View Full Version : Match Updates Hibs 2 v 2 Huddersfield
28-07-2012, 06:36 PM
I remember folk saying that last season, even though it was clear we were pish from the season before and that pre season.
Maybe its just me, but i am worried about the coming season, with a 10th then an 11th place finish, and in my mind no strengthening of the team, i'm worried about whats coming our way.
We have a difficult start with a threadbare squad, even 1 injury anywhere on the park seriously weakens us even more, imagine McPake gets injured too, jesus we'd have a combination of Stephens O'Hanlon or Hanlon, with Kujabi then coming in?
We are desperate in my opinion for players to come in, players who would walk straight into the team, not squad fillers like Maybury and Kerr.
Last season at the end, i was talking to my mate who travels up with us, and we were on about players like Stevenson Sproule and Claros, and how they need to be the back up players, they need to be those who come in for injuries and suspensions.
Well thats not happened, and it looks like Kerr is maybe the competition they will have? I think we really need to put to bed we are after quality over quantity. :rolleyes:
It was always going to be hard to bring real quality in, given we only spend season ticket revenue, and that number has reduced on last season....Think our lot now is signing journeymen like Kerr and Maybury....I was glad that we let some real dross go, and on hearing PF talk about what he expected, made me more positive about our whole situation. After the Final debacle, we were all down, but to a man we wanted to re-sign McPake, we did that. I like McPake, I like the new keeper, I like the look of Clancy....If PF makes us tougher and harder to beat, then I will be contented, especially if it coincides with a climb up the table in respect of our finishing position.
28-07-2012, 06:55 PM
It was always going to be hard to bring real quality in, given we only spend season ticket revenue, and that number has reduced on last season....Think our lot now is signing journeymen like Kerr and Maybury....I was glad that we let some real dross go, and on hearing PF talk about what he expected, made me more positive about our whole situation. After the Final debacle, we were all down, but to a man we wanted to re-sign McPake, we did that. I like McPake, I like the new keeper, I like the look of Clancy....If PF makes us tougher and harder to beat, then I will be contented, especially if it coincides with a climb up the table in respect of our finishing position.
Other clubs manage to bring in better than we do, on less money its about time we did too. Journeymen have been coming through the door for years, yet we get the ones who are pish, and the likes of Motherwell and Killie seem to get in better ones?
I agree we needed to get rid of the dross last season, but that left us with those nobody else wants and the kids.
McPake was a no brainer, we needed him to come back, clancy hopefully will be a decent right back, but where i disagree about us being harder to beat, is our other centre half and our left back.
I'm not convinced Hanlon is good enough at centre half, it looks very like Stephens is not, but to compensate for having no quality left back, we have Hanlon playing there and Stephens in the middle, for me thats not a back 4 thats been strengthened?
I think we all agree the midfield is weaker, so i think our back 4 will probably be put under more pressure than they were last season, if i'm right thats not going to be good to watch?
Up front we have Doyle and Griffiths, two forwards with the ability to score, but with a midfield that lacks even less creativity than last season, its difficult to see them scoring a lot. They will score obviously, but in my opinion not nearly enough.
We do have the kids, and hopefully they will come good. At this minute though, i feel we have a very threadbare squad, with less ability all over the team than last season. Obviously i hope i'm completely wrong.
Big Ed
28-07-2012, 06:59 PM
Quick lets get Ross Chisholm back, he LOOKED like he knew what he was doing with all that pointing he did.
Here we are going into the last week before the season starts, and we are a million miles away from being a a top 6 side, and in my opinion another struggle is on the cards. That in itself will do nothing to bring back the crowds, and then less money for Pat to spend now and in the January window.
We will then have folk saying its us the fans who are to blame, as we have not supported the club enough, while clubs above us again manage it on crowds much less than we have.
Get your finger out STF, put some money up now to help the team, not when we are struggling at xmas.
I'm well aware of how limited our squad is this season. Cash appears to be tight at ER so there is not much room for manouvere. We could throw all our eggs into one basket and try for a player with a big reputation (and salary to match). There are very recent examples of players on big money being disasterous for us: De Graff, Hart and O'Brien spring to mind.
On the assumption that Fenlon is going to play 4-2-3-1 this season, then IMO Mark Kerr is a better bet than either Claros or Stevenson in the holding role.
