View Full Version : Levein is a jakey mess (merged)

Pages : 1 [2]

17-09-2012, 09:29 PM
Has Levein won anything as a manager or player?

I am pretty sure he beat McGlynn in the final of the choose a Jakey baseball hat competition but it might have been a walkover.

17-09-2012, 10:37 PM
Nonsense, there's still 24 points Scotland can win, Potter said so. :hilarious

He also said this too, the man is f***ing deluded.

http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/sport/football/4526790/Craig-Levein-Scotland-can-win-all-10-World-Cup-qualifiers.html :rolleyes:

17-09-2012, 10:48 PM
His own arrogance and frankly immature huffiness will ensure his removal.

Today we have Fletch saying he'd come back, the SFA saying they'd arranged a meeting last year that Fletch was happy to attend that never happened. Potter is still refusing to pick him and now seems to be talking down Jordan Rhodes at every opportunity, presumably because everybody else thinks he should be a starter, so Craigie will have his fingers in his ears chanting 'La la la I'm not listening la la la Kenny Miller is better la la la.'

They guys lost it, I'd be amazed if he still has the dressing room, the media is starting to turn on him, other managers (McLeish) are starting to talk about taking the job, and every goal Fletcher scores, and to an extent Rhodes, makes him look even more stupid.

Defeat against Wales and surely he'll be sacked? His position would be completely untenable and not even some grade A Levein post disaster bull**** will keep his head out the noose.

18-09-2012, 04:20 AM
Paul Hartley is also a jakey mess.

18-09-2012, 05:47 AM
I noticed last night on Radio Scotland that there is still the misinformation that SF said he "never wanted to play for Scotland again" being spouted.

18-09-2012, 06:52 AM
Paul Hartley is also a jakey mess.

In fact a fat jakey mess.

The SFA are rolling Potters' old pals out in a futile attempt to shore up support for his appointment.

18-09-2012, 07:35 AM
I see that Martin O'Neill (http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/sport/football/4543481/Martin-ONeill-Ill-be-Steven-Fletchers-Scotland-peacemaker.html)is now getting himself involved in trying to get Levein see sense in selecting Fletch for Scotland again and as soon as possible! :wink:

18-09-2012, 08:04 AM
I see that Martin O'Neill (http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/sport/football/4543481/Martin-ONeill-Ill-be-Steven-Fletchers-Scotland-peacemaker.html)is now getting himself involved in trying to get Levein see sense in selecting Fletch for Scotland again and as soon as possible! :wink:If I was him I wouldnae be hauding ma breath.

18-09-2012, 08:55 AM
Good article about the Levein / Fletcher situation in the Herald

http://www.heraldscotland.com/sport/football/in-steven-fletcher-craig-levein-has-mishandled-a-situation-which-is-becoming-an-emblem-for-a-faltering-campaign.1

In Steven Fletcher, Craig Levein has mishandled a situation which is becoming an emblem for a faltering campaign

IT was just another Saturday.

On Saturday, Steven Fletcher scored for Sunderland. Just 24 hours later, he intimated he would be willing to do so for Scotland.

Paul Scholes nipped in and smashed home a goal for Manchester United against Wigan Athletic. Hours later Steven Fletcher did the same for Sunderland against Liverpool. One player was making his 700th appearance for his only club side and the other was starting his second game for a team that has just paid £12m for his services.

Two players linked only by the routine task of finishing from six yards out on one particular Saturday. Yet the appearance by the 37-year-old Scholes in a United shirt offers a lesson beyond the obvious one that class has a high resilience to the ravages of time. The Englishman has also survived a major fall-out with his manager to prosper at the highest level, to the obvious benefit of both.

The Sunderland forward, though, remains in an impasse with his national manager that has created an ever-increasing problem for Craig Levein. Twenty-four hours after his goal against Liverpool, Fletcher intimated on Twitter that he was willing to pull on a Scottish jersey. The short answer of 'yes' to a question from a follower was enough to create a media firestorm. It would be naive to believe that Fletcher was not aware that this would be an inevitable consequence of his three-letter statement.

The brief summation of the state of play, or non-play, in this continuing controversy is that Fletcher will play if picked but Levein will not pick him. However, the story holds a far greater import than the international career of one player. Levein is the story now. The Fletcher affair is being picked over as a motif for the manager's intransigence and his inability to accept criticism.

These are hardly unusual defects of even the greatest of managers but Levein's major failing in the tale of the missing striker is his inability to manage the situation. To recap, Fletcher was not happy about being left to sit idle as Scotland laboured to a defeat in Prague in 2010 without a recognised striker. He believed this showed a lack of faith in his ability. He made some criticisms and was left out of the squad for the matches against the Czech Republic and Spain. He declined an invitation to play against Northern Ireland, replying to a text from a Scottish Football Association official with a text of his own.

The Scholes v Sir Alex Ferguson bout goes back to 2001 when the midfielder refused to travel to London to play for United's reserves against Arsenal. Ten years later, Scholes admitted that he was lucky not to be sold and blessed to have found the manager's forgiveness. On Saturday, he showed his gratitude in the tangible form that has been his currency in the past decade and beyond. There are lessons for Fletcher and Levein in the Scholes story but the major educational value is surely in how Ferguson managed the situation.

First, both Scholes and Fletcher were far from blameless. Players are insecure beasts. There is always someone out to take their place, there is always a resistance to criticism, there is always an ego to stroke. The trick – as Kenny Rogers so concisely articulated in his treatise on football management – is to know when to hold 'em and know when to fold 'em. Ferguson has proved a master in this art. Ruud van Nistelrooy, Roy Keane, David Beckham and Jaap Staam all left United after disagreements with the manager. None have come back to haunt Ferguson.

In contrast, Scholes was brought back on board quickly in 2001 after the obligatory ban, the mandatory apology and the universal acceptance that there was only one boss and he was not a ginger-haired playmaker. Ferguson, too, was canny when Wayne Rooney made his outburst over what he saw as the club's lack of ambition. He also squeezed another year of brilliance out of Cristiano Ronaldo when the Portugese player declared he wanted to leave for Real Madrid. There is a cool pragmatism about Ferguson's reactions but there is also a strong element of "street smarts". The Govan boy had looked down the road and did not like what he saw coming towards him. Scholes, the best English midfielder, on his way? Rooney off, possibly to City? Ronaldo gone before another trophy was won? Not on your nelly, as they say in the debating chambers of Govan hostelries. Ferguson managed the situations.

Levein, in contrast, has taken a hole, looked at it and hired a digger. The revelation that Fletcher had declined to play by sending a text invited the sort of media reaction that was certain to embarrass the player and distance him from Scotland.

The Scotland manager, too, came quickly to a stance where compromise would be seen as a sign of weakness. Levein had the commendable aim of showing his squad that unnecessary call-offs and fits of pique would not be tolerated. Presumably, he saw the Fletcher situation as a case where strong management was needed. His stance, too, found no dissent in the squad. Kenny Miller, the Scotland captain, showed his feelings with a tart "I think he is on his holidays" when asked about Fletcher before the recent double-header against Serbia and Macedonia.
The prevailing view in public among managers is that Levein had no choice but to decide not to select the forward. Paul Hartley, the manager of Alloa Athletic and a Scottish internationalist of recent vintage, said: "It's up to Steven to speak to the manager. Maybe it is up to Steven to contact Craig through a phone call not Twitter. Then it can be resolved."

