View Full Version : Ref for Saturday

14-08-2012, 11:35 AM
Craig Charleston. No I don't know who he is either.

14-08-2012, 11:36 AM
A new ref in amongst the useless shower of choobs weve got just now can only be a good thing.. I hope.

14-08-2012, 11:40 AM

Are the rest of the Red Dwarf cast providing the other officials?

14-08-2012, 12:13 PM
Anyone who's not Craig Thomson does me

Macaroon
14-08-2012, 12:18 PM
Another Craig? :rolleyes:

14-08-2012, 12:24 PM
A new ref in amongst the useless shower of choobs weve got just now can only be a good thing.. I hope.if he's been promoted tae current SFA standards I wouldnae haud yer breath.

14-08-2012, 12:29 PM

He is the son of Neighbour's actress Anne Charleston who played Madge Bishop.....

14-08-2012, 12:37 PM
I know his brother Craig is a good ref :wink:

Sodje_18
14-08-2012, 12:44 PM
No complaints from me, hopefully he's better than the current shower of numpties the SFA employ.

Wont hold my breath though, just hoping for a ref that will actually have the bottle to send off a yam for once.

14-08-2012, 01:21 PM
He's an ex-policeman - just what's needed to keep our mob in order.

14-08-2012, 01:23 PM
He's an ex-policeman - just what's needed to keep our mob in order.

I hope he does that 5 -1 thing with his hands. :agree:

carlos70
14-08-2012, 01:27 PM
He is the son of Neighbour's actress Anne Charleston who played Madge Bishop.....

Think you're getting mixed up with Craig McLachlan mate :wink:

14-08-2012, 01:29 PM
Are sevco getting SPL refs for their games? Would be pretty peed off if we got an unknown and they got an established ref.

14-08-2012, 01:32 PM
Think you're getting mixed up with Craig McLachlan mate :wink:

:cb:cb Nobody took the bait Carlos, I must try harder

14-08-2012, 01:32 PM
Are sevco getting SPL refs for their games? Would be pretty peed off if we got an unknown and they got an established ref.Why would you be unhappy with an unknown ref when you already ken the established ones. :wink:

HibeeMG
14-08-2012, 02:01 PM
I'm no exactly dancing for joy about this.

He'll probably be cha-cha-champing at the bit to get the cards out.

I'll get ma coat! :offski:

14-08-2012, 02:07 PM
I wonder if other supporters boards scrutinise the appointment of referees as much as we do?

14-08-2012, 02:08 PM
I'm no exactly dancing for joy about this.

He'll probably be cha-cha-champing at the bit to get the cards out.

I'll get ma coat! :offski:

As long as he doesn't wear high heels and a feather boa, whilst officiating............

14-08-2012, 02:37 PM
I wonder if other supporters boards scrutinise the appointment of referees as much as we do?

That's something I nearly wondered as well. Then I remembered I have a life.:greengrin

maturehibby
14-08-2012, 05:43 PM
He is a Falkirk fan through and through and also follows Scotland and has been all over watching them .
Enjoys socialising (who doesnt')and have a story about when he was younger and refereed a Scottish youth tie between Falkirk and hibs ans gave Falkirk 2 penalties and sent a Hibs player off and of course falkirk went through .I spoke to his twin brother who I supervised that I thought his brother was at it and to pass my comments on to him .
Can be a bit haram scarum and think that he might send off a Hibs player no problems .
Hope I am wrong though

14-08-2012, 05:46 PM
He is a Falkirk fan through and through and also follows Scotland and has been all over watching them .
Enjoys socialising (who doesnt')and have a story about when he was younger and refereed a Scottish youth tie between Falkirk and hibs ans gave Falkirk 2 penalties and sent a Hibs player off and of course falkirk went through .I spoke to his twin brother who I supervised that I thought his brother was at it and to pass my comments on to him .
Can be a bit haram scarum and think that he might send off a Hibs player no problems .
Hope I am wrong though

He'll be fine, if we start to worry more about referees than we do the opposition we may as well give up IMO.