My instinct tells me that the Manager is trying to make us a bit tougher, but that's difficult on our budget, so if Alan Maybury or Mark Kerr are available on decent terms, he may think that they are a better bet than a Billy Big Time.
28-07-2012, 07:01 PM
The defence looks a bit more solid. Williams never stops shouting to the back four and McPake isn't slow in telling his colleagues when they are not doing something to his liking - He shouted at Clancy after the second goal, which to my mind was Stephen's fault, but think he was making a point about how much room the guy had in the build up. Would still prefer seeing Clancy in beside the captain and Maybury at right back, though to be fair to Stephens he improved as the game progressed.
The midfield was non-existent for parts of the game, the first 20 minutes they were not going with runners, but after Griffiths scored they got a grip to a extent. Didn't think Claros was the worst offender either, but he needs to control the game. Perhaps PF doesn't think he can and that's why Kerr is being trialled. Spoony had an up and down day, certainly looks fitter, but still prone to switching off.
The forwards got little or no decent service, this improved after Cairney came on though. Looks a Kevin McAllister type player - tenacious and no little skill. Was impressed with him, but does look a tad on the heavy side still. Doyle was ok, there's something there I reckon, might be a case of persevering with him.
Overall they did ok and at times looked a team capable of giving opponents problems. They have to learn though to stop playing only in 5/10 minute bursts.
28-07-2012, 07:04 PM
Other clubs manage to bring in better than we do, on less money its about time we did too. Journeymen have been coming through the door for years, yet we get the ones who are pish, and the likes of Motherwell and Killie seem to get in better ones?
I agree we needed to get rid of the dross last season, but that left us with those nobody else wants and the kids.
McPake was a no brainer, we needed him to come back, clancy hopefully will be a decent right back, but where i disagree about us being harder to beat, is our other centre half and our left back.
I'm not convinced Hanlon is good enough at centre half, it looks very like Stephens is not, but to compensate for having no quality left back, we have Hanlon playing there and Stephens in the middle, for me thats not a back 4 thats been strengthened?
I think we all agree the midfield is weaker, so i think our back 4 will probably be put under more pressure than they were last season, if i'm right thats not going to be good to watch?
Up front we have Doyle and Griffiths, two forwards with the ability to score, but with a midfield that lacks even less creativity than last season, its difficult to see them scoring a lot. They will score obviously, but in my opinion not nearly enough.
We do have the kids, and hopefully they will come good. At this minute though, i feel we have a very threadbare squad, with less ability all over the team than last season. Obviously i hope i'm completely wrong.
Agree regarding our midfield, but I think signing Clancy was a bit of a coup, as he left the team in Champions League qualifiers to join us, so he must have been impressed with PF, East Mains ect ect. Not sure if the young guys are ready for the step up yet, although they all have real potential.
28-07-2012, 07:06 PM
I'm well aware of how limited our squad is this season. Cash appears to be tight at ER so there is not much room for manouvere. We could throw all our eggs into one basket and try for a player with a big reputation (and salary to match). There are very recent examples of players on big money being disasterous for us: De Graff, Hart and O'Brien spring to mind.
On the assumption that Fenlon is going to play 4-2-3-1 this season, then IMO Mark Kerr is a better bet than either Claros or Stevenson in the holding role.
My instinct tells me that the Manager is trying to make us a bit tougher, but that's difficult on our budget, so if Alan Maybury or Mark Kerr are available on decent terms, he may think that they are a better bet than a Billy Big Time.
That would all make sense if the likes of Motherwell or Killie or even St Johnstone havent plucked Players like Steve Jennings Jody Morris or even Dean Sheils from lower league English clubs for much less than the players you mention above.
Now i'm all for Pat making us a bit tougher, yet when other clubs can do that on a lower budget than us, its not unreal to want Hibs to be a little bit better than just a team thats a little harder?
Not that i actually feel that will be the case this season, with this lot in the team?
28-07-2012, 07:09 PM
Agree regarding our midfield, but I think signing Clancy was a bit of a coup, as he left the team in Champions League qualifiers to join us, so he must have been impressed with PF, East Mains ect ect. Not sure if the young guys are ready for the step up yet, although they all have real potential.
