View Full Version : Goals you will always remember

JHFC
18-07-2012, 02:09 PM
On twitter this is trending and would just like to know what goals you will always remember?

I will always remember James McFaddens wonder goal against the French.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2nmtB7rBs3M&feature=youtube_gdata_player

18-07-2012, 02:18 PM
Rob jones in league cup final

Not a city fan but agueros on last day of season.

Willis1875
18-07-2012, 02:19 PM
Bergkamps goal at 98 world cup against Argentina,oozed class!

18-07-2012, 02:20 PM
Steve Archibald's against Hearts at Tynie, we were down to 10 men on a pissing wet day (if I remember correctly) made it 2-0.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=luB0aej4_rE

coco22
18-07-2012, 02:21 PM
2 very different ones for me. Van basten over the shoulder volley in euros and Graeme Mitchell 's looping header against videoton (for sentimental reaons)

Just_Jimmy
18-07-2012, 02:25 PM
Arpinon away to dundee united under fat bob. Peach of a volly from right hand corner of 18 yard box into opposite corner. I didnt even celebrate i was so stunned. After latapy in 6-2 i think thats the best goal ive seen in the flesh from a hibs player.

18-07-2012, 02:28 PM
Similar theme for me Gordon Hunters goal 94/95 at Swynie ended 22 in a row and Gogs was one of my favourite players not a classic but one i will always remember .

18-07-2012, 02:31 PM
Similar theme for me Gordon Hunters goal 94/95 at Swynie ended 22 in a row and Gogs was one of my favourite players not a classic but one i will always remember .

Remember it well :thumbsup:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4idGPlizJaE

18-07-2012, 02:35 PM
Miller immediately substituted wee Kev Harper .

18-07-2012, 02:38 PM
Take your pick from this waster. :wink:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DmJlCQP1AfE

:not worth

18-07-2012, 02:50 PM

I was 8 at the time and it was the first time i had seen Hibs beat them.

Absolute pandemonium when the goal went in but remember there being an edginess as there was still a fair while to go and they had a habit of snatching late equalisers. Can still remember the noise from the Hibs end at full time being almost deafening. There was a few dodgy moments near the end and Jim Leighton had a couple of very good saves, the relief at the whistle was unbelievable.

18-07-2012, 02:55 PM
Dave Narey's toepoke v Brazil, Hibs Fat Ally McLeod's retaken free kick v Dundee

18-07-2012, 02:57 PM
Has to be Russell's goal in the 6-2 game for me...........and Mixu's third in that game was just the perfect end to a sweeping move. I still say to Hearts fans to this day that had it not been for Antti Niemi that night Hibs would have put at least 10 past them. He was their MOTM which says how well we played that night.

Internationally, Kenny Dalglish's goals v Spain and Hampden and away to Belgium (his second that night) were sublime.

HibsMax
18-07-2012, 02:59 PM
This one always comes to mind when people talk about great goals.

http://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?220906-Michael-O-Neill-wonder-goal&highlight=

Obviously Archie's in '78 is memorable, but perhaps a little "obvious". Nah, that was a great goal too.

jamieross
18-07-2012, 03:08 PM
Bergkamps goal at 98 world cup against Argentina,oozed class!

Was absolutely stunning!

18-07-2012, 03:13 PM
http://img6.imagebanana.com/img/w2l3bruw/Hibs.gif

18-07-2012, 03:14 PM
Maradona's 2nd against England in the 1986 World Cup in Mexico, probably the best goal ever (although Messi has scored one almost identical) but the first one will always be momorable. :LOL:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KY40__rBvSk

18-07-2012, 03:14 PM
Bobby Duncan's crackerjack v Napoli in the 5-0 second leg victory over the Italian giants at ER. Hibs were written off after a 4-1 defeat in the first leg but subsequent events proved otherwise.

And how could I possibly forget Don Masson's penalty goal for Scotland in the World Cup qualifier v Wales at Annfield in 1977. The penalty was awarded for a supposed hand ball by a Welsh defender but TV footage later proved that it was Joe Jordan who handled the ball. I was at the game and there was not a fan in the stadium who thought that the Ref had got it wrong!

