View Full Version : I support hibs because...

GGTTH07
11-08-2012, 10:51 PM
My whole family is all hibs daft. Any interesting stories? Also.. FTH!

11-08-2012, 11:38 PM
I support hibs because... I am daft :greengrin :wink: :thumbsup:

11-08-2012, 11:43 PM
I support Hibs because my Grandad played for Hibs, all my immediate family support Hibs, they're my (sort of) local club, most of my mates when I was younger supported Hibs, because I'm too old to change now.

But most importantly I support Hibs because in spite of everything we are the greatest club in the world. FACT!

11-08-2012, 11:44 PM
I have the great man Joe Harper to thank! My dad was an Aberdeen fan in his early days but loved Joe Harper. When he went to Hibs via Everton my dad started supporting Hibs and has loved them ever since! Hence me being a Hibee, thank you Joe!

11-08-2012, 11:45 PM
I'm 50 and I'm 3 rd generation

There is a generation below me, everyone loves the Hibs

**** The Hearts!

Rambo1875
11-08-2012, 11:45 PM
Completely off topic but just got the day off work tomorrow.. Can tickets still be purchased tomorrow morning?

12-08-2012, 12:34 AM
When I was a wee bairn my parents and I were in Edinburgh for the weekend. Pestered my dad to take me to a football game and he took me to Hibs vs Dundee United. Been a Hibee ever since.

For a 50/50 chance of what game was on in the city, it turned out to be the best 50/50 outcome possible. Proud Hibee vs. "one of them". :flag:

12-08-2012, 12:38 AM
I support Hibs, because it was Hibs or THEM.

Moon unit
12-08-2012, 01:09 AM
I support Hibs, because it was Hibs or THEM.
Was brought up as a Liverpool fan as a boy, Peter Cormack joined from Hibs and my love affair with Hibs began- painted my subbutio team in the famous colours!

hibby67
12-08-2012, 05:52 AM
WAS BORN IN ELLIOTT STREET JUST OF ALBERT STREET SO COULD NOT BE ANYTHING BUT A HIBS SUPPORTER
MY OLD MAN USED TO TAKE ME....... SPENT MANY A SATURDAY STANDING OUTSIDE THE IONA BAR WHILE HE WAS INSIDE AND A WEE COKE GETTING SENT OUT NOW AND AGAIN....:greengrin

12-08-2012, 07:30 AM
It was always going to be hibs or hearts for me and since i have no desire to impregnate my sister or sleep in a skip it had to be hibs

jamiehibee
12-08-2012, 08:04 AM
Because of my da. Spent years telling how he used to walk fi musselburgh to see the hibees when I was really wee and I remember understanding why he did it when my ma finally let me go up wi him... Got beat but it still felt magic, never looked back since

12-08-2012, 08:38 AM
Family. My Grandad was a Jambo and had all intentions of making my dad and my Uncle Jambos too. Remember hearing the story though that his sister (my Great-Auntie I suppose) wasn't having any of it and bought my dad and uncle hibs strips. He came home from work one day to find them running about in them, must have been almost spewing :greengrin Never got the chance to thank her for it. Or shout at her for it, depends how you look at it! :greengrin

stanton_4
12-08-2012, 09:38 AM
... of Pat Stanton.
Simple as that.

12-08-2012, 10:31 AM
Cognito ergo Hibee.

cheltenhamhibee
12-08-2012, 10:46 AM
Was born into Hibby family (other than mother who was a jambo !!!) and was brought up a Hibby, first ever game was this and it just cemented my faith to the green

Highest Aggregate
Hibernian
8 - 1
Ayr Utd.
1972/1973

Minder
12-08-2012, 10:48 AM
Was born a hibby will die a hibby - its the dna.

12-08-2012, 10:59 AM
I support Hibs because...

... The first and worst year of my life my parents lived in Gorgie (The place just reminds me of P*sh, Sh*t & Spew)

Hibees till i die.

justlikebrazil
12-08-2012, 11:03 AM
cause it could never be them!!! GGTTH

12-08-2012, 11:06 AM
It's the right thing to do.

My Uncle was and still is Hibs Daft and he got us into the 'Faith' as he called it. That was back in the 70's.

12-08-2012, 11:09 AM
Insanity

12-08-2012, 11:11 AM
To add because I'm sitting in ER now about to watch Hibs for the first time since May and the feeling is still there.

Plus green is such a beautiful colour.

12-08-2012, 11:14 AM
To add because I'm sitting in ER now about to watch Hibs for the first time since May and the feeling is still there.

Plus green is such a beautiful colour.

What's the Hibs end like? Are you there on your own or has anyone else turned up? :wink:

12-08-2012, 11:16 AM
What's the Hibs end like? Are you there on your own or has anyone else turned up? :wink:

Not a huge number at the moment but in pretty good voice.

Hearts end pretty subdued considering.

12-08-2012, 11:19 AM
Not a huge number at the moment but in pretty good voice.

Hearts end pretty subdued considering.

That's surprising. I thought they would be giving it tight to the home fans ASAP. Hopefully a miracle will happen and Hibs actually win today, at least it'l shut them up for a while.

Enjoy the game :aok:

SouthEnglandHib
12-08-2012, 08:10 PM
Was in blackpool when hibs played blackpool, went in hibs end enjoyed it, followed since then

12-08-2012, 08:14 PM
..... I'm stupid :greengrin

Grandad Hibee. Dad Hibee. Me a hibee. School years made up of constantly explaining who Hibernian are, "why do I support them", "where do they come from", "what kits that your wearing?"

Was seriously close to walking away after May. But couldn't. Till death do us part....

12-08-2012, 08:18 PM
My family goes back with hibs for generations, my dad was brought up in abbey hill, his cousin played in the tornadoes side, my entire family are steeped in hibs.

And even now, about to get married and in a job i love doing, I love being with my dad and brother watching hibs play, and my kids will be there when they come along too :greengrin

weedgiehibbie
12-08-2012, 08:21 PM
Intelligence :wink: aye right haha :greengrin
simple stort support hibs cause the old man supports hibs and took me through to game

why he supports hibs and took me though though is a bit different

the old man was taken to ibrox as a youngster - early/mid 60s - and hated the atmosphere so losted interest in scottish football & when he got into hit late een/early 20's started to go down to follow Chelsea - as an Arsenal folower cant understand that at all haha - until he started working in edinburgh and a mate took him to ER in the early 70's and he loved the football but moreso the lack of s***e in the stands so kept going through from Glasgow and then took me :agree:

12-08-2012, 08:36 PM
I have no wish to be associated with the inbred "family" club from Gorgie.

12-08-2012, 09:55 PM
Cause my whole family are Hibees. I'll never be able to turn my back on our wonderful club. Ever. :agree: