View Full Version : Osbourne to Blackpool (Confirmed)
17-07-2012, 08:46 PM
Unfortunately it wasnt even the worst midfield in the last 4 seasons. I'll see you last season's feeble foursome and raise you Keenan, Rankin, Morais and O'Brien from Mixus reign.
Our midfield has just been horrible for five years.
Did Mixu use Morais and O'Brien much? I seem to remember us playing with a very narrow midfield under him which we bypassed with a hoofball tactic.
17-07-2012, 08:46 PM
Unfortunately it wasnt even the worst midfield in the last 4 seasons. I'll see you last season's feeble foursome and raise you Keenan, Rankin, Morais and O'Brien from Mixus reign.
We have a winner.....bang on the money bollah.
17-07-2012, 08:56 PM
If we are going to use the fee to bring someone else in then its a great deal for Hibs. Can anyone who wants Ozzy to stay please tell me what he offers to the team? He may have been better than our other midfielders but that shouldn't really be a compliment.
IIRC he only scored one goal v motherwell, didn't seem to have that much pace, hardly be described as box to box and wasn't much of a ballwinner. His best game seemed to be against Dunfermline at EEP in January but i think any of us could have played against that pars midfield.
Perhaps the team who are willing to buy him can answer that question? Just a thought :cb
17-07-2012, 08:56 PM
Riordan-Miller-McBride-Zemmama
Wasn't too bad looking back.
17-07-2012, 09:00 PM
Good players but not in that formation. That's why they achieved nothing for us....
17-07-2012, 09:01 PM
Did Mixu use Morais and O'Brien much? I seem to remember us playing with a very narrow midfield under him which we bypassed with a hoofball tactic.
He started the season with a 442 with wide men. i recall my one and only trip to inverness being a horrible example. Fletch kept looking back with a horrified look on his face as Keenan and Rankin kept falling into custard pies. mixu moved to the 505 hoof tactic later on in the season as he realised how totally gash the midfielders actually were.
17-07-2012, 09:08 PM
Individually great players (stretching it with KM). Not as a unit. No balance, especially with Zemm and Derek not the best defensively, and Liam had a real lack of bite, some may say tended to shirk a tackle (me included). No height either, and yet again no balance on the right and left.
As Eddie Turnbull would always say, Derek is a striker. Admittedly he scored and assisted plenty from there, but for me he needed to play up top, off a main striker.
As I posted today, our best midfield was Brown, Boozy, Stewart and Thomson......even Glass contributed well in that era. Not forgetting Deano.
I understand that it's Scott Taggart that Morton are trying to sign.
already signed
Cheers! :wink:
So what your saying is you ken f all lol
:-)
What was the particular point of this post? :cb
17-07-2012, 10:11 PM
We are leaving ourselves with a lot to do.
For me what we've done so far is close some gaps left by those who have gone but not by much and haven't really started making any big improvements.
Doherty might have been an idiot but was a decent defender. Clancy may be as good.
Cairney might be better than Soares for us?
Williams is possibly better than Stack?
Then we may have lost Osbourne, O'Connor, Griffiths, Brown and Francombe who all played regularly.
We finished 11th with all those and we haven't got better than them in as yet.
Correct Andy. That's what is worrying me. Really hope Fenlon has some players lined up because no denying we will struggle with the squad we have as it stands.
17-07-2012, 10:14 PM
He started the season with a 442 with wide men. i recall my one and only trip to inverness being a horrible example. Fletch kept looking back with a horrified look on his face as Keenan and Rankin kept falling into custard pies. mixu moved to the 505 hoof tactic later on in the season as he realised how totally gash the midfielders actually were.
it was a pash midfield right enough....just as well we still had Fletch at the time
17-07-2012, 10:17 PM
easy money, cant run properly or complete a pass of more than 10 yards:flag::flag::flag:
17-07-2012, 10:23 PM
simple, Osborne goes, we get cash and get someone better. everyone is a winner.
17-07-2012, 10:38 PM
simple, Osborne goes, we get cash and get someone better. everyone is a winner.
Apart from Blackpool FC. Delighted this turkey is going. It's going to be difficult in the cash strapped climate to get players in but I'm hopeful Fenlon has been working all close-season to bring the right players in.
A fee of around £100k has been mentioned on twitter...
BigKev
17-07-2012, 11:03 PM
McBride was signed by Yogi as was Miller.... Riordan was barely fit... and Zemmama out injured 9 times out of ten.
Keenan barely featured under Mixu but was signed by him but why not let the Paatelainen bashing continue.
Rankin was signed by others while we had no manger either.
The Big felly was hounded out the door.... and should have been given the time hopefully afforded to Pat Fenlon.
17-07-2012, 11:10 PM
Another one who contributed towards the shambles that was the 19th May 2012.
Hopefully his wages/transfer fee can be used by Fenlon to bring in someone of better quality.
17-07-2012, 11:20 PM
Another one who contributed towards the shambles that was the 19th May 2012.
Hopefully his wages/transfer fee can be used by Fenlon to bring in someone of better quality.
You are absolutely bang on again mate :aok:
Cheery bye Ozzy.
Stevo1875
17-07-2012, 11:29 PM
bamba was promoted to midfield near the end of that season... i preferred him there but he wanted to play CB to improve his chances with IC.
you can look up all the squads of the last 5 years and beyond on this site.
http://www.fitbastats.com/hibs/player_list_season.php?from=134&update=Update
chisolm, rosa, yantorno, kerr, murray also mentioned.
18-07-2012, 12:36 AM
Good players but not in that formation. That's why they achieved nothing for us....
I'd class a 12 game unbeaten run and a Europa league place an achievement.
£100,000 for Ozzy ,Holloway wants his bumps felt ,deary dear.
Thats a £100k Rod a Pat never saw coming ,only a few more to go then we can start afresh ,its puts a few quid Pats way in his rebuild which is fantastic news TBH
The fact we are still fielding some incumbents due to circumstance from last year is just how it is ,watching them knowing they bring FA to Hibs while picking up a wage is the most depressing thing of all.
18-07-2012, 03:17 AM
Are you serious? Clearly you dont know what a good footballer is.
Would be a big loss as I think he will be great for us this season.
Agreed. I'll be sad to see Ozzy go.
18-07-2012, 03:43 AM
The worrying thing for me is will he be replaced or are we going to go with what we've got. It's all very well saying he wasn't good enough but if a replacement isn't brought in then we will be weaker as a result. Holloway is no mug and he clearly sees something in him
18-07-2012, 05:36 AM
The worrying thing for me is will he be replaced or are we going to go with what we've got. It's all very well saying he wasn't good enough but if a replacement isn't brought in then we will be weaker as a result. Holloway is no mug and he clearly sees something in him
Surely not - Holloway cannae know better than half the managers on here who would rather keep the likes of Galbraith, Sproule, kujabi ahead of him
18-07-2012, 05:56 AM
Agree our midfield has been horrendous for the most part of the last five years but the names you mention weren't consistently played together.
Last year was definitely a new low in terms of midfield creativity, dig, energy and goals. We shouldn't mourn the loss of any of them.
18-07-2012, 06:16 AM
Surely not - Holloway cannae know better than half the managers on here who would rather keep the likes of Galbraith, Sproule, kujabi ahead of him
What about those of us that didn't want to keep any of them? Unfortunately, no-one's going to pay anything for the three players you mentioned so we might be stuck with them until their contracts expire.
I'm sure most of the teams to start the season with on here in last few weeks have included Osbourne.
Now he leaves and hardly anyone cares?? must have been one of the better players in there last season?