18-07-2012, 03:16 PM
Zitelli overhead v Dundee. His goal against AEK.
GOC against them after Brebner sent off.
Benji against them for his celebration after scoring.
Latapy in 6-2.
Dalglish v Spain at Hampden
Mark Hughes for Wales at Hampden

Tom Hart RIP
18-07-2012, 03:26 PM
Agree. Bobby Duncan against Dino Zoff.
30 yards into top corner.
What a night. Then Clive Thomas cheated us in the next round against Leeds.
Great days

18-07-2012, 03:35 PM
Alan McGraw - Scottish Cup semi final at Tynecastle in 1968 - substitute was used up (I think - were there subs then?) so he had to come back on injured and while hobbling about on a bandaged-up leg he scored a late winner for us - brilliant!

hibIBZ
18-07-2012, 03:39 PM
riordan against hearts when he cut in from the left and hit it with his right. top corner past craig gordon. that or jackson's penalty at ibrox. was about 2 yards outside the box but oh well haha

Macaroon
18-07-2012, 03:42 PM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fjMK2oRF1Z8

And this.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TEqkTDwcn0o

18-07-2012, 03:55 PM
This late winner for Rivaldo against Valencia in the last game of the season meant that they qualified for the Champions League instead of Valencia, stunning goal.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uS2bomiDOko

18-07-2012, 04:05 PM
Messi's goal which mirrored Maradona's was quite sensational as I was watching it live. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wOWrtCOMxto&feature=related

Bergkamp's goal for Arsenal against Newcastle, when he flicked the ball around himself and the defender, turned the defender the other way and slotted home. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cJaU5Q5Jv8w

Thierry Henry's flick and volley against Man Utd. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cvl1lqUeowQ

Karl Poborsky's lob during the Euros.

Zinedine Zidane's winner at Hampden for Real.http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=crDzasp1-60

Jorg Albertz's free kick against Celtic at Ibrox.http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cugzbxHlJtQ

and perhaps an obscure one to finish:

Barry Wilson's volley for Livingston against Sturm Graz in the home leg of their UEFA Cup tie to put Livingston 4-3 in front.

HibsMax
18-07-2012, 04:05 PM
Perhaps this question will get lost in the mass of videos but rather than start a new thread, here goes...

I *think* what I am talking about was Bergkamp playing for Arsenal but all my searches have turned up nothing so either it wasn't Bergkamp at Arsenal or it wasn't Bergkamp at all. My memory is of "Bergkamp" just outside the box...he drags the ball back with one foot, then the other, then turns and shoots and scores. All one practically fluid movement. But I can't find anything about it so I must have at least one of the "facts" wrong.

Anybody have a clue what I am talking about?

18-07-2012, 04:11 PM
Perhaps this question will get lost in the mass of videos but rather than start a new thread, here goes...

I *think* what I am talking about was Bergkamp playing for Arsenal but all my searches have turned up nothing so either it wasn't Bergkamp at Arsenal or it wasn't Bergkamp at all. My memory is of "Bergkamp" just outside the box...he drags the ball back with one foot, then the other, then turns and shoots and scores. All one practically fluid movement. But I can't find anything about it so I must have at least one of the "facts" wrong.

Anybody have a clue what I am talking about?

Second video in my list above Max?

18-07-2012, 04:12 PM
Another one from this past season actually.

Friend of mine invited me along to the 2nd January Dundee United vs Aberdeen game at Tannadice.

I'll never forget Kari Arnason's winner that day. Unstoppable.

HibsMax
18-07-2012, 04:13 PM
Second video in my list above Max?

Not that one but (1) that is an amazing goal, and (2) it's the one that kept coming up when I was searching for my "unicorn". :)

18-07-2012, 04:21 PM
Not that one but (1) that is an amazing goal, and (2) it's the one that kept coming up when I was searching for my "unicorn". :)

Was it this one?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O0Qnm5UP7A0

muzzhfc
18-07-2012, 04:27 PM
theres loads for me, Rooney v City but I remember Ian Murray picking the ball up just inside our half and running at the Dundee united defence then scoring. nice and simple but one ill always remember

18-07-2012, 04:31 PM
Goc against hearts when brebner got sent off still one of my favourite derbys

18-07-2012, 04:32 PM
For me it has to be big Garry's last minute winner against hearts at Easter road when we only needed 10 men.