14-08-2012, 05:52 PM
Glad the SFA are promoting young refs. Surely they can't be as bad as the present bunch. Hopefully he will be fine as others have said we all know him and his brother.

maturehibby
18-08-2012, 06:56 PM
Was proved right by his antics - could not wait to get involvede in the controversy by giving them a penalty when McPake was shoved in the back and propelled upwards resulting in his shoulder coming up and his shoulder blade being hit by the ball .
What should have been a free-kick to Hibs was deemed to be a penalty and a chance to get it up Hibs .
Fortunately Williams brilliantly saved it and his attention seeking was in vain .
Then when we scored the second one Griffiths and Doyle ran along with nearly all the HIbs players to the Hibs fans and he booked them both .
common sense said that they players were celebrating with the 1000 Hibs fans there and not a St Mirren fan within a hundred yards .
He often failed to give us free kicks when taken out and only used a wee bit of advantage near the end .
This referee is out of his depth in the Premier league and should be left to do third division game involving th likes of Rangers where the results do not matter the same

18-08-2012, 07:01 PM
Was proved right by his antics - could not wait to get involvede in the controversy by giving them a penalty when McPake was shoved in the back and propelled upwards resulting in his shoulder coming up and his shoulder blade being hit by the ball .
What should have been a free-kick to Hibs was deemed to be a penalty and a chance to get it up Hibs .
Fortunately Williams brilliantly saved it and his attention seeking was in vain .
Then when we scored the second one Griffiths and Doyle ran along with nearly all the HIbs players to the Hibs fans and he booked them both .
common sense said that they players were celebrating with the 1000 Hibs fans there and not a St Mirren fan within a hundred yards .
He often failed to give us free kicks when taken out and only used a wee bit of advantage near the end .
This referee is out of his depth in the Premier league and should be left to do third division game involving th likes of Rangers where the results do not matter the same

Dunno what view you had of the penalty but I was right in line with it and the decision was correct IMO. McPake was behind that big guy so he wasn't shoved - I thought he just mis-timed his jump and ended up arming it away. The lack of a protest from McPake said it all.

On the bookings again I thought the ref got it right. It's a daft rule, but I'm pretty certain only Doyle and Griffiths ran off the pitch. It's the lack of consistency in applying this rule by referees in general that annoys me, but today, I thought he applied the rules just fine.

18-08-2012, 07:01 PM

Much the same as the usual guff we see. He'll go far

brythehibby
18-08-2012, 07:06 PM
Dunno what view you had of the penalty but I was right in line with it and the decision was correct IMO. McPake was behind that big guy so he wasn't shoved - I thought he just mis-timed his jump and ended up arming it away. The lack of a protest from McPake said it all.

On the bookings again I thought the ref got it right. It's a daft rule, but I'm pretty certain only Doyle and Griffiths ran off the pitch. It's the lack of consistency in applying this rule by referees in general that annoys me, but today, I thought he applied the rules just fine.

Agreed. Thought it was a clear penalty to me was right in line. When he was booking griffiths you could see him apologising saying sorry i have no choice its the rules.

18-08-2012, 07:08 PM
From where I wasit looked a blatant shove on McPake so should have been foul to us. Seemed to let thier layers away with a lotmore than ours, Expected it though as he is no fan of hibs

18-08-2012, 07:11 PM

I thought that the rule was only the 1st player was booked, did Doyle have his name taken?

18-08-2012, 08:26 PM
I thought that the rule was only the 1st player was booked, did Doyle have his name taken?

Doyle was definately yellow carded after the goal. I've no idea about the rule though.

Eganov
19-08-2012, 05:54 PM
Couldn't help but notice that **** Craig Thompson having another nightmare at Dingwall :jamboclow

19-08-2012, 05:57 PM

I actually thought yesterday's referee was OK.....Got the penalty incident correct, and let play carry on after a bad challenge, then booked the player when play was stopped....

maturehibby
19-08-2012, 07:41 PM
Like kaimend Hibs I was behind the goal and saw Parkin shove into McPakes back elevating him and shoulder arm skywards and into the ball .
I wish he had also booked the ST mirren players who also fouled Hibs players and he allowed non existant advantages .
Not a good referee in my opinion as he played to the gallery and got a kick out of giving a penalty in front of the away fans .
His other performances in games have also been criticised and his performance yesterday showed me he has not progressed.

