View Full Version : NHC John Terry retires from England, FA ban him for racism

23-09-2012, 08:41 PM
Am I alone in saying that I cannot stand John Terry. I see now that he has retired from England.

Maybe it's playing with a teammates wife. Or the Ferdinand 'race' issue. Or the arrogance!

I really do find it fitting that he had a penalty in the Champions League Final to win it for his team, the team he supported as a boy and he missed it! Cruel, but very amusing.

So whats your thoughts on John Terry?

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/19695430

23-09-2012, 08:45 PM
Immense centre half, absolute welt of a human being.

hibeelady
23-09-2012, 08:47 PM
Cannot stand him - just vile

23-09-2012, 08:49 PM
Only John Terry has made John Terry's position untenable.

23-09-2012, 09:14 PM
He comes across as having no class whatsoever. The type of guy you would cross the street to avoid talking to. Still, he has all the money in the world and no doubt doesn't give a toss what I think.

23-09-2012, 09:15 PM
When England win another world cup in 22 years expect to see him on the pitch in his England strip celebrating at the end.

Good riddance.

23-09-2012, 09:32 PM
Am I alone in saying that I cannot stand John Terry. I see now that he has retired from England.

Maybe it's playing with a teammates wife. Or the Ferdinand 'race' issue. Or the arrogance!

I really do find it fitting that he had a penalty in the Champions League Final to win it for his team, the team he supported as a boy and he missed it! Cruel, but very amusing.

:aok: Totally agree, the man is an arrogant, self important prick. Who the **** wears their full kit including shinpads to a match (albeit an important one) that you're banned from playing in, then grab the captains armband before you go up to collect the trophy.

23-09-2012, 09:39 PM
Good player.

Sorry excuse for a human being.

23-09-2012, 10:15 PM
John Terry... Son of a welt. Brother of a welt. King of all welts.

23-09-2012, 11:30 PM
The thing that still gets to me is it took the fa till now to have a hearing for this total **** bag, but for Saurez it took about 30 seconds for him to be put to the sword. Not that I'm sticking up for Saurez they are both deplorable for their actions!

Greendub
23-09-2012, 11:33 PM
I think he's a fanny

24-09-2012, 12:00 AM
John Terry is a prick. End Of! :aok:

24-09-2012, 12:37 AM
Gooooooooood Riddance ! Egotistical eejit, oh and I hear he's a racist too !?

24-09-2012, 01:15 AM
Gooooooooood Riddance ! Egotistical eejit, oh and I hear he's a racist too !?

More allegations?? Do tell.

Seriously, I don't mind him. On the pitch he's immense and an icon for club and country.

Off the pitch he seems pretty arrogant and while he has this quality in abundance there are plenty of other footballers out there who are just as bad. However, I don't think people are quite as interested and it isn't reported as much because it isn't "England's captain" involved.
I'm sure he does plenty good, charitable things away from football that aren't quite so well documented. He's a bit of a knob by all accounts but you have to admit he has been good value. A pantomime villain that makes football that little bit more interesting and even gives some matches extra significance and edge.

I don't think he's arrogant and full of himself because he's a footballer. I think he's a footballer because he is so arrogant and full of himself...and he works damn hard to make up for his shortcomings and put himself where he thinks he belongs.

...and lastly I don't blame him telling the FA to shove it. I think he's bang on in this instance.

24-09-2012, 01:20 AM
The thing that still gets to me is it took the fa till now to have a hearing for this total **** bag, but for Saurez it took about 30 seconds for him to be put to the sword. Not that I'm sticking up for Saurez they are both deplorable for their actions!

It's because the Terry matter went to court and Suarez didn't. Someone got that offended that they complained to the police and it became a criminal matter.

Why should the FA bring action against Terry when he has been dealt with already?

24-09-2012, 03:43 AM
Great player but I take great amusement in knowing he spent every waking moment of his life fantasising about that penalty in the final only to blow it. Complete bell of a man and the quicker he and his troll-like brother are out football the better.

24-09-2012, 09:04 AM
It's because the Terry matter went to court and Suarez didn't. Someone got that offended that they complained to the police and it became a criminal matter.

Why should the FA bring action against Terry when he has been dealt with already?

The way that comes across it reads like you're suggesting someone shouldn't have been offended by what they perceived as racism.