Don't think I've seen Easter road go so mental since.

ginger_rice
18-07-2012, 04:41 PM
Got loads, but for me after the turmoil we'd gone through it would be Keith Wright against the Pars in the league cup final. :flag:

Minder
18-07-2012, 05:26 PM
This was a sublime goal.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=21SryMrRlkw

oregonhibby
18-07-2012, 05:31 PM
Ralph Callaghan against Dundee. I think he beat everyone on the park before stroking it home!

18-07-2012, 05:41 PM
Jimmy O'Rourke against Celtic, Hibs 4th goal, in the Drybrough Cup Final of 1972.

jane_says
18-07-2012, 05:44 PM
Bit of a random one but a 5-2 defeat at Ibrox a young Tam McManus hit an unstoppable volley from a Zambernardi cross, about 20 yards out to make it 2-1 to us. A currant bun mate said the Hibs end was like a snakes wedding, we were going mental.

hibeequinn
18-07-2012, 06:14 PM
Bit of a random one but a 5-2 defeat at Ibrox a young Tam McManus hit an unstoppable volley from a Zambernardi cross, about 20 yards out to make it 2-1 to us. A currant bun mate said the Hibs end was like a snakes wedding, we were going mental.

pappis cisse against chelski wonderful volley in top corner past cech zemmama against hertz when we drew 2 2

18-07-2012, 06:33 PM
This was a sublime goal.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=21SryMrRlkw

I don't remember seeing that one before but the moustachioed fellow seemed quite exuberant in his celebrations - was it a goal of some significance?

18-07-2012, 06:38 PM
Nayim lobbing Seaman from almost the half way line, was just properly getting into football at the time, think I must have been around 10, and I thought all the goals were like this one!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fiYt3iNWau0

18-07-2012, 06:49 PM
Messi's goal which mirrored Maradona's was quite sensational as I was watching it live. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wOWrtCOMxto&feature=related

Bergkamp's goal for Arsenal against Newcastle, when he flicked the ball around himself and the defender, turned the defender the other way and slotted home. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cJaU5Q5Jv8w

Thierry Henry's flick and volley against Man Utd. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cvl1lqUeowQ

Karl Poborsky's lob during the Euros.

Zinedine Zidane's winner at Hampden for Real.http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=crDzasp1-60

Jorg Albertz's free kick against Celtic at Ibrox.http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cugzbxHlJtQ

and perhaps an obscure one to finish:

Barry Wilson's volley for Livingston against Sturm Graz in the home leg of their UEFA Cup tie to put Livingston 4-3 in front.

SEVEN efforts there. No Hibs goals? Is your choice based on YouTube and maybe, Livingston?
Only asking.....

HibsMax
18-07-2012, 06:57 PM
Was it this one?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O0Qnm5UP7A0

that is indeed a great goal where he controls the ball with both feet but it doesn't look like the goal I am envisioning.....but it's eerily similar so I am willing to accept that I've killed too many brain cells and that is indeed the goal. :)

18-07-2012, 07:14 PM
First Hibs goal I ever witnessed. John Blackley equalising v Cowdenbeath 70-71.
Thinking that Jimmy O'Rourke had denied Paddy the 7th of 7 at Tynie.
Jimmy O'Rourke's third v Sporting Lisbon and my old man telling me how great this was.
Ally McLeod equalising at Tynie after about three hours and starting a riot.
Arthur Duncan v Aberdeen 78. Hibs into Europe at the expense of Celtic.
Geebsie on the volley against St Mirren at ER 1990. Reconstruction saved us. Away and ****!
Gordon Rae in my first visit to Ibrox, around about 1977 a 2 0 win. Certain death approached.
Kenny Miller at the millennium derby, game over.
Wee Russell in the 6 2 game.
Keith Keith Keith at Hampden v the Huns and again in the final. Proper tears.

and to throw an obscure one in -

Yogi's diving header at Somerset in a 3 3 draw to keep us top of the league. And we stayed there.

But who forgets any Hibs goal, really?

HibeeDave
18-07-2012, 07:14 PM
Joe McBride Jnr, free kick at tynie, dinked in off post leaving smith on his fat ass.

Can't remember the year.

HibsMax
18-07-2012, 07:17 PM
Nayim lobbing Seaman from almost the half way line, was just properly getting into football at the time, think I must have been around 10, and I thought all the goals were like this one!