Clancy came because we offered a lot more than Motherwell, i hope you are wrong about the kids, as we need a couple of them to step up to the task this season just to fill in the gaps.:pray:
28-07-2012, 07:15 PM
Clancy came because we offered a lot more than Motherwell, i hope you are wrong about the kids, as we need a couple of them to step up to the task this season just to fill in the gaps.:pray:
I really like the look of Caldwell, neat player, runs for fun, has good control and a nice touch, and knows where the net is.....If out of Caldwell, Handling and Stanton, all competing for a place on the bench, it would be Caldwell for me...
pedroorange1875
28-07-2012, 07:25 PM
Disagree with the comments that it was obvious that Huddersfield are a better team, first 20 mins apart i thought we made them look decidedly average at times, in fact a lot of their play in the second half was like Hibs, passing up to the midfield (or the punt) then running out of ideas and passing it backwards.
28-07-2012, 07:25 PM
I really like the look of Caldwell, neat player, runs for fun, has good control and a nice touch, and knows where the net is.....If out of Caldwell, Handling and Stanton, all competing for a place on the bench, it would be Caldwell for me...
I think you could be right there, Caldwell is still raw but might be the one who comes through first. He will get stronger, and although i have only seen him once, he did stand out amongst the younger players who played.
And he took his goal ever so well. :top marks
28-07-2012, 07:32 PM
I think you could be right there, Caldwell is still raw but might be the one who comes through first. He will get stronger, and although i have only seen him once, he did stand out amongst the younger players who played.
And he took his goal ever so well. :top marks
Did he remind you of a young GOC?
Big Ed
28-07-2012, 07:32 PM
That would all make sense if the likes of Motherwell or Killie or even St Johnstone havent plucked Players like Steve Jennings Jody Morris or even Dean Sheils from lower league English clubs for much less than the players you mention above.
Now i'm all for Pat making us a bit tougher, yet when other clubs can do that on a lower budget than us, its not unreal to want Hibs to be a little bit better than just a team thats a little harder?
Not that i actually feel that will be the case this season, with this lot in the team?
We have been appalling for a few years now. Unfortunately the Manager's budget comes from the Season Ticket sales and when people are feeling the pinch, paying £350 plus to suffer more misery doesn't look such an attractive proposition.
We have also had to pay most of Calderwood's signings to GTF, thereby literally paying for past failures.
IMO it's all about getting the make up of the team right. If our midfield had been Law, Lasley and Jennings on the first day of last season, we'd have been thinking that it was not good enough; but they were the best part of that successful Motherwell team.
Last season our players were, by and large, pish with a honking attitude to match: this season at least the attitude looks better and when that happens, players sometimes show the kind of form that got them professional contracts in the first place.
28-07-2012, 07:41 PM
Did he remind you of a young GOC?
Yip a little, Caldwell seems to have a bit more ability on the ball. :agree:
28-07-2012, 07:43 PM
We have been appalling for a few years now. Unfortunately the Manager's budget comes from the Season Ticket sales and when people are feeling the pinch, paying £350 plus to suffer more misery doesn't look such an attractive proposition.
We have also had to pay most of Calderwood's signings to GTF, thereby literally paying for past failures.
IMO it's all about getting the make up of the team right. If our midfield had been Law, Lasley and Jennings on the first day of last season, we'd have been thinking that it was not good enough; but they were the best part of that successful Motherwell team.
Last season our players were, by and large, pish with a honking attitude to match: this season at least the attitude looks better and when that happens, players sometimes show the kind of form that got them professional contracts in the first place.
I wish i shared your optimism, but sadly i dont. :boo hoo:
Big Ed
28-07-2012, 07:51 PM
I wish i shared your optimism, but sadly i dont. :boo hoo:
In all honesty, I'm not optimistic at all. We lack quality, so what I am saying is that we need to try to make the best of a bad situation. For a spell in the first half today, we looked like we had all the organisation of the Keystone Cops.
28-07-2012, 07:52 PM
I think, having watched the game today we are in for more of the same this season, probably because we dont have the funds to bring many more players in (see PF's article in the EN today)
We looked second best until we scored and then had a wee purple patch, then same again in the second half. We have spells of neat play but we lack prescence in the centre of midfield and a big guy up front. Our team is so small.
Claros and Stevenson are too lightweight- I thought Kerr improved us so for that reason is probably worth a deal, who else are we going to get in?
