View Full Version : Match Updates Dundee United 3 v 0 Hibs

05-08-2012, 10:31 AM
First time starting this. Weather mixed although not cold.

Come on the Hibees.

05-08-2012, 10:32 AM
Any team news?

05-08-2012, 10:45 AM
Looking forward to see how we get on today, no doubt utd are the favourites but I think it will be good just to compare to last season.

05-08-2012, 10:48 AM
Can anyone organise a "poll" to see who is favourite to become the first Hibs player to be booked this afternoon?

It's a sure thing that it will happen in the first 15mins of the game and it will be a key player. I'll start the ball rolling by saying McPake and it will be in 9 minutes.

05-08-2012, 10:49 AM
Looking forward to see how we get on today, no doubt utd are the favourites but I think it will be good just to compare to last season.

1-1 today. Header from corner. scorer Hanlon.

05-08-2012, 10:51 AM
We could but lets be honest by 1.10pm in about an hour we will know so only practically possible for a few Hibs neters to vote in time!

For me it's Griffiths or McPake and we are CERTAIN to get at least one red card.

05-08-2012, 11:08 AM
Williams
Clancy
Mcpake
Stephens
Hanlon
Cairney
Stevenson
Sproule
Spoony
Doyle
Griffiths

05-08-2012, 11:08 AM
Does anyone have a radio link? I can only get it to play beechgrove potting shed...............:confused:

05-08-2012, 11:13 AM
Only 3 players in the starting line up different from last season :confused:

What happened to the "radical changes" theory then?

:wtf:

05-08-2012, 11:13 AM
What is the bench?

05-08-2012, 11:14 AM
Does anyone have a radio link? I can only get it to play beechgrove potting shed...............:confused:

Me too....

05-08-2012, 11:18 AM

Time to support the team...or is that another radical theory?

05-08-2012, 11:21 AM
SUBS: Antell, Booth, O'Hanlon, Claros, Kujabi, Handling, Caldwell

05-08-2012, 11:23 AM
Williams
Clancy
Mcpake
Stephens
Hanlon
Cairney
Stevenson
Sproule
Spoony
Doyle
Griffiths

______WILLIAMS

CLANCY___STEPHENS___McPAKE___HANLON

___________CAIRNEY___STEVENSON

SPROULE________WOTHERSPOON______DOYLE
_________________GRIFFITHS

Serously worried about not a single player over 5'9 ahead of the defense.

05-08-2012, 11:24 AM
C''mon Hibees

05-08-2012, 11:25 AM

We got rid of Billy Brown, that is all that was needed. We will go from strength to strength this season without him.

05-08-2012, 11:27 AM

Here you go (http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/scotland/17570248)

05-08-2012, 11:28 AM
£25 a ****ing ticket to get into this **** hole unbelievable!

05-08-2012, 11:34 AM
______WILLIAMS

CLANCY___STEPHENS___McPAKE___HANLON

___________CAIRNEY___STEVENSON

SPROULE________WOTHERSPOON______DOYLE
_________________GRIFFITHS

Serously worried about not a single player over 5'9 ahead of the defense.

Doyle 6ft, Spoony 5'11", Griffiths 5'11", cairney 5' 9", Sproule 5'8" Stevenson 5'7"

So there's only two who are under 5'9". Be seriously worried no more.

Willams 6ft, Clancy 6ft, McPake 6'2", Stephens 6'4" and Hanlon 5'11".

So only two of the entire team are under 5'9" and only three under 5'11"

05-08-2012, 11:34 AM

Fenlon has already said several times we've lost out on a handful of players because money is better elsewhere. He knows we need more players and more will follow. A signing yesterday was made.. he will start games.

Wotherspoon to me has his last chance this season to make a career.. at least at Hibs or better. If he plays the role the U21 Scotland team play him, then we might see more from him.
Doyle didnt get much game time so him starting is a fresh change.

Its far from starting line up Pat would want too.. but its also up to some of the current players on the books to get their fingers out.

05-08-2012, 11:35 AM
Come on Hibs.

05-08-2012, 11:35 AM

Time to support the team...or is that another radical theory?

Happy clapper alert!

So your quite happy to have 8 players in the team that let the supporters down so badly last season aye?

Fair enough that's your opinion and I sincerely hope I'm wrong :wink:

05-08-2012, 11:36 AM
Doyle 6ft, Spoony 5'11", Griffiths 5'11", cairney 5' 9", Sproule 5'8" Stevenson 5'7"

I meant sitting in front of the defence, i.e Carieny 5'9 and Stevenson 5'7.

Smart

05-08-2012, 11:36 AM
We got rid of Billy Brown, that is all that was needed. We will go from strength to strength this season without him.

