View Full Version : Bouncers and other stories
15-09-2012, 12:56 PM
Following the Riordan thread and stories of bouncers etc on the main forum I thought this would make for gid chat!
What are your experiences of nights out in Edinburgh? Where did you go? Who did you meet? Any troublesome bouncers or any commendable stories about them? Let's hear it!
15-09-2012, 10:11 PM
Im going to edinburgh for a stag doo on sat so any advice on good pubs/clubs would also be good
15-09-2012, 10:20 PM
When ever I have to deal with complaints regarding door supervisors I always remember one thing, they are always the sober ones!
VickMackie
15-09-2012, 10:43 PM
A friend of mine passed some fake tenner in siglo a couple of years back and got caught. The bouncers and staff decided to let him go instead of getting the police.
I think he was arguing with the bouncer and he turned round to walk away, the bouncer grabbed him from behind with one hand on his back and the other on his belt, picked him up and smashed his face into the pavement. Absolute liberty given he was half the bouncers size.
Another time another mate was refused entry to cav for being too drunk, which he was, they argued and he spat on his top (low, I know). The bouncers grabbed him and took him in a room and kicked the ***** out of him. I had to stop some passing police officers to go in and stop them.
He got sent hame by the police and told nae luck!
Those bouncers were fair enough but could have at least let him have a one on one in the room!
A recent one, I went out with two friends a couple of months back. It was torrential rain and we ran all the way down to a pub to meet another guy who was in there waiting and we just got a kb for having too much even though we were just out and hadn't drunk. What makes it worse is that the friend who was waiting inside was the only person in the bar!
16-09-2012, 06:59 AM
Im going to edinburgh for a stag doo on sat so any advice on good pubs/clubs would also be good
If your going to just about any club try to book VIP/priority entry in advance. Absolute lottery trying to geta group of guys into pubs and clubs in Edinburgh. You could easily find yourself stuck on the streets at midnight.
16-09-2012, 07:06 AM
Don't come!!
Edinburgh is an awful place to come for a stag do...
If you're in group of 3 or more guys you'll get bumped from most places!
Miles behind cities like Newcastle, Liverpool, Blackpool etc when it comes to this :rolleyes:
Matty_Jack04
16-09-2012, 07:38 AM
Don't come!!
Edinburgh is an awful place to come for a stag do...
If you're in group of 3 or more guys you'll get bumped from most places!
Miles behind cities like Newcastle, Liverpool, Blackpool etc when it comes to this :rolleyes:
I went out with 5 guys from work a couple of weeks back down the grass market the amount of times we heard the '5's my unlucky number' line was incredible one lady bouncer ( the ugliest thing i've ever laid eyes on may I add) said that anything over 3 guys is a stag doo....pretty poor attendance for a stag I'd have thought but it shows the mentality these days
In one of my uptown locals that has a bouncer a guy had a heart attack. If it hadn't been for the bouncer the guy would have probably died.
Same bouncer saved a kid who got knocked off his bike by a lorry - he got some sort of award for that one.
Matty_Jack04
16-09-2012, 07:48 AM
A friend of mine passed some fake tenner in siglo a couple of years back and got caught. The bouncers and staff decided to let him go instead of getting the police.
I think he was arguing with the bouncer and he turned round to walk away, the bouncer grabbed him from behind with one hand on his back and the other on his belt, picked him up and smashed his face into the pavement. Absolute liberty given he was half the bouncers size.
Another time another mate was refused entry to cav for being too drunk, which he was, they argued and he spat on his top (low, I know). The bouncers grabbed him and took him in a room and kicked the ***** out of him. I had to stop some passing police officers to go in and stop them.
Those bouncers were fair enough but could have at least let him have a one on one in the room!
A recent one, I went out with two friends a couple of months back. It was torrential rain and we ran all the way down to a pub to meet another guy who was in there waiting and we just got a kb for having too much even though we were just out and hadn't drunk. What makes it worse is that the friend who was waiting inside was the only person in the bar!
Went to cav a wee while back pretty late on wasn't too drunk but had a fair enough crack at it too have the thoughts I may not be allowed in anyway I qued outside and we all went in, I paid at the till then qued to put my jacket in the cloakroom and headed for the bar I must have got halfway to the bar before a bouncer stopped me and said ' think it's time to leave mate' Iv never been back since my mates clocked it as 10mins and I hold the record for shortest stay in clubbing history and at a cost of £12 + £2 for my coat
Matty_Jack04
16-09-2012, 07:58 AM
When ever I have to deal with complaints regarding door supervisors I always remember one thing, they are always the sober ones!
A mate of mine doesn't drink not a drop but is always without fail targeted by these sober door supervisors the vast majority are power hungry bullies IMO minus the one guy mentioned above who helped the guy and the boy he breaks the mold
16-09-2012, 08:46 AM
At times I think this makes them even more pathetic.
