In Lierse

Li - erse :wink::greengrin

18-07-2012, 04:25 PM
What time is kick off?

In Lierse

Now now.... they were only asking a question, no need to be rude about it. :wink:

Macaroon
In Lierse

Touché

18-07-2012, 04:26 PM
What time is kick off?

I think it's 7pm there and therefore 6pm here. I wasn't confident enough to put it in the title though :greengrin

Macaroon
18-07-2012, 04:26 PM
what time is kick off?

7pm

TamHibs
18-07-2012, 04:31 PM
Touché

;)

At The Edge
18-07-2012, 04:47 PM
Team for tonight

Team: Williams, Clancy, McPake, Stephens, Hanlon, Stevenson, Claros, Cairney, W'spoon, Sproule, Caldwell

subs
Maybury, Kujabi, O'Hanlon, Handling, Booth, Antell, Stanton, Doyle

18-07-2012, 04:47 PM
SUBS: Maybury, Kujabi, O'Hanlon, Handling, Booth, Antell, Stanton, Doyle ‪#hibsontour‬ (https://twitter.com/search/%23hibsontour) ‪#wearehibernianfc‬ (https://twitter.com/search/%23wearehibernianfc)

(https://twitter.com/HibernianFCClub/status/225632450104139776)

18-07-2012, 04:53 PM
Team for tonight

Team: Williams, Clancy, McPake, Stephens, Hanlon, Stevenson, Claros, Cairney, W'spoon, Sproule, Caldwell

subs
Maybury, Kujabi, O'Hanlon, Handling, Booth, Antell, Stanton, Doyle

Goes to show what a threadbare uninspiring squad of players we currently have, bit depressing. Just hope whatever quality we bring in has been hammering their own preseason so they can hit the ground running.

We seem to have lots of defensive players and pretty much no attacking players (of note anyway)

Macaroon
18-07-2012, 04:53 PM
So it looks like a 42211:

Williams

Clancy - McPake - Stephens - Hanlon

Stevenson - Claros

Sproule - - - - - - - - - - Cairney

Wotherspoon

Caldwell

18-07-2012, 04:58 PM
If we start with that midfield in our first game of the season :rolleyes:

18-07-2012, 05:01 PM
The action is underway according to Twitter.

18-07-2012, 05:02 PM
If we start with that midfield in our first game of the season :rolleyes:

Just as well this is a meaningless friendly then, eh?

18-07-2012, 05:02 PM
Are Lierse in the Belgian top tier?.

18-07-2012, 05:10 PM
Sproule hit the post on 8 minutes.

Sproule hits post!

JHFC
Sproule hits post 8 minutes gone. From hibs twitter.

18-07-2012, 05:27 PM
That's a nice gritter lorry that just drove past...

Macaroon
18-07-2012, 05:35 PM

18-07-2012, 05:36 PM
Hibernian FC ‏@HibernianFCClub (https://twitter.com/HibernianFCClub) GOAL: Ross Caldwell scores a fine goal on 35 minutes, Lierse SK 0 Hibernian 1 ‪#hibsontour (https://twitter.com/search/%23hibsontour) :thumbsup:

Ross Caldwell 1-0 Hibs!.

Macaroon
1-0 Hibs! Caldwell on 35 mins

18-07-2012, 05:37 PM
0-1 Caldwell.

CaldwelL 1-0

The teenage striker chipped the ball into the net; an eye-catching effort

18-07-2012, 05:39 PM

? Not on Hibstv is it?

hibbybrian
18-07-2012, 05:44 PM
? Not on Hibstv is it?

Highlights tomorrow :wink:

18-07-2012, 05:49 PM
? Not on Hibstv is it?

:rolleyes: Match thread update folk ken whats goin oan.

18-07-2012, 05:52 PM
? Not on Hibstv is it?

:rolleyes: Match thread update folk ken whats goin oan.

Comment from Meh was a bit random unless he's at the game, watching by some other means or just erm Random ;)

18-07-2012, 05:53 PM
Highlights tomorrow :wink:

Merci!