18-07-2012, 06:31 AM
While I'm not overly bothered about Ozzy going, what I am concerned about is that it's another body out our already weak/threadbare squad. If he is away then we need a better replacement pronto.
18-07-2012, 07:12 AM
If anything it frees up a wage. I'm surprised that he is going to a championship club as he never really got going at Hibs. It's a great move for him and the £100k will come in handy for RP
18-07-2012, 07:26 AM
If anything it frees up a wage. I'm surprised that he is going to a championship club as he never really got going at Hibs. It's a great move for him and the £100k will come in handy for RP
Osbourne was one of the few players with football ability in our squad last season and the fact that he never delivered the potential and ability he clearly has can only be down to man management, match tactics and the poor quality of those playing around him IMO! :confused:
He'll go onto better things at Blackpool and then we'll have another Vaz Te situation on our hands on Hibs dot net I suspect! :rolleyes:
Pages about "how can he play like that now when he was "hopeless" when he was at Hibs"!?! :wink:
burtis97
18-07-2012, 07:30 AM
http://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/spl/isaiah-osbourne-on-verge-of-hibs-exit-1-2417520
Ozzys not left with the squad and looks like he's off as is Brown.
18-07-2012, 07:41 AM
http://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/spl/isaiah-osbourne-on-verge-of-hibs-exit-1-2417520
Ozzys not left with the squad and looks like he's off as is Brown.
With Fenlon saying hes in talks, that will be that. Hope we've managed to get a decent fee for him.
18-07-2012, 07:43 AM
With Fenlon saying hes in talks, that will be that. Hope we've managed to get a decent fee for him.
More importantly, I hope we get a decent replacement
18-07-2012, 07:54 AM
the fact that he never delivered the potential and ability he clearly has can only be down to man management, match tactics and the poor quality of those playing around him IMO! :confused:
Is that right? That must be the reason that his three loan spells before us were so successful he ended up at Hibs in the SPL!!
It also explains why Leeds never offered him a deal when he went there on trial as well..........
Ozzy showed flashes of his ability and that was it. We can get two players from the fee and freed up wages so lets hope they manager and board do their job and get decent quality replacements.
You've been stuck in too many Tornadoes as it seems your heid is mince pal.
EskbankHibby
18-07-2012, 07:56 AM
Harsh reality is that if we are offered money for any of our players they are offski.
Ozzy is one of my favourite players, Vaz Te was not. If they go on to do great things elsewhere i really don't care, both were part of very poor hibs teams.
We have to live in the here and now and Pat is trying to build a team, imo he has some of the building blocks of that team with McPake and Williams as the beginning of a good spine. I would have included Ozzy in my first 11 any day but if he goes and Pat replaces him asap i'll not be too bothered.
18-07-2012, 08:00 AM
Is that right? That must be the reason that his three loan spells before us were so successful he ended up at Hibs in the SPL!!
It also explains why Leeds never offered him a deal when he went there on trial as well..........
Ozzy showed flashes of his ability and that was it. We can get two players from the fee and freed up wages so lets hope they manager and board do their job and get decent quality replacements.
According to a few more knowledgeable on here Fenlon won't see any of the cash which will go into The Petrie financial integrity fund. I wonder if he has two hats on the coat hanger in his office.
18-07-2012, 08:04 AM
Osbourne was one of the few players with football ability in our squad last season and the fact that he never delivered the potential and ability he clearly has can only be down to man management, match tactics and the poor quality of those playing around him IMO! :confused:
He'll go onto better things at Blackpool and then we'll have another Vaz Te situation on our hands on Hibs dot net I suspect! :rolleyes:
Pages about "how can he play like that now when he was "hopeless" when he was at Hibs"!?! :wink:
Everyone's fault except Osbourne then?
18-07-2012, 08:04 AM
Ozzy was one of our only consistent performers last season. That said he's more of a defensive midfielder and with Stevenson and Claros in the squad I can understand the logic in letting him go and freeing up funds - as long as those funds are spent wisely in the re-shaping of our squad (eg a reliable striker is surely a MUST) then I can see the sense in the move.
I think he'll do alright in the championship BTW - decent footballer who was one of the only Hibs players to have a half decent season last term.
18-07-2012, 08:19 AM
We'll miss his strength. Hibs need a couple of big chaps in that area now.
18-07-2012, 08:20 AM
Ozzy was one of our only consistent performers last season. That said he's more of a defensive midfielder and with Stevenson and Claros in the squad I can understand the logic in letting him go and freeing up funds - as long as those funds are spent wisely in the re-shaping of our squad (eg a reliable striker is surely a MUST) then I can see the sense in the move.
I think he'll do alright in the championship BTW - decent footballer who was one of the only Hibs players to have a half decent season last term.
Did he? If that was him at half decent i'ts certainly no loss if he ever manages to consistantly play "decent"..
18-07-2012, 09:03 AM
Yes, but he was consistently average/poor - and I simply cannot agree with the second part that I've highlighted. Many people are claiming that he was our best midfielder by some distance, but that just isn't true - people seem to be basing this opinion on the fact that his pedigree would suggest that he (more than any of our other midfielders) could and should have developed into a good player for us (which may well have happened) - whilst I can understand that kind of thinking to an extent, it doesn't change the fact that he had a poor season last year. Claros probably had as many good games as him, and he was only here from January and gets slaughtered by many on here.
Lewis Stevenson won the Player of the Season award last year by giving 100% and doing the very, very basic things better than the other midfielders - I mean this as no disrespect to Lewis as I was happy for him to sign his extension (hopefully be used as a squad player), but that shows you how poor Osbourne was. I've had plenty to say on this thread but that is because I am utterly incredulous at some of the remarks on here regarding how much of a loss he will apparently be - how can he be a loss when he offered next to nothing? The way people are going on you would think that we had just sold someone who was akin to Boozy.
When we analyse things deeper, are we that surprised? Fenlon signed Claros in January, gave Stevenson a new contract and signed an attacking midfielder in Cairney - so that's the attacking and defensive berths covered, was there a place for Ozzy? Fenlon often shifted him out wide also, though he admitted that it was purely through lack of options. I don't think for one second that Fenlon would've thought that anyone would have offered money for Osbourne on the back of last season, so if he can get someone else in who he wants on Osbourne's wage, (which I believe he will) I'll be delighted. I'm sure he would've been a regular had he stayed, but if Fenlon can shape a team that is more his own on the back of this, all good in my book.
I ask myself the following questions: -
Is his potential ability to dramatically turn his Hibs career around worth more to us than a reported £100K in the current football environment?
Of course it isn't.
Will watching Hibs be any less enjoyable without him in the team?
No, IMO. How could it be? He was a poor performer in the worst Hibs team I have ever seen.
Will opposition teams get an easier time facing a Hibs team without him in it?
Again, no IMO - and again, how could it be?
We seem to be getting a very decent fee for a player who was signed by our previous manager and was a disappointment thus far - I'm struggling to see the bad news. Had Osbourne stayed he would;ve had my full support, and may well have turned into the player that we all hoped that he would be - the signs were not good at all though. He may well be a success down at Blackpool, Holloway is a good manager and clearly has a defined role (which he didn't have at Hibs) for him down there given that he is prepared to pay money for him. If he is indeed a success though, it doesn't mean that he was good for us, it doesn't mean that he would've been good for us, and it doesn't mean that it was bad business for us.
18-07-2012, 09:06 AM
Your joking right? I like Ozzy, he has talent, but he is anything but a defensive midfielder. Despite his size, he would rarely get stuck in, he was far too slow to get back and he wouldnt pick up his runners. The problem last season is that we didnt have that sort of midfielder. Stevenson is probably the closest thing we have to a defensive midfielder, but hes too small and slow to cover the entire back four on his own.