He called for a "sit-down" between manager and player but sources close to Fletcher have suggested that he was keen for this eventuality but it has not occurred. It is further pointed out that Levein's public statement in May that Fletcher was persona non grata may make any such talks somewhat terse.

Privately, there is another view among managers. One said: "We do not score goals. Fletcher is the best goalscorer. Sometimes it is that simple and sometimes there has to be some fancy dancing with players. It's particularly true in the international game. Craig should have been cuter." Another manager said that Levein should have kept the text private, let the matter rest but kept lines of communication open through a third party.

The problem has grown in direct relation to the poverty of results. It is true that if Scotland had been winning the Fletcher story would be played out as a sign of how Levein could take decisive action with no detriment to the team. But Scotland are not winning. Fletcher now becomes the shorthand for a manager who has failed to keep a player on board who could have helped him and the nation. In Govan terms, Levein failed to see what was coming down the road and it has stuck the head on him. The situation is becoming unmanageable.

The only way out for Levein is to qualify for the World Cup. That, too, in the view of many is unmanageable. The handling and non-selection of Fletcher will not be reason for this failure but it may provide the emblem for it.

18-09-2012, 09:14 AM

http://www.heraldscotland.com/sport/football/in-steven-fletcher-craig-levein-has-mishandled-a-situation-which-is-becoming-an-emblem-for-a-faltering-campaign.1

Fair assessment of the situation, IMO.

The one thing I would add to that is that it's no coincidence that the player concerned played for Hibs and the manager concerned played for and managed Hearts and is well-known to be an intransigent bully with a hugely inordinate sense of his own importance.

No surprise that Kenny Miller supports Levein. If Levein had even a wee bit common sense, he'd have had Rhodes and Fletcher up front in the upcoming games and Kenny could stay in Vancouver for all the good he is to the team.

18-09-2012, 09:32 AM
Also re Rhodes, he said he maybe wasn't quite ready to be a starter international wise and he also hinted to the fact that he thinks Rhodes isn't worth the money paid. Ye way to go Mr Levein (Jakey), good way of getting your players to run through brick walls for you, just slag them off whenever possible, oh and by the way the not good enough international starter scored 2 at the weekend in the championship. :confused:

18-09-2012, 09:48 AM
Also re Rhodes, he said he maybe wasn't quite ready to be a starter international wise and he also hinted to the fact that he thinks Rhodes isn't worth the money paid. Ye way to go Mr Levein (Jakey), good way of getting your players to run through brick walls for you, just slag them off whenever possible, oh and by the way the not good enough international starter scored 2 at the weekend in the championship. :confused:

Yep really reassuring comments about Rhodes maybe Jordan will send Levein a text saying he doesnt want to play next month. Levein is so far out of his depth it is embarressing to be honest. Rhodes played 3 times better than Miller did against Australia last month in the role the bold manager seems to think he cant play. Why also is MacKail Smith not in the squad as he proved also he is better. Miller has been a good servant to Scotland IMO however Levein is doing him no favours at all playing him when he is playing his football in Canada and appears not to be as sharp as he was previously.

18-09-2012, 10:54 AM

Yep really reassuring comments about Rhodes maybe Jordan will send Levein a text saying he doesnt want to play next month. Levein is so far out of his depth it is embarressing to be honest. Rhodes played 3 times better than Miller did against Australia last month in the role the bold manager seems to think he cant play. Why also is MacKail Smith not in the squad as he proved also he is better. Miller has been a good servant to Scotland IMO however Levein is doing him no favours at all playing him when he is playing his football in Canada and appears not to be as sharp as he was previously.

Excellent article which sums up how most fans feel about Levein and his intransigent behaviour over Fletcher playing for Scotland when we clearly need him to do so right now IMO! :agree:

Bit in bold simply adds more to the significance of it all! :agree:

18-09-2012, 11:44 AM
It's time for Levein to go, far too negative and some of his selections and tactics are baffling to say the least. Although he has done a good job in creating a "club feel" around the national team. That doesn't negate the fact it's long since time for him to go.

As for Fletcher, well that's good of him to now make himself available, how priviliged we should be. I've lost a lot of respect for Fletcher. he's put himself before the national team. Yes Levein should have contacted him and he's been rightly villified, but the other side of the coin is Fletcher could just as easily have been the bigger man, put his country first and contacted Levein. The pair of them have acted like spoilt children, putting their own selfish interests ahead of the nation.

Something that never gets past the green tinted specs on here is the fact Fletcher asked not to be selected for the Northern Ireland game because of an important game for Wolves at the weekend. Well his teammate, Berra, played against Northern Ireland AND helped Wolves to a win that following weekend. I was at the game in Dublin, why should I spend my hard earned money following my team all over just for players to pick and choose what games they can be bothered turning up for. It's a privilige to play for your country, not a chore, something Fletcher, and everyone else, would do well to remember!

18-09-2012, 12:07 PM
Some Hibs Content

http://www.scotzine.com/2012/09/was-fletcher-exiled-for-the-best-interests-of-scotland-or-craig-levein/

Back in May this year, Craig Levein stated: "I won't consider Fletcher for any matches. It's now 15 months since Fletcher sent a text saying: 'Tell him I don't want to play'. Those were the words. Until now, the door has been open but 15 months is a long time."
"This is a natural cut-off point. Going into a new campaign, I don't want the distraction. That's it finished now. It's not a ban. I have given the SFA's chief executive Stewart Regan the courtesy of letting him know. But this is purely me acting in what I think are the best interests of the national team."
However, it seems that was not actually the case.
Steven Fletcher's agent Scott Fisher, last night claimed that the Sunderland striker was 'more than happy' to meet up with Craig Levein 12 months ago to iron out the differences and find a solution to end his international exile.
He said: “The SFA, through a third party, did phone Steven to arrange a meeting. It was last year, when Wolves were playing Liverpool at Anfield. Steven said he was more than happy to meet. But there was never a follow-up phone call from the SFA, nor the third party, to say where and when.”
According to this morning's report in the Scottish Sun, the meeting was proposed by SFA vice president Rod Petrie - who is also the chairman of Hibernian - last September.
So the Scottish FA, led by Petrie, held out the olive branch. Steven Fletcher accepted it and was willing to meet up - so what happened next?
Well, it seems that the meeting was arranged to take place just 24 hours before the Wolves game against Liverpool at Anfield. But neither Fletcher nor Fisher heard any word from Levein or the Scottish FA.
Since Levein's comments in May, Fletcher has signed for Sunderland for £14 million and intimated on Sunday via his twitter page that he wants to pull on the Scotland jersey again.
However, that statement from Fletcher, was quickly quashed by the Scottish FA who insisted that the 'door remains closed' on Fletcher's return under Craig Levein.
Fletcher's manager at Sunderland, Martin O'Neill, stated yesterday that talks are needed to end the stand-off between Levein and Fletcher.
O’Neill said: “If you have a quality player and he is not playing for his country then it might need looking at. Would I like to see him playing for Scotland at some stage? Of course.
“It might need an olive branch along the way. My thoughts are that Steven and the manager have had words in the past. That situation has not cleared up. There’s some intransigence there. Am I going to provide that [mediation] at the minute? It’s not really my job. I would need to know the ins and outs to do that.
“I touched on it briefly when he was signing here, in a casual conversation with Steven. I have not pursued it any further yet.”
Fletcher was willing to meet up with Levein twelve months ago - September 2011 - yet Levein claims that he did not hear from Fletcher or his representatives in 13 months - April 2011. So who is telling the truth?
If the meeting was arranged by the SFA why did it not happen - if Fletcher accepted? Did Levein blank the meeting? If he did why?
Certainly, it is not in the 'best interests of the national game' to block arguably the best striker available to us. Even more so after so many years of not qualifying for a major competition.
Or is the enforced exile of Fletcher, the act of Levein merely trying to save face? Stamping his authority on the team?
You have to question the actions of those at the Scottish FA - or lack of action - who could demand both parties to sit down to iron out their differences - for the 'best interests of the national team' rather than a 'saving face' tactic.
After two draws out of two games that Levein earmarked six points from, we need all the help we can get in getting points on the board and Fletcher will certainly score us goals.
As for Levein, it looks like he has scored one massive own goal after another.