Remember that goal well. Was playing an away match (pool) and the game was on in the pub.

18-07-2012, 07:18 PM
Hibs:

At ER - Franck's postage stamp in 2-1 First Division finale v the Bairns (last time in the old West Stand also)

Away fae ER - The two v the Pars fae Tommy Mac and Keith Keith Keith v Pars in SKOL Final - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eS8mAGCTGy0&feature=related

Others:

Van Basten Euro Final volley - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JmAZKvMxuQc

Marco Tardelli WC Final half-volley -http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WRZ0cQUbpuc

JHFC
18-07-2012, 07:25 PM
Surprised no one has mentioned this.

Anthony Stokes vs Rangers

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JMOg0n_rVnA&sns=tw

Minder
18-07-2012, 07:26 PM
I don't remember seeing that one before but the moustachioed fellow seemed quite exuberant in his celebrations - was it a goal of some significance?

No real signifigance, the moustachioed fellow was just happy to score, think he might have had a coupon up.

18-07-2012, 07:32 PM
Me for Lasswade High School in 1997. Brilliant.

delacraig
18-07-2012, 07:34 PM
1) Paulo Di Canio at Stamford Bridge

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Zu4mD-3vM8Y

2) Luis Figo against England at Euro 2000 (0:37)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wLluusBo7hM&feature=related

3) Lex Immers for Den Haag

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bF06cGaE9vM

18-07-2012, 07:36 PM

Remember the goal well, but will remember that quote longer! :greengrin

deekster
18-07-2012, 07:36 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dvgDNxueTtA

Loved this goal from Michael O`Neil against Motherwell 2:41 into the video

Also recall wee crunchie beating what seemed like the whole Raith Rovers team in the League Cup and finishing it of by chipping the keeper.

18-07-2012, 07:39 PM
Remember that goal well. Was playing an away match (pool) and the game was on in the pub.

Maybe this one, playing for Holland against Argentina in 98 WC. Always thought this was one of the best goals ever.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XsZkCFoqSBs

18-07-2012, 07:41 PM
Le God striking the ball very hard against Falkirk final game of the Div 1 Season :not worth

18-07-2012, 07:45 PM
Michael Thomas Anfield 89 :boo hoo:

Hibspirational
18-07-2012, 07:51 PM
For me it has to be big Garry's last minute winner against hearts at Easter road when we only needed 10 men.

Don't think I've seen Easter road go so mental since.

:agree::agree::agree::agree::agree::agree::agree:: agree::agree::agree:

Hibspirational
18-07-2012, 07:52 PM
or Pedro Mendes's 'goal' against Man Utd! :cb

18-07-2012, 07:57 PM
De la Cruz in the first minute against hearts in 2001 (I still think he meant it) or, a bit more lo-fi - Basher's against Morton in the last minute of the first game of the Big Adventure season.

18-07-2012, 08:00 PM
I give you the winner of the most memorable goals ever competition. :giruy::cup:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zynaPt5COmY

18-07-2012, 08:01 PM
I've been lucky enough to see many memorable goals but will stick to two.

19 year old John Collins running from the half way line making Mick McCarthorse look the donkey he was before slamming the ball into the top corner from 20 yards at Darkheid for the equaliser in a 1-1 draw. Confirmation we had a special talent in green and white.

Darren Jackson for Scotland B against Northern Ireland B at ER. Chipped the ball over the defenders head, stepped round him and volleyed it in from 25 yards. Oh for a forward like him at Hibs now!

18-07-2012, 08:02 PM
Bobby Kinloch's goal against Barca all those years ago is NUMERO UNO for me !!!:flag::flag::flag::flag:

18-07-2012, 08:12 PM
Big Rob's header in the CIS cup final to make us 1-0 up in the CIS final.

18-07-2012, 08:18 PM
As well as all of those mentioned.

Joe McBride's in previously mentioned game against Celtic & his one & marinello's 2 in the 1969 win at Ibrox.

Pat Stanton & Joe Baker's goals against Aberdeen in Jan 1971. Aurthur Duncan's cup winner at Tynie around the same time. Jimmy O'Rourke's goal against the new third division team, in the semi that year, after great play by Crop's to lay it on a plate for him to head in.