18-07-2012, 09:20 AM
People are saying use the money from Osbourne's departure to buy a new Centre Midfielder, I'd be looking right now at a new Striker.
I still think Jorge Claros has something left in him at Easter Road...
18-07-2012, 09:24 AM
People are saying use the money from Osbourne's departure to buy a new Centre Midfielder, I'd be looking right now at a new Striker.
I'd like to think so too, but regardless of how good or bad he is next season, we are losing him at the end of December.
Agree a striker is a priority, but think we'll get another midfielder in too.
18-07-2012, 09:25 AM
Not sure why it's so hard to admit for some that Osbourne, Claros, Stevenson, Wotherspoon, Galbraith, Sproule and any other recent player we've had calling themselves a 'midfielder' are just utter garbage and contributed to one of the worst seasons in living memory, topped off by possibly the worst performance in living memory. If nobody was retained from last season I would not be unhappy.
Devine
18-07-2012, 09:28 AM
Jorge Claros is one of the worst midfielders I have ever seen at Easter Road hes so slow, so far off the pace of the game in this country and will be overrun by any team that has semi athletic players in the midfield.
I consistently banged on before that final there was NO WAY we could win it with him in the centre of a 4 man midfield and gave up the ghost when I heard the team news. I thought that surely any notion of him being close to good enough would be eradicated after that day!
18-07-2012, 09:30 AM
I'd like to think so too, but regardless of how good or bad he is next season, we are losing him at the end of December.
Agree a striker is a priority, but think we'll get another midfielder in too.
Unless we sign him, you never know he may want to stay. Yes we need out and out striker who can get us 20+ a season.
18-07-2012, 09:33 AM
What about those of us that didn't want to keep any of them? Unfortunately, no-one's going to pay anything for the three players you mentioned so we might be stuck with them until their contracts expire.
Agreed but ma point wiz some folk on here view them as better than Ozzy !!!
18-07-2012, 09:48 AM
Sitting in Antwerp, delighted if Osbourne goes......
Big built, not physical enough for his size, games passed him by, everytime he got the ball, he slowed pace of play down....Part of that shambolic midfield last season.....(IMHO of course)
Would not be upset in the slightest if he departs....Might allow PF to have more money to reshape his squad......
18-07-2012, 09:53 AM
Big built, not physical enough for his size, games passed him by, everytime he got the ball, he slowed pace of play down....Part of that shambolic midfield last season.....(IMHO of course)
Would not be upset in the slightest if he departs....Might allow PF to have more money to reshape his squad......
Ozzy was a great enigma.
He looked a good player, promised so much, but delivered so little.
18-07-2012, 10:01 AM
Jorge Claros is one of the worst midfielders I have ever seen at Easter Road hes so slow, so far off the pace of the game in this country and will be overrun by any team that has semi athletic players in the midfield.
I consistently banged on before that final there was NO WAY we could win it with him in the centre of a 4 man midfield and gave up the ghost when I heard the team news. I thought that surely any notion of him being close to good enough would be eradicated after that day!
You've obviously not been to ER much or attend with yer eyes shut if you think that...
18-07-2012, 10:06 AM
Don't got to Easter Road then if that's how you feel. He's better than de graf was and has a bit of dig about him.
18-07-2012, 10:11 AM
Don't think Hibs will stand in the way of any player moving for better wages. Name me a midfield player who did better than Ozzy last season and if I agree I'll be a lot happier than I am. Wouldn't it be great to go in to a pre season with the team you will have. I should be used to this by now. Ozzy was to ponderous at times but had qualities we will sadly miss should he go. I get the feeling that if we thought last season was bad it's going to be nothing compared to this one. Ozzy was never bullied in mid field but the rest of our midfield can be and were last season. Oh dear.
18-07-2012, 10:14 AM
Don't think Hibs will stand in the way of any player moving for better wages. Name me a midfield player who did better than Ozzy last season and if I agree I'll be a lot happier than I am. Wouldn't it be great to go in to a pre season with the team you will have. I should be used to this by now. Ozzy was to ponderous at times but had qualities we will sadly miss should he go. I get the feeling that if we thought last season was bad it's going to be nothing compared to this one. Ozzy was never bullied in mid field but the rest of our midfield can be and were last season. Oh dear.
Correct
18-07-2012, 10:15 AM
You've obviously not been to ER much or attend with yer eyes shut if you think that...
What's he actually done? Other than attract the "there's a player in there..." comments that crop up when a player does a couple of half decent things but is absolute gash 95% of the time. :rolleyes:
18-07-2012, 10:17 AM
Already?? Whats the weather like? :wink:
Devine
18-07-2012, 10:32 AM
Thankfully I go to enough games with my eyes wide open and am able to see when a player is clearly not capable to play at our level/intensity of football. You should try it sometime
Devine
18-07-2012, 10:34 AM
What's he actually done? Other than attract the "there's a player in there..." comments that crop up when a player does a couple of half decent things but is absolute gash 95% of the time. :rolleyes:
Absolutely correct. Im fed up of reading on this forum 'theres a player in there' 'he will come good' what evidence is anyone basing that on? Ive based my opinion watching him in situ for the 2nd half of the season and 95% of the time he was utter garbage including the cup final where he rightly got hooked after 35mins....35mins too late
Devine
18-07-2012, 10:38 AM
Don't got to Easter Road then if that's how you feel. He's better than de graf was and has a bit of dig about him.
Ill decide when I go to Easter Road thanks and yes that is how I feel. He was absolutely murder game after game after game and did a COUPLE of decent things in all of that time. WOW he was better than De Graaf (im not even sure of that) that must mean hes a player then eh!? deary me
18-07-2012, 11:07 AM
We've managed to SELL Osbourne. Good grief.
seven nowt
18-07-2012, 11:08 AM
Claros is *****.
18-07-2012, 11:10 AM
By some of the comments on this thread it's going to be a long ****ing season.
We aren't going to sign a whole new midfield, get over it and support your club.
18-07-2012, 11:14 AM
Lewis Stevenson did much better than Osbourne last season.
18-07-2012, 11:25 AM
We aren't going to sign a whole new midfield, get over it and support your club.
By looking at the state of our squad it looks like it's going to be a long season. There's obviously still time for the club to remedy this but at the moment people should be forgiven for panicing- the sqaud is absolutely brutal and there's no point in ingoring it.
18-07-2012, 11:25 AM
Honestly I have no idea who will play now. It frightens me a little knowing how close the season is, this was billed as our 'summer of change' and am yet to see significant rebuilding other that a defence strengthened and various players allowed to leave/sold.
At this stage Pat has STILL not addressed two of our biggest problems:
1) We still have NO width at all.
This was shown for the majority of the second part of last season with Pat demonstrating he is the Irish tinker man. Was highlighted gloriously at the cup final where we tore a new a#%^*+=e by an unfit Driver and Susan Santana.
2) We don't have strikers with variety.
Apart from Doyle and a couple of unproven youngsters we are going to struggle. Doyle, I think will be good for us and with a bit of luck one/both of the kids may show up however we need better. Strikers who can bully defences, win headers against big defenders and importantly hold the ball to allow us to attack properly. I think signing Leigh Griffiths is the wrong thing to do for this reason.
I know there are some weeks left until the season starts but these issues need addressed or it will be another relegation battle. Aberdeen have sorted themselves out, Hearts still seem relatively strong and Dundee United look to have assembled a well balanced squad.
I have my new season ticket bought ready to support but I am not looking forward to it.
