View Full Version : Match Updates Dundee United 3 v 0 Hibs

Pages : 1 [2]

MUPPET
05-08-2012, 01:12 PM
sproule cant pass,shoot,cross all he can do is run why the **** is he in our team nice to see cairney with a crunching tackle.

I find myself asking wtf Is the point in Sproule?

So we have an attacking midfielder as a holding one, 2 ch's as fullbacks, a striker playing left winger, a 5' 9" striker as a target man, an average midfielder playing holding mid, a young player who thinks he's a playmaker but hasn't got the brains or skills to do the job and a headless chicken who should be nowhere near ER.

HELP

How good is Mackay-Steven!

Very

05-08-2012, 01:13 PM
Stephens just dosent have it. We are just letting Utd pass the ball unchallenged, Cairney the only one putting a tackle in.

Better play from us there.

Still can't take corners!

Great corner....

05-08-2012, 01:14 PM
I thought our defence had "a more solid look about it" this season? Serves me right for reading the Evening News back pages.

Kenny1875
Can Wotherspoon actually get the ball off the ground with his corners?

If I'm right, did we not have the chance to sign him last season before he went to utd?

blaikie
We're making him look good, :greengrin

one day maybe...
Hibs just seem to have no threat about them whatsoever. As stated previously, if this season is to be anything other than the dross we had to endure last season, RP has to get the cheque book out and buy 2 players that can play in the centre of the park. Continually putting ourselves under pressure by giving the ball away cheaply. No pace, no composure oh aye and no clue. Sort it Pat or your tenure as Hibernian manager will be over soon.

Finally!

IndieHibby
Handling on - come on son!

HOOF every time, totally pointless.

05-08-2012, 01:15 PM
Wrong change.

hibeequinn
Very

Too good for the S.P.L frightening player.

One of the biggest complaints of the last couple of seasons has been playing players out of position, so why play someone who is a natural rb out of place?

Fenlon said he likes the fact that Clancy can play in a couple of positions, if going by today's performance, he's not a very good fullback, so play him at CH insteaad of Stephens, who is ******.

05-08-2012, 01:16 PM
Sad to say it, but Clancy reminds me a lot of Hart.

mcfly
This is grim. Feel sorry for the fans again paying £25 to watch this. This is a drubbing!!!

Sorry mr Petrie but YOU have to give the fans a real reason to make them turn up. Too many cheap players have arrived at hibs under your reign.

How do Dundee utd get the quality players with half the season ticket holders we have??

Griffiths booked

blaikie
05-08-2012, 01:17 PM
Handling shouting for the ball there looking to go through, And yet again we lump it across field :rolleyes: ...... Oh Take him out Leigh :greengrin

We actually get a corner (miracle) and Wotherspoon duffs it to a Utd player.

Well done David - keep up the good work :aok:

Dreadful stuff.

Within 30 seconds Handling puts himself in 3 good positions for a pass to be completely ignored 3 times.

Seeing Thomsons face makes me feel ill.

This is grim. Feel sorry for the fans again paying £25 to watch this. This is a drubbing!!!

Sorry mr Petrie but YOU have to give the fans a real reason to make them turn up. Too many cheap players have arrived at hibs under your reign.

How do Dundee utd get the quality players with half the season ticket holders we have??

Far better scouting and a good manager.

dmc1875
05-08-2012, 01:18 PM
Same as last season.

Total lack of pace, width, presecence up top & lack of decent understanding in defence.

What has PF been working on during the summer?

05-08-2012, 01:19 PM
Far better scouting and a good manager.

Hit the nail right on the head.

We should just start the youngsters, at least they put some ****ing effort in

Hibs fans came with optimism? :hilarious Good to hear them praising our youth.

blaikie
Within 30 seconds Handling puts himself in 3 good positions for a pass to be completely ignored 3 times.
Totally demoralizing for a young player making his debut,

Even McPake looks off the pace.

Wotherspoon, just tripped over his own feet, bloody embarrassing. :confused:

05-08-2012, 01:20 PM
This is brutal! Its broken no idea how to fix. Think this games gone. New signings need to be made in time for the Hearts game

is the season over yet? :-)

thebausburst
I still think we could get a shot on target in the 90 minutes, which lets not forget would be an improvement on last seasons opener against Celtic! Going next week - nae chance!

We should just start the youngsters, at least they put some ****ing effort in

Exactly.

05-08-2012, 01:21 PM
Even McPake looks off the pace.

As the captain, you'd think he'd have something to say about who he thinks his partner should be.

05-08-2012, 01:23 PM
I still think we could get a shot on target in the 90 minutes, which lets not forget would be an improvement on last seasons opener against Celtic! Going next week - nae chance!