Lol...

05-08-2012, 11:37 AM

So there's only two who are under 5'9".

I'm worried that we have no width. Better hope Hanlon and Clancy are up to the task because i don't know who is going to help them.

05-08-2012, 11:39 AM
Here you go (http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/scotland/17570248)

Cheers :thumbsup:

05-08-2012, 11:40 AM
Stand filling up nicely.

The cheating bassa in the black is getting it ticht!! :greengrin

05-08-2012, 11:40 AM
Mackay-Steven will be a handful for Clancy today, tough first game for him at right back.

05-08-2012, 11:42 AM
Noticeable that Thomson is doing his pre match warm up at the United end!

05-08-2012, 11:42 AM
Mackay-Steven will be a handful for Clancy today, tough first game for him at right back.

then Templeton/Driver next week... tough start alright.. lets hope we can defend well.. gonna need to or 2 defeats more than likely.

05-08-2012, 11:43 AM
Happy clapper alert!

So your quite happy to have 8 players in the team that let the supporters down so badly last season aye?

Fair enough that's your opinion and I sincerely hope I'm wrong :wink:

I'm sure you do :wink:

05-08-2012, 11:48 AM
Wee bit surpised Stephens is in the middle however he is a big guy and still young so hope he has come on from last season.

05-08-2012, 11:55 AM
MON THE CABBAGE:flag::flag:

05-08-2012, 11:56 AM
Decent Hibs support today

05-08-2012, 11:56 AM
Wee bit surpised Stephens is in the middle however he is a big guy and still young so hope he has come on from last season.

PF obviously rates him ( maybe thinks McPake can help bring him on), good to see Hanlon at LB as I feel he's better there than CH, also playing Wotherspoon in his favoured AM role, it's a different look from last year but already looks better.

Good to hear PF say he's looking still to strengthen, with a striker high on his list, sounds like maybe 2-3 more before the window shuts. :greengrin

DrewDogg1875
05-08-2012, 11:59 AM
'Mon the Hibees!!

edwards
05-08-2012, 12:00 PM
PF obviously rates him ( maybe thinks McPake can help bring him on), good to see Hanlon at LB as I feel he's better there than CH, also playing Wotherspoon in his favoured AM role, it's a different look from last year but already looks better.

Good to hear PF say he's looking still to strengthen, with a striker high on his list, sounds like maybe 2-3 more before the window shuts. :greengrin

Seiously can't understand why, far to slow and if he doesn't cost us a goal today I will be surprised :rolleyes:

hibeequinn
05-08-2012, 12:00 PM
COME ON THE HIBEES :D GGTTH :flag:

05-08-2012, 12:02 PM
bad defensive work by stephens:rolleyes:

hibeequinn
05-08-2012, 12:03 PM
**** sake stephens :@

Seiously can't understand why, far to slow and if he doesn't cost us a goal today I will be surprised :rolleyes:

That's the spirit :rolleyes:

Edit: Oh great timing on my part! :cb

Kenny1875
Stephens doing his usual pish

Leishy1995
Stephens with a vintage back pass.

and there we go 1-0 arabs :agree:

Kenny1875
05-08-2012, 12:04 PM
Great start here boys

Another long season ahead.

i generally dont slag off the players....but Stephens is awful.

Jesus wept.

Leishy1995
For **** sake. Defending like amateurs.

hibeequinn
Omfg what a huch load ae **** defending :@:@:@:@

chorley_fm
Booooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo o

Pmsl

great start.....

IndieHibby
Stephens. Grrr

05-08-2012, 12:05 PM
just laughable...

Fat Stu
dear oh dear

Don't know whether to laugh or cry.

FFS, Bad start.

then Templeton/Driver next week... tough start alright.. lets hope we can defend well.. gonna need to or 2 defeats more than likely.

wow....

GoldenMeerkat
Déjà vu.

Noooo:boo hoo:defence sounds like a shambles:grr: Come on Hibs!!

Jesus ****ing Christ. Think I'll just take the dog for a walk.

Hibs are ****! Not learned our lesson less than 3 mins into new season and we could be two down! Petrie get some players in pronto

05-08-2012, 12:06 PM
Would it be harsh to sub Stephens off now?

We'll just have to win 2-1 then instead of 2-0. Keep the faith lads, early days.

heidtheba
Balls
Mind you, that strip looks absolutely awesome.

05-08-2012, 12:07 PM
And that's why David Stephens is never a CH. as the meerkat would say... That should of been simples.

Woeful.