Leighonel
18-07-2012, 11:28 AM
I like Osbourne but I understand why we are letting him go.
He has the ability to change a game from the bench or control a game. Unfortunately, though, he doesn't do it often enough.
18-07-2012, 11:28 AM
By looking at the state of our squad it looks like it's going to be a long season. There's obviously still time for the club to remedy this but at the moment people should be forgiven for panicing- the sqaud is absolutely brutal and there's no point in ingoring it.
They simply do not have the funds to be signing another 5/6 players. I doubt we will see more than 3 signings before the season kicks off.
If we had another 2,000 STs at an average price of £200 that would be another £400k into PF budget.
18-07-2012, 11:37 AM
BBC on twitter saying we have accepted an offer
18-07-2012, 11:40 AM
They simply do not have the funds to be signing another 5/6 players. I doubt we will see more than 3 signings before the season kicks off.
If we had another 2,000 STs at an average price of £200 that would be another £400k into PF budget.
Yep. 2500 haven't renewed and it hurts.
18-07-2012, 11:47 AM
Yep. 2500 haven't renewed and it hurts.
Can't blame anyone for not renewing though. I did but in the back of my mind I do regret it a little. I'm not buying into we can't afford 6 players that cup run gave us a fortune and do did selling the merchandise. Plus they have let something like 15 players go. If we don't get 6 in its simply because we haven't tried hard enough and can easily blame it on poor ST sales.
18-07-2012, 11:54 AM
Osborne is a decent player IMO. Heard a while ago that he had not settled in Edinburgh and was wanting away.
As for this "he is murder" chat, lets be honest, he has moved from a team that finished second bottom and survived only by beating the bottom team with a couple of games to play. He has just got himself a move to a team that has recently come down from the Premiership and was unlucky not to get back up this year. Hollway is also not to shabby at picking a player, I will go with his view as to what makes a good footballer.
Macaroon
18-07-2012, 11:55 AM
Can't blame anyone for not renewing though. I did but in the back of my mind I do regret it a little. I'm not buying into we can't afford 6 players that cup run gave us a fortune and do did selling the merchandise. Plus they have let something like 15 players go. If we don't get 6 in its simply because we haven't tried hard enough and can easily blame it on poor ST sales.
Yes, the cup run pulled in a lot of money. But that money does NOT go towards transfers. It's always been the case that only season ticket money goes to the manager and the rest goes to running the club sustainably. Season ticket sales are the sole factor in deciding the quality/quantity of players coming in.
Hibiza
18-07-2012, 12:00 PM
:taxi
18-07-2012, 12:04 PM
Lewis Stevenson did much better than Osbourne last season.
That in itself tells you all about IO..
No more needs to be said
18-07-2012, 12:06 PM
Yes, the cup run pulled in a lot of money. But that money does NOT go towards transfers. It's always been the case that only season ticket money goes to the manager and the rest goes to running the club sustainably. Season ticket sales are the sole factor in deciding the quality/quantity of players coming in.
You missed the glaringly obvious point that CatBoy's unaware of. The cup final money will go towards reducing our losses for that financial period. The previous years 900k loss would have been chicken feed in comparison without the income from the cup run.
Unbelievably, it still doesn't stop hordes of fans from saying we need to open the cheque book, back the manager blah blah blah. They should look around and see what other clubs have done this close season REGARDLESS if our need is greater. Finances dictate.
I do agree we need to make 4 or 5 signings though and as mentioned numerous times before I dont mean Maybury, Kerr or Forbes who thankfully has been ruled out already. Before talk of Osborne sale, Fenlon mentioned 2 or 3 new arrivals so I fully expect we have scope to increase that such is our need.
Long season indeed.
18-07-2012, 12:07 PM
Do you think it was enough to make us finish with a positive for the season?
I think it merely cut our losses to a manageable level.
Without the cup run we would have been in deep financial excrement.
18-07-2012, 12:08 PM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/18870201
18-07-2012, 12:08 PM
I'm not so sure. Whilst all of the ST money goes to the manager's fighting fund (or so we're told), other funds will be added to that as well. Unfortunately, last year's loss needs to be plugged and there will definitely be a loss in the current year as well. The cup money will have helped pay for last season but probably didn't cover the total loss.
I'm pretty sure that July 31st is the club's year end so perhaps they're waiting for that to pass before spending any more. Who knows!!
18-07-2012, 12:12 PM
There are quite a few players I would have got rid of before Osbourne but if a decent offer is there we have to take it. I just hope the money/free wages are invested wisely. For those who think he will go onto better things I am sure there will be an add on clause and we will benefit from in those circumstances.
Hibs looked a lot better once he came on last Saturday and I hope we have someone who can support our forward instead of him.
Good luck to the guy.
18-07-2012, 12:14 PM
Hibs team. Right now, playing a fairly standard 4-4-2.
Williams
Clancy McPake Hanlon (no idea? Kujabi/Booth)
Sproule Stevenson Claros Cairney
Doyle Player No.11
This is frightening. Fenlon never played booth so he may not feature, Sproule was done last season so god knows how bad he is now, I am not even discussing the creativity/strength issues of our central midfield and unless Cairney is a mix of Messi and Xavi then in the words of Steven "we're f*^>#d".
Then we have strikers...........brutal!!!
18-07-2012, 12:16 PM
Williams
Doyle Player No.11
This is frightening. Fenlon never played booth so he may not feature, Sproule was done last season so god knows how bad he is now, I am not even discussing the creativity/strength issues of our central midfield and unless Cairney is a mix of Messi and Xavi then in the words of Steven "we're f*^>#d".
But the season doesnt start tomorrow?
18-07-2012, 12:20 PM
But the season doesnt start tomorrow?
True. Means we have to sign, potentially 1 defender, 3/4 midfielders and at least 1 striker. 5/6 players in two weeks, team already on per-season tour getting to know each other!! Hardly ideal with most other teams looking fairly decent in all departments.
LeighLoyal
18-07-2012, 12:22 PM
Williams
Doyle Player No.11
Back four is okay. Need to replace Osbourne AND get in Deano plus maybe Griffiths.
18-07-2012, 12:23 PM
Williams
Doyle Player No.11
Decent back four, I still think Ivan has it, but i see no goals and a midfield which minus Murray and Osbourne weighs about 6 stone soaking wet.
Money is obviously going to be an issue, but I dont think Fenlon's standing really helps. He is unknown in the world of football, and to date the only players he has been able to bring in are from the LOI, players from this country that were not getting a game, and players attached to his own agent. I think this may have a lot to do with limited activity.
MagicSwirlingShip
18-07-2012, 12:31 PM
Don't see the issue here. Signed him on a free, punt him for a fee the following season. Its not as if he's set the heather alight whilst he's been here.
Good bit of business Hibs :agree:
Lets just hope Fenlon has someone lined up to replace him, I'd say a Striker is more of a priority though.
aberhibsfc
18-07-2012, 12:33 PM
18-07-2012, 12:34 PM
Decent back four, I still think Ivan has it, but i see no goals and a midfield which minus Murray and Osbourne weighs about 6 stone soaking wet.
Money is obviously going to be an issue, but I dont think Fenlon's standing really helps. He is unknown in the world of football, and to date the only players he has been able to bring in are from the LOI, players from this country that were not getting a game, and players attached to his own agent. I think this may have a lot to do with limited activity.
Which category do McPake, Clancy, Williams and Cairney belong in? do they all have the same agent?
18-07-2012, 12:39 PM
Williams
Doyle Player No.11
This team has bottom six all over it. Depending on the quality of Dundee and Ross County, we will be in a relegation battle. Like everyone else I hope Fenlon has irons in the fire but I won't hold my breath.