Kind of regretting it now for getting a ticket for next week. A huge major 12 hours in the training ground this midweek and a couple of good players signed up might make me feel a little better.

05-08-2012, 01:23 PM
I don't even see how another couple of signings changes this mess around, I am stumped. How do hibs get out of this mess we have been in for years? how many seasons of pathetic football is it now? 4 or 5?

hibeequinn
05-08-2012, 01:24 PM
would be nice too see this utd keeper being tested lol

05-08-2012, 01:25 PM
As the captain, you'd think he'd have something to say about who he thinks his partner should be.

Would you? The manager picks the team he doesn't ask the captain for advice about who to play.

05-08-2012, 01:26 PM
...................and dispite it all I actually think Hibs might nick a goal and take a draw :greengrin

I don't even see how another couple of signings changes this mess around, I am stumped. How do hibs get out of this mess we have been in for years? how many seasons of pathetic football is it now? 4 or 5?

Seems to me it's the same old players not turning up again Wotherspoon, Sproule, Stevenson, definitely time for them to move on as they offer nothing at all.

You see, I don't mind getting beat but as long as the players on the park put in a right good damn effort to try and win the game. Play for the badge and work their socks off for the full 90 minutes.

So far not seen none of that.

fife hfc
05-08-2012, 01:27 PM
With nobody to hold the ball up front we are always going to struggle. A big striker who can hold the ball up and a replacement for Stephens would make a difference.

gbur123ukgb
05-08-2012, 01:29 PM

Not only cheap players but crap ones at that.
We have nothing in midfield and no threat up front very lightwieght and horrendously off the pace of the game new season same toothless hibs

SneakersO'Toole
05-08-2012, 01:29 PM
Men against boys. All the same problems from last season patently evident once again.

We'll be nowhere near top 6 based on this.

05-08-2012, 01:30 PM
Would you? The manager picks the team he doesn't ask the captain for advice about who to play.

Central defensive partnerships need to have an ability to gel and play with each other, just cause Fenlon wants Stephens to play, doesn't mean he'll play well with McPake. If he sees McPake as his no.1 and leader, he should be asking him who he gels better with. I thought the Hanlon partnership from last season looked to be starting to gel ( outwith the final ), don't understand why he hasn't kept faith with it.

Have we had a single shot at goal yet?

thebausburst
ok we've clearly not got the players, but tactically Fenlon is not impressing! Unless something dramatic happens in the transfer market we are in for another doing next week. Anyone coming up with all the bed-wetter stuff just has their head in the sand!

**** off

We are still short of a CH who is strong and brave enough on the ball to take it from the keeper. We also need a creative winger and a target man. And that's just at least.

Game over. **** sake. Pish.

Kenny1875
Complete mess in defence as per

05-08-2012, 01:31 PM
total mince

Dr Jimmy
One paced *****. This could be 5 or 6 utter *****.

hibeequinn
Mcpake and clancy just watched daly bullet that in the back of the net **** sake hibs gtf

gbur123ukgb
joke that is all.
Right petrie we need players fast and good ones not the **** no one else wants

aw well, back to the Olympics to see how real sports men & Woman perform.

Pathetic from McPake

Back out to work, this is horrendous to watch.

mcfly
A striker with a bit of presence Must be signed this week.

What have been hibs doing over the summer?? Certainly not learning how to defend or keep possession

Not good enough!!! Embarrassing.

Wtf was mcpake doing?

05-08-2012, 01:32 PM
It's not like we can complain.

So so bad. I fear for us next week I really do.

TheEastTerrace
Oh dear, this doesn't sound good. Hibs need some steel and bloody quick too. Next week could be a nightmare.

2 going on 10. Zero shots on target played off the park, weakend team from last season. Honestly this is actually one of the worst Hibs teams I've seen in 34 years.

****ing dreadful defending

McPake was a ****ing joke there.

Utds neighbours will be delighted Hibs are around. Relegation battle that i dont think i can suffer anymore.

SneakersO'Toole
05-08-2012, 01:33 PM
Not one of our set pieces has beaten the first man today. Pathetic.

justlikebrazil
gonna be a long season again!!! murder

Oh dear, no improvement whatsoever. Serious times at ER. I just hope Petrie sees that !!!!!

hibeequinn
05-08-2012, 01:34 PM
Anyone want a ticket for the game next week :@

05-08-2012, 01:35 PM
I still think we can split the Old Firm this year.:flag:

Our defending hasn't changed one bit from last season. Clancy just looks like a centre half, Stephens is poor whilst Mcpake has looked switched off all afternoon. We'll get pumped next week unless there is severe changes all over the park, both in personnel and tactics.