19-08-2012, 07:55 PM
Like kaimend Hibs I was behind the goal and saw Parkin shove into McPakes back elevating him and shoulder arm skywards and into the ball .
I wish he had also booked the ST mirren players who also fouled Hibs players and he allowed non existant advantages .
Not a good referee in my opinion as he played to the gallery and got a kick out of giving a penalty in front of the away fans .
His other performances in games have also been criticised and his performance yesterday showed me he has not progressed.

All Hibs fans were behind the goal (pedant alert)

You cant honestly believe the penalty was given at our end, as the referee got a kick out of it....I thought it was a stonewaller, cant recall if McPake or any other player protested about it?

19-08-2012, 08:38 PM
All Hibs fans were behind the goal (pedant alert)

You cant honestly believe the penalty was given at our end, as the referee got a kick out of it....I thought it was a stonewaller, cant recall if McPake or any other player protested about it?

The only one protested was Deegan and I would I assume his instant reaction is to appeal everything. (which is not a criticism of him!)

After the following corner was cleared McPake had a quiet word with the ref - his (McPake's) reaction was a shrug as if to say 'yes, it was a pen'.

maturehibby
19-08-2012, 09:02 PM
Not from where I sat - did nobody see the push in McPakes back - also Ref on wrong side as he was in front and I was behind and he either saw and ignored or did not see Parkin push McPake in the back - my opinion which you disagree with but thats what this forum is all about and if we agreed on everything there would be no forum

19-08-2012, 09:17 PM
The only one protested was Deegan and I would I assume his instant reaction is to appeal everything. (which is not a criticism of him!)

After the following corner was cleared McPake had a quiet word with the ref - his (McPake's) reaction was a shrug as if to say 'yes, it was a pen'.

That's what I thought, I think McPake would have went bananas if he thought he was obstructed/pushed.....My view at the game was that he instinctively put his arm towards ball....Didn't think we could have any complaints from the decision.

19-08-2012, 09:21 PM
Not from where I sat - did nobody see the push in McPakes back - also Ref on wrong side as he was in front and I was behind and he either saw and ignored or did not see Parkin push McPake in the back - my opinion which you disagree with but thats what this forum is all about and if we agreed on everything there would be no forum

I never saw the push, I thought the St Mirren player missed his header, and McPake threw out his arm towards ball. I would need to see the incident again either online or TV, but think the fact that there were no real protests, leads me to believe what I saw at the time was penalty. If I see anything in the highlights I will hold my hands up Maturehibby......

19-08-2012, 09:24 PM

I thought McPake was behind the forward so it would be some effort from the attacker to push him in the back when standing in front of him :greengrin

I'll need to see it again!

19-08-2012, 10:52 PM
Was defo a pen as James used his arm.

Not sure if it's covered elsewhere but is the SoS correct in saying both Griffiths AND Doyle were booked for the second goal celebration?

20-08-2012, 10:04 AM
From where I wasit looked a blatant shove on McPake so should have been foul to us. Seemed to let thier layers away with a lotmore than ours, Expected it though as he is no fan of hibs

Stonewall penalty Muzzy!!! Mcpake never even complained in fact he turned round with a big smile on his face knowing he had made a shop front of it :wink:

maturehibby
20-08-2012, 11:26 AM
Kaimend spot on - shows how well trained our captain is when a terrible decision is given he just shrugs it off - yyou also get a far better view from where we were than (behind the goal)than from watching the game on some "Iffy" arab satelite in a smoky pub somewhere

20-08-2012, 05:34 PM
Kaimend spot on - shows how well trained our captain is when a terrible decision is given he just shrugs it off - yyou also get a far better view from where we were than (behind the goal)than from watching the game on some "Iffy" arab satelite in a smoky pub somewhere

The ones saying it was a stonewaller were at the match:confused:

21-08-2012, 09:03 AM
Kevin clancy is ref this weekend !

21-08-2012, 05:56 PM
The ones saying it was a stonewaller were at the match:confused:

I'm begging to think maturehibby was in a smoke filled pub :greengrin

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/scotland/19312415#asset

Those are the highlights with the penalty about 1:40 into the clip. Parkin does run from behind McPake but there is no contact IMO.