Emerald
18-07-2012, 12:41 PM
That in my opinion is THE problem. When money is short managers rely on their own network, calling in favours, dealing with past clubs, old team mates etc. PF has none of this bar his LOI connections to fall back on. I've always thought he would have trouble getting players in.
Leishy1995
18-07-2012, 12:45 PM
He hasn't signed any LOI players this summer..
18-07-2012, 12:46 PM
That in my opinion is THE problem. When money is short managers rely on their own network, calling in favours, dealing with past clubs, old team mates etc. PF has none of this bar his LOI connections to fall back on. I've always thought he would have trouble getting players in.
What a load of nonsense that doesn't stand up to a quick couple of seconds scrutiny on the various players he has brought in so far in the two windows.
There's enough real issues just now without making them up.
18-07-2012, 12:49 PM
This team has bottom six all over it. Depending on the quality of Dundee and Ross County, we will be in a relegation battle. Like everyone else I hope Fenlon has irons in the fire but I won't hold my breath.
All other teams are in the same boat though having to cut budgets and loose players. Look at Motherwell, Champions League game coming up and they get beaten by Ayr United and only manage a draw with Raith Rovers.
Our team may look poor at the moment but not as poor as others.
Fenlon will bring in more players. Keep the faith.
18-07-2012, 12:50 PM
None of the players we have signed this summer have every played in the Irish league, and out of a squad of around 26 players, Clancy and Doyle are the only 2 from the Rep. of Ireland. So thats just not true.
so Ozzy away and replaced by Mark Kerr, season hasnt started yet so i will reserve judgement.
18-07-2012, 12:56 PM
so Ozzy away and replaced by Mark Kerr, season hasnt started yet so i will reserve judgement.
Mark Kerr is now on trial with Carlisle United so I think any deal with Hibs is increasingly unlikely.
18-07-2012, 01:12 PM
True. Means we have to sign, potentially 1 defender, 3/4 midfielders and at least 1 striker. 5/6 players in two weeks, team already on per-season tour getting to know each other!! Hardly ideal with most other teams looking fairly decent in all departments.
From the rumours thread:
Just to address the posts that are along the lines of 'We still need to sign 6/12/19/33/17 players' etc.
We know we're 2500 ST's down. Let's say we're on 6000 STs on that basis. Allowing for concessions, let's say we're seeing £275 for each ST paid over a looooooong time.
Hibs are then saying, right Paddy, we've lost money deluxe style but whatever is ST is coming in this year so although we're not actually seeing the money from the punters yet, we'll put up the equivalent.
So there you go Patricia, 6000 x 275 = £1.65m. Don't spend it all at once.
Now lets' say that when you adjust our squad for the likes of McPake and Williams who will be on reasonable money and Stanton/Caldwell who will be on nowt AND us still paying money to Jimmy Scott, let's say that every player is on around £1k a week or £52k a year, averaged out.
Stick on 12.8% N.I. contribution and every player gets paid, on average, approx £58.5k per year.
Now, we've got 24 players listed on the fishy. 24 players x £58.5k = £1.4m (this is all without goal and win bonuses - where's that cash coming from if it's needed?)
So, Fenners, you've now got circa £250k left to play with at best.
That leaves room for 2 £2k+ a week players when you add in other expenses.
We've said there will be 2-3 more coming in.
We apparently don't want cheap journeymen.
So how are we funding an extra 5-6-7-8-9 etc signings?
We know Maybury and Griffiths are likely to be the 2 players so we'll start the season something like:
Williams
Clancy
McPake
Hanlon
Maybury
Sproule
Claros
Cairney
Stevenson
Griffiths
Doyle
Subs: Antell, Stephens, O'Hanlon, Booth, Stanton, Caldwell, Kujabi
mcvie7
18-07-2012, 01:34 PM
From the rumours thread:
Just to address the posts that are along the lines of 'We still need to sign 6/12/19/33/17 players' etc.
We know we're 2500 ST's down. Let's say we're on 6000 STs on that basis. Allowing for concessions, let's say we're seeing £275 for each ST paid over a looooooong time.
Hibs are then saying, right Paddy, we've lost money deluxe style but whatever is ST is coming in this year so although we're not actually seeing the money from the punters yet, we'll put up the equivalent.
Now lets' say that when you adjust our squad for the likes of McPake and Williams who will be on reasonable money and Stanton/Caldwell who will be on nowt AND us still paying money to Jimmy Scott, let's say that every player is on around £1k a week or £52k a year, averaged out.
Stick on 12.8% N.I. contribution and every player gets paid, on average, approx £58.5k per year.
Now, we've got 24 players listed on the fishy. 24 players x £58.5k = £1.4m (this is all without goal and win bonuses - where's that cash coming from if it's needed?)
We know Maybury and Griffiths are likely to be the 2 players so we'll start the season something like:
Williams
Clancy
McPake
Hanlon
Maybury
Sproule
Claros
Cairney
Stevenson
Griffiths
Doyle
Makes sense to me.
Emerald
18-07-2012, 01:47 PM
None of the players we have signed this summer have every played in the Irish league, and out of a squad of around 26 players, Clancy and Doyle are the only 2 from the Rep. of Ireland. So thats just not true.
I never said he was only going to sign LOI players, I was making the point that PF does not have a background in playing or managing full time clubs in Scotland or England, apart from a youth stint at Chelsea. He has spent his whole playing and managerial career in Ireland and therefore that is where he will have most contacts due to the circles he has moved in. Managers tend to use these previous circles to recruit from. You just need to look at all the Celtic and SPL players that ended up at Middlesbrough through Strachan or the first division duds Duff Jimmy brought to Hibs as an example.
seven nowt
18-07-2012, 02:00 PM
We can't just let it go over our heads to be fair, it can't get any longer than the past two seasons. Transfer window after transfer window, we are not doing enough. Fenlon must get it right.
I'm not complaining yet, I'm waiting to see how it pans out but so far, we've not signed any Deano's, Hayes', Foran's, Jamie Murphy's, Paddy McCourts'! Still time though, so I'm reserving judgement at the moment as well.
18-07-2012, 02:01 PM
I never said he was only going to sign LOI players, I was making the point that PF does not have a background in playing or managing full time clubs in Scotland or England, apart from a youth stint at Chelsea. He has spent his whole playing and managerial career in Ireland and therefore that is where he will have most contacts due to the circles he has moved in. Managers tend to use these previous circles to recruit from. You just need to look at all the Celtic and SPL players that ended up at Middlesbrough through Strachan or the first division duds Duff Jimmy brought to Hibs as an example.
I agree with that, most managers will have specific contacts and networks, and if theyve managed in a certain league for a period of time, of course they will know the players better. But you suggested that Fenlon was somehow limited by this? The 4 signings so far all look pretty good imo, and none of them, as far as I can tell, seem to have any association with his time in Ireland; 3 of them have a strong connection with Scottish football (including the two boys who were on trial), whilst Williams is a fairly experienced keeper from England.
18-07-2012, 02:11 PM
From the rumours thread:
Williams
Clancy
McPake
Hanlon
Maybury
Sproule
Claros
Cairney
Stevenson
Griffiths
Doyle
Actually quite a good defence, if thats what it will be :agree:
18-07-2012, 02:12 PM
Where are you getting a squad of 26 from? We need a couple of strikers in ASAP.
18-07-2012, 02:20 PM
From the rumours thread:
Williams
Clancy
McPake
Hanlon
Maybury
Sproule
Claros
Cairney
Stevenson
Griffiths
Doyle
Defence looks ok. Midfield looks awful and no decent back up, unless the young guys can hit the ground running.