[B]Kind of put a different slant on things doesn't it?

18-09-2012, 12:12 PM
Some Hibs Content

http://www.scotzine.com/2012/09/was-fletcher-exiled-for-the-best-interests-of-scotland-or-craig-levein/

Back in May this year, Craig Levein stated: "I won't consider Fletcher for any matches. It's now 15 months since Fletcher sent a text saying: 'Tell him I don't want to play'. Those were the words. Until now, the door has been open but 15 months is a long time."
"This is a natural cut-off point. Going into a new campaign, I don't want the distraction. That's it finished now. It's not a ban. I have given the SFA's chief executive Stewart Regan the courtesy of letting him know. But this is purely me acting in what I think are the best interests of the national team."
However, it seems that was not actually the case.
Steven Fletcher's agent Scott Fisher, last night claimed that the Sunderland striker was 'more than happy' to meet up with Craig Levein 12 months ago to iron out the differences and find a solution to end his international exile.
He said: “The SFA, through a third party, did phone Steven to arrange a meeting. It was last year, when Wolves were playing Liverpool at Anfield. Steven said he was more than happy to meet. But there was never a follow-up phone call from the SFA, nor the third party, to say where and when.”
According to this morning's report in the Scottish Sun, the meeting was proposed by SFA vice president Rod Petrie - who is also the chairman of Hibernian - last September.
So the Scottish FA, led by Petrie, held out the olive branch. Steven Fletcher accepted it and was willing to meet up - so what happened next?
Well, it seems that the meeting was arranged to take place just 24 hours before the Wolves game against Liverpool at Anfield. But neither Fletcher nor Fisher heard any word from Levein or the Scottish FA.
Since Levein's comments in May, Fletcher has signed for Sunderland for £14 million and intimated on Sunday via his twitter page that he wants to pull on the Scotland jersey again.
However, that statement from Fletcher, was quickly quashed by the Scottish FA who insisted that the 'door remains closed' on Fletcher's return under Craig Levein.
Fletcher's manager at Sunderland, Martin O'Neill, stated yesterday that talks are needed to end the stand-off between Levein and Fletcher.
O’Neill said: “If you have a quality player and he is not playing for his country then it might need looking at. Would I like to see him playing for Scotland at some stage? Of course.
“It might need an olive branch along the way. My thoughts are that Steven and the manager have had words in the past. That situation has not cleared up. There’s some intransigence there. Am I going to provide that [mediation] at the minute? It’s not really my job. I would need to know the ins and outs to do that.
“I touched on it briefly when he was signing here, in a casual conversation with Steven. I have not pursued it any further yet.”
Fletcher was willing to meet up with Levein twelve months ago - September 2011 - yet Levein claims that he did not hear from Fletcher or his representatives in 13 months - April 2011. So who is telling the truth?
If the meeting was arranged by the SFA why did it not happen - if Fletcher accepted? Did Levein blank the meeting? If he did why?
Certainly, it is not in the 'best interests of the national game' to block arguably the best striker available to us. Even more so after so many years of not qualifying for a major competition.
Or is the enforced exile of Fletcher, the act of Levein merely trying to save face? Stamping his authority on the team?
You have to question the actions of those at the Scottish FA - or lack of action - who could demand both parties to sit down to iron out their differences - for the 'best interests of the national team' rather than a 'saving face' tactic.
After two draws out of two games that Levein earmarked six points from, we need all the help we can get in getting points on the board and Fletcher will certainly score us goals.
As for Levein, it looks like he has scored one massive own goal after another.

[B]Kind of put a different slant on things doesn't it?

So it looks like Levein has been lying all along, there is a shock. :rolleyes:

18-09-2012, 12:14 PM
It's time for Levein to go, far too negative and some of his selections and tactics are baffling to say the least. Although he has done a good job in creating a "club feel" around the national team. That doesn't negate the fact it's long since time for him to go.

As for Fletcher, well that's good of him to now make himself available, how priviliged we should be. I've lost a lot of respect for Fletcher. he's put himself before the national team. Yes Levein should have contacted him and he's been rightly villified, but the other side of the coin is Fletcher could just as easily have been the bigger man, put his country first and contacted Levein. The pair of them have acted like spoilt children, putting their own selfish interests ahead of the nation.

Something that never gets past the green tinted specs on here is the fact Fletcher asked not to be selected for the Northern Ireland game because of an important game for Wolves at the weekend. Well his teammate, Berra, played against Northern Ireland AND helped Wolves to a win that following weekend. I was at the game in Dublin, why should I spend my hard earned money following my team all over just for players to pick and choose what games they can be bothered turning up for. It's a privilige to play for your country, not a chore, something Fletcher, and everyone else, would do well to remember!

Or on the other hand, you could say that Fletcher was being responsible, bearing in mind who actually pay his wages (Wolves and their fans). Fair enough if Potter was going to play him, but Fletcher understandably might not have wanted his preparation for the Wolves game at the weekend fouled up just to sit on a bench in Belfast watching a crap team getting crappier.

As for the "club feel" you mention, I disagree. What Levein is creating is a clique. The players who say "Yes, Craig - no, Craig - three bags full Craig ..." are in - especially if they have a Jambo background. No one else knows what's going on - least of all our egregiously egotistical and overbearing "manager".

And it stopped being a "privilege" to play for "your country" when the rules were changed to allow players with the most tenuous connections to a country to play for it. Five years of school in Edinburgh makes you Scots? Aye, right!

18-09-2012, 12:19 PM
So it looks like Levein has been lying all along, there is a shock. :rolleyes:

You beat me to that, Jim.

If that article is true, and Fletcher's agent really did make the approach on Fletch's behalf, then the fault is Levein's from start to finish.

How does he still retain credibility with ANY of the Scotland support? He has to go.

18-09-2012, 12:21 PM

you're defending the indefensible - levein isn't a 'manager'. If he was, regardless of his coaching abilities, the fletcher mess would never have happened.

Berra knew he'd get worthwhile game-time, useful to his club. Fletchr knew he'd be stuck on the naughty stool to be made an exmple of again. How would that have helped wolves?

18-09-2012, 12:23 PM

If that article is true, and Fletcher's agent really did make the approach on Fletch's behalf, then the fault is Levein's from start to finish.

How does he still retain credibility with ANY of the Scotland support? He has to go.

I would be surprised if it wasn't true if they are mentioning that RP was involved. I don't think they would be so bold as to mention Petrie by name if it didnt happen. What a sad affair.

Maybe Craig was too busy taking Barry Ferguson out for lunch begging him to return to play for Scotland for the 300th time.

Duffys13
18-09-2012, 12:25 PM
Also think this is the perfect time for the Fletcher camp to stick the boot into Levein. Just what he needs coming out right now. Probably the media have been saving this up too.

18-09-2012, 12:27 PM

No, he didn't. He put his responsibilities to his employers ahead of the national team, and according to his agent he made it plain a year ago he was willing to meet with Levein - Levein and the SFA cut him dead.

And Berra, frankly, has had far too comfortable a ride from Levein - Berra's form for Wolves and Scotland hardly justify Berra "one-of-the-first-names-on-the-team-sheet" status. But no matter what sort of a howler HE plays - he's not going to be dropped.

18-09-2012, 12:29 PM
Also think this is the perfect time for the Fletcher camp to stick the boot into Levein. Just what he needs coming out right now. Probably the media have been saving this up too.

The timing is very interesting - if this has been known for some time, why is it coming to light now?

18-09-2012, 12:30 PM
I would be surprised if it wasn't true if they are mentioning that RP was involved. I don't think they would be so bold as to mention Petrie by name if it didnt happen. What a sad affair.

Maybe Craig was too busy taking Barry Ferguson out for lunch begging him to return to play for Scotland for the 300th time.

Fletcher doesn't worship at the shrine of the Great God Craig, and he's ex-Hibs.

Rod Petrie may be a Vice-Chairman in the SFA, but he's also the CEO of Hibs.

What more does Potter need?

Or maybe Potter was on one of his "lost weekends" and just forgot?

LeighLoyal
18-09-2012, 12:44 PM
Somebody in the SFA needs to give Potter a serious rocket up the jacksie if he doesn't sort this out!

18-09-2012, 12:48 PM

I don't think he retains any credibility with any Scotland fan's, on another forum [TAMB] a lot of the Levein lovers have been hiding there heads in the sand since our awful showings last week.

18-09-2012, 12:56 PM
I don't think he retains any credibility with any Scotland fan's, on another forum [TAMB] a lot of the Levein lovers have been hiding there heads in the sand since our awful showings last week.

Well, there still one or two on here prepared to defend him - after a fashion.

And the fact that they're hiding on TAMB doesn't mean that they're not there. They just don't want to be shouted at.

18-09-2012, 02:03 PM
He was manager of the month twice with hearts and 4 times with Dundee utd. Does that count?

Nope, sure even Colin Calderwood won one of those!

18-09-2012, 02:21 PM
Paul Hartley has weighed into the debate, I see:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/rugby-union/19631669

"People will say the door was left open for Steven for 18 months," said Hartley, who won 25 caps.

People will say that. It doesn't make them correct.

"If he doesn't want to play for you, you have to forget about it, pick the strongest squad you can and hopefully try to win games."

If Fletcher doesn't want to play for Scotland, you would have to forget about him. If, on the other hand, he decided he didn't want to turn up for a friendly and sit on the bench for 90 minutes at a time when his club career required all his focus, then perhaps a friendly chat behind closed doors could have resolved the matter?

As very much a rookie manager, will Hartley's comments carry any weight? From the photo it looks as if the Annan pie shop is doing good business anyhow.

18-09-2012, 02:24 PM

Yep, scored again for Brighton the other night, both Smith and Rhodes are playing for clubs at the top of the championship.

18-09-2012, 02:46 PM
Paul Hartley has weighed into the debate, I see:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/rugby-union/19631669

People will say that. It doesn't make them correct.

If Fletcher doesn't want to play for Scotland, you would have to forget about him. If, on the other hand, he decided he didn't want to turn up for a friendly and sit on the bench for 90 minutes at a time when his club career required all his focus, then perhaps a friendly chat behind closed doors could have resolved the matter?

As very much a rookie manager, will Hartley's comments carry any weight? From the photo it looks as if the Annan pie shop is doing good business anyhow.

What a complete gob*****!

He should just keep his yap shut and focus on his own job.

18-09-2012, 05:16 PM
No, he didn't. He put his responsibilities to his employers ahead of the national team, and according to his agent he made it plain a year ago he was willing to meet with Levein - Levein and the SFA cut him dead.

And Berra, frankly, has had far too comfortable a ride from Levein - Berra's form for Wolves and Scotland hardly justify Berra "one-of-the-first-names-on-the-team-sheet" status. But no matter what sort of a howler HE plays - he's not going to be dropped.

He used to play for Hearts. Mystery solved...

18-09-2012, 06:58 PM
Well, there still one or two on here prepared to defend him - after a fashion.

And the fact that they're hiding on TAMB doesn't mean that they're not there. They just don't want to be shouted at.

I don't being shouted at until people realise I have changed my mind about giving Levein time. I was prepared to give him a clean break at the start of the campaign, but his tactics and team selection have proven to be dull and infuriating and the latest revelations about Fletcher cast the management and certain members of the SFA in a bad light in regards to our best striker/player.

I can understand the anger and frustration at Levein's manner and presentation, nevermind his words and actions, I am not sure if the abuse aimed at him helps though. He strikes me as a person who only gets more arrogant and negative as he faces adversity. Perhaps that is why he is out of his depth and needs to vacate the position of Scotland manager pronto?

Hibee Ryan
18-09-2012, 07:11 PM
Fletcher, Goodwillie, Mackail-Smith, Rhodes and maybe even Naismith would be better options than Miller. Fletcher is the best by far but we still have at least 2 strikers better than Miller who works hard but doesn't have that touch of class needed to be an international striker and by god the 4-5-1/4-6-0 formation is a load of *****! JUST TRY 4-4-2, I would be able to forgive conceding a couple of goals if it meant the games didn't put you to sleep

That's the main problem, less and less people are going to Scotland games simply because the football is boring, we might be crap but we can still play football to make people want to watch surely?

18-09-2012, 07:17 PM
Fletcher, Goodwillie, Mackail-Smith, Rhodes and maybe even Naismith would be better options than Miller.

It's ok for Levein to think Miller is his best option up front. What is not ok is the pathetic, almost bullying put-downs of the alternatives in public - Fletcher obviously, and now Rhodes too.

When Miller moved to Vancouver, Levein must surely have realised that trouble was brewing. I just cannot see him commuting back for every tie and putting in a performance for Scotland.

Hibee Ryan
18-09-2012, 07:51 PM
It's ok for Levein to think Miller is his best option up front. What is not ok is the pathetic, almost bullying put-downs of the alternatives in public - Fletcher obviously, and now Rhodes too.

When Miller moved to Vancouver, Levein must surely have realised that trouble was brewing. I just cannot see him commuting back for every tie and putting in a performance for Scotland.

If only he was the best option but you would be lucky to find 1000 Scottish people that think Miller is the best option. If it proves anything to me, it's that he's out of his depth THEN add that to the fact that he's almost chasing away younger, better strikers that are scoring more in better quality leagues and his run as manager and you just cannot make any excuses for him.

If he doesn't win against Wales, and I don't think we will, then he has to go.

18-09-2012, 09:48 PM
Rhodes scored again tonight

No ready yet though .... Aye right Levein

18-09-2012, 09:57 PM
Re the Fletcher situation. Am I correct in saying Fletch criticised Levein for not playing a forward in the 4-6-0 game or did I imagine that. I am sure that is when they fell out. Fletch was dropped for the friendly game against the Faroes. If I am correct I suspect the NI game was just the excuse the Fat Jakey Jambo was looking for.

Can anyone confirm that?

18-09-2012, 11:22 PM
Re the Fletcher situation. Am I correct in saying Fletch criticised Levein for not playing a forward in the 4-6-0 game or did I imagine that. I am sure that is when they fell out. Fletch was dropped for the friendly game against the Faroes. If I am correct I suspect the NI game was just the excuse the Fat Jakey Jambo was looking for.

Can anyone confirm that?

Yes, all true. Fletcher sat on the bench throughout the Czech game and spoke out of frustration.

19-09-2012, 08:53 AM

Can anyone confirm that?

I think he did criticise Levein for no forwards however pretty sure Kenny Miller did also. Fletcher was not involved at all v Czech not even as a sub. I attach a link to an interesting article listing a few quotes from Levein trying to justify Fletcher's absence as because he was not playing for Wolves and that he didnt have a problem with Fletcher, yeah right.

http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/2010/nov/13/steven-fletcher-craig-levein-scotland

19-09-2012, 08:53 AM
Yes, all true. Fletcher sat on the bench throughout the Czech game and spoke out of frustration.

He didnt he was in the stand for that game.

latapy#1
19-09-2012, 09:57 AM
No matter how you look at it the campaign is burst already, 2 draws from 2 home games = going nowhere.

Levein is going to get the sack when we don’t qualify anyway so why wait?, just give him the bullet now and get someone in who will sit down and talk to Fletcher and give the guys like him and Rhodes (“not ready yet”) the chance to get ready in time for the next campaign.

19-09-2012, 10:19 AM
No matter how you look at it the campaign is burst already, 2 draws from 2 home games = going nowhere.

Levein is going to get the sack when we don’t qualify anyway so why wait?, just give him the bullet now and get someone in who will sit down and talk to Fletcher and give the guys like him and Rhodes (“not ready yet”) the chance to get ready in time for the next campaign.

The new guy doesnae have to talk to Fletcher and Rhodes, theres nothing needed to be said, you pick them for Scotland, they show up, simple, everyone and their uncle knows that **** Levein is just that, a ****.

19-09-2012, 10:46 AM
He didnt he was in the stand for that game.

Sorry, but makes situation even more ridiculous in my eyes.

19-09-2012, 11:11 AM
Has Levein won anything as a manager or player?

Did he not win a fight once, somewhere over in Fife if i remember correctly. :cb

19-09-2012, 11:18 AM
Levein is an utter wallopper of a twat. He is the worst Scotland "manager" I can remember in living history and I include in that, McBerti.

His sucking up the ass of the old firm and/or ex-yams is indefensible and his tactics are that of a retarted mountain goat in remedial class.

That said; the Fletcher debate separately, pish on BOTH sides. Neither of them thought of the National Team first. But, in this, Potter is the worse of the two as he is now keeping it going and he is, as I note above, a wallopper.

The sooner he gets his jotters the better. He's like the proverbial ****ty rain cloud that hangs around, periodically pissing down nasty droplets of cold, miserable precipitation and thereafter reforming for another go a few days later just as the sun shines and everyone is in a good mood.

****in hell man. Just depressed maself thinking aboot the man and his "tactics" and "team".

Levein oot. ASAP.

ENDOF

19-09-2012, 11:46 AM
Sorry, but makes situation even more ridiculous in my eyes.

Agree completely.

19-09-2012, 11:55 AM
Levein is an utter wallopper of a twat. He is the worst Scotland "manager" I can remember in living history and I include in that, McBerti.

His sucking up the ass of the old firm and/or ex-yams is indefensible and his tactics are that of a retarted mountain goat in remedial class.

That said; the Fletcher debate separately, pish on BOTH sides. Neither of them thought of the National Team first. But, in this, Potter is the worse of the two as he is now keeping it going and he is, as I note above, a wallopper.

The sooner he gets his jotters the better. He's like the proverbial ****ty rain cloud that hangs around, periodically pissing down nasty droplets of cold, miserable precipitation and thereafter reforming for another go a few days later just as the sun shines and everyone is in a good mood.

****in hell man. Just depressed maself thinking aboot the man and his "tactics" and "team".

Levein oot. ASAP.

ENDOF

I'm not sure if you've made your feelings really clear with that post.

19-09-2012, 12:28 PM

He has become very good at slagging of players, sly digs, lately it has been Rhodes and Fletcher and there price tags that clubs have paid for them, right now they are looking like a couple of bargains the way they have started of at there new clubs this season, then we have the O'Connor situation where we were told by Potter that Gaz wouldn't be picked because of off field problems(outstanding court cases) but picked Badwillie who had outstanding rape and assault charges to go up for, and when this was pointed out to Potter he said he didn't know about Badwillies court cases, :rolleyes: so he now knows about it but still picks him for the next Scotland squad, :rolleyes:, he had a we dig at Sparky a few weeks ago on sportscene when asked if he was in contention for a call up, sly dig was Potters response, and i can't miss out Deek, Deek could have scored every week and tracked back every game and Potter still wouldn't have picked him, he hated being asked questions about Deek and when of air he would make that quite clear to the reporter or presenter.

19-09-2012, 12:38 PM
If Lionel Messi signed for Hibs and discovered that he had a Scottish Granny, would Levein pick him for Scotland ?

Of course not.

19-09-2012, 02:45 PM
He has become very good at slagging of players, sly digs, lately it has been Rhodes and Fletcher and there price tags that clubs have paid for them, right now they are looking like a couple of bargains the way they have started of at there new clubs this season, then we have the O'Connor situation where we were told by Potter that Gaz wouldn't be picked because of off field problems(outstanding court cases) but picked Badwillie who had outstanding rape and assault charges to go up for, and when this was pointed out to Potter he said he didn't know about Badwillies court cases, :rolleyes: so he now knows about it but still picks him for the next Scotland squad, :rolleyes:, he had a we dig at Sparky a few weeks ago on sportscene when asked if he was in contention for a call up, sly dig was Potters response, and i can't miss out Deek, Deek could have scored every week and tracked back every game and Potter still wouldn't have picked him, he hated being asked questions about Deek and when of air he would make that quite clear to the reporter or presenter.

