View Full Version : Matchday music

pontius pilate
04-09-2012, 07:29 AM
What if any song should be played for the players coming out the tunnel?
I would go for Motorhead The Game intimidating atmosphere straight away me thinks. I think this season more than any E.R needs to be a fortress

JHFC
04-09-2012, 07:34 AM
I miss teenage kicks

04-09-2012, 07:57 AM
I miss teenage kicks

is that cos your in your 20's ?

RoscoHibby
04-09-2012, 08:02 AM
I think we should have *****in in the bushes by Oasis.

Not only is a great tune, but get everyone psyched up n ready to go n fight (anyone thats ever been to an Oasis gig or even seen the film Snatch will know what I mean!)

And for the only line of lyrics we could maybe amend it to something like;

"This is Easter Road you B**tards, your not gonna like it, welcome to hell" (this actually fits very well and isn't to dissimilar to the original lyrics)

I think it would be cool anyway :rolleyes:

HibeeN
04-09-2012, 09:02 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SenbXX0Lkb4

Something like this. :thumbsup: Get a bit of tension/anticipation going.

NatureBoy
04-09-2012, 09:28 AM
5,6,7,8 by Steps would definitely have the opposition bricking it before a ball is even kicked!!
:rockin::rockin:

04-09-2012, 09:31 AM
Teenage kicks was epic.

green glory
04-09-2012, 09:33 AM
It MUST be metal.

04-09-2012, 09:37 AM
It MUST be metal.

I miss vinyl.

04-09-2012, 09:40 AM

Not only is a great tune, but get everyone psyched up n ready to go n fight (anyone thats ever been to an Oasis gig or even seen the film Snatch will know what I mean!)

"This is Easter Road you B**tards, your not gonna like it, welcome to hell" (this actually fits very well and isn't to dissimilar to the original lyrics)

I that'd be a decent shout. But does it really matter cause is it going to change what they play

04-09-2012, 09:44 AM

Haha not bad but I'd play the OASIS version of "come on feel the noise" which can be found as a B-side on the Don't Look Back In Anger single from 1996 http://www.google.co.uk/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=oasis%E3%81%AEcum%20on%20feel%20the%20noize&source=web&cd=3&cad=rja&ved=0CC4QtwIwAg&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.youtube.com%2Fwatch%3Fv%3Dvpf ojnOayEc&ei=icxFUOLVIqG40QWAtYAQ&usg=AFQjCNHQ8wB5VP0kP04nr1TrT273GtAxgw

04-09-2012, 10:00 AM
Haha not bad but I'd play the OASIS version of "come on feel the noise" which can be found as a B-side on the Don't Look Back In Anger single from 1996 http://www.google.co.uk/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=oasis%E3%81%AEcum%20on%20feel%20the%20noize&source=web&cd=3&cad=rja&ved=0CC4QtwIwAg&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.youtube.com%2Fwatch%3Fv%3Dvpf ojnOayEc&ei=icxFUOLVIqG40QWAtYAQ&usg=AFQjCNHQ8wB5VP0kP04nr1TrT273GtAxgw

:agree: Played at the Cup Final. What's wrong with the Slade version though? :confused:

04-09-2012, 10:05 AM
:agree: Played at the Cup Final. What's wrong with the Slade version though? :confused:

I think the Oasis version has more raw energy and Liams vocals are superb, it gets me revved up when i hear it :scarf::rockin:

Plus I'm too young to remember Slade :wink:

04-09-2012, 10:40 AM
I think the Oasis version has more raw energy and Liams vocals are superb, it gets me revved up when i hear it :scarf::rockin:

Plus I'm too young to remember Slade :wink:

I'm too young to remember the war, but it still upsets me. :greengrin

Have to disagree on the vocals though. Noddy Holder's voice was once described as "a cut throat razor", I don't think anyone will ever top his version. To me Liam is just a pale imitation (in so many ways). :duck:

04-09-2012, 10:43 AM
I'm too young to remember the war, but it still upsets me. :greengrin

Have to disagree on the vocals though. Noddy Holder's voice was once described as "a cut throat razor", I don't think anyone will ever top his version. To me Liam is just a pale imitation (in so many ways). :duck:

I think we will have to agree to disagree on the front man. I'm an Oasis generation kid so I'm going to be bias :wink:

c31
04-09-2012, 11:23 AM
We could do with a decent sound system first, from my seat at the back of the East it sounds rotten..

04-09-2012, 11:33 AM

See I also agree with this. I was going to suggest it when I first read the thread title. It was superb at the cup final. Sure it was at half time and all the Hibbys were singing it loud and clear. It was brilliant

04-09-2012, 11:35 AM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_v9gK_SedsE

Slades *** on feel the noize is just so much better than any cover. :agree:

*** is a swearword? :faf:

Lungo--Drom
04-09-2012, 11:52 AM
I quite like that Motorhead track. Never heard it before but I think it will grow on me :rockin:

It got me to thinking about anything else that might be in a similar vein to it, and the one thing that came to mind immediately was N.I.B. by Black Sabbath...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TOXPSSZkFD0

If you have never listened to it before, stay with it, this is the full version so you might think it's a bit wussy at first but stay in there, turn up the volume to 11 and wait! :not worth
Just imagine our 11 guys coming out the tunnel to that to that playing at full tilt :greengrin

I would go for Motorhead The Game intimidating atmosphere straight away me thinks. I think this season more than any E.R needs to be a fortress

HibeeMG
04-09-2012, 12:01 PM
Something like this. :thumbsup: Get a bit of tension/anticipation going.

An excellent choice. Along the same lines:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nZf-ZYTsx6c

Kenny1875
04-09-2012, 12:03 PM
Some Lady Gaga would be my choice

green glory
04-09-2012, 12:38 PM
Some Lady Gaga would be my choice

???

Come on it's got to be intimidating for the opposition. Am I Evil by Diamond Head (or the Metallica version if you prefer).

Think a metal version of the opening part of 'The Planets' by Holst.

JHFC
04-09-2012, 03:12 PM
is that cos your in your 20's ?

I'm only 19! Still teenager(ish)

04-09-2012, 03:36 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xKUs2dr9s9E&feature=related

04-09-2012, 03:36 PM
I'd prefer the Hibernian choir was left alone to sing Hibs songs and create a self-generated atmosphere myself.

Liams
04-09-2012, 04:14 PM
Tbh i would have mcpakes interview after the hearts game playing, but thats because i love him.....

That or song2 - blur

04-09-2012, 04:35 PM
As regards winding up the opposition, how about Ken Dodd's 'Here Come the Diddymen' when Celtic come out the tunnel at Easter Road. They are after all a diddy team from Scotland's second city.

04-09-2012, 05:11 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1QP-SIW6iKY

Enter Sandman...metallica.

**** YOU ALLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL YAAAAAASSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS

04-09-2012, 05:15 PM
Always liked how this tune builds and if you've seen the opening scene to the movie you know this represents a 'welcome to hell' feel for ER.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YlApxZ5rF00&feature=youtube_gdata_player

04-09-2012, 05:18 PM

+ spit water over our heads aye?

04-09-2012, 05:33 PM
This would be ideal, but more so against a lowly 3rd division outfit from Govan. An easy chorus for us all to chant along to at around 1:14.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tqSY3iQM56g

pontius pilate
04-09-2012, 05:49 PM

Lost me there mate?????? I was going to suggest guns n roses but i remember the smeltic used to use it

Kenny1875
04-09-2012, 05:56 PM
???

Come on it's got to be intimidating for the opposition. Am I Evil by Diamond Head (or the Metallica version if you prefer).

Some Rihanna instead perhaps?

Macaroon
04-09-2012, 06:05 PM
An excellent choice. Along the same lines:

I don't like that version. The original composed by Clint Mansell is far better IMO:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vl5McGN2L-E

04-09-2012, 06:41 PM
. What's wrong with the Slade version though? :confused:

slade were good but i was more of a 'sweet' man and i always thought we should have ran out to 'teenage rampage' back when mowbrays laddies were all in their teens...nowadays i'd settle for 'hellraiser' or 'blockbuster' as the players march from the tunnel....steve priests line ''we just dont have a clue what to do'' might just sum up the last few years at easter rd..

04-09-2012, 07:33 PM
???

The "Mars" movement is a slow burner. For something classical I'd go straight for the throat with Verdi's "Dies Irae (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=up0t2ZDfX7E&feature=fvst)", assuming Sect43 can handle the vocals ;)

Agree with mcpakesmyhero's comment about missing out on "Welcome To The Jungle". But plenty of good rock/metal choices out there eg AC/DC "This Means War", Metallica "Battery" or Judas Priest "Take On The World".

HibeeMG
04-09-2012, 09:09 PM
I don't like that version. The original composed by Clint Mansell is far better IMO:

I do like the original too, and had thought about it, but it's a slow burner. For something that the team could come out to it would need to be punchier.

04-09-2012, 09:20 PM
This would be ideal, but more so against a lowly 3rd division outfit from Govan. An easy chorus for us all to chant along to at around 1:14.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tqSY3iQM56g

And we know they know. :agree:

04-09-2012, 09:22 PM
Do you really think the opposition will be intimidated by any song played on the tannoy? Black Sabbath! Pull the other one!

I recall Charlton Athletic used to run out to When The Red Red Robin Goes Bob Bob Bobbing Along. The home fans all used to join in and it put them in a good mood.

Which is the point no?

04-09-2012, 09:52 PM
AC/DC. Dirty deeds done dirt cheap! Worlds greatest rock band meets worlds greatest football club. Have seen both many times. Only one never lets you down when you go to see them though.

04-09-2012, 10:11 PM
AC/DC. Dirty deeds done dirt cheap! Worlds greatest rock band meets worlds greatest football club. Have seen both many times. Only one never lets you down when you go to see them though.