18-07-2012, 03:19 PM
Where are you getting a squad of 26 from? We need a couple of strikers in ASAP.
I was just guessing, hence the 'around 26'.
18-07-2012, 03:25 PM
have we accepted a bid,if so how much?
btw i would keep him if its under 150k
Hibiza
18-07-2012, 03:35 PM
How much ? How much we get for the Bamba sell on. ? :flag:
18-07-2012, 03:40 PM
No fee mentioned anywhere
Hibees07
18-07-2012, 03:46 PM
No fee mentioned anywhere
Blackpool Gazette reckon Holloway tabled a bid in the region of £250K.
18-07-2012, 03:48 PM
Blackpool Gazette reckon Holloway tabled a bid in the region of £250K.
So it does: -
http://www.blackpoolgazette.co.uk/sport/football/blackpool-fc/pool-swoop-for-midfield-star-1-4749478
Absolutely no chance of it being true though, would be happy with anything between £50-100K
18-07-2012, 03:55 PM
From the rumours thread:
Williams
Clancy
McPake
Hanlon
Maybury
Sproule
Claros
Cairney
Stevenson
Griffiths
Doyle
When saying we need to sign 5/6 players. It was looking at our current crop and seeing where we need players ie, left back, wingers, midfield and striker.
If we don't it's not really a summer of change, it's more a 'get the bevvy merchants out and sign a couple of boys'.
Funding is obviously not there so I don't know why hibs are billing this as a summer of change. If we don't have funds and we have to play with a worse team than the cup team then it's going to be a truly brutal season.
LeighLoyal
18-07-2012, 03:56 PM
So it does: -
http://www.blackpoolgazette.co.uk/sport/football/blackpool-fc/pool-swoop-for-midfield-star-1-4749478
Absolutely no chance of it being true though, would be happy with anything between £50-100K
No way would I be happy with 50-100k. 250k is the standard fee these days for Championship bound Hibs players per Zemmama and Bamba. I don't see any reason Osbourne should be any different, he had a whole year left. Personally I would have kept him as the thought of Stevebnson, Spoon and Claros for a season has relegation stamped all over it.
18-07-2012, 04:09 PM
No way would I be happy with 50-100k. 250k is the standard fee these days for Championship bound Hibs players per Zemmama and Bamba. I don't see any reason Osbourne should be any different, he had a whole year left. Personally I would have kept him as the thought of Stevebnson, Spoon and Claros for a season has relegation stamped all over it.
Apart from the fact that Bamba and Zemmama (when he was fit) were largely excellent for Hibs and Osbourne has been average/poor?
If we get 250K for him after the season he has just had, it'll be the best bit of business we have ever done.
18-07-2012, 04:16 PM
Actually quite a good defence, if thats what it will be :agree:
Maybe Fenlon is actually doing what the previous list of failures has failed to do...build from the back?
With limited room for maneuver the smart thing would be to get you back line in order. If its going to be a tough season a solid defense is going to make a hell of a difference.
Fenlon has made it clear there will be other signings. If he can complete a strong spine with a good centre mid and a striker who can bag 15 goals then while a bit threadbare there will at least be the makings of a reasonable team that can take a a stride or two away from where we were last season.
It's clear the club does not have the resources to transform us from a second bottom side to a second top side in one summer. At this moment we need to back Fenlon and help him turn the ship around. If we have finally managed to procure a decent manager then in two or three years we should be expecting him to have built a squad and the summer window to be used for selective strengthening....to think we can do it any quicker is slightly missing the size of the task I think.
18-07-2012, 04:26 PM
My concern is that if there are better out there for free why aren't Blackpool going for them instead?
inglisavhibs
18-07-2012, 04:38 PM
Agree with all you say, its Stevenson we should be looking to shift not Osbourne.
Only two weeks to find a reoplacement if he goes
Agreed! Fenlon started playing Osbourne on the right hand side of a diamond in midfield where he looked like a fish out of water. I thought he was decent in central midfield and better than anyone else we tried in there. The judgement will come when we find out who replaces him. Foe what it's worth i thought he always tried hard for the team and wish him well at Blackpool.
18-07-2012, 05:11 PM
Don't know if that's true. PF said it was a contact of his at Colchester that led to us signing Williams.
I'm not so worried about who we bring in, we still need to get rid of a few more.
Stevenson, Weatherspoon, Sproule, Booth, Kujabi & Claros should all go and I reckon most will be away by the end of the window or will be squad players at best.
PF can see the problems and will get it sorted :thumbsup:
18-07-2012, 06:16 PM
My concern is that if there are better out there for free why aren't Blackpool going for them instead?
This is always what crosses my mind. :agree:
18-07-2012, 06:20 PM
This is always what crosses my mind. :agree:
Maybe the likes of Mark Kerr aren't quite what they are after!
Don't know if that's true. PF said it was a contact of his at Colchester that led to us signing Williams.
I'm not so worried about who we bring in, we still need to get rid of a few more.
Stevenson, Weatherspoon, Sproule, Booth, Kujabi & Claros should all go and I reckon most will be away by the end of the window or will be squad players at best.
PF can see the problems and will get it sorted :thumbsup:
I try to see the benefits of retain the players you mention above ,Lewis grafter works his socks of but we need better, worth his contract IMO just through his efforts but ..... ,Spoons laddies been lost for nearly 2 seasons really thought he would have kicked on he should be sticking out like a sore thumb in our team sad to say mediocre at best ,Ivan ,Kujabi ,Claros ,simply no,as for Booth I think hes an excellent prospect got torn one last year against Killie or ICT if I remember correctly, injured been out since ,me thinking hes a prospect compared to Pats budget and what he needs is the reality , do you fund a prospect with your cash or buy a someone who fits your bill with a proven record within your budget ,sort of puts EM into a different perspective
18-07-2012, 07:06 PM
Think PF might try Maybury in midfield at some point in pre-season, perhaps just sitting in front of the centre-halves.
18-07-2012, 07:42 PM
What a charming response! :greengrin
Opinions mate often differ and from someone who saw virtually every game he played for Hibs I've given mine and I guess you've given yours except.............you seem to feel the need to get personal too! :na na:
18-07-2012, 07:47 PM
Osborne is a decent player IMO. Heard a while ago that he had not settled in Edinburgh and was wanting away.
As for this "he is murder" chat, lets be honest, he has moved from a team that finished second bottom and survived only by beating the bottom team with a couple of games to play. He has just got himself a move to a team that has recently come down from the Premiership and was unlucky not to get back up this year. Hollway is also not to shabby at picking a player, I will go with his view as to what makes a good footballer.
18-07-2012, 07:48 PM
Apart from the fact that Bamba and Zemmama (when he was fit) were largely excellent for Hibs and Osbourne has been average/poor?
If we get 250K for him after the season he has just had, it'll be the best bit of business we have ever done.
50k for Shelton Martis will take some beating :agree:
18-07-2012, 07:50 PM
The BBC story now includes a quote from Fenlon:
Ozzy has made it clear that he wants to get back down the road to England and we need people here that are committed. Also it maybe gives us some more finances to go and bring somebody in.
HibeePaj
18-07-2012, 08:51 PM
sky sports news reporting Blackpool have apparently tabled a 250,000 pound bid.
TAKE IT AND RUN!
18-07-2012, 09:00 PM
sky sports news reporting Blackpool have apparently tabled a 250,00 pound bid.
TAKE IT AND RUN!
Something wrong with that figure guv.