Up front we NEED someone, pronto. Doyle, while neat and intelligent doesnt offer enough and Leigh needs a big solid striker beside him. We aren't going to get the likes of Sandaza so someone in the mould of Kyle would be ideal. Some of the balls Hanlon put in in the first half would be meat and drink for Kyle, but there was no-one there.
Pluses today- Ivans goal, Cairney played well and has dig about him. I was quite impressed with Maybury when he came on & Clancy looked quite good going forward.
Negatives- Stephens in the first half although he did improve, Claros pussied out of challenges, lack of width and any arial threat & defending at set pieces.
Overall a good run out- we will really struggle at Utd & Huddersfield looked a better outfit than us but thats probably to be expected.
It might be same old same old, with just an added bit of dig.
Folk complain about pessimism on here but I find the "we should just accept mediocrity because we're Hibs and can't do any better" mindset much, much more depressing (and destructive).
"Let's sign Mark Kerr because he's better than no one"
Emerald
28-07-2012, 08:23 PM
Folk complain about pessimism on here but I find the "we should just accept mediocrity because we're Hibs and can't do any better" mindset much, much more depressing (and destructive).
The manager gets a budget and HE is the one that has to make it work. If HE can't bring players in to the standard that we really really need its HIS fault and no one elses. There are thousands of player out there looking for contracts and the best managers will seek out the best players for the best price. We hardly have a squad right now let alone a decent team. Todays performance was ok but I remember complaining about our team under Miller when we were putting 4 past Chelsea pre season!! Money isn't everything, there must be better out there. The big thing for me is not comparing ourselves with other leagues anymore but we HAVE to be better than the smaller clubs in the SPL. Anything less than that is an utter failure.
As for Kerr, he at least looked like a football player who could help the squad and I am shocked too that this is the type of player I am now wanting at Hibs. Long gone are the days that we can sign the likes of Steve Archibald from Barcelona.
I think we have to get on with what we have and hope we have another golden generation of youngster. I don't think there will be any big signings that we are all looking for. I live in hope tho, its not the end of the world. There were improvements today, small but they were there. :thumbsup:
28-07-2012, 08:23 PM
I'm assuming most comments on this thread were from people not at the game. Plenty positives after we settled down into it. Lots of passing and some great moves around be box.
A winger and a striker would make a big difference to turn it into something.
Two cracking goals and some good performances from the new guys. I did wonder after 20 minutes but it was a good game.
Wotherspoon looked a lot better just off the front. Surprised at a couple of the comments on Claros - I thought he played pretty well today.
Clancy's bit of skill at the end was class.
Who gave man of the match to Williams though? Hardly done anything! Would probably have given it to Stevenson myself.
Agree with all of this except with regard to Claros. Only seems to want the ball when it suits him.
goosefat
28-07-2012, 08:30 PM
I hope you realise that you're not actually directly quoting anything at all from that post and stating "Let's sign Mark Kerr because he's better than no one" makes no sense. If he's 'better than no-one' then everyone else must be better than him and we should therefore probably not sign him. :wink:
28-07-2012, 08:38 PM
Did anyone ever tell you that sarcasm is the lowest form of wit?
Nice one.
Seem to be playing a bit better since the break. Must be that pish Mark Kerr to blame.
:kettle:
Wee Scottie Dug
28-07-2012, 08:42 PM
What do you think Brockie, a better team, progress or more of the same?
Afraid you missed out an option BH, poorer than last season ! And for me there were times today especially in the 1st half that we actually looked in that category. Only highlights of the game for me was the overall performance of LG and a couple of crunching tackles from Cairney. As for Mark Kerr - not for me - seemed to want to go backwards and sideways at every opportunity ala Barry the crab only a much poorer version.
inglisavhibs
28-07-2012, 08:49 PM
Lasley would walk in to our midfield, saw him dominate Ian Black at Tynie last season, none of our midfield came close to that.
goosefat
28-07-2012, 09:08 PM
I totally agree and have mentioned this before in another thread. Calderwood's scattergun transfer window spree left us with a load of deadwood that we're still suffering from.