Only one has a silly old man in shorts....................ehhhh Kuqi of course.:wink:

HotJumBalaya
05-09-2012, 08:11 AM
Lust for life Iggy Pop....

Hibs for life! repeat..

Here come the ***** Hibees....

05-09-2012, 08:26 AM
I really do like the Hans Zimmer stuff from the Dark Knight trilogy...hairs on back of the neck stuff when watching in the cinema :agree:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vLqKSv1F42A&feature=related

05-09-2012, 08:26 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XlHO4V9vWRY

Matt92
05-09-2012, 01:42 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BNWpZ-Y_KvU

Newcastle a few years ago used to have this just before the players come out the tunnel and when it peaks/is at its loudest the players entered was pretty epic if not unoriginal.
If that fails....

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6t_4BL1TXbw

neilmartinrocks
05-09-2012, 01:54 PM
I would like this played.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XHUsIU161w4&list=AL94UKMTqg-9ANxPPPdVGhQ3Hx4Rlr1LbV&index=2&feature=plcp

complete with the pyrotechnic display.:thumbsup:

06-09-2012, 11:36 AM
This should be played: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Yuvcii8obMU&feature=related

06-09-2012, 11:42 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1Y9xlQlLqZk&feature=player_detailpage

06-09-2012, 11:49 AM
I dont have youtube at work so apologies if already suggested but how about welcome to the jungle by Guns N Roses or call me maybe by Carly Rae Jepson?

06-09-2012, 02:49 PM
We all stand together (the frog song) :greengrin

pontius pilate
06-09-2012, 03:53 PM
How about the best rock band ever AC/DC with the eat the best team ever Hibernian F.C. Thunderstruck na na na na na na na hibees na na na na na na na Hibees. And when the opposition score Entrance of the gladiators. If you haven't heard it I impress you to do so then you may get what I mean

Stevo1875
06-09-2012, 04:22 PM
right here right now - fatboy slim

fire - kasabian

born slippy - underworld

galvanize - chemical brothers

lose yourself - eminem

:take that:take that:take that:take that:take that

07-09-2012, 06:10 PM
No wrestling music haha!!!

The lyrics are not suited but I would love too see hibs come out too Shipping out to Boston by the Dropkick Murphys. Although I did love it years ago when we came out to Song 2 by Blur

Magnifique
07-09-2012, 08:09 PM
No wrestling music haha!!!

The lyrics are not suited but I would love too see hibs come out too Shipping out to Boston by the Dropkick Murphys. Although I did love it years ago when we came out to Song 2 by Blur

Was thinking the other day we should sell the rights to pick the music on a match day, for example there could be a package pick the tunes, nice comfy seat in directors box meet the players and a meal and charge maybe 4-500 for it an ideal birthday treat etc and give proceeds to youth team etc

GoldenEagle
07-09-2012, 08:17 PM
Beautiful Noise - Neil Diamond :)

Renfrew_Hibby
07-09-2012, 08:26 PM
Really into Public Enemy due to the paralympics so how about this..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fPHO5Brsd3E&feature=related

Or even this for when Craig Thompson is reffin!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8PaoLy7PHwk

GORDONSMITH7
07-09-2012, 08:56 PM
Teenage kicks was epic.

Totally agree and I think Hibs should still be running out to it. Well I would say that wouldn't I, as it was me who got it started in the first place. John Peel (John Robert Parker Ravenscroft) died on the 25th October 2004. We were playing Livingston on the Wednesday and I asked Hibs to play the great man's all time favorite tune as the players ran out as a tribute to him.They played it, I was happy and Hibs won 2-1. Must dash as ironically 'Here Comes the Summer: The Undertones Story' starts in five minutes on BBC4.

http://www.hiberniansaintpatricks.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2012/07/John-Peel.jpg

BIG G

Green Reaper
07-09-2012, 09:30 PM
John Peel-Legend

Just had to say that.
Matchday song for team would be Lose Yourself-Eminem

Bowtow
07-09-2012, 09:43 PM
We could do with a decent sound system first, from my seat at the back of the East it sounds rotten..

This ! At parkhead last week there sound system was booming in our wee corner drowning us out before kick off that's what we need big speakers in the away end at ER and maybe some mics in section 43 let the away fans hear some noise.

08-09-2012, 10:21 AM
Beautiful Noise - Neil Diamond :)

How about "The Stripper", by David Rose. It makes it's impact in the first few bars and it would be wonderfully incongruous. Opposition fans would be going "WTF is that all about".

hibbycha
08-09-2012, 01:06 PM

How about madness OUR HOUSE

08-09-2012, 01:51 PM
Beastie Boys - Sabotage

Huge, huge, huge sounding song.

08-09-2012, 05:44 PM
Opening theme to 'Trainspotting'

Kasabian - LSF

Feeder - Buck Rogers

House of Pain - Jump Around

Agree though - Teenage Kicks was good back in the day (how much of that was to do with how different our team/atmosphere was though?)