18-07-2012, 05:54 PM
Comment from Meh was a bit random unless he's at the game, watching by some other means or just erm Random ;)

Was talking about the Inverness game last season, there was no action and no updates so we all noticed a stunning gritter lorry driving past.

At The Edge
18-07-2012, 06:00 PM
SUBS: Doyle for Claros, Kujabi for Stephens for 2nd half

18-07-2012, 06:00 PM
Was talking about the Inverness game last season, there was no action and no updates so we all noticed a stunning gritter lorry driving past.

I see said the blind man picked up his hammer and saw :)

Macaroon
18-07-2012, 06:11 PM
Damn

1-1

JHFC
18-07-2012, 06:12 PM
1-1

biffo1875
Damn

1-1

Hibernian FC ‏@HibernianFCClub (https://twitter.com/HibernianFCClub) Lierse have equalised on 56 minutes, Lierse SK 1 Hibernian 1

18-07-2012, 06:13 PM
See Scott Smith not in squad

Is he injured or does anybody know what the script is

Macaroon
18-07-2012, 06:13 PM
Maybury on for McPake? :confused:

biffo1875
18-07-2012, 06:14 PM
sub for us not sure who yet

18-07-2012, 06:18 PM

You seem to be taking the outcome of this quite seriously?

18-07-2012, 06:19 PM
Pretty tame either way. We're in the clubhouse on the ale with a couple of Lierse fans.

At The Edge
18-07-2012, 06:21 PM
Booth on for Sproule

hibbybrian
18-07-2012, 06:22 PM

Maybe Pat wants to see Clancy & Hanlon in the centre with Maybury and Kujabi at full back

At The Edge
18-07-2012, 06:23 PM
Hopefully Booth is getting a run out at LM tonight

edwards
18-07-2012, 06:29 PM
Cmon Doyle time to get yerself a goal son in the back of the news statin you can fill O'Connors boots time to prove it.

At The Edge
18-07-2012, 06:32 PM
Stanton on for Cairney

At The Edge
18-07-2012, 06:38 PM
Handling on for Caldwell

18-07-2012, 06:49 PM
Hibernian FC ‏@HibernianFCClub (https://twitter.com/HibernianFCClub) FULL TIME: Lierse SK 1 Hibernian 1, encouraging performance overall

18-07-2012, 06:52 PM
Hibernian FC ‏@HibernianFCClub (https://twitter.com/HibernianFCClub) FULL TIME: Lierse SK 1 Hibernian 1, encouraging performance overall

Better be a lot more encouraging when I get there on Saturday!

Undefeated pre season so far I suppose. IIRC under Mixu (God bless him) we were already in crisis at this stage......:flag:

18-07-2012, 06:57 PM
1:1 against a team that finished 12 in their league (technically lower than us)?

Fenlon must go :grr:

18-07-2012, 07:05 PM
1:1 against a team that finished 12 in their league (technically lower than us)?

I agree, Mcpake is clearly not good enough in defence. :agree:

Cammy
18-07-2012, 08:16 PM
See Scott Smith not in squad

Is he injured or does anybody know what the script is

I was told that he was out of favour with Fenlon and was left in Edinburgh to train on his own. A real shame if true.

18-07-2012, 08:22 PM
I was told that he was out of favour with Fenlon and was left in Edinburgh to train on his own. A real shame if true.

Cheers for info.

Hope not as the lad has a lot of talent

BarneyK
18-07-2012, 08:22 PM

Did he not just get a new contract?

18-07-2012, 08:23 PM

Sure. Having just been given a new contract.

Did he not just get a new contract?

Yep a further year

I think it's more a case of his fitness not where it should be.

Cammy
18-07-2012, 08:27 PM
Sure. Having just been given a new contract.

Just passing on the info, apparently came back to training a couple of lbs over his weight and Fenlon didn't take it too well.

18-07-2012, 08:30 PM
I see Leuven beat the Belgian Cup Holders tonight.

Cammy
18-07-2012, 08:30 PM
I think it's more a case of his fitness not where it should be.

I agree, it is all about his fitness.

18-07-2012, 08:31 PM
Just passing on the info, apparently came back to training a couple of lbs over his weight and Fenlon didn't take it too well.