As long as we can see improvement at the end of this coming season then it will be a start. Given the position we're in right now this is really a 2-3 year project and the numpties that are bleating about things on the back of a short pre-season need to lay off the glue/crack/acid. Provided the board don't do their usual pre-AGM sacking and give PF a bit of time then I'm confident we can gradually improve. Right now we've got 2 broken legs, not 2 broken nails. I see the signings and performances so far as a small step in the right direction, nothing more.
Big Ed
28-07-2012, 09:30 PM
Lasley would walk in to our midfield, saw him dominate Ian Black at Tynie last season, none of our midfield came close to that.
Prior to last season, I actually thought he was a dud. I remember watching him in a game against Rangers and thinking that he was hiding: when I saw him at ER last season (we lost 0-1 thanks to their forwards having an off day) he seemed to be everywhere. Not flashy, but extremely effective.
Big Ed
28-07-2012, 09:37 PM
I totally agree and have mentioned this before in another thread. Calderwood's scattergun transfer window spree left us with a load of deadwood that we're still suffering from.
As long as we can see improvement at the end of this coming season then it will be a start. Given the position we're in right now this is really a 2-3 year project and the numpties that are bleating about things on the back of a short pre-season need to lay off the glue/crack/acid. Provided the board don't do their usual pre-AGM sacking and give PF a bit of time then I'm confident we can gradually improve. Right now we've got 2 broken legs, not 2 broken nails. I see the signings and performances so far as a small step in the right direction, nothing more.
I think your broken legs/nails analogy is spot on.
PF is having to manage the situation and I think that the budget restrictions make this extremely difficult. Having players who'll give 100% appears to be his way to make the best out of a bad situation.
28-07-2012, 10:02 PM
I think I'm the only person that thinks we played quite well after they scored their second? Griffiths looked good, Wotherspoon looked better and the rest were alright, but thought we played relatively well.
You're not because I thought that too.
It's typical to read threads like this with comments from folk not even at the game but using things like "Stephens fault" to enhance their view that he's gash and of course share that view with us all.
We were poor today until Leigh's goal and thereafter I thought we were marginally the better side. Sorry that doesn't sit well with those of you who prefer to dwell on the negative at every opportunity. I can see the negatives, they worry me but I prefer to look at things like ....
Williams played well
McPake lived up to his reputation as a leader on the park
Ivan scored a peach which kinda made up for an otherwise poor performance
Spoony looks much better in the advance role and played well
Leigh looks sharp, scored a good goal and managed to avoid making any unwelcome gestures :wink:
Yes there were negatives, too many for my liking but it seems only fair to point out (especially to those fans who didn't go but criticised the team anyway) that it wasn't all bad
28-07-2012, 10:15 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YrfPKgtqTiY&list=UUXKLs14yjDc5s7GJ1txkWxw&index=1&feature=plcp
Mentioned that he was a frustrated when he was beaten by other Scottish teams to a couple of potential signings, but Mr Fenlon also said that he is looking to bring in more players that will show some quality and work rate. :aok:
28-07-2012, 10:20 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YrfPKgtqTiY&list=UUXKLs14yjDc5s7GJ1txkWxw&index=1&feature=plcp
Mentioned that he was a frustrated when he was beaten by other Scottish teams to a couple of potential signings, but Mr Fenlon also said that he is looking to bring in more players that will show some quality and work rate. :aok:
Interesting as ever
28-07-2012, 10:27 PM
It's typical to read threads like this with comments from folk not even at the game but using things like "Stephens fault" to enhance their view that he's gash and of course share that view with us all.
We were poor today until Leigh's goal and thereafter I thought we were marginally the better side. Sorry that doesn't sit well with those of you who prefer to dwell on the negative at every opportunity. I can see the negatives, they worry me but I prefer to look at things like ....
Williams played well
Leigh looks sharp, scored a good goal and managed to avoid making any unwelcome gestures :wink:
Yes there were negatives, too many for my liking but it seems only fair to point out (especially to those fans who didn't go but criticised the team anyway) that it wasn't all bad
:agree: Pretty much sums it up for me too, the only other negative I can think of is the lack of turf at the West side touchline, there was the line and then a step down of about and inch where the turf has been removed right next to the line!
Makaveli
28-07-2012, 10:31 PM
What I'm taking from today, aside from the obvious bonus that we finally have a goalkeeper, is that Claros looked much improved. People will disagree because they've made their minds up about him (as, TBH, I more or less had) but he was committing to more challenges and playing with his head up. Better than Kerr, who wouldn't be a disastrous signing but won't really bring us on IMO. Maybury I could take or leave.