2 going on 10. Zero shots on target played off the park, weakend team from last season. Honestly this is actually one of the worst Hibs teams I've seen in 34 years.UTD 5 shots on target in 80 mins..behave ..:greengrin

TheMentalHibees
05-08-2012, 01:36 PM
We're going to get absolutely horsed next week. This team couldn't fight sleep.

05-08-2012, 01:36 PM
We are going to get ****** smashed once again v hearts next week. After the final it took a lot to even bother to keep supporting the club, looks already like this season will be a horror show.

05-08-2012, 01:37 PM
David stephens is all over the place, hands all over his opponants back. Giving away needless fouls. Didn't mark daly for the goal. Stevenson was tucking in and covering every time. Ivan has no footballing brain and is hopeless.

Good point, clancey looks vocal and a good signing. Cairney looks like a stocky laddie and good with the ball, wotherspoon and doyle look improved.

05-08-2012, 01:37 PM
on holiday in Menorca. Thought I would come in out the sun and check the match out on the hotel computer and see how the "new look team " are doing.
Waste of 2 euros. Roll on the AGM!.

05-08-2012, 01:38 PM
I really do love hibs, but I can't justify spending my hard earned money on tickets to watch performances like this, really glad I wasn't suckered into buying a season ticket in the lead up to the final from hell.

We really are a laughing stock.

gbur123ukgb
petrie now has to come out and back manager tell fans there is money for players.
Be more ambitious we dont have any match winners in our squad no players who can pass ball move into a space then go and beat someone 1 on 1.
This is a worse squad than last season also

Very poor performance from us, but United look very good. They'll stroll second place IMO, as long as they don't lose Mackay Steven or Russell this transfer window.

05-08-2012, 01:39 PM
at least we are only 2nd bottom(alphabetically) however, after next weekend we can rightfully claim bottom spot all for ourselves

TowerHibs
05-08-2012, 01:40 PM
wotherspoon, hanlon & stevenson must all have the worst win ratio of ant hibs players ever. How Hanlon gets a game every week is a mystery. Not good enough - mentally or ability wise

a loser with no pride

Mango Man
They look so much better than us in every department and we fully deserve to get beat, it should actually be about 4, why do Hibs make it so difficult to support them?!

Aaaah, it's good to have the football back.........

mcfly
You can't just keep on sacking managers every year.

If you spend peanuts on cheap option players that nobody wants you will end up bottom of the league. We haven't improved or learned anything from that drubbing at Hampden.

Stevens, Stevenson, Sproule should not be in the team.

Mr Petrie you made a plea to the fans - Herat this one when he asks you to release funds for some quality players otherwise what's the point.

BarneyK
05-08-2012, 01:41 PM
You can't just keep on sacking managers every year.

If you spend peanuts on cheap option players that nobody wants you will end up bottom of the league. We haven't improved or learned anything from that drubbing at Hampden.

Stevens, Stevenson, Sproule should not be in the team.

Mr Petrie you made a plea to the fans - Herat this one when he asks you to release funds for some quality players otherwise what's the point.

SneakersO'Toole
05-08-2012, 01:41 PM
Very poor performance from us, but United look very good. They'll stroll second place IMO, as long as they don't lose Mackay Steven or Russell this transfer window.

They have eveything we could only wish for. Pace, proper target man, width, dynamic and tenacious midfield and strong centre halfs.

We are so far away from them its scary.

05-08-2012, 01:42 PM
Questions have to be asked of Fenlon. Why play Stevens, why leave Kujabi out as YOU bought him !!!!
Why no midfield, why not change things when supporters can see the problems, what do you see ???
Scary !!

patch1875
Maybe we have to send Petrie a letter to back the club

gbur123ukgb
at least we are only 2nd bottom(alphabetically) however, after next weekend we can rightfully claim bottom spot all for ourselves
No Urgency no desire no quality at all.
Hope all the petrie lovers are starting to see what a poor job he is doing in regards to getting money for better players ffs united pay less than us flood mackay steven, russell and dare i say rankin would come into this squad and be world beaters come to think of it brian hamilton jarko wiss and joe tortolano would make these imposters better.
We are a joke

05-08-2012, 01:43 PM
Why do we have the players being interviewed saying we have more 'bottle' and bite then come game time we show nothing!!!! Talk is cheap! I am dreading next week based on this showing!!!! The thought that we could have had GMS and didn't take it amazes me! And we were quick to call for the axe of John Rankin now look at him! I just don't get hibs!how we have fallen in the last 5 years

Ell_Chrisso
Is this really a suprise? I dont really see where any optimism can come from?

To be able to play the football we do, we need to have atleast 3/4 midfielders to be A. Good on the ball & B. Even better at closing down the ball and winning it back.

The only other way is for us to become very defensive minded, and that means changing our philosophy and game plan.