Hibs On Tour
24-09-2012, 09:41 AM
Maybe it's playing with a teammates wife. Or the Ferdinand 'race' issue.

It wasn't their wife. It was an EX-girlfriend. FFS Bridge wasn't even still with the girl when JT got together with her...

Would that be the Ferdinand 'race' issue that he was found not guilty for in a court of law?

I don't really give a monkeys one way or the other about John Terry but if you're gonna have a go at him, at least do yourself the courtesy of basing it on facts...

24-09-2012, 09:48 AM
It wasn't their wife. It was an EX-girlfriend. FFS Bridge wasn't even still with the girl when JT got together with her...

Would that be the Ferdinand 'race' issue that he was found not guilty for in a court of law?

I don't really give a monkeys one way or the other about John Terry but if you're gonna have a go at him, at least do yourself the courtesy of basing it on facts...

An ex girlfriend who was a close friend of his wife and the mother of Wayne Bridges child. Still well off limits.

24-09-2012, 09:58 AM
An ex girlfriend who was a close friend of his wife and the mother of Wayne Bridges child. Still well off limits.

So what your saying is no one else is allowed to sleep with the girl because she has a child?

24-09-2012, 10:08 AM
Decent player for Chelsea, out of his depth at international level. Surprised it took him this long.

24-09-2012, 10:09 AM
So what your saying is no one else is allowed to sleep with the girl because she has a child?

Absolutely not what I'm saying.

But Terry and Bridge were good friends and regularly socialised with their respective partners. The key points are John Terry was still married and began an affair only a few weeks after his mate and his girlfriend split up. The fact they had a young child together is obviously incidental but its still relevant in that it complicates matters.

Would you have sex with your mates ex behind your wifes back?

magpie1892
24-09-2012, 10:13 AM
As always, it's all about John Terry. He knew the FA hearing was coming two months ago, yet chooses the day of the hearing itself to call time on his England career.

Is there anything in this utter fanny's world that considers anything other than John Terry? Evidently not.

Total fud.

magpie1892
24-09-2012, 10:19 AM
Great (true) story about when Capello rang Terry to meet with him about the Vanessa Perroncel thing, to strip him of the captaincy. Capello calls Terry and says he wants to see him. Terry replies: 'Sure. Do you want to come to Chelsea's training ground or to my house?'. Capello: 'No, John. You come to see me, at Wembley'.

Tells you all you need to know about the 'man' and the level of his arrogance.

24-09-2012, 11:08 AM
Great (true) story about when Capello rang Terry to meet with him about the Vanessa Perroncel thing, to strip him of the captaincy. Capello calls Terry and says he wants to see him. Terry replies: 'Sure. Do you want to come to Chelsea's training ground or to my house?'. Capello: 'No, John. You come to see me, at Wembley'.

Tells you all you need to know about the 'man' and the level of his arrogance.

I can only hope AVB does a cracking job at Spurs, I could imagine JT would be near impossible to manage.

24-09-2012, 11:11 AM
As always, it's all about John Terry. He knew the FA hearing was coming two months ago, yet chooses the day of the hearing itself to call time on his England career.

Is there anything in this utter fanny's world that considers anything other than John Terry? Evidently not.

Total fud.

:agree: The FA made clear last December that they may take action against him but it wouldn't happen until after any criminal case was concluded. If Terry thought his position was untenable or wanted to take a principled stand he would have retired before the Euros rather than give himself a chance of personal glory in those finals. Waiting until the eve of his hearing is typically petulant and self-centred.

24-09-2012, 11:50 AM
The guy is a great player but off the pitch he is a sleazy, arrogant ********. Can't stand him. Thinks he can strut about like billy big shot and do whatever he likes because he plays football for a living and lots of money. Horrible individual, that doesn't deserve to have the privilege of playing professional football and the life style he does.

Good riddance to bad rubbish.

LeighLoyal
24-09-2012, 11:53 AM
Doesn't he have the best stats year in year out for EPL defenders? Big loss to England imo, not a fan of the guy for all his shennanigans.

Newry Hibs
24-09-2012, 12:00 PM
Absolutely not what I'm saying.

But Terry and Bridge were good friends and regularly socialised with their respective partners. The key points are John Terry was still married and began an affair only a few weeks after his mate and his girlfriend split up. The fact they had a young child together is obviously incidental but its still relevant in that it complicates matters.

