View Full Version : Match Updates Sunday Games

19-08-2012, 11:40 AM
Tannadice is rocking ahead of the Derby - can hear the noise from my house, which is a fair wee bit away!

Looking forward to this.

Also today: Wigan vs Chelsea and Manchester City vs Southampton, followed by Real Madrid vs Valencia and Barcelona vs Real Sociedad

19-08-2012, 12:00 PM
Dundee United 1-0 Dundee: Gunning.

Bad mistake from Douglas.

19-08-2012, 12:06 PM
Is it the first weekend of La Liga? Off to try and see the juniors at my local course win the cup day, but then should make it back to watch a bit of that. Got the EPL games on record in case there is any crackers!

19-08-2012, 12:10 PM
Is it the first weekend of La Liga? Off to try and see the juniors at my local course win the cup day, but then should make it back to watch a bit of that. Got the EPL games on record in case there is any crackers!

Real Madrid v Valencia on at 6 then Barca v Real Sociedad after :thumbsup:

19-08-2012, 12:12 PM
Tannadice is rocking ahead of the Derby - can hear the noise from my house, which is a fair wee bit away!

Looking forward to this.

Also today: Wigan vs Chelsea and Manchester City vs Southampton, followed by Real Madrid vs Valencia and Barcelona vs Real Sociedad
As can I. Strangely enough a wee laddie just ran past the window wearing the new Hibs top with 10 on the back :not worth

neilmartinrocks
19-08-2012, 12:17 PM

Looking forward to this.

Used to love going to the Dundee Derby with my ex.
Mon the Dee's!!

19-08-2012, 12:21 PM
United 2-0 Dundee - Russell.

19-08-2012, 12:24 PM
What a goal :top marks

19-08-2012, 12:24 PM
United 3-0 Dundee: Russell with a screamer!

19-08-2012, 12:25 PM
3-0 Russel - cracking goal!

Can United challenge Celtic? :aok:

Never mind second place, if United can keep this team together and maintain this form over the season, they could win the SPL. They look brilliant!

19-08-2012, 12:27 PM
Maybe puts in a bit of perspective our poor result up there.

:duck:

19-08-2012, 12:27 PM
I don't think United are playing all that well myself so any talk of them challenging Celtic is surely premature...

The goals were fine though, have to admit that.

19-08-2012, 12:30 PM
Can United challenge Celtic? :aok:

Yes, as long as they can hold onto their players. Dundee United are a model we should be looking at in terms of a young team with loads of potential, how many millions of talent are in the United squad. Also Houston is a better manager than Lennon, so it could be interesting to see how it all develops.

19-08-2012, 12:31 PM
I don't think United are playing all that well myself so any talk of them challenging Celtic is surely premature...

The goals were fine though, have to admit that.

And in spite of that, they're 3-0 at home (again) in a derby match.

The moves they have put together have been quick, cutting through Dundee at will, with some outstanding finishing.

Be interesting to see them against Celtic for the first time, that's for sure.

19-08-2012, 12:35 PM
2-0 Chelsea

19-08-2012, 12:40 PM
Great play by Eden Hazard, good start for Chelsea. Can't see them topping the Manchester clubs, but they will get 3rd.

LeighLoyal
19-08-2012, 12:44 PM
Is it just me or is Rankin better than Claros and Stevenson? We could have signed Gardyne also, I always liked him better than 'JImmy' Scott, but per usual! :rolleyes:

19-08-2012, 12:46 PM
Is it just me or is Rankin better than Claros and Stevenson? We could have signed Gardyne also, I always liked him better than 'JImmy' Scott, but per usual! :rolleyes:
I think he's actually serious.

19-08-2012, 12:50 PM

I never fail to be amazed by some of the things I read on here :agree:

brythehibby
19-08-2012, 12:54 PM
And in spite of that, they're 3-0 at home (again) in a derby match.

The moves they have put together have been quick, cutting through Dundee at will, with some outstanding finishing.

Be interesting to see them against Celtic for the first time, that's for sure.

It is dundee there playing! A mistake by douglas and a deflected goal isnt outstanding finishing but the third - take a bow! But i dont see utd challenging the top spot at all.

19-08-2012, 12:54 PM

Rankin IS better than Claros and Stevenson, far better. Not to mention as fit as a butcher's dog. Utd POTY last season according to some and being touted for the Scotland squad by their fans. Ran the show against us on opening day.