Kenny1875
05-08-2012, 12:07 PM
Would it be harsh to sub Stephens off now?
Nope. The guy's a joke. Sub and sell him now.

hibeequinn
05-08-2012, 12:08 PM
i would make stephens the official boot cleaner prob do a bad job at that too

Kenny1875
We'll just have to win 2-2 then instead of 2-0. Keep the faith lads, early days.
We'll win it 2-2 will we?

We are a shambles! We will not be above 10th this season. Defence is terrible, no midfield and one up front! Happy clappers will no doubt come out in force to again defend this, but guys how come everyone can see we are rubbish including fans/press etc.. Yet you lot can't? We need at least 7 players simple as that and Fenlon needs to change his tactics as well. 3-0 for me. Nothing has changed at all. Oh yeah this is a "knee jerk" reaction cos nothing at all would point to us being rank eh??

05-08-2012, 12:09 PM
It's great to see the same old nonsense. Ball looks like its sticking in midfield!!
I realise the window closes in late August but this game could dictate our relegation plight.

FFS also dunno whether to laugh or cry. The boy is murder, why is he playing?

Have they been told to give daly and Russell time on the ball?

I blame the cheating ref :duck:

hibeequinn
05-08-2012, 12:10 PM
Get Mackay stevens and russel signed pronto.

05-08-2012, 12:11 PM
Laughable over-reactions here.

Hats off to the folk that are there, but, dearie me, theres only so many times you can watch that standard of defending.

We're getting roasted in every department, look nowhere near ready.

05-08-2012, 12:12 PM
question of how many.

so far the summer of change = the same old *****, if it doesnt improve might turn it back onto the BBC as i was much happier watching the Olympics.

Get Mackay stevens and russel signed pronto.

Pmsl. In our dreams!

Laughable? The team is ****ing *****. Hideous stuff.

Glad you find it funny... You happy aye?

Change needs to be made Hanlon to CB stephens off and chuck someone fron the bench to LB. Stephens is off the pace big time

I honestly think we could be on the receiving end of 2 or 3 today

AL-Qaholik
05-08-2012, 12:13 PM
Ten minutes into the new season and its already painfully clear that we are still an absolute shambles!

"A Hibernian with bottle", my erchie...! :rolleyes:

Not one for slating but c'mon that was basic schoolboy stuff IMHO. That is the start we didn't really want and tbh if this is the standard then RP beware. If no more players are bought in then we are in for a very very very long and depressing season.

We cannot have defending like that and expect to get away with it without be punished.

I know it's early but mon Hibs finger oot.

Mango Man
You just know it's going to be a long rubbish season again, that all to familiar feeling, 2nd to every ball, conceding early goals, DAVID BLOODY STEPHENS!! don't think he has had a good game for us yet.

Stephens is an absolute embarrassment

I think its more that folk are hacked off witnessing the same defensive shambles more often than not.

05-08-2012, 12:14 PM
Clancy needs to ****ing wake up.

hibeequinn
05-08-2012, 12:14 PM
Pmsl. In our dreams!

oh a know but thats the players we should be signing really suprised how united kept them 2.

05-08-2012, 12:15 PM
Change needs to be made Hanlon to CB stephens off and chuck someone fron the bench to LB. Stephens is off the pace big time

Booth for me. I really don't care what Fenlon sees in Stephens. Good in training? Potential? It's pretty clear to see that he is a liability.

Piqué
05-08-2012, 12:15 PM
Kujabi every day of the week ahead of Stephens.

05-08-2012, 12:16 PM
How come all the supporters can see the problems but Fenlon and Petrie can't !!!!!!!

hibeequinn
05-08-2012, 12:16 PM
is anyone else worrying about playing the yams next week.

05-08-2012, 12:17 PM
Kujabi every day of the week ahead of Stephens.

Neither of them should be in the team any day of the week.

05-08-2012, 12:18 PM
Hanlon is already getting dragged into the centre as he can see the mess in there. The ball isnt even getting to the hibs midfield. Setup looks very amateurish. A flat four...get the ball and pump it up to the strikers. Totaly and utter *****.

How come all the supporters can see the problems but Fenlon and Petrie can't !!!!!!!

That's the biggest worry! Is Fenlon good enough? His team selections and tactics last season were far from good. I hoped he could see it but doesn't look that way. No point talking about Petrie on here you will have his army in tears of rage.

:rolleyes: move hanlon in 1 bring on kujabi for stephens, long time to go but a loss today really hurts our confidence, last season is still fresh in the memory for most of these players. time to grow a set of balls and compete.

I don't know if that was tongue in cheek, or you meant it... but it is true, it's obvious that with that clown in the team we will lose goals.

05-08-2012, 12:20 PM
Booth for me. I really don't care what Fenlon sees in Stephens. Good in training? Potential? It's pretty clear to see that he is a liability.