Would you have sex with your mates ex behind your wifes back?

But according to the all seeing and never wrong wikipedia, there was no affiar and 2 papers had to apologise to the woman involved.
<http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/John_Terry#Extramarital_affair_allegations>

24-09-2012, 12:04 PM
Doesn't he have the best stats year in year out for EPL defenders? Big loss to England imo, not a fan of the guy for all his shennanigans.

He's always been a top-class centre-half, and Hodgson will miss him and find him very hard to replace.

But I'm slightly amused by the outrage on this thread - an international footballer is egotistical, overbearing, arrogant, inconsiderate, insults opponents, thinks he's the best thing since sliced bread?

I'M SHOCKED - SHOCKED! - THAT SUCH A THING COULD HAPPEN IN THIS DAY AND AGE.

I'm glad that now Terry's gone there's nobody else in the game like him. :devil:

Off the bar
24-09-2012, 12:45 PM
Terry is jumping before he is pushed, when the FA find him guilty of the racism charge (which I think they will) there is no way they could still pick him, he's gone now so it looks like its on his terms.
The man is a massive fud imo.

Apocalypso
24-09-2012, 04:43 PM
John Terry is a massive *****.

24-09-2012, 05:01 PM
The way that comes across it reads like you're suggesting someone shouldn't have been offended by what they perceived as racism.

People can get offended as they like. Going to the police about something that had nothing to do with them was an overreaction in my opinion. That was up to Ferdinand.

24-09-2012, 05:10 PM
Excellent centre half.

His career as a footballer we be over soon. I suspect people will be less inclined to overlook his seedy, sleazy, arrogant qualities after he retires.

coco22
24-09-2012, 05:41 PM
Has everything I would want in a centre half and everything I detest as a person. Had he been less of a cock he might have gone even further in the game.

magpie1892
24-09-2012, 05:47 PM
His career as a footballer we be over soon. I suspect people will be less inclined to overlook his seedy, sleazy, arrogant qualities after he retires.

There will be more than a few people indulging in a little schadenfreude when he retires. I have it on very good authority that he's in quite bad financial trouble, and that with an income of £5 million a year basic. His only chance of a job post-football is at Chelsea but he'll have to take a 98% pay cut I would have thought. He's no chance of getting any media work, mainly because he's a **** but also because no broadcaster will touch him (and rightly so) in terms of the 'Kick it Out' initiative.

What's for him will not go by him.

24-09-2012, 05:49 PM
Has everything I would want in a centre half and everything I detest as a person. Had he been less of a cock he might have gone even further in the game.

Where?

24-09-2012, 05:49 PM

You are not alone mate, you are a member of a massive club. Typically he seems to have quit before the FA got their ruling out and as ever its all been someone else's fault. Prize Erse, surely a candidate for next fax machine operator when he retires.

coco22
24-09-2012, 05:59 PM
[/B]Where?

I think he had potential to be a legendary centre half. Aye, he won stuff but he could have been remembered for his footballing ability. Possibly leading into a managerial career, etc.

As another poster pointed out, nobody will want anything to do with him.

Hibs On Tour
24-09-2012, 06:09 PM

Fact she is the mother of Bridges kid has no bearing. Yes, off-limits because JT was married but for no other reason...

24-09-2012, 06:13 PM
I think he had potential to be a legendary centre half. Aye, he won stuff but he could have been remembered for his footballing ability. Possibly leading into a managerial career, etc.

As another poster pointed out, nobody will want anything to do with him.

As much as I understand your reasons for saying that I think you're kidding yourself if you think that no-one will touch JT when he finishes playing.

coco22
24-09-2012, 06:47 PM
As much as I understand your reasons for saying that I think you're kidding yourself if you think that no-one will touch JT when he finishes playing.

I suppose that you're right, just wishful thinking probably. Would rather not see his dish spoiling my footy viewing.

ancienthibby
27-09-2012, 02:25 PM
Decision announced:

Banned for 4 games; fined £220,000.

27-09-2012, 02:44 PM
Shocking, two weeks wages I presume, although I think that's the max can.

27-09-2012, 03:02 PM
£220k fine = two weeks' wages
4 game ban = served in less than a month
Branded a racist = lifelong reputation

No sympathy.

27-09-2012, 03:03 PM
Double standards here, Saurez gets an 8 game ban for using Racist language but ex England captain only gets 4 games. http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/19723020

27-09-2012, 03:09 PM
A disgrace, you never see a coloured man being brought up for racism, and I bet it happens all the time.

27-09-2012, 03:23 PM
£220k fine = two weeks' wages
4 game ban = served in less than a month
Branded a racist = lifelong reputation

No sympathy.

He wasn't accused of being a racist, it was the usage of the words he used. whether or not used by Ferdinand, he shouldn't repeated them towards him.

27-09-2012, 03:36 PM
He wasn't accused of being a racist, it was the usage of the words he used. whether or not used by Ferdinand, he shouldn't repeated them towards him.

Intro to the BBc story:

"Chelsea captain John Terry has been banned for four matches and fined £220,000 for racially abusing QPR defender Anton Ferdinand."

What do you think this will do to his reputation?

27-09-2012, 03:43 PM
What do you think this will do to his reputation?

Good question, let me see.

Before: total ****.
After: total ****.

Nope, no change. :dunno:

LeighLoyal
27-09-2012, 03:46 PM
So he's been hung out to dry. nae luck.

27-09-2012, 04:13 PM
i have to say (as much as i dislike JT) i can't help thinking that something is all wrong here, Legally found not guilty for essentially this offence, yet the FA have done him for saying a racially offensive word or words? So a white footballer can't ask for example "did you just say i called you a Ni**ER ?" thats not Racist in my opinion :agree: If proven otherwise he deserves everything he gets but if he is actually being truthful then this is a total injustice

27-09-2012, 04:18 PM
i have to say (as much as i dislike JT) i can't help thinking that something is all wrong here, Legally found not guilty for essentially this offence, yet the FA have done him for saying a racially offensive word or words? So a white footballer can't ask for example "did you just say i called you a Ni**ER ?" thats not Racist in my opinion :agree: If proven otherwise he deserves everything he gets but if he is actually being truthful then this is a total injustice

You soon won't be able to have the name ..... cocopops.;-)

27-09-2012, 05:26 PM
A disgrace, you never see a coloured man being brought up for racism, and I bet it happens all the time.

The term is BLACK man. That's a 6 match ban for you, Hibs7.... you crazy cracker.

27-09-2012, 05:43 PM
The term is BLACK man. That's a 6 match ban for you, Hibs7.... you crazy cracker.

27-09-2012, 06:23 PM

It lies with what the charge was and also with the burden of proof. In a court of law it has to be proven beyond reasonable doubt (I think), whereas the FA go with (and I forget the exact wording) the balance of probability.

From the court's perspective, the testimonies of either party couldn't be confirmed beyond doubt, and even with the tv footage footage showing Terry using racist language, it can't confirm the context and therefore it's very difficult to prove beyond reasonable doubt that he committed the offence he was charged with.

However, the FA are able to form their opinion on what evidence they have and go with their opinion of events based on that evidence, and therefore they were able to uphold their charge against Terry.

FWIW, rather than playing the victim and retiring from the international side, he should have resigned from the international side with a full and unreserved apology for what he did, and at least have shown the decency to have some remorse for it.

IMHO, he was found not guilty in court because they couldn't prove the charge and NOT because he was innocent. My feeling is that if the case had been held in Scotland it would have returned a "not proven" verdict, rather than "not guilty".

27-09-2012, 06:39 PM
I didn't realise everyone on Hibs net are so perfect, glass houses and all that, skeletons in cupboards, let's see how many can actually reply to this honestly and say they have never done anything wrong .... I won't hold my breath.

27-09-2012, 06:41 PM

God do you know nothing ..... a black man is an ice cream wafer filled with cream and coated in chocolate. ;-)

27-09-2012, 06:49 PM

You are right!

27-09-2012, 08:52 PM

You mean you don't know? Disgraceful!!!!!! :rolleyes:

27-09-2012, 08:55 PM

Have to agree. Sets a bit of a confusing precedent whereby the FA takes the position of a higher authority than a legal court.

Had his ban been for bringing the game into disrepute, I'd have understood it a bit more.

27-09-2012, 09:48 PM
Have to agree. Sets a bit of a confusing precedent whereby the FA takes the position of a higher authority than a legal court.

Had his ban been for bringing the game into disrepute, I'd have understood it a bit more.

