View Full Version : Match Updates Zeeland Select 0 vs 4 Hibs FT

22-07-2012, 11:47 AM
@HibernianFCClub: Hibernian: Antell, Maybury, O'Hanlon, McPake, Kujabi, Booth, Claros, Handling, Cairney, Stanton, Griffiths #hibsontour

22-07-2012, 12:01 PM
Time is KO?.

JHFC
22-07-2012, 12:19 PM
Time is KO?.

It says on website half 2 but I think that us loal time so half 1 here.

JHFC
22-07-2012, 12:42 PM
"@HibernianFCClub: On nine minutes, Griffiths sends his shot wide, but Hibs are totally dominating the match #hibsontour"

22-07-2012, 12:58 PM
Stanton scores on the 24-minute mark, Zeeland Select 0 Hibernian 1 #hibsontour (https://twitter.com/search/%23hibsontour) :thumbsup:

22-07-2012, 12:58 PM
Stanton scores on the 24-minute mark, Zeeland Select 0 Hibernian 1

JHFC
22-07-2012, 01:00 PM
"@HibernianFCClub: McPake went close with a header from a Cairney corner on 26 minutes #hibsontour"

22-07-2012, 01:00 PM
Stanton scores on the 24-minute mark, Zeeland Select 0 Hibernian 1 #hibsontour (https://twitter.com/search/%23hibsontour) :thumbsup:

Brings a lump to the throat.

22-07-2012, 01:01 PM
McPake went close with a header from a Cairney corner on 26 minutes

JHFC
22-07-2012, 01:06 PM
"@HibernianFCClub: Great saving tackle from McPake to deny Zeeland Select a clear shot at goal #hibsontour"

22-07-2012, 01:07 PM
Brings a lump to the throat.

:agree: If he's half as good as Pat, we are in for a treat.

22-07-2012, 01:10 PM
Does anyone know if there is somewhere you can see this game????

PM would be appreciated if you do.

22-07-2012, 01:11 PM
Hibernian FC ‏@HibernianFCClub (https://twitter.com/HibernianFCClub) Handling makes it two on 37 minutes, Zeeland Select 0 Hibernian 2 #toohottohandle (https://twitter.com/search/%23toohottohandle) #hibsontour (https://twitter.com/search/%23hibsontour)

22-07-2012, 01:12 PM
2-0, Handling

22-07-2012, 01:13 PM

Hibernian FC ‏@HibernianFCClub (https://twitter.com/HibernianFCClub) Handling makes it two on 37 minutes, Zeeland Select 0 Hibernian 2 #toohottohandle (https://twitter.com/search/%23toohottohandle) #hibsontour (https://twitter.com/search/%23hibsontour):thumbsup::thumbsup:

JHFC
22-07-2012, 01:14 PM
are Zeeland Select any good?

JHFC
22-07-2012, 01:18 PM
"@HibernianFCClub: Cairney goal disallowed for offside on 44 minutes #hibsontour"

hibs 2 - 0 zeeland select.. ehh.. naw.

I heard that they beat Barcelona 10-0 in a friendly and that their goalkeeper makes Messi seem like an average outfielder. Then again when Hibs are doing well my mind seems to play tricks, I'm sure this must be true though. :greengrin

22-07-2012, 01:21 PM

According to the official site in the past couple of seasons they drew with Feyenoord in a friendly, so can't be too pants

22-07-2012, 01:24 PM

Anyone know which clubs the players come from?

22-07-2012, 01:30 PM
Anyone know who's at left-back and who's at left-mid out of booth and kujabi?

22-07-2012, 01:32 PM
Anyone know who's at left-back and who's at left-mid out of booth and kujabi?

Booth, holding midfield according to Twitter.
Stanton left mid.

22-07-2012, 01:35 PM
good to see 2 young lads scoring and hopefully making an impression. :thumbsup:

22-07-2012, 01:38 PM
Hopefully booth can reestablish himself and handling Caldwell and Stanton can get themselves good game time. Could be the silver lining on the budget cut cloud.

22-07-2012, 01:39 PM
Hibernian FC ‏@HibernianFCClub (https://twitter.com/HibernianFCClub) Great finish from Danny Handling to make it three, Zeeland Select 0 Hibernian 3 #hibsontour (https://twitter.com/search/%23hibsontour)

22-07-2012, 01:40 PM
According to the official site in the past couple of seasons they drew with Feyenoord in a friendly, so can't be too pants

Their team is made up of pro's and amateurs though.

Good to see the young lads taking their chance to impress Fenlon though :aok:

22-07-2012, 01:42 PM
Great finish from Danny Handling to make it three, Zeeland Select 0 Hibernian 3

22-07-2012, 01:45 PM
what minute was it when it went 3-0

...WentToMowAnSPL
22-07-2012, 01:45 PM
Great stuff !