Both goals in the 72 Scottish Semi, the last two goals in the 1972 Drybrough Cup Final [and the 3 in the semi]. John Brownlie's League Cup Semi Winner in 72 and Pat Stanton & Jimmy O'Rourke's goals in the final and the 8 against Ayr the following Saturday, plus the 6 against Sporting.

The goals we should have had against Leeds, both legs in 1973, Alex Cropleys in 1974 league cup section decider at Ibrox [3-1 home win as well, but in the last game at Ibrox, we needed a point to qualify]. Harper's goal against Liverpool & MacLeod's winner in 79 in the Semi against Aberdeen [& Campbell's winner in the final should have been included as well, still don't know how he missed!:greengrin]

Off the bar
18-07-2012, 09:43 PM
Chico from half way v alloa in the cup late 90's was in my teens sat in the old west stand, quality finish from a quality dude! will never forget that one!

18-07-2012, 09:45 PM
Joint 1st

Sauzee at the pbs

Archie at the pbs

Keith Keith Keith old huns semi

Deek screamer into lady boys top corner at the san siro

Latapy no 6

18-07-2012, 10:06 PM
Steve Archibald's against Hearts at Tynie, we were down to 10 men on a pissing wet day (if I remember correctly) made it 2-0.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=luB0aej4_rE

my 1st trip to *********** with my dad will allways remember that night,was drenched too:flag::flag:

vanNISHtelroy
18-07-2012, 10:42 PM
For celebration/sheer disbelief, James Fowler giving us a three nil lead against Celtic before half-time...shame about the second half :rolleyes:

18-07-2012, 11:39 PM
A goal by Peter Cormack against Dunfermline in (I think) 1967. Peter had been playing like he had his boots on the wrong feet. The ball came to him just inside our half, well wide. He spooted Martin the Pars' keeper, off his line. One touch and he lobbed Martin form it must have been 50 yards. Total magic.

Bobby Duncan against Napoli.

Michael O'Neill against Motherwell - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dvgDNxueTtA

This one - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LVT-cgqKJsE

And THIS one - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l9gl1DJNiJs

Auckland Hibs
19-07-2012, 12:06 AM
A few which stick out from the others;

Keith @ Hampden semi V Gers.

Rob Jones against the Yams in the Cup Game ER (1-0 going on 7-0).

Darren Jackson against Dundee Utd in the semi game at the old PBS (nearly crushed alive celebrating).

Michael O'Neil scoring at Ibrox for us to go 1-0 up on the day they won the league (Sunday game finished 3-1?).

19-07-2012, 12:11 AM
For celebration/sheer disbelief, James Fowler giving us a three nil lead against Celtic before half-time...shame about the second half :rolleyes:

Think that might be the only Killie effort so far, but hopefully someone will be along soon with one from Swiney '64 to join it :greengrin

19-07-2012, 01:46 AM
Chico from half way v alloa in the cup late 90's was in my teens sat in the old west stand, quality finish from a quality dude! will never forget that one!

Pat McGinlay produced a very similar one a few days later against Killie at Easter Road.

StevesFamau5
19-07-2012, 03:38 AM
The fletcher shoulder/head vs them. The jones header v them.. And the aek athens equaliser.. Nearly fell from the old west.

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2

Off the bar
19-07-2012, 08:12 AM
season we went down last derby at easter rd kevin harper picks it up on half way tears through several tackles and bends one in with his left foot past pussy 2-1 hibs ya beauty! knackered their title challenge but not enough to save us

19-07-2012, 08:23 AM
theres loads for me, Rooney v City but I remember Ian Murray picking the ball up just inside our half and running at the Dundee united defence then scoring. nice and simple but one ill always remember

:agree: He just sort of kept going - great goal.

Agathe's Bobby Dazzler against Dundee. Vaulted about 3 or 4 increasingly desperate challenges and then slotted it into the bottom corner in a 5-1 (??) vi tory. He got another peach in that game as well, opening his foot up and putting it into the top bag. Ahhhh, if only we'd had him on a longer contract............

19-07-2012, 08:30 AM
Loads of obvious ones, Deek screamer against Gordon from 30 yards, Russell 6-2, Sauzee teeth knocked out, Sauzee 0-3, etc.

Other less obvious are Zitelli against the huns at ER. Think it put us top and was the week before 6-2. We should have won the league that season.

