View Full Version : Scotland Squad Announced for Serbia and Macedonia

30-08-2012, 03:04 PM
Charlie Adam (Liverpool)
Christophe Berra (Wolverhampton Wanderers)
Gary Caldwell (Wigan Athletic)
Don Cowie (Cardiff City)
Graham Dorrans (West Bromwich Albion)
James Forrest (Celtic)
Daniel Fox (Southampton)
Matt Gilks (Blackpool)
Grant Hanley (Blackburn Rovers)
Alan Hutton (Aston Villa)
Ross McCormack (Leeds United)
Allan McGregor (Besiktas)
Jamie Mackie (Queens Park Rangers)
Shaun Maloney (Wigan Athletic)
David Marshall (Cardiff City)
Russell Martin (Norwich City)
Kenny Miller (Vancouver Whitecaps)
James Morrison (West Bromwich Albion)
Charlie Mulgrew (Celtic)
Steven Naismith (Everton)
Matt Phillips (Blackpool)
Jordan Rhodes (Huddersfield Town)
Robert Snodgrass (Norwich City)
Andy Webster (Heart of Midlothian)

James McArthur, Scott Brown, Barry Bannan, Ian Black :rolleyes: and Craig Mackail-Smith all on reserve list apparently

JIm
30-08-2012, 03:06 PM
Charlie Adam (Liverpool)
Don Cowie (Cardiff City)
James Forrest (Celtic)
Daniel Fox (Southampton)
Matt Gilks (Blackpool)
Charlie Mulgrew (Celtic)

James McArthur, Scott Brown, Barry Bannan, Ian Black :rolleyes: and Craig Mackail-Smith all on reserve list apparently

Why roll the eyes? Looks like a decent squad to me.

30-08-2012, 03:08 PM
Charlie Adam (Liverpool)
Don Cowie (Cardiff City)
James Forrest (Celtic)
Daniel Fox (Southampton)
Matt Gilks (Blackpool)
Charlie Mulgrew (Celtic)

Why no Scott Brown?

30-08-2012, 03:09 PM
He's carrying a knock IIRC

30-08-2012, 03:10 PM
Very strange that scott brown hasnt been picked

30-08-2012, 03:13 PM

Especially when he was able to play last night.

30-08-2012, 03:17 PM
Shows the state of our game when only one (non Celtic) SPL player is chosen. Can't believe Scott Brown isn't in the squad whether he is injured or not the matches are still a good few days away and it is World Cup not a meaningless friendly.

30-08-2012, 03:18 PM
I'll go first.

Why still no Steven Fletcher???

It is cos Levein is a plooky, stubborn ********, or is Fletch still doing a bit of "toys oot the pram" act?

30-08-2012, 03:18 PM

The eye role was because of the inclusion of Black I think :aok:

30-08-2012, 03:19 PM

Eyes are obviously aimed at Ian Black

JIm
30-08-2012, 03:26 PM
I'll go first.

Why still no Steven Fletcher???

It is cos Levein is a plooky, stubborn ********, or is Fletch still doing a bit of "toys oot the pram" act?

Their as stubborn as each other. Fletcher not willing to apologise though and Levein has ruled him out cause of it. Rightly so IMO.

i.e Blacky, he's probably still at a stage where he could handle the speed of play etc, is he going to get a call up? Unlikely as there are definitely others ahead of him in the cue.

30-08-2012, 03:26 PM
Why did Potter name all these strikers when we know perfectly well that at a push he'll only play with one.

SetonClapper
30-08-2012, 03:29 PM
Why did Potter name all these strikers when we know perfectly well that at a push he'll only play with one.

or none

30-08-2012, 03:32 PM
Moving on from the Fletcher and Ian Black rows (Levein's got it wrong in both cases, surely)...

Is it really plausible for Kenny Miller to commute back from Vancouver throughout the campaign? I doubt it.

Where is Steven Whittaker?

And has Craig Gordon found a club yet? :duck: He was Scotland's best keeper.