22-07-2012, 01:46 PM
Their team is made up of pro's and amateurs though.

Good to see the young lads taking their chance to impress Fenlon though :aok:

Should still be too good for us then:greengrin

22-07-2012, 01:46 PM
Hibernian FC ‏@HibernianFCClub (https://twitter.com/HibernianFCClub) Great finish from Danny Handling to make it three, Zeeland Select 0 Hibernian 3 #hibsontour (https://twitter.com/search/%23hibsontour)'mon the young team :flag:

22-07-2012, 01:48 PM
'mon the young team :flag:

:wtf: :greengrin

22-07-2012, 01:49 PM
:wtf: :greengrinBe quiet MB :wink:

JHFC
22-07-2012, 01:50 PM
what minute was it when it went 3-0

roughly 55 min

22-07-2012, 01:53 PM
If we can manage a similar scoreline on Tuesday night, then I'll grant permission for the players to hit a few of the bars here (https://maps.google.co.uk/maps?hl=en&safe=off&q=georgstr.+berlin&ie=UTF-8).

Leishy1995
22-07-2012, 01:56 PM
Handling scoring two of the bench. Brilliant for him. And do hibs have a new Stanton to cheer?

ozzie
22-07-2012, 01:59 PM
I thought handling started?

22-07-2012, 02:00 PM
Andy, any subs getting on?

22-07-2012, 02:01 PM
Any subs getting on?Dinnae ken, few changes in the board room though :greengrin

22-07-2012, 02:02 PM

Can't be, he would have said by now :)

Twitter saying Caldwell for Griffiths, Stephens for Maybury.

Bobo

Stephens for Maybury, Caldwell for Griffiths and Doyle for Stanton so far.

Leishy1995
I thought handling started?

Twitter feed said 'handling on for Caldwell' just noticed it was in reference to the previous game.
And Maybury and Griffiths off for Stephens and Caldwell.

22-07-2012, 02:03 PM
Can't be, he would have said by now :)

Maybe he's waiting for someone to say it for him :greengrin

22-07-2012, 02:03 PM
Bring on the Jambos! :duck::flag:

22-07-2012, 02:04 PM
Doyle for Stanton.

Leishy1995
22-07-2012, 02:05 PM
Doyle on for Stanton.

ozzie
22-07-2012, 02:05 PM
How long to go?

22-07-2012, 02:06 PM
SUB: Doyle on for Stanton

22-07-2012, 02:06 PM
We may have to merge this one with the other match update thread :cb

22-07-2012, 02:07 PM
4-0, Caldwell

Bobo
4-0 Caldwell.

Hibernian FC ‏@HibernianFCClub (https://twitter.com/HibernianFCClub) Caldwell makes it 4-0, teed up by Handling #hibsontour (https://twitter.com/search/%23hibsontour)

22-07-2012, 02:08 PM
4-0, Caldwell:flag:

4-0. Caldwell.

Caldwell makes it 4-0, teed up by Handling #hibsontour

22-07-2012, 02:10 PM
All youngsters who have scored, seems like a worthwhile outing for them and the team, looking forward to seeing them against Huddersfield and then the next 40 or so games after that

22-07-2012, 02:12 PM
how long to go?????

22-07-2012, 02:13 PM
I still think we should play the youngsters when the season starts, we've always been better when we play youngsters (Eg: Fletcher, Scott brown etc)

Trying to buy results doesn't seem to work for us.

Bobo
22-07-2012, 02:14 PM
how long to go?????

about 3 minutes.

22-07-2012, 02:16 PM
how long to go?????

I'm lost, what thread is this?

22-07-2012, 02:17 PM
Doesn't matter too much about the quality of the opposition imo.

4 goal win with youngsters scoring the goals and getting a run out is always positive.

Well done to the young lads. Let's hope we see plenty of them next season.

Leishy1995
22-07-2012, 02:20 PM
Handling seems like a brilliant wee player.

Hibernian FC ‏@HibernianFCClub (https://twitter.com/HibernianFCClub) FULL TIME: Zeeland Select 0 Hibernian 4 #sunshineonzeeland (https://twitter.com/search/%23sunshineonzeeland)

Expand (https://twitter.com/HibernianFCClub/status/227045530801426432)

Reply (https://twitter.com/HibernianFCClub#)
Retweet (https://twitter.com/HibernianFCClub#)
Favorite (https://twitter.com/HibernianFCClub#) (https://twitter.com/HibernianFCClub#)

FULL TIME: Zeeland Select 0 Hibernian 4

22-07-2012, 02:26 PM
I still think we should play the youngsters when the season starts, we've always been better when we play youngsters (Eg: Fletcher, Scott brown etc)

Trying to buy results doesn't seem to work for us.