19-08-2012, 12:56 PM

And right sadly. Thing is though, Rankin was cat pish at Hibs, so i am not annoyed we let him go.

Two super saves from Douglas to keep it 3-0.

One way traffic!

Looks like it really could be any number to United now.

19-08-2012, 01:04 PM
It is dundee there playing! A mistake by douglas and a deflected goal isnt outstanding finishing but the third - take a bow! But i dont see utd challenging the top spot at all.

You never know, things will be tighter this year for sure with no Rangers...

Celtic may have a Champions League run which would take their eye off the SPL, they were pretty poor yesterday, fairly fortunate to get a point

brythehibby
19-08-2012, 01:08 PM
You never know, things will be tighter this year for sure with no Rangers...

Celtic may have a Champions League run which would take their eye off the SPL, they were pretty poor yesterday, fairly fortunate to get a point

Dont get me wrong i hope someone can keep up the pace with them i just dont see it happening this season. Love to be proved wrong. But if celtic turn up to games thinking it will be easy like they did yesterday they'll get a shock.

19-08-2012, 01:10 PM
I can see a similar scenario to the one that happened last year with Motherwell and Celtic. They were ahead of them for the first 3 months of the season and actually took the lead in a match against them in November last year and, if they had won, they would have gone 6 points clear of them in 2nd place.

However Celtic came back to win 2-1 and 6 months later, they finished more than 30 points ahead of Motherwell.

Dundee Utd undoubtedly have a talented side at the moment and if they keep them together then they'll certainly finish 2nd by a country mile but I don't think they'll have enough to keep up with Celtic over the course of the season.

19-08-2012, 01:13 PM

Finishing doesn't necessarily just mean goals. A few of their efforts on target have been ferocious and accurate, forcing good blocks or good saves.

They knock the ball about well, are composed at the back, have pace in abundance and some very skilled young players.

I would still fancy Celtc to win the league (sadly) but if United can keep this group of players and keep them consistent like this, it certainly won't be the canter everyone thinks it's going to be.

19-08-2012, 01:16 PM
Pretty sure both teams just had someone sent off there...

Russell and O'Donnell off.

Edit: Maybe not actually - I thought he brought his boot down into his head, but it looked quite soft.

Russell and O'Donnell sent off.

Ridiculous decision by Callum Murray.

19-08-2012, 01:19 PM
What happened?

19-08-2012, 01:20 PM

In real time, I thought Russell kicked him in the back of the head but the replays suggested not.

Poor decision indeed.

19-08-2012, 01:20 PM

I beg to differ, Russell definately pushes his right leg through onto the boys head, Correct decision was a red card.

19-08-2012, 01:21 PM
This is why United will not challenge at all.

2 of their best players, 1 out injured the other sent off and will miss a game or two. United cant replace these players while Celtic have at least as good players and if they get injured they can replace like with like.

Celtic to win the league by at least 25 points!

brythehibby
19-08-2012, 01:22 PM
Finishing doesn't necessarily just mean goals. A few of their efforts on target have been ferocious and accurate, forcing good blocks or good saves.

They knock the ball about well, are composed at the back, have pace in abundance and some very skilled young players.

I would still fancy Celtc to win the league (sadly) but if United can keep this group of players and keep them consistent like this, it certainly won't be the canter everyone thinks it's going to be.

You never know. There first 11 is good but they dont have much depth looking at there bench. A couple of suspensions and injuries they'll find it hard. I fancy at least 2 more red cards here! Very tasty now!

19-08-2012, 01:23 PM
I beg to differ, Russell definately pushes his right leg through onto the boys head, Correct decision was a red card.

Watch it again. Russell went nowhere near his head.

He pushed his leg, very slightly, into the top of his back.

I would be fuming if one of our players had been sent off for that.

If referees are going to be sending players off for that kind of thing, we would be as well forgetting about football and starting again with another sport.

19-08-2012, 01:25 PM
Attendance: 13538

19-08-2012, 01:26 PM
What happened?

O'Donnell went in with a tackle on Russell who reacted by pushing his leg very slightly into O'Donnell's back whilst they were still on the ground.

Complete handbags and a total over-reaction by Callum Murray.

19-08-2012, 01:27 PM
Watch it again. Russell went nowhere near his head.

He pushed his leg, very slightly, into the top of his back.

I would be fuming if one of our players had been sent off for that.

If referees are going to be sending players off for that kind of thing, we would be as well forgetting about football and starting again with another sport.

