View Full Version : NHC Go yourself Andy boy! US Open Champion (merged)

10-09-2012, 09:40 PM
One set up!

10-09-2012, 09:42 PM
http://cdn.fourfourtwo.com/contentimages/interviews/SWYW.Murray.286.jpg

10-09-2012, 09:46 PM
Go on yoursel' Andy. Channel the spirit of Jaaaaaames McPake. :jmcp:

10-09-2012, 09:53 PM
3-0 up in set 2... So far, so good.

10-09-2012, 10:04 PM
4-1 in the second.. Go Andy!

10-09-2012, 10:17 PM
Serving for the 2nd set.

10-09-2012, 10:21 PM
Uh oh.

Looks like this could go to a tiebreak or lose it ... Biggest set of tennis in his life...

Kenny1875
10-09-2012, 10:28 PM
He's bottled it. Do something Petrie! :grr:

10-09-2012, 10:31 PM

C'mon Fenlon, change something before its too late and it goes 1-1

:confused: 6-5 Murray :agree:

Back on track but he has to win this set

10-09-2012, 10:32 PM
This is an incredible final. COME ON ANDY:thumbsup:

Kenny1875
10-09-2012, 10:32 PM
:confused: 6-5 Murray :agree:

Petrie done something!!! :na na:

10-09-2012, 10:36 PM
Second set Murray.

10-09-2012, 10:37 PM
Go on yourself andy!

10-09-2012, 10:37 PM
Ya fluckin dancer :thumbsup:

10-09-2012, 10:38 PM

Phew:greengrin

Woooo hooo

didnt look like he'd win that set whe he failed to serve out the set but fantastic to stick in there and win 2nd set.

Win the 3rd set please so I can go sleep :-))))

Can he do what Levein failed to do and get the better of a Serbian? :greengrin

10-09-2012, 10:40 PM
Can he do what Levein failed to do and get the better of a Serbian? :greengrin

Why spoil the thread by bringing that nonentity into it? :)

10-09-2012, 10:41 PM
Why spoil the thread by bringing that nonentity into it? :)

Sorry :paranoid:

tbfhibs
Come on andy

I'm not the biggest tennis fan, and if this was Tim Henman i'd be in my bed ages ago. Yet when Murray is playing i watch every minute, and will be watching this to the very end, hopefully within the next 30 minutes? :pray:

10-09-2012, 10:43 PM
I'm not the biggest tennis fan, and if this was Tim Henman i'd be in my bed ages ago. Yet when Murray is playing i watch every minute, and will be watching this to the very end, hopefully within the next 30 minutes? :pray:

What's your thoughts on women's tennis G? :devil: :stirrer:

10-09-2012, 10:44 PM
What's your thoughts on women's tennis G? :devil: :stirrer:

Not worth the money. :wink:

10-09-2012, 10:45 PM
Not worth the money. :wink:

hiBZiNHo
10-09-2012, 10:47 PM
its incredible seeing how much the guys improved this year, hes playing unreal - hope he can close it out and take the win he deserves it

10-09-2012, 10:54 PM
I've been singing "Andy Murray, Hibee Legend" to myself to the tune of "Paddy Fenlon's G&W army" most of the night...I..I've had several drinks...:flag:

10-09-2012, 10:55 PM
Djokovic with nothing to lose will be really dangerous.

10-09-2012, 10:57 PM
Break down already.. Can see this going to 5th set. But not sure i will physically see it... 1am here an this could be hours yet.

10-09-2012, 11:26 PM
Djokovic with nothing to lose will be really dangerous.

3rd set to Djokovic but Murray's still in pole position. He has to get this set or he's had it.

10-09-2012, 11:33 PM
He's bottling this, you know.

10-09-2012, 11:34 PM

Big time.

Billy McKirdy
10-09-2012, 11:35 PM

Show some faith :wink:

He CAN do it :thumbsup:

10-09-2012, 11:39 PM
Yeh but like a true Hibby it looks to be going pear shaped for him...I'm starting to think he might lose this..

10-09-2012, 11:40 PM
Show some faith :wink: He CAN do it :thumbsup:

Could see a fifth set being 6-0 Djokovic. We're seeing the same petulant attitude from Murray that we saw years ago.

10-09-2012, 11:41 PM
His first serve is not good.

10-09-2012, 11:42 PM
He's going to lose this. Come on Andy pal.

10-09-2012, 11:49 PM
This is what I hate about Murray, he promises so much, then falls all the time at the last hurdle.

I's not like Djorkovic is playing fantastic, Murray's starting to miss really easy shots a lot right now.

10-09-2012, 11:51 PM
Methinks he needs a bit of adversity to get him going. Hopefully the umpire's warning will have that effect.

10-09-2012, 11:51 PM
Still hanging in this set.. He is capable of 1 break...cmon Andy!

10-09-2012, 11:52 PM
Djorkovic is showing why he's number 1, Murray is having to dig deep and remember is still winning. I have a feeling he's going to do this.