I was just about to post something similar. When money was tight the last time and the Stand Up and Be Counted campaign came around we had the likes of O'Connor, Riordan and Thomson coming into the squad and this was further supplemented by the likes of Brown, Whittaker and Fletcher and we had a cracking team, one which as it stands would be good enough to see us comfortably finish second in the league, and run Celtic close, if they were all fit.

Now that money is tight again I think these younger players should be given a run out more often and a 4-0 win, even against a mixture of pros and amateurs is great experience for them. Hopefully the likes of Stanton, Handling and Caldwell remain a fixture in the team for years to come, and when the time does come where they are too good for the SPL and move down south for a good fee I think we'll all be happy. We need to rely on our youth, with a good defence sorted out these guys can really go on and prosper.

22-07-2012, 02:31 PM
well done Hibs, :thumbsup: this wont have done the kids any harm at all. :top marks

22-07-2012, 02:42 PM
I think we are going to see more if them in the coming season. Well done to them.

22-07-2012, 02:51 PM
Griffiths squad number?

hibsboy90
22-07-2012, 03:09 PM
Griffiths squad number?
Team just wore 1-11

22-07-2012, 03:14 PM
4-0 all youngsters on the score sheet is promising

JHFC
22-07-2012, 03:23 PM
Also a clean sheet for Antell

inglisavhibs
22-07-2012, 03:52 PM
I was just about to post something similar. When money was tight the last time and the Stand Up and Be Counted campaign came around we had the likes of O'Connor, Riordan and Thomson coming into the squad and this was further supplemented by the likes of Brown, Whittaker and Fletcher and we had a cracking team, one which as it stands would be good enough to see us comfortably finish second in the league, and run Celtic close, if they were all fit.

Now that money is tight again I think these younger players should be given a run out more often and a 4-0 win, even against a mixture of pros and amateurs is great experience for them. Hopefully the likes of Stanton, Handling and Caldwell remain a fixture in the team for years to come, and when the time does come where they are too good for the SPL and move down south for a good fee I think we'll all be happy. We need to rely on our youth, with a good defence sorted out these guys can really go on and prosper.
Most of us would agree having seen us too many times buy journeymen and find them no better than what we had. However we do need a couple of midfield men with some legs for the competitive nature of the SPL. Let's hope the young guys can contribute over the coming season.

22-07-2012, 04:03 PM
:thumbsup: another positive

22-07-2012, 04:09 PM
just noticed falkirk v middlesbrough is on BBC Alba just now, 3-3 after 47 mins

make that 4-3 boro

make that 5-3 boro

and 6-3

22-07-2012, 04:35 PM
The youngsters will be a big part of the squad (the manager made that much clear in response to direct question a couple of weeks ago)

Giving the financial situation is worse than when that answer was given there will now also be another imperative to it. Confidence and team togetherness are a major part - Caldwell and Handling have both confidence and an understanding - no surprise that they combined and scored.

Personally as long as the support would cut some slack at home with youngsters on a steep learning curve - I would rather watch talented hungry (if a bit raw) youngsters who want to play for the club and each other than some of the journeymen with no desire we have suffered in recent seasons.

My best recent Hibs season was watching double winning u19's - when watching the first team became just too much of a chore.....

22-07-2012, 04:52 PM

He didn't have one thing to do. Great day. Roasting. Lots of beer on tap and a tiny little ground with a quality social club.

22-07-2012, 05:40 PM
Very positive all round. Regardless of the oppo I'm sure they were better than the 3 young scorers have been used to playing. Will do their ( & team ) confidence the world of good!!
PS, Handling's young bro may be even better!!

22-07-2012, 06:01 PM
Back to basics time, journeymen have not produced the goods, as stated above, hopefully the youngsters will be given a bit of slack by the fans.

22-07-2012, 08:15 PM
It seems obvious that any player should give 100% all the time but there's no doubt that having a good number of youngsters trying to make their careers is always good for the club.It would be nice if we were to give them some support instead of screaming abuse at the first mistake or posting on here that "he's p**h,a wage thief or not fit to wear the jersey".

22-07-2012, 08:25 PM
It seems obvious that any player should give 100% all the time but there's no doubt that having a good number of youngsters trying to make their careers is always good for the club.It would be nice if we were to give them some support instead of screaming abuse at the first mistake or posting on here that "he's p**h,a wage thief or not fit to wear the jersey".

Well said. It's not that long ago Hibs fans were known for encouraging youngsters starting out in the game. Time to return to those days I reckon.

22-07-2012, 08:43 PM
Stanton scores on the 24-minute mark

Canny help it, makes me swoon! :flag: :love ya!:

22-07-2012, 08:50 PM
Well said. It's not that long ago Hibs fans were known for encouraging youngsters starting out in the game. Time to return to those days I reckon.

:agree: too many :trumpet: s who can't wait to spout pish about every other player being pish!

22-07-2012, 10:10 PM
Anyoe know anything about the hot physio bird? :wink:

22-07-2012, 10:34 PM
Anyoe know anything about the hot physio bird? :wink:

Was wondering that last game :agree:

Also any update on a potential mullet from Fenlon? Seemed like he was heading that way, possibly challenging McCall?

23-07-2012, 05:28 AM
Youngsters? Bloody youngsters. Yon Stanton gadgie must be about 80 by now. As for Handling if he is not at least 130 and chasing Methusela then he cannae be far off it. Never liked Caldwell much but if we are relying on has beens like him then we are really screwed.

23-07-2012, 06:28 AM
Youngsters? Bloody youngsters. Yon Stanton gadgie must be about 80 by now. As for Handling if he is not at least 130 and chasing Methusela then he cannae be far off it. Never liked Caldwell much but if we are relying on has beens like him then we are really screwed.

Oh dearie dearie me.

I was wondering who'd post this ... :rolleyes:

23-07-2012, 06:51 AM
Oh dearie dearie me.

I was wondering who'd post this ... :rolleyes:

:greengrin My duty.

23-07-2012, 06:53 AM
Was wondering that last game :agree:

Also any update on a potential mullet from Fenlon? Seemed like he was heading that way, possibly challenging McCall?

Fenlon certainly has a bit of long hair at the back going on.

Anyway, the female physio...details people!

23-07-2012, 07:51 AM
Was a bit surreal being at the match, imagine a public park with a 4ft fence around it. In the second half I was almost in amongst the players on the sideline. Took a step back once Leigh came off and proceeded to put an ice pack to his bare arse:boo hoo::greengrin.

First twenty minutes didn't look promising, team didn't settle with big hoofs up the park. Zeeland looked up for it, but once we got the first goal we started to put some nice passes together and I was really impressed by all the young players playing. Antell in goals was shouting the orders for the full 90 minutes so it was good to see him command his defence. Good finishes for the goals.

Unfortunately after taking advantage of the 1.50 Euro bar at half time my memories of the 2nd half are not the best, I was surprised to see it was 4-0 as I thought it was 5:greengrin

LeighLoyal
23-07-2012, 08:25 AM
I'm starting to think Handling and Caldwell should be starters. Maybe Stanton also. :aok:

23-07-2012, 08:31 AM
:greengrin My duty.

Well, you ARE after all the only one left who actually saw The Original Mr Handling play ..... :devil:

23-07-2012, 09:18 AM
Well, you ARE after all the only one left who actually saw The Original Mr Handling play ..... :devil:

I seem to remember standing there with you and Johhny. Think you gave me a lift over.:greengrin

23-07-2012, 09:21 AM
I seem to remember standing there with you and Johhny. Think you gave me a lift over.:greengrin

So I did.

Slipped a disc and my back's never been the same since. Hope you've lost a bit of weight since then. :rolleyes:

23-07-2012, 09:30 AM
Fenlon certainly has a bit of long hair at the back going on.

Anyway, the female physio...details people!

Yup, I got a picture of him and his family at Dublin airport and it looks to me like the lot of them enjoy a bit of mulleto action.

The Fenlon's at Dublin airport (http://www.flickr.com/photos/jessicanicole/986785/)

23-07-2012, 09:35 AM
So I did.

Slipped a disc and my back's never been the same since. Hope you've lost a bit of weight since then. :rolleyes:

Actually, arrived back in Lagos on Tuesday night. Meet and Greet says, "Mr Gordon Sir you are looking very well fed." Think she meant I had not lost any weight :greengrin

23-07-2012, 10:01 AM
Liking the look of using the bottle green shorts aswell :agree:

23-07-2012, 04:42 PM
Took a step back once Leigh came off and proceeded to put an ice pack to his bare arse:boo hoo::greengrin
Unfortunately after taking advantage of the 1.50 Euro bar at half time my memories of the 2nd half are not the best, I was surprised to see it was 4-0 as I thought it was 5:greengrin

Being bevvied isn't any excuse for behaving like that towards our players mate, it's a wonder you weren't lifted :wink::greengrin

23-07-2012, 04:45 PM
Actually, arrived back in Lagos on Tuesday night. Meet and Greet says, "Mr Gordon Sir you are looking very well fed." Think she meant I had not lost any weight :greengrin

Sounds more to me, Mr Gordon Sir, as if she thought you had put some ON. :greengrin