The midfield is as much to blame as the defence. Wotherspoon & Stevenson have been very average at best for a long time now. Sproule has the odd moments where he can be useful but is not what our struggling team needs, and Claros is another just not good enough to suit the bill.

Untill the midfield is sorted, we cant get better. This team will finish 9th tops.

On the whole they are pish too, but better than us.

Questions have to be asked of Fenlon. Why play Stevens, why leave Kujabi out as YOU bought him !!!!
Why no midfield, why not change things when supporters can see the problems, what do you see ???
Scary !!

Pat Fenlon has the potential to become our Ebbe Skhovdal if he's not careful.:rolleyes:

05-08-2012, 01:44 PM
We have to look at our scouting "network" as well, how can UTD, a club with less resources than us, year after year now find quality, lose it, an replace it with more quality?

Piqué
05-08-2012, 01:44 PM
wotherspoon, hanlon & stevenson must all have the worst win ratio of ant hibs players ever. How Hanlon gets a game every week is a mystery. Not good enough - mentally or ability wise

a loser with no pride
Hanlon loves a HOOF as well. Frustrating.

BarneyK
05-08-2012, 01:45 PM
No Urgency no desire no quality at all.
Hope all the petrie lovers are starting to see what a poor job he is doing in regards to getting money for better players ffs united pay less than us flood mackay steven, russell and dare i say rankin would come into this squad and be world beaters come to think of it brian hamilton jarko wiss and joe tortolano would make these imposters better.
We are a joke

Would that not be the manager's job to identify the players and get them playing as a unit? Not sure how Petrie's responsible for that.

hibeequinn
05-08-2012, 01:45 PM
David Stephens best tackle hes done all day and ref gives free kick nice one thompson

05-08-2012, 01:46 PM
Another fine appointment Petrie.

05-08-2012, 01:46 PM
This is awful

05-08-2012, 01:47 PM
Bottom of the league now. good times................

IndieHibby
05-08-2012, 01:47 PM
3-0

05-08-2012, 01:48 PM
Jesus god.

Oh dear.

spoke too soon, bottom spot quite rightfully ours now :agree:

Piqué
wow

Nothing has changed. This is laughable.

EK_Hibs
They have eveything we could only wish for. Pace, proper target man, width, dynamic and tenacious midfield and strong centre halfs.

We are so far away from them its scary.

You're so right... This performance is very worrying indeed.
The Yams will be watching this and rubbing their hands... they have a target man, width and strong centre halfs too... Questions marks over their midfield so hopefully Deegan can make a difference.

Awful

Makaveli
Scary !!

Aye, Fenlon is ultimately responsible IMO.

David Stephens? Really? As you say we have his signing Kujabi, and also Booth who could come in at left back pushing Hanlon inside, not ideal but better.

And midfield: if non-entitites like Wotherspoon and Stevenson are better then Claros, why the f*** sign him?

You pick a formation to suit your players. Why have 2 holding midfielders when one of them is Cairney? Why have one up front when he's got the build of Griffiths? Why have a position in behind the striker and waste it on Wotherspoon?

And all this "if you pay peanuts" stuff... is Dundee Utd's wage bill higher than ours?

It's easy to shout "Petrie!" but Fenlon put that side out. If Petrie's to blame it's for yet another gash appointment.

McPake looking pretty iffy again there...

05-08-2012, 01:49 PM
Pisher than pish

Start as you mean to go on.

Terrible.

Gary Deegan is not going to change this!

fenlon brings o'hanlon on now :faf:

This Deegan had better be some player:fuming: we need players desperately!!!!!! again the season has started we are desperately short on quality and scrambling around for players :confused:

IndieHibby
I'll reserve judgement until the 31st, but I'm not confident about this season at all.

05-08-2012, 01:50 PM
Sean O'Hanlon our best player he never put a foot wrong

Pat the rat is more clueless than Calderwood

fenlon brings o'hanlon on now :faf:

I am sorry but even for me that was laughable.

Another fine appointment Petrie.

Said it last season after the split. Don't see any improvements or changes. Roll on the AGM.

Nothing different. Nothing new. What was to be expected when we played 8 of a truly pish squad from last season? Summer of change? Don't make me ****ing laugh.

05-08-2012, 01:51 PM
That was sore on the eyes! gutless performance and we deserved hee haw from that, really bad performance and I don't think I'm the only one dreading next week!

Fantic
I blame Craig Thompson.

mcfly
Horrific hibs!!

Get it sorted mr Petrie - the penny pinching must stop or we will sink further and become more of a joke than we already are.

patch1875
05-08-2012, 01:52 PM
Nothing has changed. This is laughable.

Yes it has we're worse

05-08-2012, 01:53 PM
Aye, Fenlon is ultimately responsible IMO.