30-08-2012, 03:33 PM

He has Hibs connections so that must get right on Potter's tits

JIm
30-08-2012, 03:35 PM

Really? You actually believe that?

30-08-2012, 03:45 PM

I suspect the Brown exclusion might have more to do with Lennon than Avril.

GreenPJ
30-08-2012, 04:16 PM
Bannan not in the squad but Hutton is. :rolleyes:

30-08-2012, 04:32 PM
Moving on from the Fletcher and Ian Black rows (Levein's got it wrong in both cases, surely)...

Is it really plausible for Kenny Miller to commute back from Vancouver throughout the campaign? I doubt it.

Where is Steven Whittaker?

And has Craig Gordon found a club yet? :duck: He was Scotland's best keeper.

Both injured, agree completely about Miller his playing in Canada should IMO have ruled him out of playing. He wasnt picked in the recent friendly because of it.

30-08-2012, 04:35 PM
I suspect the Brown exclusion might have more to do with Lennon than Avril.

Broonaldo is not fully fit and is scheduled to see a specialist regarding a hip injury.

30-08-2012, 04:47 PM

Just a wee bit aye, don't forget this is a yam conspiracy that is in charge of our national team

30-08-2012, 05:08 PM
with the exception of Kenny Miller still being in - can't see too much wrong.

We actually have a right good bunch of players which should make a decent team - but its up to the manager to blend them and have tactics that will get the best out of them.

HibeeMG
30-08-2012, 05:22 PM
And why no Kris Commons? Surely the most in-form Scottish midfielder?

NYHibby
30-08-2012, 06:01 PM

Why? Robbie Keane and a load of American players do the transatlantic commute.

HarpyHibby
30-08-2012, 06:18 PM
Too many English born players in that squad. The 'Scottish' National Team is becoming a complete farce.

30-08-2012, 06:35 PM

To an extent I certainly think he doesn't care much for Hibs, but has a clear soft spot for Hearts. A crock like Webster shouldn't be anywhere near the Scotland squad. Making Scotland use the Away bench at ER, giving Black a debut at our ground was just stupid too, as it was always going to lead to what happened. For a largely pointless friendly any decent manager would have called up Hanlon or somebody just to boost the gate a bit for example.

His crap about not picking O'Connor because of his criminal record, court appearances, while continuing to pick guys like Goodwillie was also sheer hypocrisy.

30-08-2012, 06:36 PM
Too many English born players in that squad. The 'Scottish' National Team is becoming a complete farce.

LOL how did the word becoming slip in there?
The national team has been a joke for nearly 20 years now.

Hibee Ryan
30-08-2012, 06:41 PM
Still don't understand how we can keep on playing Kenny Miller :bitchy:

He's past his best and even at his best he wasn't the best striker we've got

millarco
30-08-2012, 07:12 PM
Shows the state of our game when only one (non Celtic) SPL player is chosen. Can't believe Scott Brown isn't in the squad whether he is injured or not the matches are still a good few days away and it is World Cup not a meaningless friendly.

Depends which way you look at it. Having 11 players in the squad from one of the best leagues in the world must surely be a good thing for the national team? The SPL/Championship debate is something different, but then the money being offered there makes it a no-brainer for players.

30-08-2012, 10:23 PM
Can't believe some folks are questioning Webster being in the squad. :bitchy:

That was a cracking finish in the Liverpool game the other night.... :greengrin

30-08-2012, 11:33 PM
I think James McArthur is better than Cowie and Dorrans. Been excellant for Wigan.

03-09-2012, 10:02 PM
Paul Dixon and Gary MacKenzie have been drafted into the Scotland squad after Danny Fox and Russell Martin were ruled out of Saturday's meeting with Serbia.

StarMan10
03-09-2012, 10:22 PM
Paul Dixon and Gary MacKenzie have been drafted into the Scotland squad after Danny Fox and Russell Martin were ruled out of Saturday's meeting with Serbia.

No little about this Gary MacKenzie which is never a good sign. Any one know if he's any good?