10-09-2012, 11:56 PM
Typical hibs mentality on here. He's playing the best player in the world. He's had a dip. Time to pick it up again and be the champion!!

10-09-2012, 11:56 PM
All this fake limping and grabbing thighs and shouting "Jelly" and **** like that is just showing Djokovic weakness. It's not far off just handing the match to him.

10-09-2012, 11:58 PM
Djorkovic is showing why he's number 1, Murray is having to dig deep and remember is still winning. I have a feeling he's going to do this.

He's number 2 aint he?

10-09-2012, 11:58 PM
Ya beauty!!

London Hibs FC
10-09-2012, 11:59 PM
C'mon Andy!

11-09-2012, 12:09 AM
Keeps screwing up when it matters.

11-09-2012, 12:10 AM
He's number 2 aint he?

Is he, that shows you just how much i know about tennis? :greengrin

11-09-2012, 12:13 AM
Is he, that shows you just how much i know about tennis? :greengrin

Djokovic will go back to number 1 if he wins tonight, but it's felt amongst tennis experts that djokovic is the one to beat at present

11-09-2012, 12:15 AM
That serve needs a lot of work, regardless of tonight's result.

11-09-2012, 12:16 AM
Back to normal for Murray ........ Djokovic looks like sailing through to the end. Great early effort Andy but you're still a boy playing a man. As in all sports, the best always wins in the end. Beauty sleep calls and I hope I waken up to find I'm wrong.

11-09-2012, 12:17 AM
Needs to dig deep now.

All or nothing on this set.

Lets do this!!

11-09-2012, 12:21 AM
Back to normal for Murray ........ Djokovic looks like sailing through to the end. Great early effort Andy but you're still a boy playing a man. As in all sports, the best always wins in the end. Beauty sleep calls and I hope I waken up to find I'm wrong.

Cant agree, he might lose but he's 3rd in the world, not bad for a boy. :wink: Now 1-0 up with a break in the 5th.

11-09-2012, 12:22 AM
Yesssss!!!

11-09-2012, 12:22 AM
Djokovic always, always has an extra gear or two.

11-09-2012, 12:24 AM
Djokovic always, always has an extra gear or two.

He didnt in the olympics?

11-09-2012, 12:26 AM
Cant agree, he might lose but he's 3rd in the world, not bad for a boy. :wink: Now 1-0 up with a break in the 5th.

This is what really frustrates me. He is number 3 in the WORLD at his sport. That in itself is a huge achievement.

11-09-2012, 12:27 AM
Wow. Great hold !

11-09-2012, 12:27 AM
http://i42.tinypic.com/f1jj0w.gif

11-09-2012, 12:28 AM
Go on Murray! break up in the 5th now :dizzy:

Edit ... and he makes it 2-0!

11-09-2012, 12:29 AM
They're showing Fred Effing Perry now! Berks!

11-09-2012, 12:30 AM
This is what really frustrates me. He is number 3 in the WORLD at his sport. That in itself is a huge achievement.

:agree: Especially for a boy. :greengrin

legends of 73
11-09-2012, 12:33 AM
come on andy you can do this

11-09-2012, 12:34 AM
3 love ya bas! :thumbsup:

11-09-2012, 12:35 AM
:thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

Dont screw up now Andy boy. Stay strong!

i'm away for a piss!

11-09-2012, 12:36 AM
http://i976.photobucket.com/albums/ae247/Mainboy/Pleasing/28j9quu.gif

11-09-2012, 12:36 AM
Surely now the title is ours!

I mean Andy's!

11-09-2012, 12:37 AM
Tell you something, the biggest hurdle for Murray is still to come. Djokovic has nothing left to lose and if he takes that attitude, he's going to be lethal.

11-09-2012, 12:39 AM
love 40 down now :rolleyes:

11-09-2012, 12:41 AM
Tell you something, the biggest hurdle for Murray is still to come. Djokovic has nothing left to lose and if he takes that attitude, he's going to be lethal.

:agree: Murray's got to keep the bit between his teeth - come on Andy!

11-09-2012, 12:43 AM
Djokovic will go back to number 1 if he wins tonight, but it's felt amongst tennis experts that djokovic is the one to beat at present

No he will not.

Federer will be number one no matter what the outcome.

Djokovic won the US last year so cannot gain any points.

Federer lost 360 points as he was eliminated in the QF as opposed to the SF last year.

Federer is currently 850 points ahead.

11-09-2012, 12:43 AM
going to be mighty pissed if he loses. I should be in bed!!

11-09-2012, 12:47 AM
Must hold here or its over i feel

11-09-2012, 12:48 AM
ND holds the serve - a mighty effort now required from the Hibee :flag:

11-09-2012, 12:50 AM
Listening on the radio and finding my eyes going side to side as each shot is taken. I need my bed.

going to be mighty pissed if he loses. I should be in bed!!

Super serving. 4-2

Murray 1/3 TO WIN

BOOM.

4-2

Moan Andy!

11-09-2012, 12:52 AM
Looking promising!