David Stephens? Really? As you say we have his signing Kujabi, and also Booth who could come in at left back pushing Hanlon inside, not ideal but better.

And midfield: if non-entitites like Wotherspoon and Stevenson are better then Claros, why the f*** sign him?

You pick a formation to suit your players. Why have 2 holding midfielders when one of them is Cairney? Why have one up front when he's got the build of Griffiths? Why have a position in behind the striker and waste it on Wotherspoon?

And all this "if you pay peanuts" stuff... is Dundee Utd's wage bill higher than ours?

It's easy to shout "Petrie!" but Fenlon put that side out. If Petrie's to blame it's for yet another gash appointment.

Finding it hard to disagree with any of this!

Greenblood70
Absolute garbage today..woeful.

Not even surprised by the result.

Don't even give a **** anymore.

05-08-2012, 01:54 PM

Name calling???? Really????

another long hard season slogging it out at the wrong end of the table ahead unless there is some investment in this team

TheMentalHibees
http://4.bp.blogspot.com/-KYetq7H6UkA/SzAcjaFkzQI/AAAAAAAAA2I/6G4nfmdSQf8/s500/picard-headesk.jpg

He's AS clueless.

United are everything we're not. Except they don't have a really smart 'Training' Centre.

hibsfan
05-08-2012, 01:55 PM
Oh well - completely justifies my decision to scrap the season ticket this year - why should I both wasting mu money when the club couldn't care less what we do on the park and how results go - as long as we survive each season - to hell with that

05-08-2012, 01:55 PM
Good idea, lets sack another manager. So we can have another mass cull of players and bring more ***** in. This hibs team is a joke, but this hibs team has been a joke for 6 years now.

All the managers we appoint cannot be that bad, look at Mixu. If DU are so above us then why did they try and sign PF? Something stinks at hibs and TBH I'm sick to the back teeth of it but it absolutely can't be the managers.

Petrie get your f****** act together or enjoy regular attendances of 4-5k.

05-08-2012, 01:56 PM
wish i had put loads on UTd at 4/6...

hearts next week might get evens. not wasting an oppty to make money on a team as bad as this.

05-08-2012, 01:56 PM
Also, this result continues Fenlons record of not beating a top six side since he arrived dosent it?

hibIBZ
05-08-2012, 01:57 PM
its not about penny pinching its about finding good players and having a better youth system, dudee utd have a wage budget below ours. how many truly good players have come out of east mains since it was built? none!

05-08-2012, 01:57 PM
Positives - Cairney looks like he'll be a great acquisition when fit. Williams should have been out for that cross in the first half but the save was fantastic.

Negatives - everything else, particularly the non-performances of Wotherspoon, Sproule, Stephens, Doyle, Hanlon & Stevenson. Still miles short on quality.

fife hfc
05-08-2012, 01:58 PM
Why are everybody slagging Hanlon he looked like the only defender who could tackle. Hanlon and Mcpake, the final apart, were more solid. The defence to me looked uncertain and all over the place due to Stephens who was totally clueless and made the othet defenders uncertain. Sign Maybury as a left back and the defence would instantly improve.

Hopefully Deegan adds a bit of bite as Cairney looked ok but lacking in a partner to help him. If the Forsyth rumour is true then yhe left hand side will be solved. We desperately need a big strong centre forward and if so we might actually pose a problem going forward. This is a massive week for Petrie and Fenlon as a heavy defeat next week could be catastrophic for our crowds this season.

LeighLoyal
That looked a relegation display. Shocking all over the pitch.

;3314086']Good idea, lets sack another manager. So we can have another mass cull of players and bring more ***** in. This hibs team is a joke, but this hibs team has been a joke for 6 years now.

All the managers we appoint cannot be that bad, look at Mixu. If DU are so above us then why did they try and sign PF? Something stinks at hibs and TBH I'm sick to the back teeth of it but it absolutely can't be the managers.

Having had plenty of them in the past few years we are quick enough to know a) a crap goalie and b) a turkey of a manager when we see one.

There's no beating around the bush as much as we don't want to say it, Fenlon is another diddy.

jane_says
05-08-2012, 01:59 PM
2 centre halfs at full back, an attacking midfielder as a defensive midfielder, a striker as a winger and to top it off play long ball tactics to a 5'9 griffiths.

What do people actually see in Fenlon? All this nonsense about Petrie not putting his hand in his pocket is rubbish because we've got a bigger budget than 70% of the league

The mistake Petrie made was appointing Fenlon.

calmac12000
05-08-2012, 01:59 PM
Christ, its a classic case of "men against boys", not at the races in any shape or form.
The only possible bright spot was Paul Cairney, who looked to show a wee bit of potential. Otherwise,it was very much a case of same old, same old. Based on this performance, we're going to be down there with ****dee and maybe Ross County, but I suspect, that though the latter are a truly awful footballing side they are big braw lads who'll pick up their fair share of points no doubt.
The difference in class was palpable and I for one fear next weekend.