LeighLoyal
03-09-2012, 10:35 PM
I still can't believe the stupidity of Wallace and Simpleton re Sevco. The chance to play in Brazil, that alone would have me avoiding Sevco like the plague. No ambition for anything but a short term pay check. We need Fletcher, Darren and Steven, to qualify. And a fit Scott Brown.

03-09-2012, 10:48 PM
No little about this Gary MacKenzie which is never a good sign. Any one know if he's any good?

Probably plays for an average team in the second tier in England, at a guess.

Levein is a massive bellend.

03-09-2012, 10:50 PM
I still can't believe the stupidity of Wallace and Simpleton re Sevco. The chance to play in Brazil, that alone would have me avoiding Sevco like the plague. No ambition for anything but a short term pay check. We need Fletcher, Darren and Steven, to qualify. And a fit Scott Brown.

Sounds unlikely. His degenerative hip condition will keep him out of a lot of games it seems, and Lennon says he will need a long rest.

He may still play a part, but I don't think it will be a big one. Shame.

03-09-2012, 10:53 PM

Ex hun, plays for MK Dons and is pish :wink:

Leishy1995
03-09-2012, 10:58 PM
It worries me that the most expensive player ever in Scottish football is frozen out.

03-09-2012, 11:07 PM

Plays for Milton Keynes Dons according to Wiki - I didn't no about him either :wink:

Re the Fletcher situation the blame ultimately lies at Levein's door that the stand out striker available to Scotland isn't playing for him. But Fletch has certainly not helped the situation, seemingly not responding to statements made by Levein in the media that all he had to do was get in touch by text/phone/whatever.

But Levein has proceeded to dig a hole for himself IMO - effectively slamming the door on Fletch for the rest of his tenure last May ...

http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/2012/may/12/scotland-craig-levein-steven-fletcher

Its a damn shame and typical Scotland - Duncan Ferguson all over again - would love for them to bury the hatchet cos ultimately, whoever the manager, I want to see Scotland get to Brazil :saltireflag

whereswallace?
03-09-2012, 11:07 PM
I think James McArthur is better than Cowie and Dorrans. Been excellant for Wigan.

:agree: Was about to post similar. Here's a guy playing regularly in a premiership team against some of the best midfielders in the world yet can't make the squad, baffling.

04-09-2012, 07:45 AM
Probably plays for an average team in the second tier in England, at a guess.

Levein is a massive bellend.

Almost, he plays for an average team in the third tier in England.

04-09-2012, 07:47 AM
Almost, he plays for an average team in the third tier in England.He was however spot on with the 2nd statement :agree:

04-09-2012, 07:50 AM

Lee Wallace is a better player than Paul Dixon, either he's willing to call up third division players or he's not, why is there uncertainty? Black makes the stand by list, Wallace doesn't, and then we call up a replacement left back who isn't as good as Wallace.

I do like Paul Dixon, he's a decent player, just not as good as Wallace.

04-09-2012, 07:55 AM
I hope they lose all their games and don't qualify, that is the only way we will get rid of this 4 eyed idiot.

04-09-2012, 08:26 AM
I hope they lose all their games and don't qualify, that is the only way we will get rid of this 4 eyed idiot.

If we win all our games and qualify, would you still want him out of the job?

04-09-2012, 08:30 AM
Yes ! But there is more chance of me winning the euro lottery than that ever happening with that clown in charge

04-09-2012, 08:33 AM
I see another Belgian has moved for big money this summer. Axle Witsel to Zenit for about £32m apparantly. They've signed Hulk for £32m too.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/19471132

That's a pretty expensive midifeld Belgium now have, by any country in the worlds standards.

Dembele £15m
Fellaini £15m
Witsel £32m
Hazard £32m

NatureBoy
04-09-2012, 10:19 AM
I'm going on Saturday but looking at our squad have serious doubts about us in this group think we will struggle in every game! Croatia and Belgium look very good, Serbia and Wales decent teams as well. Unless Potter has cast some magic spell think this may well be his farewell to the national team.