Thank god am no working tomorrow.

Go on Andy

0-30 andy - come on man!

legends of 73
11-09-2012, 12:53 AM
hold your nerve son and your the champ

11-09-2012, 12:54 AM
hold your nerve son and your the champ

Against ND the championship is a long way away until it's finished and won.

11-09-2012, 12:55 AM
Yyyyyyyaaaaaaaassssss

Woop woop

Yes!!! Kick on andy!

Murray 1/33 :thumbsup:

Now is the time!!!

11-09-2012, 12:56 AM
Three attempts to win it.

Where did we hear that before? :worried:

Lang Toun Hibs
Time to put on a hibs top Andy!

legends of 73
Against ND the championship is a long way away until it's finished and won.

and thats why i said hold your NERVE son and your the champ

Please win it 6-2 :greengrin:flag:

The BOY is doing well. :greengrin

Thank god im off tomorrow :-))) 3 bloody am.... But worth it if Andy boy wins.

11-09-2012, 12:57 AM

Pish. :na na:

Lang Toun Hibs
11-09-2012, 12:58 AM
C'mon Andy, this is your moment!

11-09-2012, 12:59 AM
Should have said thank got i'm off today.

Go on son

11-09-2012, 01:00 AM
15-0

11-09-2012, 01:00 AM
30-0

11-09-2012, 01:01 AM
30-0!

that was bloody close

http://i976.photobucket.com/albums/ae247/Mainboy/Pleasing/2v1lwe0.gif

11-09-2012, 01:02 AM
:thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:Andy's pissed it. :top marks

Come on andy murray!!!!!! For the hibees!!!!!!

:pray:

11-09-2012, 01:03 AM
Well done Andy!! You deserve it !! Your mum will be proud !!
All your work and effort has paid off. Chuffed for him big time!!

11-09-2012, 01:04 AM
YEESSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS!!!!!!!!!! GGTTH :flag::flag::flag::flag::flag:

http://i976.photobucket.com/albums/ae247/Mainboy/Pleasing/f1jj0w.gif

Yessssssssssss:flag:

sadtom
Never hurray a Murray.
Well done Andy.:flag:

(And a few quid on him to win in 5 @13/2 as well.)

NaeTechnoHibby
Yes, he's done it :hibees

11-09-2012, 01:07 AM
Fantastic. :flag::flag:

11-09-2012, 01:07 AM
:flag::flag::flag::flag::flag::flag:

11-09-2012, 01:08 AM
7-6 7-5 2-6 3-6 6-2 :greengrin

Well I might never see the hibees win the cup. BUT, that felt amazing! Well done Andy!

hibby rae
Glory Glory Andy Murray!!!!!!

YAAAAS! WEll IN THAT MAN!

:partyhibb:partyhibb:saltireflag:flag::cup::flag:: saltireflag:partyhibb:partyhibb

Congratulations Andy Murray - CHAMPION! Always knew you could do it ;o)

:jmcp: off to my kip now - night night

DarrenSQH
11-09-2012, 01:09 AM
Well done! Legend.

What a match.

Hope we get him along to ER for some plaudits.

Outstanding - well worth staying up for :thumbsup::flag::thumbsup::flag::thumbsup:

11-09-2012, 01:10 AM
Absolute topper! What a guy.

Hibees number one! Lets win the ****ing league!!

LeighLoyal
11-09-2012, 01:11 AM
Well done to Hibs greatest fan! :not worth

11-09-2012, 01:12 AM
Hibs look certainties for Scottish Cup this year now.

What a game and what a winner.

Magnificent performance, Andy. Well done. :flag:

hibbytam
http://cdn.memegenerator.net/instances/400x/26524817.jpg

legends of 73
11-09-2012, 01:13 AM
:saltireflag:applause::applause::applause::applaus e::cup::cup::flag:

11-09-2012, 01:14 AM
http://cdn.memegenerator.net/instances/400x/26524817.jpg

HibeeSince82
11-09-2012, 01:14 AM
Well done Andy! What a performance from both! Andy Murray gland slam champion!

11-09-2012, 01:15 AM
It's so brilliant! Well done lad!

11-09-2012, 01:16 AM
Dam, you only get 1.9 dollars for that, hardly worth getting oot yer bed for:applause:

11-09-2012, 01:19 AM
Absolutely superb! When it went to a 5th set I thought he'd had it. What a performance. Delighted for him. Hope he makes an appearance at ER in the near future.
Well done Andy!:not worth

11-09-2012, 01:20 AM
This must be Murray's best day since this: 8684

11-09-2012, 01:24 AM
annabel croft :cb wouldn't mind a game o mixed doubles wae her likes :)

11-09-2012, 01:26 AM
ScouseHibee will be gutted!

11-09-2012, 01:26 AM
Andy Murray, Hibee Legend !!

11-09-2012, 01:29 AM
Congratulations to Andy Murray. :thumbsup: :flag: :thumbsup:

11-09-2012, 01:30 AM
Both players tonight were truly Hibs class, what a match!

Lumped £40 on Andy this afternoon so I'm a wee bit richer tonight.

Great match, great heart and desire from both players and after 76 years we have another Grand Slam winner. All we need now is for Europe to retain the Ryder Cup and Hibs to win THAT cup.

Capt Mainwaring
11-09-2012, 01:31 AM
A fantastic match and well deserved Open Champion. Well done Andy

Wimbledon final, Olympic Gold and US Open Champion - what a year for the Dunblane Hibee.

He's got my vote for Sports Personality of the Year

11-09-2012, 01:33 AM
What a match, always knew Andy would win, Sadly I'm not a betting man !

11-09-2012, 01:40 AM
Fantastic and what a champion! What a story after 4 Grand Slam final defeats - PERSEVERE!!!

Other than us winning, never been so happy watching another sporting event!

least we should see a trophy at ER in 2012!!!!

Graham Law
11-09-2012, 01:55 AM
Two Hibees legends together

11-09-2012, 02:08 AM
The only sportsperson I give a fig about after the Hibs team players of course just won the US open. Never been so happy at a sporting event, might be a football fan, but this is world class event and eclipses sadly for me our victories in the League Cup. Then again I was a big tennis fan and played it in my youth. Well done Andy and :na na: to those who doubted and disparaged him.

one day maybe...
11-09-2012, 02:08 AM
Really hope that Rod invites him to ERE to show off his silverware

11-09-2012, 02:22 AM
It still confuses me that people down south think he has always supported Man Utd when there is clear evidence of his allegience.

11-09-2012, 02:46 AM
Well done Andy a great victory wrapping up a brilliant few weeks

Septimus
11-09-2012, 05:19 AM
In a day when that clown Cameron says that being British is just like it was in 1966 it is great the see a SCOT win a Grand Slam.

Well done Andy. Take the rest of the day off.

11-09-2012, 05:30 AM
Both players served up an amazing contest but congratulations to Andy Murray. Brilliant victory . Well done son.

11-09-2012, 05:42 AM
Hope we get him along to ER for some plaudits.

:agree: I'm old enough to remember Ken Buchanan being presented at ER at HT after he won the world title and getting an incredible reception. Definitely need to do something similar for "Sir" Andy Murray.

Well done, Andy.

11-09-2012, 05:44 AM
Only caught the first 2 sets and it was looking like a great game of tennis from both players. Delighted for andy, knew he would win a slam eventually. Congratulations andy Murray

11-09-2012, 05:59 AM
To be honest I never thought he would ever win a grand slam. Always bottled it, prove me wrong though.

Well done.

11-09-2012, 06:01 AM
Just up to go to work sftrr 4 hours sleep. Stayed up to watch a scottish hibby become a true sporting legend. Awesome performance. Well done Andy Murray.

11-09-2012, 06:04 AM
How will the scottish media manage to turn him into "rangers supporting andy murray".??????

11-09-2012, 06:11 AM
superb stuff, well done son!

11-09-2012, 06:33 AM
Like most folk my interest in Tennis goes about as far as watching Wimbledon. But its great to see a Scot win anything big like this .... nice one son :greengrin

JDHibs
11-09-2012, 06:49 AM
Absolute Legend!

NatureBoy
11-09-2012, 06:50 AM
Amazing bottle 5th time of asking what character and desire shown, never say die attitude! Take a bow Andy Murray, sports personality of the year IMO.
:saltireflag:cup:

11-09-2012, 07:16 AM
Fell asleep before the end but that was some truly incredible tennis. Well done Andy! I'm sure there will be many more Slams to come!

11-09-2012, 07:23 AM

Wimbledon final, Olympic Gold and US Open Champion - what a year for the Dunblane Hibee.

You would think so but you have to remember the BOY is still only ranked 3rd in the world! Not good enough really. :wink:

A fantastic achievement in anyone's book. Already a great and successful sportsman, despite what some seem to think, this summer has just topped it off nicely.

JHFC
11-09-2012, 07:28 AM
IMHO Andy is Hibs class :thumbsup: Legend!!!

11-09-2012, 07:32 AM
Led to believe the difference was his bottle.

What was the strapline for our strip this season again??

11-09-2012, 07:36 AM

Why?

11-09-2012, 07:45 AM

Its between him, Farrah and Wiggins now, going to be interesting to see who gets it

11-09-2012, 07:47 AM

Why?

I was thinking that as well, what a stupid thing to say :confused:

11-09-2012, 07:51 AM
I was thinking that as well, what a stupid thing to say :confused:

Maybe referring to my ABM banter a couple of months back, was only banter to folk on here, delighted for the guy all the same, great to finally have a British grand slam champion.

Aye go on then just for today SCOTTISH champion :greengrin

11-09-2012, 07:52 AM
How will the scottish media manage to turn him into "rangers supporting andy murray".??????