Sauzee against Falkirk, free kick that nearly burst the net.

Hibs3-2
19-07-2012, 10:42 AM
O'hanlon v Aberdeen at Pittodrie this season
Riordan v Hearts at Easter Road (the screamer)
Hartley scoring the first in "that" semi :boo hoo:
Griffiths v Aberdeen at Hampden Semi final

West Upper
19-07-2012, 04:49 PM
Anthony Stokes against Rangers after 12 seconds

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iAqHzXuXs8Y&feature=related

Chris Maguire for Scotland U21 against Iceland

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=afOQ9j8lcX4&feature=relmfu

Steven Gerrard against Olympiakos

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=veKx_gJavuw

JHFC
19-07-2012, 04:55 PM
Anthony Stokes against Rangers after 12 seconds

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iAqHzXuXs8Y&feature=related

Chris Maguire for Scotland U21 against Iceland

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=afOQ9j8lcX4&feature=relmfu

Steven Gerrard against Olympiakos

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=veKx_gJavuw

How good was Zemamas? run. How we need a player like him atm.

19-07-2012, 09:02 PM
My most memorable goal for Hibs was a 30 yard thunder bolt by super Joe in a 3-2 defeat at Brockville. At the time I just thought wow and never dreamed he had it in him.

The van Basten goal at Euro 88 has to be up there but 2 that really stick out in my mind are;

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NxOpBlxo694

and this;

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bDXdbrosAkE&feature=related

Rene Higuita :faf:. Talk about a proper legend. The sound doesn't do it justice but try and listen to the commentator :not worth.

dhmf
19-07-2012, 09:46 PM
orman at ibrox in a 2-2 and McManus at ibrox also, think we lost 5-2, stunning volley though.

19-07-2012, 10:55 PM
Sauzee's freekick against Falkirk last game of the 1st division title, was in the back of the net before the falkirk goalie even moved :agree: :sauzee:

19-07-2012, 11:06 PM
All three against Rangers at Ibrox just after Calderwood had taken over. I had anticipated a complete going over but the players turned up and played them off the pitch in front of 300 hibs fans. Valdas Trakys was immense too!

Garry O'Connor against hearts in the unbeatable derby was also pretty special. The stadium was bouncing.

19-07-2012, 11:13 PM
Rob jones in league cup final

Not a city fan but agueros on last day of season.

Still makes me feel unwell. Lying prostrate on the carpet and screaming fuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuck. Heartbreak.

Sproule's third at the Govan cesspit made me say fuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuck the other way.

19-07-2012, 11:18 PM
Can I also add Soljkaer's winner in Barca 1999. Me and my old man crying and jumping around like idiots when he scored. One of the great nights.

Littlest Hobo
19-07-2012, 11:28 PM
Darren Jackson against Anderlecht.

Mickey Weir against Aberdeen up at their place.

Archibald at Tynie

Deano at Tynie

Kenny Miller at Tynie

Keith against Rangers at Hampden

Zitelli over head kick at Dens.

Garry against them at ER last kick.

Riordan at ER against them, thunderbolt past plukey!

Latapy in the 6-2 drubbing

Gordon Hunter, hoodoo ending goal.

19-07-2012, 11:40 PM
Darren Jackson against Anderlecht.

Mickey Weir against Aberdeen up at their place.

Archibald at Tynie

Deano at Tynie

Kenny Miller at Tynie

Keith against Rangers at Hampden

Zitelli over head kick at Dens.

Garry against them at ER last kick.

Riordan at ER against them, thunderbolt past plukey!

Latapy in the 6-2 drubbing

Gordon Hunter, hoodoo ending goal.

Lightning too.

Tynie01011973
20-07-2012, 06:43 AM
Klaus Augenthaler's 30 yard thunderbolt winner against Hertz in the Uefa Cup - Yam fuds in Pub were shouting 'Go on hit it'

jim4711
20-07-2012, 07:05 AM
I like Matthäus 3-1 against yugoslavia in 1990 WC:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ep19w4VMhSo

and Jay Jay Okochas gorgeous goal against Oli Kahn :wink:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jYxReXCAn54

killie-hibby
20-07-2012, 07:37 AM
In the late 50's and early 60's Scottish Cup games. Bobby Johnstone against Dundee on a Wednesday night with a 30000 plus crowd. John Frasers last minute goal against Rangers. We won both games.