HibsMax
05-08-2012, 02:00 PM
I just noticed the final score was THREE! Jesus Christ. I had some problems with the Arab stream and I switched it off after 90 mins had been played and it was only 2-0. What a miserable performance that was.

Davy Mac
05-08-2012, 02:00 PM
Looked like they just met each other for the first time.

Organisation looks dreadful, can't tackle, can't pass, no second ball, no creativity, didn't backtrack, no pass and go - they just seem to WANT to play in 1st gear.

Doesn't look good at all, painful viewing - Sproule is a shadow of the player first time around.

Finally, why are half of these guys still around the club, they offer nothing, absolutely nothing.

goosefat
05-08-2012, 02:01 PM
Hail! Hail!....The Hibs are here! All for goals and glory, all for goals and glory!!

Not sure if I should :faf: or :boo hoo:
Seriously though guys, :wtf: was that?

Malonga's Cat
05-08-2012, 02:03 PM
;3314086']Good idea, lets sack another manager. So we can have another mass cull of players and bring more ***** in. This hibs team is a joke, but this hibs team has been a joke for 6 years now.

Too right!! This team has been in freefall for years. It's going to be a long hard season and changing manager (again) isn't going to change that.

andy1875
The saddest thing about today's result......

We all knew we'd lose and how many people on this board can say they are surprised that we have been humped again with this team.

A hugely important few weeks now till the window closes or another relegation battle looms. No doubt about it.

Total let down.

Having had plenty of them in the past few years we are quick enough to know a) a crap goalie and b) a turkey of a manager when we see one.

There's no beating around the bush as much as we don't want to say it, Fenlon is another diddy.

I find it hard to accept that the manager is 100% to blame, I'm sorry. We keep picking up managers who have done really well at other clubs yet as soon as they come here they're gash? Nah. Same with players, we sign good players on paper but as soon as they come here they turn gash? Nah.

Hibs are rotten to the core, the attitude of the whole place stinks.

hibs supporter
hibs need to get some height in the team if are going to keep knocking it long but need to pass out from the back dont understand how sproule come out at half time

mcfly
05-08-2012, 02:04 PM
2 centre halfs at full back, an attacking midfielder as a defensive midfielder, a striker as a winger and to top it off play long ball tactics to a 5'9 griffiths.

What do people actually see in Fenlon? All this nonsense about Petrie not putting his hand in his pocket is rubbish because we've got a bigger budget than 70% of the league

The mistake Petrie made was appointing Fenlon.

We can't keep on sacking managers every year- pat Fenlon deserves time but he also deserves money for players who will improve the team.

If mr Petrie can't do that then the fans will turn on him as he is the problem

05-08-2012, 02:09 PM
Dundee United - very good team, settled, confident, good gaffer. Goals up top, guy who leads the line well and who demands the ball (Daly), Flood and Rankin the terriers, their defence doesn't have their midfield on top of them so they have space to play out. They will coast second this season IMHO.

Hibs today - where to begin. I don't think atrocious even covers it. Stephens is the worst central defender I have seen in the SPL from any side in any era - ball watches, static, cannot attack a ball, sits off his man. Wotherspoon - for me needs to part company with Hibernian - it just isn't working out for him here anymore, if it ever did. One paced, if he loses possession his only option is to foul. Sproule - one trick pony who is not a starting player. Hanlon, although our best player today, never a left back and should have been beside McPake as he was last season.

Clancy - slow and looked awkward - very very lucky today that Utd didn't make the most of his lax play when under no pressure.

Griffiths - hate seeing a player trying 'tricks' in his own half when 2-0 down and knowing the side ain't playing well. Doyle - played out of position, poor. Cairney - fought, touch was however poor, had zero threat.

Williams - great save, always though looked to play a long kick out - can't understand that when your only outball is Leigh. At least try and play from the back and allow the team to get forward and out.

Fenlon today - tactics and formation so ill thought out, when I saw the teamlines I knew we would be on the backfoot for most of the game.

United absolutely steamrollered Hibernian today and if it had been 6-0 then it would have been a fair reflection on the game. Four seasons since Mowbray, and yet we still have no midfield balance. Four years since Mowbray, yet we still don't have an established pair of wingers right and left. These for me are the basics - spine and work around them. But pace and width.

Unless we sign 4 players minimum - long season and definitely bottom six on that showing. United were simply superb today but their players won't even need a warm down - abysmal from Hibernian today and they should all be ashamed of calling themselves pro's bar a couple of them.