Easy, with the Murray name to go beside Sir David, Blue Knight Paul and current Chairman Malcolm he could'nt be anything other than one of the People. He is just keeping it quiet just now but will soon be revealed in a Sun exclusive given by a stray Dunblane mongrel. :wink:

11-09-2012, 08:01 AM
Pedant alert: semi finalist.

Yip I was talking pish..........again! So much so I deleted my post, now.........if you were a man at all......:wink:

11-09-2012, 08:01 AM
Andy wears the colours.............

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O3sjGOkEFdc

11-09-2012, 08:10 AM
Maybe referring to my ABM banter a couple of months back, was only banter to folk on here, delighted for the guy all the same, great to finally have a British grand slam champion.

I know it was only banter, I said so to you at the time when folk were taking the bait, just wanted to see what you would have to say about a fine sporting success.

11-09-2012, 08:12 AM
Yip I was talking pish..........again! So much so I deleted my post, now.........if you were a man at all......:wink:

Never let it be said...

11-09-2012, 08:14 AM
I know it was only banter, I said so to you at the time when folk were taking the bait, just wanted to see what you would have to say about a fine sporting success.

Ah I see..............too early in the morning for me! :greengrin

Yeah really pleased for him that his bottle didn't crash like it normally does, he'll never win Wimbledon though......................just not good enough.

11-09-2012, 08:16 AM
Never let it be said...

11-09-2012, 08:17 AM
We'll just need to wait and see.

11-09-2012, 08:20 AM
Surely there's got to be a chant of 'there's only one Andy Murray' on Sat? I'll start it if Mrs S & greenlex promise to join in :)

aljo7-0
11-09-2012, 08:29 AM
Rangers will be his "wee team"

11-09-2012, 08:36 AM
Delighted for Andy, BUT I keep hearing on TV and Radio that he's made history. So why are they reporting it on the news?

11-09-2012, 08:48 AM
I',m from Dunblane, and a Hibee, so chuffed :D

11-09-2012, 08:51 AM

Are you sure that isn't Jamie? (just checking)

Robinho08
11-09-2012, 08:52 AM
Well done Muzza, 1st of many I hope including Wimbledon next year.

Graham Law
11-09-2012, 09:13 AM
Are you sure that isn't Jamie? (just checking)

It's Andy mate

11-09-2012, 09:15 AM

Doubt Keith, Keith ,Keith had the foresight to get his autograph!!!!!!!!

Hibby Gav
11-09-2012, 09:27 AM
amazing, congratulations big man.....:not worth

11-09-2012, 09:29 AM
Well I must say, I thought it was gonna be another case of so nearly as Djorkovic came back to 2-2 in sets but he showed that extra bit of grit to win the last set, well done big guy. :flag::greengrin

Still frustrating watching him though, done so much to be 2 sets up, then allowed Djorkovic back in, Lendl has added that bit of steeliness to his game that he didn't have before.

11-09-2012, 09:43 AM
Well I must say, I thought it was gonna be another case of so nearly as Djorkovic came back to 2-2 in sets but he showed that extra bit of grit to win the last set, well done big guy. :flag::greengrin

Still frustrating watching him though, done so much to be 2 sets up, then allowed Djorkovic back in, Lendl has added that bit of steeliness to his game that he didn't have before.

As I posted elsewhere don't think he allowed Djokovic back in. Djokovic is one of the all time great players who came back from Championship point to win last year. In the 3rd set he managed to up his game and gain the momentum. All credit to Murray for coming back.

JoeTortolanoFanClub
11-09-2012, 09:48 AM
Harry Potter should play Murray up front with Rhodes tonight !

11-09-2012, 09:56 AM

Djokovic upped his game in the 3rd set - I think you do him an injustice by saying Murray somehow faltered and let him back in.

11-09-2012, 10:00 AM
Djokovic upped his game in the 3rd set - I think you do him an injustice by saying Murray somehow faltered and let him back in.

Disagree. The number of unforced errors Murray started to produce in the 3rd and 4th sets were undoubtedly a factor.

Djokovic took advantage and made it difficult, granted, but Murray was his own worst enemy at times.

He kept dumping shots into the net, looking like he had no energy left to clear the ball over the top at times.

Murray deserves enormous respect for finding the extra distance in that 5th set when both players would certainly have been absolutely wrecked.

Tha Cabbage Kid
11-09-2012, 10:03 AM
Thought it was funny when watching it this morning. When Andy won, he went over to where his mum and them were sitting and he was looking for something, in which his girlfriend/fiance/wife said something like "its in your bag" I p****d myself laughing for a second thinking he will pull out a hibs top hahahaha

he deserved that win and here's to many more! he has got him self into the legendary catagory but i hope he doesnt stop there and live off one win!

GO AND WIN THEM ALL BUDDY!!!!

11-09-2012, 10:08 AM
Andy is back in Scotland for a month - so would be great PR for the club if they could arrange this in time for Saturday!!!

11-09-2012, 10:10 AM
Saturday might be a bit soon.

However I'm sure we'll make the offer to him shortly, sure there was mention of bringing him along with his Olympic medals anyway so this is an added bonus.