Ye, I remember the Deek scenario, said he didn't do enough work ( Deek never did though ) but was very happy to pick McFadden, who very talented was probably lazier than Deek ever was.

19-09-2012, 02:53 PM
If Lionel Messi signed for Hibs and discovered that he had a Scottish Granny, would Levein pick him for Scotland ?

Of course not.

And he'd be right. His performances for Argentina prove he's "not ready" for international football.

HibsMax
19-09-2012, 02:57 PM
And he'd be right. His performances for Argentina prove he's "not ready" for international football.

Plus he's too young.

19-09-2012, 07:17 PM

I can tell you for a fact ( don't ask for source ) that Potter said " Riordan will never play for Scotland while I am manager. The guy is a fool who should be careful what he says and to whom he says it.

19-09-2012, 09:19 PM
Nope, sure even Colin Calderwood won one of those!

So what we are saying is that only Gary Mackay has won less :greengrin

19-09-2012, 09:33 PM
So what we are saying is that only Gary Mackay has won less :greengrin

Did Mackay not win any medals in '86?

Maybe a 'Racist of the Year' award somewhere along the line? :dunno:

19-09-2012, 09:38 PM
Did Mackay not win any medals in '86?

Maybe a 'Racist of the Year' award somewhere along the line? :dunno:

Nope, competition was tough for racist footballers back in the 80s.

Anyway, enough of this digression...why don't you slither off and die Avril, you unshaven, C&A wearing, polarising lenses, jakey ****bag mess.

19-09-2012, 09:38 PM
Haha i love the first few words in his wiki page

http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Craig_Levein

19-09-2012, 09:42 PM
http://e0.365dm.com/12/09/660x350/McGregor_2827076.jpg

You know it's bad when you're in a photo with Alan McGregor and he's not the one that looks most like a grubby sex offender.

19-09-2012, 10:06 PM

You know it's bad when you're in a photo with Alan McGregor and he's not the one that looks most like a grubby sex offender.:agree:

19-09-2012, 10:07 PM
Haha i love the first few words in his wiki page

http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Craig_Levein

Craig William Levein (born 22 October 1964 in Dunfermline (http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dunfermline)) is a specky Scottish former professional footballer (http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Association_football)

HiBremian
19-09-2012, 10:12 PM
Craig William Levein (born 22 October 1964 in Dunfermline (http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dunfermline)) is a specky Scottish former professional footballer (http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Association_football)

Who changed jakey to specky?!?!

20-09-2012, 12:59 AM
Plus he's too young.

And too short.

20-09-2012, 01:24 AM

You know it's bad when you're in a photo with Alan McGregor and he's not the one that looks most like a grubby sex offender.

That says it all :agree:

20-09-2012, 09:32 AM
And too short.

And too attacking minded

20-09-2012, 10:07 AM
I can tell you for a fact ( don't ask for source ) that Potter said " Riordan will never play for Scotland while I am manager. The guy is a fool who should be careful what he says and to whom he says it.

To be fair there are a long list of players including ones that are selected that you could currently say the same about. :greengrin

The_Sauz
20-09-2012, 11:51 AM
Love this bit :wink:
"1986 brought further woe for the young Levein when he picked up a serious knee injury in a reserve game against Hibernian...... The injury was to change his life."
OK who was it! :greengrin. Do we have a hidden legend somewhere!

20-09-2012, 05:50 PM
Love this bit :wink:
"1986 brought further woe for the young Levein when he picked up a serious knee injury in a reserve game against Hibernian...... The injury was to change his life."
OK who was it! :greengrin. Do we have a hidden legend somewhere!

Ahhhhh ...... Now we know why he's a twisted *expletive deleted* when it comes to us or those that used to play for us!

22-09-2012, 07:25 PM
Worth bringing up YET again.

YET another goal from Fletch today.

Levein must get more embarrassed every week at his own lack of management skills which fails to bring Fletch into the Scotland team.

If he continues to ignore him - Taxi for Levein.

22-09-2012, 07:39 PM
Levein will go next month after defeats to Belgium and wales.

22-09-2012, 07:42 PM
Did you not hear? Fletch should be apologizing to the manager and begging him for the privilege to play for the nation.

Because thats what Fergushun and the beast did.

22-09-2012, 08:03 PM
My.mates a Sunderland ST holder and said he saw Fletcher do something unusual today, miss a chance. He loves him.

From a selfish point of view I would like to see Fletch as far away from the national team as possible, it can only hinder his development with Levein in charge.

22-09-2012, 10:33 PM
Great goal, if Van Persie had done that people would have been creaming themselves over it

4 shots on target this season and 4 goals, BOOM

LeighLoyal
22-09-2012, 10:38 PM
I'll expect him to be named in the next squad as he's declared himself available. If not Levein has explaining to do. The twat.

22-09-2012, 11:04 PM
Levein will go next month after defeats to Belgium and wales.

Not even Levein can lose to Wales. Can he?

23-09-2012, 08:28 AM
The guys on course for 20 goals in the best league in the world but he still won't get picked. That muppet has only himself to blame when the shoogly peg that holds his dirty, dandruff covered HOMOFC jacket comes out the wall. Prick.

23-09-2012, 08:34 AM
Levein will look even more of a fanny if he again refuses to consider a player who is top of the Premier League goalscoring charts.

23-09-2012, 09:01 AM
Without wanting to start a massive debate about this has anyone thought maybe Fletcher has said he doesn't want to play for Scotland?

23-09-2012, 09:03 AM
Without wanting to start a massive debate about this has anyone thought maybe Fletcher has said he doesn't want to play for Scotland?

Fletcher said during the week (albeit via Twitter) that he does.

23-09-2012, 09:05 AM

http://www.heraldscotland.com/sport/football/come-in-no9-fletcher-tweets-yes-to-scotland-question.18903566

23-09-2012, 09:06 AM

I wouldn't bet on a Scotland victory that's for sure. (unfortunately)

marti1875
23-09-2012, 09:07 AM
Maybe i'm wrong but did Levein not basically say as long as he was in charge Fletch wouldn't play for Scotland?

23-09-2012, 09:11 AM
Fletcher said during the week (albeit via Twitter) that he does.

Oh right, does do socal network sites. no real excuse why not to pick him now.

23-09-2012, 09:18 AM
Levein has wedged himself between a rock and a hard place. If he continues to ignore Fletcher, he'll alieniate himself even more from the fans and the next run of poor results will see the back of him. If he capitulates and asks Fletcher to return, his overly stubborn stance will be thrown in his face and he would probably have to resign. Bottom line is the national team is in a short term lose/lose situation. Levein stays and we are out of the WC qualifiers. Levein goes and the ensuing transitional period will also end up in a lack of success. We will only benefit from Levein's demise in the longer term.

23-09-2012, 09:29 AM

Do a bit of searching instead of believing the liar levein's party line and you'll find it's quite the opposite.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-2038801/Steven-Fletcher-wants-play-Scotland.html

23-09-2012, 09:40 AM
Steven Fletcher is a 25 year old who has done nothing with his life, except play football.