If true, then I'm happy with that. Fenlon acting like the manager we need. Wonder what Calderclown made of GOC last pre-season?!

Crazyhorse
18-07-2012, 08:34 PM
Are Lierse in the Belgian top tier?..

They are. Pretty decent team in Belgian football won the league a few times last time was at the end of the 90's I think and so must have played in the Champions League then.

18-07-2012, 08:37 PM

If that is the case then good on Paddy!

Hopefully he'll learn the hard way.

Erse if true cos the LB spot is there for the taking

18-07-2012, 08:45 PM

I am disappointed with Scott Smith over this.

He gets a 1 year deal so to me its a make or break season with us.

To come back overweight under such circumstances is a terribly poor start.

Hopefully PF is being cruel to be kind.

Our young starlets really need to get their heads around the fact that they have to work hard to be professional football players.

18-07-2012, 08:55 PM
Stanton on for Cairney

God that sounds right. How fantastic.

18-07-2012, 08:56 PM

Our young starlets really need to get their heads around the fact that they have to work hard to be professional football players.

Well said hopefully instil some much needed discipline

goosefat
18-07-2012, 08:59 PM

...imagine how they must feel :wink:.

18-07-2012, 09:15 PM
Better be a lot more encouraging when I get there on Saturday!

Undefeated pre season so far I suppose. IIRC under Mixu (God bless him) we were already in crisis at this stage......:flag:

Mainly because we didn't score a single goal in any of our pre season matches and were playing **** :greengrin

18-07-2012, 09:16 PM
I see Leuven beat the Belgian Cup Holders tonight.

And Falkirk beat Hearts - joy :greengrin

18-07-2012, 09:17 PM
Scott Smith has not done himself any favours if this is true. He should be be with the first team squad fighting for the left back spot instead he's back home training with probably the U17's.
Even if he did get his fitness levels up there's no way he's getting anywhere near the first team before the start of the season.

He's either going to have to excel in training and bounce games when the first team return or i can see him getting punted out on loan come the end of August.

18-07-2012, 09:18 PM

The laddie has what it takes ability wise so needs to get his head screwed on and fast

18-07-2012, 09:20 PM
Mainly because we didn't score a single goal in any of our pre season matches and were playing **** :greengrin

I remember a Scotsman article seriously suggesting that Mixu could get the sack because the pre-season results were that bad.

I think this was after a 3-0 gubbing off Clyde. I think Hibs eventually scored in the last pre-season game, but were beaten 3-2 after leading 2-0 (Middlesbrough?).

18-07-2012, 09:23 PM
Anyone who was at the game fancy doing some player ratings?

18-07-2012, 09:56 PM
Not a bad scoreline and a useful run-out for the squad, apparenntly.

BTW - Lierse have one result in their record-books that brought deep joy to football fans up and down the country when I were a lad.

In September 1971 they lost 2-0 at home to Leeds United in the UEFA/Fairs' Cup. A fortnight later they went to Elland road for the return with no one in the country giving them the faintest chance of even keeping things respectable.

They won 4-0 and put Leeds out 4-2 on aggregate. :thumbsup:

18-07-2012, 10:00 PM
Not a bad scoreline and a useful run-out for the squad, apparenntly.

BTW - Lierse have one result in their record-books that brought deep joy to football fans up and down the country when I were a lad.

In September 1971 they lost 2-0 at home to Leeds United in the UEFA/Fairs' Cup. A fortnight later they went to Elland road for the return with no one in the country giving them the faintest chance of even keeping things respectable.

They won 4-0 and put Leeds out 4-2 on aggregate. :thumbsup:

Thanks for this Doddie. I'd forgotten about it and so reading your post has fair cheered me up :greengrin

18-07-2012, 10:06 PM
Match report

http://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/spl/lierse-sk-1-1-hibernian-alan-maybury-in-the-fold-as-hibs-draw-with-lierse-1-2419409

Wish they'd chosen a different pic though

18-07-2012, 10:07 PM
Thanks for this Doddie. I'd forgotten about it and so reading your post has fair cheered me up :greengrin

It was almost as big a shock as the night Ajax (then almost unknown outside the Netherlands) put 5 past Liverpool, John.