11-09-2012, 10:11 AM
Disagree. The number of unforced errors Murray started to produce in the 3rd and 4th sets were undoubtedly a factor.

Djokovic took advantage and made it difficult, granted, but Murray was his own worst enemy at times.

He kept dumping shots into the net, looking like he had no energy left to clear the ball over the top at times.

Murray deserves enormous respect for finding the extra distance in that 5th set when both players would certainly have been absolutely wrecked.

Notice you couldn't wait to have a go at Murray for most of the match last night on the other thread. Your first post saying" Followed by a meek surrender of his own serve and throwing away 3 break points." set the tone which you kept up.

Murray said after the game that the wind had dropped at the end of the second set and he hadn't adapted his game. Hence the momentum swing after almost 3 hours of tennis.

Really think you are not giving Murray credit for getting into that position in the first place. Also didn't notice you criticising Djokovic for the number of unforced errors he made in the first, second and fifth set.

11-09-2012, 10:13 AM
Bet it would add to the gate.

11-09-2012, 10:13 AM

Agree with that.

As you say though Murray deserves huge respect for digging in and producing arguably some of the best tennis of the match in the 5th set. When he'd lost a 2 set lead and must have been physically shattered to find those extra reserves shows how much he's improved both physically and mentally.

11-09-2012, 10:16 AM
Fantastic idea.

Some would have you believe he's not a proper Hibs fan as he couldn't name Calderwood's first choice central midfield pairing. But the rest of us know he's a Hibby hero.

It would be brilliant if he could visit East Mains or meet the squad too - let them see what a proper professional sportsman looks like.

11-09-2012, 10:17 AM
Thought it was funny when watching it this morning. When Andy won, he went over to where his mum and them were sitting and he was looking for something, in which his girlfriend/fiance/wife said something like "its in your bag" I p****d myself laughing for a second thinking he will pull out a hibs top hahahaha

the commentary team on the ch i was watching said something about a watch ? something to do with sponsorship exposure or sommit :confused: he was certainly tinkering about with said watch often enough in an interview he gave approx 45 mins afterwards :)

edit : just googled :greengrin and it was indeed the watch he was wanting http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2201250/Andy-Murray-immediately-puts-Rado-watch-beating-Novak-Djokovic-US-Open-tennis-final.html quite odd that one of the first things he is concerned about after winning, is exposure for a &*$**$ watch :greengrin

11-09-2012, 10:18 AM

What a hero Andy Murray is!

That is all!

11-09-2012, 10:20 AM

I disagree. Djokovic ramped up the pressure in the 3rd and 4th as you would expect from a true champion and winner yet Murray still won both the physical and mental battles. It was a top, top performance and made any prior accusations of a lack of bottle look very silly indeed. :thumbsup:

11-09-2012, 10:30 AM
Fantastic idea.

Some would have you believe he's not a proper Hibs fan as he couldn't name Calderwood's first choice central midfield pairing. But the rest of us know he's a Hibby hero.

He didnae struggle any mair than Calderwood did! :-)

11-09-2012, 10:33 AM
Bet it would add to the gate.

I'm just popping to the Hibs match at Easter Road Dear, to see Andy Murray.....:confused:

Would be much better if the gates swelled due to people wanting to see the Cabbage

11-09-2012, 10:36 AM
As I posted elsewhere don't think he allowed Djokovic back in. Djokovic is one of the all time great players who came back from Championship point to win last year. In the 3rd set he managed to up his game and gain the momentum. All credit to Murray for coming back.

Apparently the wind dropped around the beginning of the third set, and Murray didn't immediately adjust his game to the stiller conditions. I think it could be argued that the windier conditions favoured Murray's game; the stiller conditions favoured Djokovic's game - until Murray adapted. Then he fought back in his turn and won the match.

Not surprising, allowing that he'd just won two long, hard-fought sets, the first on a long, hard-fought tie-break, the second 7-5 with a lot of hard-fought games in IT. There had to be an element of mental tiredness in Murray's game at that point, while Djokovic would have known that the match, however close it had been throught the first two sets, was now at a crisis point for him - he HAD to win the third set.

And Djokovic, as you say, is one of the game's all-time great players, who has proved time and time again that he's never beaten until the last match point has been lost.

Of course, at two sets up, some might just assume that the third set's a done deal. One of the ways in which top-level tennis works - one of the things that makes it such riveting entertainment - is that each new set starts 0-0, and each new set is an opportunity for either player to assert himself or herself over his/her opponent. I've watched tennis (on TV, I admit) for a long time now, and I've lost count of the number of times a player has lost in five sets after leading 2-0. And the psychological momentum in favour of a player who's been 2-0 down and fought back to 2-2 can be irresistible going into the fifth set.

All credit to Andy for stopping the rot the way he did and coming back at Djokovic - this match was never going to be a re-run of the Olympic final. Different surface, different weather, different opponent.

I mistakingly thought this was a football forum....