Hanlons strongest position is CB. i think Stephens is in thrre for his height to battle wi Daly but Stephens isn't good enough. Would be happy if Booth came on. i'd even be happy wi Kajabi coming on.

05-08-2012, 12:21 PM
is anyone else worrying about playing the yams next week.
Nope. I honestly couldn't care any more.

05-08-2012, 12:21 PM
We're ****ing awful

05-08-2012, 12:22 PM
It's nowt to do with Stephens. Fenlon picked him!!! Petrie won't buy players!!!

How Hibernian can have the audacity to ask the public to support the club and buy a season ticket is absolutely farcical.

The front quartet are doing their usual chasing rubbish!

05-08-2012, 12:23 PM
Still not improved our set pieces I see.

We're ****ing awful
Things are getting better then :agree:

By the letter of the law should kicking that ball away not have been a booking?

Genuinely think we're ****ed

AL-Qaholik
As much as I cannot understand why Booth just doesn't seem to feature in Fenlon's first team plans, the thing that totally baffles me is Kujabi! Fenlon SIGNED Kujabi! If he isn't good enough to play in his favoured position but instead leaves is in a position whete we have to play Hanlon out of position and to play Stephens AT ALL, then why the hell did we sign him in the first place?!?

So infuriating to see just how much more comfortable on the ball John Rankin (who is average at best) is than ANYONE in our midfield...

Depressing and deeply worrying stuff so far!

05-08-2012, 12:25 PM
No wonder we are not happy, but are some of us not overlooking the fact that United are a good few levels above us, just now, and we have no right to get
anything from them apart from defeats. Itls a slow process to fix us.

05-08-2012, 12:25 PM
When's the AGM?

05-08-2012, 12:26 PM
It's nowt to do with Stephens. Fenlon picked him!!! Petrie won't buy players!!!

How Hibernian can have the audacity to ask the public to support the club and buy a season ticket is absolutely farcical.

The front quartet are doing their usual chasing rubbish!

So we can improve the team we all love.

I bought a season ticket this season and you will be lucky if i would be able to make it to 2/3 games this season due to my personal circumstances. More than happy to give them my money though to try and improve our position.

Stevenson's still as bad as ever then....

Unsurprising to see that our central midfield is in ghost mode again. Have Stevenson or Cairney touched the ball or made a tackle yet?

TowerHibs
Amateurish is the correct word

We have not made 2 passes. shocking tactics. long ball to Griffiths & Sproule

05-08-2012, 12:27 PM
Doyle looks like the only player likely to create something.

hibeequinn
05-08-2012, 12:27 PM
doyle and griffiths look lively just need the passes to them.

05-08-2012, 12:28 PM
There hasnt been a pass played to Stevenson or Cairney so you cant blame them.

05-08-2012, 12:28 PM
i just heard griffiths name on the radio commentary :greengrin

IndieHibby
05-08-2012, 12:29 PM
If we don't sign a decent, physical CF to partner LG we are in serious trouble. I genuinely believe this. In order to have even a mildly acceptable season, we also need another, decent defender. And if Deegan is good enough, then that might be enough.

Question is, if this is true, and it doesn't happen, WTF is the point in PAYING MONEY to be a Hibs supporter?

No wonder we are not happy, but are some of us not overlooking the fact that United are a good few levels above us, just now, and we have no right to get
anything from them apart from defeats. Itls a slow process to fix us.

What? Hibs should be able to compete with Utd with ease. Our budget is "meant" to be better to start with. Slow process my arse. How long are we all going to put up with this so called slow process? We need players and need them now or blood the youth FFS.

John Rankin would walk into our midfield.

05-08-2012, 12:31 PM

Its almost laughable to think how the "support" treated him as well.

He used to but was slated for being rubbish

DAVE1875

This the same John Rankin who was hounded out of Hibs?

TheMentalHibees
Toothless.

05-08-2012, 12:32 PM

Paul Holsgrove would walk into this midfield.

05-08-2012, 12:32 PM
Woo hoo! Another relegation battle coming up

Famous5forever
05-08-2012, 12:33 PM
Same old same old its going to be another long season thanks again rod

Sproule had a easy lay back there....erse

You can see how much better he is than our current midfield offerings. The fact he's a level above that shows how far we've fallen. Bad times.

hibeequinn
05-08-2012, 12:34 PM
sproule cant cross a ball whats he doing lay it back to cairney ya muppet.

The fact he's a level above that shows how far we've fallen. Bad times.

That's it in a nutshell. No one should forget that John Rankin was utterly useless at Hibs.

AL-Qaholik
Craig Thomson in "doesn't give penalty against Hibs" shocker...