Cairney looks a player. There's something about him that says his heart's in the game - flying (fairly) into tackles and always looking for the ball. Technically encouraging, too. I'm not saying he's on the same level but he seems to have that Shiels-type dynamism we've been so sorely lacking.
Clancy was solid enough, too, so I reckon we've made four good permanent signings. We're crying out for a strong midfielder and could really do with a centre-half if Hanlon is staying out left. I don't think we "need" another striker with Griffiths, Doyle, Sproule who would get a game for most SPL sides and Caldwell hopefully knocking on the door before long. Speaking of Sproule, took his goal well and it's good to see him on the right. He's a starter for me.
Decent showing bar the opening 20 minutes. Frequently good link-up down the left from Hanlon, Stevenson, Doyle into Griffiths. Add some strength in the middle (for Stevenson?) and I think this formation could work. We're not as bad compared to other SPL sides as some on here strangely like to think... top 5 is in no way beyond us, 4th or even 3rd with some luck and another 2/3 good signings. I'm feeling more hopeful than I was this morning, anyway. :agree:
28-07-2012, 11:28 PM
Interesting as ever
While I'm at it, they posted the goals from Pre-season, maybe a bit more interesting eh?
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Seraqbh8RY0&feature=g-all-u
hibeefan95
28-07-2012, 11:47 PM
What I'm taking from today, aside from the obvious bonus that we finally have a goalkeeper, is that Claros looked much improved. People will disagree because they've made their minds up about him (as, TBH, I more or less had) but he was committing to more challenges and playing with his head up. Better than Kerr, who wouldn't be a disastrous signing but won't really bring us on IMO. Maybury I could take or leave.
Cairney looks a player. There's something about him that says his heart's in the game - flying (fairly) into tackles and always looking for the ball. Technically encouraging, too. I'm not saying he's on the same level but he seems to have that Shiels-type dynamism we've been so sorely lacking.
Clancy was solid enough, too, so I reckon we've made four good permanent signings. We're crying out for a strong midfielder and could really do with a centre-half if Hanlon is staying out left. I don't think we "need" another striker with Griffiths, Doyle, Sproule who would get a game for most SPL sides and Caldwell hopefully knocking on the door before long. Speaking of Sproule, took his goal well and it's good to see him on the right. He's a starter for me.
Decent showing bar the opening 20 minutes. Frequently good link-up down the left from Hanlon, Stevenson, Doyle into Griffiths. Add some strength in the middle (for Stevenson?) and I think this formation could work. We're not as bad compared to other SPL sides as some on here strangely like to think... top 5 is in no way beyond us, 4th or even 3rd with some luck and another 2/3 good signings. I'm feeling more hopeful than I was this morning, anyway. :agree:
:agree: :top marksI think we should keep Hanlon at LB. He put in a couple of really dangerous balls in today, albeit there was a poor one too, but I feel that we should keep him there. Oh, and that game made me feel so much more hopeful too. GGTTH.
29-07-2012, 08:16 AM
Williams played well
This, if people can't support their team through the tough times, then they have no right to support them through the good times
29-07-2012, 10:03 AM
Another honest interview with PF, I really like him, and really hope it works out for him, he wants to take Hibs further and onto better things...
29-07-2012, 10:05 AM
While I'm at it, they posted the goals from Pre-season, maybe a bit more interesting eh?
Some cracking Hibs goals in there, my personal favourite is Caldwell's versus Lierse, that was sublime....
GreenOnions
29-07-2012, 10:20 AM
I agree with those whose overall feeling from yesterday was positive.
The first twenty minutes was a real worry but even during that period I saw encouragings signs from our new goalie and from Claros breaking up play very effectively in front of the back four. Our passing was very poor though and the back four were not playing as a unit.
However, although we are far from where we want to be, there were quite a few more good things from the remainder of the game. As others have mentioned - I thought Williams, Clancy, McPake, Claros, Stevenson, Wotherspoon, Griffiths and Caldwell all showed up quite well.
The defence will need to improve greatly on the first twenty minutes' performance, we still need a bit more strength and height in the middle of the park and, much as I rate their work-rate, Doyle and Sproule are not the answer at the moment in the wide areas IMHO.