I'm just popping to the Hibs match at Easter Road Dear, to see Andy Murray.....:confused:

Would be much better if the gates swelled due to people wanting to see the Cabbage

Aye it would, but we live in the real world and he would be an added bonus before the game, it would also see us given a bit more noticed in the media, you can beat free TV time.

11-09-2012, 10:39 AM
It's a nice thought, and perhaps it may happen!. :aok:

More coffee required now as I just couldn't stop watching such an enthralling match. To think that those two players played for almost 5 hours (at such a high tempo) it makes you wonder the fitness levels reached in comparison to a pro football player.... my mind boggles :top marks

What a wonderful year for sports fans this has been ..... Just incredible :wink:

11-09-2012, 10:55 AM
Not the next 2 weeks please as I'm on holiday! ;-)

He's one of our own, he's one of our own, Andy Murray, he's one of our own!

JHFC
11-09-2012, 11:30 AM
Only got to see the first set and it was an amazing set of tennis which I thought Murray deserved. He deserved to win the tournament. He deserves SPOTY because he came back from a crushing defeat at wimbledon to winning gold and silver in the Olympics along with the first British grandslam for 70 odd years in amazing style.

11-09-2012, 11:41 AM
Well in Andy, I'm not the biggest Tennis fan in the world but i know a sporting achievment when i see one. :top marks

11-09-2012, 11:58 AM
I mistakingly thought this was a football forum....

We talk about Hibs fans all the time.

11-09-2012, 11:59 AM
Only got to see the first set and it was an amazing set of tennis which I thought Murray deserved. He deserved to win the tournament. He deserves SPOTY because he came back from a crushing defeat at wimbledon to winning gold and silver in the Olympics along with the first British grandslam for 70 odd years in amazing style.

He does deserve SPOTY, but there may be 400k yams voting for hogg ... If they'll have 2 cyclists in the list.

11-09-2012, 12:01 PM

Your dear might want to come along if murray's there?

11-09-2012, 12:07 PM
He does deserve SPOTY, but there may be 400k yams voting for hogg ... If they'll have 2 cyclists in the list.

Hoy :nerd:

Can see Wiggins or Ennis winning it to be fair.

11-09-2012, 12:09 PM
Well Done Andy. Now go and win some more son.:hibees

11-09-2012, 12:28 PM
Hoy :nerd:

Can see Wiggins or Ennis winning it to be fair.

Oops! Doh!

Ross4356
11-09-2012, 12:29 PM
It will be Wiggins

London Hibs FC
11-09-2012, 12:40 PM

he deserved that win and here's to many more! he has got him self into the legendary catagory but i hope he doesnt stop there and live off one win!

GO AND WIN THEM ALL BUDDY!!!!

Saw that too, he was looking for a Rado watch from his sponsor.

11-09-2012, 12:43 PM

Craig Levein will not be voting for Hogg!

11-09-2012, 12:47 PM
Much as I admire Wiggins and his achievement of winning the Tour and Gold medal he couldn't have done it without Team Sky or Team GB doing a lot of the donkey work out on the road. That isn't trying to demean a fantastic feat over a gruelling 3 weeks.

However, once Murray is out on the court it is all down to him. He is on his own with no support around him.

In addition the character shown coming back from the disappointment of losing finals before. This was the first real chance Wiggins had of winning the tour.

For those reasons my vote goes with the Big Hibby.

11-09-2012, 12:49 PM

That's a bit of an unfair slap in the face.

11-09-2012, 12:59 PM
Congrats to Murray, terrific win! :flag:

11-09-2012, 01:05 PM
Big time.

When are the 'he's a bottle merchant' brigade coming back to have a laugh at their idiotic posts?

Biggest myth in sport that AM has bottled anything ever. Not winning Grand Slams in the current age possibly more to do with the level of competition?

Onwards and upwards now though.

patlowe
11-09-2012, 01:20 PM
When are the 'he's a bottle merchant' brigade coming back to have a laugh at their idiotic posts?

Biggest myth in sport that AM has bottled anything ever. Not winning Grand Slams in the current age possibly more to do with the level of competition?

Was about to post something similar. If anything, the way he has kept fighting for that major championship against players of such quality shows he has an immense amount of bottle. Also, the way he fought off the Djokovic comeback last night showed huge balls. The man is an incredible sportsman, as are the rest of the top 4 IMO.

Heard a guy on the radio make a great point about the psychology of Murray. Federer, Nadal and Djokovic all broke through in the majors by beating non-major winners in the final. Murray has come up against the absolute best who know what it takes to win. He is now among that group and fingers crossed will now go on to win a few more majors.

11-09-2012, 01:48 PM

Don't really think so, his error count went up and 1st serves in dipped, but all credit to him for keeping going in the 5th set.

11-09-2012, 01:52 PM

Yup - Nadal, Federer and Djokovic won their first Grand Slam final versus virgins .. Murray has lost only to the cream (all of whom had won a major before).