I think, as Matty F says, it's not about assuming greater authority so much as not requiring the same standard of proof. There are times when people seek recourse in a civil court (I think), when they have not been able to secure a conviction in a criminal court, for the same reason. There are cases when it appears to everyone concerned that the accused is guilty, but the demands of a criminal court are such that a conviction is not possible. I don't know the details of the John Terry case, but I assume something similar applies - on the available evidence, a footballing conviction is possible, but the boxes cannot be ticked that would land him with a criminal record and sentence.:dunno:

Edit: ...and I'd have done him for bringing the game into disrepute anaw. Just because.:greengrin

27-09-2012, 10:08 PM
You soon won't be able to have the name ..... cocopops.;-)

Hilarious

28-09-2012, 05:15 AM
A week's wages. Bloody hell.

this situation brings it home how crazy football has become on every level.

magpie1892
28-09-2012, 11:07 AM
A week's wages. Bloody hell.

this situation brings it home how crazy football has become on every level.

It's actually two weeks' wages, but your point remains valid.

LeighLoyal
28-09-2012, 11:20 AM
Not sure they can justify the eight week Suarez Negrito ban vs the four week ban for Terry's black b. Is Negrito twice as bad as black b?:confused:

28-09-2012, 11:23 AM
2 weeks wages for being a detestable racist.

Using this logic we should have just put Hitler on the naughty step.

Bonkers.

magpie1892
28-09-2012, 11:41 AM
2 weeks wages for being a detestable racist.

Using this logic we should have just put Hitler on the naughty step.

Bonkers.

Dunno, actually. It's worth considering that he's been cleared in a criminal court of the alleged offence and the FA acting as a superior body to the law of the land is a concern, no matter how repellent you find John Terry as a person (in my case: 'highly').

Second, the (further) damage done to his reputation is significant. I've a feeling he'll suffer more - both financially and emotionally - than just the fortnight's wages going forward, especially as he's nearing the end of his career and is not, you may be surprised to learn given he's on £5m/yr basic, particularly flush.

28-09-2012, 12:00 PM
Dunno, actually. It's worth considering that he's been cleared in a criminal court of the alleged offence and the FA acting as a superior body to the law of the land is a concern, no matter how repellent you find John Terry as a person (in my case: 'highly').

Second, the (further) damage done to his reputation is significant. I've a feeling he'll suffer more - both financially and emotionally - than just the fortnight's wages going forward, especially as he's nearing the end of his career and is not, you may be surprised to learn given he's on £5m/yr basic, particularly flush.

I'm not sure the FA is doing that (although I'm sure they're capable of that level of arrogance); they're just doing a different job, with different guidelines, and different standards of proof.

The FA, like many similar organisations and professsional bodies, is a membership organisation which polices itself, up to the point where the line into illegality is crossed, according to a set of regulations, procedures and sanctions that are agreed by clubs and players as a condition of membership. Many of the regulations and procedures, and their policing, would not - I daresay - stand up in a law court, because they don't meet the requirements for that kind of examination. (We've seen this in action, more than once, when the Old Firm have used lawyers to dismantle the apllication of regulations (that they've agreed to), when it suits them.

An action may not be found to be illegal / criminal, but may be in breach of the standards of an organisation. For example, if Megan Stammers had run away with her teacher on her 16th birthday, he may not be guilty of any alleged offence that he is being pursued for at the moment. He is almost certainly seriously breaching professional guidelines, though, and it would be extremely surprising if he wasn't punished, and struck off, by his governing body. I know that's a bit different, but I don't think it's unusual for people to be unconvictable in a court, for various reasons, but convictable by another body, or a civil court for the same misdemeanour.

28-09-2012, 10:32 PM
I'm surprised that Terry has been found guilty by the FA.

His defence of "I was actually saying that I DIDN'T call you that name" is actually a pretty tight defence because he's not disputing that he uttered the words that he is accused of saying but was using them in such a way that was defensive.

I'm not surprised that the courts found him not guilty and given that verdict, I'm really surprised that the FA has now found him guilty.

I hear lots of people saying that it's because the FA requires a lot less evidence to find someone guilty of a charge than a court of law does but I don't really agree with that.

His defence in court, which saw him cleared, was that he was saying those words in a way that was mocking the suggestion that he had called Anton Ferdinand an effin black "c". His defence in response to the FA charge would have been exactly the same and although everyone knows deep down what happened during that altercation, it's almost impossible to disprove that line of defence.