hibeequinn
21-07-2012, 11:10 AM
http://youtu.be/YL4XxUqYEA4

ALWAYS LOVED THIS GOAL

21-07-2012, 05:24 PM
Ralph Callaghan against Dundee in the 1980s. Chic Charnley and Pat McGinley from the half way line within a few weeks of each other and Goram scoring against Morton (a fluke but the only time I have seen a goalie scoring at professional level)

sbell1875
21-07-2012, 05:46 PM
Steven Fletcher's first goal in 2007 against Kilmarnock. I was walking along the concourse at the top of the north stand and starting jumping about crazy and celebrating with random Hibees. Will live me forever.

Secondly it would be Deano's winner at Tynie in Mogga's first season. It was my first derby victory at Tynie and this will also live with me forever.

Thirdly, Ivan's third at Ibrox in the 3-0 win. I am in the DVD after the 3rd.

From a nostalgia point of view our first goal against Inverness in April this season is up there. Must have been my fifth or sixth time up there without having ever seen a goal!

Come to think of it, Hibs have given me some bloody good memories!

21-07-2012, 06:41 PM
Joe Baker against Aberdeen on his return to Hibs.
Peter Cormack goal from the half way line against Dunfermline.
Allan McGraw goal in the cup against Dundee at Tynie.
Jimmy O'Rourke's goal against Celtic in 1972.

I could go on but that's a start.

neilmartinrocks
21-07-2012, 06:56 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rRgAW_lvplo

this one is a favourite of mine.
and no i wasn't there to see it.:greengrin

21-07-2012, 08:28 PM
Peter McCormack goal from the half way line against Dunfermline.
Jimmy O'Rourkes goal against Celtic in 1972.

:tsk tsk: PETER CORMACK.

That's the one I was thinking of. There was a guy behind me had been giving Peter pelters all game - tbh PC was having a bit of a mare that afternoon - and that goal shut him up comprehensively. Absolute beauty.

21-07-2012, 09:13 PM
Benji's first at the cup final in 07 (the commentary makes it even better)

Latapy's cracker in the 6-2 game

neilmartinrocks
21-07-2012, 09:18 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DNqrMxkAkYM

chic charnley from the half way line bout 1m10s in.
a few others as well.

21-07-2012, 09:31 PM
That was McGinleys. Charnleys was from further out andd I don't think the cameras caught it.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DNqrMxkAkYM

chic charnley from the half way line bout 1m10s in.
a few others as well.

21-07-2012, 09:40 PM
Fairly recently in terms of History, but will never forget as a 12 year old watching Latapy's last goal in the 6-2 game as I was on holiday with the family having caught the tail end of the game in probably the only bar showing the game wherever we where, the sad thing Is me, my bro and mum trekked for hours to find said bar ! Even worse was my old man was Ill, he missed the whole game !

21-07-2012, 09:51 PM
:tsk tsk: PETER CORMACK.

That's the one I was thinking of. There was a guy behind me had been giving Peter pelters all game - tbh PC was having a bit of a mare that afternoon - and that goal shut him up comprehensively. Absolute beauty.

McCormack. Mobile phones eh.

Topographic Hibby
21-07-2012, 10:00 PM
Ralph Callaghan against Dundee in the 1980s.
Was this not in a 5-3 win and Ralphie dribbled round the entire Dundee defence, not once, but twice before slotting home? Also a running battle in Albion Terrace IIRC....

TH

21-07-2012, 10:01 PM
Larsson's header at Euro 2004 (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vBkiTPeoitk)

Topographic Hibby
21-07-2012, 10:04 PM
That was McGinleys. Charnleys was from further out andd I don't think the cameras caught it.
Yeah, Chico's was well inside our half and caught the Alloa goalie miles out of his goal. League Cup tie from memory and yes, cameras never covered the match. After Pat scored his, was there not a bit of mucking about around the centre circle between the two of them as they tried to decide which goal was further out?

TH

hibsmad
21-07-2012, 11:11 PM
Boozy in the you're not unbeatable game. I celebrated more after that goal than I did after any other.

muirhousehibby
21-07-2012, 11:58 PM
Boozy in the you're not unbeatable game. I celebrated more after that goal than I did after any other.