04-09-2012, 10:32 AM
Lee Wallace is a better player than Paul Dixon, either he's willing to call up third division players or he's not, why is there uncertainty? Black makes the stand by list, Wallace doesn't, and then we call up a replacement left back who isn't as good as Wallace.

I do like Paul Dixon, he's a decent player, just not as good as Wallace.

Wallace is injured AFAIK.

I see another Belgian has moved for big money this summer. Axle Witsel to Zenit for about £32m apparantly. They've signed Hulk for £32m too.

That's a pretty expensive midifeld Belgium now have, by any country in the worlds standards.

Dembele £15m
Fellaini £15m
Witsel £32m
Hazard £32m

Aye but they've not got Matt Phillips.

04-09-2012, 10:55 AM
Wallace is injured AFAIK.

He played 90 mins on Sunday.

Aye but they've not got Matt Phillips.

True.

04-09-2012, 10:58 AM
He played 90 mins on Sunday.

Dunno then. Sporting Life was saying that he's got a hamstring problem.

04-09-2012, 11:06 AM
Dunno then. Sporting Life was saying that he's got a hamstring problem.

It's not exactly uncommon for Old Firm players to be injured when theres an international game, despite having been fit to play days before or after though, is it?

04-09-2012, 11:23 AM
It's not exactly uncommon for Old Firm players to be injured when theres an international game, despite having been fit to play days before or after though, is it?

So does Potter ban HIM for not being 100% committed to "the cause"? :rolleyes:

Ross4356
04-09-2012, 11:49 AM
Looking forward to Saturday and think we have an outside change of qualifaction. Serbia are not that great and neither are Wales or Macedonia. As for Croatia well, they will win the group. The Belgium's on paper look fantastic but finished 3rd in their last qualifaction group and other than he 4-2 result against a weakend Dutch side have done nothing. We ran Czech Republic close last time and they got to the quarter finals of the Euro's

04-09-2012, 12:19 PM
Plays for Milton Keynes Dons according to Wiki - I didn't no about him either :wink:

Re the Fletcher situation the blame ultimately lies at Levein's door that the stand out striker available to Scotland isn't playing for him. But Fletch has certainly not helped the situation, seemingly not responding to statements made by Levein in the media that all he had to do was get in touch by text/phone/whatever.

But Levein has proceeded to dig a hole for himself IMO - effectively slamming the door on Fletch for the rest of his tenure last May ...

http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/2012/may/12/scotland-craig-levein-steven-fletcher

Its a damn shame and typical Scotland - Duncan Ferguson all over again - would love for them to bury the hatchet cos ultimately, whoever the manager, I want to see Scotland get to Brazil :saltireflag

Why should he have to respond to statements any half decent manager and man would have phoned the guy up or even better travelled down to Wolves and spoke to the guy face to face to try and sort out their differences. He seemed extraordinarily keen to travel up and down to Birmingham trying to woo the shamed Ferguson who genuinely did shame the country.

If he had done this and Fletcher still said no he could then have said he did all that he could.

04-09-2012, 12:22 PM
So does Potter ban HIM for not being 100% committed to "the cause"? :rolleyes:

I would guess no. :greengrin There is no doubt in my mind that if Fletcher was either playing currently for the OF or had previously played for them and was scoring in England that Levein would have acted completely differently towards him as the Weegie press would have slaughtered him for it.

LeighLoyal
04-09-2012, 12:27 PM
[QUOTE=easty;3350935]I see another Belgian has moved for big money this summer. Axle Witsel to Zenit for about £32m apparantly. They've signed Hulk for £32m too.

Zenit are the club that wouldn't sign black players because their fans wouldn't have it? Welcome to the real world, Zenit fans.

04-09-2012, 12:47 PM
[QUOTE=easty;3350935]I see another Belgian has moved for big money this summer. Axle Witsel to Zenit for about £32m apparantly. They've signed Hulk for £32m too.

Zenit are the club that wouldn't sign black players because their fans wouldn't have it? Welcome to the real world, Zenit fans.

aaah, the russian oilgarch's must be going all out to win that coveted champions league title, some crazy amounts of monopoly money floating about in russia last few seasons