18-07-2012, 09:02 PM
Oh well the SPL's Yaya Toure lookalike is gone
sky sports news reporting Blackpool have apparently tabled a 250,000 pound bid.
TAKE IT AND RUN!
No danger. Drop the '2'.
18-07-2012, 09:07 PM
No danger. Drop the '2'.
Why?
HibeePaj
18-07-2012, 09:17 PM
No danger. Drop the '2'.
Yeah, I was thinking around the 50k mark this morning.
250k is what SSN are reporting now though. Superb if it's true.
All hail the tache
:hibees
18-07-2012, 09:18 PM
50k for Shelton Martis will take some beating :agree:
He actually did quite well for West Brom for a bit.
18-07-2012, 09:20 PM
Yeah, I was thinking around the 50k mark this morning.
250k is what SSN are reporting now though. Superb if it's true.
All hail the tache
:hibees
Thing is, £250k is nothing to these clubs, so will happily pay it for a player they think COULD play a part in their team. I think Ozzy has ability, he just needs to get stuck in more. Maybe Holloway can get that out of him
Hibeesforever
18-07-2012, 09:50 PM
Don't fall into that accountant Chairman line. Count up the number of wages that have left and then look at the potential budget that Pat should have to spend. I would sell Ozzy and bring in a £500k midfielder....and it wouldn't be an ex-Hearts player who wants to play in the Third Division. If the club markets itself properly, which its top leadership have not done in recent weeks, then fans will be attracted back and money will flow in this year. I think Rod should front up and ask for more cash. For example, other clubs like Aberdeen are getting lots of Donations and have already arranged glamour friendlies. At Hibs, again we seem behind the eightball. 3 really good signings could be all that is needed.
On Season Tickets; not allowing Direct Debits is ridiculous and hence explains the drop in numbers.
19-07-2012, 11:59 AM
Which category do McPake, Clancy, Williams and Cairney belong in? do they all have the same agent?
McPake and Wlliams do yes, Clancy falls into the other catagory of a player that was not getting a game for another SPL club.
19-07-2012, 12:09 PM
Osbourne one of our better players, would be sad to see him go.
Macaroon
19-07-2012, 12:13 PM
Osbourne one of our better players, would be sad to see him go.
Not for £250k I wouldn't!! We could table a very good offer to Black/Shiels with that sort of cash added to the budget.
19-07-2012, 12:16 PM
McPake and Wlliams do yes, Clancy falls into the other catagory of a player that was not getting a game for another SPL club.
26 games isn't bad for "not getting a game". Plus Motherwell wanted to keep him
19-07-2012, 12:16 PM
The Clancy that was a regular for Motherwell and who they couldn't persuade to stay?
What about Cairney?
19-07-2012, 01:21 PM
26 games isn't bad for "not getting a game". Plus Motherwell wanted to keep him
The Clancy that was a regular for Motherwell and who they couldn't persuade to stay?
What about Cairney?
The amount of gash folk on here make up to try and prove their point is unreal
The amount
19-07-2012, 01:31 PM
]Not for £250k I wouldn't!![/B] We could table a very good offer to Black/Shiels with that sort of cash added to the budget.
If that is indeed the figure we got I'm glad we bit their hand off!!! :cb
19-07-2012, 02:40 PM
If that is indeed the figure we got I'm glad we bit their hand off!!! :cb
And to think we could have had 300K for Calderwood but never bit the hand off !!!!
archiebald
19-07-2012, 02:53 PM
This is not right getting rid off one of our better players,and nobody to replace him-begging letter from chairman-start of season 2 weeks away-team on tour with mostly same rubbish-need players in sharp-a team takes time to blend-why all so slow with shields-griffiths maybury twigg forbes michalik kerr - if we want them get them now....I can see another long hard season (I hope I am wrong ) :flag:
19-07-2012, 03:11 PM
Caroline Henderson Stv tweeted the deal is done he been training with them all week already
19-07-2012, 03:12 PM
Caroline Henderson STV justed tweeted deal completed today. no mention of fee
19-07-2012, 04:01 PM
According to reports - the deal is done.
Looking forward to see who our central midfield replacements are going to be :agree:
Good luck Ozzy in Blackpool - will be interesting to see how you get on down there - thought you could have done a job at ER next season but in Fenlon we trust.
19-07-2012, 05:05 PM
Caroline Henderson Stv tweeted the deal is done he been training with them all week already
Caroline Henderson STV justed tweeted deal completed today. no mention of fee
She also said the £250k fee is wide off the mark
Hibspirational
19-07-2012, 05:59 PM
She also said the £250k fee is wide off the mark
Presumably nearer the £100k?
19-07-2012, 06:08 PM
Not for £250k I wouldn't!! We could table a very good offer to Black/Shiels with that sort of cash added to the budget.
Fenlon won't see any of it. Petrie has it ring-fenced for other things. He more or less said that playing staff improvements will depend on ST income. At best it will free up a wage on his budget.
sadtom
19-07-2012, 07:15 PM
Unless they are choppering him in and out, Caroline is slavering.
I saw him wednesday 10.00 AM in the west stand reception area and my laddies saw him at east mains on tuesday.
As he is not away with the team it would suggest he is defo offski, most likely just getting the deal finalised.
However, especially in light of the errors with malta Hibs and proper Hibs, :greengrin their abysmal coverage of the huns fiasco, it would appear to be more outstanding investigative journalism from the mainstream medja.:rolleyes:
Useless wouldn't begin to describe their efforts.
19-07-2012, 07:19 PM
Caroline Henderson is plainly an erse.
19-07-2012, 08:51 PM
Caroline Henderson is plainly an erse.
A nice erse ?!?!??!
McKenzie
20-07-2012, 03:38 PM
Confirmed now, he's away
20-07-2012, 03:47 PM
http://www.blackpoolfc.co.uk/javaImages/9e/ba/0,,10432%7E11057822,00.jpg
sbell1875
20-07-2012, 04:41 PM
I can honestly say I am very disappointed Ozzy has been sold. Although it brings some revenue in to the club coffers I am not too sure if PF will be given some or any of it.
Ozzy is a technically good footballer and that is clearly why Blackpool have signed him. I felt before his injury around Xmas time last season he was our standout midfielder despite having very average midfield players around him.
I hope PF is given funds to not only try and replace Ozzy but another couple of players that, before we got some money, may have been out of reach.
All the best down at the Seasiders Ozzy and you leave with my best wishes.
dmc1875
20-07-2012, 04:45 PM
I can honestly say I am very disappointed Ozzy has been sold. Although it brings some revenue in to the club coffers I am not too sure if PF will be given some or any of it.
Ozzy is a technically good footballer and that is clearly why Blackpool have signed him. I felt before his injury around Xmas time last season he was our standout midfielder despite having very average midfield players around him.
I hope PF is given funds to not only try and replace Ozzy but another couple of players that, before we got some money, may have been out of reach.
All the best down at the Seasiders Ozzy and you leave with my best wishes.
IF Fenlon is given the money I am very pleased with this.
I have always thought Osbourne was vastly over-rated. Ability? Yes sure but he only turned it on every so often. He flattered to deceive time and again and was a key factor in why our midfield was so crap last year.
I think we all got caught up in the hype that we knew the name, he used to be on the books at Villa as an 'exciting prospect' etc.
Blackpool can have him, most of the time a waste of space. If PF gets the money towards wages on someone else I will be happy.
I honestly think Kerr would have as much influence in a game as Ozzy did. Absolute passenger.
sbell1875
20-07-2012, 04:57 PM
IF Fenlon is given the money I am very pleased with this.