He is a multi millionaire who is hero worshipped by thousands of people and he appears on TV every week.

It would be most unusual if he didn't have an inflated ego and sense of self-worth

It's almost expected, and mostly accepted, that someone in his position is going to be a bit of a dafty.

Craig Levein is nearly double the laddie's age.

Part of his job is to manage players with egos, not punish them because they don't bow to his.

Levein is so up his own erse, that he won't even discuss the 4 - 6 - 0 farce, never mind admit he made a mistake.

He isn't a club manager who can leave a player out for a few games in order to impose discipline. Fletcher might be a bit disappointed, but he plays every week for Sunderland so he's getting games.

Levein had 10 games to take his country's football team to Europe's show piece tournament and, because he thinks he is more important than achieving that, he snubbed Fletcher and consequently, he will fail.

Fast forward to July 2014:

"Well, Craig, that's another tournament we've missed out on. Why didn't you pick Steven Fletcher?"

"It was a matter of principle. He wouldn't say sorry. I had to show him who's boss. He disrespected me. He sent me a text. He won't come crawling back and I'm not crawling to him. He's over-rated anyway. Er, wibble".

Not a football reason amongst them.

23-09-2012, 10:00 AM
It would be in Scotland's interests that he does so, since by ruling us out of qualifying it makes his departure a certainty. His replacement would then have half a dozen competitive games to restore pride and decide which players should be the nucleus of our squad for Euro 16.

23-09-2012, 10:10 AM
Not even Levein can lose to Wales. Can he?Feb 2004 - Wales 4 Scotland 0
Nov 2009 - Wales 3 Scotland 0.

23-09-2012, 10:18 AM
Potter will be dumped along with his old yam mates from the Scotland set up soon in my opinion, out of his depth 100%

23-09-2012, 10:40 AM
In a way, it would almost be better for Fletch if he doesn't get a call up. Look at the way the Macedonia team played right through us without us pressing them at all. Not sure a forward would have solved that. If he does get a shout, the pressure on him to score would be huge.

23-09-2012, 12:15 PM
In a way, it would almost be better for Fletch if he doesn't get a call up. Look at the way the Macedonia team played right through us without us pressing them at all. Not sure a forward would have solved that. If he does get a shout, the pressure on him to score would be huge.

I go with this assessment and that of others who would prefer him not to play for Potter. If Potter does name him in a squad, it's not going to alter his opinion of him, as he'll be doing it under duress. I can't see Fletch forgiving and forgetting either.

If he actually plays Fletch, it will probably be in a situation where he sets him up to fail. I actually believe he'd be that petty.....maybe a 9-0-1 formation :greengrin

There is only one solution....and it doesn't involve Craig Le Vain being the manager of Scotland

23-09-2012, 05:22 PM
We wont beat Wales and will lose to Belguim, Potter will get the sack, too late as the qualifying campaign will be over.

23-09-2012, 06:01 PM
Steven Fletcher is a 25 year old who has done nothing with his life, except play football.

He is a multi millionaire who is hero worshipped by thousands of people and he appears on TV every week.

It would be most unusual if he didn't have an inflated ego and sense of self-worth

It's almost expected, and mostly accepted, that someone in his position is going to be a bit of a dafty.

Craig Levein is nearly double the laddie's age.

Part of his job is to manage players with egos, not punish them because they don't bow to his.

Levein is so up his own erse, that he won't even discuss the 4 - 6 - 0 farce, never mind admit he made a mistake.

He isn't a club manager who can leave a player out for a few games in order to impose discipline. Fletcher might be a bit disappointed, but he plays every week for Sunderland so he's getting games.

Levein had 10 games to take his country's football team to Europe's show piece tournament and, because he thinks he is more important than achieving that, he snubbed Fletcher and consequently, he will fail.

Fast forward to July 2014:

"Well, Craig, that's another tournament we've missed out on. Why didn't you pick Steven Fletcher?"

"It was a matter of principle. He wouldn't say sorry. I had to show him who's boss. He disrespected me. He sent me a text. He won't come crawling back and I'm not crawling to him. He's over-rated anyway. Er, wibble".

Not a football reason amongst them.

Problem is though that those of us who agree with your sentiments have no influence in the matter as it is the "dafties" that run Scottish Football who need to wake up what Levein is doing and not doing in terms of improving the Scottish national footbal team! :confused:

24-09-2012, 02:00 AM
Levein is the kind of person who would pick Fletcher then just leave him out of the team, or on the bench, even if we were losing, just to make a bloody-minded, petty point.

Amazing to think that Scotland could have a 20 million pound striking partnership, but one (12m) won't be picked, despite scoring goals every week in the EPL and the other (8m) scores for fun against whoever he plays but apparently he is "not ready".

Levein gtf.

24-09-2012, 05:25 PM
Agh but do either of them play for the Vancouver whitecaps? #leveinlogic

25-09-2012, 12:09 PM
That Latrine is out of his depth is not being challenged.

What I would challenge is that the 2 for 1 Judas pairing of Smith and McLeish being considered to replace him is sound thinking.

Strachan is not a real manager as we've seen. My choice before his stock price takes him out of Scotland's range, is Stevie Clarke.

Vastly experienced, hugely respected, won stuff and now proving he can be his own man. Get him in before a big club gets him.

26-09-2012, 10:07 AM
Feb 2004 - Wales 4 Scotland 0
Nov 2009 - Wales 3 Scotland 0.

Yes I know its happened before but Coleman seems to be making even more of a hash of it than Levein. It will the battle of two poor managers.

Off the bar
26-09-2012, 10:13 AM
Looks like naismith will get a ban as eufa are looking at his elbow work against Macedonia, so if he gets banned for 3 games surely latrine will have to play Rhodes and get Fletcher in the squad

26-09-2012, 10:57 AM
That's assuming Levein is willing to risk playing with a striker against the might of Wales. Could be the ideal excuse for him to play 4-6-0 again.

26-09-2012, 11:00 AM
Probably more of a 6-4-0 seeing as we can't afford to lose the game.

26-09-2012, 11:35 AM
That Latrine is out of his depth is not being challenged.

What I would challenge is that the 2 for 1 Judas pairing of Smith and McLeish being considered to replace him is sound thinking.

Strachan is not a real manager as we've seen. My choice before his stock price takes him out of Scotland's range, is Stevie Clarke.

Vastly experienced, hugely respected, won stuff and now proving he can be his own man. Get him in before a big club gets him.

Steve Clarke was the person I hoped would replace Hughes when up for the Hibs job, I don't know the full story, but Petrie in his wisdom... I would agree with you here regarding his stock rising, it's a bit of a poisoned chalice otherwise for has-beens and never-will-bes (sorry Levein). David Moyes is also someone I like, but never quite seems to maintain form and consistency throughout a season or win things, but maybe if he had more money at Everton? We need a manager who can get the best from the players as we are not inherently world class to put it mildly. I feel both Moyes and Clarke could do this.

26-09-2012, 11:57 AM
Can we get back to the main issue here instead of discussing football?