11-09-2012, 01:55 PM
Nice wee mention -

http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20120911/hibees-support-andy-murray_2262950_2916011

11-09-2012, 02:00 PM
AM supports the ywo greatest football clubs pn this earth. Hibs and Barcelona. Well done son. Magic ! GGTTH

hibbybrian
11-09-2012, 02:16 PM
His Grandfather should be invited to bring Andy to ER as Roy was on Hibs books from 1952 - 1954

hughio
11-09-2012, 02:37 PM
His Grandfather should be invited to bring Andy to ER as Roy was on Hibs books from 1952 - 1954

Good sleuthing bro!

He must be the maternal grandad...the spit of Judy.

Korean war vet.too:not worth

11-09-2012, 02:45 PM
Congratulations Andy Murray - a brilliant/monumental effort ! :thumbsup:

Take a bow son :agree:

So proud of you as a Hbby and a Scot :thumbsup:

11-09-2012, 02:46 PM
With all this feelgood factor around I heard Alex Salmond is trying to arrange the independence referendum for this afternoon before Craig Levein screws it all up again tonight.

11-09-2012, 03:21 PM

He looks like him too!

I'm going to suggest that Andy puts in an appearance at Tynecastle as well. I don't want him to be the subject of narrow football hatred and spite. I doubt he does either.

11-09-2012, 03:34 PM

They're all busy being "delighted to be proved wrong".

11-09-2012, 03:56 PM

:faf::top marks

11-09-2012, 05:04 PM
Gaun yersel son!!:thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

Bottler eh ? :hilarious

11-09-2012, 05:08 PM
A big monkey off his back. Fantastic achievement, well done Andy :aok:

mrdependable
11-09-2012, 05:18 PM
It's a great achievement to win a major in one of the most physically and mentally demanding sports. Hopefully Andy Murray's achievement will encourage other young Scottish sportsmen, especially young Hibs players.
Well done Andy!:not worth

11-09-2012, 09:55 PM
Magnificent from Murray. Surprised no-one has really mentioned the Ivan Lendl influence. Seems clear to me that the Murray tantrums and downward mood swings are almost entirely gone. Ivan has worked on Andy's mind set and together with the laddies ability at playing the game it's gotten him his first slam :thumbsup:

NatureBoy
13-09-2012, 08:06 AM
I see Rod has invited the Murray family along to Easter Road, good move I say!
Really hope Andy is crazy enough to come down, would be a great way to acknowledge his phenomenal achievement!!
:not worth:not worth:flag::flag:

13-09-2012, 08:27 AM
Keep it for a Derby game, Hearts dit it with Chris Hoy.

vercol36
13-09-2012, 08:58 AM
http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/javaImages/a0/9/0,,10290~11209120,00.png

:not worth

13-09-2012, 08:58 AM
There should be a half decent crowd that day!

13-09-2012, 09:26 AM
I see Rod has invited the Murray family along to Easter Road, good move I say!
Really hope Andy is crazy enough to come down, would be a great way to acknowledge his phenomenal achievement!!
:not worth:not worth:flag::flag:

Unbelievably there's a two page thread on Brokeback discussing this. I think they're a tad miffed because Chris Hoy refused their invitation as he was doing his hair. Murray will probably give Hibs his excuses but it's hardly something worth serious debate.

King Paddy
13-09-2012, 09:09 PM
Think it would be great if all the crowd gave voice to the achievement of Andy Murray on Saturday v Killie. How about One Andy Murray theirs only one Andy Murray etc etc. Don't know about you guys and dolls on the Hibs .net infact all Scots for that matter the guy's victory made me feel so proud of him, and what he has gone through before finally winning a major. :thumbsup::thumbsup:

13-09-2012, 09:15 PM
Don't think you'll need to worry about that happening. The biggest cheer at Hampden on Tues was for Andy.

13-09-2012, 09:26 PM
Think it would be great if all the crowd gave voice to the achievement of Andy Murray on Saturday v Killie. How about One Andy Murray theirs only one Andy Murray etc etc. Don't know about you guys and dolls on the Hibs .net infact all Scots for that matter the guy's victory made me feel so proud of him, and what he has gone through before finally winning a major. :thumbsup::thumbsup:

Hmmmm not sure I'll be chanting there's only one Andy Murray, I'll applaud the rest of you doing it though.

Green Cabbage 7
13-09-2012, 09:31 PM

How about "He is I Hibee, he is a Hibee, Murrays a grand slam winner, He is a Hibee!"

13-09-2012, 09:38 PM
Is it not de rigeur for "he's one if out own" these days?

HibeeN
13-09-2012, 09:38 PM
Sang it at the Scotland game on Tuesday night. Wasn't much else to sing about! :rolleyes:

Would definitely join in again if it got sung at Easter Road, thought it was a nice touch. You'd probably even get some of the Killie fans joining in too!

Postman
13-09-2012, 09:53 PM
Not for me. Would get involved if he was actually there but not this Saturday. Was an amazing achievement but think I'd rather any singing was directed at Hibs and the players and trying to get the 3 points on Saturday