I have always thought Osbourne was vastly over-rated. Ability? Yes sure but he only turned it on every so often. He flattered to deceive time and again and was a key factor in why our midfield was so crap last year.
I think we all got caught up in the hype that we knew the name, he used to be on the books at Villa as an 'exciting prospect' etc.
Blackpool can have him, most of the time a waste of space. If PF gets the money towards wages on someone else I will be happy.
I honestly think Kerr would have as much influence in a game as Ozzy did. Absolute passenger.
By freeing up his wages surely a replacement can be signed immediately?
Mark Kerr at SPL is a decent player and I would sign him.
dmc1875
20-07-2012, 05:04 PM
By freeing up his wages surely a replacement can be signed immediately?
Mark Kerr at SPL is a decent player and I would sign him.
I would think so and I hope that the £200,000 also goes towards PF's wage budget. That would be a couple of players on £2k a week.
20-07-2012, 05:09 PM
Sad to see him go - but thats modern football.
Strange thing is its reported as 1 year deal with second year option?
Cant think they paid much for a player for one season :rolleyes:
davidw
20-07-2012, 07:14 PM
[QUOTE=down-the-slope;3300686]Sad to see him go - but thats modern football.
Strange thing is its reported as 1 year deal with second year option?
Cant think they paid much for a pl
ayer for one season :rolleyes:[/
Although I liked him initially, for me his lethargic, not-that-bothered attitude in the Cup Final, plus Fenlon's post-final comments about players' attitudes, clarifies why he has gone, and why I am not bothered at all. His attitude is/was symptomatic of the bigger problem.
http://www.blackpoolfc.co.uk/javaImages/9e/ba/0,,10432%7E11057822,00.jpg
He'll not be pleased when he starts walking round it! ****hole!
20-07-2012, 08:47 PM
Bye bye :bye:
Cannae mind him dominating ANY game he played in, another part of the team from the 19th gone, happy days..
If he's so good and got so much potential how the **** could he not shine in our HORRENDOUS midfield from last season or look anything other than a bog standard bottom 6 SPL player at best?!
No big loss IMO, he was one of the better paid at ER too do free's up a decent wage along with bringing in a fee..
20-07-2012, 08:55 PM
Never really done it for me - maybe he'll end up like Vaz Te :tee hee:
20-07-2012, 09:01 PM
Bye bye :bye:
Cannae mind him dominating ANY game he played in, another part of the team from the 19th gone, happy days..
If he's so good and got so much potential how the **** could he not shine in our HORRENDOUS midfield from last season or look anything other than a bog standard bottom 6 SPL player at best?!
No big loss IMO, he was one of the better paid at ER too do free's up a decent wage along with bringing in a fee..
Never really done it for me - maybe he'll end up like Vaz Te :tee hee:
Flattered to deceive. Unfortunately he wasn't anywhere near as good as some folk wish to paint him :greengrin
20-07-2012, 10:21 PM
This is the worst news I've heard since East 17 split up. We're going to have a big, languid-shaped hole in the middle of our midfield unless Fenlon gets his finger out and recruits someone else who is pretty pish.
20-07-2012, 10:44 PM
this is one of the more positive things coming out of ER these days. he cetainly did flatter to deceive, as another poster mentioned. cant remember him having a "great" game, which you expect even a reletively "plain and oordinary,but steady player" to have. he just didnae.
20-07-2012, 10:47 PM
this is one of the more positive things coming out of ER these days. he cetainly did flatter to deceive, as another poster mentioned. cant remember him having a "great" game, which you expect even a reletively "plain and oordinary,but steady player" to have. he just didnae.
My problem is he was still one of our better players. Now if the money is reinvested to bring in 2, even 1 better midfielders, then happy days.
20-07-2012, 11:07 PM
My problem is he was still one of our better players. Now if the money is reinvested to bring in 2, even 1 better midfielders, then happy days.understand you Callum, but my problem, and i've had it a few years now is, that we as a club have seemed to give up on a bloody midfield! not one of our present mid-players floats ma boat, dont know how the young lad fi Jags will do but people go on and on about Withy and Lewis being young ,promising ,hard graft this, excellent reader that. nah, just about had ma fill of this. we need a midfield and a brand new newco midfield,not tommorow, we need it yesterday!.
20-07-2012, 11:30 PM
understand you Callum, but my problem, and i've had it a few years now is, that we as a club have seemed to give up on a bloody midfield! not one of our present mid-players floats ma boat, dont know how the young lad fi Jags will do but people go on and on about Withy and Lewis being young ,promising ,hard graft this, excellent reader that. nah, just about had ma fill of this. we need a midfield and a brand new newco midfield,not tommorow, we need it yesterday!.
Oh I agree, I just think that Ozzy was the one with the most ability. I like Lewis for his effort, BUT, we have nothing down either side, and no one in midfield that really battles, As much as I hate to say it, like Ian Black.
Ozzy made a difference in the 2nd half against east fife as he was more direct, and he's strong. Claros could well work alongside a Black style player. I don't rate Spoony at all any more. He's been "promising" for far too long.
As I say, if we got money for Ozzy to bring in 1 or 2 midfielders, great, as we really need freshening up there. If not.........
20-07-2012, 11:51 PM
I cannot relate to anything re-the east fife game,I wisnae there. also, a player performance at a game like that, just does not inspire me and I read a bit about it, with 20 players used. It's a kick about.It's not hard to be the best performing midfield Hibernian player these days. Tam Mc Court's dug could win that acculade. I'm just a bit scunnered that a major problem for us, does not seem to be addressed with more vigour.I fear for us in the first couple of fixtures.
20-07-2012, 11:57 PM
I cannot relate to anything re-the east fife game,I wisnae there. also, a player performance at a game like that, just does not inspire me and I read a bit about it, with 20 players used. It's a kick about.It's not hard to be the best performing midfield Hibernian player these days. Tam Mc Court's dug could win that acculade. I'm just a bit scunnered that a major problem for us, does not seem to be addressed with more vigour.I fear for us in the first couple of fixtures.
I knew as soon as I mentioned the east fife game that I'd get picked on :wink:
I think we're in the same position. The midfield is a HUGE problem for me. I just think that Ozzy was the best out of what we had, so would rather we add to him. BUT, if we use the money to bring in a fighter and a creator then we'll move forward
21-07-2012, 12:04 AM
possibly the best of a terrible bunch, but TMcC'S dug still springs tae mind.:greengrin
21-07-2012, 07:06 AM
I knew as soon as I mentioned the east fife game that I'd get picked on :wink:
I think we're in the same position. The midfield is a HUGE problem for me. I just think that Ozzy was the best out of what we had, so would rather we add to him. BUT, if we use the money to bring in a fighter and a creator then we'll move forward
Callum been saying this for weeks and got a terrible row on here for opposing some folks opinion on Spoony.
He and the rest of the ineffective midfield (not inc Cairney) will get us relegated unless it is totally revamped
s2hart
21-07-2012, 08:43 PM
Appoligy's if already been posted but according to @AgentScotland on twitter we got £285k for him, I wonder how much will get sealed in Petrie's biscuit tin and if Pat will see any of it. Good bit of business if true!
21-07-2012, 08:46 PM
This is the worst news I've heard since East 17 split up. We're going to have a big, languid-shaped hole in the middle of our midfield unless Fenlon gets his finger out and recruits someone else who is pretty pish.
Someone to do the unseen work, Beefster?
22-07-2012, 12:02 AM
Someone to do the unseen work, Beefster?
Or someone to jog about slowly like it's all a bit of an effort and they'd really rather be tucked up on the sofa watching the Judge Judy marathon on ITV2. I think either would be an adequate replacement.