Craig Levine is a jakey mess :agree:

Sergio sledge
26-09-2012, 12:02 PM
Steve Clarke was the person I hoped would replace Hughes when up for the Hibs job, I don't know the full story, but Petrie in his wisdom... I would agree with you here regarding his stock rising, it's a bit of a poisoned chalice otherwise for has-beens and never-will-bes (sorry Levein). David Moyes is also someone I like, but never quite seems to maintain form and consistency throughout a season or win things, but maybe if he had more money at Everton? We need a manager who can get the best from the players as we are not inherently world class to put it mildly. I feel both Moyes and Clarke could do this.

Gordon Smith (ex SFA chief executive) was on Sportsound recently and said that the pay packet for the job is only at a low level championship upper league 1 level, so there's no chance we could attract a manger from the premier league I'm afraid.

26-09-2012, 12:06 PM

Craig Levine is a jakey mess :agree::agree:

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b168/jamie1971/potterbf4.gif

26-09-2012, 12:23 PM
Gordon Smith (ex SFA chief executive) was on Sportsound recently and said that the pay packet for the job is only at a low level championship upper league 1 level, so there's no chance we could attract a manger from the premier league I'm afraid.

Neither is it a full time role. Levein supplements his SFA income with a fair bit of media work, getting paid to watch games he should be watching anyhow.

I honestly think McLeish or Strachan would be the best option.

26-09-2012, 12:31 PM
Levein is the kind of person who would pick Fletcher then just leave him out of the team, or on the bench, even if we were losing, just to make a bloody-minded, petty point.

Amazing to think that Scotland could have a 20 million pound striking partnership, but one (12m) won't be picked, despite scoring goals every week in the EPL and the other (8m) scores for fun against whoever he plays but apparently he is "not ready".

Levein gtf.

Lets be honest here, if Potter were to pick him and i very much doubt he will, then that's where Fletcher will be, on the bench, and just say Scotland were winning against Wales Potter would more likely take of Miller and replace him with a holding midfielder and go the famous 1-4-6 formation, hopefully hold out for the win and Fletcher would get no credit at all which would suit Potter to a tee, he gets the three points and SF gets no play time in the game.

Other way round and Scotland are getting beat, SF will get the last minute of the game as a sub and have no time to make an impact and Potter will have a dig in the post match interview about SF getting his chance and not taking it.

Potter is a horrible person.

26-09-2012, 01:15 PM

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b168/jamie1971/potterbf4.gif

Genius DD!!

26-09-2012, 01:26 PM

So how come Ireland can get someone with the pedigree of Trappatoni? Is the SFA really so cheap, mean-spirited and unambitious?

...Oh, wait.

26-09-2012, 06:06 PM
Neither is it a full time role. Levein supplements his SFA income with a fair bit of media work, getting paid to watch games he should be watching anyhow.

He also saves a lot on razor blades.

27-09-2012, 10:28 AM
levein's anti-football chases another foot soldier away from the game

http://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/scotsol/homepage/news/4559115/Tartan-Army-fanatic-Im-Levein-you-after-40-years.html

A TARTAN Army diehard who has spent £100,000 watching Scotland over 40 years has hung up his kilt — because watching Craig Levein’s troops is too DEPRESSING.

won't be long before Scotland games at Hampden will be free entry with Le Vain in charge :agree:

27-09-2012, 11:32 AM
levein's anti-football chases another foot soldier away from the game

http://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/scotsol/homepage/news/4559115/Tartan-Army-fanatic-Im-Levein-you-after-40-years.html

A TARTAN Army diehard who has spent £100,000 watching Scotland over 40 years has hung up his kilt — because watching Craig Levein’s troops is too DEPRESSING.

won't be long before Scotland games at Hampden will be free entry with Le Vain in charge :agree:

I like this.

In a few year's time, Parisians will learn to avoid M. Le Vain, the drunk Scotsman living on the Metro system who rants incoherently about how the world doesn't deserve him or understand his genius.

27-09-2012, 12:57 PM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/scotland/15868607

Just found this; check out Levein's quote about needing to start the qualification campaign well if Scotland are to stand any chance of getting to Brazil.

GIRUY Levein.

27-09-2012, 01:23 PM
It doesn't matter that Naismith is likely to be suspended as Levein will only play one up front away from home. If he didn't change it at home, there's no chance of him displaying a more adventurous approach on the road.

It'll be 4-5-1 and Miller will assume the position and take the flak when it goes horribly.

If they fail to get a sufficient point tally from the 2 games, the SFA should empty him and let Houston have the gig on his own til the end of the campaign as at least he's likely to call players of Mackay-Stevens, Rhodes and Russell into the first team.

27-09-2012, 01:24 PM
Saw this on BBC story on some doubt about Houston staying on as Dundee Utd manager. Thought one of the quotes below the story was brilliant.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/19745551

Can't he just leave now , then UTD could have Levien back and do the whole of Scotland a favour :faf::faf:

Twiglet
28-09-2012, 11:03 PM
Though we may not get to go, FIFA have announced the schedule of the 2014 world cup, starting at Corinthians ground in Sao Paulo.

http://www.corinthians.com.br/portal/noticias/2012/09/27/18h09-id16537-fifa+confirma+horarios+dos+jogos+da+copa+do+mundo. shtml#.UGYq_rJlS0Y

The link may be in Portuguese as I stole it from a Brazilian friend on facebook, but it translated ok with the browser translator.

29-09-2012, 11:05 AM
Though we may not get to go, FIFA have announced the schedule of the 2014 world cup, starting at Corinthians ground in Sao Paulo.

http://www.corinthians.com.br/portal/noticias/2012/09/27/18h09-id16537-fifa+confirma+horarios+dos+jogos+da+copa+do+mundo. shtml#.UGYq_rJlS0Y

The link may be in Portuguese as I stole it from a Brazilian friend on facebook, but it translated ok with the browser translator.

Indeed. They are building this huge stadium in the arse-end of nowhere just for this one opening game. Honestly, it is so far away from the centre of the city that Ryanair would probably build an airport next to it and call it "Sao Paulo"...

But I will say this- Corinthians is the populist team and they have a huge, passionate support, so the ground will probably be well filled every week after the cup is over.

29-09-2012, 04:59 PM
I dont see anyone bashing Scotland, I see people people bashing Levein. :aok:

Well said that man. :agree:

29-09-2012, 06:30 PM
And Fletcher doing the business again in the best & biggest league in the known universe..........

29-09-2012, 06:57 PM
Just seen Martin O'Neill's post match interview on beeb, and he was effusive in his praise for Fletch..... " Steven Fletcher was fantastic, not just scoring the goal but his overall centre-forward play. He was terrific, he is a really fine player.".....just a bit of it.

Are you watching Craig Le Vain?

:smokin:

30-09-2012, 08:29 PM
And Fletcher doing the business again in the best & biggest league in the known universe..........

:greengrin:thumbsup: Steven Fletcher, not Levein class, :faf: therefore at the moment not Scotland class, well he is scoring goals after all...............

30-09-2012, 08:32 PM

Craig Levine is a jakey mess :agree:

:agree: But there are a few Jakey's looking at a libel action as I type