Feel very sorry for what looked like a terrific travelling support - well done guys :aok: shame you didn't have 14 professional footballers working their socks off for you today.

stanton10
05-08-2012, 02:13 PM

I think you are bang on , but the manager has to decide on tactics so far he has not got it together , my god we cant put another poor centre half in the team, this should be sorted pre season does he have it or not ,imo no

05-08-2012, 02:15 PM
Said it last season after the split. Don't see any improvements or changes. Roll on the AGM.

I asked the question about improvement after 6 games of him being in charge. I couldn't believe that some people were saying that they had noticed improvement.

This man was the wrong appointment to start with, I believe we have sunk lower than where we were in the Calderwood years.

Petrie AGAIN has ****ed up in the managerial appointment stakes, and is costing our club Millions in the process!

Swindonfan
05-08-2012, 02:18 PM
With great sadness i saw a Hibs team there with no belief on day ONE. So many players seemed to hide in that game as when they did get the ball you were stunned as you had forgotten they were out there. A team of midgets are always gonna get beat up. Stephens is scary, the guys got no awareness of what is going on around him at all.

Everyone knows new players are not just needed but its desperate. Obviously the manager knows this and he should be coming out and being very open cos if hes not hes just gonna appear a numpty. Height up front is a MAJOR need. Hibs never won a header all game, it just kept coming back. You gotta hold it up front or you have no chance.

Hopefully the lad from coventry in midfield will add some bite, but someones got to offer some composure on the ball. Be able to move the ball around, make the team look like a team. That was scary today.

Mr Petrie i hope your sat down, cos this is gonna hurt, but , " open your dam purse you tight git cos your killing this club"

05-08-2012, 02:19 PM
Hanlon was the best defender on the park today...and still he gets ripped on here. He's being played out of position and covering centre and left. Stephens is the worst player ive seen in years. A truly awful player - he must have pictures of Fenlon and a Chicken.

05-08-2012, 02:19 PM
Dundee United - very good team, settled, confident, good gaffer. Goals up top, guy who leads the line well and who demands the ball (Daly), Flood and Rankin the terriers, their defence doesn't have their midfield on top of them so they have space to play out. They will coast second this season IMHO.

Hibs today - where to begin. I don't think atrocious even covers it. Stephens is the worst central defender I have seen in the SPL from any side in any era - ball watches, static, cannot attack a ball, sits off his man. Wotherspoon - for me needs to part company with Hibernian - it just isn't working out for him here anymore, if it ever did. One paced, if he loses possession his only option is to foul. Sproule - one trick pony who is not a starting player. Hanlon, although our best player today, never a left back and should have been beside McPake as he was last season.

Clancy - slow and looked awkward - very very lucky today that Utd didn't make the most of his lax play when under no pressure.

Griffiths - hate seeing a player trying 'tricks' in his own half when 2-0 down and knowing the side ain't playing well. Doyle - played out of position, poor. Cairney - fought, touch was however poor, had zero threat.

Williams - great save, always though looked to play a long kick out - can't understand that when your only outball is Leigh. At least try and play from the back and allow the team to get forward and out.

Fenlon today - tactics and formation so ill thought out, when I saw the teamlines I knew we would be on the backfoot for most of the game.

United absolutely steamrollered Hibernian today and if it had been 6-0 then it would have been a fair reflection on the game. Four seasons since Mowbray, and yet we still have no midfield balance. Four years since Mowbray, yet we still don't have an established pair of wingers right and left. These for me are the basics - spine and work around them. But pace and width.

Unless we sign 4 players minimum - long season and definitely bottom six on that showing. United were simply superb today but their players won't even need a warm down - abysmal from Hibernian today and they should all be ashamed of calling themselves pro's bar a couple of them.

Feel very sorry for what looked like a terrific travelling support - well done guys :aok: shame you didn't have 14 professional footballers working their socks off for you today.

Nobody in defence seemed to want to take it out from the back! Williams looked pissed off having to kick it out all the time.

C/NauldHibby
05-08-2012, 02:20 PM

Absolutely spot on!

05-08-2012, 02:23 PM
Positives - Cairney looks like he'll be a great acquisition when fit. Williams should have been out for that cross in the first half but the save was fantastic.

Negatives - everything else, particularly the non-performances of Wotherspoon, Sproule, Stephens, Doyle, Hanlon & Stevenson. Still miles short on quality.

Should be fined for not being fit - every single player, prior to reporting for pre-season should be in such a shape that they hit pre-season training running, and by kick off time for the first SPL game they should be fit as butchers dogs. I'm not saying he didn't try today, but he is carrying weight. Wotherspoon has lacked pace for 2 seasons - is he getting any sprint training or endurance work, because by 50 minutes he looks like he is towing a tyre. Stevenson today looked unbelievably one paced and lacked body strength. How can anyone be bullied by Willo ****** Flood !!