Watched it again and still convinced the correct decision was a red card.The dundee player reacts furiously, Why? Cause he was caught by Johnny Russell in the back you are correct.

19-08-2012, 01:29 PM
Russell deserved the red.

You can't react like that and get away with it.

CAN YOU WILLIE GOLLUM?!

19-08-2012, 01:32 PM
Watched it again and still convinced the correct decision was a red card.The dundee player reacts furiously, Why? Cause he was caught by Johnny Russell in the back you are correct.

Agree having watched it again, let's not forget the ref never had the chance to watch it again! Good decision IMO.

19-08-2012, 01:33 PM
Russell's red card just further highlights how ridiculous it was that Templeton got away with his during the game last week.

And what's with Andy Walker mentioning Hibs when talking about footballers needing extra protection, saying that we dished out some treatment to Mackay-Steven the other week? The guy is an ********. Scottish football has a bad enough reputation as it is, and as such I can barely imagine anyone outwith Scotland tuning in - but if they did, having idiots like Walker as co-commentator just runs the reputation down further, he offers no insight whatsoever. Surely there must be better out there.

19-08-2012, 01:41 PM
Russell deserved the red.

You can't react like that and get away with it.

CAN YOU WILLIE GOLLUM?!

Don't think you can really compare what Russell today with what Templeton did last week.

One was a blatant swing/kick out and the other one was a slight push of the leg.

Totally different IMO.

19-08-2012, 01:45 PM
Red card any day of the week.

Whether he hit him hard or not is irrelevant. The intent for violent conduct was there so he had to go.

19-08-2012, 01:46 PM
Red card any day of the week.

Whether he hit him hard or not is irrelevant. The intent for violent conduct was there so he had to go.

Correct.

19-08-2012, 02:48 PM
Hopeful for more goals in this game. Five already today (after Chelsea won 2-0 away to Wigan) and this should be an interesting match.

19-08-2012, 02:48 PM
Just had a Dundee fan tell me that he still thinks Hibs or County will get relegated this season. :rolleyes: In the process of getting him to put his money where his mouth is :aok:

19-08-2012, 03:03 PM
Just had a Dundee fan tell me that he still thinks Hibs or County will get relegated this season. :rolleyes: In the process of getting him to put his money where his mouth is :aok:

From what I seen of Ross County yesterday both teams are way better than Dundee.

19-08-2012, 03:05 PM

Dundee don't have an SPL worthy squad, by their own admission. I reckon they'll go down without a doubt, though probably through no real fault of their own.

Unless we see the promised restructuring of an SPL 2 and they'll be saved accordingly.

Decent start here by Southampton!

19-08-2012, 03:11 PM
This doesn't look too good for Aguero here...

19-08-2012, 03:12 PM
He's milking it big time is he not?

Magic sponge would do the trick for Rooney :aok:

19-08-2012, 03:12 PM
Aguero looking in a bit of pain there, putting him on a stretcher.

That would be a huge blow for them so early in the season.

19-08-2012, 03:16 PM
Penalty to Man City.

19-08-2012, 03:17 PM
Missed.

Shocking penalty...:greengrin

19-08-2012, 03:27 PM
:hahaha: Terrible penalty from Silva.

'Mon the Saints! :aok:

19-08-2012, 03:28 PM
God City are dull.

19-08-2012, 03:38 PM
Just got back from Leigh. Rather surprised the best team in Manchester are not running riot.

19-08-2012, 03:42 PM
1-0 man city.

19-08-2012, 03:50 PM
Great ball from Nasri and it looked like a well timed run from Tevez. Nice to see the striker get the benefit of the doubt for a change!

Southampton haven't disgraced themselves by any means, though they look a little toothless thus far.

19-08-2012, 04:27 PM
Reports of an explosion due to fireworks in the Falkirk area are thus far unconfirmed.

1-1.

19-08-2012, 04:31 PM
Rodwell :faf::faf::faf:

19-08-2012, 04:31 PM
2-1 Stevhun Davis.

19-08-2012, 04:32 PM
Oooooo sair yin fur muney citeh.

19-08-2012, 04:33 PM
Glory Glory Man United!

19-08-2012, 04:34 PM
Rodwell ****ed up but Citeh didnt work nearly hard enough toget back and defend. Lazy. Even when Lallana almost lost possession there was nae urgency to get back and win the ball.

19-08-2012, 04:35 PM
Crazy scoreline.

Surprised the man u fans are not gloating, they must be away from the computer checking their Everton tickets are still in their draws?