But then Liverpool and Bill Shankly were never as cordially and universally despised as were Dirty Leeds United and creepy Don Revie.

18-07-2012, 10:08 PM
It was almost as big a shock as the night Ajax (then almost unknown outside the Netherlands) put 5 past Liverpool, John.

But then Liverpool and Bill Shankly were never as cordially and universally despised as were Dirty Leeds United and creepy Don Revie.

18-07-2012, 10:42 PM
God that sounds right. How fantastic.

18-07-2012, 11:14 PM

Cannot say I held much of a candle for that Liverpool side either, with their blether of a manager and Heighway, Toshack, Keegan, Callaghan and the like turning us over.
Leeds had the backbone of a very popular Scottish international side behind them when they edged us.
Grew to hate them very quickly mind and have contributed to published print elsewhere explaining why I was cut to the core. Very much a defining point in this Hibernian soul.

18-07-2012, 11:21 PM
Match report

http://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/spl/lierse-sk-1-1-hibernian-alan-maybury-in-the-fold-as-hibs-draw-with-lierse-1-2419409

Wish they'd chosen a different pic though

They could have found a photo of him in a Leeds United shirt ... :greengrin

It looks from the report as if they all went walkabout waiting for him to be allowed on as sub. Tsk, tsk!

Played for the Yams, played for Potter at Leicester, played for Leeds Utd - that's an awfy lot of accumulated bad "karma" (so to speak) he's going to have to work off if he signs.

18-07-2012, 11:23 PM
Cannot say I held much of a candle for that Liverpool side either, with their blether of a manager and Heighway, Toshack, Keegan, Callaghan and the like turning us over.
Leeds had the backbone of a very popular Scottish international side behind them when they edged us.
Grew to hate them very quickly mind and have contributed to published print elsewhere explaining why I was cut to the core. Very much a defining point in this Hibernian soul.

This is true. However, I could actually watch and listen to Shankly without feeling my entire skin crawling.

Revie reminded me of nothing so much as an unctuously necrophiliac undertaker.

Gala Foxes
19-07-2012, 04:50 AM
They could have found a photo of him in a Leeds United shirt ... :greengrin

It looks from the report as if they all went walkabout waiting for him to be allowed on as sub. Tsk, tsk!

Played for the Yams, played for Potter at Leicester, played for Leeds Utd - that's an awfy lot of accumulated bad "karma" (so to speak) he's going to have to work off if he signs.

I would totally forget the "past" if he signs, we have not had a quality full back since Murphy and whenever I have seen Maybury, for Hearts, Foxes and St Johnstone he has always looked confident, safe and solid.

We have had too many converted full backs and headless chickens

Hopefully Maybury might give us stability, consistency and experience

19-07-2012, 06:45 AM
Could be Caldwell's year to shine ... lets hope so.

19-07-2012, 07:41 AM
I see big things for Caldwell if he keeps his head down, looks a player :agree:

19-07-2012, 08:25 AM

Good on Fenlon. If a young player trying to make it doesn't have the desire and work-ethic to do the basics like keep his weight under control, he doesn't deserve to make it. Time for Mr Smith to buck the **** up.

19-07-2012, 08:34 AM
Good on Fenlon. If a young player trying to make it doesn't have the desire and work-ethic to do the basics like keep his weight under control, he doesn't deserve to make it. Time for Mr Smith to buck the **** up.

Not encouraging news about Smith, but encouraging the way that Fenlon has dealt with it.

19-07-2012, 09:45 AM
I would totally forget the "past" if he signs, we have not had a quality full back since Murphy and whenever I have seen Maybury, for Hearts, Foxes and St Johnstone he has always looked confident, safe and solid.

I totally agree.

I was speaking to someone who knows him well and from what she said he's a solid character and a decent guy with a lot of experience and savvy - couldn't we have done with a few more of those last season! - and has looked after himself so his age shouldn't be such a big deal. After all, he's younger than Pirlo and Pujol, and they do OK. And no, I'm not saying he's as good as them - just that there's no reason he can't do whatever job Pat asks him to do.