Let's face it.... Last season was a total and utter disaster and for me an embarrassment.
We were spoilt with the team built by Mowbray which ended in us winning the CIS Cup in 2007.
Since that day, for me anyway, instead of pushing on we have been in decline. Collins (to an extent) Hughes and Calderwood (major players) are all as much to blame for the situation we are in now. Bad acquisitions by these guys have got the club where we are today.
PF is now in the position to bring a bit of pride back to the club, which is no mean feat, and is havin to build the team from the foundations up.
As Hibs fans most of us are very fickle and expect a certain standard of play and players.... This is where we need to stop and take s look at ourselves.
Folk slagging the likes of Kerr and Maybury off saying they are not Hibs Class...other teams in the league and I will use St Johnstone as an example have put together a TEAM of players who would just about walk into our team.
It's not about signing world beaters its about a TEAM and getting the right balance. If Kerr and Maybury bring that and if PF wants them then we should trust him, support his judgement and get behind the TEAM.
I like everyone else in here want a winning Hibs team but expectations of the standard of player we can afford has to be lower. Just because they didn't do well elsewhere doesn't mean they won't do well at another club.
If PF can make us hard to beat and get us playing more like a team then that's a start for me.... I know we want to see our team winning and winning in style but what would you rather have... Us playing good free flowing football and get beaten or be hard to beat, maybe not playing the best football but winning more than losing.
Let's get behind the team and trust PF and not expect miracles right away.
29-07-2012, 11:50 AM
Let's face it.... Last season was a total and utter disaster and for me an embarrassment.
We were spoilt with the team built by Mowbray which ended in us winning the CIS Cup in 2007.
Since that day, for me anyway, instead of pushing on we have been in decline. Collins (to an extent) Hughes and Calderwood (major players) are all as much to blame for the situation we are in now. Bad acquisitions by these guys have got the club where we are today.
PF is now in the position to bring a bit of pride back to the club, which is no mean feat, and is havin to build the team from the foundations up.
As Hibs fans most of us are very fickle and expect a certain standard of play and players.... This is where we need to stop and take s look at ourselves.
Folk slagging the likes of Kerr and Maybury off saying they are not Hibs Class...other teams in the league and I will use St Johnstone as an example have put together a TEAM of players who would just about walk into our team.
It's not about signing world beaters its about a TEAM and getting the right balance. If Kerr and Maybury bring that and if PF wants them then we should trust him, support his judgement and get behind the TEAM.
I like everyone else in here want a winning Hibs team but expectations of the standard of player we can afford has to be lower. Just because they didn't do well elsewhere doesn't mean they won't do well at another club.
If PF can make us hard to beat and get us playing more like a team then that's a start for me.... I know we want to see our team winning and winning in style but what would you rather have... Us playing good free flowing football and get beaten or be hard to beat, maybe not playing the best football but winning more than losing.
:top marks:aok:
29-07-2012, 12:22 PM
It's maybe the drink from last night, but this looks like a sensible post on Hibs.net! Surely not?!
hibs supporter
29-07-2012, 02:45 PM
thought hibs played really well second half hope they keep up that level of performance for the rest of the season
29-07-2012, 03:06 PM
Sorry, wasn't being sarky - PF is always interesting to listen to IMO :thumbsup:
29-07-2012, 04:14 PM
Just noticed Brechin crowd today v rangers is higher than yesterday's crowd v Huddersfield.
hibeefan95
29-07-2012, 08:52 PM
Just noticed Brechin crowd today v rangers is higher than yesterday's crowd v Huddersfield.
What was the attendance in our game, mate?
goosefat
29-07-2012, 09:23 PM
Brechin v Newco in competitive cup game ‘attendance higher than Hibernian friendly’ shocker...
muirhousehibby
29-07-2012, 10:58 PM
What was the attendance in our game, mate?
4059 at easter rd sat!:agree:
hibeefan95
29-07-2012, 11:02 PM
4059 at easter rd sat!:agree:
Thanks for that. That's not too bad. I anticipated a lot, lot less. :wink:
30-07-2012, 08:26 AM
Its good to hear the positives from the game,but if Im being honest I think we will be bottom 6 unless we get our midfield sorted out.