They are meant to be professionals but, while sober, they still kick the crap out of people who are clearly unable to defend themselves.
OK, I know they take a lot of abuse but this isn't a vigilante society and you wouldn't accept the cashier at Tesco taking someone round the back and leathering him because the guy has been a complete arse.
16-09-2012, 10:25 AM
At times I think this makes them even more pathetic.
They are meant to be professionals but, while sober, they still kick the crap out of people who are clearly unable to defend themselves.
OK, I know they take a lot of abuse but this isn't a vigilante society and you wouldn't accept the cashier at Tesco taking someone round the back and leathering him because the guy has been a complete arse.
Yeah there are good and bad ones as there are punters, one of the best things I have ever seen was when I was shown some CCTV footage from a venue where the doorman was surrounded by five guys who thought they would give him a kicking as he had been isolated due to trouble elsewhere in the venue. Haha the first guy who stepped forward was laid out very quickly as was the second and third one before the last two ran away :faf:
If I had been told about this without seeing the footage I wouldn't have believed it to be honest, accept that plenty of bouncers can be be dicks and so can plenty of people who they deal with on a regular basis, there will be countless stories against them and countless for them.
16-09-2012, 11:49 AM
Been going out in Edinburgh pretty regularly for 3 years now (usually The Hive so not a massive variety) and have never had any problems with the bouncers like mentioned. I've been kb'd correctly a couple of times for being too drunk and thrown out a couple of times for either sneaking in without paying (sometimes I just get put back in the que for that) or if I've been too lively on the dancefloor and already had a warning.
I usually go in groups of guys (5+) and that has never been an issue.
There have even been a couple of times where I've been told no, I've then - perhaps not sensibly going by this thread - pressed the issue and overturned the decision. My mate once went up to the bouncer and asked if he was in the que; took him a 5 minute chat but eventually got himself in.
After all this I bet I end up with bother tonight. :greengrin
16-09-2012, 02:18 PM
Don't expect a cheap night on George street! Shanghai, opal and why not are the only ones I've been to and I can't say I enjoyed it. Full of pretentious twats. Had better nights at cav and the hive
16-09-2012, 07:30 PM
God I love living in Berlin where we don't have to put up with all that *****. Nice to go into pubs and clubs without having to watch your back all the time.
deeks01
16-09-2012, 09:06 PM
Okay , not Edinburgh related but I feel the need to vent after last night.
Was out in Glasgow last night as it was my 19th and we thought we'd have a bit of a celebration away from the usual haunts in Ayr and the likes. Had a couple of pints and for some reason split a bottle of champagne with a couple of mates before heading to the garage. The first 8 of us , a mix of guys and girls , got in no bother bouncer asked how much we'd had to drink we all replied '2 pints' or '2 glasses of wine' in the girls cases. The final 2 , the most sober one and another who is tee total , got asked 'having a good night?' and replied 'aye having a great night so far' the bouncer said 'to good. You're not getting in.' Myself and 2 others left the club after hearing this and the rest went in without us leaving 5 of us , all guys , to try elsewhere.
We went to bamboo , walked up and the bouncer went 'yer no getting in' I replied 'excuse me? Why not?' and got the reply of 'cause am eh boss now piss off ya ****'. I started to argue as I didn't take kindly to this but the guy behind us tapped me on the shoulder and said 'not worth it mate'. Upon talking to this guy he told us it was probably because there was 5 guys and no girls. The bouncer upon hearing this shouted 'aye and I don't like the wee *******s accent either' then laughed like it was the funniest thing anyone had ever said. I turned to argue again and my mate said 'deek don't be daft we'll just go to Kushion'. The guy behind us again interrupted , and he seemed a decent bloke to be fair , told us the door staff at kushion were even worse and it was pointless to try. Told us to try some of the smaller places.
By this time it was about midnight so we tried a few smaller venues , 4 to be exact , all of which were dead. About 3 people in them in total. The general consensus was 'this is pish' so we went to McDonald's and got so pissed off at the nights events we got a taxi to the hotel picked up our gear and got a taxi home costing about 80 odd quid.
Disaster of a night. Oh and I got unnecessarily winched by a fat old woman cause it was my birthday , was completely uncalled for. Disaster.
Don't know why door staff think its okay to ruin people's nights simply because they can. Had nights out in Newcastle , Manchester and Blackpool and never had problems before. We'd have been better staying in Ayr I've never had a problem there at all even when I am a bit too drunk. Before anyone says it I get that they do an extremely difficult job and have to put up with a lot of pish from drunken idiots but a bit of common sense wouldn't go amiss. None of us were too drunk and none of us were being erses. Won't be back.
16-09-2012, 10:48 PM
Was out in Glasgow last night as it was my 19th and we thought we'd have a bit of a celebration away from the usual haunts in Ayr and the likes. Had a couple of pints and for some reason split a bottle of champagne with a couple of mates before heading to the garage. The first 8 of us , a mix of guys and girls , got in no bother bouncer asked how much we'd had to drink we all replied '2 pints' or '2 glasses of wine' in the girls cases. The final 2 , the most sober one and another who is tee total , got asked 'having a good night?' and replied 'aye having a great night so far' the bouncer said 'to good. You're not getting in.' Myself and 2 others left the club after hearing this and the rest went in without us leaving 5 of us , all guys , to try elsewhere.
We went to bamboo , walked up and the bouncer went 'yer no getting in' I replied 'excuse me? Why not?' and got the reply of 'cause am eh boss now piss off ya ****'. I started to argue as I didn't take kindly to this but the guy behind us tapped me on the shoulder and said 'not worth it mate'. Upon talking to this guy he told us it was probably because there was 5 guys and no girls. The bouncer upon hearing this shouted 'aye and I don't like the wee *******s accent either' then laughed like it was the funniest thing anyone had ever said. I turned to argue again and my mate said 'deek don't be daft we'll just go to Kushion'. The guy behind us again interrupted , and he seemed a decent bloke to be fair , told us the door staff at kushion were even worse and it was pointless to try. Told us to try some of the smaller places.
By this time it was about midnight so we tried a few smaller venues , 4 to be exact , all of which were dead. About 3 people in them in total. The general consensus was 'this is pish' so we went to McDonald's and got so pissed off at the nights events we got a taxi to the hotel picked up our gear and got a taxi home costing about 80 odd quid.
Disaster of a night. Oh and I got unnecessarily winched by a fat old woman cause it was my birthday , was completely uncalled for. Disaster.
Don't know why door staff think its okay to ruin people's nights simply because they can. Had nights out in Newcastle , Manchester and Blackpool and never had problems before. We'd have been better staying in Ayr I've never had a problem there at all even when I am a bit too drunk. Before anyone says it I get that they do an extremely difficult job and have to put up with a lot of pish from drunken idiots but a bit of common sense wouldn't go amiss. None of us were too drunk and none of us were being erses. Won't be back.
I was in ayr a couple of months back.
The bouncer in smiths was brilliant (can't remember his name, he was about 5'8" but could clearly handle himself if needed). He was having banter with everyone, and warned a few people when they were getting out of hand. People listened because he was fair and reasonable.
I wish they were all like that.
16-09-2012, 11:15 PM
Sounds like a right unlucky one there mate! My local nights are in Berwick these days and the bouncers here are great. Polite and generally nice people who would rather people had good fun than feeling the need to stamp their authority.
As much as I hate shanghai, have to commend the bar staff in there on Friday. Had a really nasty burn on my finger from work and asked them if they could help me out. So a couple of them went and got me a couple of plasters. Really nice people, couldn't ask for more!
17-09-2012, 12:52 PM
Ive worked in all types of security from hospitals, hotels, retail and on the doors and you get power hungry twats in all these jobs not just the doors, think it annoys folk more when you are out for the night to have a good time and some idiot decides he doesnt like the look of you so stops you coming in, but there are loads of decent guys on the doors so hopefully we arent all tarred with the same brush
17-09-2012, 02:15 PM
Ive worked in all types of security from hospitals, hotels, retail and on the doors and you get power hungry twats in all these jobs not just the doors, think it annoys folk more when you are out for the night to have a good time and some idiot decides he doesnt like the look of you so stops you coming in, but there are loads of decent guys on the doors so hopefully we arent all tarred with the same brush
Not at all, just seems to be more of the wrong type unfortunately! Wish it wasn't the case but sadly it seems to be that way for most folk.
17-09-2012, 03:22 PM
Had it happen loads in edinburgh normall saying im too drunk and on most occasions probably right, but no more so than most who do get in.
the wetherspoons at the omni centre about 4 years back had not long started in a job and we were having a night out for all new starts it was a sat night and decided to meet there about 6 and take it from there. Hibs were at home so went to the game had 2 pints before and wore no hibs colours and was dressed for the night out, walked up to the door and bouncer said not the night pal, I was like sorry but why not. Just cause was his answer. I explained I was on a works night out and just meeting people here to which he said I dont care not tonight. I was raging so decided to walk into the omni and go in the side entrance to see if i could see my works mates (never had nayone number then) to let them know I wasnt getting in. I was only standing at the door not actually inside and the same bouncer comes running through and pushed me out shouting id youve been told no now **** off. i kept the head and walked away but never been near the place since was raging and had to just get a bottle of buckfast on the bus home to livi haha
17-09-2012, 03:36 PM
I ended up in Silk of all places on Saturday for about the first time in 2 years and the bouncers were brand new. Firsat time in ages I can remember actually having a bit of banter with them. One was a female.
Bacaro bouncers are bawbags. Place is full of ********s aswell, as it was when it was The Lane.
deeks01
17-09-2012, 03:56 PM
I was in ayr a couple of months back.
The bouncer in smiths was brilliant (can't remember his name, he was about 5'8" but could clearly handle himself if needed). He was having banter with everyone, and warned a few people when they were getting out of hand. People listened because he was fair and reasonable.
I wish they were all like that.
think I know the very guy you mean mate. Could be mixing him up with someone else though but either way mind having some banter with a slightly smaller bouncer in Ayr one night asked him if he knew some kind of martial arts since he wasn't fat bald and ugly he winked and replied 'misbehave in here tonight you'll find out'. Wish more bouncers had a sense of humour and as previously alluded to some common sense.
Sounds like a right unlucky one there mate! My local nights are in Berwick these days and the bouncers here are great. Polite and generally nice people who would rather people had good fun than feeling the need to stamp their authority.
As much as I hate shanghai, have to commend the bar staff in there on Friday. Had a really nasty burn on my finger from work and asked them if they could help me out. So a couple of them went and got me a couple of plasters. Really nice people, couldn't ask for more!
Unlucky indeed! From what I'd been hearing from mates at uni in Glasgow its always a great night out... aye right. First place I've ever had any bother. Apart from one time I didn't get into a gig but to be fair I was completely hammered and deserved a kb , wouldn't have any issues if Saturdays kb's were deserved!
That's cracking mate , just shows some staff are pretty damn decent in places. Shame about the ones who feel the need to go on a power trip and ruin peoples nights!
17-09-2012, 03:58 PM
Had it happen loads in edinburgh normall saying im too drunk and on most occasions probably right, but no more so than most who do get in.
the wetherspoons at the omni centre about 4 years back had not long started in a job and we were having a night out for all new starts it was a sat night and decided to meet there about 6 and take it from there. Hibs were at home so went to the game had 2 pints before and wore no hibs colours and was dressed for the night out, walked up to the door and bouncer said not the night pal, I was like sorry but why not. Just cause was his answer. I explained I was on a works night out and just meeting people here to which he said I dont care not tonight. I was raging so decided to walk into the omni and go in the side entrance to see if i could see my works mates (never had nayone number then) to let them know I wasnt getting in. I was only standing at the door not actually inside and the same bouncer comes running through and pushed me out shouting id youve been told no now **** off. i kept the head and walked away but never been near the place since was raging and had to just get a bottle of buckfast on the bus home to livi haha
17-09-2012, 04:51 PM
Don't know why door staff think its okay to ruin people's nights simply because they can. Had nights out in Newcastle , Manchester and Blackpool and never had problems before. We'd have been better staying in Ayr I've never had a problem there at all even when I am a bit too drunk. Before anyone says it I get that they do an extremely difficult job and have to put up with a lot of pish from drunken idiots but a bit of common sense wouldn't go amiss. None of us were too drunk and none of us were being erses. Won't be back.On the subject of Glasgow, the bouncer at Tunnels was the worst i've encountered. A roid-ridden Weegie ****. Bouncer at the Sub Club however was brand new.
deeks01
17-09-2012, 05:34 PM
http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=lxKhL8LdxDY
Well we were all moaning so I thought I'd lighten the mood...
VickMackie
17-09-2012, 06:09 PM
I ended up in Silk of all places on Saturday for about the first time in 2 years and the bouncers were brand new. Firsat time in ages I can remember actually having a bit of banter with them. One was a female.
Bacaro bouncers are bawbags. Place is full of ********s aswell, as it was when it was The Lane.
The bouncers in silk are great. I was in a little drunken scuffle with some idiot outside there. She just broke it up and sent us packing. She knew we were just pissed and I've been in again since.
They let people get on with their night and none of this interrogation pish before you go in.
VickMackie
17-09-2012, 06:10 PM
Bar salsa bouncer is a dick.
David_D
17-09-2012, 09:18 PM
The wetherspoons at the omni centre has changed its door staff now. All of whom I have found very friendly and happy to have some banter with folk.
speedy_gonzales
17-09-2012, 09:51 PM
the wetherspoons at the omni centre about 4 years back
Is this Lloyds bar or somewhere different? I was in Lloyds, again, about 4 years ago, maybe more and there was a lady(term used loosely)bouncer on the internal door to the Omni centre itself. All of a sudden she dropped to the floor, with nobody near her. I ran over and got her in the recovery position, seemed like she had just fainted. The male bouncer on the external door came running over, apparently she radioed to him she felt unwell, seen me on top of her and unceremoniously shoved me to one side. He was all for lifting her up but I shouted in a fairly authoritative voice to leave her to come around herself. If it was a faint, dragging her up would do nothing for her B.P. After a few minutes, she came around, we sat her on a seat in a quiet corner and eventually paramedics came. After 10 minutes of drama, everything returned to normal and all was well.
Not that I was expecting anything, but I received no thanks from any of the staff or management that subsequently turned up.
Fast forward to 1 week later and I was with the same group of guys and we were refused entry to Lloyds, we were not drunk or even rowdy, I casually enquired about his colleague hoping to appeal to his good natured side, fat lot of good that did, "Nut, yer still no gettin' in!", charming!
Cool_Hand_Luke
17-09-2012, 10:24 PM
Me and my mate went out in Glasgow before that Scottish Cup semi-final. Had a few in one of the Wetherspoon pubs with my brother and his mates, then we decided to head on elsewhere after that closed. Cant remember the name of the place but it was a 'Flares' type of place....anyway, my mate had decided to wear white trainers out for the night, not the best thing to do on a night out...but not expecting any bother getting into places. Upon reaching the front of the queue, the doorman informed us no trainers...which was fair enough (even though they were fairly smart trainers). We went out the queue, wandered round the corner and i told him to take off his trainers and stick them in his back pockets, checked he had black socks on, waited 5 mins and then rejoined the queue. Got to the front of the queue, doorman gave us a quick look up and down and ....."in you go lads" :thumbsup:
17-09-2012, 10:36 PM
Me and my mate went out in Glasgow before that Scottish Cup semi-final. Had a few in one of the Wetherspoon pubs with my brother and his mates, then we decided to head on elsewhere after that closed. Cant remember the name of the place but it was a 'Flares' type of place....anyway, my mate had decided to wear white trainers out for the night, not the best thing to do on a night out...but not expecting any bother getting into places. Upon reaching the front of the queue, the doorman informed us no trainers...which was fair enough (even though they were fairly smart trainers). We went out the queue, wandered round the corner and i told him to take off his trainers and stick them in his back pockets, checked he had black socks on, waited 5 mins and then rejoined the queue. Got to the front of the queue, doorman gave us a quick look up and down and ....."in you go lads" :thumbsup:
That old chestnut eh....works all the time apparently :greengrin
In terms of alcohol consumption yes, but in my experience they not always the most sober of people.
Have years of experience clubbing in Edinburgh and have also ran clubs in this city as well as London, Birmingham, Manchester and abroad. It's far from being an easy job to run a door but I've found a lot of "door persons" in Edinburgh to be their own worst enemy when it comes to attitude and their personal moody demeanour. A lot of the time it harms the venue and the promoters. The word "polite" seems foreign to them - they are their to welcome people in as well ensure the club/bar is a safe place to be. Met and worked with a couple of top class guys in Edinburgh but they were a definite minority.
Cool_Hand_Luke
17-09-2012, 11:25 PM
That old chestnut eh....works all the time apparently :greengrin
I had heard it had worked before....so thought we would try it out :greengrin
They must have just had a quick look...saw no white on the feet and let us in...wouldnt hesitate to try it again :thumbsup:
Had another mate that got stopped for the same reason at the old Edwards in Edinburgh...his response of 'Would you train in these' didnt go down too well and he had no luck getting in there :greengrin
18-09-2012, 06:48 AM
Take it on the chin if you get knocked back at the door. Can't see how the decision making process of someone who has chosen a career that a big piece of wood with a handle on it could do, would upset anyone.
20-09-2012, 02:11 PM
http://www.scotsman.com/news/the-party-s-over-grassmarket-businesses-to-tackle-stag-and-hen-night-reputation-and-attract-more-genteel-clientele-1-2537999
20-09-2012, 09:27 PM
http://www.scotsman.com/news/the-party-s-over-grassmarket-businesses-to-tackle-stag-and-hen-night-reputation-and-attract-more-genteel-clientele-1-2537999
What a load of ****.
I really like the Grassmarket.
20-09-2012, 09:45 PM
Not Edinburgh but I once was refused entry to a nightclub because I tripped up the step at the entrance, whilst I was half turned around speaking to one of my friends and trying to walk in. This in the bouncer's mind = too drunk, no entry. It was a mates birthday so everyone else went in with my blessing and I hung about for a while pleading my case. Half an hour later and the bouncer was having none of it, although because I wasn't too intoxicated, and not creating that much of a scene, the police weren't called or anything like that. So, I take my phone out to ring for a taxi when this guy I knew at high school comes flying out the door - man handled by another bouncer. He was screaming at him, most of which I could barely make out, he was much more pissed than I was. I managed to calm him down and he left. As I turn to walk away, mobile back in hand the bouncer says, "Ok, go on then." and I ended up getting in for free.
Turned out to be a pretty good night after that :greengrin
21-09-2012, 12:36 AM
Having worked in various bars I know how easy it is to lose your rag at someone for something when you get called a 'c***' or catch people doing drugs and they threaten to knife you or if someone punches you because they had their 'c***' out and you ask them to leave. The same goes for when you cut someone off or refuse them service in the first place and they lose their rag at you.
Having said that though I have been on the receiving end of some flack from bouncers for various reasons. One wouldn't let me in Fat Cow (now Malone's) after I had finished my work at 9 and went to meet friends because 'I was lying about how much I had to drink' which surprisingly as the time was 9:15 was absolutely nothing.
I got ejected from Hive for using the toilet that isn't in the men's toilet there, just so I had to avoid the guy that tries and sprays you with aftershave and give you a lollipop, and when I left there was a manager and a bouncer waiting there and they said 'the sign says it is out of order, you're leaving and banned for a month.' I asked what sign and the bouncer went 'actually there isn't one, you're still getting binned though' and they wouldn't let me get my jacket or go and tell my friends I had been turfed out.
Another favourite of mine was when I went to Whistlebinkies to see my friends band play and I had cycled there to avoid drinking, and when it was the end of the night we were all sitting there and it was 2:50 or so and the bouncer came round and said drink up you are all leaving in 5 minutes, if not the drinks are getting taken off you. And when I asked about the law, as the final bell for the bar closing hadn't been rung, the guy turned round and said 'I'm the law and if you're not all out I'm taking those drinks and physically chucking you out the bar.' I went over to the bar and asked for the manager and he came over and I complained about the bouncer and he said 'there is nothing we can do' and I obviously replied saying there was a law and 3:15 is the legal time for us to have finished by, even if we weren't going to be there that long. The bouncer, true to his word, grabbed all the drinks and I asked him for his SIA number and he told me to 'pi** off' and called me a 'fat c***' and I left. I was waiting outside for my friends as they were walking in the same direction and I was going to wheel my bike back most of the way home and the bouncer said something about me being a 'fat c***' again as he stood at the door to lock it and I challenged him to say it to my face and he said 'I don't want to lose my job as his boss had warned him before.' Complete tosser.
About a year ago a large group of us met in the grassmarket in the late afternoon. There was around twenty of us aged 25 to 60 and this included a few women.
We walked from there to the bar next to the point hotel and we all got in as we had naturally split into groups of three or four and just walked in. We were there for around two hours playing pool and having nothing other than a great time before the most assertive of the bouncers told us we all had to leave.
The reason was that one of our party was wearing a stone island jumper.:confused:
yeezus.
21-09-2012, 08:41 AM
I'm forever being turned away from nightclubs in Aberdeen. The police informed me that bouncers do not have to give a reason why them aren't letting someone in.
21-09-2012, 05:25 PM
I'm forever being turned away from nightclubs in Aberdeen. The police informed me that bouncers do not have to give a reason why them aren't letting someone in.
They don't but then neither does a supermarket or a hairdresser.
yeezus.
21-09-2012, 06:06 PM
they don't but then neither does a supermarket or a hairdresser.
oic
21-09-2012, 07:33 PM
:agree: Used to love using it in my early days in retail security :greengrin
23-09-2012, 11:59 PM
I do that in the bar I work in if someone has actually done something, sometimes it is just better to not give a reason than to say what is right and what is wrong as it leads to an argument and the person who has been drinking for hours can get aggressive.
Johnny0762
24-09-2012, 12:18 AM
A friend of mine passed some fake tenner in siglo a couple of years back and got caught. The bouncers and staff decided to let him go insteaid of getting the police.
Your mate is a disgusting excuse for a man for spitting on another man.you finding it funny (I know lol) is just as disgusting.
24-09-2012, 01:13 AM
Your mate is a disgusting excuse for a man for spitting on another man.you finding it funny (I know lol) is just as disgusting.
i'm sure the poster you have quoted will answer for himself, but i can't see where he said he found it funny :confused:
24-09-2012, 11:37 AM
The whole having to split into groups is a pile of *****, absolute joke. I've been out in Newcastle, Aberdeen, Dundee, Blackpool etc and got in in groups of 7 or 8 no bother. Up town the bouncers must think you're a crowd of war criminals if there are more than 4 or 5 males in a group.
If you're a group full of peroxide tarts pretending you've got money because you hit George Street on a Saturday night (sad) you'll get in no bother. Ridiculous. A large group of birds will never get turned away up town. Flash of the tits to a sleazy bouncer and in they go.
yeezus.
24-09-2012, 03:14 PM
There was one night I'd had 10 too many and walked into Aberdeen city centre with a mate.
We were queuing up and all of a sudden the bouncer came up and pulled us away from the rest. I thought we were getting VIP treatment or something. He just said "Go home".
I dunno why but it really annoyed me, so I started shouting at him and giving him abuse. The police soon arrived and threatened me at which point I think I left.
Turns out, the only reason they wouldn't let me in was because I was wearing my Hibs top.
Johnny0762
24-09-2012, 03:35 PM
i'm sure the poster you have quoted will answer for himself, but i can't see where he said he found it funny :confused:
The clue is in both our posts. (I know, LOL)
24-09-2012, 04:21 PM
Years ago i was waiting to get into a club, finally got to the front and the bouncer asked me for ID, was pretty strange as i was about 25 at the time, he goes when is your birthday, so i said October 1st, what year?, so i said every year and started Pissing myself laughing, he was raging but luckily his bouncer mate found it as funny as me and let me in for clamping his mate
Another time i went out to Revolution Bar for a birthday party straight from work, where have you been tonight mate? Nowhere bud this is me straight out from work, in you go
It was pouring with rain and i slipped on the top step and commando dived all the way down them, luckily they never saw it as they would have thought i was reekin
24-09-2012, 04:45 PM
This whole mix up needs a forth person commenting on it...
He said 'low'.
24-09-2012, 06:13 PM
ermmmm no, the clue is in what the poster said in his post (low, i know) :confused:
here, try them :wink:
http://www.specsuperstore.com/pictures/pr_72hv.jpg
Johnny0762
24-09-2012, 07:08 PM
ermmmm no, the clue is in what the poster said in his post (low, i know) :confused:
here, try them :wink:
http://www.specsuperstore.com/pictures/pr_72hv.jpg
Ma bad. Apologies all round. (Crawls into corner and hides smiley)
25-09-2012, 05:45 AM
well we had our stag doo on sat and we had mixed responses from door staff. Staff in the pubs couldn't have been nicer, even though there was a few of us and clearly a stag party they let us in without any hassle. Ended up going to Hive(we were on the guest list and had split up into groups) waited 30 minutes to get in to be told think you should try somewhere else. Weren't hammered or rowdy and we had police officers in our group so weren't causing bother but still nothing. Explained we were on the guest list so he had a look at the sheet of paper and said "naw yer still no gettin in". Was raging but what was the point in arguing as he was a beast!! Im glad im never like that with our punters or we would never have anyone come back into our pub
On the plus side. We got the stag on the stage at the burke and hair and the wee lass ripped him to bits so that made up for it!!
25-09-2012, 09:50 AM
A BOUNCER is to be sentenced next month after pleading guilty to the savage attack on a city centre club goer.
Allan MacDougall, 31, head of security for the upmarket Montpelier pub group at the time, kicked and punched reveller Gary Smith, 18, before standing on his neck outside Garibaldi’s on Hanover Street.
MacDougall had originally faced an attempted murder charge when he appeared in court last week but prosecutors accepted his guilty plea to the reduced charge of assaulting Mr Smith to the danger of his life on Boxing Day in 2010.
Prosecutor Tim Niven-Smith told the High Court in Glasgow how MacDougall had rained a number of blows on the apprentice joiner. Mr Smith had been at the club with his brother Stephen when trouble first flared and off-duty bouncer MacDougall was injured. Defence lawyer Gordon Jackson QC said what had been described in court was “far from the whole picture”.
The bar – which had been closed for a month last year after the attack – was allowed to reopen by licensing chiefs.
25-09-2012, 11:02 PM
A BOUNCER is to be sentenced next month after pleading guilty to the savage attack on a city centre club goer.
Allan MacDougall, 31, head of security for the upmarket Montpelier pub group at the time, kicked and punched reveller Gary Smith, 18, before standing on his neck outside Garibaldi’s on Hanover Street.
MacDougall had originally faced an attempted murder charge when he appeared in court last week but prosecutors accepted his guilty plea to the reduced charge of assaulting Mr Smith to the danger of his life on Boxing Day in 2010.
Prosecutor Tim Niven-Smith told the High Court in Glasgow how MacDougall had rained a number of blows on the apprentice joiner. Mr Smith had been at the club with his brother Stephen when trouble first flared and off-duty bouncer MacDougall was injured. Defence lawyer Gordon Jackson QC said what had been described in court was “far from the whole picture”.
The bar – which had been closed for a month last year after the attack – was allowed to reopen by licensing chiefs.
Merry christmas!
I do have to say that is slightly less unacceptable as he was off duty at the time.
30-09-2012, 01:09 PM
On the subject of Glasgow, the bouncer at Tunnels was the worst i've encountered. A roid-ridden Weegie ****. Bouncer at the Sub Club however was brand new.
The sub club bouncers are well known for being sound :agree:
libernian
30-09-2012, 04:04 PM
In terms of alcohol consumption yes, but in my experience they not always the most sober of people.
Have years of experience clubbing in Edinburgh and have also ran clubs in this city as well as London, Birmingham, Manchester and abroad. It's far from being an easy job to run a door but I've found a lot of "door persons" in Edinburgh to be their own worst enemy when it comes to attitude and their personal moody demeanour. A lot of the time it harms the venue and the promoters. The word "polite" seems foreign to them - they are their to welcome people in as well ensure the club/bar is a safe place to be. Met and worked with a couple of top class guys in Edinburgh but they were a definite minority.
i dont think edinburgh is any different to anywhere else. bouncers in london can be truely awful, and hard for no need. a lot are eastern europeans tho so their insults are less rude i find. used to live in france and seen a bouncer literally batter the **** out of someone for having an argument with their girlfriend.
think thats right about getting a kb for no reason in edinburgh though, can feel like your on trial just trying to get in a club.
VickMackie
02-10-2012, 07:15 PM
Ma bad. Apologies all round. (Crawls into corner and hides smiley)
I love winning and argument I wasn't part of. :tee hee:
04-10-2012, 12:49 PM
I’ve tried to stay away from this thread but, what the hell……
I have run various pubs and clubs in Edinburgh, Aberdeen and Dunfermline. I have always made a point of spending as much time on the door as I could to ensure the security are doing their jobs properly. I'm a big guy who usually wears a black suit to work so most think I'm a bouncer. The change in attitude when they realise I'm the GM is hilarious. I have a specific induction which every member of the security must complete which outlines how I expect the punters to be treated and emphasises that they are there to ensure the punters enjoy their night, help stop trouble and not cause it. Every punter should welcomed when they arrive and thanked when they leave. If they don't like how I run the club, that's fine.....go work elsewhere. If they are going to be offended by me over ruling them them, again, go work elsewhere.
The very nature of many door staff means that they can be big, hard men with big egos so it shouldn't come a surprise that some are dicks. However, some are very decent, intelligent guys and girls who will do anything to avoid bother. Some of the stuff I've witnessed my staff be subjected to...and myself, is inexcusable. I've been attacked several times, often by women who only do it because they know you won't hit them back. I've been spat on dozens of times (which door staff seem to think is the worst thing that could happen to them, personally I'd rather that than a kick in the baws), verbally abused nightly, my car vandalised, followed home....all because I was doing my job. My head door man in one club lost an eye after being attacked by a female! One guy who worked for me lost his badge simply for defending himself. I witnessed the entire incident and he did nothing wrong IMO. That was his full time job and he had a young family. Simply not fair.
There are twats in every walk of life, the difference with security is that they are often pretty hardy and they are often dealing with drunks who won't take no for an answer and take some dubious decisions.
speedy_gonzales
04-10-2012, 05:20 PM
My head door man in one club lost an eye after being attacked by a female!
I know the guy that lost his eye when Stilleto'd in George Street a couple of years back. Does make you think, for all the nonsense we put up with from bouncers, by that I mean those going out for a good night and getting short shrift at the door, it's maybe once every week, but for the bouncer, they're seeing it many times every night!
05-10-2012, 07:52 AM
Knew of a guy who was a bouncer down Leith way. He was a very hard man! Managed to get himself scarred for life though by a women who hit him in the face with a comb.
All he was doing was helping to stop another man pelting her boyfriend.
05-10-2012, 07:26 PM
I have run various pubs and clubs in Edinburgh, Aberdeen and Dunfermline. I have always made a point of spending as much time on the door as I could to ensure the security are doing their jobs properly. I'm a big guy who usually wears a black suit to work so most think I'm a bouncer. The change in attitude when they realise I'm the GM is hilarious. I have a specific induction which every member of the security must complete which outlines how I expect the punters to be treated and emphasises that they are there to ensure the punters enjoy their night, help stop trouble and not cause it. Every punter should welcomed when they arrive and thanked when they leave. If they don't like how I run the club, that's fine.....go work elsewhere. If they are going to be offended by me over ruling them them, again, go work elsewhere.
The very nature of many door staff means that they can be big, hard men with big egos so it shouldn't come a surprise that some are dicks. However, some are very decent, intelligent guys and girls who will do anything to avoid bother. Some of the stuff I've witnessed my staff be subjected to...and myself, is inexcusable. I've been attacked several times, often by women who only do it because they know you won't hit them back. I've been spat on dozens of times (which door staff seem to think is the worst thing that could happen to them, personally I'd rather that than a kick in the baws), verbally abused nightly, my car vandalised, followed home....all because I was doing my job. My head door man in one club lost an eye after being attacked by a female! One guy who worked for me lost his badge simply for defending himself. I witnessed the entire incident and he did nothing wrong IMO. That was his full time job and he had a young family. Simply not fair.
There are twats in every walk of life, the difference with security is that they are often pretty hardy and they are often dealing with drunks who won't take no for an answer and take some dubious decisions.
Glad to hear someone is doing a good job.
Teo10
10-10-2012, 10:53 AM
I walked past that incident about 10 minutes after it happened. Words cannot describe how disgusting that was! One of the girls I was out with actually knew your head doorman and was in tears about it all, and no wonder, lost his eye because of some bammer! I have always said stillettos pretty much are weapons for any physco that happens to be out in them