2-2.

19-08-2012, 04:36 PM
Saints could have had another one right away then Balotelli hits side netting.

Great game in the 2nd half.

jamiehibee
19-08-2012, 04:38 PM
Glory Glory Man United!

I thought southampton scored?

19-08-2012, 04:43 PM
3-2 Nasri.

Saints defending has fallen apart since they went ahead.

19-08-2012, 04:44 PM
3-2 Citeh

19-08-2012, 04:44 PM
The best team in Manchester score again. :greengrin

19-08-2012, 04:45 PM
The Champions score.

Thats why they are champions:agree:

19-08-2012, 04:45 PM
The best team in Manchester score again. :greengrin

How many will he hook?

I guess 6.

19-08-2012, 04:47 PM
Martin Tyler is getting on my tits going on about the greatest league in the world, just get on with the commentary.

19-08-2012, 04:47 PM
Wonder how many minutes of Fergie time will be played :hmmm:

19-08-2012, 04:48 PM
How many will he hook?

I guess 6.

I'm sure of at least 2. :greengrin

19-08-2012, 04:51 PM
The Champions score.

Thats why they are champions:agree:

Now now, IIRC last season some of the "citeh fans" on here claimed that united couldn't claim to be champions having won the previous year.

19-08-2012, 04:52 PM
This has been a brilliant second half of football :agree:

19-08-2012, 04:57 PM
Well played southampton.

19-08-2012, 04:58 PM
What a very good game, much more open than i expected it to be. :top marks

19-08-2012, 04:58 PM
Good game.

Good result for City, Saints can take a lot of positives from it. Play like that every week and they'll be fine. Good to see them back.

19-08-2012, 05:01 PM
Sky have just put the league table up, does anyone think Liverpool will get out of that relegation battle they are in?

They probably wont have Europe to worry about after next week, so that might help them?

19-08-2012, 05:04 PM
Sky have just put the league table up, does anyone think Liverpool will get out of that relegation battle they are in?

They probably wont have Europe to worry about after next week, so that might help them?

They might have Europe to worry about.

No way will a massive club like Hearts put out a full side in the Europa League, they need to concentrate on the league to make sure they get the chance to regain their Champions League trophy next year.

19-08-2012, 05:04 PM
Play crap - still win

That's why we're Champions..

:aok::aok::aok::aok::aok:

19-08-2012, 05:05 PM
Now over to the red button for arguably the juiciest fixture of the day: Real vs Valencia :thumbsup:

19-08-2012, 05:11 PM
10 minutes gone:

Real Madrid 1-0 Valencia - Higuain

19-08-2012, 05:11 PM
They might have Europe to worry about.

No way will a massive club like Hearts put out a full side in the Europa League, they need to concentrate on the league to make sure they get the chance to regain their Champions League trophy next year.

When you put it like that. :greengrin

19-08-2012, 05:43 PM
That's how to silence the Bernabau!

Real 1-1 Valencia

Nasty collision between Pepe and Casillas though.

19-08-2012, 05:47 PM
Nasty collision between Pepe and Casillas though.

Makes a change to see Pepe injure his own team rather than the opposition :greengrin

19-08-2012, 05:50 PM
Be amazed if Casillas comes back out. He looks utterly dazed.

19-08-2012, 05:56 PM
Wonder how many minutes of Fergie time will be played :hmmm:

http://img.uksoccershop.com/countrytshirts/314/WeWonItInFergieTimeMockup.jpg:faf:

19-08-2012, 06:04 PM
http://img.uksoccershop.com/countrytshirts/314/WeWonItInFergieTimeMockup.jpg:faf:

:hilarious :top marks

Fergie is the biggest twat in the EPL:agree: Even Rudolph the red nose reindeer doesn't have a look in with this knob at the helm of Man u.

Not a City fan by any stretch of the imagination but would love to see them win it ( Arsenal apart) To get it right up beetroot face.

19-08-2012, 07:11 PM
What a start to the Barcelona vs Sociedad game!

Barca go 1-0 up after 3 minutes, Sociedad equalise and are level for a minute before Messi makes it 2-1. 10 minutes gone.

19-08-2012, 07:15 PM
15 minutes gone.

Barcelona 3-1 Sociedad: Messi again.

Brilliant :not worth

19-08-2012, 07:41 PM
Breathtaking.

Barcelona 4-1 Sociedad: Pedro

Wonderful goal.