05-08-2012, 12:35 PM
How difficult is it for Ivan to run in a straight line Ffs? And then he puts it across goal instead of laying it back?

Get the youngsters on ffs..

Typical Ivan, gets into a decent position and blasts the ball across the box when an easy cit back was on. Nothing has changed from last season on the evidence of the first 35 minutes.

Good save

Unsurprising to see that our central midfield is in ghost mode again. Have Stevenson or Cairney touched the ball or made a tackle yet?

Cairney is an attacking midfielder and is playing out of position, Stevenson hasn't even kicked the ball yet and it's 30mins gone already, tactics seem to basically lump it as far away from the defense and hope for the best, even when we have no target man. It looks worse than last season already, can't see Fenlon lasting long if this is his vision for the team. :confused:

hibeequinn
what a save ;)

IndieHibby
What a save!

skyehibee
Stevenson, Sproule, Wotherspoon and Stephens should be nowhere near the team. Clearly are the weak points and offer nothing.

05-08-2012, 12:36 PM
"Salt n Sauce Derby" away wi that ***** :rolleyes:

Yes Ivan's cross wasn't the best but the rest of the players should have been busting a gut to get into the box to get on the end of that cross,

If we don't sign a decent, physical CF to partner LG we are in serious trouble. I genuinely believe this. In order to have even a mildly acceptable season, we also need another, decent defender. And if Deegan is good enough, then that might be enough.

Question is, if this is true, and it doesn't happen, WTF is the point in PAYING MONEY to be a Hibs supporter?

To support your team and financially assist them to change things. Honest to god some of the crap spouted on here....if you dont want to support Hibs then go and watch the womans boxing that has just kicked off.

LeighLoyal
Stephens is a joke!

05-08-2012, 12:37 PM
Great save from Williams 10/10. positive post followed but Stephens get the **** off the park. Easily beaten by Daly in the air

fife hfc
David Stephens is absoluyely awful and he should be hooked at HT. Totally lost and looks like he does not have a clue.

So we can improve the team we all love.

I bought a season ticket this season and you will be lucky if i would be able to make it to 2/3 games this season due to my personal circumstances. More than happy to give them my money though to try and improve our position.

I bought a season ticket and I won't make any Saturday games because I play a sport.

Sport is entertaining. Hibs are not. How can they ask people to endure or entice new/young supporters.

mcfly
Nil up front. Target man needed ASAP. If not long season awaits. I'm sick of being taken for granted by this board.

We deserve better mr Petrie.

05-08-2012, 12:38 PM
That's the biggest worry! Is Fenlon good enough? His team selections and tactics last season were far from good. I hoped he could see it but doesn't look that way.

I was discussing this with my old boy in the boozer on Friday night, I don't think we've got the players to play this formation.

Great save from Williams there.

AL-Qaholik
Top class goalkeeping from Williams - but rank amateur defending from Stephens...AGAIN!!

Yes Ivan's cross wasn't the best but the rest of the players should have been busting a gut to get into the box to get on the end of that cross,

Footballers usually look before they cross!!!

Get Stephens off my tv screen before I smash it. Useless, would even prefer SOH in there.

05-08-2012, 12:40 PM
Get Stephens off my tv screen before I smash it. Useless, would even prefer SOH in there.

That is a true, but horrifying thought.

James.
The midfield have been awful so far. Nothing seems to have been corrected or improved on since last season.

fife hfc
Sean O'Hanlon would be far better imho.

05-08-2012, 12:41 PM

I agree SOH is better player than Stephens. No idea why Fenlon picked him today

Nevi1875
How's cairney playing ?

mcfly
Surely we can afford better than Stephens and sproule.

If we don't buy players this week before the derby I'm worried.

C'mon mr Petrie release the funds.

05-08-2012, 12:42 PM
To support your team and financially assist them to change things. Honest to god some of the crap spouted on here....if you dont want to support Hibs then go and watch the womans boxing that has just kicked off.

Im actually watching the boxing and its damn more entertaining than the pi5s Hibs are serving up

Famous5forever
05-08-2012, 12:42 PM
We should have kept goc he at least scored goals fenlon wont make the agm I wonder who will be appointed next ?

05-08-2012, 12:43 PM
How's cairney playing ?

Out of position.

You also have 4 centre halfs on the pitch.

LeighLoyal
Has Stevenson touched the ball yet? Total waste of space.

blaikie
05-08-2012, 12:44 PM

We look dangerous upfront, that's the only plus point at the moment. If we start playing through the middle there is the danger of getting took on the break, Biggest weakness at the moment is the middle of the park.

05-08-2012, 12:44 PM
Im actually watching the boxing and its damn more entertaining than the pi5s Hibs are serving upGood for you ..:applause:

05-08-2012, 12:45 PM
we are a pub team. if even that good..

05-08-2012, 12:46 PM
:worried:Sounds like we're lucky to get in at half time just the 1 down! Don't panic Hibs, let's have a better 2nd please

05-08-2012, 12:46 PM
We've lost every header, every challenge, every 2nd ball and when we do get the ball we just give it away immediately, absolutely atrocious football and very embarrassing.

I came home from working to watch this guff, back out in the cab I think before I throw something at the telly.

blaikie
05-08-2012, 12:47 PM
Just hope Gary Deegan is the Irish Iniesta! :rolleyes:

05-08-2012, 12:48 PM
Same as last season, really ***** midfield, too small and leightweight, stevenson is mimicking Brian Kerr in the unseen role again as always.

+ points: goalie looks decent, cairney looks good on the ball, doyle looks good on the ball.

We are really bad, I haven't watched hibs since the cup final, it doesn't look like much has changed, we need a big solid striker although I am still glad GOC is nowhere near the club.

Just going to switch this game off now and watch the Olympics or the man utd game.

Definitely need 3-4 new players to be even considered a top six team. Really embarrassing. I remember when we were slating John Rankin week in, week out. Yet he is running the show and could easily walk into this hibs midfield.

You see Mr Petrie, this is why fans haven't bothered buying season tickets when the product on display is utter terrible.

Really scared for the derby next week.

Lewis Stevenson- Play of the year.

Says it all.

05-08-2012, 12:49 PM
Think that 45mins derserve a boooooooooooooooooooooooo no skill no effort no fun! 10/10 for the fans that went up today hail hail

Emerald
Shamble, piss up in btewery!

Bring on Caldwell and Handling for the 2nd half

MountcastleHibs
05-08-2012, 12:50 PM
Do we even practise basics like passing and shooting at East Mains? Totally toothless. Desperately need a couple of wingers, a striker and someone with a hint of creativity.

Piqué
Griffiths and Doyle are the only ones who look like causing any threat. No support from midfield though, so we are relying on a lucky break to get any chances.

Emerald
Shamble, piss up in brewery and all that!

05-08-2012, 12:51 PM
Oh for a Latapy, Boozy, Zemmamma, Brown, Thomson, Miller, or even a Stewart in the midfield.

Someone to put their foot on the ball and find the killer pass or the killer run to create something. This current midfield is atrocious and puts pressure on defence and creates nothing for the forwards. something has to change.

fife hfc
O'Hanlon and Caldwell for Stephens and Doyle or Wotherspoon.

Good Hibs support up here. Shame about the team. McPake and Doyle get pass marks. Stephens, Clancy and Sproule especially bad. Only good thing is its only 1-0

Good for you ..:applause:

exactly what I was thinking, "insert middle finger smiley"

IndieHibby

Read my post.

My point was, if we know what needs done (and we do know) and it doesn't happen because the club won't gamble on making a product worth paying for, then why should fans pay to watch it/buy the products?

Perhaps you are fortunate enough to have the disposable income to pay for watching a predictable relegation fight (again) but many of us are not so fortunate.

Oh, and it's bad manners to call someone's opinion crap and poor form not to even read it as the basis for doing so.

It's time....

To unleash....

The pitbull!!

05-08-2012, 12:52 PM
Based on the opening 45 minutes I can confirm that Ivan Sproule is still not a footballer.

You having a laugh? The central midfielders need to be looking for the ball not just waiting for it to come to them!

Doyle only shining light in an abysmal 1st half

Need to ditch this 4-2-3-1 as it doesn't work, take off Wotherspoon ( just awful ) and put on Claros, push Cairney forward

Midfield of Sproule, Cairney, Stevenson and Doyle. 4-1-4-1

hibeequinn
we need a daly type player to support griffiths vernon would be a good choice i think

Makaveli
Williams is keeping us in it, Doyle's been alright, Sproule looks like he might do something, Hanlon doing the job of three men. Pish other than that.

1. Get Booth on for Stephens and put Hanlon in the middle.

2. Get Cairney in behind Griffiths... he's wasted further back. Claros can't play any worse than Wotherspoon and especially Stevenson have.

3. Tell Clancy he's allowed to tackle.

05-08-2012, 12:53 PM
Is anyone actually surprised?

bandylegs_jLeighton
05-08-2012, 12:53 PM
Williams and Doyle look best out of poor first half performance. Midfield is the major problem. If it could keep possession and create our defence and attack would improve dramatically.