Look at Garry O'Connor last season - he was allowed to balloon so much last season the club were making up excuses for his 'lack of fitness/training' - a toe injury doesn't for example stop you going to the swimming pool - I don't think he even had a toe injury.

Wake up call big time today, for the players, Fenlon and the Board - United are a great team when in the mood and I found myself enjoying their play today - but any side in the SPL will look good against us if the players fail to close down, fail to work, and fail to get some cohesion.

11 headless chickens out there today from the first Stephens error to the last McPake error. 1st minute to 90th.

05-08-2012, 02:24 PM
I was feeling guilty about not renewing my season ticket, but after watching that less so.

MartinfaePorty
One, incredibly scant, consolation is that, having been at Tynecastle yesterday, Dundee Utd look a far better side than Hearts. However, we are definitely worse than either them or Saints, so they won't have to do very much to beat us.

Bobo
Not much difference from last season then! Pre-season performances and today's lame effort suggests we're gonna be in big trouble again! The players look demoralised already and it's only the first game of the season ffs!

Hibs were sent out with no obvious game plan and precious little tactical fore-thought and little creation or threat towards the Utd goal, not much football was on show from our players. Our lack of possession is criminal and only serves to surrender matches and points to the opposition no matter how poor they are yet management still persist in playing one man up front and allowing our opponents easy possession.

Our players still can't pass, are too slow and soft for my liking and their lack of fitness compared to a Utd team, who played mid-week, was evident for all to see. The lack of quality in the delivery of corners / free-kicks is alarming considering this doesn't seem to have been addressed since last season.

IMO Clancy isn't effective at right back, Id play him at CH along side McPake and bin Stevens. Stevenson and Sproule could go for me too as both offer little to the team.

Says it all really when Craig Thomson's performance was better and more professional than the players he's meant to show blatant bias against .... well they under-performed all by themselves today without his help.

Another long tedious season awaits!

05-08-2012, 02:25 PM
He's AS clueless.

United are everything we're not. Except they don't have a really smart 'Training' Centre.

They have 2 SC wins tae!

New Season
New Team
New Attitude?

or

New Season
Same Team (apart from 3 players)
Same Old Pish?

I think you are bang on , but the manager has to decide on tactics so far he has not got it together , my god we cant put another poor centre half in the team, this should be sorted pre season does he have it or not ,imo no

For the record I think that probably was the best team we have out there today. Whatever tactics we picked would have resulted in the same outcome, sadly. We are not good enough all round.

05-08-2012, 02:34 PM
Dundee Utd are clearly the 2nd best team in the league and if they can avoid injuries might even run Celtic close.

But having said that I expected Hibs to give a much better account of themselves than that. I only listened to the game on the radio, but it sounded like we were given a football lesson .... in the whole 90 minutes I barely heard the commentator describe a move by Hibs or any inventive play ... it all sounded like last ditch defending and lumping the ball up the park.

I'm sorry to say I am seriously beginning to doubt that PF has what it takes to manage in the SPL. Though I do feel sorry for him having to manage a team of players who it would appear just cant be motivated and lack ability.

But after watching Stephens against Huddersfield I'm amazed that PF didnt Have Hanlon at CH, or at least O'Hanlon if he was determined to play Hanlon at LB.

From what I'm reading on here he had Cairney in front of the back 4 ..... Why? when he is clearly supposed to be an attacking midfielder.

If he is going to hoof long balls up the park why not play Caldwell up there who is reasonably big as opposed to Griffiths, who should be playing off a target man, not be the target man.

Team for the Derby:

Williams

Clancy
McPake
Hanlon
Booth / Kujabi

Deegan .... if remotely fit ......... Never seen him play
Stanton ................................ Never seen him play
Cairney ................................. Seen him for 20 minutes
Griffiths ................................. Dont know if he's ever played in midfield.

Caldwell ................................. Seen him for a total of about 180 minutes
Handling / Doyle ................................. Seen Handling play about 90 minutes

Play 442 and have a bloody go ..... coz trying to defend and punting long balls obviously doesnt work and I would gladly turn up on Sunday to watch a team that doesnt have Wotherspoon, Stephens and I'm sorry to say Stevenson or Sprould in it.

Thomson
05-08-2012, 02:35 PM
I have to say, that there has been absolutely 0 change from last season, besides new names. Our midfield is horrendous, Stephens should leave by mutual consent and how can we expect to get the long ball to a target, with no target man. Long season ahead, i can only start to reduced my standards more and more everyday, to at least begin to watch the team. Not Happy:tsk tsk:

goosefat
05-08-2012, 02:35 PM
Bring on the jambos!

:tumble: