.
05-10-2012, 01:06 PM
Horrible news. Looks like Police think she could be in the river. Horrific.
05-10-2012, 01:17 PM
Horrible news.
Absolute ****bag.
05-10-2012, 02:17 PM
Horrific. It just gets worse. If he is guilty, the destruction is magnified by the fact that he has children of his own. How are they supposed to come to terms with this? Sometimes I actually feel revulsion abut being human.
05-10-2012, 02:37 PM
Horrific. It just gets worse. If he is guilty, the destruction is magnified by the fact that he has children of his own. How are they supposed to come to terms with this? Sometimes I actually feel revulsion abut being human.
Its a horrible horrible state of affairs and I feel like were not being told the whole truth here......they must have reason to believe she is dead, what is it? They must have reason to believe she is in he river, why? Unless this **** of a man has admitted it (which I would guess would have been on the news if he had) there is then also the motive. WHY did this man kill a poor innocent girl whom he knew?
We Don’t need the full story, if the police or press were to publish or imply something then the trial would be jeopardised, a lot worse than the general public not knowing the facts IMHO
05-10-2012, 04:28 PM
We Don’t need the full story, if the police or press were to publish or imply something then the trial would be jeopardised, a lot worse than the general public not knowing the facts IMHO
Quite! The details actually none of the public's business at the moment. It's not in the public interest to jeopardise the trial.
The usual nutters will get the opportunity to shout at and chase the prison van down the street outside the court, but for now, the cops should be left to do their job and focus on the priorities, instead of being diverted to give a blow-by-blow account of the details of their investigations.
05-10-2012, 04:43 PM
Its a horrible horrible state of affairs and I feel like were not being told the whole truth here......they must have reason to believe she is dead, what is it? They must have reason to believe she is in he river, why? Unless this **** of a man has admitted it (which I would guess would have been on the news if he had) there is then also the motive. WHY did this man kill a poor innocent girl whom he knew?
Well they have the car so DNA and other indicators could be giving them a pretty clear indication, who knows?
Hate these things, the Madeleine McCann story still gives me the creeps. I have a daughter her age so I suppose that makes it even more of a bogey man story for me.
05-10-2012, 04:49 PM
Well they have the car so DNA and other indicators could be giving them a pretty clear indication, who knows?
Hate these things, the Madeleine McCann story still gives me the creeps. I have a daughter her age so I suppose that makes it even more of a bogey man story for me.
The capacity for people to do bad things never fails to surprise me. There's some bad, bad people in the world.
05-10-2012, 05:00 PM
The capacity for people to do bad things never fails to surprise me. There's some bad, bad people in the world.
There's something particularly insidious and unnnerving about this though. Bad enough that it trades in and betrays the innocence, vulnerability and trust of our children, but so much scarier because more often than not the people involved seem to turn out to be family or friends. As a parent it makes you really wonder whether you can spot the bad guys coming.
05-10-2012, 05:37 PM
It's at times like this that my stance against capital punishment is really tested to the limit.
It's not something I've ever agreed with and I've always said that no-one has the right to take the life of another human being, regardless of the circumstances.
However, if you're someone who is capable of murdering a defenceless, innocent person of just five years of age, there is a very strong argument that says you don't deserve to live and you should face the ultimate punishment.
Although I would still personally oppose the reintroduction of the death penalty in this country if I was asked to vote in a referendum, I can't honestly argue with anyone who says that someone convicted of abducting and murdering a five year old child should be executed.
05-10-2012, 05:44 PM
It's at times like this that my stance against capital punishment is really tested to the limit.
It's not something I've ever agreed with and I've always said that no-one has the right to take the life of another human being, regardless of the circumstances.
However, if you're someone who is capable of murdering a defenceless, innocent person of just five years of age, there is a very strong argument that says you don't deserve to live and you should face the ultimate punishment.
Although I would still personally oppose the reintroduction of the death penalty in this country if I was asked to vote in a referendum, I can't honestly argue with anyone who says that someone convicted of abducting and murdering a five year old child should be executed.
Pretty much this.
The death penalty is something I've always been strongly opposed to. However cases like this genuinely upset me more than anything and it really does make a small part of my mind doubt my convictions.
05-10-2012, 06:03 PM
Pretty much this.
The death penalty is something I've always been strongly opposed to. However cases like this genuinely upset me more than anything and it really does make a small part of my mind doubt my convictions.
This is my opinion too.
I'm not known for getting emotional, in fact, I tend to analyse things abstractly. However at times like this I find myself getting genuinely upset and my morals are pushed to the limit.
I'm still against capital punishment - for various reasons - but I don't think that people who murder and do other terrible things to vulnerable people, especially children, deserve to have a life.
05-10-2012, 06:28 PM
'Something' will be done - he'll be put in prison if he's guilty. And before anyone starts, no he won't be out in 5 years for 'good behaviour'.
You are right that chemical castration is apparently not effective in many cases (although, is it not being used for some offenders?? Maybe not in UK, not sure), and in this case where it appears to have been a murder, then I am not sure how it would have helped? Doing it after the fact won't bring this girl back either.
I'd also suggest that battering such characters probably won't stop them re-offending either.
No need to be quite so snooty with your last sentence, I was pointing out that despite atavistic feelings of anger and revenge (I believe this is a natural reaction as a parent, and which we probably took from us from the primordial sludge), it doesnt help you, the victim or resolving the crime.
I'm not sure where I stand on the chemical castration thing, but if it does something about sexual violence by repeat offenders it deserves consideration, depending on whether the specialists say its effective or not.
06-10-2012, 02:45 AM
No need to be quite so snooty with your last sentence, I was pointing out that despite atavistic feelings of anger and revenge (I believe this is a natural reaction as a parent, and which we probably took from us from the primordial sludge), it doesnt help you, the victim or resolving the crime.
I'm not sure where I stand on the chemical castration thing, but if it does something about sexual violence by repeat offenders it deserves consideration, depending on whether the specialists say its effective or not.
It wasn't meant to sound snooty, honestly. Can see why you think it might though! :greengrin It was just your point got me thinking about how many people are quick to declare how they'd do this and that to such a person, but really what good does it do? It was just a general point that these people have such deep rooted psychological issues that a kick in from some vigilante does not actually change their warped thinking and actually could even alienate them further from society thereby increasing their chance of re-offending.
So, the point wasn't quite directed specifically at you and not meant to sound like it did. Nae offence intended.
06-10-2012, 03:18 PM
Been charged with abduction, murder, and preventing the course of justice.
07-10-2012, 02:08 PM
I'm a bit concerned that the whole thing is being conducted in the full glare of the media. Police are so worried about their image nowadays that they've one eye on the next press conference.
I'd rather they were concentrating on the search if I was a relative of a missing child, which praise the lord I never will be. Doesn't matter what viewers in Tunbridge Wells are wanting to know as they munch on their TV dinners.
Twa Cairpets
07-10-2012, 06:10 PM
I'm a bit concerned that the whole thing is being conducted in the full glare of the media. Police are so worried about their image nowadays that they've one eye on the next press conference.
I'd rather they were concentrating on the search if I was a relative of a missing child, which praise the lord I never will be. Doesn't matter what viewers in Tunbridge Wells are wanting to know as they munch on their TV dinners.
The holding of a press conference does not mean a search goes on hold - the two things aren't linked. When the requirement is to publicise the abduction in the hope of getting help and information, it isn't something done for the sake of PR or a public appetite for awfulness.
The fact it is so publcised is because it is so rare, and so abhorrent to most people. I think your post is showing inverse snobbery - you have after all posted about the case!
07-10-2012, 06:33 PM
The holding of a press conference does not mean a search goes on hold - the two things aren't linked. When the requirement is to publicise the abduction in the hope of getting help and information, it isn't something done for the sake of PR or a public appetite for awfulness.