Nice goal but for me deeks goal at easter rd in the derby wins it so far. Nice wee inside cut from left mid and he thundered it home with the right peg. Looking back though its a raj hairdoo deeks would laugh at ha ha

22-07-2012, 04:55 AM
Yeah, Chico's was well inside our half and caught the Alloa goalie miles out of his goal. League Cup tie from memory and yes, cameras never covered the match. After Pat scored his, was there not a bit of mucking about around the centre circle between the two of them as they tried to decide which goal was further out?

TH

And I'm sure Chico's was a week or so before Beckham "Did it" I always remember saying to people "No one cared when Chic Charnley did it !"

22-07-2012, 07:25 AM
2 of the Best, still great to see the great man in a Hibs shirt.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d4KemP8PRzo

22-07-2012, 07:26 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U2HWUbFGHMU&feature=related

DAVE1875
22-07-2012, 08:52 AM
Hate the ginger erse but

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7KJcB-xv5XA

goosefat
22-07-2012, 09:20 AM
:clown:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lDJagu72hVE

DAVE1875
22-07-2012, 09:32 AM
:clown:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lDJagu72hVE

The thing about this match I'll remember more is in the second half the ball was launched into the away stand, some guy caught it and yelled at Maka "THAT'S HOW YOU CATCH A ****ING BALL!" before throwing it back, even some of our players were laughing

neilmartinrocks
22-07-2012, 11:07 AM

your right my bad. loaded the wrong one. in my defence i was with jack and arthur last night. both stoatin' goals though.

22-07-2012, 12:31 PM
And I'm sure Chico's was a week or so before Beckham "Did it" I always remember saying to people "No one cared when Chic Charnley did it !"

Nah, chicos was after Becks. I remember the alloa goalie being in the paper saying he expected a call up to the Scotland squad as Neil Sullivan was called up after he got lobbed.

Also dunno how folk can get mcginlay and chicos goals mixed up. Chico was uphill mcginlays was down.

22-07-2012, 12:57 PM
Dean Shiels vs Celtic in the 3-2 game where Boruc made countless howlers.

De la Cruz goal after 36 seconds against them.

Steven Gerrard vs West Ham in the FA Cup final.

O'Connor vs them.

Too many goals that I will always remember.

22-07-2012, 01:18 PM
Nah, chicos was after Becks. I remember the alloa goalie being in the paper saying he expected a call up to the Scotland squad as Neil Sullivan was called up after he got lobbed.

Also dunno how folk can get mcginlay and chicos goals mixed up. Chico was uphill mcginlays was down.

Chico had tried a long lob against Celtic on first day of the season, which went close but wasn't really that dangerous. I remember that when he hit the one against Alloa there was a general reaction of "not again, Chico, that's a waste.. hang on... yeaaaaaaaaaaaaaaahhhhhhh!". Real pity the cameras weren't there, but they wouldn't have been able to show his celebration before the watershed, anyway!

GuernseyHibby
22-07-2012, 02:49 PM
This late winner for Rivaldo against Valencia in the last game of the season meant that they qualified for the Champions League instead of Valencia, stunning goal.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uS2bomiDOko

yeah thats got all the right ingredients.

another one i never tire of seeing again - not quite on the same stage:-

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vV43T-9DVRk

neilmartinrocks
23-07-2012, 10:10 AM

guinness and whiskey mate guinness and whiskey. and a very small screen :greengrin:greengrin

23-07-2012, 05:48 PM
Peter Cormack goal from the half way line against Dunfermline.
Jimmy O'Rourke's goal against Celtic in 1972.

Could I add to these

Lawrie Reilly's 3rd goal of his hat trick against Falkirk
Bobby Kinloch's penalty against Barcelona
Jim Scott's goal for Edinburgh Select against Newcastle
Derek Riordan's" offside" goal against Dundee
Willie Hamilton's goals against Rangers(cup)and Hearts at Tynie.

25-07-2012, 02:41 PM

What about mcginleys next again week from half way 2 peaches.

25-07-2012, 02:52 PM
David zitelli v dundee at dens on bonfire night overhead kick.
Alen Orman at ibrox his only goal I think.
Countless sauzee free kicks.
Tony rougier at fir park sliding volley into opposite corner.
All superb finishes I think latapy goal in 6-2 game will take some beating tho.