19-08-2012, 07:51 PM
Now we have got the citeh "fans" v everyone else arguments started can we start the first messi v ronaldo argument of the season?

Leighonel
19-08-2012, 07:54 PM
Now we have got the citeh "fans" v everyone else arguments started can we start the first messi v ronaldo argument of the season?

Messi is the best. Settled.

19-08-2012, 07:56 PM
I don't think anyone would vote ronaldo over messi. Even the man u fans on here.

19-08-2012, 07:59 PM
So far, Messi 2-0 Ronaldo :greengrin

19-08-2012, 08:03 PM
Ahhh but could he do it on a wet Tuesday at stoke in February..?

19-08-2012, 08:05 PM
It really can't be bad if you can bring someone like Iniesta off of the bench.

19-08-2012, 08:13 PM

Watch now. You will start a 'best league in the world' debate............

19-08-2012, 08:15 PM
Watch now. You will start a 'best league in the world' debate............

Well... Which league is..?

19-08-2012, 08:17 PM
Well... Which league is..?

Cherry Red Records Combined Counties obviously. Are you daft?

19-08-2012, 08:19 PM
Cherry Red Records Combined Counties obviously. Are you daft?

All about the ishman league.

Teo10
19-08-2012, 08:22 PM
Messi every day!

what about the attendance in the Real Madrid game. Empty seats everywhere, even Real Madrid cant function without Rangers in the league!!!!

19-08-2012, 08:32 PM
Good to see David Villa back, one of my favourite players.

19-08-2012, 08:35 PM

Neither could have done it in the game I watched today. Fact.

19-08-2012, 08:39 PM
Villa scores, nice one!

19-08-2012, 08:42 PM
Neither could have done it in the game I watched today. Fact.

Why not?

19-08-2012, 08:45 PM
Why not?

Too soft esp ronaldo. Think he may have run into Morrison's when he turned up at the ground and seen what was going on.

http://youtu.be/6GHvYcVkZdA

19-08-2012, 08:48 PM
Too soft esp ronaldo. Think he may have run into Morrison's when he turned up at the ground and seen what was going on.

Yet Ronaldo played successfully in England for several years getting booted

19-08-2012, 08:50 PM
Yet Ronaldo played successfully in England for several years getting booted

Great. Did you enjoy watching the moaning get live at a game?

19-08-2012, 08:53 PM
Great. Did you enjoy watching the moaning get live at a game?

Always enjoy watching Ronaldo play, he is a great talent.

19-08-2012, 08:55 PM
Always enjoy watching Ronaldo play, he is a great talent.

Except in the big games.

19-08-2012, 08:57 PM
Except in the big games.

Like champions league finals where he scored the opening goal? IIRC they won that trophy.

19-08-2012, 08:59 PM
Like champions league finals where he scored the opening goal? IIRC they won that trophy.

I'm please he has excited you in one big game, does messi, tevez etc not do that every game?

19-08-2012, 09:04 PM
I'm please he has excited you in one big game, does messi, tevez etc not do that every game?

Copa del Rey final too IIRC. And I never said they didn't, enjoyed messi tonight and I am quite a fan of Tevez (having west ham sympathies) and aguero too, very exciting players to watch.

19-08-2012, 09:10 PM
Is Spanish football better than English? Find it boring myself only really watch barca in champions league.

19-08-2012, 09:12 PM
Is Spanish football better than English? Find it boring myself only really watch barca in champions league.

Some games are very good but there is a lot of crap in both leagues IMO. Italian football hasn't been enjoyable for a while now for me either, maybe I just catch the crap games!

19-08-2012, 09:17 PM
Some games are very good but there is a lot of crap in both leagues IMO. Italian football hasn't been enjoyable for a while now for me either, maybe I just catch the crap games!

Don't think you will go far wrong if you like decent football just catch games involving man city or arsenal.

19-08-2012, 09:20 PM
Don't think you will go far wrong if you like decent football just catch games involving man city or arsenal.

Sadly as I am stateside most of those games are far too early to be getting up for on a Sat or Sun!

19-08-2012, 09:22 PM
Oh and as for man city I sometimes think mancini goes too negative despite the riches he has going forward. Sometimes they look like they need let off the chain.

19-08-2012, 09:24 PM
Looking forward to sportscene there's a first in a while.

19-08-2012, 11:33 PM
Someone said to me once that he would fancy stoke over barcelona due to their inability to stand up to a physical challenge.

Lol.