The fact it is so publcised is because it is so rare, and so abhorrent to most people. I think your post is showing inverse snobbery - you have after all posted about the case!
I can see here today's point. Its a fine line between the media showing genuine public interest and doing it because it's shocking and it sells papers. I, personally, would rather never have heard about the story but it's been impossible to ignore. I don't want it censored, maybe just toned down a bit.
Twa Cairpets
07-10-2012, 07:07 PM
I can see here today's point. Its a fine line between the media showing genuine public interest and doing it because it's shocking and it sells papers. I, personally, would rather never have heard about the story but it's been impossible to ignore. I don't want it censored, maybe just toned down a bit.
Yes, fair point, but as it did happen, the best hope of getting a result involved massive publicity. Some of the more "Drop the Dead Donkey" style reporting is to me an acceptable downside. After all, there is an off button, or a choice not to read an article.
07-10-2012, 07:13 PM
Yes, fair point, but as it did happen, the best hope of getting a result involved massive publicity. Some of the more "Drop the Dead Donkey" style reporting is to me an acceptable downside. After all, there is an off button, or a choice not to read an article.
Hmmm, maybe. My kids are now very aware of it, which is a definite downside. And they don't have the ability to understand how rare this kind of thing is.
Twa Cairpets
07-10-2012, 07:28 PM
Hmmm, maybe. My kids are now very aware of it, which is a definite downside. And they don't have the ability to understand how rare this kind of thing is.
But what would the alternative have been?
Complete silence to protect us from the unpleasant truth, marginal coverage to say "this has happened" and then instantly forgotten, or a full on media bombardment, doubtless with the approval and management of the police?
If I'd been the parents I know which one I'd have wanted if it increased the chances of a positive outcome. It's similar to the media coverage of the Soham murders to an extent - it is something people are morbidly interested. Whether or not this is right or wrong or an indictment of modern society I dont know, but you do get drawn in because it seems such a personal and cruel crime.
I have a slight connection to the family of one of Robert Blacks victims. Even though it is a long time ago, i know they felt that the effect created by the publicity was something they (predominantly) welcomed as it was supportive.
07-10-2012, 07:54 PM
But what would the alternative have been?
Complete silence to protect us from the unpleasant truth, marginal coverage to say "this has happened" and then instantly forgotten, or a full on media bombardment, doubtless with the approval and management of the police?
If I'd been the parents I know which one I'd have wanted if it increased the chances of a positive outcome. It's similar to the media coverage of the Soham murders to an extent - it is something people are morbidly interested. Whether or not this is right or wrong or an indictment of modern society I dont know, but you do get drawn in because it seems such a personal and cruel crime.
I have a slight connection to the family of one of Robert Blacks victims. Even though it is a long time ago, i know they felt that the effect created by the publicity was something they (predominantly) welcomed as it was supportive.
I don't know. No easy answers to these kind of things.
07-10-2012, 08:52 PM
As is always the case when a child is abducted, we struggle to make sense of any of it.
Why was she out alone and getting into somebody's car at 7 p.m?
Was the guy charged really a friend of the family? In which case, why, when he saw April walking along, did he suddenly think 'here's my chance to kill her'?
It's too disturbing to comprehend on rational grounds. I'm opposed to the death penalty on moral as well as well as practical grounds, but is a man who murders a child worthy of existence? Probably not, but I can't buy into the taking of life by the state. Thankfully such crimes are very rare, but the fact they happen at all leaves us questioning ourselves about what it means to be human and the extremes of behaviour human beings are capable of.
And why are men so much more likely to commit such crimes? Is it hormonal and thus biological, or is it something else?
It's terrifying and makes us confront so much that we wish to avoid.
11-10-2012, 03:13 PM
Been charged with abduction, murder, and preventing the course of justice.
To be charged with this IMO must mean that rightly so they are holding back full details, to charge a person with no body found leads me to think that blood evidence has been found of an amount to likely mean death or something of that ilk.