We need a few guys whose brains aren't all in their boots and who don't appear week-by-week in the papers being charged/remanded/bound over/found guilty/sentenced IMO. Alan should fit that bill.

It was late and I was sort of thinking aloud, and since I heartily loathe Hearts, Potter and DLU (nothing against Leicester, though) I'd guess that if I can welcome the guy, anyone should.

19-07-2012, 09:54 AM

Not encouraging news about Smith, but encouraging the way that Fenlon has dealt with it.

Given the way Calderwood carried on it's not surprising he didn't take close-season instructions seriously.

Hopefully he'll realise that PF's a different sort of boss, and revise his behaviour accordingly.

Discipline hasn't been a familiar concept around ER lately, IMO.

19-07-2012, 10:38 AM
Highlights are up on Hibs tv, cracking finish from Caldwell.

19-07-2012, 08:12 PM
Highlights are up on Hibs tv, cracking finish from Caldwell.
Yeah good finish. Looks like we should have been beat, Stephens looked hopeless

19-07-2012, 08:20 PM
Yeah good finish. Looks like we should have been beat, Stephens looked hopeless

It's official Stephens is the new boo boy for the coming season!

19-07-2012, 08:24 PM
It's official Stephens is the new boo boy for the coming season!

I bet Lewis will be chuffed about that :greengrin

bandylegs_jLeighton
19-07-2012, 08:34 PM
Not seen this posted elsewhere:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=06bY2gUjjdw

19-07-2012, 08:36 PM

I read that he is desperately keen to sign for us but that money is a problem. I can't believe we are offering less than he was getting at St Johnstone so what's his problem?

19-07-2012, 08:38 PM
Lovely wee chip there...

19-07-2012, 08:40 PM
Great goal from Caldwell

Poor defending by McPake for the equaliser

19-07-2012, 08:43 PM
If the highlights were anything to go by, it kinda looked like they should have beaten us by a few goals.

19-07-2012, 08:50 PM
The video stopped after 3 mins. But in the bit we saw I think we only had two attacks. They looked a far better team so I suppose a draw is a good result. Pre-season I know, but little evidence of good football. Better get at least a couple of decent signings, Pat.

Ferryhibby
19-07-2012, 08:52 PM
I know its only our second game and the highlights were pretty biased...surely we did more than hit the post and two other shots on target....they looked a lot fitter and seemed to burst through at ease...maybe am just over racting though...great finish for the goal too.

MG1965
19-07-2012, 08:53 PM
Thought our keeper had a good presence in the box.Good chipfor our goal but keeper didn't jump much. all in all a good draw for us.

hibs4life
19-07-2012, 08:57 PM
Let's not read too much into this as these games aren't much more than public training sessions. However...looks like there may be some defensive coaching 'opportunities' arising from the game...

19-07-2012, 08:58 PM
Great goal from Caldwell

Poor defending by McPake for the equaliser

:agree: Although it was a good tackle at 1:16 on the video!

19-07-2012, 08:59 PM

Indeed :agree:

19-07-2012, 09:04 PM
Kit looks class!

19-07-2012, 09:08 PM

It was but he was caught ball watching and had no idea where his man was so IMO he shouldnt have had to make that block.

Incidently, that wee black guy for them looked a decent wee player, reminds me of hasslebank, players like this we should be trying to sign and develop and giving them a platform to do it. (Mind thats saying this on the basis of seeing him in a 5 min youtube clip :greengrin)

19-07-2012, 09:12 PM
(Mind thats saying this on the basis of seeing him in a 5 min youtube clip :greengrin)

To be honest, I could make a 5 minute youtube video of Ross Chisolm and make him look good :greengrin

19-07-2012, 09:13 PM
To be honest, I could make a 5 minute youtube video of Ross Chisolm and make him look good :greengrin

Now that I'd like to see (pointing finger smilie) :greengrin

19-07-2012, 09:19 PM
I see we have learned from last seasons dreadful defending :rolleyes:

Far too many gaps at the back once again, I don't know how many games Lierse have under their belts but we defended poorly I thought.

Sorry to be negative but I'm looking for a vast improvement on last seasons debacle.

19-07-2012, 09:24 PM
Just back from the game, and the highlights are very heavily edited in their favour. The first half we were in control, and looked the better side. We had a lot of the ball, but it was played at a slow pace.

The 2nd half we changed the team around all over the park, and it did show in the amount of chances we conceded.

The back 4 of clancy mcpake stevens and hanlon looked much better than what we changed to in the 2nd half.

We are still a few players short, especially up front and in midfield. We need another 2 players at least in the middle, if stevenson and claros are in this midfield, we will struggle to break teams down, and we urgently need a decent centre forward who can hold the ball up and chip in with his share of goals.

19-07-2012, 09:31 PM
Now that I'd like to see (pointing finger smilie) :greengrin
Give me a few days and I'll see what I can do :wink:

19-07-2012, 09:48 PM
What ive also taken from that 5min clip is Hanlon looked pish poor again as did Booth getting skinned inside out and Kujabi was just guff :greengrin

Canny believe it took me as long as a 5min clip :wink:

Steven_Hibs
19-07-2012, 10:09 PM
Hanlon was absolutely rank, look at his positioning for each Lierske attack :rolleyes: I'd play Booth at left back, and bin Hanlon

Steven_Hibs
19-07-2012, 10:11 PM
What ive also taken from that 5min clip is Hanlon looked pish poor again as did Booth getting skinned inside out and Kujabi was just guff :greengrin

Spot on, we have been needing a whole new back 4 for seasons now :rolleyes: McPake, Clancy are good additions, but we still need to bin the rubbish

19-07-2012, 10:11 PM
Hanlon was absolutely rank, look at his positioning for each Lierske attack :rolleyes: I'd play Booth at left back, and bin Hanlon

Booth was awful when he came on yesterday, as was Kujabi.

19-07-2012, 10:31 PM

I suppose you see what you want to see. I thought his positioning was pretty sound for the most part.

Steven_Hibs
19-07-2012, 10:48 PM
I thought his positioning was pretty sound for the most part.

Watch again :duck:

19-07-2012, 11:01 PM
Watch again :duck:

You watch again. But instead watch McPakes positioning. Plenty to fault there if you're really looking for it. But know what...it's pre-season, and it's a friendly. You really shouldnt read too much into it. McPakes obviously the better player, but if we're going into the season with folk like you actively looking for reasons to give stick to certain players over others then I suppose I'd consider myself to be of the opinion that you should go **** yourself..:greengrin

20-07-2012, 06:27 AM
You watch again. But instead watch McPakes positioning. Plenty to fault there if you're really looking for it. But know what...it's pre-season, and it's a friendly. You really shouldnt read too much into it. McPakes obviously the better player, but if we're going into the season with folk like you actively looking for reasons to give stick to certain players over others then I suppose I'd consider myself to be of the opinion that you should go **** yourself..:greengrin

Hanlon looked much better at left back than he did in the middle, McPake made a cock up for the goal, he went for a ball he was never going to win, lost the header and the rest is history.

We actually looked very comfortable in the 1st half, and unless Fenlon has another defender coming in, i'd guess he's settled for Clancy McPake Stevens and Hanlon as his back 4, when that changed it showed just how poor we were.

20-07-2012, 07:11 AM

Can't speak for Steven but I'm certainly not actively looking to give anyone stick, I made an observation on what I saw. Although I agree its preseason so shouldn't read too much into things but it does worry me when in that short clip I see the same failings about guys such as hanlon, kujabi, booth etc as I have last season and the like.

Don't get me wrong I'm far from condemning any player,I will give them the first part of the season to change my view on them, let's hope they develop.

P.s you do need to watch again ;-)

jamieross
20-07-2012, 07:39 AM
The goal was great, :thumbsup: hard to gauge how the game went based on that video as its more biased to Lierse.

20-07-2012, 10:57 AM
Fame at last on the highlights! :wink:

20-07-2012, 10:59 AM
I can tell you we were poor without even looking at the highlights.