05-08-2012, 12:54 PM
Need to ditch this 4-2-3-1 as it doesn't work, take off Wotherspoon ( just awful ) and put on Claros, push Cairney forward

Midfield of Sproule, Cairney, Stevenson and Doyle. 4-1-4-1

That has got to be the worst midfield I have ever witnessed grace a football pitch.

blaikie
David Stevenson ...... And we employed you Billy go back to tickling JJ's balls PRICK!:aok:

i'm hearing gary deegan has just asked petrie if the ink is dry on the contract he signed

so my source says

Lewis Stevenson- Play of the year.

Says it all.

He's touched the ball 5 times in 45mins and gave it away those 5 times..

Awful

The midfield is just as bad as last season and the defence is too, Clancy is too slow to play at right back and should be playing at CH instead of Stephens whilst Stevenson and Wotherspoon haven't been in it at all. We shouldn't be surprised though, we're playing 8 of the players (most of those couldn't get a game in a woeful team last year) from the squad of last season.

Get Caldwell and Handling on at HT.

Feel very sorry for the supporters that went and spent a fair bit on petrol. Yet the team, just like the final, give f*** all in return.

Folk saying PF is not the man for the job. Fair enough, everyone is entitled to their own opinion and I respect that. But I don't think even Sir Alex Ferguson could turn this hibs team around.

05-08-2012, 12:55 PM
Think this criticism of Wotherspoon is a bit unmerited. Also Clancy, he's not doing too badly and isn't helped by Sproule who isn't tracking back. Stevenson put in a fantastic tackle on Mackay-Steven when he was through on goal.

Colin Murdock, Patrick Noubissie and Amadou Konte would improve this side!

Trying to look for positives... Doyle has looked a threat and shown some nice touches. Cairnie also looks decent, nice to see the willingness to get in the box.

On the other hand Stevenson has been nowhere, the boy Richie Ryan is giving him a lesson.

Hanlon also pish, woeful distribution as always.

We are still in it though, let's get Caldwell on for Sproule, try to snatch something.

05-08-2012, 12:56 PM
Is anyone actually surprised?

Very surprised. Still only 1-0...

LeighLoyal
I'd put on Handling, Caldwell and Stanton. At least see what they have to offer before the derby because this team will be humped by JT's.

Clancy is too slow. He's not the answer to the right back position and if anything should be in the center with McPake.

05-08-2012, 12:57 PM
I'd put on Handling, Caldwell and Stanton. At least see what they have to offer before the derby because this team will be humped by JT's.

Don't think Stanton is on the bench.

05-08-2012, 12:58 PM
That has got to be the worst midfield I have ever witnessed grace a football pitch.

Unfortunately with the options we have, it's the best I can come up with. :confused:

Or bring on the young uns and tell them to show us how it's done, may have a point to prove as the so called experienced players are again shirking their responsibilities ( Sproule, Stevenson, etc )

05-08-2012, 12:59 PM
Read my post.

My point was, if we know what needs done (and we do know) and it doesn't happen because the club won't gamble on making a product worth paying for, then why should fans pay to watch it/buy the products?

Perhaps you are fortunate enough to have the disposable income to pay for watching a predictable relegation fight (again) but many of us are not so fortunate.

Oh, and it's bad manners to call someone's opinion crap and poor form not to even read it as the basis for doing so.

1) Did i call your opinion crap?
2) If you read my earlier post on this thread you will see i said i bought a season ticket even though i cant make it to games, the reason behind this is i work Mon-Fri and my partner works weekends and i have to watch the kids, doesnt really sound like someone who is that flush does it?

My point was if people dont buy season tickets or give the club some kind of financial assistance especially now with the expected drop in revenue then how do you expect things to get any better. Apparently you think that spouting your negative spin on a Hibs forum is somehow going to change things?

:rolleyes: move hanlon in 1 bring on kujabi for stephens, long time to go but a loss today really hurts our confidence, last season is still fresh in the memory for most of these players. time to grow a set of balls and compete.

There's three words you don't often, sorry very rarely see in the same sentence - confidence, Kujabi and Stephens.

Cairney and Doyle are the plus points.Stephens is honking today and blooting the baw up to Griffths is as useful as pissing against wind, but we look pretty decent when we play the ball through midfield instead of hoofs.

Stevenson and Stephens are just not good enough. I never thought I'd say this but get Kujabi on to have at least one wing back willing to get forward.

Dr Jimmy
Clancy is too slow. He's not the answer to the right back position and if anything should be in the center with McPake.
I know its only his first 45mins, but he looks uncannily like Hart!
Hope to god I am wrong.

05-08-2012, 01:00 PM
So Stevenson, Hanlon, Sproule, Stephens and Wotherspoon arent up to it. Who would have thought it?

Clancy isn't slow, he just needs to sort his positioning out. It's Stephens causing all the problems at the back and if he's our first choice this season then i really do despair.

Seriously, get Stephens off for Kujabi and put Hanlon in the middle. Our defence didn't look that bad when it was like that, except that final of course.

05-08-2012, 01:01 PM
May be time to sign Maybury and get him in the team at RB and allow Clancy to play CH where he belongs.

one of the biggest problems is, and has been for about 3 years is THROW THE ****ING BALL TO FEET, everytime williams boots it upfield we lose it and it comes right back, the one time i can think of where he threw to hanlons feet we had a couple of decent touches until mcpake hoofed it oot the park look at the trend keep it on the deck as we have no targets upfront!!

second thing......see we still not mastered how to throw the ball in to our players

Just seen Williams save, fantastic!

Anyone else fancy Hibs to make a go of it this half?

05-08-2012, 01:03 PM
May be time to sign Maybury and get him in the team at RB and allow Clancy to play CH where he belongs.

Why does this keep getting said on here????????

Clancy has said he is a RB and Fenlon said he was signed as a RB so why do ppl keep saying he is a CH?

No

Leishy1995
Stephens needs to come off. He worries me.

As long as we can keep it at 1-0 we are in wig a shout.

We could really do with signing Jon Daly, or someone like him. Would make a massive difference.

05-08-2012, 01:04 PM
Just seen Williams save, fantastic!

Pretty much the only real positive we have had out of this 1st half. He's keeping us in it big time or utd could easily have wrapped this game up.

Just stuck a tenner on Hibs. I have no idea why I'm throwing money away.

IndieHibby
1) Did i call your opinion crap?
2) If you read my earlier post on this thread you will see i said i bought a season ticket even though i cant make it to games, the reason behind this is i work Mon-Fri and my partner works weekends and i have to watch the kids, doesnt really sound like someone who is that flush does it?

My point was if people dont buy season tickets or give the club some kind of financial assistance especially now with the expected drop in revenue then how do you expect things to get any better. Apparently you think that spouting your negative spin on a Hibs forum is somehow going to change things?

1) Yes
2) I never said you were flush, I just said you were fortunate to be able to spend money on something you are not going to use.

And pointing out that the club can't expect people to pay for season tickets if they won't pay for a competitive team is not putting a negative spin on things... It is my opinion.

Why does this keep getting said on here????????

Clancy has said he is a RB and Fenlon said he was signed as a RB so why do ppl keep saying he is a CH?

Because he can play at CH also, if he's not up to playing RB, then move him in for someone who may be better.

05-08-2012, 01:05 PM
Think this criticism of Wotherspoon is a bit unmerited. Also Clancy, he's not doing too badly and isn't helped by Sproule who isn't tracking back. Stevenson put in a fantastic tackle on Mackay-Steven when he was through on goal.

We're up against a decent team and Jon Daly is going to give better players than Stephen's the runaround this season. Surprised he's still at United if I'm honest.

05-08-2012, 01:05 PM
As long as we can keep it at 1-0 we are in wig a shout.

Sure well have some hairy moments tho! :-)

05-08-2012, 01:06 PM
We are not a football team, awful stuff.

05-08-2012, 01:07 PM
Thats better Cairney! Intae them!

Should be 2

blaikie
Stephens is terrible! :rolleyes:

05-08-2012, 01:08 PM
Massive let off there

hibeequinn
sproule cant pass,shoot,cross all he can do is run why the **** is he in our team nice to see cairney with a crunching tackle.

Brutal, still playing high balls to the smallest midfield in the league.

No - this is men against boys.

Diabolical (as per normal).

I just feel sorry for Stephens now, can't be nice realising how hideously out your depth you are. Anyone on to replace him please. Except Pa Kujabi.

dmc1875
05-08-2012, 01:09 PM
Take Stephens off NOW. PF What the H3ll were you thinking in playing him!! :grr:

Because he can play at CH also, if he's not up to playing RB, then move him in for someone who may be better.

One of the biggest complaints of the last couple of seasons has been playing players out of position, so why play someone who is a natural rb out of place?

Posh Swanny
This thread is more entertaining than last night's athletics!

Chins up folks, only five months till the next manager gets to start another squad rebuild.

Course not... After watching the whole of last season and the first 45 you would have to be tuned to the moon.

05-08-2012, 01:10 PM
I seriously hope David Stephens is nowhere near the starting lineup next week.

skyehibee
05-08-2012, 01:10 PM
This is horrendus to watch, defence all over the place. Utd are basically what we want to be in every aspect, fast flowing attacking passing football. We are nowhere near that.

05-08-2012, 01:11 PM
Fenlon you mug get that useless twat off.

How good is Mackay-Steven!

about seven players trying to cover for stephens. i really worry about the manager if he cant make this change.